View Full Version : 1st time mum: What to stock up on before birth?
perth1sttimemum
04-06-2010, 19:32
Hi There,
Would really appreciate your help. I am 23wks pregnant and wanted to start buying and stocking up on things that we will need. Thought this would be most cost efficient if I buy a little here and a little there. But I haven't been around alot of newborns so don't know where to start.
What I've got so far:
I've got about 200 newborn nappies - Do you recommend disposable or cloth? How many newborn nappies do yo you think I need if getting disposable?
I've also got some baby wipes - one big box
People have also given me some clothes so I don't think I have to worry much about that but what else do you think is essential for when baby is born? (Apart from the big stuff of course)
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
sunnymummy
04-06-2010, 19:44
I found that I was given a LOAD of stuff from people when my DS was born. SO much that I didn't use it all before he grew out of the clothes!
Don't buy much 0000 or 000 sizes because baby will grow quickly and people tend to give those sizes as gifts.
You probably have enough nappies because again they aren't in them for long. I used one box of newborn disposables and then started on cloth It worked well for us.
I have a few terry flats that I used as 'spew towels' and they were brilliant.
It is useful to buy stuff for the house as much as for the baby... toilet paper, shampoo, washing powder, tea/coffee for visitors etc. just because you won't feel like shopping and it can be difficult to get out of th house.
Also if you have time I would cook up meals to freeze. You can take them out defrost and reheat instead of worrying about cooking too much. For the first few weeks (or months :laughing:) you and DH will be sleep deprived but you both need to eat well , esp if you are breastfeeding.
Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy.
lovinmybub
04-06-2010, 19:51
I'm with you, I like to stock up on nappies. You could be starting another great debate on here asking whether cloth or disposables are better!:laughing: Personally I think you have to do what works best for YOU. I don't like people that are pushy or judgemental when it comes to nappies (or other parenting issues for that matter!). With ds1 I stocked up on cloth and was determined to use them but it didn't work out that way. This time around I'm not going to kid myself or stress about it, I'm stocking up on disposables!
My son was 8lbs 5oz and wasn't in the newborn size for long. I WISH I could remember how long because I've been wondering about how many of each size myself! I'd think if you have 200 that's probably enough before you'll need the 'infant' size, but someone with a newborn might be able to help out more. When they're on special I buy some of the first couple of sizes. I figure they're always going to end up in the bigger ones at some point, so it can't hurt to have them aswell.
Other than the basic clothes I'd say get some muslin wraps too, unless you live somewhere that stays cool and you'll be using the flanelette ones. My son was born during a stinking hot summer but the poor little bub LOVED to be wrapped, so we had a collection of muslin wraps for him.
You could buy some of the baby wash products. We got Johnson & Johnson for ds which gave him eczema so we changed to Gaia. J&J smell gorgeous but this time I will be staying clear to be safe, then again alot of people have no problems with the J&J!:yes: Some baby cotton buds are handy, I went through more than I thought I would.
NonnyMouse
04-06-2010, 19:58
200 newborn nappies is a bit of a risk. It assumes your bub will be small, and/or not grow very fast. DS was in newborn size for one week only, so we only used about 48 in total.
There's not much you treally need to stock up on, although wipes are a constant need. Lotions, potions and bath stuff lasts for ever as you don't use much )we didn't use any at all), for nappy cream by the time DS was 6 months old we were still only half way through the little sample tub that came in the bounty bag.
lovinmybub
04-06-2010, 20:00
It is useful to buy stuff for the house as much as for the baby... toilet paper, shampoo, washing powder, tea/coffee for visitors etc. just because you won't feel like shopping and it can be difficult to get out of th house.
:iagree:What a great idea. I'm going to start stocking up on the toilet paper and laundry detergent now! I'm sure someone eats it around here!! :laughing:
perth1sttimemum
04-06-2010, 20:09
Wow, thank you for such quick responses and all the good ideas.
Oh Gosh, I can't believe the bub can grow out of 'newborn' size in a week. See, that is why I am on here :)
I will start getting other sizes. Great idea about stocking up on other things for the house, I actually would never have thought of that!! :yelclap:
I was wandering what that wrap thing was called too! Thanks!!! I appreciate it SO much!
lovinmybub
04-06-2010, 20:16
I'm stocking up on food for my Mum too.:laughing: Might seem odd but we don't have any family nearby, she's coming to stay to help for a week or two when the baby comes and she needs everything gluten free! I hate it when she's here helping and there's nothing for her to eat but 'corn thins', so I'm buying something every time I do the groceries to put in the 'gluten free' section of our pantry. :D
MyCheekyMonkey
04-06-2010, 20:40
I wouldn't worry too much about having so many newborn nappies, my DD was in newborn size for 13 weeks, so you really never know!
A handy item I couldn't live without is terry cloth nappies to use as spew cloths. I bought a 12 pack from target. I even lay one under DDs head in her cot so I don't have to constantly wash the sheets if she is sick.
Muslin wraps as mentioned are very useful for swaddling.
Cotton balls, I used them to clean DDs face in the bath, and to clean her bum after a dirty nappy as are much more gentle on the skin when you use them with a little warm water.
I found target plain white ribbed singlets so much better than bonds as they don't mishape as quickly and are a little bit longer so fit much better. I am a huge fan of bonds but ended up going out and buying more of these target ones!
Make sure you have more than one sheet set and mattress proctector in case your little one is a spewer.
Nappy sacks
can't think of anything else at the moment, I have a huge list of things that we were given and didn't use lol!
chicken and eggs mum
04-06-2010, 20:44
I wouldn't worry too much about having so many newborn nappies, my DD was in newborn size for 13 weeks, so you really never know!
A handy item I couldn't live without is terry cloth nappies to use as spew cloths. I bought a 12 pack from target. I even lay one under DDs head in her cot so I don't have to constantly wash the sheets if she is sick.
Cotton balls, I used them to clean DDs face in the bath, and to clean her bum after a dirty nappy as are much more gentle on the skin when you use them with a little warm water.
I found target plain white ribbed singlets so much better than bonds as they don't mishape as quickly and are a little bit longer so fit much better. I am a huge fan of bonds but ended up going out and buying more of these target ones!
Make sure you have more than one sheet set and mattress proctector in case your little one is a spewer.
Nappy sacks
can't think of anything else at the moment, I have a huge list of things that we were given and didn't use lol!
If you have too many once bub comes just take them back and swap them for the next size!!! problem solved!!!!!
I would too stock up on household items as PP's have suggested!!! You dont want to be running out of TP or tissues, or shampoo!!!
Hmmm... other than that, I dont know!! I got given almost everything else i needed!!
And like someone else said, I am still using sample tubs!!!! LOL
myhusbandswife
04-06-2010, 20:49
Nappies is definatly a hard one because my DD was in newborn till about 3 months but she was tiny (2.6kg born) But I guess if you have to many you can always swap an unopened box for a bigger size.
Face washers - I find them great for everything. I always had one under bubs face when she was sleeping as a newborn for little spews and dribbles
Wipes
Dont forget yourself too.
Breastpads
Maternity Pads - I just bought the Libra goodnight pads because they are exactly the same as the Maternity ones
I also found the Kleenex flushable wipes were excellent post birth. Nice and soft, cold and cleaned better. But if not the softest toilet paper you can find for the hospital. I didnt have stiches but I was still soooooo sensitive down there.
One thing I found very handy to have a lot of that hasn't been mentioned yet is bibs...and I don't mean for feeding come the toddler stage either!
I had chucky babies (happy chuckers) who loved to spew up their milk...and to save going through clothes, I used the bibs that stretched over bubs head :thumbsup:
I could go through heaps of these per day during bubs first 6-8 months.
Nappy sacks
I loved these too for my little happy chuckers :thumbsup:
Nappys is a hard one as it really depends on the size of your bub,DD was in NB for 8weeks she was 3.28kgs at birth, as newborns ild ay they use about 6 disposable nappys per day,sometimes more :rolleyes: I would atleast get enough for 4weeks worth
Are you planning to breastfeed? do you have nipple cream and nipple sheilds? you may not need the sheild but you may find they help, have you got a few bottles just incase breastfeeding doesnt work out?
Have you checked to see what the hospital provides? Make sure you stock up for yourself on Maternity pads and breast pads to.
Incase you need stitches as you never know how the birth will be i would go to the chemist and ask if they have something that disolves in water to help with the stitches when you go to the toilet, im sorry i cant remmeber what the stuff is actually called but basically you poor the sachet into warm water and whilst weeing you poor the jug of water over your stitches bits and helps soothe and wont sting,maybe one of the other ladys may be able to help you on the name of it is :rolleyes:
Have you got a thermometer? i found mine came in handy
Invest in a slow cooker if you dont already have one :thumbsup: just 15mins prep in morn and chuck it on and let it simmer all day and you have yourself dinner by the end of the day,which can be aresnic hour!
You can never get enough Wipes,when thereon sale stock up as they dont go off
NonnyMouse
04-06-2010, 21:07
There are things mentioned here that you may not ever need (e.g. I have never needed breastpads, and didn't have a chucky baby so didn't use much, if any, spew rags, bibs etc, plus we bathed DS in the big bath or shower so our baby bath was a huge waste of money) so how about stocking up on goift vouchers for your preferred stores instead? Instead of spending $25 on supplies, buy a $25 voucher, then when your baby arrives you can see what stuff you need as you need it and you already have the $$ to go and get it. Vouchers from KMart, Target, BigW, your local supermarket etc.
If you don't have time/energy to shop for stuff after the baby arrives, you can scan the catalogues, give a friend or family the voucher and send them off to do your shopping for you, with your vouchers.
I personally wouldn't stock up on anything. Half the stuff I bought I never used, I gave so many nappies away because he also grew out of them quick and I started using Aldis anyway because I found huggies just too small. I really bought as I went along and I could never have known what those things would be. Eg. I bought a wrap and he hated being wrapped and wanted his arms out. I bought heaps of wipes but he had terrible nappy rash as a newborn so I could only use cloth with water. I have 3 sets of sheets and only ever use 1 I re-wash because he isn't a spewy baby.
I like the voucher idea, I can't tell you how many trips to the shops and chemist dh made so that would have come in handy!!
I'm another who agrees with don't buy too much bulk of any one product as you never know how it will react with bub (particular wipes, lotions, bath products etc) and you don't want to have say, a carton of wipes that irritate bubs skin and you can't use.
With nappies, like other posters have said, you can take back unopened boxes and swap them - just sticky tape your receipt to the side of the cartons so you don't have to look for it if that time comes.
And if you are planning on breastfeeding, no need to go out and buy bottles/formula etc to have 'just in case'. Unless you live in the middle of the outback, you will no doubt have easy access to a shop if you do need to start bottle feeding, and having the back up ready in the cupboard can make it easier to give up (Not that I'm implying there is anything wrong with giving it up either)
Stock up on laundry stuff....I had no idea how much washing one tiny little baby could create!!
lovinmybub
05-06-2010, 08:10
I was thinking about this laying in bed last night and the other thing I'm planning on buying before baby arrives are breastfeeding supplements/things are are meant to help boost supply. I know plenty of people don't use them and do fine, but I had alot of trouble with ds and ended up putting him on formula at 2 weeks and crying about it for 10 months. ( I don't recommend the crying about it part, he's just fine, gorgeous healthy, great eater, no allergies, 3 year old!) At the time I thought I'd done everything I could. I was told by my gp, the visiting child health nurse, and someone from breastfeeding australia that I was doing all I could. I've done loads of research since and have found there was SO much more I could have tried as it was a supply issue.
ANYWAY, long story short - I've been reading breastfeeding threads on here and I'll be making the lactation boosting cookies and having brewers yeast etc all ready to go this time!! :yes:
I reckon it's really up to you and how well you want to be prepared. For me, DH and I are not overly big so we presume our baby will be fairly small. I've bought 3 boxes of newborn nappies 108 each at a really good price from ToysRus, only $30 a box. I was told they use up to 10 each day. So technically a month's supply will br abt 300 nappies. Unless your baby is born really big over 4kg, that would be a safe buy.
Wipes is another thing to store but not overly. Cotton wool is good too as you use it to wipe baby down there especially the first few months. Apparently i was told to stay away from baby bath products until 3 months old. All they really need is just warm water and cotton wool!
I just followed the hospital guidelines on what newborn needs:
6 sleeping suits/ rompers
6 singlets
2 hats/bonnets
1 wrap/ blanket
1 going home clothes
1 large pack of baby wipes
For mum:
breast pads ( i just bought the pigeon disposable ones 50 in a box just in case i'm not leaking so don't really need to stock up, Chemist warehouse has pretty much a good deal all year round)
3 large packs maternity pads (i don't know what brand is good, so i bought 1 each from Kotex, Libra and Stayfree: total only 24 pieces. Once you trial it and you know which one suits you, you can buy more later. Again Chemist warehouse is a good place to go.)
Somehow i have to admit i've been buying more than I should with all these mid-year sale going on. I've bought a few cot sheet sets even though bub will be sleeping in bassinet for a while. You just can't miss the sale. Maybe also a few pieces in bigger sizes from 000 to 0. I'll stay away from size 1 and 2, that's a big too much and i have limited storage space.
So the only items that i really have in bulk is disposable nappies and baby wipes. THe rest wil just be in moderation or buy as you go along.
Good luck!
perth1sttimemum
05-06-2010, 10:52
Thank you Girls!!
You have given me alot of great ideas and advice and I really appreciate it!
I LOVE the idea of just getting myself gift vouchers, I honestly would never have thought of that. Since I wont be getting any paid mat leave I just wanted to see what I can buy here and there now so I won't have to worry so much when we only have the one wage coming in.
*Off to get pen and paper so I can get a list going*
waterlily
05-06-2010, 11:44
Don't buy any more newborns!! Buy 2 boxes of infant ( we used about 4 I think) and we used 10+ crawlers!! Get one box every pay you will be SO happy you kept buying bigger sizes too not jut newborns.
Face washes and towels
Maternity pads Also I reccomend going to best and less and buying 10+ pairs of their crappy $2 undies for when your bleeding heaps ect, then bin them or use them as "period undies"
cotton wool bubs
burb cloths - I made my own. one side flannle one side silk (great for when your out as they ate very pretty)
singlets - I use put DD in one size to big so that she is comfy and they last longer
Stock up on toilet paper, shampoo ect (everyday things)
Food LOTS of snacks and pre make LOTS of meals and buy frozen meals ect.
Bottles of water otherwise youay forget to drink.
Maybe buy a few coles myer cards too. They will come in VERY handy. Even if it's just a $20 one every pay.
They were just things I found helpfull. I'm sure there's more but I can't think ATM.
Good luck.
lovinmybub
05-06-2010, 14:54
Don't buy any more newborns!! Buy 2 boxes of infant ( we used about 4 I think) and we used 10+ crawlers!! Get one box every pay you will be SO happy you kept buying bigger sizes too not jut newborns.
Face washes and towels
Maternity pads Also I reccomend going to best and less and buying 10+ pairs of their crappy $2 undies for when your bleeding heaps ect, then bin them or use them as "period undies"
cotton wool bubs
Do they sell Huggies Infant in boxes where you live, waterlily?? I've looked in every supermarket I go near and they jump from Newborn to Crawler in the boxes now. I'm not happy as I always buy the boxes on special and now the only way I can get 'infant' is to get the smaller and more expensive packs!
I totally agree with the best and less undies. I've already bought some "granny undies" from there to fit my belly and I LOVE them!! They are so comfortable and so cheap!:laughing:
myhusbandswife
05-06-2010, 14:58
Do they sell Huggies Infant in boxes where you live, waterlily?? I've looked in every supermarket I go near and they jump from Newborn to Crawler in the boxes now. I'm not happy as I always buy the boxes on special and now the only way I can get 'infant' is to get the smaller and more expensive packs!
I totally agree with the best and less undies. I've already bought some "granny undies" from there to fit my belly and I LOVE them!! They are so comfortable and so cheap!:laughing:
Most of the bigger baby stores like Babies Galore or Baby Kingdom sell the Infant size in bulk boxes. Even bigger than the supermarket boxes.
lovinmybub
05-06-2010, 15:04
Most of the bigger baby stores like Babies Galore or Baby Kingdom sell the Infant size in bulk boxes. Even bigger than the supermarket boxes.
Hmm. Thanks.:yes: We don't have any baby stores near us and I only buy my nappies when they are on a super special! When I have looked into those places the 'per nappy' price still equals more than when they're on special at coles or woolies.
I'll be stocking up on baby wipes. Used huggies wipes for DD for 2.5years till she was toilet trained and still keep a box around now for sticky fingers and quick face wipe after dinner.
Nappies i have one box of newborn and once i find out the gender i'll grab a couple of boxes of the infant size.
Would rather stock up on consumables for the house instead so don't run short on things that don't go out of date. Toilet paper, tissues, washing powder, body wash all the everyday stuff.
Closer to due date will be cooking meals to freeze to make life easier in the first few weeks
Closer to your due date definately do a cook up with things like Spaghetti Bol, Lasagne, Stir-frys etc that you can freeze into meal portions.
They were a godsend to me so nice to have a decent meal without the hassle of preparing it.
The Nappy debate :confused:, my ds was 4kg and I went through about 3.5 boxes of newborn so no i don't think you have too many, just stick with that or buy the next size up if you wish to stock up. He is 2 now and I just pulled down all his old boxes and found the 1/2 pack I didn't use, so I'm in front already for this bub :).
If you don't have Foxtel/Austar look at borrowing some DVD's to get you through the long nights of Breastfeeding, my dh brought be the whole Sex and the City collection....saved me watching countless hours of Infommercials.
If you don't already have a clothes airer, get one now, I use to do washing all hours of the night and hang it inside, didn't matter if it hung there for days :laughing:.
Do have a few items of clothing 0000, as I said ds was 4kg but still didn't fit into most 000 for a couple of weeks. Don't go overboard though, they grow very quickly!
Most of all spend this time relaxing, you can be organised without going into a frenzy - save that for when bubs is born :p
Goodluck :flowerz:
waterlily
05-06-2010, 17:40
No they don't but eBay have the bulk boxes REALLY cheap at times and same with some baby stores including Internet baby stores. DF wasn't in infant for real long tho. But has been in crawler for months!! I've gone through sooo many boxes.
summamummy
05-06-2010, 21:11
I wouldn't worry about the Newborn nappies either, DS was 8lb 14oz and in newborn nappies for 6 weeks. DS is now 14 weeks and today we made the transition into crawler nappies (still fits into infant size though). Things that I stocked up on were wipes/face washers/cotton terry nappies for spew rags and to use on change table for accidents lol, wraps for swaddling. I also bought dummies (lifesaver:p), a bottle (BF didn't work for me so having the bottle saved me having to stress about feeding bubs during the transition of BF to FF, until I was able to get to the shops to buy bottles) I didn't want to be treking around trying to find a bottle at midnight! Also a baby first aid kit with baby panadol/thermometer/fess spray and so on, bibs, I stocked up on clothes and sleep suits in 00 and 0 DS was in 0000 for 2/3 weeks and 000 for 7/8 weeks (he still fits into some 000 tops at 14 weeks. Hope I have helped you :)
If you don't have Foxtel/Austar look at borrowing some DVD's to get you through the long nights of Breastfeeding, my dh brought be the whole Sex and the City collection....saved me watching countless hours of Infommercials.
GREAT advice! A pregnant friend recently asked me what the one thing was she should make sure she has to get through the early weeks, the life saver, the one thing I couldn't have lived without. I said a DVD player!
We had about 30 or so terry flats that we used for everything but nappies :o they were fantastic for chuck, spills, on the change mat, in the cot for dribbles/chucks, some in the car for messes, etc even after the kids got older we still continued to use them for washing the car, the dog, mopping the floor cleaning the windows, painting etc... have already bought another 24 for when we get pg with our next (god knows where all my others went)
Went through STACKS of maternity pads. Will be buying plenty and I also found (please do not think I am strange :D) That wearing two pairs of comfy but tight black undies was the way to go in the first week or so. They kept the pads right in place and the pressure on my stitches was really helpfull both times round. I have also heard a few of the other ladies actually used the incontinence undies with a pad in them so it was way easier to just chuck them if/when they got mucky.
Breast Pads, I went through stacks. This time I will buy a big box of the disposables for going out and the first lil while when my boobs were leaking like nuts and will also get washable ones so not throwing out money so to speak.
Wipes, will stock up again. For my first I had about 10 boxes of the 6 packs. Would have really sucked if they hadn't have gone well with bubs skin but all was good.
I also can't recomend enough stocking up on house stuff, loo paper, shampoos, soaps, laundry stuff, paper towl, easy make meals, we also do stuff like cooking oil, bottles of juice/softdrink and stuff. Means you can just reach in and grap whatever making shopping cheaper and less frequently needed after bubs comes.
We got Foxtel when our second was a week old and it was a god send. So nice to be able to just chuck the telly on during those long night hours and have something 'decent' to watch. Wish I had of had it with our first actualy. Not everyones cup of tea though.
In terms of shampoo's and creams I bought like 4 big bottles of baby wash when preg with #1 and I swear I only just really used it all up about a year ago and my kids are 3 and 4. Never went through a tub of sudocream but it was the one we used and was fantastic though, chucked it before finnishing it not realising we would TTC another one.
umm thats all I can think of now :ecomcity:
Boobycino
05-06-2010, 21:56
small clothes for baby spew!!!!
and like 6 pairs of feetie pajamas!
And wraps/blankets.
I had a very chucky baby and I certainly was underprepared!!!!!
maybe3maybe4
05-06-2010, 21:57
Only things I would add to the list are some things for you...
I came home from hospital in a new top and maternity jeans - it was so lovely to come home in something that wasn't maternity (though just remember access for breastfeeding).
Also in those early days of being tired, I loved nothing more than a shower and putting on a little perfume to make myself feel human. If you have a little extra cash at the moment, I would ensure that you have stock of a couple of little personal luxuries.
Face washers and terry nappies are a must. Our kids are 6, 4 and 18 months and we still keep a stock of about 20 washers!!!
Good luck and have fun!!
perth1sttimemum
09-06-2010, 23:03
Thank you everybody!!!
I hadn't thought at all of some of those things, so MUCH appreciated!