View Full Version : Virus or bacteria???

Sheer Bliss
28-05-2010, 09:52
I've had a cough for a few weeks now. It's not painful, i've had no fevers, occassional headache, no sinus pain, a little tired but that't it. I wrote it off as a cold virus and that it will go away. Been dosing up on the Vit C, but it's not going. Now it's an annoying plegmy sounding thing. the thought of dragging all the kid with me to the dr's is such a PITA that I haven't bothered, esp since it doesn't seem antibiotic worthy. BUT we leave for Fiji on Tuesday and I am worried about it not going or getting worse before then. DH has been working heaps and I haven't had a day to rest, at all, and I am always up at least twice in the night - so I am thinking that I REALLY just need to rest, and our first day on hols will probably make me better anyway..... DH thinks I should go to the dr to have it checked out (but he would have the kids at the dr every time they had a runny nose - he has the worry gene from his mum, whereas I have the laid back gene from mine!!!)

So, at the risk of sounding like a 10yo here - should I go to the dr? Or rest, rest, rest and fluids?? I am breastfeeding, so most cold meds are out.

Oh, I have been meaning to take my elevit, to help a bit, but they are out of date by a few months - it wouldn't hurt to take them would it??

Hooves
28-05-2010, 09:57
I am not sure on the elevit. Can't help you with that one.

But if your symptoms are getting worse, can you see what a day of rest can do for you?

Then go to the doctors maybe? Although I am like you, not sure what the heck difference seeing a doctor is going to do. Unless you are in need of ab's. BUT obviously you are not coughing up green gross stuff yet.

You deserve to have the most awesome holiday. I hope this little cough is gone by the time you leave. Nothing worse then being sick on holidays.

NonnyMouse
28-05-2010, 09:58
What colour is the phlegm? That would be my gauge of whether it's worth going to the doc or not. And I wouldn't bother with a preggy multivite... the elements of it, and the individual amounts might be too high for someone who isn't pregnant and could give bubs or you some tummy troubles (especially if it's really high in iron).

If you feel you need multivites, then stickwith the Vit C (but getin it "real" form by having foods rich in it already), and maybe some B's to give you a boost - something like Floradix is a good one for general malaise and it's also suitable for toddlers and the rest of the family.

Exercise is good too. I find it helps minor bugs work their way out of my system a lot sooner, especially if the exercise causes me to get sweaty.

TripleTime
28-05-2010, 10:01
Sounds like me & A, our asthma's playing up & coughing a mountain of junk. We did the GP thing & he wrote it off as nothing to worry about unless we have breathing dificulty.

Sheer Bliss
28-05-2010, 10:04

The elevit claims to be for preg and b/f - which is why I thought it might be OK?

I'm not really worse than I was before, it's just different if that makes sense - lol. And most of the time, the phlegm isn't coming up (gross - sorry) I can just hear it/feel it kinda thing.

I walked to school a couple of times last week in the hope it would help (pushing the 3 little ones in the pram) and it did nada - annoying!! Will go to the chemist this arvo I think though, see about more vitamins and ask about the new codral. Have been told that one of the ingredients (it no longer contains psuedoephidrine) may dry up milk, but kellymom lists it as OK.....might see what the pharmacist says - there is one down here that is pretty good.

Sheer Bliss
28-05-2010, 12:36
:raspberry: darn pharmacist reccomended against codral as it will pass through milk onto bubs. If only there weren't feeding at night, I could do a night dose as it would be out of my system!!! I knew that would be the answer, but you live in hope sometimes!! Maybe codine pumping through my milk might be what they need to sleep so I can sleep and get better!!! KIDDING!! Not doing that...but yanno how you dream about sleep sometimes!

Vit C, cough syrup that was best thing, vicks on chest/back, loads of water and curled up on futon with toy story on!! :fingerscrossed:

FiveInTheBed
28-05-2010, 12:40
Hope you feel better soon Tan....:hugs:especially befor eyou go away!!

Maybe put a vaporiser / eucalyptus oil on?