View Full Version : Did you drink when you were pregnant?
The latest report into drinking whilst pregnant shows that women are still confused about whether it's safe to drink small amounts of alcohol whilst pregnant (we're talking small here, everyone knows that binge drinking is a no-no whilst preggers).
Here's a quote from an article in the Canberra Times today:
The 80 per cent of pregnant women who consume alcohol are in a ''no-person's land'' when making decisions about drinking, according to research to be published today.Prior to 2001, Australian health guidelines recommended that pregnant women abstain from alcohol.
In 2001, the guidelines were changed to recommend avoidance of a high maternal blood-alcohol level. Last year the National Health and Medical Medical Research Council changed its advice to say that women who were pregnant, planing a pregnancy or breastfeeding should not drink alcohol at all.
The change reflected a lack of scientific knowledge about possible safe levels of alcohol exposure for unborn and breastfed babies. Research published in the Medical Journal of Australia found 80 per cent of pregnant women aged 22-33 years consumed alcohol during pregnancy prior to the policy change in 2001.
The result was about the same for women who were pregnant after the 2001 policy change.
Study co-author Jennifer Powers, a statistician at the University of Newcastle, said high levels of alcohol consumption during pregnancy could cause foetal alcohol syndrome which resulted in stunted growth and intellectual disability.
But it was not clear what impact low or moderate alcohol consumption could have on an unborn baby.
Ms Powers said many pregnant women and some of their health-care providers seemed unsure about how much, if any, alcohol it was safe to consume.
''But if you want to take any risk don't drink at all and you should certainly avoid high levels of alcohol consumption.''
http://www.canberratimes.com.au/news/local/news/general/confusion-reigns-over-alcohol-in-pregnancy/1863560.aspx
Did you drink when you were / are pregnant?
I had a west coast on Christmas Day but felt too guilty and couldn't enjoy it.
I haven't touched a drop this pregnancy.
Best to avoid alcohol altogether during pregnancy IMO
I haven't had a drop since I found out I was pregnant with my first. So that was 17 years ago.
Sheer Bliss
21-06-2010, 10:29
When I was pregnant with DD, it was said that 'sometimes' was OK, so I think I had a west coast on christmas day. Non alc wine made me spew, so i stopped that quick smart! I will be the first to admit that I didn't question anything when pregnant with DD, I was very naieve.
With my next 2 pregnancies everything said there was NO safe level and that really made sense, so I drank nothing. Even if I had been going to drink, hyperemesis prevented me from feeling like one anyway.
In all honesty - once you actually think about it.....you know how alcohol makes you feel and you know the damage it does to your body - so why you would even consider doing it to your baby is just crazy. I know some people just don't think that far ahead though (like me with DD1 :o) so I get (no offense, but esp with how some of the newer generations and some mums don't think ahead) how this is becoming such an issue. Please don't take offence to that - I was one of those mums who didn't think previously, it's not meant as an insult.
Little-Pink-Hen
21-06-2010, 10:37
I had three glasses of wine during my pregnancy all different times(friends 21st, anniversary, one dinner) they were all small and during my last two trimesters. I didn't really enjoy them
Not a drop. I was 5 months pregnant at my own wedding and didn't even have a sip :)
aquagirl
21-06-2010, 10:53
I had a sip of bourbon and coke with my first pregnancy and felt guilty and ever since I had both my kids I have never drank as much as I used to, suppose my body just can't handle it now!!!
Nope. Saved all the stress of 'how much is too much?' so I just gave it up altogether, which wasn't hard since I had nearly given it up during TTC anyway.
RenovatorMum
21-06-2010, 11:00
I think I had the equivalent of about 2 glasses of wine throughout my last pregnancy. My first pregnancy I didn't drink at all.
Like others have said previous, I didn't enjoy them for the guilt.
Haven't had any this pg (only about 7-8 weeks) and probably wont either.
earthfairy
21-06-2010, 11:03
I had one half cidar & soda water at a good friends wedding....i enjoyed every mouthful of it too as we were living in Darwin & it was so bloody hot & after 25 weeks of morning sickness all i felt like was a cidar :)
That was my one & only....i think i was around 27 weeks.
I had the occasional low alcohol shandy when preg with DS but nothing for this pregnancy. It was something I read on here once, what if something was wrong with your baby, how would you ever know that the alcohol you consumed didn't contribute?
Annabella
21-06-2010, 11:09
Yes I did occasionally, the first 2 pregnancies it was very occasional, like probably 3-4 times in the pregnancy (not including before I knew I was pregnant), the last pregnancy I was travelling and followed "When in Rome, do as the Romans do" which was having a glass of wine with dinner many times.
I did feel a bit guilty, to be honest. But I do feel that it is safe (based on information I had at the time) to have a glass of wine with food.
As for drinking and b/feeding- yes I will have a glass of wine (or 2 or 3) after he's in bed, he doesn't wake til about 3 or 4 for a feed so by then most, if not all alcohol will be out of my system. I don't actually drink that often though.
I think telling b/feeding women they can't drink at all is harming our b/feeding rates. Women do give up so they can do things like drink. I read an article stating that the amount babies actually get in breast milk is quite low, and that the benefits of breastfeeding outweigh the potential harm of a tiny bit of alcohol in breastmilk. I breastfeed for a while so I go with that.
waterlily
21-06-2010, 11:10
No fricken way!!!!!!!!
It was hard enough falling pregnant after having m/cs to risk it for a bloody glass of wine no way!!
MummaFug
21-06-2010, 11:14
I had the occasional small glass of wine with dinner .. Sometimes with soda, sometimes without. Sometimes i didnt finish it, sometimes I did.
twotrunks
21-06-2010, 11:33
The suggestion not to drink at all has only been made in the last couple of years... I think the rates would have been a lot higher before that. I have had the odd drink in all of my pregnancies, prior to this info being out. If I had any more I would not drink at all. Nor will my children touch it until they are 18. Same principle for me, kids and alcohol don't mix.
jennababe
21-06-2010, 11:33
as soon as i see the 2 lines theres no way i would touch alcohol.
Yeah,I drank.
My 1st pregnancy was unplanned,and I found out a week before my 21st.I still had a few drinks.
2nd pregnancy I had a glass of wine on a few occasions(I think about 3 times)
I replace drinking and smoking with binge eating when pregnant.Not cool,I end up so fat,but I gotta have SOMETHING to enjoy:laughing:
Eco Goddess
21-06-2010, 12:04
I dont ever drink, so it didnt even cross my mind:D
MummaBear03
21-06-2010, 12:12
No. I chose the bottom one. Would not drink while pregnant, but even if I wanted to, not even water was staying down so nothing else would have.
21-06-2010, 12:12
No. I didn't want to cause anything wrong with my baby.
I stopped drinking for the health of my baby, i found out really early too so didnt have anything to drink at all. Even if i did want to i had trouble keeping anything but boiled water down i doubt i would have been able to.
mummytans
21-06-2010, 12:33
I was in Central America travelling from 24 - 33 weeks while preg with my daughter. I was told a small amount of alcohol was ok so I tried to have a Corona one afternoon at sunset. Had two sips and couldn't stomach anymore.
3 years ago when i was pregnant with my first, they said the odd drink was ok, so i think i had about 2 drinks through out the whole pregnancy.
Now they've changed their minds saying you shouldn't drink AT ALL but i've still had the very odd drink, think i've had about 2 drinks so far, and am due to give birth in 4 weeks.
Personally, i think it's up to the woman to use her common sense, but i'm pretty sure my mum had a couple of drinks when she was pregnant with me, as would most of our parents, and we turned out ok.
I certainly wouldn't drink everyday, or even every week, but i'll have A small glass of wine on my birthday if pregnant (and i was).
MissSookyLaLa
21-06-2010, 12:54
I had a glass of wine on my birthday last time. Will probably do the same thing this time.
sher1981
21-06-2010, 13:10
didn't drink at all during my pregnancy and didn't really miss it at all cause I had almost cut it out completely while TTC for 2 years. While breastfeeding have only had 2 drinks in the last 8 months and that was one at Christmas and one at New Years and as other have said didn't really enjoy them due to the guilt.
Cutting out drinking for 9 months or so really is only a short time in the scheme of things so it's a sacrafice I think is well worth it, to know you are giving your bub the best possible start.
crazymuma
21-06-2010, 13:10
Didn't drink at all while pregnant with either and to be honest I am disgusted by those that do. Some might not like my opinion but I am entitled to it :D
When I was 6 wks pregnant we had friends over and were not yet ready to tell anyone about the pregnancy so I got a glass of wine and pretended to drink out of it (otherwise everyone would have guessed :D). It's a good trick, no one had a clue at that gettogether :raspberry: . But overall, I did not have a drop with my first or my current pregnancy.
I remember my old boss being pregnant at the same time as I was with my first and she just didn't want to give up her daily glass of red. I couldn't understand it. Although each to their own I guess..
sweetseven
21-06-2010, 23:29
very little, like a few sips of champagne at a wedding, but not even a whole drink and definately nothing regular.
And for those that say 9 months isn't much time out of your life, add on the reccommended two years breastfeeding, and multiply by a typical three children, and you are now talking over 8 years. It all adds up.
Plus for those that have difficulty conceiving, perhaps add on a few more years TTC.
I haven't voted I think we need an other option.
I drank afair bit through 2 of my pregnancies.
(1 more so then the other one :()
BUT stopped as soon as I realised, I was pregnant. Which for one of my pregnancies was 23 weeks!
Gees, and the worry that we felt waiting for that baby to be ok! I was devastated by the thought of any harm that could have been done to either of those babies.
I totally disagree with drinking in pregnancy. BUT sometimes, you do these things without even realising, someone else is in the picture.
BTW, when I say a fair bit, I don't mean I was pickling myself on the sauce daily either. I just had a lot of weekend, parties we attended. With my second child, we had just gained back some US time, so were kind of enjoying ourselves, a bit too much!.:o:(
YoungMum2Bee
21-06-2010, 23:39
I think what's missing as a poll option is yes-wasn't aware of pregnancy. I remember when I found out I was four weeks pregnant I'd had a vodka a couple of weeks before I knew... Also... Pretty sure the weekend of conception had alcohol involved but I don't remember (not cuz I was smashed by any measure... ) but yeah I didn't have any once I found out... But before I knew I was pregnant I did have some :-/
oleander
21-06-2010, 23:46
I didnt drink anything because i was worried about the health of the baby and didnt feel like it either.
Apparently my mum drank a glass of wine with dinner every night when pregnant with my brother and I and we came out fine.
My aunty was an alcoholic when pregnant with her kids and they both are intelecually disabled. One is worse than the other though but they both are adults now and their futures are not looking too bright because of their disabilities.
trishalishous
22-06-2010, 01:12
what if something was wrong with your baby, how would you ever know that the alcohol you consumed didn't contribute?
I agree! Giving up alcohol for x amount of years is a small price to pay for healthy kids!
And not one study provides enough data to convince me that an occaisional drink when UTD/BF is safe, so I'd rather be cautious.
crazymuma
22-06-2010, 18:31
I often wonder with those that say they had a few drinks while pregnant if they are telling the truth. Don't mean to offend but thats how I feel.
My best mate is adament she only had a few drinks a couple times while pregnant but I can honestly say I remember her drinking heaps. She would have a minimum of a few drinks (bourbon, beer vodka) almost daily and I saw her on at least 4 or 5 occasions that drunk she could barely walk. Sadly her child does have some problems (not yet diagnosed) and she is refusing to take him to a doctor - I think she knows it was her drinking that has caused it but she refuses to admit that she drank so much.
MummaBear03
22-06-2010, 18:35
I often wonder with those that say they had a few drinks while pregnant if they are telling the truth. Don't mean to offend but thats how I feel.
My best mate is adament she only had a few drinks a couple times while pregnant but I can honestly say I remember her drinking heaps. She would have a minimum of a few drinks (bourbon, beer vodka) almost daily and I saw her on at least 4 or 5 occasions that drunk she could barely walk. Sadly her child does have some problems (not yet diagnosed) and she is refusing to take him to a doctor - I think she knows it was her drinking that has caused it but she refuses to admit that she drank so much.
Yeah the chick over the road says she drinks "moderately" yet she'll go through a 6 pack of UDL rums every single night and has been so drunk she's passed out on the front lawn and wet her own pants, and has done that a few times now. She tells people she only has a couple of drinks here and there. It's really sad. I hope the baby turns out ok because she also doesn't have the capacity to care for a SN child. She often tells me if she had a kid like I have she'd have put her in foster care by now, she wouldn't want 'it' in the house :gloomy:
A Party of Five
22-06-2010, 18:35
No - I made a decision not to drink at all for the health of my babies :baby:
I had a few drinks while pregnant.
Low alcohol champagne. One glass at a time. Or maybe 1/2 a light beer. I could probably count on my fingers the amount of times that happened too.
I'm not offended though - i think probably a lot of people are in denial, as well as moderate means different things to different people. When not pregnant, i still dont drink very often, and not to excess. What I drink normally, someone else might consider to be moderate when they are pregnant
Amphictyonis
22-06-2010, 18:54
Not a drop.. :no:
HeyMissA
22-06-2010, 19:13
I am not a big drinker but really craved beer for the first half of my pregnancy. I had the odd mouthful here and there but never more than just a sip. I was too scared to have any more than that and can't see how a few milliliters could be of any harm.
The second half I couldn't stomach alcohol - even if I did I would not have been seen dead with a drink in my hand being noticeably pregnant as I would be waiting for the looks and criticism from strangers.
soexcited
22-06-2010, 19:25
I think what's missing as a poll option is yes-wasn't aware of pregnancy.
:iagree:
We were taking a break from trying and I was quite depressed that I hadn't yet fallen. During our break we went away for our first wedding anniversary, had a friend's engagement party and another friend's 30th. The result being I drank a fair bit during this time. The first thing I thought when I found out I was pregnant (aside from being over the moon) was OMG what I have done to my baby?! :eek:
I didn't touch alcohol again for the rest of my pregnancy other than a tiny sip of Italian Champagne 1 week before my due date. It's something I normally love but I didn't even enjoy it. I love to have a glass of wine/champers and actually said to DH "Oh no, I don;t like alcohol anymore!" :laughing:
nope. not a drop. id be willing to give my life for my precious little boy, so giving up alcohol really wasn't that big a deal. he's worth more to me than a glass of wine.
and i lurrrve a drink.......
I haven't had a drop and don't intend on having one. I enjoy lots of drinks that don't have alcohol in them so will continue to drink them.
I haven't touched alcohol for a long long time. Maybe its because I am not a big drinker but I just don't feel the need to have to have some alcohol while pregnant. I don't feel like I am missing anything.
For those who did drink during their pregnancy. Were you a big casual drinker beforehand?
catch 22
22-06-2010, 20:11
With my first i found out i was pregnant 1 week before a month long contiki tour. I had 5 or 6 standard drinks over the whole tour.
With my second i had some weak shandies at christmas. Maybe 1 standard drink.
lemongrass
23-06-2010, 14:23
Not at all. pregnant or not, I dont drink alcohol.
Misschief
24-06-2010, 20:25
1 glas of white wine at the end of my first trimester and 1 glas of white wine at the end of my second trimester to celebrate DS's father going down in court :o
SuPeRsTaRrR
24-06-2010, 20:36
I've had a glass of wine at about 13 weeks to celebrate making it to the second trimester, i had it over dinner. I felt weird drinking it as I was aware of being pg the whole time but I'm sure I'll have another glass before my time is up.
Hollywood
25-06-2010, 07:26
I had a champagne and a wine before I knew I was pregnant, then only had a few sips on about 3 different occasions during the remainder of the pregnancy.
Witchypoo
25-06-2010, 07:34
No. I can't understand people who do. Why is it such a huge sacrifice to simply not drink.
Misschief
26-06-2010, 15:24
Meh
hailsntwang
26-06-2010, 15:33
Nope:no:
As soon as I found out I was pregnant that was it for the alcohol.
When we moved into this new house our new nextdoor neighbour gave us (well me as DH doesn't drink the stuff) a bottle of wine to welcome us to the neighbourhood.
It's my favourite wine and it's sitting up there in the top of the cupboard just waiting to be cracked open as a celebratory drink once this bubs is born.
9 months of soberity in my book isn't a huge sacrifice to make, I just couldn't justify drinking knowingly whilst pregnant.
the night i found out i was pregnant with my last child I had just poured myself a glass of wine, B4 going to have a pee on the stick.
thinking i am so going to have that glass when i come out to celebrate NOT being pregnant..
i was pregnant
i came out and poured the whole bottle down the sink
I DONT drink during pregnancy Ever. had a shandy once with my 2nd child.. thats it.
AJGirl08
27-06-2010, 14:56
Not a drop as soon as I found out i was pregnant. I wanted to give myself and baby the best possible start and "not drinking" figured into that equation.
(I did have sav blanc envy whilst holidaying in NZ tho! :laughing:)
mum of annaliese
27-06-2010, 15:01
i agree with some that there should be an option about drinking before you knew you where pregnant. With my first we had a massive girls weekend away so drank a load (might not be heaps for some people but i am lucky to have maybe 1 drink a month) and found out i was 8 weeks pregnant. Cant remember drinking anything else thru the pregnancy. Dont think i made a concious decision not to, just didnt feel the need.
With the second, i did a poas and it came up a bfn (i hadnt been drinking whilst ttc) and we had a family gathering so had a number of drinks and two days later when af didnt show, did another poas and it came up a bfp.
Have "had" one glass of champagne since, but dh is a great help and he drunk it on the sly for me!
But my question is - what about the alcohol that is in some foods (deserts mainly) that havent been cooked - would you eat one? Would you even know?
Vonnie89
10-07-2010, 21:47
as far as im concerned its a very small amount of time out of your life, what better excuse not to have a drink then the beautiful child growing inside you? i didnt drink when i found out i was pregnant the first time and i wont drink when we begin ttc at the end of the year.
becca022
10-07-2010, 22:14
I've never been a big drinker, so would never drink while pregnant. I had a taste of a jelly shot 2 weeks ago & felt soo bad. It would have been a drop at the most.
My sister's best friend was there too drinking a bit while she's pregnant. Smoking too :shame:.
trishalishous
11-07-2010, 00:39
Im even worried about drinking when breastfeeding!
Happy2be3
26-07-2010, 22:05
I cant believe people actually admit to knowingly drinking while pregnant on here.. I mean, its 2010.. we know what alcohol does to an adult brain, now imagine what its doing to the babies.. actually, you dont even have to imagine, its printed in black & white
:no: Nope, no drinking whilst pregnant and no drinking whilst breastfeeding. It's the least I can do for my baby/ies :).
Happy2be3
26-07-2010, 22:29
Well, yes, but its sad that people would CHOOSE to subject their baby that kind of thing.. :gloomy::gloomy::gloomy:
i don't drink normally so of course, i didn't drink during my pregnancy.
MummaBear03
26-07-2010, 22:49
I honestly dont believe a few glasses of wine here and there are going to harm your baby. Did you see the results of this poll? There are women who do have the odd glass of wine while they are pregnant. They shouldn't be judged. It's their body.
A little girl I met with FAS had a mum who thought the odd, light drink here and there wouldn't hurt :(
Imagine the guilt and pain that would bring on for mothers who thought it was ok and it wasn't.
Not judging, I used to think the same thing til meeting this child. I used to think it took a lot of alcohol to cause FAS. Now I know different. So even when I was pregnant with DD I thought it was ok but still didn't myself. Meanwhile the woman over the road drinks almost daily, and strong spirits at that, and did through the last 2 pregnancies without any problem to the children. Will wait and see if anything happens with this one due next month though. See if she can be lucky 3 times in a row. That's what it comes down to. Luck. That's what I found out when DD and I met this little girl.
Sadaussiemum
26-07-2010, 22:49
nope never after my "friend" lost her baby due to intoxication and having a very nasty fall and two childeren with holes in the heart bowel and such I never did she could never get what was so wrong about drinking and since lossing her baby she drinks even more
overitand36
26-07-2010, 23:50
Why can't we be told the truth and allow us to use our own judgment? It's simply not true that women who drink a glass or two a week is participating in dangerous or risky behavior that will inevitably harm her baby.
Because as pregnant women we apparently have no judgement every decision is viewed and judged by someone and of course harmful to our baby.
Misschief
27-07-2010, 10:48
WHAAAAAT???!!! :eek: You mean I had a WORKING brain during my pregnancy and could've made decisions of my own??? NOW you're telling me!
For 9 whole months I sat there like a couchpotato having midwives, doctors, friends and family making decisions for me, because it is well known that pregnant women suffer "baby brain' (NWBD = Non Working Brain Disorder) and therefor can NOT make their own decisions.
It is best to tie the pregnant female, for the whole duration of the pregnancy, to the couch so that she will not do harm to the unborn child. And if you are really keen, I guess it wont hurt to tie her hands to her back too and spoonfeed her.
I mean, you need to practice spoonfeeding your perfect and unharmed baby anyway.
Gosh I love irony and sarcasm :rolleyes:
Happy2be3
27-07-2010, 12:11
Um.. why be nasty?
For some reason almost EVERYONE would agree its wrong to give a 1 year old a bottle with red wine in it to drink (because alcohol only does bad things to the brain & cells).. but its not wrong to give your unborn baby a drink of wine? I just cant see what the difference is..
Happy2be3
27-07-2010, 12:43
I totally agree with you here. You wouldn't give a child a bottle of wine. I also wouldn't drink a bottle of wine in one sitting while pregnant. And I don't know any mother to be who would.
You make it seem like all women who have the odd glass here and there are alcoholics. Which is totally untrue.
Maybe you are unaware of how our bodies actually work. Everything you eat or ingest does NOT go straight to your baby first, it has to go through you, there is a lot of breaking down. Alcohol is mainly metabolised by the liver, and only what's left will be met by the placenta. The amount that could reach the foetus in a glass of beer or a glass of wine is negligible.
Now I'm only talking about a glass of wine with a meal every now and again.
It seems what your talking about is a binge drinking session. There is a huge distinction between the two.
I said "a bottle with wine IN it" (as in a bottle/cup)
But thanks for answering my question..:yes:
loquaciousvibes - thanks for answering in a nice/friendly manner, muchly appreciated :)
Misschief
27-07-2010, 20:41
I guess we at least know that the people who admit to having a glass of wine now and then, are telling the truth. But how many women say they have not had anything to drink, only to make them look like saints, even though they know they aren't being truthful?
Im sorry, but this is just one of those threads again that will bring up controversy.
I really have to start ignoring these threads.
Why can't we be told the truth and allow us to use our own judgment? It's simply not true that women who drink a glass or two a week is participating in dangerous or risky behavior that will inevitably harm her baby.
Not inevitably, but there is a chance - so why risk it? Is it really such a huge sacrifice?
Happy2be3
28-07-2010, 09:15
Not inevitably, but there is a chance - so why risk it? Is it really such a huge sacrifice?
:iagree:After all the stuff I've typed in this thread.. you said it SO well.. this is all I was trying to say. But hey, I'll never understand it..
With both my pregnancies I did not drink after finding out that I was pregnant. But there was probably a few weeks on my first and probably about 4 weeks on my second. Didn't drink very much tho, just the odd drink at the end of the day.
Although at Christmas last year I was eating dessert and I did not realize but there was a bit of rum in it. Mum was like that's OK isn't it? and I was like not really. My DP thought it was so funny because she's by mum and getting the booze on tsk tsk. I just though she would know better
I had a west coast on Christmas Day but felt too guilty and couldn't enjoy it.
I haven't touched a drop this pregnancy.
Best to avoid alcohol altogether during pregnancy IMO
I did the same thing! DH brought some West Coast's for everyone on xmas day and I had one sip but couldn't drink the rest as I felt guilty.
twotrunks
30-07-2010, 08:51
Maybe you are unaware of how our bodies actually work. Everything you eat or ingest does NOT go straight to your baby first, it has to go through you, there is a lot of breaking down. Alcohol is mainly metabolised by the liver, and only what's left will be met by the placenta. The amount that could reach the foetus in a glass of beer or a glass of wine is negligible.
Now I'm only talking about a glass of wine with a meal every now and again.
It seems what your talking about is a binge drinking session. There is a huge distinction between the two.
Unfortunately there is no way of knowing how much a "negligible" amount of alcohol will effect a developing foetus... because each of them is different, and it is possible that a trace amount at a particluar time could infact cause problems, which is why the experts say that there is NO SAFE AMOUNT of alcohol during pregnancy. And i say this from the perspective of someone who did have the odd drink, not knowing better at the time.
I went to a seminar with Maggie Dent, who said that alcohol use by pregnant women is the number one cause of mental retardation in children in the USA (sorry for the hideous term btw, her words, not mine)... I imagine Aust wouldn't be that different.
Alipally
30-07-2010, 22:33
Hello everyone!
I've just voted because I did have the occasional glass of wine whilst I was pregnant with both of my boys... I did not feel guilty, I don't ever drink enough to be drunk. Incidentally, my boys are now 22 and 18 years old respectively... The eldest just graduated from University with honours. I am undecided what I will do if I ever conceive another (it's been a challenge!)
What I will say about it alcohol in pregnancy is this.
there is no SAFE limit because there is NO published quantative robust study to evidence this. All the evidence is anecdotal (ie based on what mothers told researchers about their drinking habits whilst pregnant, (who knows if their perception of their drinking was the reality) There will NEVER be this sort of evidence either because it would be unethical to give women who were pregnant varying amounts of alcohol and see which babies turned out with Foetal alcoholic syndrome or had some learning difficulties. :eek:
There is also the problem of the subset of misinformed and less educated who may be inclined to believe that if one is ok then 6 can't be that bad....
So it is the safe option to recommend that women Don't drink at all whilst they are pregnant. That way, there is no room for ambiguity.
The WHO has the following to say about drinking during pregnancy
Pregnancy
Alcohol crosses the placenta to the baby. It can cause problems during pregnancy
and can also harm the fetus. It is not known whether or not there is any safe level
of alcohol consumption during pregnancy. Nor is it certain if any particular stage
of pregnancy is the most vulnerable to the effects of drinking. In the absence of
demonstrated safe limits, abstinence from alcohol during pregnancy is recommended
and should be encouraged.The rationale behind this may have something to do with the fact that Australians drink more alcohol per capita than the French:australia-flag-06:
frankly, i cannot believe that anyone would even try to justify drinking whilst pregnant. we are pregnant for a few months out of our lives, surely we can put our unborn child first for these few months.
redcrayongirl
30-07-2010, 22:50
i had 3 small glasses of wine on 3 special occasions during my pregnancy - christmas and 2 work functions. One of the occasions was actually 4 very weak champagnes (5mls of champagne & the rest lemonade) during our work Christmas party, as no-one knew I was pregnant yet & I didn't want to give the game away by appearing to not be drinking. A tiny bit of champagne with lemonade in a champagne flute worked a treat & no-one had a clue. Although a couple of people thought I was a bit odd insisting on buying my own champers all night when there was a free bar for 2 types of wine.
Nope, didn't touch a drop while I was pregnant with my bubby boy.
Wish I could say the same thing about my first pregnancy :( She's a healthy 8 year old now but it could of been a very different story due to the stupid things I did while pregnant with her.
bubbleandme
30-07-2010, 23:14
i didn't drink while i knew i was pregnant.
in my entire pregnancy i had one can of pre-mix and one shot, though i was offered more.. something made me not want it. i found out a few weeks later that i was pregnant (i found out when i was over 2 months gone)
and, during my pregnancy, i had my graduation, end of exams, 18th birthday, christmas and new years.
I have to agree with loquaciousvibes's sensible view point on this one.
As for my own view, I've read lots of journals that suggest the most 'dangerous' period is from week 4 to week 10 in the pregnancy. Findings strongly suggest that binge drinking, or moderate drinking on a daily or nearly daily basis during this period can cause problems for the foetus, including FAS/E. This is not to say that all women who drink in that period always have children with disablities. Nor is it to say that drinking at other times in the pregnancy will not cause damage.
In my two previous pregnancies I had a small glass of wine with dinner probably twice a week on average throughout my whole pregnancy.
This time, I'm twelve weeks soon and based on my own research I may chose to have an odd drink here and there in my pregnancy, probably a glass of wine at Christmas and maybe a beer in the heat of summer. I'm confident that as long as my blood alcohol level remains low and I don't get 'tipsy' that my drinking won't adversly affect my baby.
Go ahead and criticise me and get your knickers in a twist about women who can't abstain for the sake of thier baby, it's only nine months yadayad, if the mood takes you. :shame:I don't really care about judgements from people on a forum. I don't see my decision to have a glass of wine as a risk, which is why I don't have a problem with it, in the same way that I drink caffinated tea and (horror of all horrors) eat chocolate with trace amounts of caffine while pregnant and while breastfeeding.
MagicalLeopluradon
31-07-2010, 12:45
With DS1 I didn't find out I was pregnant until 12 weeks, I was severely underweight and my periods were very funny. I was drinking every Friday/Saturday night, when I found out I was pregnant I stopped drinking/smoking straight away....I felt so bad :( Luckily he was fine!
With DS2 - nope didn't drink/smoke at all.
Misschief
02-08-2010, 17:02
in the same way that I drink caffinated tea and (horror of all horrors) eat chocolate with trace amounts of caffine while pregnant and while breastfeeding.
Oh well there ya go....
I wasn't even aware that caffeinated tea, chocolate and coffee was a complete no no either during pregnancy. The midwife never told me. Even though I did mention my diet to her.
I thought that the above mentioned beverages, within limits, were fine.
During my pregnancy I drank 1 cup of tea every other day and coffee maybe 3 cups a week. Chocolate? I didn't eat much of that tbh and still dont. I might've had the occasional chocolate bar once a fortnight.
When I was exclusively breastfeeding, I had 1 cup of coffee every morning, because I was exhausted from getting up all night to feed bubs. Noone else fed him for me, nor did anyone else help me take care of him during the day either. Im a single mum.
7.5 Months later and I still have my morning coffee, even though DS has been sleeping 12 to 14 hours since 4 months old and I've been averaging 8 hours a night myself.
Its the one pleasure I allow myself. I dont even exclusively breastfeed anymore. He gets just 1 breastfeed in the morning, which is caffeine free as it is before my coffee. I haven't had any alcohol since I had 1 small glass of white wine at 3 months and 6 months pregnancy.
DS was 3.5 weeks prem, but that was because of a rare pregnancy illness I had in the last 5 weeks of my pregnancy.
He is now a happy and very healthy 7.5 month old boy. Every time we go out, I have total strangers coming upto me to tell me what a happy and content little boy he is.
He's not a crybaby. He's very happy and active. He's too busy to cry and Im very blessed to have such an easy bub.
Mind you, he'll probably be the toddler from hell :rolleyes:
Soooo those 2 glasses of wine and the occasional coffee, tea and choccie I ate, have not harmed him in the slightest.
(Although Im sure a lot of women here will think I just have been lucky to win my game of Russian Roulette).
Though I am very sorry to hear people have had bad experiences after having a few little sins of their own during their pregnancies.
But this is my own personal experience.
Next pregnancy, I dont think I'll do much different.
Although Im not usually an alcohol drinker, so those 2 glasses of wine were because of very very very special occasions. Therefor I dont think I will have any alcohol during my next pregnancy. Unless there will be more very special occasions, but I doubt it.
Now Im going to make myself a cuppa tea and Im handing my soapbox to the next person to judge us naughty people who try to justify our heavy drinking during pregnancy.
Im going to unsubscribe from this thread. Noone here will ever see eye to eye, so why bother reading all these opinions?
Tenyrmiracle
04-08-2010, 08:21
I chose 'No, for the health of my baby" but, I don't drink anyway so it really wasn't a choice I made.
I don't understand why drinking alcohol is SO important to people
honestly
and forget the dangers of drinking with bubs in the oven
why is it so difficult for the average Aussie woman to not drink for a few months?
Alcohol is an extremelly dangerous drug
withdrawal for an alcoholic is worse than heroin
just withdrawal can actually kill you if not medically managed.
I just don't see why it's so important to you guys
and I'm not being rude
But it's just alcohol...... You don't need to have it.
And on the caffiene thing there are actually studies on safe levels of caffine for a feotus
it's so widely used they have been able to develop a safe guideline I think it's like 300mg per day or something, I can't remember
and unfortunately caffine over that limit is extremely dangerous
there was a lady who would drink 2l of coke a day during her pregnant, an intelligent normal person who assumed hey it's just coke
her baby ended up in nicu with caffine withdrawal
and it's a disturbing condition to see
the neonate gets tremors, it consistently lies there and shakes
it was heartbreaking to see the guilt in her eyes when she saw her baby
withdrawing from caffine for a newborn can actually be worse than most illegal drugs
I digress,
so what's the big deal why do you drink?
Why is it you feel this need to drink alcohol?
frankly, i cannot believe that anyone would even try to justify drinking whilst pregnant. we are pregnant for a few months out of our lives, surely we can put our unborn child first for these few months.
Agree 100%
people get so hung up about listeria and drug free birth and can I eat this, will doing this hurt my baby
but when it comes to alcohol it's ok to take a risk?
meatpopsicle
04-08-2010, 19:09
Obviously, drinking heavily while pregnant is dangerous, and can lead to FASD. But no study has been able to correlate moderate drinking to birth defects. The studies used to promote abstinence from drinking are based on results from heavy drinkers. Why do they blur the lines to make it apply to drinking across the board?
I feel that the pregnant woman is scrutinized, chastised, and patronized while it's perfectly acceptable to feed a child soda, fried food, and candy by the truckload while drowning your baby's immune system with antibiotics because he/she has a 'cold'. This is because parents aren't expected to be able to control their children, but self-sacrificing a woman's own body for the sake of optimal fetus health (and the greater good for all mankind) is a no-brainer.
Hear hear!!! And this doesn't just apply to light/moderate drinking while pregnant (by which I mean a glass of wine on a special occasion). Every time I get online I find out about something else I'm supposed to be doing or not supposed to be eating because I'm pregnant. It doesn't even just apply to health advice for pregnant women. 50 years ago women were told not to eat red meat because it makes you fat; now high-protein diets make you thin. Couples were prescribed ecstasy in marital counselling; now it's illegal. Doctors recommended people take up smoking to alleviate stress; now it's banned in public pretty much everywhere. Coffee! Is it bad for you or good for you, and does drinking it cancel out one of those 8 glasses of water you're supposed to drink every day? Take thalidomide to counter morning sickness! (Which, incidentally, my mother did while pregnant with me, and I'm just fine thank you very much.)
Let me put it another way: There are studies showing mobile phone use might irradiate your brain. How many of you still use your mobiles every day? How many of you use them while pregnant? Aren't you concerned about the harm this might cause your baby?
I just think we're all already under so much freaking pressure in our lives, especially while pregnant, that if you start thinking you've irreparably damaged your foetus by having a glass of champers on New Year's Eve, you're probably going to cause your baby far more damage from the stress than from that weeny little bit of booze.
You need an "other" option as I didn't know I was PG for 19 weeks & drank every weekend, when I found out I stopped, but then towards the end of the pregnancy had the odd one.
DS is perfectly healthy by the way, I'm not suggesting that anyone drink for the first 19 weeks of their pregnancy though!
MummaBear03
04-08-2010, 20:45
Ahem. um, are you saying that ALL women who have the odd small glass of wine with a meal during pregnancy is likened to one of an alcoholic?
The thing is, alcohol is NOT that important to most women who have had the odd glass of wine during pregnancy hence why we only have the odd glass here and there.
Read my post a lot of pages back about a woman who had a couple of drinks a couple of times during pregnancy and ended up with a baby with FAS...
MummaBear03
04-08-2010, 21:10
Yes but what was her definition of "the odd light drink" I'm sorry, but I bet you she really toned down her story on her drinking.
I don't think so. I believe that it was sporadic and only 1 or 2 standard drinks a couple of times. But I guess people don't want to hear about that.
I agree with a PP in that you wouldn't put even the slightest bit of alcohol in a baby's bottle, yet happily drink while pregnant.
My grandmother once told me that I had to give DD a bottle before bed if she wasn't going to sleep and add a teaspoon of brandy to it. Most would be horrified by that. Yet many who would be horrified by that would agree that it's ok to drink while pregnant. The amount of alcohol going to the baby would be a minute amount. 1 teaspoon in a baby's bottle isn't all that much, you know.
So why are we so horrified at the thought of doing that to a baby when we're not horrified by a mother drinking when pregnant?
MummaBear03
04-08-2010, 21:25
I do. I want to hear everything about these 2 sporadic glasses of alcohol she had. I want to know when she had them, and how much she had.
The only reason I suggested she toned down her story is because any mother who gave her child FAS/E would be feeling rather guilty I presume and would not be wanting to take full responsibility for giving their child FAS. So how do you not take responsibility for your actions? You simply imply that you didn't know a couple of drinks here and there could harm your baby.
I wouldn't be surprised if she was drinking a glass or more day, but, she would never admit that to you would she?
I'm inclined to believe what was said, based on the fact that the woman in question has never been a heavy drinker so why would someone who has never been a heavy drinker then go on to drink daily during pregnancy?
And I'd still like to hear from people why it's seen as horrific to add any amount of alcohol to a baby's bottle, even as a one-off to get the baby to sleep through the night, yet it's not seen as horrific to drink any amount of alcohol during pregnancy?
MummaBear03
04-08-2010, 21:49
Having a drink a day is not classified as heavy drinking to some.
Ok, have you ever given your child cough syrup? Some cough syrups contain alcohol.
Even better along with the alcohol it contains dextromethorphan. Do you know what that is? its the cough suppressant, but woops if you give your child a little extra, it starts to act as a dissociative hallucinogen which in turn will cause the drowsiness and put a child to sleep.
She's never had cough syrup :)
She's had panadol maybe 3 or 4 times in her life.
She had Pain Stop for 2 days after severely burning herself.
She's had antibiotics a couple of times for a UTI.
She's rarely sick. I'm rarely sick. We don't use anything unless it's absolutely necessary :)
And the term "heavy drinker" was based on what I see as being a heavy drinker. Drinking every day is what I would class as a heavy drinker. Drinking a couple of drinks every few months is not what I would class as heavy drinking.
Ahem. um, are you saying that ALL women who have the odd small glass of wine with a meal during pregnancy is likened to one of an alcoholic?
The thing is, alcohol is NOT that important to most women who have had the odd glass of wine during pregnancy hence why we only have the odd glass here and there.
um nooooooo
i just find that interesting sorry should have added that
What i'm saying is
WHY is it soooooooooooooo god damn hard for you to not have a drink
I'm actually quite interested to know what women who drink in pregnancy find so hard to stop
I'm not saying your an alcoholic
but why is it not even pregnant women but most people find so difficult about survivng a celebration with out a buzz?
Having a drink a day is not classified as heavy drinking to some.
Ok, have you ever given your child cough syrup? Some cough syrups contain alcohol.
Even better along with the alcohol it contains dextromethorphan. Do you know what that is? its the cough suppressant, but woops if you give your child a little extra, it starts to act as a dissociative hallucinogen which in turn will cause the drowsiness and put a child to sleep.
I don't agree with cough syrup as it counteract the body trying to get rid of gunk in the lungs
But.... Cough syrup has a medicinal purpose
alcohol is for pleasure
And in regards to people saying I did and my babies came out fine
that's awesome but sometimes it does sometimes it doesn't
like smoking people say well my dad smoke for 50 years but he's fine blah blah blah
I don't want to be harsh I just can't believe that people would risk it
and who knows if it could develop into problems later in life like learning difficulties, speech problems, agression, depression
with all the publicised risks I just wouldn't do it
It's not something you NEED to have so why have it
sure destroy your own brain, but your childs?
MummaBear03
04-08-2010, 22:30
I think its for social reasons. Humans are social by nature. Even Jesus drank. Im not religious but thought I'd trow that in.
Yes but I bet he wasn't pregnant at the time ;)
Maybe I'm just weird, but I don't need to have any alcohol to be that chick up dancing and singing along to the music and having a good time. In fact, most of the times I'm out lately involve being with DD so I will drink softdrink or juice rather than light beer and it doesn't seem to make any difference to the pleasure levels of a night out. My friends are the same. 2 don't drink at all. One never has, one went through a stage at 18 to 19 of getting drunk most nights, and hasn't touched it in over a decade now. Yet we can still go to the pub and watch a live band and have a fantastic time without alcohol.
Happy2be3
05-08-2010, 07:33
[QUOTE=meatpopsicle;5008120]
Let me put it another way: There are studies showing mobile phone use might irradiate your brain. How many of you still use your mobiles every day? How many of you use them while pregnant? Aren't you concerned about the harm this might cause your baby?QUOTE]
Well, since you asked - No I dont use my mobile up to my ear as much as possible, I use speaker or i wait till I get home to call from a landline.. yes I am VERY concerned that mobiles cause brain cancer, actually I would bet $500,000,000 that it will be discovered for 100% certainty that they do cause cancer.
Yes, I am concerned about phone towers etc.. hence why I was VERY shocked to see a child care centre built right next to one just the other day.. no way in hell I would send my child there.
Happy2be3
05-08-2010, 07:40
Yeh, Im not a drinker so I'll never understand the whole mindset alot of Australians have (yes I am Australian) about drinking = socialising
P.s another NON cough syrup user here.. wouldnt touch it with a barg pole. Actually there are studies to say it does zip, zero for a cough, just companies wanting to make more money:rolleyes:
But hey, I'm practically a hippy..
wonniemummy
05-08-2010, 07:43
Well, yes, but its sad that people would CHOOSE to subject their baby that kind of thing.. :gloomy::gloomy::gloomy:
I could Understand it if a women drank EVERY night and got absolutley smashed on the weekend's while pregnant, is a no no.. But One or two say red wine's (as an example) Is fine..
I think I had probably about 4 glasses of red wine while pregnant both time's.. Im not ashamed... However I did give up smoking...Which would be interesting to see the mums that gave up Drinking while pregnant, Who smoked..actually gave up smoking ?
MummaBear03
05-08-2010, 07:47
I could Understand it if a women drank EVERY night and got absolutley smashed on the weekend's while pregnant, is a no no.. But One or two say red wine's (as an example) Is fine..
I think I had probably about 4 glasses of red wine while pregnant both time's.. Im not ashamed... However I did give up smoking...Which would be interesting to see the mums that gave up Drinking while pregnant, Who smoked..actually gave up smoking ?
Good point. I've never smoked so didn't have to give up.
I am the same as most other ladies in the forum, I only had one drink maybe on Christmas day and probably on 3 occassions all up during the pregnancy.
I remember having the drink in my hand for the whole time as I was drinking it over serveral hours, unfortunately to anyone around it probably looked like I had a fresh one every time they saw me :confused: ... lol
My daughter turned out fine, she gets numerous comments on how bright she is for her age etc.
So I dont think the small amounts that we talk about is a problem. I will probably have a small sip on special occassions next time around. But to Drink Like You ARE NOT pregnant is the issue I think.
When I was just looking after my body, I found it hard to drink water... but the whole time I was pregnant I stopped drinking coffee and drank water.
MummaBear03
05-08-2010, 18:02
No, there is actual medical evidence supporting that cough syrup does nothing, its works on the CNS (central nerve system) to suppress the cough which is absolutely counter productive to what the body is actually trying to do. I mean, it doesn't take a genius to figure out the benefits of coughing does it?
No it doesn't, which is one reason why I'd never use it for my child and don't understand when people do use it.
meatpopsicle
06-08-2010, 19:33
Well, since you asked - No I dont use my mobile up to my ear as much as possible, I use speaker or i wait till I get home to call from a landline.. yes I am VERY concerned that mobiles cause brain cancer, actually I would bet $500,000,000 that it will be discovered for 100% certainty that they do cause cancer.
Yes, I am concerned about phone towers etc.. hence why I was VERY shocked to see a child care centre built right next to one just the other day.. no way in hell I would send my child there.
Thanks for answering, Happy2be3. You're the only one who has. I guess that means everybody else uses her mobile regularly while pregnant and just isn't that worried about the radiation :D
And I'd still like to hear from people why it's seen as horrific to add any amount of alcohol to a baby's bottle, even as a one-off to get the baby to sleep through the night, yet it's not seen as horrific to drink any amount of alcohol during pregnancy?
That's an interesting question. I actually don't find that horrific, which is not to say I'd do it. People of my mother's generation often joke about giving fretful babies a little bit of brandy in their bottle. I'm pretty sure people of my grandmother's generation actually did it quite frequently. Incidentally, I used to work with a Welsh girl who took up drinking a pint of Guinness every day (she'd never been much of a drinker before) while she was pregnant, for the vitamins, and her doctor said it was fine. Go figure. Oh, and her baby was perfectly normal.
Since finding out I was pregnant, I've had a glass of wine at dinner on the anniversary of my best friend's death (sorry, downer) and half a glass of champagne on another friend's birthday. I didn't feel guilty about either situation, but the further along I get, the more I want to avoid alcohol because I know people would judge me if they figured out I was pregnant and drinking. This afternoon I told people a bunch of porkies at after-work drinks because several people asked me flat-out why I was drinking water. And it's not like I'm known as a drinker!
Oh, and I gave up smoking the second my test came up positive. I had smoked 10 a day for 10 years and never succeeded in giving up before, but giving up for the sprout was the easiest thing in the world. So it's not like I don't have the willpower to not drink, or that I don't care about my baby. I just honestly don't think the occasional glass is that bad.
I'm not a big drinker anyway so it wasn't a major issue not to drink for me. However when I was about 5 months with my DD, I started craving Riccadonna!!!! I have no idea how or why but I would see a bottle or an ad and just be desperate for a taste! I don't even like it! lol
Anyway we had a bottle given to us around that same time, completely coincidental. I had a sip and it cured me :) So after that sip I was right again, and went back to not liking it, lol
I drank during my pregnancies. On about 6 different occasions I had sptizers. I am not much of a drinker to begin with and these were "going out occasions", I was grazing all night and also drinking water and soft drink in between.
I have never been drunk or even tipsy whilst pregnant. I honestly don't believe there is any wrong with it, for me. I can't answer for anyone else and I don't need to lie. You can be responsible for yourself.
I just don't think there can be a "blanket rule" for every one, not everyone is the same. It is my choice, with in reason, the way I look after my body and my child, and why some mothers have to be so judgmental towards other mothers I will never know.
Happy2be3
08-08-2010, 18:54
I drank during my pregnancies. On about 6 different occasions I had sptizers. I am not much of a drinker to begin with and these were "going out occasions", I was grazing all night and also drinking water and soft drink in between.
I have never been drunk or even tipsy whilst pregnant. I honestly don't believe there is any wrong with it, for me. I can't answer for anyone else and I don't need to lie. You can be responsible for yourself.
I just don't think there can be a "blanket rule" for every one, not everyone is the same. It is my choice, with in reason, the way I look after my body and my child, and why some mothers have to be so judgmental towards other mothers I will never know.
Yeh but I think there is a difference between being judgmental and being concerned about the health and well being of an unborn child.:yes:
PuppyGuts
10-08-2010, 08:26
it's not like I don't have the willpower to not drink, or that I don't care about my baby. I just honestly don't think the occasional glass is that bad.
i agree, i can tell u what i drank
west coast at dinner, half lemonade and i didnt finish it
a heineken at a resteraunt, yes a full one
and a smirnoff at my 18th at the comedy club, i nursed it all night and didnt actually finish the whole thing
and i didnt feel guilty, i probably wouldve drunk more if there were more opportunities where i felt like it but thats it, i felt like it at those times so i did it, i also ate ham and prawns at chrissie, and enjoyed the hell outta them, my body, my choice, yes i think binge drinking, eccesive smoking, illicit drugs is bad throughout pregnancy, im not going to get all hoity and say "no i could never do that to my unborn child because my auntues friends neighbors sister had a drink and had a baby with disabilities" frankly if i wanted it that bad then ill risk that small chance that my beer will hurt my baby.
lil miss
10-08-2010, 13:45
With dd1, i drank pretty heavily before i knew i was preg, then i only had 1/2 a vodka cruiser at about 7 months preg. With dd2, i drank almost every weekend until i was about 5 o 6 months preg, but i only had 1 or 2 rums each time.
I also smoked thru both my pregs, with dd1 i cut down to 6 a day (my dr actually told me not to quit completely, just to cut down as much as i could), and with dd2 I smoked the same as wha i did before i was preg, which is about 15 to 20 a day.
dancingchipmunk
10-08-2010, 15:23
Before I found out I was pregnant with DS1 I used to go out ALOT. As soon as I found out I was pregnant though I quit straight away.
With DS2 I didn't touch alcohol once and hadn't had a drink for about 6 months prior to falling pregnant.
With regards to a PP's question about smoking; I am a smoker, as long as I am not pregnant.
Yeh but I think there is a difference between being judgmental and being concerned about the health and well being of an unborn child.:yes:
Sure I totally understand the concerned part,
but these comments come across as judgemental to me.
Didn't drink at all while pregnant with either and to be honest I am disgusted by those that do. Some might not like my opinion but I am entitled to it :D
No. I can't understand people who do. Why is it such a huge sacrifice to simply not drink.
I cant believe people actually admit to knowingly drinking while pregnant on here.. I mean, its 2010.. we know what alcohol does to an adult brain, now imagine what its doing to the babies.. actually, you dont even have to imagine, its printed in black & white
People make there CHOICES according to there personal Experiences and information that's out there.
EG:
Yes but what was her definition of "the odd light drink" I'm sorry, but I bet you she really toned down her story on her drinking.
I just thought I'd include a clip from an article:
"A study out of the Centre Hospitalier Universitaire, published in this month's edition of Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research had researchers track the habits of 837 pregnant women between July 2003 and June 2004. During prenatal doctor's appointments, the women were asked to answer questions about their drinking behaviors during pregnancy. 52.2% admitted to having consumed alcohol at least once during the 9 months, and 13.9% admitted to having binge drank (consumed 5 or more alcoholic drinks in a sitting) during the their pregnancy. Of the 800+ women, 2 gave birth to children with fetal alcohol syndrome."
So out of 837 women who admitted to drinking whilst pregnant 2 gave birth the children with FAS.
Obviously, drinking heavily while pregnant is dangerous, and can lead to FASD. But no study has been able to correlate moderate drinking to birth defects. The studies used to promote abstinence from drinking are based on results from heavy drinkers. Why do they blur the lines to make it apply to drinking across the board?
There are so many factors that can harm your child from what you drink to what you eat, activities you choose to partake in, medical procedures/interventions, the list is endless. Women make decisions every day for there unborn baby's. I think we should give each other a bit of credit because we all know how hard it can be.
Orris Apjoko
12-08-2010, 00:59
I picked the most common option, no 3.
I was not preg but on CD 6 i drunk a few spirits and i o'd on CD13 and got preg on CD13. Since then i havnt drank for the fact that it took 6 months to get preg and i had 1 m/c and i wasnt doing anything to increase my chance of damaging my baby. I dont even sit in the front seat of our car as air bags kill more pregnant womens babys then save, including a really close friends baby.
willowbubs
13-08-2010, 06:57
I really haven't felt the urge to drink. I tried to have half a glass of wine at 9 weeks at an engagement party so no-one guessed I was pregnant but it didn't even taste right! :yes:
DP has a drink most afternoons after work but I really have never been tempted to join him. That helps I guess!
PacmansMum
13-08-2010, 08:46
Not a single drop.
I don't judge women who have the odd glass while pregnant. I just knew if I had a drink and something went wrong ( miscarriage, stillbirth etc ) I knew I would blame myself for having that drink ( even if it wasn't alcohol related at all )
I also cut out coffee for most of my pregnancy too. Because I was scared how the caffeine would effect bubba.
Guess I was a little overprotective before he was even born :yes:
I picked the most common option, no 3.
I was not preg but on CD 6 i drunk a few spirits and i o'd on CD13 and got preg on CD13. Since then i havnt drank for the fact that it took 6 months to get preg and i had 1 m/c and i wasnt doing anything to increase my chance of damaging my baby. I dont even sit in the front seat of our car as air bags kill more pregnant womens babys then save, including a really close friends baby.
Well its obvious this is a touchy subject, we mothers are very protective of ours and anyones newborns and yet to be borns. :angel:
So I would like to thank HOPE2BMUMSOON for pointing out a danger that I had not even thought about and that is the effect of a air bag on a pregnant women. We are hoping to be blessed with a second child and that is something I will remember if and when I get pregnant again. Thank you for bringing up something that is lessed talked about.
lexiemum
13-08-2010, 15:25
I didn't know I was pregnant until I was 8 weeks along. In that time I went to my Office Christmas party and helped myself to a few glasses of champaign... I feel so guilty about this though and for a long time I was really worried. I haven't touched a drop since. mum assured me plenty of babies born in the 70's and 80's were exposed to a lot more alcohol and cigarette smoke while in the womb and most turned out 'fine.' I'm still a little worried about it though... I just hope Bub is healthy and happy. Can't wait to meet 'It.' :)
Babushka
22-08-2010, 13:56
I chose not to drink whilst pregnant with DD. I felt like a light beer over the Xmas I was pregnant, but stopped myself. I think being baby number 1 I was very very cautious of EVERYTHING I did.
In saying that ~ my Obstetrician who is extremely well regarded and respected told me that it was ok to have the odd glass of red.
SO ~ in my opinion if you feel like a glass of wine occassionaly then have one. If you don't feel comforatable then don't.
I won't be this time again either as I just don't feel comforatable doing it.
I said yes to an occasional glass.
My drink of choice was lemon lime and bitters and I only had 2 glasses when preg with DS1 and 2 when preg with DS2.
mysonroger
31-08-2010, 00:38
i'm ashamed to say i did drink during pregnancies. for the absolute pathetic reason that i didn't want people to know i was pregnant until after the first trimester. because i was a bit of a party animal before that. i would sip away slowly , hoping they wouldn't notice i was sipping. DH would take big drinks out of mine to help me out or buy me soda water but get the barman to dress it like a G&T. how silly am i.
trishalishous
01-09-2010, 00:36
I said yes to an occasional glass.
My drink of choice was lemon lime and bitters and I only had 2 glasses when preg with DS1 and 2 when preg with DS2.
Lemon Lime and Bitters has barely any alcohol (less than mouthwash), you dont have to be a licenced premises to sell it (its in the soft drink machine at sizzler), and we served it to children.:confused:
I make my own with the real bitters, not the pre-made stuff you buy at the supermarket ;)
BayleysMum
02-09-2010, 14:30
I never touched a drink with any of my kids after finding out that I was pregnant. I am so against drinking while pregnant!
Kimberleygal1
03-09-2010, 15:27
For the first trimester I didn't touch a drop.
After that I will have the odd light beer.
chantelalana
02-10-2010, 15:11
When i didn't know i was preg i was drinking on weekends/occasions but when i found out around 8-10 weeks i was pregnant i stopped drinking altogether and i don't even feel like it.
In my opinion drinking while pregnant is wrong and unnessecary.
chickenfoot83
03-10-2010, 00:27
I had 2 sips of wine and that was it, DS is now 5months and I have not had a drink yet. But thats all about to change with every thing thats coming up.:party:
shadowangel0205
09-10-2010, 16:08
I voted....
No - I made a decision not to drink at all for the health of my baby
But in saying that, its been literally years since ive even had a sip of alcohol. I do not drink, just chose not too one day... so i guess my result doesnt count :) as my drinking habits didnt change.
overitand36
09-10-2010, 16:16
latest research suggests that a glass every now and then is safe
its called common sense bitter a few more people did not use it
Personally, I think you are pregnant and breastfeeding for such a short period of time why risk it?? I do not so much as have a sip of alcohol while being pregnent or breastfeeding. In Canada, where I am originally from, it is a big no-no to drink while pregnant at all. I was surprised to find that is not the case here.
I am also surprised to see that women will avoid eating a bit of Brie or some deli meat but then sit down with a glass of wine while pregnant. I suppose though it's up to each woman to weigh up the risks and make an informed decision that is right for them and that they can live with knowing there may be consequences.
Myztiks#1Fan
09-10-2010, 16:33
i did have a drink when i was pregnant and i think i was about 12ish, 13ish weeks as i was at my work xmas party(only was about half a glass as well as i didnt want it in the end). that was all i drank until he was over 1yr old.
ETA i actually had a huge huge huge bender before i knew i was pregnant. i found otu when i was 7wks along so bender happened about 5ish wks and also we woud have a drink most nights as well with dinner so yes,i guess i drank quite a bit but i didnt know i was pregnant.
SpottySocks
09-10-2010, 16:59
When i was 4 1/2 months pregnant with my 2nd DD my DD1 was diagnosed with a rare genetic condition that only affect girls (she would lose skills, be unable to walk, talk or have any functional use of her hands plus develop seizures & scoliosis). There was no way of telling if my 2nd daughter would be affected and even if she was the pregnancy had progressed too far for me to do anything (had I wanted too).
My blood pressure shot through the roof and my Ob actually recommended I have a glass of wine - not every night, but he said if a glass of wine over dinner once or twice a week helped me to relax then it was preferable to the high blood pressure. I probably only had 1/2 a glass once or twice a week but I did drink.
DD2 will be 7 in a month, she is fine didn't inherit the same condition her older sister has, she is actually the smartest of my 3 children, reads 3 years above her age level, is in grade one but doing grade 2 maths and plays the piano & reads music quite well. The occasional glass of wine obviously didn't do her any harm.
I didn't drink at all with DD1's pregnancy. With DD3 I would have the occasional 1/2 glass of wine - I would sit on it most of the night just having the occasional sip. Personally I feel the occasional drink isn't going to do any harm, but I would never do more than that or go out and get drunk.
mummajugs
09-10-2010, 17:10
:no: no way!!! wouldn't even think about it.
trishalishous
09-10-2010, 17:12
I just realised that I probably DID drink when I was pregnant.
my lmp was 27th july, and I had a glass of wine at my nanas funeral on the 13th august.
so I was possibly 3-4 days pregnant :)
I didn't drink at all while pregnant. By choice. In fact I've rarely drank now after having her because I don't like to get drunk whilst she is with me and thats all the time.
Lemonhead
09-10-2010, 17:18
I have the odd glass of vino :) one glass occasionally will not harm anyone.
alcohol was the reason I became suss that I was pregnant with my first! It was our wedding night and I had a mouthful of beer and it tasted really weird so I tried a different brand and it also tasted weird, had a mouthful of a third brand and it also tasted weird so I gave up. Knowing we hadn't bothered with contraceptives that month that night I said to DH I thought I was pregnant - two days later I found out I was!
I didn't drink at all for the rest of the pregnancy and didn't drink at all with my son either.
I also won't drink while breastfeeding.
Having spent 10K on having a baby through IVF I would in no way ever consider drinking!!
TNTbub
BabushkaMumma
10-10-2010, 11:33
Easier to wait 9 months than have a lifetime of wondering if a drink affected the baby...just my opinion.
Briannabear
12-10-2010, 16:24
I chose not to with all 3 of our children.
The way I see it is it's only 9 months to wait... just a speck of time in your life in the grand scheme of things.
mumzdaword
12-10-2010, 16:57
Im a yes and a no
All previous pregnancy's i havent touched a drop, this pregnancy i had a west coast a few months back, but nothing since then, attended a wedding 3 nights ago and used water for toasting instead of the passion pop they supplied lol
TheSudgestionator
01-11-2010, 21:14
I had the odd glass here and there. Once I had 2 glasses in 1 night :eek: (& felt like the worst mum ever afterwards) but DD is healthy and thats all that matters
Caszie87
02-11-2010, 08:15
I am also a yes and no. The last pregnancy I didn't drink anything...not a drop, I was so A N A L over it my husband got annoyed (not that I was a big drinker in the first place! hahah).
But this one I have had a full beer and now just couple of mouthfuls of his whenever he gits a six pack over the weekend...and a glass of wine when we played poker a couple of months ago. I actually enjoy the alcohol. Before I was even pregnant it made me sick, even a sip, it's nice to have that calm feeling when everything else is so hectic.
I choose not to drink whilst pregnant or whilst breastfeeding. It's such a short time really, I don't think it's that big of a sacrifice.
*babygirl*
04-11-2010, 12:59
Nope, I wouldn't feed my newborn ANY amount of alcohol so I don't put ANY amount into my body to ilter through to them. We may not know about 'safe levels' or where the line is drawn but I do no alcohol does not enhance any of our bodily functions so therefore none for bubba.
I will have the occasional cocktail when out o dinner and BReastfeeding but I will have a backup supply of expressed milk and will express and discard the next feed after a drink :)
05-11-2010, 09:05
No. :)
I would have loved a glass or two sometimes, but I didnt indulge.
With Mr G I CRAAAVED beer, so I used to swirl it around in my mouth and then spit it out! :o
I'm craving beer this time. I don't even like beer that much! When I go to my parents for dinner I just smell Dad's beer :laughing:.
Boobycino
05-11-2010, 09:09
I craved mojitos :o and we did go out often so I'd ask the bar tender to make me a lime soda with mint in it :o - I had one bartender at a cocktail bar fully decorate my glass with like awesome cocktail prettiness :D :o
GypsyFortuneTeller
05-11-2010, 09:38
I luuuurve a wine but chose not to drink during my pregnancy. It was hard at times but that was my decision. My friend who fell pregnant at the same time drank a few glasses every week (her ob said no more than 2 a day). That was her choice. Im not going to judge what other ppl choose to do. Being a mum-to-be is stressful, as is being a mum. People just love finding fault in us. Can we just support each other just once??????
I know sleepless beauty it is amazing how many things we as parents can become evil selfish human beings over! in my last pregnancy I had a glass of champers on my mums 50th and a beer on new years eve! This pregnancy I haven't had a drink yet but perhaps on a special occasion I will. Latest research suggests an occasional drink is completely safe and I believe the only reason it was deemed unsafe for the past few years is because there was not enough research. When my mum was pregnant with me the health world said you could have a few drinks a week and my mum drank a a tia Maria once a week and I am fairly sure I turned out conpletely normal! finished high school, finished half a uni degree (perhaps I can blame my mums drinking for not being so keen on the second half) and am a good person and parent with no extra eyes or heads. If research ever comes out to say its dangerous I will take that on but common sense tells me it never will
sunnygirl79
05-11-2010, 15:37
Help need some quick advice please! I am only very newly preg (5 weeks) and as such haven't told anyone but my mum and DH but I have some HUGE family gatherings over the next week, starting with a hens party tonight and wedding (on an island, 4 days with extended family). I really really don't want anyone to find out yet but if I say I'm not drinking (even if I say I'm not feeling well/on antibiotics etc) they will get suss. So I'm planning to 'pretend drink' ie, get a glass and pretend to sip, tip some out while no one's looking etc, give the illusion I'm drinking.. is this crazy? Is it ok for me to have 1 wine or even a few mouthfuls to keep up the act? I don't plan to drink at all but if half a glass won't hurt then maybe its better than blowing my cover so early?:confused:
Caszie87
06-11-2010, 14:33
And SunnyGirl79...all research now supports that a glass or two of wine is okay and won't hurt your baby. Just as so you don't over do it. Binge drinking will harm your baby. It is up to you to make the decision if you drink or not while pregnant...although you sound worried about it and like your making a smart decision, so I don't think you are going to go crazy over the alcohol.
I have deleted a few off topic posts. Please keep to the topic and post in a positive and supportive manner or not at all.
Alcohol is a drug, and I'm personally very cautious about putting drugs into my body when pregnant, I don't care what the 'latest research' says. It's just nine or ten months - if I couldn't physically or mentally go without an alcoholic drink, then I think I would have bigger issues to deal with :cool:
I usually love beer (we also make it), and could have beer for breakfast with steak or something before.
I went off it when I was about 4 weeks preggo (didn't know at that stage), and now I can't even look at it.
My partner always askes if I was a sip of whatever he is drinking... if only he knew how sick I feel most of the time :p
MumTotzlj
25-11-2010, 19:42
i ticked yes the same as before but i very rarely drink
Alcohol is a drug, and I'm personally very cautious about putting drugs into my body when pregnant, I don't care what the 'latest research' says. It's just nine or ten months - if I couldn't physically or mentally go without an alcoholic drink, then I think I would have bigger issues to deal with :cool:
Yes all of those of us who replied and said we had one or two occasions of having a drink clearly have deep issues lol. And yeah alcohol is a drug just like panadol, the nausea medication I take, ventolin for asthma or even some herbal medicines which are considered very powerful and strong. The word drug does not always equal bad.
I fail to see how a drug like ventolin can be compared to a recreational drug :confused: The former is necessary for health of mother and foetus, the latter is necessary for...nothing.
Once again, I'm very cautious about which drugs I put into my body during pregnancy. In my opinion, it's bad enough when you HAVE to take medications, without adding a rec drug into the mix.
JMO.
I'm making the point that not all drugs do carry risks during pregnancy, research can show that some drugs are safer than others and its fine to say just your opinion but you also said if you can't abstain from drinking for a few months it means you have issues which is a bit of a generalisation in my opinion
I'm careful about drugs during pregnancy whether they are considered 'safe' or not - drugs which have been considered safe in the past were later proven to be quite the opposite. For that reason, and others, I'm careful about using ANY drugs during this time, so I certainly won't take them willy nilly - only if really necessary (which *I* don't believe alcohol is).
As far as generalisations go...umm...how am I generalising? If you read my post you will see I was referring to myself. My comment was about *myself* having issues if I can't abstain for just 9 or 10 months. I don't really care if other people choose to drink, it's not really my business!
DaniiLawson
26-11-2010, 00:54
I voted "Yes - but only the odd glass every now and again"
I only really drank lightly in the first 4 - 5 months with my first child, I cant remember with the second. I think I was just over cautious during my first pregnancy thats all.
D :+)
SunSparkz
29-11-2010, 10:46
My partner and i enjoy a drink on most weekends, so after nearly 2 years of being drinkfree (i dont TOUCH it while pregnant or Breastfeeding) so after my son turned one i stopped feeding him and had 4 weeks of drinking a little before i found out i was pregnant again by 6 weeks. Felt absolutely TERRIBLE and am hanging out to see the next ultrasound to ensure all is ok.
The worst thing is i was also taking some herbal tablets that contain high levels of vitamin A... i only took 2 weeks worth for a skin condition but am SO stressed that it could harm the baby.
Youve got to be SO careful what you put into your body.
:thumbsdown:
CluckyMummy
29-11-2010, 13:02
I was 19 when I fell pregnant, I was a social smoker as well as a heavy binge drinker and quit both habits as soon as I found out. I was determined to do everything right by my baby so I completely changed my diet too. I don't think I would have done it any other way I mean why take any risk at all?
Samaras Mummy
15-12-2010, 20:47
When i was pregant with DD i had a very weak bourbon and coke a couple of times up untill 26 weeks when i just went off even the thought of alcohol.
With DS I didnt have a drop.
Threadkiller
16-12-2010, 18:48
I voted No - I made a decision not to drink at all for the health of my baby, but realy there was no option for mine, I didnt drink at all even when I wasnt pregnant back when I had all my kids. :)
Monica1504
16-12-2010, 21:05
My husband and i will start trying to concieve in February, i plan to stop drinking 1 month before then and not to drink again until i've finished breastfeeding which will be hard as i work in the liquor industry! I made this decision as i know how crappy i sometimes feel after just 2 drinks so i can only imagine that it would have some effect on an baby. Just not worth the risk!!!
MummyDaddy
17-12-2010, 12:00
I saw a woman about 6 months pregnant we'll assume drinking a glass of red in a pub.
My question is this.
Would you give that glass of red to your new born baby?
If the answer is no - then I ask - why on earth are you putting it in your body.
I'm a firm believer in no drinking during pregnancy. But then - i've had many friends drink moderately during pregnancy and give birth to perfectly healthy babies.
I saw a woman about 6 months pregnant we'll assume drinking a glass of red in a pub.
My question is this.
If the answer is no - then I ask - why on earth are you putting it in your body.
I'm a firm believer in no drinking during pregnancy. But then - i've had many friends drink moderately during pregnancy and give birth to perfectly healthy babies.
The reason your friends babies were born healthy is because when a baby is inside us it is not the same as handing a baby a glass of red. The body filters out almost all of the alcohol. I can't remember the exact amount that is left but it is extemely insignificant! This is why women can take very strong drugs etc for difficult pregnancies and their babies are perfectly fine! The body is an amazing thing which aims to protect the baby. Of course we would never give a newborn baby two panadol but we can take two panadol ourselves and the baby will be fine
ElastiGirl
17-12-2010, 13:07
The reason your friends babies were born healthy is because when a baby is inside us it is not the same as handing a baby a glass of red. The body filters out almost all of the alcohol. I can't remember the exact amount that is left but it is extemely insignificant! This is why women can take very strong drugs etc for difficult pregnancies and their babies are perfectly fine! The body is an amazing thing which aims to protect the baby. Of course we would never give a newborn baby two panadol but we can take two panadol ourselves and the baby will be fine
I strongly agree with this.
TurnedBatty
17-12-2010, 13:16
Yes I did. And won't be made to feel guilty for doing so. :)
Boobycino
17-12-2010, 14:40
:iagree: with the last three posts :D
I wouldn't let my son suck on my asthma medication, but I took it all through my pregnancy - theres lots of things I put in my body while pregnant, that I wouldn't put in his, because its not like a direct link between my mouth and his body when he's inside me.
I did have a few half glasses of wine now and then, and Jasper was perfectly fine.
I wouldn't have done it every day, or every week even, just the odd half glass sipping so I feel *a part* of the adult world, not just an incubator ;)
faroutbrusselsprout
17-12-2010, 14:44
My question is this.
It was probably me! :p
No offence but the comparison is utterly ridiculous, I also wouldn't give my newborn a steak to chew on or a adult quantity of panadol either.
I have done my research and drunk very lightly through all of my pregnancys. I have two very very healthy, happy boys so far.
giveitago
17-12-2010, 14:47
I agree with this post entirely.
Also, I'm not a fan of a pregnant woman drinking ten schooners or four cans of jim beam down at the pub. But I've seen pregnant women at a restaurant have a glass of wine and not thought ill of them. I myself have had two glasses this pregnancy, I dilute them with lemonade purely because they are a bit sweet, but I'd happily have a glass of wine every now and then and not feel bad.
My OB condones it, and through all my medical training sensible amounts of wine were always considered fine.
moomechanic
17-12-2010, 14:49
I think it's irresponable to sit there going I drank and my kids are fine!! I mean do u really know that for sure, you will never know completey what u have done, also the risk is huge, especially when foetal alcohol syndrome is real, I have worked first hand with these children an believe me anyone who has wouldn't think twice about whether or not they'll have a drink while pregnant, I believe it's a Huge gamble u are taking with your childrens life and u are just purely lucky they are so called 'healthy'
SunSparkz
17-12-2010, 17:02
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fetal_alcohol_syndrome
Studies indicate that the physical and mental impairments wont be as prominent if the mother drinks less than 8 drinks per week... Some effects will only be something small like bad memory when they are older if the mother had a few drinks prenatal.. but this link is WELL worth the read.
sweetseven
18-12-2010, 22:47
My question is this.
I'm a firm believer in no drinking during pregnancy. But then - i've had many friends drink moderately during pregnancy and give birth to perfectly healthy babies.When one of my friends discovered I was pregnant (with my fourth), she gave me a cask of wine and instructed me to drink half a glass every other day because it had health benefits. I declined, but just thought I would point out different people have differing opinions.
I think it's irresponable to sit there going I drank and my kids are fine!! I mean do u really know that for sure, you will never know completey what u have done, also the risk is huge, especially when foetal alcohol syndrome is real, I have worked first hand with these children an believe me anyone who has wouldn't think twice about whether or not they'll have a drink while pregnant, I believe it's a Huge gamble u are taking with your childrens life and u are just purely lucky they are so called 'healthy'
Yes I do know my son is fine in fact he is very clever and has no iSsues what so ever. And my mother has worked with children with foetal alcohol syndrome for over twenty years and works in early intervention for children with global delay and has her own program and I can tell you now she does condone the occasional drink in pregnancy and is probably in a pretty good situation to judge too. There are NO links between light and infrequent drinking in pregnancy and health iSsues in children which means the occasional drink and is a totally different thing to having a glass a few times a week which would be considered frequent
share a book
18-12-2010, 23:45
I guess everybody's "safe" level is different, making it difficult to make a decision. I guess also it's hard to know just how alcohol is affecting us on the inside when we don't feel any different. It's not a risk I'd be willing to take. But then I don't drink often anyway and even when not pregnant or breastfeeding I don't find it hard to say no to a drink. went to a Sunday Sess last weekend and had 2 cans of coke and a glass of juice, along with water throughout the day and into the evening. Not pregnant or breastfeeding now, nor was I driving. Just didn't want to and had no reason to drink so just didn't.
herewithoutyou
18-12-2010, 23:49
i didnt drink once i knew i was pregnant but with all my children i never knew until i was about 3months so until that stage i was still having the odd glass of wine at night with my dinner but lucky we arent big drinkers.
sweetseven
18-12-2010, 23:53
I guess everybody's "safe" level is different, making it difficult to make a decision. I guess also it's hard to know just how alcohol is affecting us on the inside when we don't feel any different. It's not a risk I'd be willing to take. But then I don't drink often anyway and even when not pregnant or breastfeeding I don't find it hard to say no to a drink. went to a Sunday Sess last weekend and had 2 cans of coke and a glass of juice, along with water throughout the day and into the evening. Not pregnant or breastfeeding now, nor was I driving. Just didn't want to and had no reason to drink so just didn't.Personally I think coke is nasty stuff, and wonder if that might be worse than a little alcohol.
LittleBlueKisses
19-12-2010, 00:03
A wk before I knew I was pregnant (would have been just after implantation) was Australia Day weekend so it was spent like most back in those days...big group camping down the river, drinking & fishing for most of it so I did consume quite abit at that time yes but as soon as my period didn't come to my suprise & the stick confirmed I didn't touch another drop. Wasn't my thing & fair of problems from it kept me too scared to tempt it. I don't accept willing heavy drinker but each to their own with the occasional during those mths IMO. like so many other choices we make as parents. I'm a long term BF feeder too & didn't resume the couple of drinx after bub bedtime till he was probably 15mths old. :)
LittleBlueKisses
19-12-2010, 00:08
Lord!! Typing on the iPod makes for mistakes!! Suppose to be fear not fair & I don't accept willing heavy drinking during pregnancy...sorry!! :)
share a book
19-12-2010, 14:09
Personally I think coke is nasty stuff, and wonder if that might be worse than a little alcohol.
Yes it can be nasty stuff and I have only had it once all year, which was at that particular time. I'm not pregnant and not breastfeeding and haven't in quite a few years now. I rarely drink softdrink of any kind, and rarely drink alcohol either. I would not drink coke while pregnant or breastfeeding either. Any softdrink for that matter, way too much sugar and who knows what chemicals are in it.
mummy2Luca
19-12-2010, 15:11
I didnt drink anything while pregnant with my son or while i was breastfeeding for 8 months. Would be extremely irresponsible imo
I dont think its worth the possible and proven risks.
MummyDaddy
19-12-2010, 18:12
To those who drank during pregnancy and have zero regrets - good for you. Think whatever you want to help you sleep easy at night. It's your life, your kid, your body, your life. I really couldn't care less.
For me. There was no question. No drinking. Zero tolerance.
I don't care what other people do - your body - your kid.
For me. It just wasn't something I was going to do.
MummyDaddy
19-12-2010, 18:15
When one of my friends discovered I was pregnant (with my fourth), she gave me a cask of wine and instructed me to drink half a glass every other day because it had health benefits. I declined, but just thought I would point out different people have differing opinions.
Cask wine! Hahaha ... says it all really.
Yes - everyone has different opinions. Including me.
Ready my post again and you'll se that I offered the different opinion. That of my friends who did drink and have children that are fine.
As said - i couldn't care less what other people do. I care about what I do and how I behave and how I treat my body when pregnant as it is the vessel for my baby.
I don't believe in drinking during pregnancy. I'll say this however. Before I knew I was pregnant I drank 3 weekends in a row. My child is fine. Still, as soon as I knew I was pregnant - that was it. No alcohol.
Claire89x
23-01-2011, 09:22
Voted no - made decision for baby. i don't drink often anyway but i did go out twice when pregnant + didn't touch a drop. pregnancy ended in miscarriage unfortunately and if i had of drank i would of defiantly blamed myself! we are fully responsible for a growing babys health + well being. i just can't see how people can get drunk whilst pregnant! its insane. many women say 'i drank through my pregnancy + had a healthy child' < yeah baby had all fingers + toes but alot of problems will occur later on in the child's life! its our job to protect our children even from conception x
GypsyFortuneTeller
26-01-2011, 08:55
---
spideysmummy
27-01-2011, 10:48
I haven't touched a drop since I found out I was pregnant and only occasionally have I felt like a drink. Have resisted those couple of those times though because the health of my baby is much more important, and if something were to happen I would never forgive myself.
However I am getting married in a couple of weeks and plan on having a sip of champagne during the toasts... if I feel like it at the time :)
Not one single sniff of alcohol I'm way too scared and I use to drink a glass everyday with dinner or while cooking dinner.
MammaMaz
29-01-2011, 13:07
I am really new to this - and only literally just found out that I am pregnant this morning! :hyper: Am yet to see a Dr but I did a HPT and it came up positive! My husband and I have only seriously tried once and now it appears to have happened first go - so I wasn't even expecting to be expecting but here I am.
The thing is I am sort of freaking out and its not about being pregnant (I am overjoyed about it!:laughing:) but because I have consumed alcohol over the last 2 weeks - I was away at a week long work event and had roughly a glass of wine a day and on one night had 3 glasses of spiritis AND then just last week on Australia day I had half a beer and a mojito! Like I said I really didn't even think I was pregnant. In that time I have also taken Zyrtec for my hayfever and neurofen here and there - so you can understand why I am freaking out.
Now that I know I am pregnant I am most definitely not touching any of the stuff but want to know if anyone else out there has perhaps had a similar experience of drinking/taking meds while not realising they were pregnant and if they have gone on to have healthy babies without any mental or physical issues. I feel so guilty :confused:
Hi MummaMaz - congratulations on your BFP. In regards to your question, I'm no expert but all the books I have read say to try not to stress to much if you have had a couple of drinks before you realised you were pregnant - the main thing is to stop now that you know. I think most babies with problems caused by alcohol are born to mothers who have drunk continuously throughout their pregnancies - or a lot in one hit. From what it sounds like the amounts that you have had are fairly small anyhow. Like I said this is just how I understand it, but hopefully once you see a doctor the doctor can ease your mind a little.
So for now try to relax (harder said than done I know)
Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy.
spideysmummy
01-02-2011, 08:17
Agree with above... Just stop now that you know and try not to freak. Pretty common thing I think you'll find.
I was the same though - it was my birthday and I was going to Europe, had heaps on, so for 2 weeks straight pretty much I'd been drinking.... I was worried, but I now am 29 weeks with a very healthy bubby growing away :)
lucylousmith
03-02-2011, 00:53
hey guys,
3 years ago i found out i was infertile, my partner and i were distraught but we still did not give up with other methods of having children, we tried adopting but that did not go too well for us so we decided to do some research on surrogacy. We soon found out about the British Surrogacy Centre, i could not of asked for better customer care, my partner and i are now waiting for our new little boy to be born in the next 2 months. here is the link to the website, even if you want to find out more they are happy to help! www.britishsurrogacycentre.com (http://www.britishsurrogacycentre.com/)
BlissedOut
03-02-2011, 00:59
Would be nice to have had a 'no, I don't drink at all' option.
shabbychook
06-04-2011, 15:23
Last pregnancy I had a glass at the table in front of me for Christmas, I had a sip and it tasted off, stale. This pregnancy I had a glass pored for me for my hens night and I threw up at the smell, at our wedding everyone found out because they all wondered why I wasn't drinking, even the smell of hubby's breath after he has a beer makes me sick. It's not good for the baby. We're not even using it in cooking as the smell in the house makes me sick.
I recently found out I was pregnant and stopped drinking as soon as I knew. Like many many people, I'd drunk during those first weeks of 'unbeknown pregnancy'. I'm a :blowout:2-reds-a-night kinda girl:blowout:, always have been, but you stop when pregnant. Especially during the first trimester. When carrying my son (I drank during the early weeks with him too, when I didn't know he was there. He came out *perfect*), I can remember having a glass here or there around month 7, but then for the final stretch I just went right off it; I didn't have the desire to drink in the slightest. Which is completely contrary to my usual, 'non pregnant' self!
:cheerleader1:Me 38, :wave:DP 53, :hyper:DS 2, :dog:fluffy-one 5
I drank during the first few months of my pregnancy :eek: i stopped when i found out i was pregnant but that wasnt till around 12 weeks!!.
I read all these horrible things about what was going to happen to DD, that she would be an "alcohol baby" etc. But she is fine. She is an average 3.5yr old. :D
share a book
07-04-2011, 13:19
I drank during the first few months of my pregnancy :eek: i stopped when i found out i was pregnant but that wasnt till around 12 weeks!!.
I read all these horrible things about what was going to happen to DD, that she would be an "alcohol baby" etc. But she is fine. She is an average 3.5yr old. :D
How scary for you!
2darlingboys
07-04-2011, 13:33
No never.
I dont understand why people can't say no for 9 months for the health of their babies.
I only drank once while BF too. & I prob expressed 2 days worth of milk for 3/4 drinks.
Witchypoo
07-04-2011, 14:35
[QUOTE=2darlingboys;5723559]No never.
I dont understand why people can't say no for 9 months for the health of their babies.
QUOTE]
:iagree:
How scary for you!
It was im just glad it hasnt done any damage. I had NO IDEA i was pregnant. :( the day i found out i quit drinking smoking and started taking pregnancy vitamins. but i was stressing the whole time.
~CupCakes~
07-04-2011, 16:05
this was me except we didnt find out till i had about 12 weeks to go........ i was convinced i really had harmed my baby ( he was perfect btw and a very healthy almost 7 year old now )
~CupCakes~
07-04-2011, 16:10
i couldn't vote because mine was none of the above :D
Claire89x
08-04-2011, 01:50
Cupcakes mine to lol im a revert Muslim + can't drink but i did before i reverted but would never during pregnancy. i don't see the point in 1 glass (if its the taste theres none alcoholic wine) so why not just not have it :) x
i drank when i had a miscarriage (r.i.p angel) i couldnt deal with it but soon as we started trying again i didn't drink + started healthy eating taking vits etc so i know im in tiptop condition :) x
~CupCakes~
08-04-2011, 06:51
with my other two pregnancies i didnt drink a drop from when we decided to start trying!
Last pregnancy the only craving I had was beer (I don't like beer) so every now and then I would have a tiny sip of my partners beer. Also had 1/4 flute of champers in last trimester for Christmas lunch.
share a book
08-04-2011, 07:10
It was im just glad it hasnt done any damage. I had NO IDEA i was pregnant. :( the day i found out i quit drinking smoking and started taking pregnancy vitamins. but i was stressing the whole time.
I was the same but only for 2 weeks after s e x so they reckon it was ok at that time but still makes you think hey!
myfirstbub
09-04-2011, 16:05
Can we hear from the people that did drink please?
I had a few last night, not worried, there are so many things that can harm it eg stress, radiation, obesity, did you all meditate stop using mobiles and lose weight too?
bellalika
09-04-2011, 16:28
I had one before I knew I was pregnant at my hubby's 30th, but that was it. It was the only drink I'd had in over a year or since. I'm not against it, I just don't like the taste of Alcohol!
kittykawaii
09-04-2011, 17:15
I would never drink knowing I was already pregnant.
I probably have drunk before finding out I was pregnant. But I couldn't take the risk of drinking while pregnant and knowing I was.
ghostdancer
30-04-2011, 22:45
i had one rather boozy night out for a friends birthday (back in april 08) i didnt know i was literally one day pregnant!! after that particularly trashy night i vowed to quit drinking for a good 2 months, luckily i stopped!!
as for breastfeeding & drinking - everyone kept telling me to drink stout, coz its full of iron, but i never did. i just dont like the idea of drinking & :BFing:
with the people who have said they continued to drink when pregnant, im thinking its just the occasional glass of wine....??? im definitely curious to hear what they have to say though :)
I didn't realise that I was pregnant for the first 20 weeks (pretty ditzy, huh?) and so because of that I had been drinking whilst pregnant. Luckily, I rarely feel like anything alcoholic, so it only amounted to about 4 standard drinks the whole time. I was more scared because I hadn't been taking folate supplements and being epileptic, you're supposed to take 10xs the amount of other people :freakingout: Fortunately bubs came out 100% healthy.
Borealis
02-05-2011, 21:02
For the first few weeks of my pregnancy we were holidaying in the Hunter... Haha.. So was drinking but had NO idea I was pregnant. I'm not a big drinker and only like a glass of red occasionally. I've been craving wine while preggers but havent had any. Dh is especially strict on this.. If he was more slack I'd have had a half glass of red during those cravings. Doctor has said a glass especially if it's only once a week is totally fine but we won't be having any for the pregnancy duration.
i had one rather boozy night out for a friends birthday (back in april 08) i didnt know i was literally one day pregnant!! after that particularly trashy night i vowed to quit drinking for a good 2 months, luckily i stopped!!
as for breastfeeding & drinking - everyone kept telling me to drink stout, coz its full of iron, but i never did. i just dont like the idea of drinking & :BFing:
with the people who have said they continued to drink when pregnant, im thinking its just the occasional glass of wine....??? im definitely curious to hear what they have to say though :)
Yes when us mothers say that we do indulge in a beverage whilst pregnant, means exactly that. We have the occasional small glass. I actually sip on the one drink and once at a bbq it lasted me the entire time, although it must have looked bad as people would not have probably known that and everytime they saw me i had a drink in my hand.... but it was the same one that i had 2 hours ago!!
How many people have drank alcholol (i can never spell that word) when they didn't know they were pregnant, probably 99% and if it really was that bad there would be more malformed babies being born. I am not condoning getting plastered I think that is a little bit selfish and irresponsible but to have a one drink, maybe once a month or whenever that special occassion happens, I think is quite ok. And if people wish to not have anything than that is ok too.
I have 2 months to go and probably had 4 drinks over my pregnancy... i take my multi vitamins, iron supplements, i am in good health, not overweight etc etc
I know a lady who has 2 kids under 4 and one that was about 6, and she said she would have a glass of wine EACH night, to stay sane... all her kids are fine.. She also is not overweight, healthy and eats well. but i myself would feel a little uneasy having a glass of alcholol each night. but i dont judge her, as one glass is not like you are going overboard.
kiarahsmum
06-05-2011, 16:29
When I was preg with my first i used to have the odd glass of Baileys & milk here and there with my mum. Not every week but just every so often and I would only have one glass. My daughter turned out fine.
Now I am preg with my second and same again (so far) Ill have the odd glass of wine but only if there is something we are celebrating, I wont have a drink just for the sake of doing so (like if I was sitting at home on my own and just fancied one)
Like they say, everything in moderation. Each to their own though. Everyone has their own opinion on what is right and wrong during pregnancy and we are all entitled to our own opinion even if its different to someone elses, it doesnt mean the other person is wrong. Its the same with smoking. Some people stop or cut down (I quit the day I found out I was UTD), some dont, but thats another issue entirely.
06-05-2011, 16:33
I answered no for the safety and wellbeing of my baby.
In saying that i did have one drinking session with my first but didnt know that i was pg with him. Never touched it again though once i found out. :)
yummymummyx3
18-05-2011, 17:13
Read my post a lot of pages back about a woman who had a couple of drinks a couple of times during pregnancy and ended up with a baby with FAS...
That is complete rubbish, please get your facts correct before scaremongering women with false info.
vickiw1978
18-05-2011, 17:17
I know a lady that drank like a fish during all her 4 pregnancies and aurprisingly they are all perfectly healthy.i myself wouldnt do it but in saying that i smoked with a few on mine.
Sent from my GT-I9000T using Bubhub
2darlingboys
18-05-2011, 17:17
Wow I didn't know so many women did.
byzance9772
20-05-2011, 15:39
I had half a glass of wine for xmas,plus a glass of wine for mothers day,both of which,took me all afternoon to drink,small little sips,lol
tiny2011
20-06-2011, 13:46
I found it a hard adjustment not being able to drink so my partner gave up drinking too in support of me. It made the 9 months so much easier on me! I was quite a lucky woman I think.
scarymarygoldfish
20-06-2011, 22:44
Yes, I drank a glass of wine every now and then. I have no problems with that and I'll probably do it with my next pregnancy too.
Giggle&Hoot
28-11-2011, 01:43
When I was pregnant with my first I had a few drinks before 20 weeks before becoming too worried about the effects if could possibly be having. When I say a few I mean like 1 a week/fortnight max. I'm a worrier so drinking the minimal amount I did just stressed me out until I had my 20 week scan.
Last pregnancy I had 1 drink in the TWW and then none the entire time I carried him.
This pregnancy not a drop since TTC. I don't think it's necessary but admit that I would love a beer! I know what I'm having once bubs is born :)
happygirl1982
28-11-2011, 06:54
Think I've had 2 beers since I've become pregnant and a few sips here and there .
captainscaptain
28-11-2011, 09:27
When I was preg with my first i used to have the odd glass of Baileys & milk here and there with my mum. Not every week but just every so often and I would only have one glass. My daughter turned out fine.
Now I am preg with my second and same again (so far) Ill have the odd glass of wine but only if there is something we are celebrating, I wont have a drink just for the sake of doing so (like if I was sitting at home on my own and just fancied one)
Like they say, everything in moderation. Each to their own though. Everyone has their own opinion on what is right and wrong during pregnancy and we are all entitled to our own opinion even if its different to someone elses, it doesnt mean the other person is wrong. Its the same with smoking. Some people stop or cut down (I quit the day I found out I was UTD), some dont, but thats another issue entirely.
just wanted to point out that your baby boy was born on my birthday! wooooo
mrstuilawa
10-12-2011, 09:19
I found it a hard adjustment not being able to drink so my partner gave up drinking too in support of me. It made the 9 months so much easier on me! I was quite a lucky woman I think.
I've asked my hubby to do the same (once i'm actually UTD) !!
None of the above. I don't drink alcohol anyway.
Maybelline
10-12-2011, 10:55
I love a glass of wine/beer..but when I was preg..yuck tried to have a sip ..couldn't do it..so I probably had a mouthful whilst preg..
If i was able to drink I would prob have a half glass only at xmas/bday etc..
I prefer not to drink whilst preg (good detox )...
share a book
10-12-2011, 10:57
Wow I didn't know so many women did.
Neither did I :eek:
Misschief
10-12-2011, 14:15
So do we actually know (with plenty of evidence to back up claims) how much damage the odd glass of wine/beer/spirits can do?????
I know there's the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, but this usually happens with very heavy drinkers only.
So what other dangers are there? National guidelines in Australia dont recommend complete abstinence if someone has been a heavy drinker before pregnancy, as the body will react severely and the withdrawal symptoms can actually endanger the fetus.
According to THIS (http://www.mja.com.au/public/issues/186_01_010107/whi10623_fm.html) article, the opinions of doctors and professors are all over the place and studies held in several different cities in the US showed all very different outcomes as well.
If you're a light drinker, abstinence is always best. But it seems a small glass of wine once every few weeks, or even just on special occasions only, wont do any harm.
Again, it all boils down at how big your wineglass is and how full it is and what you see as a "standard" drink. My standard drink is just over half a glass of white wine. But someone else sees a standard drink as glass filled all the way to the top.
Everything in moderation is the key, or just complete abstinance.
I had half a glass of white wine at the beginning of my 3rd trimester to celebrate my ex's sentence in court, and a half glass of wine when I got my NT scan and bloodtest results back realizing I made it to the second term after all the trouble and stress I went through in the first 13 weeks.
DS is delayed, but 2 pediatricians, 1 psychologist and 2 Occupational Therapists have excluded those 2 half glasses of wine being to blame. There really is no blame to be had.
I did receive several big blows to my stomach at 9 weeks gestation which caused me to miscarriage my son's twin. That could be the cause or it might not. I dont want to think about it.
We're working on it now and even though he's a bit delayed, he's the most sweetest and placid 2 year old I could ever wish for :goodvibes::bee:
BMJandBaby
13-12-2011, 22:19
The day I found out I was pregnant was the day I stopped drinking completely; and I don't miss it one bit. I thought it'd be hard for me, because I'm definitely partial to a bevvy (or 3) :laughing: but it's felt as if a switch was flicked and I haven't had even had the slightest craving.. actually, the thought of it does absolutely nothing for me, to the point where I'm questioning if I'll ever feel like a drink again, even after bubs is born. Same goes with smoking, I smoked a couple a day before falling pregnant (and more when I drank :() but the thought of putting a cigarette in my mouth now repulses me. I definitely hope :fingerscrossed: that I'll remain off the cigs completely for the rest of my life. I have no plans to go back to the evil cancer sticks! :)
For the record, a woman I know was heavily pregnant a couple years back on Christmas day and she was drinking bourbon cans and smoking.. I thought it was disgusting and I was just gobsmacked. She ended up having a very sick little prem baby girl and even though no one mentioned it, I for one believe it probably happened because of her drinking etc.
I'm all for the "PREGNANT PAUSE " during the 9 months. The drinks can wait :)
nelle7250
14-12-2011, 21:26
I have the occasional cider if I feel like it I did the same with my daughter sometimes I don't have a drink for weeks no great lose either way.
It's a decision you make for yourself with each pregnancy IMO
i'm 24 weeks now with my 2nd. I didn't drink at all during pregnancy #1 and so far not this one either .....
I AM DYING FOR A BOURBON AND COKE!! hahahaha :D like seriously, If I could have just 1, I know I'd be so happy :)
FutureMa
16-12-2011, 16:57
No I haven't had a drink since I found out I was pregnant.... I don't miss it at all either. I miss sushi more!!
mumtocharli
20-12-2011, 14:35
i would like to pose a question...
My SIL announced she was 10 weeks pregnant with TWINS! yay!
Then she had a glass of red wine right after she announced it.
Ummmmm????
I barely drink alcohol, the last drink I had was just before I conceived and I never touched it since I found out I was pregnant.
I personally don't like a lot of alcohol anyways so it's something I'm fine without pregnant or not.
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub app
1CrazyMoose
20-12-2011, 15:26
No not at all. It's only 9months and maybe a few more. Surely u can't be that desperate to have a need to drink. It may not hurt the baby yet how can you be sure? Not a risk I was ever willing to try.
I have decided to have no alcohol at all. There are so many conflicting arguments and it is not for long anyway.
Before I knew I was pregnant (actually that nigiht!) I had been drinking on and off at various get togethers. I had been TTC for 5 months and thought it would never happen and just let go a little. Whoops! So I have decided not to have any at all as bubs already had it's fair share before I realised!
I didn't drink at all. I didn't want to have a reason to blame myself should anything have gone wrong during the pregnancy. I also avoided all the foods that you are told not to eat during pregnancy for the same reason.
This is just how I felt, and by no means a dig at anyone who didn't handle their pregnancy the same way.
Purple Lily
20-12-2011, 15:49
Nope i didnt but i never drink anyway. Ive never liked the taste of alcohol, i got drunk once a few years back n that was enough for me lol
Sent from my U8510 using BubHub
lineyb73
20-12-2011, 16:10
I have gestational diabetes and my endocrinologist said that a glass of wine is better for me than a glass of soft drink. Needless to say I only have one glass, only if in a social situation (prob about once every 6 weeks) and never had any in the first trimester. I never have any at home and I would drink diet softdrink out if they had more choice than just diet coke which I cannot stand.
Liney
Stiflers Mom
20-12-2011, 21:14
Yes. I'd have a drink or two several times a week.
higgleandgoot
20-12-2011, 21:18
Nope. Not a big drinker anyways, so was easy to go without
share a book
20-12-2011, 21:21
So do we actually know (with plenty of evidence to back up claims) how much damage the odd glass of wine/beer/spirits can do?????
I know there's the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, but this usually happens with very heavy drinkers only.
So what other dangers are there? National guidelines in Australia dont recommend complete abstinence if someone has been a heavy drinker before pregnancy, as the body will react severely and the withdrawal symptoms can actually endanger the fetus.
According to THIS (http://www.mja.com.au/public/issues/186_01_010107/whi10623_fm.html) article, the opinions of doctors and professors are all over the place and studies held in several different cities in the US showed all very different outcomes as well.
If you're a light drinker, abstinence is always best. But it seems a small glass of wine once every few weeks, or even just on special occasions only, wont do any harm.
Again, it all boils down at how big your wineglass is and how full it is and what you see as a "standard" drink. My standard drink is just over half a glass of white wine. But someone else sees a standard drink as glass filled all the way to the top.
Everything in moderation is the key, or just complete abstinance.
I had half a glass of white wine at the beginning of my 3rd trimester to celebrate my ex's sentence in court, and a half glass of wine when I got my NT scan and bloodtest results back realizing I made it to the second term after all the trouble and stress I went through in the first 13 weeks.
DS is delayed, but 2 pediatricians, 1 psychologist and 2 Occupational Therapists have excluded those 2 half glasses of wine being to blame. There really is no blame to be had.
I did receive several big blows to my stomach at 9 weeks gestation which caused me to miscarriage my son's twin. That could be the cause or it might not. I dont want to think about it.
We're working on it now and even though he's a bit delayed, he's the most sweetest and placid 2 year old I could ever wish for :goodvibes::bee:
We know the nody does not need alcohol. It's not like we have to give up water, ot something else we actually really need. How much do we need before it causes problems? Who knows, but if we have none, it cannot hurt the baby.
Boobycino
21-12-2011, 12:59
I've been such a 'good housewife' lately and fetched DF glasses of wine or beer when he asks...
... So I can just have a smell & sip off the top...
Same as last pregnancy have a bizarre beer craving. I DON'T DRINK BEER. I don't even like it. I like the smell of it though. Weirdo.
And at a few BBQs I've nursed half a glass of wine for a few hours to feel like I'm 'having a drink'.
Prof Plum
03-01-2012, 03:30
Having a drinks no big deal really, just like all the foods they suggest not to eat. All just rubbish. Eat and drink whatever in moderation is the way to go.
hopefully2
03-01-2012, 04:18
Having a drinks no big deal really, just like all the foods they suggest not to eat. All just rubbish. Eat and drink whatever in moderation is the way to go.
Having a drink is a massive deal. Go look up fetal alcohol syndrome! You shouldn't make statements like that, it's irresponsible! The affects of only a small amount of alcohol on a fetus is unbelievable!
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub app
giveitago
03-01-2012, 06:14
No it is not rubbish, what you said is rubbish.
Going around spewing this sort of garbage is completely irresponsible.
I hope no one ever asks you for pregnancy advice in real life. While nothing may have happened to you, I think you'll find that careless attitude won sit well with people who have had listeria, fetal alcohol syndrome or any other food related illness that have affected their pregnancy.
**** I can spell, honestly! It's my iPhone's fault ****
Alexander Beetle
03-01-2012, 10:56
I hope no one ever asks you for pregnancy advice in real life. While nothing may have happened to you, I think you'll find that careless attitude won sit well with people who have had listeria, fetal alcohol syndrome or any other food related illness that have affected their pregnancy.
Actually, as there is conflicting evidence, then you can't really say what anyone thinks is rubbish. And using words like garbage and irresponsible just serves to offend those who choose to have an occasional drink while pregnant. This dull old thread keeps getting rehashed, arguments ensue, it gets cleaned and then some bright spark starts it up again. People are never going to agree, but thankfully we can all make our own choices.
Alexander Beetle
03-01-2012, 10:57
Actually, as there is conflicting evidence, then you can't really say what anyone thinks is rubbish. And using words like garbage and irresponsible just serves to offend those who choose to have an occasional drink while pregnant. This dull old thread keeps getting rehashed, arguments ensue, it gets cleaned and then some bright spark starts it up again. People are never going to agree, but thankfully we can all make our own choices.
giveitago
03-01-2012, 11:24
The comment refers to the general statement made about all foods being fine in moderation. Dangerous statement to make.
I couldnt care less if you or anyone else drinks during your pregnancy.
I do care that I advise people to join this site for the support and information and then come across statements like that. Listeria is a real threat to some mothers and babies, and whilst you and everyone you know may be lucky - imagine being the one who wasn't so lucky.
yummymummyx3
04-01-2012, 08:33
Prof Plum is acutally talking sense, you do the research. The word "Moderation" was used which is the key word. Each to their own but its not fair to judge without looking at the research. . . getting drunk every night is irresponsible, one drink a night has not be proven to cause any damage to babies intact up to 10 units per week has not had any adverse side effects in the fetus
giveitago
04-01-2012, 08:39
Prof Plum is acutally talking sense, you do the research. The word "Moderation" was used which is the key word. Each to their own but its not fair to judge without looking at the research. . . getting drunk every night is irresponsible, one drink a night has not be proven to cause any damage to babies intact up to 10 units per week has not had any adverse side effects in the fetus
Once again I wasn't specifically referring to the alcohol comment. It was the EVERYTHING in
But I'm sure everyones internet research is much better than the actual training and research we did when we were studying conception, fertility and pregnancy during my nursing course. I'll bow our now as two minute with Dr Google obviously pulls more weight and has far more knowledge than the NSW health department, our government health bodies and our university systems.
Alexander Beetle
04-01-2012, 10:51
Once again I wasn't specifically referring to the alcohol comment. It was the EVERYTHING in
But I'm sure everyones internet research is much better than the actual training and research we did when we were studying conception, fertility and pregnancy during my nursing course. I'll bow our now as two minute with Dr Google obviously pulls more weight and has far more knowledge than the NSW health department, our government health bodies and our university systems.
That's very patronising. You don't know where people get their information. Anyway I'll take advice off my doctor rather than some random on an internet forum any day, so good idea on bowing out :)
Thermolicious
04-01-2012, 12:27
I'll take the very small risk associated with the odd glass of wine over the risk of elective induction, epidurals and elective cesarean section any day.
I "love" the whole, can't eat this, can't drink that might hurt the baby but when it comes to getting the baby out all the risk analysis goes out the window.
Each to their own of course, I just find the lack of consistency odd.
trishalishous
05-01-2012, 00:55
I'll take the very small risk associated with the odd glass of wine over the risk of elective induction, epidurals and elective cesarean section any day.
I "love" the whole, can't eat this, can't drink that might hurt the baby but when it comes to getting the baby out all the risk analysis goes out the window.
Each to their own of course, I just find the lack of consistency odd.
Well said!