View Full Version : Go to Fiji!!!

Sheer Bliss
14-06-2010, 21:13
You know how sometimes you go out, just to do the shopping or to dinner, and you hear about a hundred times 'ohhh, double trouble' 'got your hands full there' and all the other comments that sometimes come with the not so pleasant tone? Well - go to Fiji!! They LOVE children there, and every single fijian who commented on my bubbas all did it in such an excited tone, with big smiles on their faces, and with 'lucky' type comments! The only time I heard 'that tone' was from ONE American! It was awesome, they truly see children (and multiples) for the amazing blessing that they are and really enjoyed them. A whole week, and double trouble was only ever muttered at the airport and by european appearance people. BEST family holiday ever.

Even at the airport, we went into the office of the place that were driving us to the resort and one of the guys came running out from behind the counter to give them both a kiss and goo and ga at them.

overitand36
14-06-2010, 21:21
has a lot to do with Fijians just being great happy people

life is a lot simpler and always on Fiji time, we could learn a lot from them

went to Fiji for honeymoon 2 years ago can't wait to go back

how old where your babies where did you stay any issues carseats etc

Sheer Bliss
14-06-2010, 21:32
Yeah, Fiji time - heard that term alot and LOVE it! DS was actually really disappointed when we went to the shops when we got home. I swear he was looking at people waiting for someone to smile at him or say Bula and not many did (well, no-one said Bula, a few smiledand said hi)

They have just turned one, and our travel agent tried to get baby seats but said no-one had them to provide. But on the way home we noticed on the pick-up sheet from the resort it had 'please provide one baby seat' for a 1yo, so I guess they do have them. It was the scariest hour of my life each way as we held the babies in our arms in the cars. It just felt sooo wrong, but we passed families in the backs of utes and they pedestrians all walked sooo close to the cars. At least the max speed was 80, and we rarely got up that fast. We stayed at the Outrigger - kids eat free, free kids club and a nanny service for kids under 3 (you pay for that, but excellent rates). They also have free babysitting during breakfast - so you get to eat in peace! We def want to go back. DH's work mate stayed at the Naviti (sp?) and loved it too.

Refresh
14-06-2010, 21:35
Sorry...not a multi-mum...but I just have to say I agree. FIJI is awesome with children...we went a few years back and everyone was sooooo relaxed and friendly. I remember wanting to move there after that. Glad you had a great time:)

SuperGranny
14-06-2010, 22:04
hi charlismum, Glad you are all home safe and sound. We had a great time in Fiji in april, and that is so true the people just adore children, and families are the most important thing. It was a great holiday for all of us. Marie.

gizmoduckus
14-06-2010, 22:55
I am also not a multiple mum but I have to say :iagree:

They just love children so much and you never had to worry about what they were thinking when my little ones wanted to run around, even in the restaurants. We loved it so much that we are going back again in November. I can't wait!!!

alanasmum
15-06-2010, 06:42
Sounds like a wonderful trip. I remember going to fiji as a teenager with my mum and loved it. I recall how friendly the people were. Would love to go back with my children.

Just out of interest how did you go on the flight with your four children? I'm nervous about taking my 3 on a plane!

Luna Lovegood
15-06-2010, 07:21
Not a multi-mum but I love fiji. I can't wait to take DD their. The people are just lovely!

florence
15-06-2010, 07:58
DH and I are going in either December or February sans children.
We can't wait!

Leisa21
15-06-2010, 08:02
I always wanted to go but my brother and his wife went and said it was awful. I won't go into what they said because I found it offensive. I might put it back on my look into list! Sounds like you had an awesome time, I'm glad you enjoyed it, definitely sounds like a spot the kiddies would love!

sm2j
15-06-2010, 09:47
We have been twice, once before children, and then again last year when I was pg.... It was the best holidays I have ever had! We are looking into going in Dec.... we cant wait to go back. We actually found that we enjoyed it more the second time when we had DS just because he enjoyed it so much. When I heard you were going Tan I was sooo jealous...and again when I saw the photos!

Refresh
15-06-2010, 09:48
Ooh, now you have got me thinking about trying to plan for another Fijiian holiday :D Supposed to be going to the snow next year, Hungary the year after but maye the year after that we could go back :yelclap:

Sheer Bliss
15-06-2010, 10:08
Sounds like a wonderful trip. I remember going to fiji as a teenager with my mum and loved it. I recall how friendly the people were. Would love to go back with my children.

Just out of interest how did you go on the flight with your four children? I'm nervous about taking my 3 on a plane!

We took babysitters with us :p. We joking asked mum and dad if they would have the kids for a week while we went to the wedding ( I wouldn't have left the babies anyway) and she joking replied that she would look after then IN Fiji.....so then I thought about and mum is retired and her and dad love to travel - so said yup, that sounds good. So we had one child assigned to each of us to look after at the airport and on the plane. It was still a bit hectic with bubs being b/f and passed to me to be fed but sooo worth it. We had colouring books, a felt doll and 3D viewer thing for the kids all wrapped up as pressies so it was exciting for them. LOTS of planning, and then we hired the movie things on the way home (flew Jetstar, and the flight attendants held the bubs and helped a bit too).

I always wanted to go but my brother and his wife went and said it was awful. I won't go into what they said because I found it offensive. I might put it back on my look into list! Sounds like you had an awesome time, I'm glad you enjoyed it, definitely sounds like a spot the kiddies would love!

My sister went a few years before us, and said that some parts were a bit confronting and not that pleasant, but a few friends went on organised tours to villiages and said they were lovely. The people at the resort and airport were all just so friendly and really beautiful people. There was one jerk that was a friend of the groom that said a few horrid things about the locals, but he was full of it. The ONLY problem I encountered was with one waiter I couldn't understand him that well.....but we were in a foreign country, so that was MY problem not his - he was lovely!