View Full Version : What's the hardest thing about having a large family?

Tieko
30-05-2010, 12:54
I plan on having at least 4 kiddies (currently pregnant with #3) because I LOVE my beautiful boys, and I seem to do an alright job at the parenting gig :p as they are very well behaved boys (despite being terrible sleepers as babies!) so I know I can handle the numerous children aspect of a large family! However the large family aspects that DO scare me are a) the financial side of it! and b) the housework. At the moment we are doing fine financially, but my eldest boy has just started to reach the 'extra-curricular activity' stage and is doing extremely well at gymnastics...and the reality of how expensive it would be to provide these types of activities for a large family is slightly daunting to say the least... :o On the housework aspect, although my house is lvely and clean all the time at the moment, I have to say that I struggle to keep it that way - and in particular the washing prospects of a large family has me terrified!!!! I struggle to keep up with us at the moment! So I guess that leaves me with a few questions...

What do you find to be the hardest thing about having a large family?

Can you/will you be able to afford to allow your child to do at least one extra-curricular activity each?

Can you survive comfortabley on one wage with a large family? (I don't want to return to work until all the kids start kindy/school if possible)

What is the hardest housework chore to keep on top of with a large family? How do you manage it?

JiminyCricket
30-05-2010, 13:12
Stress, for me anyway, dealing with toddlers and babies and driving olser kids around when it interupts with naptimes etc. Oh and teh worst thing is having a small house with 4 kids.

Can you/will you be able to afford to allow your child to do at least one extra-curricular activity each?
Depends on your DPs wage but you can limit the kids to one activity each.

Can you survive comfortabley on one wage with a large family? (I don't want to return to work until all the kids start kindy/school if possible)
Again it depends on your DPs income, work out a budget and include school fees, sports, nappies, formula, shoes, food etc

What is the hardest housework chore to keep on top of with a large family? How do you manage it?
Laundry is the main one followed by dishes.
I manage ok , i have a few clothes horses to dry clothes in winter.
I think the trick is to be organised , avoid clutter and get the kids doing chores as young as possible.

bgbgbb
31-05-2010, 08:10

Not getting invited to other people's places due to the sheer size of us AND all attractions restricting family passes to only 3 kids, where we have to pay extra for our extra kids.

Yes, we let them do 1 activity until 4, then they can do 2. Its amazing what discounted activities you can find when you look around. Most places discount 2nd and 3rd children participating in an activity.

Yes, although it means my husband works long hours and is often away from home, putting a greater workload on me.

This is a tie between mopping, cleaning the constantly ****ed up toilet seat and toilet floor and picking up copious amounts of toys

Edweena
02-06-2010, 09:37
What do you find to be the hardest thing about having a large family? Keeping a tidy house and the younger kids are inadvertently brought up by siblings as well as the parents

Can you/will you be able to afford to allow your child to do at least one extra-curricular activity each? Yes

I'm on my own so I don't think I can answer this but I think we live comfortably

What is the hardest housework chore to keep on top of with a large family? How do you manage it? The washing of the clothes.

dtmcidwz
06-10-2010, 11:43
A bit late......

That attractions, accommodation, and holiday destinations don't cater for big families. Family passes only count for 2Adults and 2children (only a few occasions up to 4children). So you always end up paying for your extra kids.It frustrating.....
You don't get invited to other peoples homes, most of the time they come to yours.
You have to be very organised, but still expect to run late, as much as you don't want too.
Oh and stickybeaks and know it alls, telling you should be doing things this way or that. And how are you coping with so many....
And games: can't find games that can accommodate so many people. family games nights etc, are limited in choose.

Yes. But pick wisely. We have ours kids do Taekwondo currently and did have then do soccer through the winter season. We also had the girls do dance at one stage too.

Oh and then there is orienteering and mountain biking.

You just have to do a lot of research into the expenses said of things, but there are things out there you have the whole family do, that won't break the bank and you don't have to be a millionaire to do so.

Can you survive comfortabley on one wage with a large family? (I don't want to return to work until all the kids start kindy/school if possible).

I am at home with eight and my DP works. We live comfortably. Kids are feed, clothed, do extra stuff, have things they can play with and we go away for holidays 2-3 times a year.

Keeping the house clean. You are forever picking up after the kids, putting toys away, cleaning their rooms, etc. In our house the laundry and dishes are keep on top of, pretty easily....

JabberJaw
06-10-2010, 11:52
What do you find to be the hardest thing about having a large family? Getting everyone ready to go out. Also the extra costs associated when we do go out eg. family is classed as 2 adults 2 kids at most places, motels we have to have adjoining rooms usually.

Can you/will you be able to afford to allow your child to do at least one extra-curricular activity each? Where we live, things are affordable ($5 per activity) and our school runs after school activities also.

Can you survive comfortabley on one wage with a large family? (I don't want to return to work until all the kids start kindy/school if possible) Yes, we have. Until recently hubby worked and i received centrelink. Now i work part time 3-4 hours 6 nights a week.

What is the hardest housework chore to keep on top of with a large family? How do you manage i t? The largest chore is WASHING :laughing: i was all day everyday (almost) and one day without washing sets me right back.

I wash towels daily, clothes, work clothes, school clothes, bubs clothes.

Usually more than a whole washing line so now i hang all shirts straight onto coat hangers, all smalls and bubs clothes on clothes horses and the rest on the line (which is out of the weather so can hang even on wet day) i think though we have about 8 clothes horses all up now so i can get at least clothes dry on wet days.

I clean ALOT!