View Full Version : Did you/will you go back to work once you had children (for children under 2 years)?

bubhub
23-05-2010, 11:53
Did you go back (or are you planning to go back) to work after you had children?

(Lets say whilst your child is under 2 years old)

Did you want to - for your own sanity or career aspirations? Had to (for financial reasons)?
Were happy to stay at home and care for your child(ren)?
Couldn't go back to work because you couldn't find or couldn't afford the childcare?

Let us know!

Nomsie
23-05-2010, 12:00
Erm... other..

I have stayed at home thus far because it's what we (DP and I) wanted to do. I wanted to be with my children- that is why I had them.

But- financially we are slowly falling into a black hole, and so I am planning on going back to work asap. Meaning, I am looking for a job now- but in my chosen profession (teaching) finding a good job in a good school takes a while, and then the application process can be pretty drawn out too, if there are a lot of candidates.

So- I say other because I stayed home firstly because I was happy, but am now heading back to work because we can't afford to continue to be on one wage. (and trying to decide where that fit in on the poll hurt my head! :dizzy:)

peanutbutter&jelly
23-05-2010, 12:06
Depends on when you're talking about ;)
I haven't yet, my DS is 2, DD is 5 months... I'm intending on going back when DD is in preschool... mostly for sanity reasons by then, though I don't think my insanity will be questionable :detective:

bubhub
23-05-2010, 12:10
OK, I'll try and change the question to be during whilst your child was under 2 years. And see if I can add an 'other' option too.

bubhub
23-05-2010, 12:12
Hmm, don't know how to edit the poll to add in 'other' but I've edited the question, so Nomsie, maybe you can fit into one of the answers now it's for kids under 2?

Seacretsquirrel
23-05-2010, 12:14
I haven't yet, my DS is 2, DD is 5 months... I'm intending on going back when DD is in preschool... mostly for sanity reasons by then, though I don't think my insanity will be questionable :detective:

:iagree: me too!!!
DD is 3 and DS is 15 months and at the moment with DH being at sea (in the navy) he is away too much for it to be beneficial for me to go back to work (as most of it would be eaten up in CC costs so for us it wasn't a sensible option plus I love being at home - though I am beginning to worry about my sanity too :dizzy: :yes: However no DH is coming ashore we ar looking at whether I can do some evening/night work so DH can have the kids and I can earn a bit of extra $$$ without the kids having to be in long CC. - Will see how we go with this though!:D

peanutbutter&jelly
23-05-2010, 12:20
Oh thats easy. I stay home :D I adore being a SAHM, and I'm really incredibly lucky that we live in a relatively cheap duplex for the area we're in, and my DF's salary is more than enough to covet the day to day costs :)
Our family is very lucky, especially at the moment :)

bumMum
23-05-2010, 12:21
I went back to work when my son was 6 months old. with my next baby, it will be earlier.
the reason? it's complicated, but basically, we started young so obviously we are a bit behind other people.. we decided we wanted to buy a house and there is just no way we could have done it without me working.. we were sick of renting.. there is no stability in renting.. you can't do what you want with the house.. you can be evicted if the land lord wants to take over.. anything can happen.. we moved house 3 times in a year and I didn't want to go through it anymore..

so we bought.. so this time I will have to go back earlier, because buying a house means there are a lot of extra costs.. land and water rates.. interest rate rises.. we also have other lingering debt from before we had baby.. DP's old personal loan and a credit card for me... these things add up and the stress of living off DP's minimal wage would have killed us

I don't really love my job, (I like the actual job, but like most places, the office politics is just way over the top) but I intentionally picked a job which would help me get ahead and would reflect my studies.. which has worked out really well.. and I am starting to get ahead..

I had a mum who worked full time always so I know what it's like from a child's perspective and I knew it wouldn't hurt my family at all.. I think we are much better off this way..

CookiesRYum
23-05-2010, 12:26
no.. when i have kids, i don't want to work. i want to be with them as much as possible for at least 2 yr - preferably 5...

i would work from home limited hrs while my husband is home, but certainly have no intention of using childcare etc...

for em i don't see the point of having kids if you not going to be with them for the first few yrs..

after that i think it is ok to explore your own interests again - but i think your kids really need you when they are little..

JustUs3
23-05-2010, 12:27
I went back to work part time just before DD turned 1, I love my job and feel I have the best of both worlds, I'm with my DD 4 days out of 7 and i'm also earning money doing what I love. :D

Nomsie
23-05-2010, 12:41
Yep... and I can add other for you too, H if you would like? :)

DailyDiversion
23-05-2010, 12:45
I went back to work part-time when DD was 12 months old.

For me, it was a combination of finances and wanting to maintain my career and sanity.

I started off working two days a week and my mum or DH looked after DD.

When DD was 18 months old I added an extra day a fortnight (working 2 days one week and 3 days the next) and it was at this time that DD started at day care two days a week. Fortunately, she loved day care from the start, I think she was ready for the additional stimulation and she was also already used to being away from me at times.

After DD turned two, I started working three days a week which is a good balance for us at the moment.

DD loves interacting with other people and enjoys going to day care or having time with grandma and we still enjoy lots of time together.

I was very lucky I was able to gradually ease back into work which helped both of us and I was also able to maintain breastfeeding since returning to work which I was also glad about.

I don't plan to return to full-time work until she is in school.

crazymuma
23-05-2010, 12:53
I went back to work 2 days a week when my first was just over 6 months. He used to stay with family while I worked. By the time he was around 3 I was doing around 3 -4 shifts a week.

I worked up until just before my daughter was born but then lost the job as I couldn't get daycare for her until after she turned 1 (work would only hold my job for 12 months max). Anyway we ended up leaving town and she is no 2.5 and I still don't work - not enough daycare avaliable and I have no family nearby.

I would happily be a SAHM forever but simple fact is we needed money then just like we do now.

Mum2Mimi
23-05-2010, 12:54
DD turns Two next month and im preg with #2 so i wont be going back to work anytime soon but i dont want to go back anyhow i enjoy being a SAHM and am very lucky that we are in a good position and can afford for me to be out of work :) Besides DP working away FIFO it would be to hard for me to work and the extra money ild make working P/T would be eating up by childcare anyhow so there is no point really :cool:

I dont see myself back in the work force until we have finished having all our babys and the youngest is at school so its quite awhile away, i do plan to do some studying once this baby is 12months however

GabberQueeN83
23-05-2010, 12:57
I will be returning to work when DS is 8 months old.

The reason is we have some debt we need to pay off & we are also going for a home loan in hopes we will have a house soon.

I have to work especally if we get this loan to get a house we are sick of renting and want our own house.

kar
23-05-2010, 13:08
I am back at work primarily because I want to be. Did one day a week from 9-12 months and my mum had F, then went to 3 days, decided that was too much and now do 2 and 3 by special request only. I work for myself so am lucky to be able to do this and vary things as our needs change.

We had decided that centre based care under 2 wasn't an option for us so we have a nanny. There are days she earns pretty much as much as me once I have paid her but I am working for sanity more than anything.

If our only option had been child care I wouldn't have gone back - please let me be clear, I am not having a go at anyone it was the decision we made for our family.

justmum
23-05-2010, 13:11
I went back to work 2 short days a week when my DS was 10 months old. Because I wanted to.

No childcare - MIL had him one day and a very good family friend the other day.

I am returning to work 2 short days a week again soon and DD will be 18 months old and DS 3. Because I want to.

No childcare for DD yet - MIL and friend will share her care. DS will do one day of child care and one day with my friend.

Cicho
23-05-2010, 13:26
I voted other because ...

Yes, I went back to work when DD2 was 6 months old, part time. But I will be finishing up at the end of June because the cost of child care and before and after school care for my 2 are strangling us.

Not to mention my fuel bill (60klm round trip to work) and bus fares for my DD1 to and from school. In the end I am making no money and have decided to chuck it in :yes:

PS I went back to work mainly for financial reasons although it didn't turn out well for us

SweetAngels
23-05-2010, 13:27
I had my DD a little before I turned 18. I didn't want to be the stereotype "teen mum" so when she was 6mnths I went to tech and had a part time job, I wanted to prove I can provide for my DD.

By the time my DS1 was 6mnths I had 2 jobs. Both kids had the one home based child carer till they went to school, she was wonderful and still sends the kids cards and letters :)

When DS2 came I decided to be a full time SAHM and I've loved it the past 3 and a half years :D

But now that he's in all day Kindy I have a part time job and I'm loving the extra cash hehe

MsMummy
23-05-2010, 13:45
I was working 3 days a week when he was 3 months old. He went to FDC for 2 of those days (and has continued those 2 days, but I now work 4 days). It was (and is) for financial reasons.

If I have another baby, I would aim to only work 2 days a week from whenever I felt like it (probably after 6 or 12 months).

I didn't mind leaving him with somebody else sometimes (even as a young baby), but I don't think childcare (with ratios of 4:1) is ideal for young children.

So, my aim next time is to be able to get a nanny so he has one-on-one care. My MIL would happily look after him but she lives too far away.:(

Bexta
23-05-2010, 13:54
As much as I love staying home, I have to head back to work for financial reasons.

Although we do cope money wise with me being at home, our bank likes to use my income as we are in the process of selling this house & buying/building another. :)

zenifa
23-05-2010, 16:13
After my first child, I went back to work part time (1 day/week) when she was 6mths old and I did part time work on and off again (mostly 3 days/week) until I had DD2 2yrs later, and then I had a full 12mths off as a SAHM and for the last 18mths have done part-time work (either 1 or 2 days/week).

Initially when my DD1 was 6mths old, I went back to work out of financial necessity, then later took on a contract for career reasons and then took the next job as I was able to get maternity entitlements, so it was financially a good decision to work part time, as it meant I could take longer off after the 2nd baby (6mths 1st time, 12mths second time).

I do enjoy the added financial benefit, using the skills and quals I worked so hard to get, and the social side of my job, and the part time work is a great balance for me, although currently I'm only doing 1 day/week, so I'm more a SAHM than working mum.

I am also lucky to have MIL and my mum who have always looked after my girls, when I work, I wouldn't do it otherwise.

~Candy~
23-05-2010, 16:16
Yes I did.. because I wanted to & after each child (execpt after bub#3 as I enjoyed our 'suprise' then got preg again, lol).
No child care needed as I worked either on the w/ends or at night while hubby worked during the weekdays.

missie_mack
23-05-2010, 16:20
I stayed home for two years with DS on parental leave. I was fortunate that DS was born at the sametime that the Family Provisions Case came out in NSW which gave us the ability to request up to 24 months leave.

It was lucky I did too because even at the time I returned it was difficult to find care for my DS despite having had his name down for care since before he was born and having a high limit on how much I could afford.

trishalishous
23-05-2010, 16:26
I'm going back in feb. dd will be 7 months old.
however I'm only working 10hrs a week (3*3hr classes at the tafe) so my mums will have dd one night, and dh will be home the other two nights.
I'm teaching beginners/intermediate/advanced Indonesian, and advanced is the same level as 1st year uni, so I have all the lessons/work prepared already.(so glad I tutored the 1st year seminars for my lecturer!)
edit: I don't have to, I'm choosing to go back to work. I've been offered a great package (pay/security/flexibility) but if it involved full time work, or need ing childcare, I wouldn't have accepted the job.

MummaBear03
23-05-2010, 16:31
I went back to work when DD was 19 months old and I could no longer afford to stay home. That was due to debts accrued by a housemate but with everything in both our names I would get blacklisted along with her if it wasn't paid so I figured it was better to pay it than to be blacklisted even though that meant her getting away with it :rolleyes:

Now that she's in school it's different, I'm having trouble finding childcare, I never had that problem before she hit school age. So now I'm just doing little bits of casual work whenever it becomes available and not working the rest of the time which is causing all sorts of stress. But I answered from when she was under 2. Went back for financial reasons.

RaryGirl
23-05-2010, 18:17
I voted other as I fit into a couple of categories :p.

Had to after DD1 was born as I was a sole parent and need to for financial reasons.

After DS was born had to return again as I was self employed and couldn't find a decent locum to take over while I had maternity leave (but compressed work week to only work part-time hours).

IndigoJ
23-05-2010, 18:24
Other!

We cant afford for me to go back to work.

kranky
24-05-2010, 09:35
With DS we'd not long been in the country, so as well as no family or friends support network we were still paying off the move over here. I headed back full-time when he was 7wks old utilising good old long daycare. It was 1 block up from my work so I spent every lunch time with him until he was 9mths old. Then I was lucky enough to negotiate a 4 day week so we spent the next 4 years having our Wednesdays together. Plus it helped enormously that DH works for himself & whenever he finished early (2pm-ish) he'd pick DS up so he wasn't spending as long there.
This time round with DD (who was a total surprise) financial reasons were again the main push to get me back to work. Different working circumstances this time round luckily in that I had been contracting where I could work from home full-time. I did a few hours between DD sleeps at 4-6wks. They dropped my contract to part-time (shorter hours 5 days per day) so from 8wks we've had her in the same daycare that DS was in 3 days a week & had my step-daughter help out as required on the other 2 days from our home. It's been a killer going to part-time earnings and I didn't want to do the daycare thing so early, but reality was I couldn't be on the phones without losing my job - couldn't afford to lose my contract or we would sink.

Hooves
24-05-2010, 09:42
I voted other, because my situation has changed a few times.

When we had our first, I wanted to stay home, but we couldn't afford to do that for long. So I started working as a Family Day Carer.

I got to stay home, and work. It was perfect at the time.

But when she was about to turn 3 FDC wasn't really working out for me. I was working long hours, and was tired and frazzled all the time.

So I decided to go to work for the family business. Which I hated, but stuck at for the good of us!

When our daughter was about to turn 6, we had our second child. AND I couldn't face going back to the family business. I would have, if I could have afforded child care, but I didn't want to take my son to work with me.

I really didn't want him being looked after and growing up on the office floor. Which is kind of what ended up happening with our daughter.

SO despite being broke as broke! I stuck to my guns and we some how made it work, with me being at home.

And now with 2 more sons, I am still a SAHM. But we afford it better now.

I am ready to get back to work though. I am going insane at home. I am over looking at these walls. I plan to start some study while bub is still little.

Hootenanny
24-05-2010, 10:21
I stayed home with my first until he went to school and I loved every minute of it, but we didn't have much in the way of expenses so I was able to do that. With my 2nd I managed to stay home with him until he was nearly 2 (on maternity leave) I was considering not going back but then a dream job came up at work for 2 days a week so I took it. I still work 2 days now and I'm really lucky in my job because he comes to work with me and he loves it, I enjoy my job, I think I've got the best of both worlds.

BigRedV
24-05-2010, 10:39
I wanted to go back to work. We don't really need the money, but I only work 2 days a week and that almost covers our mortgage. My money is our spare change so to speak.

I am going to be returning to work 2 days a week next year after the arrival of number 2 in July.

My daughter is in childcare. It is a great centre and my daughter loves it. I am very happy with it and have no worries about how they care for my child, and I know they will be great with my next child too.

When I first went back to work, I didn't want to, but now I actually enjoy getting some adult stimulation away from anything child centred like playgroup etc. Plus, I feel for me, having 2 days away from my daughter actually makes me appreciate the time I have with her more and I feel makes me a better mother.

TripleTime
24-05-2010, 10:48
I can't go back, as much as I would love to there is no point. CC is more than we would bring home combined plus we hve a crazy amount of Dr app each month that I have to be at.

lemongrass
19-06-2010, 16:54
I am planning to go back to work when DD is at kindy, she's 3 months old, so probably in the next 4 yrs. That's my current plan anyway.

A Party of Five
20-06-2010, 10:34
No we couldn't afford childcare :no:

LillyPonds
24-06-2010, 15:36
I was happy to go back to work but I was financially pushed to go back sooner rather than later.

mum of annaliese
27-06-2010, 15:06
i went back to work part time at 6weeks and it took me until she was nearly 1 before i was going into work 4 days a week. I started 5 days a week back in the office when she started kinda.

I chose "other" as dh has been the stay at home carer full time for dd.

anewme
27-06-2010, 18:59
I am a happy SHAM. I have been for 16 yrs and hope to be for the next 16.

MermaidSister
27-06-2010, 22:01
I went back both times when the bubs were about 3 months old, because: a) I wanted to; b) I needed to...well, sort of.

Both times i probably could have managed to stay at home a bit longer (finance-wise), but I could think of nothing worse. Stay at home mothering is just not for me. I never wanted to be home based 24/7 before kids, so why would I start now? I need balance; I need to get out of the house and focus on something I used to focus on before I had new lives in my hands.

I love my kids as much as any mother, but my entire world does not revolve around them; I am not at my best when I'm with them every waking moment, and I'm pretty sure they don't need me every single second of the day either. I'm fortunate in that their father is able to look after them most of the time I can't, due to the opposing time schedules of our jobs, so we're not forced to rely on full time childcare. If that were the case, I may feel differently... of course though, tag-teaming has its downsides too, such as days where you see each other for no more than a few minutes and feel like ships passing in the night while you struggle on your own- possibly a contributing factor in our separation :laughing:

I didn't have a "proper career" established before kids, hadn't really studied, didn't have the same level of financial security that many of my older sisters in motherhood have- so it was always inevitable that I would return to work sooner rather than later. I started studying again when my eldest was 10 mnths too, and I have never looked back- having kids actually makes me MORE passionate about doing this stuff, as now I have their future to consider as well. The other option is to resign myself to a life of welfare dependency and/or low paid jobs. I want more than that for my kids, and myself as well- I always imagined I'd build myself up to a professional place one day, and have found a field I love and am working towards those long-held aspirations.

I know lots of women in their late 30s who are on long-term maternity leave, with no real timeframe for "going back". I kind of admire their freedom- they have done the study, the hard yards at work, the whole acquiring-assets thing and can just relax and enjoy their babies with no stress about "the future" looming over their heads. I love my outside focus, my work & study, and am so glad I had my kids to drive me to get comitted to these things. Not sure I could ever be proper stay at home mum, but that's speaking from the place I'm at now. 10, 15 years down the track, I may randomly have another child, and who knows how I will feel then. I believe everyone's parenting choices are made with the best of intentions, and all are ok if they feel ok for all concerned. I respect others', and expect others to respect mine. Sisters in arms :)

NonnyMouse
27-06-2010, 22:11
If the poll was multichoice I could have ticked all teh boxes! LOL

With DD:

Yes, I wanted to. I needed the adult conversation and had absolutely NO support from friends or family, and a husband who worked 9-5 as well as regular late nights, weekends, and public holidays. Daycare gave me back my sanity.

Yes, I had to for financial reasons. We also had a mortgage and were taking in students to pay for it, so going back to work was financially advantageous as well.

With DS:

No, I was happy to stay at home. I'm in a position of not needing to leave the home to work for financial reasons, and I have DP at home as well so we support each other with his care and I get my adult conversation as well.

No, I couldn't find daycare. I was offered some work for a few days and would have liked to take it to keep my skills honed and have a break away from the house for a short while, but at such short notice there was no childcare available aside from one FDC lady who I didn't feel comfortable leaving DS with. All daycare centres in my suburb and the few surrounding ones had waiting lists of about 12 months for the baby section.

1CrazyMoose
27-06-2010, 22:16
I went back to work 2 days a week when DS was 14 months old for my sanity. However I missed him to much so it only lasted 5 months. I do go back every now and again when someone is on holidays etc just to help out only. However after DD is born I won't go back at all till my kiddies start school.

jugglerof3
27-06-2010, 22:52
I have had three children. I went back to work 6mths after the first for 2 days a week, 5 months after the second full time and 12 months after the 3rd for full time. I don't really like having to work - yes they all went to daycare and the last still does - but it is something that we had to do as my DH couldn't get a decent fulltime job and I had one that gave great holidays (teaching). I am still working so my DH can get a degree so he can have a better job so he can work and then I can stay home :thumbsup:. It may be better late than never BUT my kids haven't suffered - they learn new things and get to do things that I wouldn't have done plus they learn how to be with other people. Also, my second DS was noticed by daycare staff as being different. He is now diagnosed with autism, something that wouldn't have happened so early if he had been with just me at home. I would have LOVED to have been a SAHM but it just didn't happen...I am still getting over the guilts of it but you have to do what you have to do :D.

veve
27-06-2010, 22:57
I replied with 'other' I work part time (have since DS2 was about 6 months old) i have two part time jobs that I attempt to fit around hubby's work schedule - and the demands of the kids.

I was reluctant to head back to work .. I wanted to be part of the lives of my children while they were young, and I couldn't see enough BENEFIT in heading back to work, only to pay half my wage in childcare??? it didn't seem like we would be in that much of a better situation.

I would love not to work at all .. :laughing: but its not an option for us, with escalating bills, mortgage etc

nichunt87
28-06-2010, 14:13
I will go back 6 months after bub is born i think part time just to get some cash coming in ant to keep sane haha

linkspurr
28-06-2010, 21:57
I went back when my little girl was 14 weeks. She is seven months old this week and is happy and content. I am a fulltime shift worker and some of the time I miss with her is nights so it's not too bad. Plus DH gets a lot of time with her.

She is still breastfed but also gets EBM - I express three times during a shift. It is possible!

I work four days on, four days off BTW so she still gets loads of mummy time

Happy2be3
30-06-2010, 14:22
Yep, went back 2 days per week (weekends so DH could be there to look after DS) when son was 18 months...

Reason? - SANITY! :yes::smiliedance::hair:

Am SUCH a happier mum now that I'm working casual :)

Lil M
30-06-2010, 14:29
I only had a casual job before getting PG so had no job to go back to really. If I had family in Australia I would have liked to work a couple of days (could do with the money) & leave DS with my parents (I would not be comfortable leaving him in childcare)

maestroandme
05-07-2010, 08:56
wow great thread.

With DD i both wanted and needed to - i went back to work 2 nights a week when she was 6mths. I tried fulltime when she was 13mths but that was horrible. I love being at home -why have them otherwise.

16 years latter and i am due to finish uni in November - nursing graduate positions start around feb/march and...... baby is dur feb21 :dizzy:

As much as i really want to stay home - i actually love my new career i love being me and studing as a family really impacts your children. Its been a hard 5 yrs for DD & me and we were looking foward to the pay increase.

techinically i dont need to work DH earns plenty - however i enjoy independance and as we get nothing from the government , I also like the security working brings me.

Oh boy at this stage i really am weighing up all the above. I will be breastfeeding and not sure when i will return to work. It will be hard. But it will most likely be july intake. My heart says 2 days a week . Guess I will see how DH copes with this all. I couldnt go back fulltime ...... it would break my heart. Oh and childcare have no idea how much that will cost :( it's probably a good thing i enjoy my work cos after that bill.....

hakuna matata
05-07-2010, 10:05
I voted yes, I wanted to.
I have done one shift when ds was 2 months in order to keep my casual job. I will need to do another soon, as you have to do a shift once in 3 months.
However I also study so leave ds once or twice a week, but it is always with hid nan.
Our grand plan is for me yo graduate this year, get a full time teaching job in Jan and for df to stay home 2 days a week. The other 3 days will be with Nan, or 2 with Nan 1 in day care.
It is what we both want, and I am fortunate to have an amazing mother :)

BabelFish
06-07-2010, 15:53
I voted other because I both want to and have to.

I went back to work three weeks after my DD was born (that was for financial reasons) but it was only one day a week and my DP didn't work that day so he had her. She was happy to take a bottle even though she was breastfed.

I am going back to work in a month, 16 hours per week, and DS will be six months old.

This is a case of absolutely having to (I'd rather wait until he is one) but also wanting to. He does NOT take a bottle so that will be hard, and he is very attached to Mummy so now we are practicing him being with someone else. I have no idea at all how he will cope but unfortunately we have no option financially.

As for wanting to, yes. My brain literally does not work like it used to and it's really starting to get me down. I also miss the adult interaction, but not that much to be honest :laughing:

shadowangel0205
06-07-2010, 18:46
My plan is to fall pg (again - due to mc) and work most of the pregnancy, and go back to work shortly after bubs is born. I work in a small family business owned by my mum with the space and resources to take bubs with me to sleep in basinette, pram or porta cot, and the ability to breastfeed...so that will be my reasoning..i can work and still be with bubs.

however if i didnt work for my mum it would have to be financial reasons for me to go back to work. I would use childcare if i had to but i do know theres 1 childcare centre here that has fantastic staff (im a childcare worker myself and used to work there... so ive seen it from the other side) But i certainly wouldnt send my child to the other centre...id send it where i know the routine, staff, centre, beliefs, and where i have seen how they work, and the quality of care my child would recieve...

Maybe even when its older i may consider sending it there 1 or 2 sessions a week purely for social reasons. Sometime around 18mnths/2yrs but definately not before its walking and beginning to communicate.

motheroffour
06-07-2010, 22:36
with ds I was a SAHM till he went to school but was at TAFE and working when dd1 was 3 and when dd2 was 3 months I would do a little work with mum or dp taking her then at 12 months I went 2-3 days a week but got pregnant with dd4 who is about to turn 1 and will be going for a trial at a new job in a couple of days.even if dp earned more I would only be a part time SAHM but I would have waited longer to go back, I dont really want to use daycare but my mil lives too far away and my mum has 8 other grandchildren and feels she would have to do the same for them to so she is just back up. our mortgage is small compared to other peoples but so is our house and I want fix it up and I really want to go on holidays so being away from my babies is a small sacrifice and its only 4 days a week:ecomcity: if I find a childcare they are only going 2-3 days and dp will take a day off.

*Chels*
06-07-2010, 22:49
Yes,I went back to work when my DS1 was a baby.
First time for extra money before he was 1 but ended up quitting coz DH got a good job.
I went back to work fulltime when he was 19 months old coz my DH stuffed his knee and couldnt work.
And when I had DS2,I went back to work when he was 6 months old coz we were saving to buy a house.
Do I feel guilty?NO!My kids were always at home with their father while I was working.And to me,having a home now is soooo worth it,its a future investment for my kids.

overitand36
06-07-2010, 22:54
definitely going back to work
i see children as part of my life not my entire life
i think if I stayed at home I would go crazy
I think you need to still have your own time as well as be a mother

melbryan
06-07-2010, 23:02
I wanted to answer I wanted to go part time and I needed to as well.
It allows us a more of a balanced lifestyle. Dh stays when I work nad I stay when he works. They get both parents which is best of both worlds seems DH never had a dad his whole life.
If I resigned from my job I would have to leave the lovely school I am at it is 5 mins away lose all my entitiements and our only real nest egg. Dh has his own business.
I love my kids and I work for my sanity, my independance as a woman and as a reason for securing our future. I stay with my kids as much as I can and want to allow them to grow into secure independant people. I watched my mum and dad struggle and work non stop I didn't want that for my kids.
The key is to find that balance. I realise I am a wife, mother , daughter, friend, teacher I try to work hard on each of those facets of my life because they are all equally important to who I am. When my time is up I want o look back and have no regrets and at 34 I am very satisfied with how my life is panning out. I realise life will take unexpected turns not always good ones but I will be ready to challenge any problem that comes my way.

tweety16
07-07-2010, 09:40
I have just recently joined the workforce after a 2 year break. With my eldest daughter i was working casual night and weekend work but when my second DD came along i decided not to work for 2 years. I have now gone back just 2 days a week and I find it helps me keep sain.

I enjoy it for the social aspect of it as i work in hospitality so I enjoy talking to adults not children all the time. I find my kids are great at CC but my youngest who is 2 1/2 still finds it hard to leave me. CC costs me alot but I still get enough at the end of the week for abit of extra pocket money for myself.

CMCandAmelia
14-07-2010, 08:38
I plan on going back after paid maternity leave runs out, i have a pretty flexible job that i can work aorund my partners hours so it will all work out :D

Pregnor
29-07-2010, 18:41
I went back PT when DS was 8 months, because I was bored (saturdays) then at 10 months I went FT and DH stayed home. Then at 15 months DH started to work 3 days, I dropped back to 4 and he goes to care 2 days.

When #2 is maybe 6-9 months I will probably work saturdays if hubby is in a mon-fri position, just to get out, and get my mind going. My employer is really flexible so I am sure she will be happy with that.

chase
31-07-2010, 10:10
Always planned to be a stay at home mum, but recent changes in our financial circumstances have made me the breadwinner and hubby earning significantly less.

Most likely I will only be able to afford 4 months at home after bubs is born, maybe a little more depending on how much we save, but nearly all of my pay goes to our mortgage, so it will be extremely hard. I'll probably need to freelance through that time to make ends meet.

Not sure what we'll do after that. I don't wish to send a 4 month old to childcare full time, so if it comes to it it may be dad who has to quit work. :(

mummastribe
13-01-2011, 16:51
It was very interesting to read the posts on this subject. I have just had my 4th babe (he is 3 1/2 months) and with my stepson that makes five. I always intended to go back to work after my 3rd bub but it wasnt very long before I fell preg. again. Now it is hard enough trying to spend one on one time with any of them and making sure they all get the personal attention they need without trying to fit in work as well. Or is it? Recently I worked the 7 days at the taste festival in hobart and OMG, I now more than ever want atleast a few days a week work. The reason I feel I need to do this is financial and also to get a bit of space on my own. Dont get me wrong I love My children more than anything but there is more to me than `MUM` and getting out there and working is a good way to express the `other` me! Also I think about it being a good example to the kids re. working toward your dreams (with us both working we plan to save a deposit for a house). When it was just me and partner and two kiddies I enrolled in Uni to study nursing, I lasted about five months before I had to admit that the kids, the house and my relationship wouldnt really survive if I continued so i quit :( (I remember for one of the mathematics tests (before when dad worked on the fishing boat and before we had a computer)and i sat at the pc at an internet cafe in town with my baby girl squirming on my lap lol needless to say I didnt get a good mark!) However I dont believe a job will be quite so demanding! We are very lucky because the older kids are at a good school with a good afterschool program and the littlies have the best daycarer we could ask for! I believe that the key to making it work is routine, good support and communication from partner and in the long run we hope to reap the rewards. A few people have told me i should just stay at home because they `need` me, especially bub. BUT............Dad is home by 2.30-3pm tues-fri and the other days doesnt work at all so they wouldnt even be in care that often. It probably wouldnt be until bubby is about 6months but from what I have written what are your guys views on my situation if you care to comment????????

AngelIz
13-01-2011, 17:10
Financially, we can afford for me to be a SAHM, but as I was worried my brain would begin to rot, I've returned to work! Best decision I've ever made!:D:D

MamaKoala
13-01-2011, 17:26
When I had my boys I stayed at home for 7 years. I was partially happy to do so but it was also better for us financially when I was with my ex because childcare would have taken my whole wage.
I got pg a month after I started work when my youngest at the time was 7. I really wanted to keep my job so made preparations to have childcare available after 6 months at home. I wasn't re-employed until DD was 12 months old.
Depending on what my mat leave entitlements are will depend on how long I stay home this time. Hopefully it's not 6 weeks lol. But I would go back anwhere from 6 months.

GabberQueeN83
15-01-2011, 11:28
I went back to work when Kaleb was 8 months old. We just brought a house and need the money.
Some people can't afford to be SAHM.

korfire
15-01-2011, 12:34
My job is the children. DH's job is to earn money.

Working outside of the home will not be an option until all children are in school.

My husband works long hours to give me this opportunity. He has taken on a lot so we can have a good life and I can stay at home.

MissSteph
16-01-2011, 11:41
I ticked no because I was happy to stay home, but it's partially because of te cost of childcare. Financially we are better off if I stay home until the youngest starts prep, so another 4-5 years.

However, we agreed that if things get tough financially then I will get a night job or weekend job so DF will be home with the kids, which is affordable :D

bumMum
16-01-2011, 13:24
I went back to work when my son was 6 months and will do the same this time. I'm doing it so we can have a better life. I believe I am setting a good example to my children by working hard for what we have and showing my children that women can do everything men can do. I try to work my hours around when my partner is home from work which means he takes equal responsibility for childcare and housework. We are both equally capable of earning money and looking after our babies and I believe we have an amazing household because of it

mrsd
16-01-2011, 14:37
When it was just me and partner and two kiddies I enrolled in Uni to study nursing, I lasted about five months before I had to admit that the kids, the house and my relationship wouldnt really survive if I continued so i quit :(

I returned to work almost straight after each of my elder children (DH at home). From B onwards, it was quite hard. However, I am now at the stage where our house looks like a bomb hit it, I hardly see DH during school time, and as DH is running a business from home, too, he won't be able to look after H until he/she is at least a toddler so I've decided to take this time off properly.

I guess the question is what you mean by work. I am a HS teacher which is pretty full on as far as homework and extra hours work. I would guess that waiting tables etc would at least be a no-homework solution and much easier with a family.

My job has always been a career thing, not exactly for me but as the major breadwinner, my family depends on my sole income (DH's business is still developing and he is still under the tax threshold). It's funny but now my dilemma is that while I welcome being home with my own family, many of my students have a strong bond with me as welfare teacher and I have an executive role as far as planning etc go. To give that up is really hard but, just like this baby is a little unexpected, perhaps it is just the way it is meant to be.

Good luck with your decisions.:)

MermaidSister
17-01-2011, 10:02
I went back to work when my son was 6 months and will do the same this time. I'm doing it so we can have a better life. I believe I am setting a good example to my children by working hard for what we have and showing my children that women can do everything men can do. I try to work my hours around when my partner is home from work which means he takes equal responsibility for childcare and housework. We are both equally capable of earning money and looking after our babies and I believe we have an amazing household because of it

I feel exactly the same way. :yes:

I'm sure if i'd had children later, I would be in a better financial position and have more of a choice in whether to work or stay home, but I couldn't see myself being at home for long either way.

Work is a big part of who I am, always has been and my kids aren't any worse off because Mummy goes to work 5 days a week. Their dad looks after them at those times, with the occasional babysitter, and that's just how it's always been. We have a far better quality of life now than what we would if I hadn't continued to pursue my ambitions following the birth of my first child. They are my biggest inspiration. :)

Parrmum
17-01-2011, 15:28

I can completely understand that as I'm in a similar situation. I returned to work and uni when DD was 10 months old, and not only has our family been much better off since, but I feel that I'm teaching my daughter that you can be married and have a family without sacrificing a promising career. However, in saying that, I believe its also important to spend time with my daughter, so I work partime while studying online, so she is only in childcare 3 days a week. Shes now nearly three, and new bub is due in june. This time I will only take 6 months off from work and enrol both kids in childcare 2 days a week after returning to work, while working some weekends.

That's just what works for us though :)

NatalieG
17-01-2011, 15:43
I hate staying home, so I voted "yes, I wanted to." I feel stifled and just sick of my life revolving around nappy changes, sleeps and feeds. My littlest is 7 months old and it's his first day of child care tomorrow.... and I am going back to work at the end of January. I am looking forward to getting that part of my life back as well as having my kids... for me to be a sane, complete person, I need both.

sunnygirl79
20-01-2011, 13:47
I am trying to keep an open mind about it, ie what will be will be, however I do hope to go back to work 6 months or so after the birth of our first child. Ideally it would be part-time, but I will just wait and see how I feel, what work is available (we are about to move so I won't have a permanent job to go back to, rather will have to find a new one, which could be tricky).
Both my parents worked when I grew up and I never felt like I missed out, and I would rather have a successful career and be able to provide for my child financially than be stay-at-home and strapped for cash (which we might be if I don't go back to work). As long as I feel I'm spending enough time with my bub it should be ok, would like to find a workplace that is flexible maybe even do some work from home or start off part-time.
Before I fell pregnant I used to think it would be awesome to be a stay at home mum but I've recently decided that I would get bored of that very quickly and need the mental stimulation and personal satsifaction that working provides. Although I realise it probably will be very difficult with a baby and involve lots of juggling. Will see how I feel in 12 months time!

Liddy
21-01-2011, 13:38
I love being a SAHM, it was always my intentions, I don't plan on studying untill my youngest (hopefully my 4th) is in kindy, or possibly beforehand depending on which relatives are avaliable to babysit.
I've suggested once or twice about finding work with DH and he has refused, he would much rather work 2 jobs then have me work and not be with the kids. But luckily DH wage is plenty enough for us at the moment.

Pinkzy
21-01-2011, 13:41
My DS is 10 months old, I plan on going back to work when he's around 15 months old. Possibly earlier.

Ulysses
21-01-2011, 13:45
i was made redundant when i fell pregnant with DD - which was a real blow at the tim but the massive payout bought our new house & paid for me to have seven months off with no drop in our income. Since then DH has had a payrise so i don't need to go back to work.

I miss the social aspects & the challenges of work, but i would hate to miss out on anything with DD so i am happy to be here with her.

Now that I am pregnant again & have started uni again, i am planing to be at home for the next 5 years.

Izy
21-01-2011, 13:50
I went back to work parttime when DS was 8months old. I'm still working part time and expressing at work.

I did it primarily for financial reasons but I really do enjoy time away from the home, especially now that I'm a single mum it's some time away from DS and I NEED that :p

CazHazKidz
21-01-2011, 14:01
Yes, I went back to work when DS was 7 months, and will do the same after bub #2 is born in July.

I didn't/don't want to go back. I have no choice. We can't survive on the money DH makes.

It is my dream to be a SAHM - but it will always be a dream.

Hopefullyamumma
21-01-2011, 14:16
I will have to go back to work after I've had my maternity leave..
I'm hoping that my DP and I will be able to afford for me to only go back Part-Time, but we will have to wait and see.
I would love to be a SAHM too but unfortunately thats not a possibility to us..
I have a 'friend' who is currently making me feel bad about only taking the maternity leave that I'm entitled to and not staying home til my baby is one. Needless to say, she has no children and her husband earns more than enough for her to be able to stay home when/if they have kids.

MagicalLeopluradon
21-01-2011, 19:12
Our boys are 21.5 months and almost 11 months and I wont be going back to work until they are both in school. I love being a stay at home Mum and just being with them 24/7. They dont go to childcare, I just dont want to miss out on anything. WOuldnt change it for the world!

RipperRita
21-01-2011, 19:32
I don't know what to put. I thought I wanted to be a SAHM as I've been to uni, had a career, travelled the world and we can afford it but I have a 17 month old and a 3 month old and while I love them to peices I've been feeling like a feeding, cleaning machine lately, like ive lost me as a person and really miss my old job. Mostly I love being a SAHM

though

meljemillie
21-01-2011, 20:45
yep when dd1 was 3 months old..hated every minute of it...i felt i missed so much of her "firsts" but had to for financial reasons:( with dd2 i went back 3 days a week when she was 10 months....for financial reasons...had just brought a house(moved in a week before dd2 arrived) so we struggled for the 1st 10 months but was worth it...we are also very blessed that dps mum babysits the girls...she loves it...i love it cos i dont have daycare fees...but if i had to pay them it would not be beneficial for me to work...

ilovemymum
22-01-2011, 17:38
Going back after a holiday in Fiji in may. Im looking forward to it after having DS in 07, DS in 09 but was only with us for 16days and now DD 2010 and that's it NO more babies for me. Looking forward to watching my family grow and florish.

DaughteroftheForest
12-02-2011, 19:05
I haven't gone back to work yet, but am thinking about studying this year. I love being a SAHM though.

bebea
16-02-2011, 02:21
I'll be back at work when DS is 13 weeks, only 3 weeks to go!
I want to as I love my job and have worked hard to get where I am, but it is also for financial reasons.
No childcare for us though, DH will be a SAHD and run his business part-time, I'll work 7:30-3:30 and we'll play tag team a few nights a week. My parents are going to have DS every Wednesday (I didn't have to ask, they practically begged me :) ).
If I didn't have flexible working hours and a DH that could stay at home I wouldn't work full time so that at least one parent could be at home most of the time.
I must put his name down for daycare though, he'll need some regular interaction with other kids!

trishalishous
16-02-2011, 03:42
i originally said no, but have been back at work casually since she was 7 months.
i do 15 hrs a month.
i like having some money, plus its nice to have adult talk :)

siesmum
16-02-2011, 07:11
I am about to start work next week 3 days a week. DD is 14 mth and will be in daycare 2 days while my mum will look after her for one. I think it will be good dd will get more interaction with other children which didn't happen when I wasn't working.
I am going back so we can build up our savings more when we have another child and because I want to. I am very lucky that I don't have to work if I didn't want to.

Boobycino
16-02-2011, 07:34
I ticked other - I used to work in childcare and so when Jasper was 6 months old I for my first 'mummy nanny' job taking Jasper with me 4 days a week to look after a 2 year old girl. That didn't work out (not because of me, their circumstances changed dramatically) so I started taking Jasper with me to work in a crèche for a mums andbubs personal trainer. Then got another crèche job looking after bubs for mums with PND having councilling. In the meantime took on baby sitting, either from home or at their place.

ALL with Jasper in tow.

We needed the money, but once I got into it I did it for something to do. I mean, taking Jasper on playdates (nannying) or to playgroup (crèche) and getting paid! Sometimes it was really hard work but mostly it was a joy and I'd have done it for free.

My dad always said do what you love and you'll never work a day in your life.

Boobycino
16-02-2011, 07:39
Though that 'I'd do it for free' did make me feel bad about actually charging money for baby sitting. It took a long time for me to get comfortable charging what nannies charge -like $20 per hour. I started off only asking $12 per hour. Because I didn't feel right asking for money for something I'd do for love.

But yeah. ALL nannies do it for love :rolleyes: but nannies still gotta eat!

Kimberleygal1
17-02-2011, 14:28
I only had 4months off after having our first ds. My husband had to have 3yrs off after an accident so I had no choice but to go back to work really. Hubby was a stay at home dad for a few mths before he finally went back to work, by that stage I had adjusted and was comfortable with working fulltime and being a mum so continued working fulltime and put ds in daycare.

Daycare has been so good for him, he is nearly 3 now and we never had the terrible twos, he is good at sharing and interacting with other children as well as advanced for his age re counting, talking very young. He also has a good attention span. We think the fact he isn't at home with us 24/7 has also made him appreciate us more. It's not the quantity of time he spends with us that is important, it's the quality! As much as I love being a mother I also love my work and the mental stimulation it provides.

We are nearly due to have ds #2. This time I am having 12mths off and due to work entitlements and long service I get paid for the entire 12mths I am having off. I am going to be studying part-time when ds is 6mths old though.

We could easily manage on my husbands wage but having 2 wages coming in means we don't need to budget and to give our children a secure financial future 2 wages will enable us to do that.

Moxy
17-02-2011, 14:33
i ticked yes for financial reasons but it's kinda grey for me. if i really really wanted to be a SAHM we could afford for me to do it, but we would have to move to the outer 'burbs. i prefer the lifestyle we have where we live (inner city) and in the long run i am looking forward to raising a kid here. so i am going back part time when DS is 13 months. in saying that we have agreed to re-evaluate our priorities and what we want at the end of the year.

ILovePink
17-02-2011, 14:36
With DS I went back to work part time when he was 3 months old, at this stage he would be with my mum or Nan in the afternoon while I went to work. I went back full time when he was 6 months old and from that point had him in full time childcare. He loved it!! I went back to work because I wanted to, you always learn to live on what ever your income is but I wanted to in order to make a more secure future for my son.

With this new bub I don't plan on finishing work. I am lucky enough to be able to work at home once bub is born (I have a fantastic employer). I will be working less hours, obviously, but by doing this I am able to keep my 'foot in the door' and earn some extra money. I view it as having the best of both worlds! I plan to do this until bub is around 8-9 months old then she too will be going into childcare.

Zamina
17-02-2011, 14:54
I'll be going straight back to uni with less than 2 weeks off, a bit crazy I know, for 4 months to graduate but am planning on taking next year off to spend with the bub, then will start my internship the year after that.

TNTbub
28-02-2011, 12:58
I will have to go back to work for financial reasons. Otherwise we cant afford our rent.

I would very much like to be a stay at home mum, but cant.

TNTbub

Abundance of Life
26-03-2011, 19:51
I went back when my bub was almost 6 months. I sort of regreted going back so soon as I continued breastfeeding so I was expressing at work and that was quite stressful. The stress also affected my milk supply.

Now that I'm pregnant again - I will have to go back for financial reasons. My husband I both work in disabilities and it is a low paying job. We are quite good at budgeting and managing our finances, but it is just not possible to meet the cost of daily living with one of our wages. Now that the paid parental leave has come in, I'm hoping to take a bit longer time off this time - at least 8 months and then maybe look for a job where I can hopefully use some of my skills I've studies for (massage and healing), not a big fan of massage because it is tiring but it pays more than disabilties and I can work less hours.Also very slowly studying to become a nutritionist which I'm hoping to also use with my massage and healing.

nelle7250
16-03-2012, 15:17
I returned to work 4 days a week 9.30-4.30 when DD was 3 months old I lasted 4 months before I quit a job I hated to become a family daycarer. This time around when DD2 arrives I'm a bit better off financially so will start to look for something part-time when she is 6mths old. No more night work for me this time if I can avoid it!!!

Auntyamber
16-03-2012, 16:05
I won't be going back to work EVER LOL!!
Well hopefully not and if I do it will be when my children are in high school and only during school hours. I'm lucky enough that hubby makes enough for us to live comfortable without me working.
I actually wouldn't have had a baby if I couldn't stay home

Little-Pink-Hen
16-03-2012, 17:40
After dd I returned at five months.
I returned because

I enjoy work and missed it
We need my wage
I felt comfortable putting dd into long day care as I work at the centre so I trust her teachers completely and I could breastfeed exclusively using my breaks and direct the use of the ebm. Dd oringally went five days a week until 18 months when child ratios changed which resulted in a fee increase so she goes to her grandparents on Monday's

I'm currently 5.5 months pregnant with newbie and I'll be returning at 6 months for the above reasons but will only be returning for 4 days hopefully and dd will still go to her grandparents 1 day a week so childcare will be more affordable and fil has offered to pay some part of the fees

headoverfeet
16-03-2012, 18:01
Nope, very happy to be able to financially afford to (and I want to) be a sahm.

babyla
16-03-2012, 18:11
Absolutely, don't need to but want to. Love my job!

GothChick
16-03-2012, 18:18
Nope, I wont be going back to work until my kids are in highschool probably, not unless I need to for financial reasons. I dont get any help from the government for my child, not even the little im entitled to so im not hurting anyone by being a stay at home mum for that long.

mrswhitehouse
16-03-2012, 18:56
Sadly I'm forced to go back to work (2 days a week) in a month when my dd is 6 months old. I LOVE being a sahm and just do not want to be away from my babies :( my DH already works 6 days a week and we wont be able to pay our bills if I don't earn something. It is breaking my heart.

DH is trying to find a job in the mines so that things will be easier on us financially but he says even if that happens I'll still have to work at least 1 day a week as I need to 'contribute to our family' looking after our babies just doesn't cut it - because I'm not being paid for it I guess :(

Please know how lucky you are if you get to be a sahm! I grew up with my mum at home and I always imagined I would be able to do the same :( waaa!

Ok rant over now! Lol!

tjewell
16-03-2012, 19:02
Not this time around :) stay at home till school

share a book
16-03-2012, 19:03
Yes. There was no other option.

nomes83
16-03-2012, 19:07
With our current situation I'd have 54wks paid maternity leave (at 1/2pay) so will definitely be a SAHM during this time. After that I'm unsure, my job will be held until the last child's 5th birthday but for my profession I need to have no more than a 3year gap in practice to maintain registration plus I enjoy and have worked hard for my job. I'd consider going back a day or two a week after the first year or two.

Finances aren't a consideration, more career and family balance.

TobysMumUK
16-03-2012, 19:11
I went back two days a week when ds was 7 months and loved it. Gave me a break from how tiring being a full time mum is. My mum looked after him on these days.

Since moving to Australia 5 months ago i am back at work full time and hubby stays home. He does so well and definitely has the harder job! I can earn more than him hence this arrangement. Absolutely don't mind as he does just as good job as me.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using BubHub

Kimberleygal1
16-03-2012, 22:09
I returned to work after 2 weeks ago after 12 mths paid leave. I love being a mum but I also love my work and can quite easily manage both :)

Pregnor
16-03-2012, 22:16
Yes, after 9 months with ds. Started working 6 weeks after dd was born, stopped at 8 months as dh started fifo, now working 1 day a week and from home, about 20 hours a week

**Mum, Dad, Big boy (Dec 08) and Baby girl (Feb 11)**

Kyls
16-03-2012, 22:51
Yep. Started back when DD3 was 8 months. Only 2 days per week and she stays home with her Daddy or Nana. Emotionally I was ready to step away from the lack of appreciation for Mummy being at home (worked full time prior to DD3). I love smelling nice all day. Wearing white. Drinking a full coffee while it is HOT. Finishing meals. Sigh.

Kyls
16-03-2012, 23:02
Yep. Started back when DD3 was 8 months. Only 2 days per week and she stays home with her Daddy or Nana. Emotionally I was ready to step away from the lack of appreciation for Mummy being at home (worked full time prior to DD3). I love smelling nice all day. Wearing white. Drinking a full coffee while it is HOT. Finishing meals. Sigh.

waterlily
17-03-2012, 05:46
SAHM till school :D

Eko
17-03-2012, 06:06
Did you go back (or are you planning to go back) to work after you had children?

(Lets say whilst your child is under 2 years old)

Did you want to - for your own sanity or career aspirations? Had to (for financial reasons)?
Were happy to stay at home and care for your child(ren)?
Couldn't go back to work because you couldn't find or couldn't afford the childcare?

Let us know!

Back to work a month before ds turned 2. Sanity AND career aspirations. Loved staying home with ds but needed adult conversation etc. DH is a sahd because it doesn't make financial sense for both of us to work and pay for childcare. Will be back at work probably 3-6 months after the next one because of maternity leave unless DH decides he wants to work while I'm on unpaid maternity leave for a year.

Sent from my GT-I9100T using BubHub

PuppyGuts
17-03-2012, 06:47
With DD i went back to work when she was 4 months old to finish my apprenticeship, but had a break once i had been signed out before working somewhere else for 6 months, then DH started working FIFO and i didnt think it was fair, she was still so little to not have dad around and mum always working so had nearly 12 months off before going stir crazy and then i opened my own buisness, which was too full on-i wasnt paying myself as it wasnt going as well as i had hoped yet still paying close to $300 a week childcare so after 12 months of that we sold the shop and now she is 3.5 and i am working 3 days a week and she is in childcare.

For us, its mostly more beneficial for me to be at home, i get paid about $400 a week and CC is $280 BUT i love my job, i love being in there and its still s bit of extra cash to save.

DD is also a much better kid when shes in kindy, she gets so bored being at home with me and i hate it, i need adult conversation, when number 2 is here i plan on taking a few months off but still go back to work casually.

insanity
17-03-2012, 08:50
I went back to work last month when ds was 9 months

karisha
17-03-2012, 08:57
I couldn't bare to go back to work after having my last 2 babies and instead started my own business. I now earn 3 times more than what I did in my boring 9-5 job plus I have the benefit of being with my kiddies and doing something I love. Find something your good at, enjoy and then take it from there xoxo

littleriv
17-03-2012, 11:29
Yes, I went back to work- part time at first then full time after my first 2. I love work and the money meant we could buy a house and so on. We had excellent care for our kids from the age of 12 months at out local childcare centre. Now, my eldest has just started school and I have realised this is when I really need to be at home- to get them to and from school and to be part of their school lives and education. So, this time around, I will be staying off work for longer- but mainly as my 2 older ones will be at school. In my experience, working in the earlier years was better and if you have excellent care, then go for it, I say. It gets harder to work later when they start school.

Tildy
17-03-2012, 16:00
I wont be going back to work. That being said, I will be doing uni. The plan is that uni will take me 4 years and then I can go back to work and put bubs in preschool to get him/her school ready. Lol sounds like a brilliant plan........in theory. We shall see how it all goes.

nicoletta
17-03-2012, 16:26
I've been at home since before DS1 was born. I was studying from home, until he was born.
I'm starting my first year of Uni in January, I'm so excited :smiliedance::smiliedance:

jade84
26-03-2012, 17:17
I will be returning to work for one day a week when my maternity leave is up, im going back purely for 3 reasons 1 I enjoy my job, 2 i don't want to resign a 3 in order to keep my RN registration you need to complete a certain amount of hrs each year. My mother in law will look after bub one day a week.

Neisha0702
26-03-2012, 22:09
I had to return to work due to financial reasons just before my son's 1st birthday. As a teacher I was able to go back part time - 3 days per week. If I had the financial freedom to stay home with my boy I would have - no question about it. Fortunately my son is cared for by his grandparents when I am at work, so I know he is loved and nurtured all day long. :)

tiggerfields
27-03-2012, 08:38
I had to go back to work when DS was 6mo. It was very difficult.

Now happily I run my own business from home. When we are blessed with our new baby I'll continue to work from home, with a full-time nanny or au pair so I can duck out to meetings and do conference calls etc.

miracle4me
24-04-2012, 07:19
I'm in my 2nd year off work. Yesterday a friend & ex collegue said "Do I miss work?' NO was my answer loving being a mum I'm just lucky DD husband has a gd salary & we have been financially able to cope on 1 wage. We did have a lot of things paid off eg cars and had a low mortgage plus we've had to adjust our spending i.e we go out less for dinner & entertainment movies etc - we hire a DVD & eat yummy meals at home. I'm just as busy without work & feel I'm still active in the community with my profession. I started a MUMS & BuBs tennis club to help women with new babies cope with PND & help them exercise to loose the baby bump, I became President of the Local Tennis club, Started a Data Base of local playgrounds for mums on FB Springfield Region's Parks Database, started my own Babysitting club with my friends, I enrolled in some courses to help kids with Dyslexia & now tutor 2 children on a Saturday and I'm even considering learning how to make glass mosaics. I actively assist mums with kinds of all ages with professional advice to concerns about children's educational/developmental issues. I also assist in a charity RETURN SERVE run by Tennis Qld to assist disadvantaged kids & Act4kids a charity to help abused & neglected kids all done in the spare time usually at night instead of wathcing TV. I take my DD to playgroup, Toddler Time at local library, music and gymboree classes plus I find time to exercise with a local Stroller bootcamp baby goes in the pram while I work out. Yes I'm busy but I still manage to cook clean , be eco friendly wash cloth nappies and iron (sometimes) as well as read a book for book club. So I don't miss working - I think I already have a full time job just being MUM to my DD under 2 is so important for me to stay home until she is 3 at least as this is the crucial age where they learn so much from their 1st teachers their mums & dads . But in saying that I'm sure any care provided it it good quality care is also beneficial to those mums who have to work because they don't have a choice or they choose to go to work that's totally their choice. But for me I chose to be a stay at home or as I say an out and about mum in the mornings we come home to sleep for our noon nap. LOL. I have a choice thankfully to my Darling Husband. :hugs:I even entered a yummy mummy competition just to prove to all women that u don't have to show clevage or pose semi naked to be a real mum & even if sometimes I do wear my 17mths old breakfast lunch & dinner on me I'm still a yummy stay at home mummy. I'm #178 if you want to vote thanks.http://www.b105.com.au/win/yummy-mummy-2012/entrants2

elleandsam
24-04-2012, 07:50
I work from home, I started when my youngest was 13 months old. I also study full time via distance education. I have a 2 and a half year old and a 15 month old at home with me full time. I am insane.

Hamilicious
24-04-2012, 16:22
I plan on returning to work when DS is 15 months old. Financially we would get by without my wage (although there wouldn't be much left over) but as much as I'd love to stay home with him I feel like I would be wasting my skills. I plan to work full time until going on leave to have baby no. 2 (whenever that will be!) and then only return part time.

miracle4me
25-04-2012, 07:05
Just wanted to say to the owner of the Poll great question. Had a look at the results so far - its' pretty close to saying that most people went back to work because of financial reasons but in saying that lots of people want to stay at home to be with kids under 2 or in some cases staying at home to continue to develop their family had one kid now looking after or working on the 2nd 3rd or 4th kid. Sure wish the govt would recognise the value of stay at home mums more & increase the benefit for all people regardless of whether your family income is this or that. We don't get much benefit because my Dh has a good income. But I know that the benefits of me staying at home will be rewarded in other ways. Just hope I can still stay at home for another 2 years until she starts prep.

I plan on returning to work when DS is 15 months old. Financially we would get by without my wage (although there wouldn't be much left over) but as much as I'd love to stay home with him I feel like I would be wasting my skills. I plan to work full time until going on leave to have baby no. 2 (whenever that will be!) and then only return part time.
And although I sometimes feel all those skills years of uni is it wasted for me know because I'm doing other things with my skills that are useful in areas that I never thought of before I had a bub. I've started an active life in the community helping mums with questions about kids education & development, on a local FB page Springfield Lakes Mummies plus I still use my knowledge of playground equipment & have set up a FB page Springfield Region Data Base , I donate some of my time now Bub is a bit older to help fundraise for a charity ACT4kids and I just started getting involved with Tennis again since I love the sport started mums & bubs tennis club plus help out for a new charity Return Serve that's assisting refugees integrate into the community through Tennis. I'm keen to learn new skills as well like how to do glass mosaics and I want to learn to paint. Next month I plan to do some courses in helping Dyslexic kids. So I still think a stay at home mum can contribute in a work sense. Just that I contribute in a non paid kind of work. :hugs: But really love staying at home watching my little girl grow up to be there for her. Just feel very blessed that I can do that financially. In a real world I'd love to be able to give every mum who wanted to stay home the chance to do that. Wouldn't that be great.:smiliedance:

zhucehao
25-04-2012, 21:41
Our family is very lucky, especially at the moment

ntnx
29-04-2012, 14:53
I would like to stay at home after the baby is born, but I think I may have to work a couple days a week for financial reasons. I would much rather be home with the baby so that I can demand feed and practice attachment parenting.

ShanandBoc
29-04-2012, 15:35
Im a SAHM till all our kids are in school at least. Id rather sacrafice anything else we can to b able to afford to live on one wage rather than having to put our DD into childcare. Luckily we r managing well on my husbands wage and he wants me to b at home and im happy with that. Its a dream for me!!! A career really holds no interest for me :)

Sent from my GT-I9100T using BubHub

zhucehao
06-06-2012, 00:36
I haven't yet, my DS is 2, DD is 5 months... I'm intending on going back when DD is in preschool... mostly for sanity reasons by then, though I don't think my insanity will be questionable

Kimberleygal1
06-06-2012, 17:51
I went back after 4mths after ds1 because I had to financially and I had 12mths off after ds2, I didn't have to financially, I wanted to because I love my work and 12mths off was long enough off for me.

JennyMaroe
14-06-2012, 23:15
I guess it depends on how much you love your job. I love my two daughters more than anything, but I like to maintain a balanced life and it felt right to me to get back and do some work.

lovemyfamily
14-06-2012, 23:30
SAHM now for 3 years and I love it .Doing different stuff everyday with my kids.
If I had to go to work it would be for money reasons .

danik
14-06-2012, 23:57
On and off during the past 6 years i have worked mainly in hospitality and retail (evenings so DH can look after kids). For the past year I have been working either casually or on a part time contract as a Library Officer, the field I am also studying at TAFE.

With dd1 I did waitressing in the evenings when she was just under 18 mths. With Dd2 she was 10 months. All the times Ive worked since having kids has been for my own sanity. The money was a bonus!

With dd1 bedtimes were always a struggle so yes I was hanging for DH to come home and I would leave for work, hehe!

Dd2 transitioned well with daycare (once I found the best one for us) and I felt it was really meant to be for me to find my ideal job working in public libraries and Dd being so well adjusted at daycare. Also Dd1 loves her after school care provider so everyone is happy.

At one point I was adamant that I wanted a part time job 3 days a week but after afew job application disappointments I realized that maybe the universe didn't agree with my aspirations. I listened to my gut and decided to stay casual, work around my family and only make myself available 2 days a week, the most I could be a way from dd2. And I'm lucky that the locations I can work at are all close proximity to home.

I feel I have the best of both worlds and the perfect balance for my family and I.

MummaJez
15-06-2012, 00:44
I got a job when DS was 14mo for two days a week. Still do it :)

soccer mum
15-06-2012, 07:11
Yes but not strictly because I wanted to and not strictly for financial reasons. Combination of both and other factors too!
I do find it hard as I work full time but I am happy with the arrangement we have which is 3 days a week childcare 2 with grandparents and my daughter absolutely loves it.

As for not being with my child, I spend loads of time with her (say 2 hours every morning and 4 every evening plus all weekends and public holidays and annual leave. If she is unwell I have sick leave too) and I make sure I spend quality time playing, reading, talking, hugging. On weekends we garden and go to the playground. She actually never watches TV and she was getting bored at home and needed the stimulation of other kids at childcare.

I personally find it easier having her in blocks of time as she is very very active. The downside to all of this is that DH and I are very tired as we still have to fit in the housework, cooking etc around work and family time but we manage

MyLittlePrincess
29-06-2012, 22:05
I went back to work when at 7months after birth for my 1st & 2nd child. I'd love to go back to work but don't see the point when child care fees just keep on going up. For me having 3 kids in cc will cost me $75 per child we are not entitled to any extra rebate apart from the 50 percent rebate meaning I am out of pocket of $112.50 per day.... to pay for it. I would love to go back but not worth it with these high cc rates. It makes me more annoyed when some people brag that they pay $10 per day with a duel income. No fair

Sent from my GT-I9210T using BubHub

Tambelina
06-07-2012, 06:55
I will be going back to work when bub is about a year old.

I would love to stay home until they are about 2-3 years old, but it really isn't financially possible at this point.

Mum2EandR
06-07-2012, 09:03
With DD I went back to work when she was 12 weeks old. I had pnd and needed the space.

With DS I took 12 months off my job and then ultimately resigned. When he was 16 months old he started going to daycare 2 days a week and I picked up 3 days a week of flexible volunteer work (the third day he is with my sister)....

Pommymumofthree
12-07-2012, 11:01
I went back part time when they reached 18 months for 2 days per week.

LoveHeart
12-07-2012, 17:27
Had to for financial reasons. I am on Mat leave so I have to go back to work for at least 15 months, otherwise I have to pay my mat leave back.... Although I can go back for 12 months, have another child and go on mat leave again (but then have to return to work for 15 months again)...

Sunny17
26-07-2012, 22:55
No. DH and I have both decided that I stay home as long as possible. We are going without a lot of luxuries in order to afford it but that is our opportunity cost of our decision. I admire working mums and how much it takes for them to work in and out of the home.

Mrs E
27-07-2012, 01:35
I went back to work when DD was 4 months old. I was in need of adult conversation in a big way :p I'm very lucky though as I work for my families business and get to take DD with me. So far I do 3 days a week. I'm not sure when it will go back to 5 yet.

sabrew
27-07-2012, 10:37
I went back to work part time when DD was about 8 weeks old. DH had just started uni full time and I had a flexible workplace where I could do short 3 hour shifts initially while DH looked after DD. I gradually increased the hours I worked and was back to full time when she was 14 months.
It was a financial choice as I had much higher earning potential than DH while he was studying, but also I enjoy my work and the mental stimulation that it gives me.
With DS I went back 1 day a week when he was about 12 weeks, this time with my mum and DH looking after him.
Now DH is working full time I work 30 hours a week, DD and DS are in child care 2 days a week and my mum looks after them 2 days

nic81
07-08-2012, 13:07
I have just returned to fulltime work 5 days ago & HATE it!!! Miss my 7.5month old boy like crazy. Hubby's parents offered to look after him at our home for 12 months while I go back to work so we can bank my entire pay & be in a better financial situtation for the next baby! I also have a 9yo daughter too. After I have done this stint, I will NOT (fingers crossed) be going back to work until our youngest goes off too school, it is just too hard being apart :(

scarymarygoldfish
07-08-2012, 20:40
Yes, I wanted to. At first (when she was 4 months) it was only one day and DH looked after her (on Saturdays), then when she was about 16 months she started going to Family Day Care one day a week. And now she goes to a friend's house to get looked after/play with her DD anther day (and I take her DD here one day a week in return).

I love it! It's great socialisation for the both of us.

Pickle81
15-11-2012, 21:40
I plan on staying home as long as possible. I hate the thought of having to leave my (as yet unborn) kids with someone else. I'm having kids so I can raise them. On our current financial status, we can live off my husbands wage with 1 baby & still pay maintenance for his 2 older kids. But you never know what the future will bring and I don't know whether I'll miss working or not, I don't think I will though!

soccer mum
25-11-2012, 22:02
I plan on staying home as long as possible. I hate the thought of having to leave my (as yet unborn) kids with someone else. I'm having kids so I can raise them. On our current financial status, we can live off my husbands wage with 1 baby & still pay maintenance for his 2 older kids. But you never know what the future will bring and I don't know whether I'll miss working or not, I don't think I will though!

I think most parents have kids so we can raise them.:confused:

mama de tres
01-12-2012, 20:32
Next year i am going back to work two days per week. i am going to spend nearly my entire wageon childcare for three preschoolers. but i don't mind. i just want to get outta this house!

JungleMum
28-04-2013, 01:24
Will have to! After 12 months. Don't most people these days? It's kind of how the economy is structured. For those that don't have to go back to work, they are very, very lucky, but I suspect they also make a few sacrifices along the way. Although, I won't be going back to work for a life of luxury, but to get by!

missie_mack
28-04-2013, 17:01
Will have to! After 12 months. Don't most people these days? It's kind of how the economy is structured. For those that don't have to go back to work, they are very, very lucky, but I suspect they also make a few sacrifices along the way. Although, I won't be going back to work for a life of luxury, but to get by!

I don't know if it is always financially viable to go back, particularly if you have a couple of kids and have to pay for care. My before and after childcare is more expensive than preschool for my ds and you get less rebate for it. If you are only earning $500- $600 a week (which is minimum wage) it isn't hard for the cost of care and attending work to exceed a daily wage, even after possible rebates

from a galaxy far far away...

Joseysjellybeans
28-04-2013, 17:17
I am pregnant with my first and will go back to work when they turn 1. It will be a part time capacity of 2 shifts per week and will be on hubby's days off so I think it's good as it will give him one on one time with the baby. I could also choose to do night shifts so would be there with them in the day anyway We both do shift work so there is a lot of flexibility without it meaning putting the baby in day care.

LaDiDah
28-04-2013, 17:43
I haven't had bub #1 yet but I'm planning on staying home for the first 6months or so and then picking up some CRT work at the school I currently work at. Not looking to go full time again until we've had #2 and they are 3/4 maybe older

PeanutCrazy
30-04-2013, 16:09
I went back to work when DS was 6months old. Hes now 2.5 but in that time ive left work and done a course at TAFE and now back at work for a little longer.

After this one we will not be ale to afford two children in care and if I did the cost of daycare would outweigh the amount i would bring into the household. So after this one I will become a stay at home mum. I might look into doing something from home part time but for now the thought of SAHM is appealing.

Eko
02-05-2013, 19:24
I was at home until ds1 was nearly 2, but I'll be back at work by the time ds2 is 5 months old. I think it'll be hard but I really don't have a choice in the matter.

Turk EnJayDee
02-05-2013, 19:33
I planned on going back to work when DD was 6 weeks. I have been lucky enough that DF got a job that pays more than enough for me to stay at home.

I now have ds who is just 1 and pregnant with number 3.

It is financially better for us if I stay at home until they are all in school. Even then I will working from home with my own business so I can do school pick up/drop off, assemblies, home work, house work, cooking etc.

PurpleButterfly4
02-05-2013, 19:37
I went back to work to keep my job when my DS was 11.5mths old. I would've rather not had to go back but I didn't want to go find other work.

kw123
02-05-2013, 20:06
I went back to work three days when DS was 9 months old and love it and don't regret it. DS is in daycare and there was an adjustment period (and still is as its only been 6 weeks) but we are getting there.

BabyG4
05-05-2013, 18:18
I don't plan to go back to work. It's not that I wouldn't like to return to the workforce once my daughters are all at school but I just don't see it possible. 4 daughters, after school care fees, a hubby that will work away often plus a daughter with diabetes so I like to be on call and close to her school if anything happens.
In saying that I am getting a little business started that I can work from home which will keep me busy and help contribute to the families finances.

headoverfeet
05-05-2013, 18:38
I've decided to do a bit of WAHM from home when hubby is home on R&R, just party plan stuff. I'm enjoying interacting with different people and the extra cash doesn't hurt my bank account :)

ETA DD will be 2 in just under 3 months but I'm only gone for a few hours and she is with her Daddy :goodvibes:

mrsoptomistic
05-05-2013, 18:56
Yes, I will go back FT. Financially I have to! But not until my youngest is 1yo

αληθη
05-05-2013, 18:58
I really want to - I love working! But I will be finishing uni fulltime... if that counts as work? (I voted other in the poll). I might do some work from home depending how things play out around July/August.

SoThisIsLove
05-05-2013, 19:13
No i didnt go back to work. DD is now 2.5 and im still at home with no plans to return.

For us, we dont like childcare so we have made sacrifices so i can be a sahm!

ozeymumof5
06-05-2013, 12:33
I didn't go back to work untill I had my 2nd child and i only did it because I needed more to life......then # 3 came along and I was happy to be a sahm as I was busy again....but after #4 I got tooo crazy come housework and OCD that for my my own sanity I went back to work at nights to occupy myself. I went on maternity leave as soon as I fell preg with #5 and once she was 4 months old I had no choice but to go back to work just to make ends meet, pay the bills and have money to enjoy the basics of life.

melimum
06-05-2013, 12:34
I went back to work after 6 months maternity leave for 2 days a week which I had organised with my boss. Before I came back my boss left and the new boss was only giving me 1 day a week and it wasn't worth it so I quit. When dd was 18 mths old I was getting bored and restless at home so I went back 3 days a week with a set shift that works around our life. I work in childcare too so dd comes with me. We are ttc at the moment and ideally I'd like to be at home for 18 mths at least again and once my children are in school I'll go back full time.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using The Bub Hub mobile app

babycart
06-05-2013, 12:47
for dd1 i was in talks to return part-time (new role) which never got off the ground because they couldn't get it through budget. (this was when she was about 1 year). when the job fell through i wanted another bubba, so just got pregnant instead.

DD2 i wanted to go back when she was about 15m but my daycare had no spots so i waited until the New Year, then slowly started applying. it took a few months, but i started a new job last week. dd2 is 22mo now.

Twoalready
06-05-2013, 13:10
I went back to work when my youngest turned 1. Both good and bad, she learnt so much at daycare more then I know I could have offered her. But I really felt like I wasn't finished being a mum so I knew another stay at home stint was going to happen.

I e came qualified in my field and once I had done that, I felt I had ticked that box on my bucket list and I no longer needed to pursue a career, and along came the baby urge.. Here i'am pregnant again.

It's unlikely I will go back to work until we are in a position where we won't need to utilise daycare as with 3 kids I might as well kiss my wages goodbye.

~Isla Rohmaine arriving sept 2013 and a baby makes 3!

penguinbaby
06-05-2013, 14:33
I dont plan to once bub arrives, but i may casully if we need the money or I feel like I need it

Sent from my GT-I9100T using The Bub Hub mobile app

20littletoes
08-05-2013, 19:42
I never went back after DD1 she is now 2. And we have just found out we are pregnant again. I won't be going back till the two are in school and only then will it be part time. I am now 32 we waited to have children so I could stay with them longer.

foguka
08-05-2013, 19:51
I never went back. I was going to once our 1st turned 3, but found out I was pregnant and the same happened with our 2nd - once I'd decided to find work pregnant again. Thankfully now we are in a position where I don't need to get back to work, so I can take more time with the kids. I don't plan on that pregnant thing happening again lol.

beebs
08-05-2013, 19:54
I did the first two times, with my eldest and the twins. I haven't this time, due to having 3 kids that aren't at school, one who is autistic and requires heaps of different therapies during the week. I am enrolling in Uni while I'm off work to try and get something behind me because I will have been out of the work force for about 5 years before I go back.

DewDanni
08-05-2013, 20:01
I was going to once DS was 12 months but I decided I couldn't do the travel each day (1.5 hrs each way) I asked for a transfer and they couldn't give it to me so I resigned... My husband also got a fifo job when DS was 6 months old so it made the decision easier