View Full Version : I feel like a horrible mummy

Desertress
11-08-2006, 22:07
I am sitting here atm listening to my 11 mnth old cry as he has woken up only 2 hrs after i put him to bed. He had a good dinner and a feed b4 he went to bed so i am trying a new approach. He normally wakes up 5 -6 times a night for a feed then goes straight back to sleep. I cant handle the broken sleep anymore and so i am trying to see if he will resettle himself without me having to go in. He has only been crying for about 10 mins and he will go quiet for a lil while then start again.

Am i being to harsh or could this actually work. I just dont know what to do anymore to get him to sleep through again. I have tried everything else. I just feel so horrible though.... i feel like i am abandoning him and i dont want himto think that.

I will go in and give hima kiss and tuck him in once he is asleep again but i just hope he dosnt think mummy dosnt care anymore:crying:

Fitmumma
11-08-2006, 22:15
I know how hard this is, I tried controlled crying or whatever its called, but i am a big sook & I caved in, couldnt stand to hear my bubba cry when all he really wanted was his mummy.

Desertress
11-08-2006, 22:17
I know i cant stand it either but i just dont know what else to do. By the sounds of it he has put himself back to sleep. Surprisingly for the first time of my trying this it only took him about 15 mins. Lets just hope its the same next time or shorter. With anyluck he will start sleeping though again.

KNowing my luck through the next time he wakes up tonight he will scream forever.

Jem
11-08-2006, 22:22
Good Luck with it mate... persistance is the key

I cant believe that Connor is fully weaned of the breast now, tonight will be his 3rd night :thumbsup: I really thought it was going to be the longest and hardest battle!!

The first night was a little hectic.. but it gets better, and alot easier as they get used to the idea.. and the new routine!

All the best Bud..:hugs:

Desertress
11-08-2006, 22:26
Thanks I hope it isnt to much drama because i dont know if i can let him cry all the time. I will just have to see how it goes the rest of the night. I still wont get a proper sleep but maybe he will learn to.

Desertress
11-08-2006, 23:00
Night all ... im off to bed. Wish me luck and lets see how it goes tonight.:fingerscrossed:

Jem
11-08-2006, 23:06
Night all ... im off to bed. Wish me luck and lets see how it goes tonight.:fingerscrossed:

Night Night!! Heaps of Luck Being sent your way :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :hugs:

Goosie22
11-08-2006, 23:23
I know you are tired, but try to think of your baby? You or your partner provide everything for him he depends on you for love and support. Is it so much to ask that you cuddle him to sleep? I am not a supporter of CIO and I actually believe it does harm to babies and children emotionally.

I have been tired and sleep deprived, so I am not blamming you for wanting to try a variety of things to see if they work or not.

Have a read of this (http://www.awareparenting.com/comfort.htm) it might help you understand what is happening when you leave your baby to cry.

Jem
11-08-2006, 23:24
you still here? :detective:

titania
11-08-2006, 23:52
Thanks Goosie for the link to the article - it was just what I needed to read. My DD cries a lot and I have often wondered about just letting her cry while I hold her rather than trying to stop her constantly. Nothing seems to work for more than a few minutes, so maybe I will try letting her cry and see how we go...

12-08-2006, 09:54
Oliver has different cries....if its a wimpering..."please mum...I dont want to sleep yet" cry, I will leave him....but if it gets hysterical I have to pick him up.

Last night was hard, he was over tired and he cried his lungs out for about 5 minutes before he would go to sleep....it broke my heart!