View Full Version : Would your partner know?
mum23girls
13-08-2006, 10:44
If you were sapped away by alians, would your partner know what to do with the baby?
DH surprised me this morning by giving Zara her brekky without asking me what time she was due :eek: It did surprise me cause for the last 8 months the question always asked is when is she due to be fed?!!
It really did shock me!!
Would your partner know when to feed, put to sleep, change nappy etc?
13-08-2006, 10:58
Yes, Absolutely! The routine might fall by the wayside a little, but Oliver would get fed, changed, bathed, and clothed fine! :)
13-08-2006, 11:00
the routines would deffinatly be out of wack by... LOTS !!!!
lukaelmo
13-08-2006, 11:09
Yes lol. DP regularly peeves me by being just as, and sometimes more, capable as I am of looking after the dude... DP works from home and looks after the dude when I work. He also manages to fit in housework while working and looking after the dude.
I know it all sounds wonderful, but honestly sometimes I just want something to complain about :D .
he knows how to change and nappy and feed ds but he doesnt know wen to i have to tell him, im hoping it will catch on eventually
DF wouldn't have any problems I don't think.... The lovely man does sunday mornings by him self anyway and is usually the one letting me know whats going on on the weekend (he likes to be involved) it's pretty funny actually:p
jessgray
13-08-2006, 11:13
yes he can change a nappy and make a bottle but when it comes to what food ds can eat dp is a bit lost (i am too lol) coz ds reacts to so much stuff :(
i predict ds living on nuggets,chips,fruit loops,baked beans,and whatever fruit DP gets lol oh and peas and corn lol and tomato sauce.
13-08-2006, 11:13
probably not :laughing:
subaruforestermum
13-08-2006, 11:15
LOL....... My son would definately get fed, clothed, bathed etc fine....but he thinks that we have no routine:banghead: , cos on the weekend our son does things different cos his dads around during the day, and puts us both out of order.......
EskimoMumma
13-08-2006, 11:18
I honestly have no idea. I'm sure he will handle it all fine but to be honest he wouldn't give the same kind of love a mum can give :laughing:
SamanthaJane
13-08-2006, 11:28
I dont know how to change a nappy, give a baby a bath or make a bottle to the right temperature (im going to start learning with my little nephew who will arrive next week lol!) but my dp knows how to do all of the above...
But i think any sort of a routine i had would just fly out the window if i left... he would know how to do it... but still it wouldnt be the way i do it :rolleyes: :laughing:
13-08-2006, 11:46
yep mine would, hes a great daddy... the house would end up a bombs site tho.. but the kids would be clean and fed :P
My DH is really really good in that way, even I have to admit.....:barf: !!!!! He comes home each day and demands to know what DS and I have done with every minute of our day.
hmmm, yeah probably. He has only changed a few nappies so far and that's because I forced him to. Its more due to lack of confidence than not wanting to (I think...although I might just be giving him the benefit of the doubt on that one).
A lot of men are a bit hesitant around newborns so I take that into account. I give bubby to DP to hold sometimes but mostly I just "hog" the baby the whole time. I can't help it. He's definitely "my" baby at the moment but I am sure that will change as he gets a bit older. DP isn't a lazy person and he does like holding him and he talks to him all the time. Because I am breastfeeding DP is on the sidelines a little bit, but its very very early days.
misskittyfantastico
13-08-2006, 13:47
Absolutely! nothing would be done the way I do it, but it would be done well.
13-08-2006, 14:52
hmm im not really sure. I know he would be able to feed her, bath her make sure she is safe & happy but i think WHAT he feeds her, WHEN he feeds & baths her is a different story. She will probably be in bed at midnight or whenever he is tired :laughing: so hopefully no aliens come any time soon.
My DH is great with everything so im confident he would know what to do.
The only thing he is unsure of, is what he can give DS to eat, solid wise.
My DH loves his son to bits - they play together ... and adore each other - but I hvae had to write a list of foods on the fridge that DS CAN eat ...
Jack would be changed (he would probably be in disposables though) .. bathed.. and put to sleep without dramas.. but I think when the frozen food ran out - JAck would be on a tinned food diet .. with occasional crusts from dad's pizza!!!! :laughing:
they would survive .. and laugh when things go wrong - but there could be a few scary moments :D
maartysmum
13-08-2006, 15:09
My hubby would do fine - bub would be fed and changed and clothed at the right times - hopefully he would also be devasted to find me missing!!!:laughing:
13-08-2006, 15:10
although being taken away on a space ship doesn't sound like a bad idea :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
13-08-2006, 16:53
For Ronan (2)- yes, absolutley. He does so much with him already, and we always discuss the way we do things, try new things out (ie we are trying out a shorter day sleep to see if he stays in bed later then 5.30am!) and he doesn't hesitate to pop him in the highchair with a snack/dinner/play dough etc.
Ariene (3 months) hmmm... well, she is breastfed, doesn't take a bottle- and he's not all that confident with a little bubby. let's just hope the aliens leave where I am, nice and cosy with my family!
well shes not here yet, but judging by the way hes talking now hes in for a bit of shock, you see it too him a while to realise no the baby cant go in the ute the car seat isnt allowed in the front or why he cant have her for a overnight stay at his house.... dumba** im sure he'll b alright...eventually :rolleyes:
SassyMummy
13-08-2006, 17:55
I think he's reasonable at looking after DD.
If I go out for the day, he can manage. He's not very good with dressing her though, so she'd probably wear just a nappy and a t-shirt (apparently it's too hard to put pants on her cos she wriggles too much) if it were up to him. He's only just learnt how to put the carseat in...so I guess he'll be okay there.
He knows how to make a bottle, but he never remembers to put the formula lid back on. I guess he could just do cows milk now...so that's easier.
She would be exclusively fed jar-food I think. He'd also give her mushier food than she needs...she can eat very chunky food now (she had a fruit scone today...and a bit of a chicken-stick kebab)...but I'm sure he'd be scared she'd choke and not give her anything chunkier than a puree...lol.
I don't know how he'd go with buying her new things...he would probably forget. He have to make nappies out of towels or something (or do a quick run to the servo to grab a pack of nappies).
I guess he'd learn eventually...just the same way I had to.
At the moment, having had no experience with babies at all, he'd probably put a nappy on it's head and try to stuff a bottle up it's bum.
Mister Noodle
13-08-2006, 22:53
But hey, at least I know which end is which... um.. what was wrong with that, again?
angcaltam
13-08-2006, 23:05
Yes my DH would be able to cope. We had a crash course when I ended up in hospital the first time. I was worried about what I would come home to, I thought that DD would want to be put to sleep in my arms and all the stuff you don't want to do but, he had her in a better sleep routine than I did. She would just lay in her cot or cradle until she went to sleep without crying. Well, before I went to hospital she would have a little cry to sleep, now nothing. And all my DS1's homework was done on time.
Yep, he could cope, damn it.:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
SilverStarfish
13-08-2006, 23:20
I'm sure he'd cope... but I reckon things would get pretty ugly first! :laughing: