View Full Version : Want to Mummy Nanny/Babysit
brogeybear
24-05-2010, 18:06
I'd love some advice on whether I can/how to go about getting some jobs as a mummy nanny.
We really need the extra $$ at the moment but putting DS in care is NOT an option, so that I can go back to work in finance or elsewhere.
I have no formal childcare quals though, although obviously a lot of experience as a mother :p and general babysitting experience, etc.
Anyway, can anyone suggest any ways to get work doing this?
Mods, sorry. Its not exactly work from home but it looked like the best place to put it.
MrsHappy
24-05-2010, 18:31
Hey brogey ;) there is a site called gumtree.com.au and there is a section for nannies and babysitters! People looking for nannies advertise there and you can advertise there too ( for free ) it has very high traffic and I have gotten a few jobs from there!
Also you could join a nanny agency! That is free too the parents pay a fee to find you! Pm me if you think I may be able to help further! See you round hehe
brogeybear
24-05-2010, 18:34
Thanks MrsHappy! :wave:
Have looked on gumtree but there isnt much way up here in Brissy! Do you think I *could* join an agency, wouldnt I need relevant quals?
MrsHappy
24-05-2010, 18:41
Lots of agencies are now looking for mummy nannies down here cos parents want it cos it's a cheaper option! You could maybe call a few tomorrow to get an idea! They may want you to a first aid course but they are normally run on the weekend! They will do all your police checks for you and (just quietly I dint have any quals in childcare just loads of experiance which you do too). It's worth a try!
brogeybear
24-05-2010, 18:56
Awesome! Sounds like a plan. I will need to update my first aid, but that shouldnt be a biggie as I have done advance oxygen defib level first aid before I had DS as I used to do first aid at large events.
Would be perfect job as I will get to be with DS and also have more kiddies to play with!
MrsHappy
24-05-2010, 20:26
It sounds like a perfect plan! Good luck! I know it will happen for you!
Boobycino
24-05-2010, 20:48
Its great fun :D
I often wonder how did I get so lucky at the end of a day playing with jasper, jasper has a playmate around his age (the boys I baby sit on different days, one is 6 months older and one is 6 months younger) we all go to the park, or do drawing together, its a really fun, really exhausting, but very fullfilling day. And I get paid at the end :eek: :D
I did go to uni and study teaching (didn't finish though ) and worked in childcare before having Jasper.
Though, I find with baby sitting work when it rains it pours - then I have droughts...
Also, when its come down to it, parents haven't cared much about my experience, or going to uni, or even checked references :confused: they base it on their gut feeling.
And if how you seem on bubhub is anything to go by, I wouldn't think you'd have a problem at all, you seem really level headed, logical, smart, loving person :yes: (maybe I just think this because I always agree with you :laughing:)
Boobycino
24-05-2010, 20:49
other sites like findababysitter.com.au and weneedananny.com.au are good too. :thumbsup:
Boobycino
24-05-2010, 20:52
and its pretty easy to be a registered childcare provider through the family assistance office, so you can offer receipts for parents claiming the child care benefit. (they only get a little bit of money back, it starts at $3.60 an hour back, and is income tested, so so far I've found people needing nannies aren't eligible. but its something to keep in mind. :yes:
brogeybear
24-05-2010, 21:33
I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to do family day care but I think there would be a lot of hoops to jump through for that.
Thanks Chel! We do tend to agree on a lot of things dont we LOL. You must be a smart woman! :D
Boobycino
24-05-2010, 22:04
we're both smart :D
And it does fit in this section, as it *can* be work from home. I generally baby sit from home :yes:
jalibali
02-06-2010, 20:41
I have done some work as a mummy nanny, I had one good and one bad experience. I thought it might help you ask the right questions before you choose a family.
Good family - I clicked with mum straight away, we just got along really well. I also charged a higher rate, $20 an hr, I always tend to charge low rates so I was just happier and felt more worthwhile so I enjoyed by job. They were happy to have me look after their son in either home (mine or theirs) which worked out well as sometimes I needed to be home to get washing done or wait for a delivery etc.
Bad family - didn't really click with them - but took the job anyway. Charged $12 an hr, ended up getting cranky that I was earning so little an hr, so was dissatisfied. The child went to daycare the other days I wasn't there - she was always sick and then always my daughter sick. Mum would not stay home, as the nanny it was my job to look after the kids even if she was sick. Consequently my DD got sick every week for 8wks, before I finally cracked it.
So I guess, what I learnt was to charge a rate you are happy with, ask what the arrangement will be if the child is sick (the "bad" family even expected me to look after their daughter when she had gastro - they didn't even tell me she had it, just casually mentioned it as they were walking out the door!)
Hope that helps!:)
Boobycino
02-06-2010, 22:13
jalibali - good point sharing you're wisdom.
I've looked after several different children, I tend to be more of a 'casual' nanny.
The GOOD experiences are with parents I really clicked with, they've been mums I'm very comfortable to chat with, generally just talking baby stuff, but theres definately a friendship with those parents. I mean, I'm looking after their love and care for their precious babies, so we've got a strong connection. So its been very easy to discuss things as they've come up - not that anything really comes up when you're in sync as parents.
The BAD experiences I've had, mainly have been with no negotiating prices up front, not just saying *this* is what I'm worth and letting them say *this* is what I can afford. And the couple of times I've accepted that I've been under paid and under appreciated. :no: and didn't stay long :no:
Also, compatibilty of the children really is most important :yes:
I found a great family, I got along really well with the mum, quite well with the dad, I loved both of their beautiful children who was 4 and 2 and just lovely children. Jasper was 11 months old at the time and getting into everything and needed CONSTANT supervision. The 2 year old was hitting tantrummy age, which is totally fair and reasonable for a 2 year old, and the 4 year old needed to talk to be non stop for 8 hours... which meant... i was just frazzled and burnt out to the point of nearly being in tears at the end of the day. Because also, the three of them did not play together. Which meant I had to divide my time between them, all of them wanting (or needing, Jasper would have been happy if I'd let him destroy the place ;) ) my full and undivided attention.
But I've since looked after two toddlers at once (as in I had three total), Jasper and one of the girls was 1.5 years and so they played together and the 4 year old could talk to me and help me 'supervise' the 'babies'.
JUST something to consider when browsing nanny ads on websites and stuff - think about what ages are compatible. :yes:
Also, think about sleeps and stuff, like, i LOVE looking after toddlers Jasper's age because they sleep at the same time :cloud9: and I get to have MOMENTS break before I get back to it!
brogeybear
03-06-2010, 08:09
Thanks lovelies!
I have an interview with a couple on Tuesday - they need one day a week with their 6 month old bub, so i think those ages should work in really well. Also just last night I got a message and they are calling me today, a VERY local couple who also need one day a week with their 16month old.
I have put on my ads $15 an hour as I wouldnt work for less than that, but there is no way I feel comfortable asking for $18- 23 when I have no formal quals....what do you think?
Boobycino
03-06-2010, 12:24
Thanks lovelies!
I have an interview with a couple on Tuesday - they need one day a week with their 6 month old bub, so i think those ages should work in really well. Also just last night I got a message and they are calling me today, a VERY local couple who also need one day a week with their 16month old.
I have put on my ads $15 an hour as I wouldnt work for less than that, but there is no way I feel comfortable asking for $18- 23 when I have no formal quals....what do you think?
:yes: sounds good!
I ask for $15, though I'm building my confidence to start asking for $18 :yes:
brogeybear
03-06-2010, 13:04
Thanks Chel. I am meeting with the local couple in an hour and I am way more nervous than I am about the ritzy house couple, as I did a drive by and it is not the nicest area and I hope that they are nice and that their house isnt full of smoke, etc.
I am being evil and stereotypical in my head, when for all I know they will be way cleaner and nicer than the ritzy house people....argh! Ds is sleeping atm so I should go put on some makeup....eek.
You should charge at least $18 Chel, you have loads of experience!
Boobycino
03-06-2010, 16:17
Thanks Chel. I am meeting with the local couple in an hour and I am way more nervous than I am about the ritzy house couple, as I did a drive by and it is not the nicest area and I hope that they are nice and that their house isnt full of smoke, etc.
I am being evil and stereotypical in my head, when for all I know they will be way cleaner and nicer than the ritzy house people....argh! Ds is sleeping atm so I should go put on some makeup....eek.
You should charge at least $18 Chel, you have loads of experience!
Its a bit of a worry other peoples homes some times. Though, I've been lucky, only issue I've had is not having 'toddler proof' homes. One with a younger bub and one with two older toddlers, weren't quite at the same search and destroy, or 'put-everything-in-his-mouth' age as Jasper.:rolleyes:
i do like when I can have a child at my place, for which I charge a teeny $12 an hour, but, I cant see myself charging more - considering, for example, I've just put the little one I'm looking after to bed, had a quick tidy up and now I'm chatting to you lovely ladies ;) Though I am breast feeding Jasper as we've not had a chance to feed today and I'm *BUSTING* at the seams. Haha, so much for day weaning him :rolleyes: - but then, I guess that goes to show I work just as hard being at home as I've not had a chance to sit down and breast feed Jasper during the day.
But yeah... I need to stop undervaluing myself. I keep thinking "I'll charge more when I've done *this* crappy job then I'll have enough experience" I dont think its about that anymore, because my resume is a mile long. I've gotta just take myself seriously as a professional :yes:
brogeybear
03-06-2010, 16:22
Ok, so here goes.
I had interview. The house isnt gross but isnt my level of clean either (that can be fixed lol). The 16 month old is a foster bub and is in the care of his grandparents. She works 5 days a week and he works fridays and w/e. They want me for 2 days - thurs 9-2 and fri 2-7/8 so 5 hours a day at $15 an hour.
I have interview with the ritzy house 6 month bubba on Tuesdays and that is one that I really really want, because I am super clucky and would love to get my baby fix, plus the house is really nice from outside appearances and will be gorgeous and clean and fresh...
I also have a 3 hour housekeeping job on Monday mornings, so if I get/take all these jobs I will be working 4 days a week and I am scared about the prospect as I havent worked since I had DS....Do I want to work that much? At least DS will be with me all the time.
Do I risk passing up any of it since we need the $$ and I really want to save for homebirth? EEEK! I need some reassurance please!
Boobycino
03-06-2010, 16:25
If you feel positive about it I'd take it. I've taken on too much at once and then had to cut back a little. But i guess you dont know what you can handle till you're doing it.
Though, my experience has been I was less exhausted after doing 4 days with the same family, 8.5 hours a day, than I am at the end of the week now when I do 4 half days for 4 different people or groups.
But yeah, I've handledd doing this for several months... on very very broken sleep. So I reckon on reasonable sleep it would be very doable to work 4 days a week :yes:
brogeybear
03-06-2010, 16:26
Ooops I must have been posting at the same time Chel. Yeah you are undervaluing yourself. I know what you mean though, if I could have this little boy in my place i would probably drop my price a bit too, but he is still in a cot and the grandma said he is better off at his place at this stage.
brogeybear
03-06-2010, 16:29
Ok, so you do 4 half days - what is the travel like. Are they far away? My housekeeping and the 6 month old jobs are both about 35 mins away - this other one is 2 mins down the road.
I know I would prefer 3 FULL days, even with different people, than 2 half days with one, a 3 hour housekeeping job (but i get $75!! for that) and one full day somewhere else.
Boobycino
03-06-2010, 17:23
$75 for 3 hours is great ;)
Very little travel really, I dont drive though, so I walk, rain hail or shine. Which can suck at 7 am - though no longer that early because thats the job i no longer do - for that very reason. Particularly now Jasper will snooze till 7:30, I dont want to be OUT THE DOOR at 7!
Otherwise, Wednesdays and Thursdays I get boys dropped off here. So ZERO travel time. Though it does mean I have to give my house a good clean on Tuesday arvo, tidy up Wednesday night and by tonight its trasssshhhhheeeeeddddddddd...:laughing:
Fridays job takes about 30minutes, 10 minute walk to a train station, 10 minutes on the train and then 2 minutes to the creche - usualy about 5-10 minutes waiting for a train. It also takees about 40 minutes if I just walked it, so sometimes I walk home.
I really dont look at work out side of a 5 klm radius... but... I dont drive, I'd look further if I did :yes:
Hi ladies :wave:
I'm thinking of doing this too, I think it would be a good way to bring in some extra money (although I doubt there will be much work where I live...). Any hints on how I can word my advertisement profile? I don't know how to indicate that my baby boy will be with me during jobs, as a mummy nanny.
brogeybear
07-06-2010, 07:47
Hi Bellini - my ads are simply titled "mature, responsible mummy nanny - $15 p/h"
A mummy nanny IS someone who brings their child so it kind of says it all, but in my description I put that I have a gorgeous 2 y/o boy so they know age, etc.
HTH
Boobycino
07-06-2010, 08:01
Hi Bellini - my ads are simply titled "mature, responsible mummy nanny - $15 p/h"
A mummy nanny IS someone who brings their child so it kind of says it all, but in my description I put that I have a gorgeous 2 y/o boy so they know age, etc.
HTH
:iagree: this is what I do:yes:
Oh ok cool. Simple and succint, I like it :D Thanks!
onelasttime
17-06-2010, 06:07
Wow what a awesome idea i really love it!!!!
A couple of questions if any could answer
do you need to register as a business?
Do you need any insurance?
Do you need to declare income to centrelink?
Is this work just cash in hand?
Just some thoughts i had
brogeybear
17-06-2010, 08:08
You dont need an ABN
You dont need insurance (if you have good home/contents you should have about $20M pub liability personal attached to that)
If you get anything from gov they need to know what you earn.
It is cash in hand but you need to register for PAYG with tax office and then you do your own tax/super, you can do quaterly, annually, monthly I think. You just work out your tax and put it aside and pay it.
Boobycino
17-06-2010, 09:10
:iagree:what she said. Also, if you register as a child care provider with the family assistance office, they send you out a handy reciept book ;) so you can provide receipts for parents claiming the CCB and also have a written record of hours you've worked.
onelasttime
17-06-2010, 09:37
And do you just babysit children in your home?
Whats are the pros and cons between babysitting and family day care???
I was thinking about this and would love to babysit kids in my home for an hour or to 4/5 for a couple days per week. eg...babysit kids for parents who needs some time out, go food shopping etc...
brogeybear
17-06-2010, 09:40
Nope, I go to theirs. To register as a family day care mum you need to jump through a million and one hoops.
Boobycino
17-06-2010, 13:15
And do you just babysit children in your home?
Whats are the pros and cons between babysitting and family day care???
I was thinking about this and would love to babysit kids in my home for an hour or to 4/5 for a couple days per week. eg...babysit kids for parents who needs some time out, go food shopping etc...
Family Day Care is a bit more complicated, lots of regulations, you have to do interveiws, there's paperwork, yadda yadda yadda - and you dont make a lot of money IMO. And also, depending on the scheme, some FDC scheme require you to say, work 3-4 full days with X number of children.
I baby sit occasionally from home, occasionally from someone elses home, its a private arrangement. It depends on your state I suppose, but in NSW they dont have regulations regarding baby sitting. Provided you're legally able to work with children that is. Its $80 to get a "Certificate for Individuals working with children" background check. Free to Register as a child care provider. And St Johns Ambulance have a really good "Caring to Kids" Childrens first aid for $100, which you dont NEED but I'd highly recommend it.
There is 'home based child care' which has less hoops to jump than FDC, you still have to meet safety standards and things, but your self managed - compared to FDC it means you have more freedom to pick and choose days and hours, but you dont have support the same as FDC.
Plus, baby sitting, we can go to the park, we can go to a play group, neither of the boys I look after (on different days) aren't terribly good sleeping in a cot, so I time their nap with a walk and off we all go in a double pram. I try to make it at a time Jasper is sleeping also, otherwise we go to the park, one sleeps in the pram while Jasper has a play. Whereas FDC, you're a lot more restricted with movements.
The parents know and expect that I'd take their boys out to *something* during the day, whereas I think you need permission slips to leave the home with FDC.
jackie05
18-06-2010, 16:02
please forgive me if these questions have already been answered...but needed to get my head around the whole idea...
I am interested in doing the mummy/nanny thing as well, but would prefer it from my own home. I dont want to do family day care though, just have a private arrangement,if that makes sense? What i needed to know , are you able to do it from home not using family day care scheme?
Also how do i state that my two children will be with me in my ad? Also where is the best place to advertise in melb?
I have a diploma in childrens services, so what should i ask/expect as far as pay.?
Sorry to bombard you with a million questions..have been thinking about this for a while..so good to get all my questions answered..
thanks for your help...:thumbsup:
Boobycino
19-06-2010, 17:13
See above for information I've gathered regarding doing it from home. Its what I do usually.
The rate of pay varies greatly, ATM I charge $12 from my home.
I've been paid up to $20 an hour when I've taken Jasper to someone elses home to baby sit. Generally though I'm charging $15-$18... depending on how badly I negotiate on that day :rolleyes: (errrm, and one time I did a 10 hour day for $10ph at someone elses place, 3 days in a row... wooooo $300 for a 30 hour week! go me! I seriously need to pay someone to be my rep!)
Jump on gumtree.com.au, or findababysitter.com.au, (to post and browse ads) or nannysharingconnections.com.au is apparently good but I picked a fight with the person who runs the site over the fact I had to paid to join - but I've heard good things, I'm just too proud of go back and register :o
brogeybear
19-06-2010, 17:18
LOL I did the same thing with that site too Chel! oops!
Boobycino
19-06-2010, 17:47
LOL I did the same thing with that site too Chel! oops!
I am NOT 'basically a family looking for a family to nanny share with" no, no, I'm a NANNY looking for work. :rolleyes:
But then a friend of mine found work in a snap with that site, because they tick a box to say whether or not they'd want a mummy nanny and apparently most tick "yes"
Oh! and in the spirit of alienating everyone, I just sent findababysitter an email wondering what their policy on age discrimination is considering the number of mums who advertise that they're looking for a 'mature female aged 35-55"
I'm 22 and I find that irritating!
And so I've also asked if I can have my age taken off my profile :yes:
I think parents should be able to say "I want someone with 5+ years experience, a full drivers licence and diplmo trained" which would rule me out, but being ruled out because I'm 22 bites! :p
I just enjoy sending disgruntled emails some times.
I dobbed on someone to their boss via email because he nearly ran me and Jasper over in a company van :devil6:
brogeybear
19-06-2010, 17:50
I guess if I wanted full time work or something I might think about joining but i thought the same thing - NO, I am wanting to WORK as a NANNY, not share MY nanny with another family - doh!
Boobycino
19-06-2010, 17:53
I guess if I wanted full time work or something I might think about joining but i thought the same thing - NO, I am wanting to WORK as a NANNY, not share MY nanny with another family - doh!
The chick must be a bit thick, because she couldn't seem to grasp that though.
No no no, I'm not hiring a nanny. And I'm not getting paid to look afteer Jasper, no, I'm a MUM who is a NANNY, looking for a FAMILY who would like to EMPLOY ME.
No part of that is me looking for a family to share nanny expenses with. :no:
Plus, the other family have paid to contact me (if I could join) so its paid for, you know?!
brogeybear
19-06-2010, 17:56
I know, right. And I tried to join just as a Nanny and she emailed me to ask if I was a Mummy Nanny - what is her problem anyway...money hungry is my guess!
Boobycino
19-06-2010, 18:47
I know, right. And I tried to join just as a Nanny and she emailed me to ask if I was a Mummy Nanny - what is her problem anyway...money hungry is my guess!
Must be :rolleyes: