View Full Version : Introduction time :)
Hi ladies.
The ACT forum is a little quiet and I thought I would say hi to everyone and see who is here :)
I am a mum to 2 little girls almost 6 and just turned 1. Expecting a bub in December who might be a little blue bundle as predicted by the sonographer and heaps of lovely bub hub members.
I'm not a very good BH member :o I don't post all that often!
But I'm Roxy, live in Amaroo and have an 8yo DD and a nearly 6yo DS...and we aren't expecting anymore babies of our own :D.
I'm Susanne and live in Kambah with DH. We've been in Canberra 4 years now and absolutely love it. We're expecting our first little miracle in December - which I secretly think is going to be a girl :)
We conceived literally the month before we were starting IVF - hence for us, an absolute miracle - after 6 years of TTC!
It has been really quiet on here lately, there used to be a constant flow of chatter but things died down quite a bit. I am Jenna, my husband and 2 daughters live in Dunlop and have been in Australia (from England originally) for almost 4 years, 2 and a half of those spent in Canberra.
Our daughters are almost 2 and 5 months and we are not expecting any more!
Susanne congratulations on your pregnancy, what a blessing this pregnancy must be for you and I can't wait to hear the news as to whether you are having a blue or pink baby. Will you find out?
atts look forward to hearing the sex of this baby as well, a little boy would be lovely after having 2 girls.
I look forward to meeting both of you, I assume you are still working but when if you would like to catch up at any point do let me know and will see when is convenient for us both.
:wave: Im Candice, i have a 4yr DD and a 2yr DS, we live in Spence on the north side.
don't post on here much anymore but we do still have regular meet ups.
i am about to move overseas for 3yrs so unfortunately i wont be able to meet any of you until i return.
congratulations on the pregnancies and hope to it all goes smoothly for you.
I missed the replies :)
Roxy
susanne
I live southside as well :)
We are due around the same time. YAY!
Lahri
I work 12 weeks of the year (currently on week 5) and the rest of the time I am at uni full time, though my classes are all over the place next semester. Am a cadet through the public service, so it is all set in stone and I get to continue full time with a new baby. Very happy that I am due at the end of the semester, and will have almost 2 months to get adjusted to 3 children before going back to uni with bub.
candiee
How exciting that you get to move overseas :)
Where are you headed?
HI to all.
I hope this is the right place to post. I'm Bec and I have four little ones, 6, 4, 2 and 3 months. We are moving to Canberra at the end of the year and I was searching around BH to see if there were many ACT mum's. DH is in the RAAF and will be attending ADFA (bit of a change in career direction. This will be our first move with school age kids (well one will be in year 2 and one to begin Kindergarten). Anyone have advice on nice areas for schools etc? Are any of you part of the Defence community?:)
candiee
How exciting that you get to move overseas :)
Where are you headed?
we heading to Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates for a 3yr posting with DH's work, he has a government job, very exciting, we leave in 3 weeks time...still hasn't hit me!
HI to all.
I hope this is the right place to post. I'm Bec and I have four little ones, 6, 4, 2 and 3 months. We are moving to Canberra at the end of the year and I was searching around BH to see if there were many ACT mum's. DH is in the RAAF and will be attending ADFA (bit of a change in career direction. This will be our first move with school age kids (well one will be in year 2 and one to begin Kindergarten). Anyone have advice on nice areas for schools etc? Are any of you part of the Defence community?:)
Hi Bec, do you know what side of town you are going to be living on? north or south? it really depends on where you live as to where to send your kids to school, i don't have school ages kids yet myself but i am sure there are a few people that can help you.
there are a lot of RAAF, army wifes etc that i have met most are only here for a year or two before the next postings, i am an ex army wife, we were in Brissy for 5 yrs before DH discharged and became a public servant and we moved down here not knowing anyone or where anything is, so i know how daunting it must be for you.
there is a lot of mums around canberra and there is a lot of us that don't post on here anymore but we still meet up every week or two, i am sure Jenna (Lahri) and a few of the others will keep you up to date with all the meet ups etc.
hey all
im 25 and im expecting my first bub in october this yr. i live on the southside (gilmore), and my and my DH are having a little boy!
Hi all - sorry I've been hiding out in the When are you due area and forgot to check in here completely.
Lahri - Thanks for the warm welcome. We find out on Tuesday :) Absolutely cannot wait! Looking forward to beng able to buy baby stuff as soon as we know. I'm really starting to show now and have been feeling my first flutters.
Atts - Are you having bub at Canberra Hospital? We many even have some classes together. I met my midwife last week and am supposed to book in for some stuff soon. Have you found out what you're having yet?
Tormy - Hi :) I like your maternity leave count down! You are 2 months ahead of Atts and I - how exciting :)
Atts - Are you having bub at Canberra Hospital? We many even have some classes together. I met my midwife last week and am supposed to book in for some stuff soon. Have you found out what you're having yet?
I am booked in that TCH. Won't go to any classes though. This is my 3rd. I should, in theory, have things down by now :)
Am seeing the midwives at the Antenatal clinic though, and will be induced the week of the 8th December.
We had a 3/4D scan and a little boy was confirmed. Yay :yelclap:
Shame about the shopping at the moment though. Not much in the way of cute boy things available. Will be going to the B&K market to see what I can find there before a trip to Sydney at the end of the month.
amanda151087
13-07-2010, 16:23
Hi Everyone, I am only new on here and I am 7 weeks and 1 day, due 28/02/2011. I am a northsider. any advice?
susanne and atts - heya's, im also havin my bub at TCH (omg the parkin there is shockin)..and i am also goin through the antenatal clinic and i start my classes next month sometime.
amanda - congrats on your pregnancy! is this ur first bub?
amanda151087
13-07-2010, 18:16
Hi Tormy, Yes this is my first child. I am so excited. I have a 13yr old step son but my first
amanda - this is also my first - it's very exciting indeed, and also very scary. are you going to goto calvary for your bub?
Tormy & Atts - It looks like all 3 of us are having December boys! Must've been something in the Canberra water hey? And it doesn't look like the parking at TCH is going to improve before we have our bubs either...
Where did you have your scan done Atts? I had the normal scan done today and they want me to come back in 3-4 weeks. After that I really want a 3d maybe around 28weeks...
Also where/when are the B&K markets? We're going to start shopping now - yey! Good thing our nursery room was already painted blue from the previous owners.
And welcome Amanda!
amanda151087
13-07-2010, 23:45
Hi Tormy, yeah im going to Getto Calvery for the baby lol I have my first anti natal appointment with the hospital on 10/09/2010
Welcome to the newbies :wave:
I had my 3D scan at bundles. Cost $150 for a gender determination scan.
Parking is horrid at TCH. I am starting to have trouble with walking as well, so I am refusing to park anywhere but the 15 minute parking. It is pathetic to not have left at least some 1 hour parking there. Fancy pregnant women having difficulty walking. Idiots. Parking won't be finished until Jan 2011 at the earliest. I have already said I will catch a cab depending on the time of the induction. There is no long term parking nearby, and I don't want to find my car with tickets or broken into with a new baby.
Baby and Kid market is held at Epic now. Next one is on the 24th and I will be there :thumbsup:
At my last appointment at the birth centre, they said when you come in for labour you can park right out the front as long as you tell them, then they let the parking inspectors know. But every other time, you pretty much have to put up with crap parking!
Maybe we could swap numbers & meet up that day? I am on the hunt for boy things now :) Going to the Bubs shop at Fyshwick on the weekend to look at prams and cots again.
susanne - yes im havin a boy - but he's due in october not december :yelclap:...yeh there must be something in the water, as another one of my friend who lives in canberra is also havin a boy! i had my 3d scan at bundles at 27 weeks - my little picture thing on here is a pic of him - we went for the expensive package - but it was really good, we got a 25min dvd of the whole thing (which we keep watching) and we got all our pics on a disc etc...and they double confirmed that it was still a boy :D ....if your looking for cots etc check out babies r us aswell, they're really cheap when they have sales on - we've picked up all of our baby stuff when it's been on sale from 40 - 50% off...love sales!
amanda - good luck with ur first antenatal appointment! they'll ask you heaps of questions so be ready :)
atts/susanne - yeh the parkin is soo bad, last time i was there i got a ticket! damn them...and there was a lady behind me who had a newborn who also had a ticket....so crappy - they should arrange better parking there, its ridiculous!
susanne
Happy to swap numbers but I am being taken by my friend for the one on the 24th. I hate going- way too early and far to drive on a Sat morning. I promised I would go with her once I found out what i was having. Hoping there is some nice stuff. I haven't seen much in the shops. Saw some cute stuff in DJ's but they start at $30. Little too expensive when he will grow out of it soon enough. Plus we aren't having any more, so I am trying to be a little more careful with my shopping sprees. No doubt I will be at the B&K market eventually with all their stuff once they grow out of it.
Because I am getting induced I can't claim it was an emergency :(
I will see how my hip goes with walking from the shuttle drop off point. Really can't afford a parking fine at the moment. ATO/Centrelink are being tools with my return and telling me it will take at least another 14-21 days. I might get my supps at the end of next week, but was told it was a maybe. :hissy:
We are going to Sydney for my friend's engagement on the 30th, so really need the money back before then. I have to get my car serviced before the trip. Stupid expensive cars.
I checked out Bubs, but we have decided to keep him in the bassinet at home till DD#2 is ready for her toddler bed, then we can use her cot. Picked up a white wooden one from Target last year that uses a cot mattress, so no need to buy all new bedding for her. Win :D
I already have a Bee which I will use with bub at uni, or if we are only going out for a little while. I have a P&T dash, but want to wait before putting tiny baby in there. It seems like a huge pram especially seeing I can't use a snuggly cocoon with it being summer at all when he is born.
tormy
Shame about getting a ticket. Canberra hospital is a joke. It is all because people are cheap ******** and use the carparks, then walk down to Woden. There were enough parks there for people who are at the hospital. Of course if they bring in pay parking, everyone is up in arms about it being unfair. There should be short term parking for treatments and pay parking at a decent price for the hospital. I have to pay for parking in front of work when I am here (only here 12 weeks a year for uni placement) and it is $7 a day. Sure it is a pain, and I hate paying, but I wouldn't take parking from people who need it just to save a buck.
Bundles is fantastic aren't they :D
Amanda
Good luck with your appointment. I had mine recently and it went for ages. Midwife was lovely though and just wanted to cover all bases.
ETA
I had a physio appointment at TCH. My leg is hurting more than before. She said the muscles are tense in lower back and down left leg which is causing the pain to nerves etc. Hips are only slightly out of line, but are trying to do all the work my back can't do at the moment. I feel like I am falling apart already and I still have months to go :(
I know what you mean about the cost of things - would be easy to spend soooo much money and completely unnecessary. We've decided we're pretty much only getting the bigger items new and we'll hunt around for quality 2nd hand with clothes.
We spent all day today walking around at the shops, my feet are so sore! Did buy a pram though - a Peg Perego, pretty happy we managed to agree on which one to get!
Then Monday we have our early pregnancy education thingie at the hospital...
Nimrodel
17-07-2010, 20:29
Heya, can I hang out in here? :wave: I am just down the road in Cooma but I dont think there is anyone else from here so you gals are the closest. I work in town but DF works in Canberra, nice scenic drive each day!!!
Just got my BFP, due March next year, number one :yelclap:We only moved down here last year from Sydney so will be needing advice about best baby shops etc in ACT.
Hi everyone! I thought I had already posted in here but it seems that I hadn't! I am 27 and just had a gorgeous baby boy. Congratulations to all those expecting (seems to be lots of you!)
susanne
How did your hospital appointment go?
Yay for getting a new pram. I have mine already so there isn't much I need to buy that will cost heaps.
Nimrodel
Welcome :wave:
Avoid baby shops as much as possible. I have worked in one of the ACT ones, and the mark up is disgusting. If you really need to get something, Bub's has the biggest range, and can order special parts in for certain prams.
leahk
Congrats on your new little man :D
Mikis Mummy
20-07-2010, 20:55
Hi all, i just joined this site last night. I'm 23 and have an 18 month old son. We live in Charnwood. :)
BubbaPeanut
20-07-2010, 21:20
I am really bad at posting and keeping up with threads but wanted to say hello.
I am a SAHM to 7mo DD. We live in Ngunnawal.
We are thinking about TTC no. 2.
Congrats to all the new pregnancies and bubs.
Its very exciting,
I had DD at TCH and I used to park at that sporting field and walk across it to get to my appointments, can you still do that?
mishelle
21-07-2010, 10:24
Hi there im in Holt new to ACT well actually living between here and Lake Macquarie NSW (home) my partner is working on the new westfield in belconnen so we here for a little while and i would like to make some friends. I have a little girl Ella 2 and a step daughter Chloe 8, I am 26 well almost...lol I am a WAHM i am a cake maker/decorater you can find me on Fb under Michelle-Marie's Cakes if your interested.
Congrats to all expecting.
Well thats a bit about me hope to hear from you all soon. x
Nimrodel - A big hi to another first time mummy :) Baby shopping, as we have discovered, is quite fun! And tiring!
Leah - Congrats on your new baby boy. Everything must be going well if you want number 2 already!
Atts - Hospital appointment went really well. DH had such a drama finding the place though - I told him that if a pregnant woman can park all the way down the road and walk all over the place to find it, surely he can manage without step by step instructions from me hehe.
Mikis - Hi :) If that's a pic of your son on your profile, he's gorgeous :)
BubbaPeanut - I see you had your daughter on Christmas Eve! We're due on the 19th Dec and DH and I have been joking saying that we bet I'll be in hospital on Christmas day. But what an awesome present :)
Mishelle - Your cakes look yummy :) Hope you enjoy your stay in Canberra. We came 4 years ago as a short term career move & never left! We fell in love with the place and as it turns out, now we're starting our own family here.
AFM: Next is my 2nd midwife appointment on the next Thursday and then another scan the week after. Really can't wait for the next scan cause my last one picked up something a little unusual. Apparently bub has choroid plexus cysts, which are found in 1-2% of all pregnancies without issue and they disappear after the 2nd trimester. It's a bit of a medical mystery. Occasionally, if there are other issues, it can be Edwards syndrome or something, but so far no other issues have been ever remotely identified. But hence the need for another scan. Fingers crossed! Hating the fact that I'm in that 1-2% - stressed out for the time being and trying not to think about it and stay positive.
mummyturtle
22-07-2010, 18:53
hi everyone,
i thought i would pop in here and say hi to everyone too! we have moved down from syd at the start of the yr with my husband and 2 yr old daughter. mishelle i have a dd the same age as yours and we live in holt too!
congrats to all you expecting mummies! hope everything is going well!
mishelle
23-07-2010, 09:20
oooh wow Mummyturtle you have no idea how isolated i have felt this last week as i havent had a car, its so good to hear of someone that is in my area....lol must catch up for a coffee some time im on Britten Jones Drive. Pm me if your interested sometime next week i will be free as of Wed afternoon..x
amanda151087
23-07-2010, 17:20
OMG its good to hear there is someone close to me, im in the brand new part of macgregor
mishelle
24-07-2010, 14:14
Hi Amanda is the brand new part of Macgregor the part oppostise me on the round about (sorry i dont really know my way around) I will organise a day for a meet at my place i will even make some cuppies. Cant wait to meet you all. xx
amanda151087
25-07-2010, 11:10
Hi Mishelle, yeah the new part of Macgregor is on the other side of that round about.
Hey everyone.
Who went to the B&K market???
I went but didn't stay long or get much there... it was kind of overwhelming. Will know what to expect next time and get more stuff I think :)
We ended up going to the baby shop in Mitchell and getting the Combi baby carrier that I've had my eye on for ages cause it does the cradle hold plus it's like the Baby Bjorn. Then we headed to Fyshwick and finally found our dream lounge setting which is being delivered tomorrow! Yey!! Another few baby shops, a quick trip to the Fshwick markets, a stop in at Woden, and finally home by around 4pm... my feet were killing me and i collapsed - so exhausted!
Then after a little rest, we started rearranging the lounge room to make room for our new furniture. I don't know where this energy is coming from, but had a massive cleaning spree on Sunday as well... nesting maybe?
Sorry I haven't posted in here for a while, how are you all doing? Congratulations to those who have just found out they are pregnant, how exciting. I am going to miss that feeling now, we probably won't have any more.
I will post a message about this weeks meet as a new post, but a small number of us are meeting up this Tuesday at 09.30 if any of you are interested in joining us.
We are not allowed to post exact details on bubhub but if you are interested in meeting some new mums and having a drink/chat then please do message me and I will forward you the details.
Just briefly, we will be meeting north side at 09.30 at a club which has play facilities for the children. We haven't been there before but going to try it out, I have been told it is suitable but will call and check it out tomorrow.
Look forward to meeting some more of you there. If you haven't had your baby yet but are free, you are more than welcome to come along as well.
Jenna :wave:
Thought I'd better introduce myself instead of lurking :D found out 2 weeks ago that I'm pregnant (trying for 6 months), due April 1st! We've told family it's late March, just so they know we're serious! (oh and it's our 1st too - very exciting!)
I'm southside, working full time at the moment. Trying to get out and walking every lunchtime... but that cruel cold wind has had me indoors the last couple of days!
Anyway, great to meet you all on here, excited and nervous about what's to come!
Lahri
I am work till next friday so no meet ups for me :(
atts will keep you all posted on here of any future meets that the older members plan and hopefully you will be able to make one of those.
Apfel congratulations on your pregnancy, look forward to meeting you at some point and hearing how your pregnancy is going.
Hi ladies :wave:
Myself, my fiance & our baby boy are soon to be moving east from Perth WA.
We'll be moving somewhere in the Queanbeyan/Canberra area. Unsure exactly where yet, but thought I'd look up the ACT thread before we move & start chatting with everyone :)
Hi Nel
Welcome to our group.
We are a little quiet at the moment :D
Hi Nel! Welcome to the group, and to the ACT-ish area!
Hi Nel,
I'm in the same boat as you and we move in December. I also have a March Bubba. I really hope I'm not confusing you with someone else but I'm pretty sure you're the same Nel as from the March Mum's chat, yes??? It would be great to meet you when we both move. When is yours?
Hi April!
I most certainly am the same Nel from the due in march thread :)
Our move is most likely to be around end of September to Oct/Novemberish!! haha nothing in concrete yet unfortunately as we need to finish up with our jobs, organise new ones, organise shipping of furniture & car.. oh so not looking forward to all that.
Time you move I'll be there April, so we should definately organise a meet :)
lexiemum
15-08-2010, 19:28
While I won't be a mummy until September 11th, I'd love to chat to local ppl! I moved here with my partner recently and due to pregnancy couldnt get work :crying: so honestly haven't met anyone! However I have just discovered the world of Bubhub and thoroughly enjoying chatting with the mummies-to-be in September group!
Oh and umm... I don't officially live in the ACT - I actually live in Queanbeyan (close enough right?) lol. I do however spend a lot of time exploring the shops in Canberra - a new shopping centre for every week! :)
Do I qualify to join the ACT group?!
Lexiemum, you certainly DO qualify! Welcome!!
lexiemum - :wave: you certainy do qualify - im due early october with my first bub. how long have you lived in queanbeyan for? my dh an i have been in canberra for just over 3 years now..that sucks that you couldn't find any work...i've just started my maternity leave from work, which is really exciting, am so glad to be at home for awhile before bub comes..is this your first bub?
lexiemum
17-08-2010, 09:23
Hi tormy & Apfel... Thanks for replying.
Yep, this is our first! Got told my due date is now the 15th of September by my ob yestersday :no: Seems like forever till I will have bub now! Decided we will be patient and wait to 'see' the sex.
We moved here about the end of April. My partner got a job transfer offer and now I'm only 3 hours away from my family as opposed to 11! Have a good friend from highschool who lives at the opposite end of Canberra so I don't see her all that often :) But love having someone who enjoys shopping and chatting!
We start the parenting classes this week so hopefully I will meet a few ppl then!
Hope you enjoy your maternity leave Tormy! Have you started nesting yet? I feel like I have too much time and yet I dont really seem to get anything done. It's driving me insane!! Cant wait for that instinct to kick in properly. Might manage to bring myself to clean the oven.
Hi lexiemum :wave:
i am moving to Queanbeyan on the 18th september - i joined the ACT thread even though I wont officially live in the ACT but I thought it was most closest :)
Good luck with your birth - very closely approaching now.
My partner got a job transfer offer and now I'm only 3 hours away from my family as opposed to 11! Have a good friend from highschool who lives at the opposite end of Canberra so I don't see her all that often :) But love having someone who enjoys shopping and chatting!
I will be in the same situation when we move at the end of the year. At the moment we are about 14 hours from my Mum and will be about 3.5 when we get to the ACT. I've never lived close to family or old friends since DH is in the RAAF and we move about a lot. It will be nice to know it's possible to go and see Mum for the weekend or have her come to us. At the moment is impossible as traveling that long with 4 littlies is not something I want to do too often and airfares are out of the question with a larger family.
Good luck with impending motherhood, how exciting!:)
EEK
I missed a heap of posts :D
Welcome Lexiemum
lexiemum- that sucks that they've moved your due date, although ur bub will probably come whenever it feels like it - i've been givin 3 due dates so far...but im thinkin my little man will come closer to our first one - which is the end of september...when we first moved down here it was also for my DH work, all of my family live in brissy, and my DH's family are in newcastle (which is a blessin in disguise :yes:)..hope you have fun at your parentin classes - which hospital are you going to? im at canberra hospital and i started my parenting classes last week - they're really good...yeh the mat leave is goin well - omg i have soo started nesting, over the last 2 days i have washed all my bubs clothes and sheets and ironed them all...i never thought i'd iron sheets, but i just want everythin to be perfect for him when he arrives :)
Wow so many people moving to Canberra, looking forward to meeting everyone!
Lexiemum and tormy - good luck!! so exciting!
MummytoChloe
18-08-2010, 21:25
My name is Kristy. I was just browsing and came accross this site.
I'm 22 and my lil girl is now just over 4.5months old. I live on the southside of Canberra (most of u seem to be on the north side.but oh well).
Thought I would just write a little message on here to see if there were any other young Canberra mums that would be interested in having a chat either on here or in person. I forget what adult conversation is actually like.
Anway, hope everyone is well! =)
Hi Kristy,
I'm southside! Not yet a mum yet tho, still 6 and a bit months to go :( Also, maybe I'm not a 'young mum' either... I'll turn 30 a month before this one is due... but I figured I'd say hello anyway!
Mum2Angus
19-08-2010, 11:21
MummytoChloe & Apfel - Yay! At last some people that live on the southside too!! We should definately do coffee or something - maybe at Tuggeranong - I don't know my way around that much yet.
MummytoChloe - my little boy is the same age. Not sure how good your little girl is at sleeping, but maybe she could have a word to Angus :yes:
Apfel - Yay - 6 months to go. I hated the waiting thing during pregnancy. Then my little one held on another 2 weeks before being forcibly removed :)
Anyway, if you would like to do coffee or something let me know what day suits. We have playgroup on Tuesday afternoons and Gymbaroo on Wednesdays, but we're free any other time.
MummytoChloe
19-08-2010, 14:29
Hi, Wow was nice to get 2 replys.
It's actually nice 2 know that there are mummys/mummys to b on the southside!! hehe.
Apfel - Thanks 4 the reply..how is ur pregnancy goin? Is this ur 1st? Hope everything is going well.
Mum2Angus - Thanks 4 ur reply also..I think Chloe will have to have some words with ur lil boy, coz she's a good sleeper..touch wood she stays that way. It's great to know of someone living close with a baby the same age. How old r u?
Anyways, let me know if yas were interested in catching up for coffee or something..pretty much any day suits me! =)
hi mummytochloe. i live south side also.hehe. with a 2 yr old. and i am 24.
mummybunny
20-08-2010, 09:24
Good morning girls :)
Firstly welcome to all the newbies, and welcome back to all the oldies :flowerz:
I am a southie also and a not so new mum, I have a 3.5 year old little man and ttc #2 :)
I am 23 and would love to catch up with some other mummies/mummies to be/mummies trying to be and get to know a few more people :)
hope to catch up with you all soon :)
Mum2Angus
20-08-2010, 11:08
Yay - lots more people live on the southside too! We should definately get together. How about Gloria Jeans at Tuggeranong (I love their Mocha Mudslides)? I don't really know anywhere else, but if anyone has any ideas???
BTW - I'm 28 next month :eek:
Is anyone free on Monday or Thursday next week?
im also southside, but not a mummy yet...only about 6 -7 weeks to go till my little boy will be born though :yelclap:
Sorry I have been really quiet again, I keep saying I will try to get on here more often and then never seem to get round to it.
Is anyone keen to meet up this week? I know some of the old mums on here were planning on meeting up on Monday but that is probably too short notice for most of you they have no idea yet what they plan on doing.
I will go to Paint and Play on Wednesday in Harrison but it seems a lot of you are southside. If you want to come along though (09.45 until 11 ish) let me know and I will give you the details.
I am probably heading to Questacon this Tuesday as well if any of you want to meet up there. I normally make that a regular Thursday morning event, about 10, so let me know if you are interested. We then have play group on Friday mornings but we are normally always free on Monday and Tuesdays.
Not all young mums on here either don't worry, I turn 30 in January, where has time gone??? I have 2 little girls one turned 2 in July and the other is now 7 months. Looking forward to catching up, I will try to pop in here every day and get to know you all.
mummybunny we haven't seen you since before Maddison was born, we really should catch up. It has been over 2 years!!!
Welcome mummytocholoe good to have another mum on here. How are you enjoying Canberra?
lexiemum
22-08-2010, 16:26
Nel - Hi, have you ever been to Queanbeyan before? I really like it here... we live walking distance to the shops and my partner's work! Looking forward to walking Bub down to pick Daddy up :) Hope the move goes smoothly for you! If you have any questions, I'd be happy to help.
April- I can relate - I'm a Navy brat so every two years Dad got a posting. It was an interesting lifestyle and I've lived in excellant places! And funnily enough I am the eldest of four kids. How exciting to be closer to family! Bet your mum is extremely excited. My mum was over the moon when I told her I was moving - especially because I'm having her first grandchild. Good luck with the removal plans!
atts - Hi! Yeah, I'm struggling to keep up with this site too... I'd like to blame 'baby brain' ;)
tormy- Yay for nesting! I finally started... today I went insane cleaning the kitchen and mopping our floors... Am completely exhausted now though. I'm at Queanbeyan hospital which seems really nice. I've been to Canberra when my partner broke his wrist and had a brief glimpse of the maternity ward there, but Queanbeyan is literally 2mins away here! How are your parenting classes going? Ours was on breastfeeding and this week its about VB and pain relief. Hope your thoroughly enjoying your maternity leave!
Leahk- Hi :wave: and thanks! Yeah Im surprised at how many ppl from Canberra and Queanbeyan are on here! It's excellant :)
MummytoChloe/Kristy - Hi! I'm only 21 and still waiting on Bub... but I'd be happy to chat with you! I'm also interested in chatting to young mums (well any mums actually). Am excited to have found this site.
Ok - hopefully I've caught up with everyone! Mental note to get on here more often. Hope everyone had a really nice weekend. Mine was spent ignoring the football on tv and cleaning:rolleyes: Might well be my last 'lazy' weekend. Very scary thought.
Speranza
23-08-2010, 13:49
Can I say a hello to all you ACT and Queanbeyan mums and mums to be. I live southside too, have a little boy who is 3 in October and a 2 month old little boy. Don't have that many friends and I need some adult conversation, so going to try and get into this bubhub thing and maybe meet some of u guys
MummytoChloe
23-08-2010, 18:09
Wow lots more reply's which is great!! =)
Mum to Angus & Everyone else wanting to catch up on Southside: Yeah it would be great to organise a catch up. I love Gloria Jeans too but my friend suggested that Kids Rampage in Tuggeranong Square (right near the Hyperdome) might be better for the 1st catch up coz there's a lot more room and the older kids can have a play while we all get to know each other. Would that suit?? Yeah Thursday suits us, How about everyone else?
Mummy's to be..you guys should come too!
Hi Lexiemum & Speranza: Nice to hear from you guys too! If your not busy on Thursday you guys should come along for a coffee & chit-chat. It would be good to meet a few ppl and like you said have an adult conversation..I've sort of forgot what that is like lol.
When is your due date Lexiemum & Tormy? Hope everything is going well for you both!! =)
Kristy
Mum2Angus
24-08-2010, 09:04
Kristy - that sounds great. I've only got one little one, so didn't really think about the other older kids :o It's great having a non mobile baby sometimes! Thursday is good for us and we don't have any time preference.
Hope others can make it then :)
I would love to meet up but working full time makes it hard during the week... 13 wks till I'm on mat leave! Can't wait :) And really looking forward to meeting all of you. Seems there's quite a few of us now!
hi everyone. on thursday i am goin to rampage at 11am (time can be changed if something better works out for everyone) l
MummytoChloe
24-08-2010, 13:22
Cool! Well Thursday @ 11 suits us too. =)
It will be great to meet a few new ppl. Anyone & Everyone feel welcome to come, the more the merrier. =)
I would have loved to come along but we have furniture being delivered so I have to hang around for it. Earlier is better for me when we have meets but I can't make this one anyway. Have fun.
A little bit earlier would of been better for us too. But its ok, i'll catch the next one. Thursday is one of our free days although i think i need to stay in and get this house in order... just cant get on top of things with this crazy weather.
I should come on here more often but always forget. I'll try and remember from now on.
mummybunny
25-08-2010, 00:30
Jenna yes lets catch up!!!
And all the other mummas I'd love to meet some new people our little man is a total social butterfly atm so best to make the most of it while i can hehe <3
Sorry its late so I haven't read too much into the thread lol will be back tomorrow <3 x
lexiemum
25-08-2010, 11:10
Would love to meet up on Thursday but unfortunately I have an ob appointment in Queanbeyan... hopefully will be my second last one before bub is born. Three weeks from today I will be a mummy! Well technically it should be three weeks :) But bub will come when bub is ready!
Hopefully will be able to make the next meet up... Am looking forward to talking with mums!
Enjoy tomorrow everyone.
MummytoChloe
25-08-2010, 22:32
It's a shame that some of you mummys/mummys to be can't make it tomorrow. For those who can I'll see you tomorrow (Thursday @ 11am - Kids Rampage)
Lexiemum - Hope all goes well with your appointment tomorrow. You must be getting sssooo excited. =) Hopefully you can make it next time.
Lahri & Dm22 - Hope you guys can make it another time..Let us know what time suits you guys if 11 is too late another day. Hope yas end up having a productive day tomorrow..sounds like your busy.
Susanne - That's exciting..bet your starting to count down the weeks. Well I hope all is well, and hopefully we can all catch up another time when your free. =)
It is so quiet in here.
Is everyone busy :D
DH & I have been flat out... I've been feeling pretty good apart from what seem to be the usual aches and pains, so I'm trying to organise as much as possible before I get too big. Just had another midwife appointment and my Glucose Load test the other day. Antenatal classes start in 2 weeks. Time is flying!
How have you been Atts?
lexiemum
09-09-2010, 09:03
yeah it is a little quiet on here. I was just wondering how the coffee meet up a couple of weeks ago went? I had my Dr. appointment and everything is going great!
Won't be long and I can officially be a 'Canberra Mummy' (albeit I live in Queanbeyan :laughing:)
Hope everyone is well...
Hi all, sorry we have been so quiet again. All is well here keeping ourselves busy. I tend to have plans almost morning now, Monday is a very flexible day for us and Thursday is normally our Questacon day but can alternate that if a meet is planned.
As I said before the earlier the better for us otherwise our oldest daughter ends up having a nap on the way home (we live north side) and then she doesn't sleep well at night. I normally tend to meet up around 10 with friends but if that is too early I fully understand.
Really looking forward to meeting some of the new mummies and those that are expecting very soon.
Lexiemum and Susanne how are you both doing? Sorry I really need to check back and see who else is expecting.
Hi to Everyone,
I'm really going to have to read back over this thread and get to know you all a bit better. Very exciting for those about to have their babies! By the time I arrive in Canberra, you will be experienced Mummies (that is if this is the first time!).
We are in the process of checking out schools etc but it is quite hard as we don't really know what suburb we will be living in. We have been told that there may be some housing on Duntroon we can apply for seeing as DH will be attending ADFA but we have to put in a specific application. What do those of you who know the area think? Almost impossible to make decisions about a place you do not know.
I will definitely check in here a bit more as my purpose was to meet a few people so it doesn't seem so overwhelming when we move (as it always does).
DH has been away doing his Officer Training for over 4 weeks now and the kids and I have settled into a routine a bit more. We will see him for a weekend break in another 5 weeks and that will mark the halfway point. As soon as he gets back we will begin the removal process.
Anyway, i hope you enjoyed your meet up and look forward to getting to know you all a bit more.
Bec.
Mum2Angus
10-09-2010, 08:39
Hi everyone :-)
Susanne & lexiemum - Yay, not long to go now. I remember the last few weeks dragging on - especially because in laws came to stay the day after due date and Angus was 15 days late!
Lexiemum - the coffee meet up went well. We met Mummy2Chloe and Angus has a new little girlfriend! :)
Lahri - 10 is good for us too. We don't really have a routine. I tried really hard to follow one, but I think it was more stress than anything.
Bec - It's good that you guys are getting into a routine. I'm not sure about the houses at Duntroon. We've driven through there, but I didn't take much notice. Where we are though, there is big back yards etc, which alot of the DHA houses we looked at didn't have (especially Queanbyan and Gungahlin). I guess it depends what you're looking for and what entitlement your on. Good luck and hope it all goes well for you :)
mishelle
10-09-2010, 16:05
Hi everone i think i may have posted this in the other thread, so here we go in this thread too.
I am planning a meet at my place which is holt next week for a morningtea/lunch= Brunch
Im asking those of you who will come to bring a plate, tea and coffee will be provided.
The reason im planning this at my place is i dont have a car atm and im new to Canberra and have no idea of direction or location...lol.
If this suit any of you please pm me privately as i would love to know numbers before monday afternoon as i am thinking tuesday morning at 10am will be great.
Hope to hear from some of you soon.
Cheers :smiliedance:
Shell and Ella xxx
mishelle
13-09-2010, 11:26
Hi everyone i will have to move the meet to Wednesday morning 10am at my place i will need to know who is coming by tonight i will check tomorrow morning. ust so i know numbers. Once i know who is coming i will pm you my address.
Also please let me know what you would like to bring as i have asked everyone to kindly bring a plate doesnt have to be anything fancy, i will be making some sandwiches and some cupcakes. Tea and coffe will be provided.
Cheers x
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/misc/progress.gif
spunkles
14-09-2010, 22:39
Hi ladies :)
Just thought I'd introduce myself...very excited to see there are other Canberra mummies around! I'm 24 with two gorgeous little boys, 21 months and 7 months. I live Northside in Macgregor and would love to chat to other gals because I find that I'm pretty starved for adult conversation these days!
Mum2Angus
17-09-2010, 09:35
I haven't been on here for a while because Angus and I have both been sick and stuck indoors for over a week! Starting to go a bit crazy now though, especially the last few days when it has been lovely weather.
Mishelle - I hope your thing went well the other day. We would have liked to have come if we weren't sick. If you do it again, we will definately be there. :)
Spunkles - wow two boys. :) I know what you mean about adult conversation. Like I said, we've been stuck inside for about 10 days, so no playgroup or gymbaroo for us :no: I just hang out for my husband to get home from work around 6 - but then I'm too tired to talk anyway :laughing:
Anyway, next week it's my birthday and Angus and I will be flying up to qld for a week. :sunshine:
Mishelle - thanks for hosting the other day - it was fantastic to meet you and your beautiful girl (the cupcakes were awesome)!
Spunkles - My little man is the same age as your youngest (well he's 8 months) - are you in the new part of MacGregor? That's where we are.
Bec - I use to live on base at Duntroon, it was nice there (this is gong back 12 yrs, it has changed a bit since then). It's pretty close to the city (by car or bus). There is a pool (outdoor), Credit Union and takeaway/corner store (pretty basic items and from memory a bit exxy, but if you are in a jam it works) all on base and walking distance from all the houses.
Pretty safe area - not many people are stupid enough to break into a house on an Army Base...... if there is anything else you'd like to know I'm happy to delve into the deep recesses of my mind and try to answer them! I'd like to add another WOW to 4 kids - how much fun would it be in your house (I'd love to have a big family)!
Mum2Angus - have a great holiday in QLD and happy birthday for next week! =)
Mum2Angus
18-09-2010, 20:09
Bec - I asked my DH about Duntroon and if he thinks it would be a good place to live and he said YES, YES, YES :) Apparently Navy and RAAF think it's not fair that only Army get to live there and if the Cheif or Navy, Air Force and Army live there then it must be pretty good. It's really close to the city and although there aren't any local shops, it's a lovely area and has a gym, pool, etc. I imagine it would be nice to have other families in the same situation living close by - oh and there is a playgroup there too.
Well our little man got a tooth yesterday. :yelclap: I was at Playgroup and one of the Mum's asked me if he was teething because he had red cheeks. I told her that they were just dry, but later on he was chewing my hand and I felt a sharp bit. Also, he has been doing an army crawl for the last few weeks and gets around the lounge room quite well, but today he started really pushing up on his arms!
Thanks mamacub - I can't wait to show him off to all my family, because he is so cute at the moment! DH bought me a digital recorder thing, so I can record all my shows which is supposed to be my birthday present, but he is setting it up already :laughing:
Oh and did anyone go to the baby and kids markets? We got so many summer clothes for Angus, but I only took $40 cash, so we had to go after about an hour and a half because we had no money left :(
Anyway, hope everyone is having a good weekend.
I can't believe I started this thread and keep forgetting to post in it :o
I am utterly overwhelmed at uni and home.
Trying to sort through boxes and do stupid weekly tasks for two of my classes.
I have 3 assignments due (30th sept, 1st oct, 15 oct) and I haven't started yet. Awesome. Tutor has been unable and when I looked over them, it is way too complicated for a first year. So annoyed.
Ended up in hospital last night. Have been feeling heaps of pressure. Turns out bub is just head down and that was causing it. Needed an ultrasound because they couldn't get a trace. Head was down and legs crossed. Another charming shots of his bits. No second guessing what he might be. Relieved given I have already purchased clothes up to a size 1. Won't need much, have all the basics and might need a few things depending on the season. Didn't want to try to take 3 kids shopping. It would either end up with one only getting stuff, which isn't very fair, or all 3 and that would be expensive. Hoping they will be nice children and have growth spurts at different times :laughing:
Mum2Angus
Congrats on the tooth!
Didn't go to the BKM this month. Looking at going in November before bub is born. I have everything I need, but just want to have one last look.
Will eventually have my own stall there, I just have so much stuff from DD#2 and I am sure there will be stuff from DS when he grows out of it.
spunkles
Welcome :D
I think there are more Northside mums now.
Mishelle
Sorry for missing your gtg. I was at uni so couldn't attend :no:
April77
Good luck with your DH applying for ADFA and moving.
Hi to
Mamacub, Lexiemum, Susanne, Lahri & anyone else I missed.
spunkles
21-09-2010, 20:16
Mum2Angus-yeah my two boys keep me very very busy!!
MamaCub-We aren't in the new part of Macgregor, but back right onto it. Closer to the new section being built though-which is great because the earthmoving equipment currently entertains my eldest while I shower each morning lol :laughing: I love the new bike paths through the new section though-we head that way ALL the time!
mishelle
24-09-2010, 15:13
Hi there Ladies,
Im absoluntly loving this nice weather.
Anyhoo i am planning another Morning tea Meeting for next week on Tuesday Morning at 10am at my place as im still learning my way around..lol.
Everyone is welcome i just ask that you pm me so i know exactly who to expect to show up.
So please if you would like to come pm or email me at mish_elle1984@hotmail.com .
I am also creating my version of Rocky Road cupcakes so there maybe some left over for the morning tea, however if any of you are interested in tasting my delicous cuppies check out my website at www.michelle-mariescakes.weebly.com (http://www.michelle-mariescakes.weebly.com) and you can make an order.
Hope to meet some more of you at the meet and i Hope to see you again to Cassandra.
Michelle & Ella xxx
Mishelle
Sorry if I seem rude, but did you join just to plug your home business.
I thought that wasn't allowed on bub hub.
mishelle
25-09-2010, 10:22
Atts:-
No i did not join this thread just so i can "plug" my home business, i am new to Canberra and have joined to make some mummy friends so both me and my little girl can have some company whilst my finace is at work, Hence i have now posted a "second meeting" to meet new mums in ACT.
I have mentioned my cakes as that is what i do and that is a bit about me also i have added my website so the mummys can see as you all have children and they have birthdays and some mummys might be interested in a special cake, however it was no pressure for anyone to go and look at the website.
I didnt know it wasnt alowed on bub hub to post your website. If this is the case I Do sincerely appologise and will not mention my cakes or website in the future and Im also sorry if i have put any presure on anyone to feel the need to look at my website.
:(
Michelle
mishelle
27-09-2010, 17:01
I hope you all get this im going to have to postpone the meet for another day iv come down very ill with tonsilitis iv jsut got out of hospitall actually i was on a drip.
However i will have another meet and post a new time and day as soon as im well again.
So sorry.
Sorry to hear you aren't feeling well Mishelle. Get better soon.
Hope you get through those uni assignments ok Atts... not long to go now till you meet bub!
Things are going really well for us. We had our first antenatal class (on breastfeeding) on Monday night. Knowledge is power!
Was a bit annoying that when I excitedly shared that we'd been to the class, my sisters in law bagged the hell out of us doing them, saying what a waste of time they were - yet they never went. And they had probs b'feeding too so one even took offense! arggh!
Another long weekend coming up - yey! More shopping to do...:smiliedance:
I keep forgetting to pop on here as things are a bit hectic at the moment. Thanks to Mamacub and Mum2Angus for replying about Duntroon. Dh has already been accecpted into ADFA and is doing his officer training now. He has been in the RAAF for almost 15 years already though so it's a bit of a bummer to have to do the basic training again but that's life (well life in the RAAF!).
Atts, what are you studying, is it by correspondence? Well done doing it with 3 kids. How old are they, I can't remember? I'm going to go back to do some more after we move I think.
Sussanne, How annoying that your SIL felt they could comment on you doing the best you can for your new baby. More fool them. I wish you all the best BF. I know it's a personal choice and sometimes not even that for those that have problems but I've fully BF all of my 4 and while it has been hard at times I am so glad to have done so, I'm very lucky that it has been a beautiful experience for me.
I was going through all my DD1's old clothes the other day as it is getting hot enough to wear them here now (Bel was born on Malaysia and then when she was 1 we moved to Katherine so all her baby clothes are summer) and it brought back so many memories of my beautiful baby who is going to begin Kindergatrten in the new year! I have so much stuff from all the clothes they have grown out of but need to keep it for the younger ones. Super hard to keep track of, I need to work out an easy storage system so that I can access them easily when i need to. Was thinking of selling the 0000 and 000 as April has now grown out of them but we don't know for certain that number 5 isn't on the agenda eventually!
Mishelle I hope you're feeling better and I'd love to meet you and your little girl after christmas!!
Please skip this part if my talk of housing bores you:laughing: but it's all I can think about at the moment! We're starting to get a little more serious about the housing search and DH is waiting for someone to get back from holidays to talk to them about lliving on Duntroon. Apparently there are some houses allocated for those at ADFA but not many and you ahve to apply. Pretty sure they wont have a 5 bedroom but if the 4 bedroom is big enough we could have the kids share (they have many a time). The problem isn't the sharing it's the smaller living spaces that come with a smaller house. Very hard to squeeze a family of 6 in especially in bad weather (which I've heard is common, as much as I'm looking forward to the move, I'll miss the beautiful weather here!). DHA has offered us a house that would be suitable but it is in Jerrabomberra. Thoughts anyone? I looked up and it's quite a distance from ADFA as DH will be riding or taking the bus. From what I could see he would need to take 3 buses and with the timetables it could take over an hour to get to and from work. Also I'm told it is 8 k's to Queanbeyan which is the closest big shopping center. I also would rather not live in NSW. I think it wouldn't matter being further out if we were north because the transport would be better or maybe Queanbeyan itself with direct buses.
A question about the weather, do you need air con? From my memory of growing up in Wagga, it gets hot in Summer. The houses I have seen on DHA don't have air con and I'm confused.
Spunkles The bike tracks sound good. Big laughs at the entertainment for your eldest. My 2 yo loves garbage day and the driver has come to know him and waves and beeps the horn, he loves it!
Sorry to those I've missed, I'm only looking at this page to remind me.
Atts, what are you studying, is it by correspondence? Well done doing it with 3 kids. How old are they, I can't remember? I'm going to go back to do some more after we move I think.
Nope, attending full time uni. Daughters are 6 and 1. Son isn't here yet :D
I would recommend an air-con. I hate the heat, but others might think differently.
Mum2Angus
02-10-2010, 12:21
Atts - that's great that you are going to uni. I am doing distance ed and it is so hard to get motivated. Especially now that Angus is starting to crawl around - I would much rather be spending time with him! :) What are your plans once #3 comes?
April - we lived in Jerrabomberra for about 6 weeks before we had to pack up and move to Sydney (where DH got posted on short notice). It is a lovely place to live, but it's hard if you have to rely on public transport. They have shops there (woolies, newsagent etc) so you don't really need to go to Queanbyan. The DHA houses we looked at in Queanbyan had evaporative cooling, but apparently air conditioning is not a DHA requirement here, regardless of what entitlement you are on.
Susanne - not sure what the antenatal classes down here are like, but the ones in Brisbane were not that useful. I guess knowing something is better than nothing though. Make sure you do the parenting course afterwards with your local child health clinic. They were great!I don't think someone should bag you out if they haven't been. I know it depends on who is running them too.
Mishelle - hope you are feeling better.
As for us - little Angus is starting to become alot more mobile. He had been doing the army crawl for about a month, then it progressed to a bunny hop on all fours and now he does lots of rocking. He manages to get around really well though and chooses between his toys on the lounge room floor. I put them all around the room, he looks around and then crawls to one. His favourite thing is still the yellow pages under his jumparoo and I always find him under there in the end! :laughing: He is SO cute and I love him to bits! :cloud9:
What are your plans once #3 comes?
He will be coming with me for as long as possible. I have a cadetship through the APS so I need to maintain full time study.
Yay for your little man. Not long till he will be walking!
DD#2 is pretty good at it now, though still looks a little like a zombie.
Haven't seen where susanne has been up to. Stupid facebook deleted a whole heap of my friends :(
Mum2Angus - I suspected as much with the air con. Unfortunately I don't do heat very well despite living in Malaysia and Katherine (they both had great air con!). When we lived in Sydney early in our marriage there was no air con but the policy changed, I was hoping it had done in Canberra too. Hopefully we can luck a house with it. Most of the private rental I've seen has it so it's obviously something most people require, DHA is so behind the times. It's probably on the up grade list and they have 13 years or something to get it is all houses.
Wonderful to hear how much you're enjoying Angus. April hasn't shown any signs of crawling yet (6 months)
for which I am very grateful!! My 2 y/o crawled at 6 months and walked at 8 and I don't want to repeat that experience with number 4 and doing it all on my own at the moment. I am almost half way through this time without DH here and we get to see him on the weekend for a few days R&R on the Gold Coast. Hopefully the last 8 weeks will fly by after that. I have never done this long without him (I know I am very lucky) and it has been a hard slog particularly as April was only 4 months when he left. He is going to see huge changes in her on Friday, even the other 3 have changed a lot I think. It makes me cry thinking about it!
Atts What does APS stand for? I will probably kick myself when you tell me! Full time uni with 2 little ones and pregnant, well done. You must be perpetually tired!
April77
Australia Public Service.
Are you kicking yourself :laughing:
You are right though, I am constantly tired :sleeping: DD#2 woke up at 8am this morning obviously didn't get the memo about sleep in on the weekend. DD#1 was already awake so came in and they were playing in the lounge room. I was lying there for a bit before DD#2 came back in and smacked my glasses on my face. Lovely hint to get up
Mum2Angus - thanks for your comments - you kind of put it into perspective for me a bit better. I think we are pretty lucky here in Canberra as far as our health care goes. I forget how woeful Qld was when we lived up there. And that's where the in laws are too, so it figures. Little Angus sounds gorgeous too - what a clever thing to do with the toys too to get him moving around :)
Atts - yeah I noticed you disappeared from my fb the other day... fb has done that to me before - it's very random! Will try to find you again :)
April - Jerrabomberra would be quite nice to live, but as Mum2Angus has mentioned, the public transport is a bit of a letdown. As for AC, we have a split level house, so it gets really hot in the bedrooms (upstairs) and we just got one of those portable units that vents out to the window. It certainly makes things comfortable enough for the short time it's actually hot enough. Although, I must say, I have come very close to getting a proper split system installed... I just couldn't decide which area to cool!
afm... I spent a bit at the Target sale (20% off sale finishes on Wednesday - so I'm going back for round 2 lol). The nursery is really starting to come together now. I have 7 weeks of work to go & 11 weeks till we meet our little boy. We did so much yard work on the weekend too... miserable weather for it, but it meant I got to have lots of breaks whenever it started spitting.
susanne - How exciting to be almost finished the nursery! Almost 30 weeks isn't it?? For some reason hitting that point always makes it seem closer. Good luck with your preparations.
I think we're going to turn down the house in Jerra. It really doesn't matter how nice the house is or the area if DH is going to have to catch 3 buses in to ADFA every day. From what I can gather he would have to catch a bus into Queanbeyan then 2 more after that. Wouldn't be too bad but the wait time between the connections adds to the travel time and one reason we are making this change is to have more family time. Also, when i looked on google earth there didn't seem to be any footpaths around. What is it with new estates saving money on ditching footpaths??? It's a nightmare to walk kids to school with the pram (and even worse if they are riding which they love to do) when there are no footpaths. Also just riding scooters, bikes etc when we go walking on the weekends. For all this talk about getting kids to exercise more, the simple things just don't seem to be happening! I think we are going to look more North if the Duntroon housing falls through.
mummyturtle
11-10-2010, 12:04
hello everyone,
ive been away for a couple of weeks in melb and then kiama, so im not really up to date with everyone, sorry! but it is nice to be back.
hope everyone is going well. ill come back later to catch up again.
hey all, i haven't posted on here in awhile. I'm still waiting for my little boy to arrive (he's currently overdue) but they're going to take him out sometime this week whether he likes it or not (as i'll be nearly 42 weeks). These last few weeks have really dragged on, and im so ready for my bub to be here now. :rolleyes:
Wow Tormy! He's determined to stay in there isn't he. You're doing too good a job nurturing him! Good luck with everything. :)
all the best for the birth of your baby boy tormy, hope all goes safely! i bet you cant wait to meet him!
Cathyboyan4
12-10-2010, 15:28
hi im new in here :wave:
we have just moved to canberra. we have been here for 4 weeks.
im married and have 4 kids ages 8,5,3,18mths. we are also ttc at the moment.
love to chat and get to know you all better.
cathy
lexiemum
12-10-2010, 18:21
Been a while... but now i am 'officially' a mummy!:yelclap: My little girl Chloe was born one month ago (wow time flies!) at Queanbeyan hospital. So far so good, learning how to be a mum. Main things things have been worked out i.e transportation with a bub - they aren't exactly the most mobile little things! But Chloe is an angel out shopping, seems to sleep or look around silently observing her surroundings.
Haven't had much time to go through the posts but: hi Cathy! How are you liking Canberra?
Best wishes Tormy, your patience will definately be worth it! And how was Kiama mummyturtle? I grew up in Nowra and always caught the train to the beach there... miss those lazy, summer days.
Anyways has there been any meet ups lately?
Anyone interested in meeting for coffee?
Cathyboyan4
12-10-2010, 19:45
congrats on your baby girl. its is certainly a learning curve. i learn something new with each baby i have. enjoy every moment even the bad because they do grow up way to quick :)
im loving canberra. its been pretty busy since we got here. cant wait for it to get a bit warmer though :)
hope everyone had a good day :)
Cathyboyan4 Hi and welcome! I'm actually not moving to Canberra until between Christmas and New Year, so I'm officially not a Canberra Mum! How are you finding it, was it a big move?
Leximum Congratulations on the birth of little Chloe, enjoy the magical first months!
AFM We've had our official posting message so can now really get cracking on organising the move etc. Still waiting for a decent house to come on the defence homefind service. We may be in the serviced apartments for a while!
We went to the Gold Coast on the weekend to see DH for the first time in 8 weeks. Still trying to decide if it was worth it as it has been hard adjusting to looking after the 4 kids on my own again. I think it was for the kids especially. I have to say too that it hasn't been too bad this time, probably just the rest of the day after I arrived home where it was quite hard to cope emotionally. I was just trying to hold on till the kids went to bed so i could howl in the shower!! Anyway, only another 8 weeks to go and it's all over!
Hope you're all well.
Cathyboyan4
13-10-2010, 09:08
April77- we came from Bowral which is 2hrs north of here. so it wasnt to bad. the move was fine its just the packing and unpacking with four kids and no hubby around through the day. but it is now mostly done. im still rearranging thinds to the way i like it :)
Friends of mine were in a serviced apartment for over two months waiting for a defence house. they had 7 kids in a 3bedroom apartment. so crazy. now they have a huge house in amaroo.
how long will you stay in canberra? 3yrs? we arent in defence, my hubby is a teacher, but i have a few friends that are defence.
well i have two sick boys in my house today. hubby and my eldest are vomitting. it was my youngest over the weekend. just hope i dont get it. my girls havent got it yet either. fingers crossed.
hope everyone has a good day :)
I'll keep my fingers crossed the illness doesn't spread to the rest of the family! I totally understand about the unpacking on your own with 4 little ones too! My DH is currently away for 17 weeks. We've just completed 8 and had an overnight visit (the first time we have seen him since he left) and now just have the last half to get through. I have to say school holidays in the rain and no relief from DH has been very difficult. Today is the first day I have had the two older kids both back at school as Elijah is 6 and in year 1 but Isabel is 4 and goes to preschool 3 days a week. I usually love having them all home but it has been hard this time.
Wow to having the 7 kids in a 3 bedroom for that long! I'm worried about my 4! We keep getting told there are some 5 bedrooms coming up in the Amarroo/ Gungahlin (sorry about spelling I'm not familiar with the names yet). Patience, I guess.
What sort of teacher is your DH? I'm a high school teacher (well I was in a previous life, before the birth of number 3 - haven't made it back to the war zone yet as I've got enough battles on the home front:laughing:.
Anyway, it would be nice to meet you when we do actually move. Do you know by any chance what serviced apartments they stayed in?
Hi Canberra Ladies..
Myself and my family are moving to Canberra in Jan (we are defence :wave:).
Look forward to chatting here and getting some advice from the 'locals'.
Mum2Angus
17-10-2010, 10:37
Hi ba1977 :wave: Which service are you? My DH is in Navy and we've been here for about 4 months, but it looks like we are going to be here another 4 years (his next posting is 3 years at the same place).
April - good to hear you had a good time on the GC. I imgine it would be quite difficult after getting into a routine with the kids though and a bit disruptive. My best friend's husband is coming home after 9 months in Afghanistan. He's coming on Thursday, but she hasn't told her 3 kids yet, because she can't handle 3 jitterbugs! :laughing: Also, when we moved here in 2007 we stayed in the Bentley Suits in Manuka which was really good, but this time we had to stay in 3 different serviced accommadation places (we rejected the first house and had to find another one).
Cathy - I can't wait for it to get warmer too. There have been a few good days, but then it gets cold again.
Lexie - congratulations :yelclap:
We are RAAF :)
Hoping to stay in ACT for a while now if we like it. Plenty of jobs for DH to do pushing paper around instead of flying :laughing:
When you say you rejected your first house , what reason did you give? Just cos you didnt like it? We have friends having dramas with housing and there is only one choice being offered to them and they dont want to take it as its not the suburb they want so just curious....
Mum2Angus
18-10-2010, 11:24
ba1977 - Yay we've got joint services in here :) My DH complains about driving a desk instead of driving a ship too. We chose a house through homefind (when we were in Brisbane). DH organised everything including electricity and mail redirection. Then on the day before the removal when we were doing the handover, we saw there were 3 sets of stairs in the house. Angus was only 10wks, but we knew it would not be suitable once he started crawling. We looked at lots of places around Queanbyan/Gungahlin, but they were really close together and the clothes lines were actually joined. If your friends don't like the suburb, they could always find some reason it's not suitable eg. stairs, bathroom, room configurations. DHA usually have some that they don't put online (like our house that had just come up because it had just finished building).
Hello to everyone else :sunshine:
Thanks for your reply...
Unfortunately our friends are being told they cant refuse it just because they dont like the suburb or even the floorplan ...and as its within their rb entitlement are being told that its their choice, take it, wait for something else but at the end of the day if there is a house in their entitlement that is available in their move period then if they dont take one they are not entitled to RA or serviced accomodation.
Does this seem right?? They are also worried that if DHA suddenly 'find' another house for them that the alternative wont be much better.....
We got a near new house in Harrison that has 4 bedrooms and aircon so we were happy. The houses are close together but im from inner suburbs of capital city so it doesnt bother me LOL, our last house was a duplex so im not fussed. Our current house before we move has the most massive block and I hate it because it takes us 2 hrs to mow the lawn !
Thanks Mum2Angus with the apartments advice. I think they only do up to 2 bedrooms and we need 3. Even that is annoying as while my older 2 are fine sharing it is a nightmare having a 2 year old share with a 6 month old. Well mine anyway:laughing:! From the little researching I have dine I think Kingston Terrace seem to have 3 bedrooms and be quite ok.
Hi ba1977. We are also RAAF. I have just gotten off the phone to DHA as I'm really worried about school, day care etc. Very difficult to enroll your kids when you don't have an address:rolleyes:. Apparently there are no 5 bedrooms at all but they have some 4 plus study that they are looking into for us. I was told it gets complicated because if they put them on home find people with a 4 bedroom entitlement snap them up and there are none left to the people entitled to lagrer houses. I think this is another reason they don't release them all. I spoke with a very nice sounding woman so :fingerscrossed: it turns out ok for us. We did turn down one large 4 bedroom plus study that was too far out for public transport for DH though. I agree with M2A that as long as you find a suitable reason you can pass. It just becomes silly if you decline too many though I think. It's a hard situation, so competitive as everyone is after the bigger, better deal but I guess it's like that in the private market too. We are going to accept a suitable 4 plus study if it's offered to us and then if we find it's not ok when we get there we can go private. That's why I want to make sure the serviced apartment is ok because we may have to be in it for a while looking for suitable housing.
Well, sorry to the non defence for all the housing talk! I have to say, it's been on my mind a lot lately and I make 3 times daily raids on the internet to check! I hope you are all doing nicely and those with illnesses are better now. I gather from teh news it has been freezing, was there talk of snow?!? It was quite cold here, compared to the usual and very windy.
I wonder if Tormy has had her baby boy yet??? I can't look back further than this page at the moment and i can't remember when she said it was going to happen (if he didn't decide on his own of course!). Tormy, I hope you're getting beautiful newborn cuddles right now and it all went well for you.
My daughter had her orientation to Kindergarten today and it went very well. This is the second time I have begun that transition of your baby taking that big step and it is bitter sweet. She is a very social child and is very ready for school so all should be fine. the local school here is great and said it was fine for her to go to the orientation here even though she wouldn't be attending so she could experience what school will be like and have a bit of a build up to the real thing. Very nice of them and I hope we find a school in Canberra that I am as happy with.
Hope you are all doing well.
Bec.
Just a quick hello to introduce myself. :wave:
We're expecting #1 in January and have recently moved from Ainslie out to Qbn... so we're technically NSW rather than ACT :o... will you still have me? :D
I'm starting to accept that chances of getting into the Birth Centre are pretty minimal (at 27 weeks there are still 2 people ahead of me on the waiting list) so am looking at the possibility of transferring from TCH to Queanbeyan.
Have only been able to find a few recent comments on the new(ish) ward at Qbn and would be very glad of any feedback - word of mouth that I've heard so far has been very positive. Lexie I think I saw you delivered at Qbn?
cheerio for now and looking forward to getting to know you all, M.
Cathyboyan4
19-10-2010, 13:45
hi all.
sorry its been a little since i have been in here. had everyone sick last week. boy it takes alot of energy looking after everyone. thankfully han and ididnt get it. everyone is better now thank goodness.
april my hubby is a design and technology high school teacher. we are waiting to hear from the det on where he will be placed next year. i really cant wait especially when we are ttc. and we need a bigger car lol.
hope you get your housing sorted soon.
stupid canberra weather. wish it would hurry up and warm up. feels like winter again.
hope everyone is well
cathy x
mummyturtle
22-10-2010, 00:05
hello everyone.
cathy - glad everyone is recovered now. u didnt end up getting it? i know whenever something goes through our house we all end up getting it eventually. you have probably said it before but where abouts are u now?
mamab - hello! a bub in jan, how exciting! u know what your having or did u keep it a suprise?
april - have you been able to get your housing sorted yet? and when are u moving here again?
:wave::wave: to everyone else, i didnt read far back enough to do personals for everyone but i hope ur all going well!!
afm - dh moved into the college to start police training and that lasts for 6 months. so one week down and it hasnt been that bad. we still get to see him sometimes during the week for coffee or dinner so thats good. i just feel so lazy when it comes to housework. blergh.
Thanks mummyturtle!
Yep, we managed to get through the 20 week scan without seeing anything definitive so a January surprise for us! I think boy, DP thinks the profile shot from the 20 week scan could only be a boy's face, my friends all think girl, my mum thinks boy, my grandma really wants it to be a girl... so someone will get it right. :)
Is it the AFP training that your partner's just started? My DP needs a change of scene and policing is one of the things we're considering and I think would suit him well... He'll stay put for now though as he gets good paternity leave provisions at his current job and going on a long-term residential course when I've just had our first baby probably wouldn't be the best idea! His first response when we talked about it was "My mum would never forgive me!"... :rolleyes: Does your husband get to come home on weekends?
I'm still keen for any feedback about Qbn hospital if anyone has any! :D (am about to fill in the registration forms to transfer from Canberra). Maybe I better post in the main Hospitals thread too... I'm sure there are Qbn Hosp "graduates" out there!
Cathyboyan4
22-10-2010, 11:58
mummyturtle. thanks. i didnt get it and neither did one of my dd, thank goodness. but all gone now and life is back to normal lol
6mths is going to be hard. i had dh travelling from bowral to canberra fro 2.5yrs. staying down her 3-4 nights a week. it was hard at first i did miss him but then got into a really good routine. annoyed me when he came hoome and messed it up lol
6mths will go super quick.
im in Macgregor. where abouts are you?
manab- haha is a 50- 50 chance so someone will be right lol. sorry i dont know anything about qbyn. hopefully you will find someone who can help you :)
afm- not doing anything exciting. im thinking of doing a morning tea play day at my house if anyone is interested. it will be a get to know you type thing. because im new to canberra it would be a great way to find new people. what do you think?
Hi All.
MTurtle Good luck with the 6 months. I'm doing 4 (and am more than 1/2 way through:smiliedance:) but we have seen DH once for full day and that's all. We may see him if he can get weekend leave around my brother's wedding but I'm not counting on it. Even though it must be nice to be able to see him now and then it doesn't lessen the workload I imagine. That being said, I think I would give a lot at the moment to see my DH's face and I know he and the kids feel the same way. It was a very hard decision for us to make and one that we hope will result in more benefits than negatives but sometimes we both wonder if we would ahve made the same decision if we had known how hard on the heart it would be (let alone on my sanity!!!!)
We will be arriving between Christmas and New Years. We've been offered a few houses but turned down the ones in Jerrabomberra due to public transport issues. That leaves us with one in Harrison that seems to be ok. Hard to know when you only have small grainy pictures to go on but have just been given dimensions and the house itself looks to be big enough but the yard ...now that's another story. I think it was on this thread that someone discussed this issue who had just been posted in (defence) too. I'll have to trawl back through to remind myself. Does anyone on here have kids old enough to attend school? This house is about 2 k's from Harrison Public School which i think was built in 2008 so nice and new but i'm wondering about what people's opinion are.
I will actually be flying to Canberra with the kids and then hiring a car to drive to Leeton in a few weeks to be the photographer for my brother's wedding (and see him get married of course:D! I'm thinking of checking out some of the houses we've been offerred in person then as our flight out isn't until evening and I have the car until just before we check in. It will be a very long day though as I will be on my own with the 4 kids have a 4+ hour drive to get to Canberra, the flight and then a 1.5 hour drive home again from the gold coast at 10pm or so. Not sure what to do yet but it will be a long day anyway so I might just do it.
ManaB Sorry i can't help you on the QB hospital thing. How exciting to be waiting for that amazing moment of birth to find out the sex! We didn't know for our first or our third and to tell you the truth, it didn't even occur to me to ask what the sex was for quite a few moments after the births.
Well, I wanted to write more but my little bundle has decided that she is going to wake for a feed now because we had a big day out and she skipped dinner to catch up on missed sleep. i hate it when we get out of routine too much. We always end up paying for it later.
Bye.
mummyturtle
22-10-2010, 21:15
hello again,
april - yeah, i think im very lucky getting to see him alteast once during the week and then on weekends, one of the other girls who was here and has moved to brisbane for the moment has a hasband in defence and he was away 8 months or so only coming back once (:wave: raven if ur still here). i think harrison is nice and fairly new, but i dont know much else. if thats even right actually. will u be doing the wedding all in one day? hectic!
cathy - i love bowral we used to go there for a holidays when i was younger, but its been years now obviously. we live just up the rd from you in holt. im keen for a morning tea but im heading to syd next week on monday so unless its monday ill have to catch u another week.
manab - yeah it is the afp. but he is starting in act policing (which is the same training) and then he will go from there. it took a long time from when he applied to now, he applied just before dd was born which is about 3 yrs. he took a job with afp operations which he was at for 6 months and i think that helped him get in also, but so far so good. he is loving it. and they are treated really well so far as i can tell.and 6 months isnt so long in the scheme of things. but ur right, it would be hard with a new bubs. and yes, he comes home on the weekends and i will probs go in wednesdays or something to have coffee with him or dinner or something.
well, must be off. we are about to start watching lost season 6. its gay, but im excited.
spunkles
22-10-2010, 21:22
Hey ladies :)
Havent been on here in a while so thought I'd drop in.
Cathy-I was born in Bowral lived there for a few years then moved to Canyonleigh. Good memories!
I would be interested in a morning tea as I dont have many mummy friends and would love for my boys to be able to meet other kiddies :)
Cathyboyan4
23-10-2010, 09:10
i was born in bowral too. its such a small world lol.
cool. well i cant do a morning tea this coming week. i have to go back to bowral for kea's 18mth needles and tori has kindy orientation and a whole stack of other things lol. but i can do the following week. just let me know what day suits you all. i free every day :)
april. harrison is a new suburb. the houses are big but there isnt any yards. but thats the same all over the gungahlin area. if you want big yards you have to go into an older style house like ours. there are heaps of parks around. and plenty to do in canberra. stacks of bike tracks etc. if you want the bigger house you might have to give up the yard sorry :(
afm- i have dad coming for lunch today. then i have i massive week ahead. also we are ttc at the moment and thats not going anywhere first lol. thankfully we got the bigger house so i could fit 5 kids in lol.
hope you all have a great weekend and will keep you posted on the morning tea. it will be fun :)
Thank you Cathy. That's life I guess, compromise or persih! It's nice to know it's a common thing in the area and not just the house we were offered.
Are you all from very different area's or mostly north etc?
Cathyboyan4
24-10-2010, 09:12
glad i could help :) if you have any other questions feel free to ask. im sure between all of us here we can answer them :)
well im north lol. but more towards the middle. which i love because it doesnt take me long to get south.
hope everyone is enjoying their weekend :)
Mum2Angus
24-10-2010, 18:09
Cathy - a morning tea sounds like a lovely idea.
April - We looked at some places around Harrison/Gungahlin - but like the others said, they have tiny/no yards and you can see straight into the neighbors house. They are all built on small blocks and really close together. You should be able to find something somewhere else, depending on what entitlement you are on. But then again, maybe you should just take something, so that you're not left with nothing :confused:
As for us, Angus slept in his cot in his own room last night for the first time and tonight he will have a bath sitting in his new bath ring in the main bath. It's a bit sad that he is getting so big, but I think he will sleep better and the main bathroom is downstairs next to his room.
Hope everyone had a good weekend.
Cathyboyan4
25-10-2010, 14:11
mum2angus- how did angus go in his cot? its such a hard transition. how old is he?
how did everyones weekend go?
mummyturtle- travel safely tomorrow. enjoy your time in sydney.
afm- busy week ahead. but i will try and get a day organised for morning tea next week. :)
Have a great week x
Hi ladies :wave:
Well i am officially over in ACT now (well QBN) - this past month since we left WA has been SO stressful and full on and an absolute mess.
Trying to get life on track and some normality in my new surroundings.
Proving to be harder than I imagined when I was back in Perth in my comfort zone.
And in the short amount time since we've gotten here my little man has been unsettled and sick for most part of it.
Well I see you ladies are organising a morning tea - such a shame as my part time job is morning work I dont finish until 2pm :( Well if you ever organise an afternoon tea or weekend meet I shall definately be in it :)
Take care ladies and I hope your bubs/children are well.
Cathyboyan4
26-10-2010, 08:45
hi nel.
sorry to here tranisition hasnt been easy. i found it took me a good 12mths to really enjoy being here. hopefully ryan will start to settle. sorry to hear he has been sick.
we are doing a morning tea but im sure when we get together we can organise another time when you will be able to join us :)
hope everyone else is well :)
hey ladies, sorry i've been MIA from here for awhile, my little boy finally arrived! :yelclap: although he was 9 days overdue :rolleyes:. He arrived on the 16/10 via c-section and we finally were allowed to go home last weds.
a morning tea to meet other mums sounds great, although i wont be able to come for awhile, as i can't drive for another 4.5 weeks (which really sucks).
My DH has been such a great help over the past week with the little one, but he goes back to work next week. am looking forward to gettin into a bit of a routine with my little boy once DH goes back to work.
That's ok Cathyboyan4 - I will keep an eye out for other meets. Enjoy the morning tea :)
Yeah I will probably take a good while to adjust to the transition and enjoy being over here. All in good time I'm sure.
I'm heading back to Perth at Xmas for a couple days, it might make me miss here.
Congratulations tormy! 9 days overdue, wow! I bet you were more than ready once he came. I was 11 days overdue and was well & truly ready.
Good luck with establishing a routine. How is your bub going with sleeping?
Hi everyone, im new but not new at the same time!
i used to be on this forum with the name Ashi but it seems my account dissapeared lol!
i have a 8 yr old and a 1 1/2 year old i live northside and am SOOO BOREDDD i have hardly any friends anymore most of them moved away and i became a bit of a recluse!
looking forward to maybe meeting some mummas who live over my way (i don't like to travel south much..not much keen on driving)
umm what else..
i love cats.. and i've just started sewing.. i play stupid computer games with my nerdy DP and i sometimes make nappies when my sewing table isn't covered in junk! hehe..
im not very good at intro things.. maybe that's why i'm such a loner haha :(!
anyway yeah hopefully this forum is somewhat active most ACT branches of parenting forums seem dead!
Yeah I have noticed the ACT forums are very quite. We should try and change that here on bubhub!
whereabouts northside are you Ashley? I don't really know my way around Canberra the best yet, but work in Barton & live only up the rd in Queanbeyan. Canberra is small to me (compared to Perth) so driving from one end to the other isn't a prob for me if meets weren't near me.
And I understand the whole loner thing, its not always fun... i dont have any friends over here, I left mine behind in Perth, so I am keen to meet some new people.
Ashi, I will message you my number, after all we only live down the road from you. We should catch up, I tend to plan things for every morning but home every afternoon so you are always welcome to pop round (Ellena has her nap so I tend to stay in).
Canberra is really small for us too, well compared to the UK. I used to be really happy to drive anywhere here but being as Maddison (our oldest) doesn't have a day time nap I don't tend to risk driving southside in the afternoons. The last thing I want is for her to fall asleep after 1pm, she would be up all evening :laughing:
Look forward to meeting some more of you soon.
Nel - Living in Qbn and working in Barton here too... :yes:
With finishing up at work and trying to get a gazillion things organised each weekend I don't know how good I'll be at making it to meets - but next year I'd love to meet you all, and happy to drive a ways to do so (I lived in the country for 15 years and then Sydney for 6 years so Canberra distances aren't too horrendous to me either).
TGIF!!!:yelclap:
Cathyboyan4
29-10-2010, 08:59
hi everyone.
i have just posted a new thread giving details on a morning tea for next week. if the day is not good for everyone im happy to have it another day. im home all next week :)
hope your all well and kids are behaving :)
Hi everyone :wave:,
I'm a bubhub newbie. lol. I moved to Canberra back in March and have b/g twins who have just turned 1. I'm a member of a multiples forum as well but there aren't that many ACT members there so I'm hoping to get to meet some new people here.
Not that I can get out and about much atm as DH needs the car as he is currently working in Fyshwick...:thumbsdown:
ManaB- :wave: that's a good coincidence we live & work in the same suburbs! Which areas of Qbn & Barton are you?
We live near the racecourse in the letchworth part of qbn, and I work on National cct in Barton :)
Jurls- welcome to bubhub, hopefully the ACT thread will start getting more busy, it already seems to be picking up :)
Where did you move from in March?
AFM - I'm glad its friday!! relaxing atm cos ryan is at his nan's so i have a little peace n quite.
We're getting Foxtel on the weekend, yay.
Another question for everyone - does anyone else's bub have asthma? I think ryan has it as he got a flu and its just not getting better, he's all flemmy on his chest so i suspect he may be mildly asthmatic (so perhaps thats stopping him from fully recovering?) Any suggestions on what to do to clear his chest up??
Hi Nel - we came over from NZ but I'm actually from the UK originally and my fiance is Canberran born and bred, hence why we're here. It was a choice between Canberra or Essex. Hahaha.
mummyturtle
29-10-2010, 19:25
Nel - when dd had a cold she had to take ventolin and some other puffer I can't remember the name of that helps break up the mucous. the dr called it hypersecretive asthma and it takes a bit longer for her to get better. maybe get it checked out by a gp?
Cathy - I'll go check out the other thread now.
I'm still in Sydney but will be back next week. dh driving up today so looking forward to seeing him.
Hope u all have a wonderful weekend!!
tormy Congratulations on the birth of your bubba boy!!:yelclap::smiliedance:
Auraya Hi. I don't live northside yet but come January I probably will. We will probably be taking a house offered to us in Harrison. I am determined to get out of my little box this move and make some friends. It's fine to be content with DH and our family but it has been very hard with him away for so long (we've done 11 weeks so far). I miss adult conversation. Sometimes I can go days without actually speaking to someone over the age of 6!!
I love sewing too but am a newbie and I had planned to do some projects to while the evenings away while DH is absent. :laughing: I am either tending to children who are teething or sick or can't sleep or I'm so tired from the day that I just fall into bed myself once they are asleep. So much for all the patterns of cute baby clothes I bought!
Lahri I dread the car sleep too. Particularly for my 2 year old. If he goes to sleep in the car he decides that is all the sleep he needs and then wont have his day nap.
ManaB Next year is good fro me too. Come Jan there will be a swell in numbers for meeting I think.
Jurls Hi. Annoying to be stuck at home without the car. What's the weather been like (I haven't actually moved to the ACT yet so that question is not as silly as it sounds!) have you been able to get out with the pram?
Nel I'd try the steamy shower to loosen it all up at night. I also sleep with the ventolin (I'm mildly asthmatic but not for years) by the bed when my kids are like that. I asked the dr last time April (7 months) had that sort of breathing, chesty thing and he said it was fine to use if I needed to. Sometimes I find just having a plan in my mind helps me as I'm terrified of kids with breathing difficulties in the middle of the night. I can handle blood, vomit etc but choking and struggling for breath are my big fears. The dr also gave me redipred i think it was called that is also a steroid and will open the airways. It's not something to be used all the time but it's nice to know it's there in an emergency. Maybe more for piece of mind.
AFM Well I would add more about what I've been up to but i'm way too tired; so much so that I can't even find the time to explain why properly. Let's just leave it at the key words of teething, and 2 year old with ear infection. Be back when I'm not dead on my feet.
Jurls - my partner is born and bred here as well. Hence why I'm over here also!
mummyturtle - ah yes the ventolin, I should have thought of that one lol. I have had to have one on & off my whole life due to mild asthma. I don't have one at the moment tho, so might go visit the GP, Ryan is due for his 6 month needles so will do that at the same time!
April - a steamy shower is a good idea, he loves the shower! We also have a vaporiser that I put in his room at night, it produces steam & you put some drops in it that smell like Vicks. I think it's helping somewhat, but not fully fixing the problem.
I think you should definately get out of your little box as you said when you move, there seems to be alot of us on here that are wanting to meet and make new friends.
I am fortunate enough to get to work each day, tho its not the same, so I would also enjoy getting to know other ladies that I can talk to about mum stuff and girl stuff :laughing:
How is everyone's weekend so far?
I've not done much yet except the washing. Need to pop out to the shops later before DF goes to work tonight.
ManaB- :wave: that's a good coincidence we live & work in the same suburbs! Which areas of Qbn & Barton are you?
We live near the racecourse in the letchworth part of qbn, and I work on National cct in Barton :)
We probably pass each other on Canberra Ave each morning! We live near Barracks Flat and I'm on National Cct too.
I did my booking in appt at Qbn on Sunday night so am officially transferred from TCH to Queanbeyan Hospital. I think it's the right move, though with all the drama and tears and angst that a 30-week-pregney can muster I made it a fairly fraught decision! I think poor old DP agreed with me in the end just to calm me down. :o Anway, all done now and antenatal classes etc transferred too.
Tormy - Congratulations on the arrival of your little boy! Gee I hope I don't go over - my due date is somewhere between Jan 18-29 so if there's no action by the end of January I'll be well and truly climbing the walls!
Good luck all if you're having a flutter today! I've just bailed on our work Cup lunch, will try and get out for a swim at lunchtime instead. It's so grey and wet that I reckon I'll have the pool to myself! :)
MumOfMarko
02-11-2010, 10:20
Hi All - we moved to Queanbeyan about a month ago and I would love to meet some new mums -all our family is in Melbourne so we dont know anyone here.....
I have a gorgous little Boy Marko who is turning one this month..... I would love to meet new mums and let my little man have fun with other kids.......
hope to meet some new mums soon...
xoxoxox
ManaB - Haha that's funny we both work on National Cct, DF & SIL work on the same street too :laughing: Small world!
Hopefully your transfer to QBN hospy works out well for you.
Mumof Marko - hello :wave: Welcome to bubhub. Yay another QBN mummy :)
Hopefully I can make the afternoon tea that is getting organised atm and I can meet many of you other ladies!
Anyone do anything for Melb cup?
My work had a drinks/nibbles at a hotel up the rd from work. I left shortly after the race was shown, it was cold & wet, and I got wet walking back to work to my car :(
roogrrrl
16-11-2010, 09:24
I'm relatively new here, though I've technically been a bub hub member for a while.
Hiya! My name's Liz.
I'm American, but I've been living here in the ACT for over three years. My hubby's an Aussie, born and raised in QLD. We currently reside in Gordon, south of Tuggeranong. (Or as I like to call it, the middle of freaking nowhere. :p)
Our son, Asher, joined us in November of last year. It's hard to believe he's a year old already!
I'm a stay at home mum, and we only have one car between us, so it's quite difficult for me to get out and about during the week without planning ahead.
I discovered this forum of locals today when I was trying to find out about some activities for me and Asher to do during the week. We tried a playgroup, but all the babies in it were younger than Asher and he was causing some havoc! Also, since the mums rotated locations, we couldn't always get to it without having the car.
I'd welcome any suggestions for activities on the south side where Asher would be around other toddlers and young children, that doesn't cost much and is easily accessible by bus during the week! Or anything that just gets us out of the house!
TinkerBlueBelle
16-11-2010, 14:38
Just wanted ti say Hi!
I live outside of Qbyn.
Have been home on mat leave since March and starting to get cabin fever!
ManaB I had all three of my kids at Qbyn Hosp and the last baby was in the brand new one, it was lovely! The staff are great and I loved the food (I know I am weird) maybe I just liked the bit where they deliver it, I eat it then they take the dishes away and it's not my problem!! :laughing: Have you got a Dr lined up? I had the same Dr all through my pregnancies and he was at all their births, plus didn't cost a cent.
Anyway just wanted to say hi, it's quiet in here ;)
Hi Roo! Sorry, can't help much on the toddler activities front (ours is still on the inside!) but I'm sure some of the other ladies will be able to...
TinkerBlueBelle - very glad to hear more good feedback re Quangers DH! I'm feeling pretty comfortable with the switch. My doc will be Dr Davis - I have my first appt with him tomorrow (hopefully he doesn't have to go off and delivery someone else's baby!).
Mum2Angus
17-11-2010, 16:31
Hi Liz,
I'm the one who's house you came to for the first Playgroup :) Angus is at the stage Asher was, so our house is much more baby proof now. Actually, all of the babies are more mobile now, and you are welcome to come back any time you want.
There is a place at DFO in Fyshwick called Monkey Mania. Apparently they have an area for babies to play. It's one of those kids play areas - some of us from playgroup are going next week if you would like to come.
Also, I know there are some other playgroups at Playgroup House (at Lanyon shops) with older babies. Before I joined this group I called Playgroup Australia and they gave me contact details for a number of groups. I sent off emails and there were a few others at playgroup house, but the babies were over 1.
Anyway Hi to everyone else :wave: Sorry I'm too tired to do any personals. We've got some of our playgroup friends coming over tommorow morning and I need to clean the house! :o
TinkerBlueBelle
20-11-2010, 22:45
TinkerBlueBelle - very glad to hear more good feedback re Quangers DH! I'm feeling pretty comfortable with the switch. My doc will be Dr Davis - I have my first appt with him tomorrow (hopefully he doesn't have to go off and delivery someone else's baby!).
Peter Davis was my Dr with all my bubbas! You will love him, he is great! Very down to earth. Be prepared to spend a LONG time in the waiting room, he is always running late. I always call just before my appointment to see if he is on time, never is :laughing: Also after you have bub he comes and visits you every day in hospital, even gave my babies a gift :)
roogrrrl
21-11-2010, 14:41
Hi Liz,
I'm the one who's house you came to for the first Playgroup :) Angus is at the stage Asher was, so our house is much more baby proof now. Actually, all of the babies are more mobile now, and you are welcome to come back any time you want.
Hi! Of course, yes. I thought that might be you (I've forgotten your real name though).
I might come back, but, like I said, transportation is a bit of a deal breaker for me most of the time.
Your house, however, is within walking distance for me. A long walk, but still not too bad. I'm still on the mailing list, so next time you're hosting I'll make the trek. Or, if you're still home during the week, on non-playgroup days, if you'd like some company, I'd be happy to make the hike up the hill. Just let me know when is a good day for you. :)
Hi all! I thought I'd better reintroduce myself - it's been a few months!
I've just found out I'm pregnant :smiliedance:and very excited! I'm southside, office worker (thankfully allowed to eat in my office, currently munching on wafers and cheese!) and this will be our 1st.
Have booked in to Canberra Birthing Centre which I'm pretty stoked about getting a place in!
Great to meet you all, hope your lovely summery day is going well!
That's fantastic news Apfel! :fingerscrossed: for a sticky bub! And congrats on getting into the birth centre - I'm sure you'll love it :) I'm with the southside team too (due in less than 4 wks now :yelclap:) and I just love the midwives - especially Denise & Justine. Is this your first?
I'm not sure if I've made a mistake but it seems like it's been an age since anyone posted in here. I thought it was just me that has been super busy lately but obviously not! Maybe you're all posting in the general Canberra Mum's chat, I'll have to check it out.
Congratulations Afel. Fantastic news.
Well, I have 3 more days until my LONG 17 weeks of being a single Mum to 4 kids comes to an end and it's not a moment too soon. I have a great deal of empathy for anyone in that position as it has been a hard and lonely road. We arrive in Canberra on the 27th and have an appointment booked in to see the principal pf the school we're sending the kids to. So very soon I will be officially a Canberra Mum!!
april - where bouts are you movin to in canberra? Yeh i think with xmas comin up everyone's been busy. I've definetly been busy with my little bubby
apfel - :yelclap:congrats! how exciting! when are you due?
afm - i never knew that being a mum would be such a full time job - some days have been soo exhausting, that i've barely had time for a shower or lunch :rolleyes:. But i am loving being home with my little man and he's been such a good boy, and he's now 7 weeks! i dont know where the itme has gone. I ended up having a c-sect and im recovering pretty well from it, i was driving 3 weeks after it (i hated being stuck at home) - but now Aiden and i go out a few times a week to the shops or anywhere, just to get out of the house.
When are we all having another meet - up, now that im driving i can come!
Mum2Angus
08-12-2010, 22:12
Congratulations Apfel!
Good to hear things are going well for you tormy.
April - it sounds like things are coming together for you! I don't know how you do it on your own. I call my DH when he is running late from work and tell him off. Especially now that Angus is mobile and into EVERYTHING.
Angus is driving me a bit insane at the moment. I put out all his toys, but he only likes to play with things that he's not supposed to, like anything that's on the coffee table. If I put him into his playpen or even his jumparoo, he just cries and when I try and strap him into his highchair, pram or carseat - he SCREAMS and straightens himself out. Oh and he HATES getting dressed. So I am exhausted by the time I leave the house because he is such a strong little boy.
But I love him SO much and love being his Mummy. Oh and he's just started to say "Mumma". But he says it to everyone and everything, so he doesn't know what it means yet :laughing:
Anyway, it's late and I've got to do more Christmas shopping tommorow :ecomcity:
Hi all, have been lurking a while and feeling brave today to post..
i am on mat leave and since not my first bub, with a huge 10 year gap and now in ACT i havent met any mums through a mums group. have been reading the thread getting to know you all.
Tormy - our babies are close in age. DD2 is now 11 weeks. i think i would also have driven before the 6 week mark. you need to get out and feel "normal".
April - you are moving close to xmas! my SIL was a defence wife and i was always amazed at how she managed the long months. Hope all goes well with the move, if you are going to be in harrison, i am not far away..maybe we'll see you in the new year.
Auraya - i tried to play with DH but am hopeless with gun controls! i stick to mastering DD1 games so i can help her.. well thats my excuse. i tend now to be like a backseat driver when DH plays advising him, he doesnt play long then :laughing:
How is everyones Xmas shopping going? i have been avoiding the Belco mall because of parking, anyone suggest a good quiet time to go?
Hi all - haven't posted in a while, been busy busy busy :xmas:
Just a quick post - my little monster has just woken up...
Mamabel - Hubby works in retail and said to get all the xmas shopping done this week, because from next week to xmas the shops go insane....
Belc has been mad, but apparently the city (where hubby works) is still pretty quiet.
If you can find what you want at Kmart - it's open 24 hours so if you go late in the evening it's pretty quiet.
We have been really slack this year (like every year) and have still got the majority of pressies to get (I told hubby that unless it gets done this weekend he is doing it on his own - I seriously hate shopping, so no great loss for me :xmas:).
We have a wonderful history of in July saying "we need to get organised with xmas this year, all pressie bought no later than start of Dec" then every year we are running around like idiots on xmas eve......including last xmas, despite the fact that I was due with bub on the 23rd Dec, so we cut it extremely close!
Hope everyone is well and is enjoying the silly season!
I'm new to bubhub... been reading through this thread to get to know everyone.
I'm 30 and another Queanbeyan first time mum to be... our little girl is due in March, and we're booked in to Queanbeyan Hospital...
DH and I have been in Canberra for 4 years, but I haven't really made many friends, especially ones with kids or expecting any, so I'm really keen to meet other local people in the same position...
Looking forward to getting to know everyone... are there other threads I should also been following?
Belle, there's a section here that you might find useful - http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=609 - it's not specific to Canberra but as a first time mum myself, I have been finding it really good to chat with others due at the same time :)
AFM - Our little boy is due in a few days amd last night I could've sworn things were starting, but it was not to be. I am so impatient to meet him now! Things are getting really awkward and uncomfortable... might go for a swim today, take the weight off & it's such a gorgeous day for it.
tormy We will be living in Harrison. I know what yu mean about going stir crazy at home. It's nice to get out even if it's just a walk to the park.
mamabel Hi and welcome. We probably could have moved after the holidays but my Mum lives about 4 hours from Canberra and it's about 13 hours from here so we thought we would pack it all up go and spend Christmas with Mum and then head to the apartment until the house is ready. Our removal begins tomorrow. I think the only way you manage is because you have to. When you have kids, there is no other option is there. Of course I had my moments but you just have to pick yourself up and keep going. Thank you (and others) for your kind words. I was just saying to DH today that acknowledgment of how hard it is is so important. I have had people say that as Defence wife it is just part of it all. Not helpful or supportive.
Mamacub I am usually slack too but the last 2 years have done the layby in July thing when the toy sales are on. Not because of the sales but so it is all done and dusted. All of our presents have to go in the trailer so we just got them off layby today, it was quite exciting as I had forgotten what I had bought.
susanne I hope you had a nice swim and a bit of a rest. How exciting to have the end in sight.
AFM Well, as I said above, our removal begins tomorrow so i don't really know why I'm on the computer when the kids are in bed and there are a million and one things I should be doing. Procrastination!!
Just joined bubhub and thought I'd say "HI" to the other mummies in Canberra area :)
Hope everyone has a wonderful xmas xx
Hello and Happy New Year to all of you!:celebrate2: I hope everyone had a great Chrissy. I am now officially a Canberra Mum. We arrived on the 27th and are due to move into our house on Wednesday. At the moment we are in a serviced apartment in the city and while it is very nice it is quite hard with 4 kids in such a small space 5 floors up.
Anyway, I was hoping to organise a meet and greet with anyone interested. I really don't mind where as we are currently driving from New Acton out to Harrison/Gungahlin all the time so a 10kdrive is a snap. Is anyone else interested? My DH is off work for a couple of weeks so I could even just bring bubba number 4 (9 months) and really enjoy a cuppa and chat in (relative) peace!
Mum2Angus
02-01-2011, 16:16
Hi everyone - hope you all had a great Christmas and new year!
We have spent the last two weeks visiting my family in Brisbane and then DH's family in Townsville. DH is driving home tommorow and DS and I will fly home in about a week (or maybe sooner).
April - I would love to catch up some time, but we won't be home for about a week or so. How old are your other children? My 2 SS's will be with us for the rest of the school holidays - they have just turned 14 & 17.
Anyway, we just got back to my Mum's house and I am so tired after a 2 hour flight with DS, so I better go and have a nap!
Mum2Angus - Elijah is 6 (7 in March), Bel turned 5 on New Years Eve and Tarquin is 2 (3 in May).
I come in here from time to time to say hi. Sorry if it makes it hard on remembering who i am.
Happy New Years and Merry Christmas. A bit late, sorry about that.
Mum2Angus- Have a good time in QLD. Hope the weather is good for you while your there.
April77- must be nice to be here and in your own place now. Get the kids organised etc.
NLM07- Welcome! Hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Years.
Not much happening here. Festivities are over and DH back at work. Im keen to meet up with you all whenever it may be.
Hi April, glad to hear u made it to Canberra. How are u liking it so far? How did the move into your house go today?
Hi dm22 I don't think I've seen u post before but then again I'm a newish Canberra mum (4ish months)!
Well I had a pretty quite Xmas & new year. I was home sick, so not been able to spend it in perth with mum & dad or any of my friends was pretty depressing. :(
But since it was Ryans 1st Xmas I spoiled him rotten with pressies! And so did my MIL lol. So at least I got to see his happy face.
How weird is the weather here lately?!
Hi Nel. It's nice to be in the house but everything is is a huge mess and this place is smaller than the one we left so I'm not sure where we are going to put things. I was very disappointed to learn that Canberra doesn't have an IKEA as we had planned to get a lot of kids storage stuff from there. Office works had some similar things to what I was looking at getting so we ended up getting some from there but they had to order them and they wont arrive until Tuesday so i can't really do the kids rooms until then. It's very hard with the kids as they just get into everything unless I can put it away properly as soon as it comes out of a box. They are so excited to see their things after packing them up in early December.
We'll have to arrange a meet up soon. Sorry to hear you were sick over Christmas. We had a bit of that too and it's not nice to see your little ones unable to enjoy the day they have looked forward to with such enthusiasm.
TinkerBlueBelle
09-01-2011, 11:15
I drop in from time to time.
April77 good to hear that you are all moved in (our kids are similar in ages, I have a boy 8yrs, girl 4yrs and baby girl 9.5mnths).
Hope everyone had a great xmas and new year - I am hanging out for school to start back!!!!!:laughing:
We appear to have lost the canberra mums chat, sp posting here because I sort of know some of you mums and I'm in desperate need of support.
Well tonight I am exceptionally pi$$ed off - read http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=385902
as well as that they completely wrecked my son (their grand/great grandson's) birthday party today with their immaturity and selfishness....I know that he won't know but I will and so will my family and all of mine and DH's friends who came and heard what they said will know.
I am so unbelievably angry that I can't even write about it yet......
Mammcub: I just read your link and wanted to let you know that I think you are right to be upset about the behaviour and comments of your inlaws. I really don't understand why these sorts of problems seem to be so common. It should not be hard to recognise that everyone has their own way of parenting and it is ultimately the decision of the parents as to how this is done. Our parents/inlaws etc have had their turn and while they have great advice and experiences to share that does not mean forcing their views on to others. There is a large difference between sharing and dictating. Stick to your guns and trust your inner voice. You know what is best for your child.
roogrrrl
10-02-2011, 19:47
Hey everyone.
I haven't posted here in a while and I thought I'd bump this thread up a bit.
I'm feeling a bit lonely and isolated and wanted to try to connect with local mums.
Lately I've been feeling like Asher is getting behind in his development (and his daddy is worried) because he's 15 1/2 months and still not walking or talking yet. I know it's too soon to tell, but we're typical paranoid first time parents and until he reaches that milestone, we feel like it's a big waiting game.
Anyway, we think he probably needs more social time with other babies and toddlers and probably other adults too. I will be around all week and for once I actually will have a car, so if anyone wants to get together for a play date, I'd love to get together with someone.
roogrl - i think theres a few of us who may be meeting up sometime next week through the gunghalin thread - im a southsider, but am probably goin to travel over there for a catch up. Which side of town are you on?
EquineMum
18-02-2011, 07:02
Hey everyone.
I haven't posted here in a while and I thought I'd bump this thread up a bit.
I'm feeling a bit lonely and isolated and wanted to try to connect with local mums.
Lately I've been feeling like Asher is getting behind in his development (and his daddy is worried) because he's 15 1/2 months and still not walking or talking yet. I know it's too soon to tell, but we're typical paranoid first time parents and until he reaches that milestone, we feel like it's a big waiting game.
Anyway, we think he probably needs more social time with other babies and toddlers and probably other adults too. I will be around all week and for once I actually will have a car, so if anyone wants to get together for a play date, I'd love to get together with someone.
For what it's worth, my DS1 didn't walk until just after 15 months - and from all the research I did back then and all the questions I asked, that's not considered a big deal at all. Anything after 18 months is a flag for further investigation. One thing I had to remind myself is that the AVERAGE for most kids is around 12 - 13 months. And how do they come up with an average? They total up the complete range of ages....so everything from as young as 8/9 months....right up to past 18 months and beyond. Suffice to say, there has to be babies at both ends of the scale....and my DS was at the later end, and it sounds like yours is too. That doesn't mean not normal though :p If you are genuinely concerned, follow up with your MCHN or see your GP for a referral to a Paed...but IMHO, I'd wait a little longer yet :)
ETA - we've just moved to Canberra and have a 2.5y/o and a 3 month old. Will be moving into our new house next week, so we may be able to catch up and get the kids together?
wnkirkwood
22-02-2011, 10:54
I'm really new to this. I live on the southside with a 2 month old girl and would love to chat with other mums.
Nicole
ReneeAEJ
25-02-2011, 12:58
Hi, Im new to Canberra, just arrived this week. I am on the southside and i have 2 daughters, 2.5 yrs and 9 months.
Anyone want to meet up?
Cheers :)
Mum2Angus
27-02-2011, 12:19
Hi Renee & Nicole and welcome.
Renee - I also live on the Southside and have a 10 month old son. We should catch up some time. Have you been to Monkey Mania? It's in the centre next to the Hyperdome. I've only been there once, and Angus was a bit young then, but I've heard it's not too bad. Anyway, hope your move is going well.
Nicole - Your little one is a bit young for Monkey Mania, but it would be lovely to meet you some time. Have you lived in Canberra for long?
ReneeAEJ
28-02-2011, 08:17
Hi Nicole and Mum2Angus,
If you want you can both come to my house for a playdate?
Or we could meet in the hyperdome for a coffee? (but coffee in a cafe doesnt last too long for me with my 2.5yr old!)
Hubby is at work today and tomoro i am without a car but if its not raining i could walk to the hyperdome. Wed thurs and Fri i am trying out new playgroups for my 2.5 yr old!
Mum2Angus, my DD would love monkeymania!
Anyway PM me if you are interested :)
It would be great to meet you both