View Full Version : who else gets bad leg cramps?

mum85
02-06-2010, 21:17
19 weeks pregs and now suffering bad leg pains.. cramps. I remember with Ds I had been woken in the night with my feet having cramp spasims abd crying in pain getting Dh to stretch my feet out.. but aww from my butt cheeks down to my calfs and ankles feels like bad bad growing pains constant dull pain! Anyone know what causes this when pregs? And what can help?

Entropy
02-06-2010, 21:28
I had TERRIBLE leg / calf cramps during both my pregnancies... so much so I wouldn't be able to walk the next day cause the muscles were so sore...

I asked my OB about it and he said there is really nothing you can do... There is magnesium tablets you can take that have it specifically on them for pregnancy cramps which I took. Not sure it helped ALL that much but I did find they helped the cramps be shorter...

would suggest you check with your doctor though first....

sorry can't be more help... they suck,don't they!

Amara
02-06-2010, 21:31
Calcium can help. I was taking tums every day for indigestion and I never got one leg cramp. Their main ingredient is calcium.

mum85
02-06-2010, 21:43
aww thanks.. maybe I do need calcium! I will chat to my midwife on Tues.. I have been feeling like abit of chocolate milk LOL.. maybe its my body screaming for calcium? Since I hate normal plain milk.. Symptoms like these are so weird to do with pregnancy!! LEG CRAMPS hahah.. who would of thought:rolleyes:

Entropy
02-06-2010, 22:27
I was taking high dose calcium for other medication I am on and it never helped with the cramps...

but I think it might be a case of different things lacking for different bodies? I know some things I've read say it can be lack of sodium as well?

DaughteroftheForest
02-06-2010, 22:38
I had awful leg cramps with my last pregnancy, made the waddling way worse, lol.

I was told magnesium helps. Makes sense to me as I used to use mag phos tablets as a muscle relaxant after a long night of dancing :smiliedance:
Hope you find something that helps, and good on DH for helping with massage, my Dp snored right through mine :banghead:

mum85
03-06-2010, 08:43
Yer Dh seems to be not as caring this 2nd time around though! I got massages etc.. with DS now this time I was winging last night and he just rolls away and goe sto sleep! GRRRR.. man they get it easy! Its like its no big deal this 2nd time around for him.. it must of been all just an act with the 1st pregnancy.. LOL.. They seem to be not as bad this morning buts it only early.. Im sure by this arvo Im gunna be wingen more :(

deb1234
03-06-2010, 08:49
i get really bad cramps in my calf muscles. at first i would just lie in bed and frantically rub them but the best fix is to stand up - the cramps go instantly! worth a try :)

Ruby Slippers
03-06-2010, 08:55
I had it BAD when pregnant with my second child ,
I would wake up in pain my Dh would rub my legs and put pressure on my feet that helped me,
I hope your pain free soon .:goodvibes:

SadisticTorment
04-06-2010, 13:16
you poor thing :( I had that with my last pregnancy until bubs was born, and it was SO much worse after excersizing and walking (even just to the shop and back!) I'd wake up with those intense "charlie cramps". Increasing calcium helps, so does having a banana a day :yes:

lulululu
01-07-2010, 23:22
I agree with deb1234. Standing up seems to help me. If its any consolation I'm 37 weeks and seem to get the cramps much less often than I did around 19/20 weeks. Hope yours ease too

AM
01-07-2010, 23:24
Magnesium helped me heaps :)

Cromo
02-07-2010, 08:30
I'm 32 weeks and I've been getting bad leg cramps for the past few weeks. The other morning I jumped out of bed (as quickly as I could) with a huge leg cramp in my left calf.... The pains still there.
I've found that its because I have forgotten to take my Elevit for about a week.
With our DD, I got them alot when I didn't take Elevit aswell.
Think its something to do with magnesium? Thats what my midwife told me last pregnancy.

Shh
02-07-2010, 08:38
I'm 16 weeks and getting shooting pains and cramps mainly down the back of my right leg. I'm not sure whether this is the same as what you are all experiencing or whether it is normal. I'm interstate atm and sleeping on an uncomfortable bed which isn't helping. I can't remember whether it started before we left last week.

Nicpolsta
02-07-2010, 12:19
Bananas also helped me. Seems calcium is also a big hit for people. Maybe combine the two for an after dinner treat and have a skim milk banana smoothie.! Good luck, I am up to week 36 and the cramps stopped about 4 wks ago, but I think that is because I have had a big change in diet being diagnosed with gestational diabetes. (Bananas and skim milk are something I do eat daily now instead of carb rich meals).

FluffyBunny
08-07-2010, 15:28
Take magnesium and calcium tablets. Both together should get rid of any leg cramps.