View Full Version : IVF Bubs Due April/May/June 2010 #11
Surfergal - congratulations on the safe arrival of Maya
:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:
hopefulmama2b
21-05-2010, 11:05
Congrats surfergal on your little girl! beautiful name too!!
I think I jinxed myself talking up my perfect little baby lol- true, he is still very perfect lol but the more weight he puts on the more vocal he gets and he has been really unsettled the last two nights so I am going to have an at home day today and just nap in between his feeds i think.
we went shopping yesterday, a whole day event, with my mum. Had such an awesome time, all the ladies loved my little man, people stopped while I was feeding him in gloria jean to commend on his tinyness and cuteness lol- but they kept their distance too which was great lol.
Hope everyone is well! Ally- great to hear he is on the breast and loves it- I have long given up my breastfeeding dreams, billy is not interested at all and my supply seems to be dwindling already even though I am still expressing.
Quick question girls- when can you pop bubs into the bouncinette thingy? Mine says from newborn but then it says from 3-11 kgs. Billy is still not 3 kgs should I wait?? Thanks :)
EarthAngel75
21-05-2010, 11:24
Surfergal and DH congrats on the arrival of your DD :)
Hopeful: How is Billy's head control? I would probably try him in the bouncer and see if he looks comfy and that he's not falling forward or to the side and if not I'd probably use it. They may worry about the lack of weight making it easier for baby to fall out or lean forward/to the side but if that's not the case I don't see why you would need to wait imo. I'm sure we used a bouncer before dd was 3kg but at the time it was only one of those old fashioned ones with mesh netting.
Nikki: I hope you got another reasonable nights sleep last night :)
AFM: starting to get some annoying AF type pains on and off - couldnt get to sleep last night due to them and the fact my hip was soo bloody sore from napping in bed yesterday morning. In some ways i want baby to come now LOL but at the same time i would rather he wait until my mum arrives next Thurs.
Hopeful the midwives told us 4 weeks for the bouncer. I'm looking forward to it!
Did you find the cafe people helpful when you needed to heat up the bottle? I'm gonna try feeding out next week using a bottle of EBM cos I can't use the shield in public. Another milestone to tick off :)
ooh Earth, sounds promising!!
hopefulmama2b
21-05-2010, 12:54
Jet- yup, gloria jean had a bottle warmer and they were soo helpful!
thanks for the advice re the bouncer girls
earth- his head control is great lol- holds his head up like a big boy already.
Ooh just got Maeve off the shield for like 15mins of good sucking yay!!!!!
hopefulmama2b
21-05-2010, 15:35
Good work Jet!
Billy has been so unsettled today!
Hopeful, must be something in the water, same here! Feeds every 3 hours instead of 4 :( I just want a cup of tea and a rest dammit!!!
sparklesare
21-05-2010, 17:12
Add my hungry critter to 3 hourly feeds too!!
Spot on 3 hours like clockwork!
Hopeful: Thats great that Gloria Jeans had a bottle warmer for you. Finn and I went out today for lunch with my Mum. Little man just slept through it all..bless the baby!!
Ive heard the same re the bouncer, 4 weeks. I was thinking the same thing yesterday re the swing that I have got for the twins and yep, 4 weeks for that too!
Well I have some exciting news. Master O is coming home on Monday or Tuesday of next week! :eek: His surgeon called me this morning to say he is doing well and is good to come home as he has managed to get up to a 3 hourly routine. We will still have some outpatient visits over the next couple weeks to monitor his progress but they are thrilled with his recovery and progress in 3 weeks. Im so happy girls, I cried when the doctor told me. Finally my little family of 4 will be altogether at last. :goodvibes::goodvibes:
I am going to be so nervous bringing him home, but I cant wait. Just to have them here and settle in with them both. The last 3 weeks have been hard to say the least. Finally an end is in sight, and sooner than I had expected whihc is lovely.
Yay fantastic news Sparkles, that's just wonderful :)
Jet - I've given Liam bottles (EBM) in public a few times now, he is quite happy to take them room temp. Good luck!
Sparkles - that's great news :yelclap:
Hopeful - Liam is still too small and disinterested in the bouncer, I think I'll wait until he is more aware of his surroundings.
Earth - those pains sound like the end is near! I had AF type pains the morning of my labour, they quickly progressed to labour contractions and within hours I was holding my little man. I hope you are not far off now :fingerscrossed:
Well DH and me have a good routine going and I am getting good sleeps at night now. I am so happy :D
Aw Nikki that's so great you are settling into things :) what's your night routine?
Jet: I express around 11:30 - 12:30 then I go to bed and leave Liam with DH and three bottles for the night. DH then gives him EBM for his 1am and 3am feeds, then around 5-6am I get up again express and then take Liam to bed with me for cuddles and we sleep until he wakes around 8am for a feed. He sometimes takes the breast at that time other times he only wants the bottle but either way he is getting breast milk so I am over beating myself up over it now. At least I am getting some rest and we are all happy. DH works at night because he works with the US and UK and then sleeps from about 4am through to midday.
hopefulmama2b
21-05-2010, 19:44
sparkles- what fantastic news!!!!!!am sooooo happy for u hun xxxxxxxxxx
nikki- your routine sounds great! do u have one of those thingies for him in ur bed that lilly has? i'd love billy in bed with us but my dog sleeps on the end of the bed and i would be too scared- speaking of, those of u with pets, how are the pets coping?? my girl dog is freaked out by the baby. My boy dog has had a little sniff but seems disinterested. The cat couldn't care less but I am careful to lock the cat away of a night so she doesn't meander into the bassinette :eek:
I bathed billy late this afternoon, fed him and he has been asleep now since about 6pm- woohoo! We have DH's girls here this weekend and they are anxiously awaiting his wakeup so they can hold him lol- Since we had such an unsettled day I was mean step mummy and said no holding till he either wakes or is due for a feed :cool:.
Wow Nikki that's an awesome routine!!!
Hopeful you stick to your guns. I too won't let anyone have cuddles if she's asleep!!
Aw poor wishing you have been through the mill. Nikki and I are both using shields so you're not alone!! I have 4 in rotation and I often lose one in the middle of the night. Glad the ABA were helpful :) keep your spirits up mate, you are doing brilliantly!!!
Wishing - I just used soapy water and then rinsed with hot water afterwards. The midwife said warm soapy water was enough. At the moment I am having to use sterilising solution though because our water in this suburb was declared unsafe a few days ago (great timing) due to a valve being left open or something. So until they give the all clear I am not taking any chances with him.
Jet - you are doing great to get her on. Liam is getting lazier with the BFing and I often express now and feed EBM. It's hard work but I am determined to give him breast milk for as long as I can, at least for 8 - 12 weeks. After that I will reassess if he is not going to come to the party.
Hopeful - my boy dog is fascinated with the baby but he is so big I am careful about how close he gets. He has such huge paws and he loves to shake paws and Liam is so small and fragile. So we let him sniff him, give him a pat and then tell him to go back to his place. When Liam is bigger we'll introduce them more.
Wishing I rinse in cold water, wash in warm soapy, rinse in cold then store in a Milton solution - after an hour it's sterilized so I have 4 in the solution and put the last cleaned one in the bottom so I'm always ready to go.
PS are you gonna go to a mothers group? I go to the one at castle hill...
Nikki that sounds like a lot of hard work. Good on you.
I'm at GPs waiting for my whooping cough vax. DH is babysitting :) bet she sleeps til I get back!
Well I'm all vaxed up. Also got a referral to a neurologist cos my wrists are killing me. Am wearing supports now in between feeds and can barely pick Maeve up. And I just found out voltaren gel can't be used when BFing. Crap :(
hopefulmama2b
22-05-2010, 11:03
Morning Girls!
omg I had a crazy dream last night that DH and I were pregnant again- a natural miracle lol. Maybe its because of the way my pregnancy ended but the thought of being pregnant now terrifies me!!! lol
Jet- I need to get that vax too- and I hope ur wrists feel better!
Nikki- yeah our dogs are little but I understand what u mean, mooch was sniffing Billy this morning a little bit so she is perhaps getting used to him, good. Hey, I just saw in the jan/feb 1011 etc preggers thread that Lissy got a natural BFP! How awesome is that!!!
well Billy slept very well after his unsettled day- i think he may have been unsettled due to our big day out thursday. We are going to take it easy and chill at home this weekend, I am kind of exhausted all of a sudden!
Hey has anyone heard from Cat the last few days???
Lol Wishing oh the multitasking we mums do!! The groups are from 0-12 weeks would you believe! Hope you're in mine :) the community nurse should tell you, has she been out yet?
angeleish
22-05-2010, 15:34
Jet - well done on getting vaxed. I must get around to that. Sorry to hear about your wrists. Can you use heat packs on them for the time being for pain relief.? I've heard that carpel tunel is quite common in new mums... (I'm no expert though)
Sparkles - :smiliedance: So exciting that both your boys will soon be home. You must be so relieved. I can't even begin to imagine how hard this has been on you. I've found this whole mummy business hard enough and I haven't had to deal with surgery, hospital visits and twins. You are one tough cookie!! Well done on surviving this all and I hope that everything goes well for next week!
hopeful - our dog is quite good with DS, but I'm still not convinced that she sees him as one of us. She always lets me know when he is crying and is keen to sniff him, but I don't quite trust her yet. In the meantime, she is quite happy to follow me around and "help" with the baby duties!
wishing - good to see you back in these parts. I'm glad that you had a great experience in the hospital. We did too and I actually cried when I was told that I was going home. I was quite happy to stay longer as the staff were so helpful and I really didn't feel confident to cope by myself.
As for the b/feeding it sounds like your milk has come in and you may be engorged. This happened to me big time and I ended up with quite a few problems (our midwife was shocked at how severely engorged I got!). It is all better now, but let me know if the ice packs don't work and I can pm you and tell you what got me through. It is really painful though so I hope it eases quickly for you.
Nikki - great team work with your DH and the expressing. It sounds like hard work to keep expressing but you are doing great. I
angeleish
22-05-2010, 18:20
wishing - I sent you a pm to try to explain what helped for me. I guess like everything to do with baby though... everyone is different.
I hope you can find something that helps!
Well done on getting your paper work organised so quickly. Mine is still all over the place.
Okay... I'm off to congratulate lissy!! :yelclap:
Angeleish good thinking re the heat packs.
Wishing, bummer it's not the same group!
Centrelink needs the birth cert btw. I'm still waiting on ours and I registered it 2 weeks ago!! Such an unsettled day today. Up every hour for 1-2 hour feeds. Am wrecked.
angeleish
22-05-2010, 18:57
jetgirl - hang in there. I find with my little man that an unsettled day sometimes means a settled night. Hopefully your little angel follows that same pattern. :fingerscrossed: Short cat-naps and regular feeds are not a good combination though! :no:
Gosh I hope so angeleish!!!
angeleish
22-05-2010, 20:34
wishing - we also got told every second day. However, she also mentioned if baby likes the bath (which he does) and he is unsettled, then we should bathe him to calm him down. At this stage we've only had to do that once, so for the most part we are bathing every second day. After winter, once he is bigger we will probably change to every day as part of his night time routine. At the moment in winter though I'm thinking we'll stick to the every second day thing.
Hang in there with the b/feeding. Once we passed our little hurdle it got a lot easier. My little man is doing really well with it now and I'm so glad that we persisted. I was almost at the point of hiring a private lactation nurse as this is what my friend did and it helped her establish her routine with her son. Might be worth looking into if you are really determined!!
Good luck with it. I hope the pain settles soon!
BFing seems to the the number one topic now. It's hard when it doesn't quite work out the way we envisioned but one way or another we are all trying to do the best thing for our babies and we just have to remember that as long as they are growing and are happy we are doing a good job, regardless of what option we choose.
I just got out of emergency at the hospital, I was feeling fine today then this afternoon DH rushed me in because I had an acute gall bladder attack. I've never had one before and it took me by surprise. It was so painful and I am so glad my mum was here to look after Liam while I was there. They put me on painkillers so I have had to throw out the EBM from this one, luckily I have a whole fridge and freezer full of the stuff!
sparklesare
22-05-2010, 23:14
Wishing: I'm bathing every second night too. We will change to daily like Angeleish a bit down the track when both boys home and routine bit more in place.
Nikki: that sounds awful I hope your feeling a but better now, take care.
Nikki for me the big thing with BFing is that everybody goes on about how great and convenient it is but nobody mentions how hard it is if baby can't latch on, how tough on your body it is or how much it sucks, pardon the pun, if a feed takes forever!!!
Well Missy moo slept 730-0030, 215-615 and 645 and still going!!!! Must have been totally shattered!!
Wishing, maybe that receipt will do the job. I have a printout from the website, wonder if that would work?! The webcam sounds great. We've a one storey house, phew!
Angeleish we bathe her daily around dinner time and I feed her beforehand with a post-bath top up and she goes down for at least 3 hours.
Poor Nikki, like you haven't had enough drama!
sparklesare
23-05-2010, 14:06
I was wondering about Cat also this morning...hopefully her little one isnt far away.
Had a shocker of a morning. Poor Master F had wind and the poor little thing was in so much discomfort...his little face was red as red when you could see he was trying to get it out etc.
Finally he came good about an hour ago and has just had a feed and done big farts in his cot so I am thinking he is back to his chirpy self again :yelclap:
Off for a hospy visit to see Master O and get some pics of them together again. Im out of control with them...cant stop looking at them and taking pics...im so proud :goodvibes:
hopefulmama2b
23-05-2010, 15:23
I was thinking about Cat too ladies! Her due date is tomorrow coz mine was today! LOL- how funny!
Nikki- u poor thing. I had my gall bladder taken out like 2 years ago- mine was a complete mess. I remember those attacks- next to childbirth nothing else has ever hurt so bad!
Sparkles- I too bath Billy every second night for now coz he still has trouble keeping warm I think and he screams the house down in the bath lol. Billy sounds just like Finn, very farty :yes:
Hi All!
Still here! Was thinking of you today too, Hopeful...can you believe Billy would've been due today? Sparkles - same for you - your due date was only days away now!!!
I have slowed down bigtime - I'm so glad I made the most of my first couple of weeks of leave because I am now well and truly heavy, achey and slow. Gotta love sciatic pain - that's one way to slow me down!
I had my second lot of monitoring on Friday and a growth scan. Bub is small but happy enough and moving his/her lungs too like he/she's breathing (which apparently is a good sign).
Warning - TMI to follow - lost my mucus plug today and it wasn't clear so I guess that means I'm only a day or two away from labour. Then again, some of you lost your plug weeks before you went into labour - was it clear though?j
You all sound like you are doing so well! I can't wait to be able to share in the experiences. Angeleish - I hope I won't need any BF tips but, if I do, your ideas sound like gold if they are already working for Wishing!
sparklesare
23-05-2010, 16:56
Cat: I can't imagine being pregnant still, I would of been done at 38 weeks thanks god but even to have got to38 weeks I would if been on bed rest I reckon from pain and being so uncomfy. My boys are a month old today, where did that month go!!!???
angeleish
23-05-2010, 16:58
wishing - glad your getting there with the b/feeding. Like I said I was so lucky to have such a supportive hospital with a great lactation room and lactation consultant. It has made a huge difference for me. And you're right - when the look milk drunk and content it is sooo worth it!
hopeful and sparkles - must be a boy thing with the farting! I went to the maternal nurse appointment the other day and even she commented on how "gassy" my little one was!!
cat - I was hoping you had baby news to share!! For the record I started contractions almost immediately after losing my mucous plug. Mine wasn't clear and was a pink bloody colour. I was actually concerned that my waters had broken as it was so thin and water like + it went every where. I ended up at the hospital for monitoring as even they wern't sure at first if it was my waters or my plug. They did some testing and it was my plug. By that stage I was getting regular (but not too bad) contractions which eventually turned into full labour (almost 24 hours later). Unfortunately for me I lost my plug at 1am on the Thursday and had to go into the hospital for monitoring, was sent home and then at 1am the next night went back in established labour so by the time I had DS I hadn't slept for two nights!! :sleeping:
Hopefully this means for you that your baby isn't far off... so rest up big!!
Girls - I'm a bit of a wreck this afternoon. DH goes back to work tomorrow and I'm going to miss him sooo much! I know I can cope with the baby... but feel so lonely and isolated at the thought of being by myself with the baby. Which is weird given that I've been by myself during the day during pregnancy and pre-pregnancy so this should be no different. I guess I'm still hormonal from the birth and b/feeding. Hopefully I'll feel better after I survive one day by myself. I never knew having a baby would mess with my emotions so much (don't think I've ever cried so much in my life).
sparklesare
23-05-2010, 17:42
Big hugs Angeleish I know how you feel. I've been feeling really edgy and nervous today at the thought of having both boys home this week and how I'm going to manage and get through a day. Your doing a fantastic job with DS and it's normal to feel what we are. Be kind to yourself tomorrow who cares if your not out of your jarmies till late arvi, I've done that, who cares if you get nothing else done except feeding and looking after DS, that's all you have to do.
hopefulmama2b
23-05-2010, 17:48
Cat- oohh how exciting!! I never lost my muccus plug naturally :no: lol
It feels really surreal that today is the day I have been waiting for for like 9 months and I already have my little man lol. I, like Sparkles, can't imagine being pregnant now, but because it just feels surreal now and I am so glad to have my body back.. even if it does come with a poochy tummy lol.
Sparkles- a month omg- happy birthday little men! Billy is three weeks today, you are right where does the time go?
angel- :hugs: I was the same as you when DH went back to work but now I'm kicking him out the door in the morning so Billy and I can have mummy and baby time.. aww i love writing that, I love being a mummy LOL :goodvibes: hahaha
Oh yeah sparkles, I have done that with the pjs in the afternoon- as far as I am concerned, looking after Billy is number 1- house cleaning, me getting dressed, the doorbell, the phone etc allll comes second.
:hugs: Angeleish - you know you'll be fine but I'm guessing that first day is going to be a bit of a shock! Hopefully you'll end up like Hopeful soon and you'll be pushing DH out the door!
Mine was also pink but not bloody - I, of course, had to go and grab the baby book so I could figure out whether to panic or not! It said pink was OK but red was not so I think I'm OK. I've had odd cramps and aches since I lost it so I won't be surprised if I wake up tomorrow with some serious cramping and contractions! I'm also absolutely exhausted despite getting a stack of sleep - probably my body telling me to have an early night! I'm hoping I get a bit more sleep than you managed to, Angeleish :)
Sparkles - good luck this week!!! How exciting - you'll be in your element once you have both of your boys home! And happy month birthday to Finn and Oliver!
Hopeful - Happy three weeks to Billy! You absolutely sound like you are completely loving this whole mummy caper!!! Can't wait to join you in that experience!!!
Cat - I have everything crossed that labour is not too far off. I never noticed losing my plug, I had a bit of extra discharge for a few weeks leading up to it, but no bloody show as such.
Angel - I'm sure the first day will seem daunting but every day after that you'll start to get more and more confident. You sound like you are doing a fantastic job.
hopefulmama2b
23-05-2010, 20:01
oh cat i got NO sleep the night before being I had Billy as I was too nervous and if I knew then what i know now- get some sleep woman! I was drifting off between contractions it was not good!!!!
Angeleish you can do it and will be so proud of yourself once the day is over!!
Oh I'm shattered. DD was up from 1130am to 7pm today crying mostly, she got so overtired she couldn't even sleep!!! Hope we have another good night now.
Cat, thinking of you!!
angeleish
24-05-2010, 09:28
cat - sounds very promising. I hope baby is on his/her way as we speak. :goodvibes:
earth has also been quiet lately. I wonder if anything is happening for her. :detective:
jet - My little man was like your girl yesterday. Didn't want to sleep at all. I'm hoping that since I'm by myself today he will behave a bit more! (Especially since he had a bit of a rough night!!)
nikki - How are you feeling now?
Thanks for all the positive thoughts girls. I know I can do it, that's not the problem. I just feel so isolated at the moment. I'm going to head out to the shops this morning to run some errands just to get me out of the house a bit.
mattysmum75
24-05-2010, 09:36
Congrats Surfgirl!! Love her name!:yelclap:
Cat - sounds like its all about to happen. I lost my plug a week before, but when I started having AF cramps I lost more, than it all seemed to happen. Will be thinkin of you!
Nikki - sorry you werent well. Hope your feelin better.
Hi girls. DD was great last night, bathtime works wonders, even though she goes nuts getting dried! Hoping to head to local Westfield when she wakes up. Need more spew rags!
Is anybody using grobags yet? I think we will when she hits 4kg cos she's chewing on the wrap to suck her fingers! What do you dress them in though? And how do you differentiate between night and day? We use an extra blanket at night... Oh it's all so confusing. And she's pretty much too long for 0000 wondersuits now so have to get some 000. Mum said just cut the feet off the suit but that would mean socks going AWOL in the middle of the night so no thanks!
Nikki how you feeling?
Angeleish did you get out yet?
angeleish
24-05-2010, 11:24
jet - nope I'm still at home!! I'm all ready to go and the house is organised for the day... but DS is asleep and doesn't seem to want to wake anytime soon!!! lol. Typical!!! He didn't sleep well last night so I think I'll just be patient and let him rest!
wishing - well done on the feeding! If it helps DS usually feeds for about 50 minutes at night too. Our usual pattern is feed one side, burp and nappy change, feed other side and straight back to bed. Usually this whole process takes about 50 mins to one hour. If your boy is feeding for that long then chances are he is getting a good feed. My DS put on 300 grams in one week following this routine!
How scary about the rash! Hopefully they are right and it's nothing to wory about.
jetgirl - our DS loves the bath but hates the drying process too!! And you're right it does wear them out nicely!! :yes: We have tried growbags on and off. sometimes we have luck sometimes we don't. We have a 2.5 tog one. I just have him in a singlet and wondersuit underneath and then wrap him in a light wrap (as his hands keep him awake). If it is particularly cold I put a light blanket on but this shouldn't be necessary (we are in Melbourne though so it is pretty cold!).
ooh DS is stirring!!! Time for a quick feed then I'm off to the shops!! :thumbsup:
Woohoo go angeleish, enjoy being out!! Thanks for the grobag info!
sparklesare
24-05-2010, 13:00
Sounds like we are all getting out and about today...yay! Melbourne is a cool today. Was up with the sparrows this morning so walked F down the beach and back again. He slept the whole way which was nice and Mummy got her morning coffee on the way home!
Angeleish: Well done for getting out and about!! Hope DS enjoyed it and your day has been a good one so far.
Wishing: Master F & O both have the hormonal pimples that you are finding on your DS. I panicked a bit at first also when I saw them come up. Master F has a lot on his nose area too. :yes:
EarthAngel75
24-05-2010, 13:24
Im still here and waiting lol nothing much happening other than bouts of cramps on and off. Saw the ob this morning and had bt to check my iron levels due to the dizzy spells. also having another u/s on Friday to check growth. Mum arrives on thurs so will start going for long walks lol in hopes it sets something off!
Mattysmum: so good to see you back in here. Way to go on your successful VBAC - gives me hope :)
Jet: I will be using growbags from birth. Your bag should have come with instructions on what to put underneath for the room temp but if not it's on the UK grobag website: http://www.gro.co.uk/Grobag-baby-sleep-bags/View-all-products.html
We have a baby monitor that gives us the room temp so we will be going by that and plan to keep the room at 18-20c all the time via heating so will use a 2.5tog bag and a jumpsuit underneath.
Wishing: Those spots sound completely normal :) They usually start to appear after 2w and can last for several weeks (and then cradle cap starts up lol!). DD had heaps of them when we brought her home at 3w old.
angel: Hope you had fun out at the shops with ds :)
Sparkles: I hope everything goes smoothly with bringing Oliver home and that you settle into a good routine easily with them both.
sparklesare
24-05-2010, 14:28
Lol Wishing F does that to me with the wee's too!! Gets me all the time :-)
Wishing thanks for the update. Forgot I actually posted the BDM thing so have no receipt and now have to fill in the stupid centrelink online form again cos they only give you 2 weeks from when you hit submit :(
Earth, I'm confused by the Grobag instructions cos it mentions pj tops or long sleeved bodysuits under the growsuits which sounds like a mission. We currently have her in a singlet and growsuit so if we only need the growsuit then will she need a cardi when not in bed? Very hard to know!!
Target has Bonds wondersuits for 7.50!!!
Wishing and Sparkles, believe it or not, girls can aim their wee too :( and DD has nappy rash aswell, hope the sudocreme does the trick. Would have to lay a hundred towels down to let air at it!!!
sparklesare
24-05-2010, 17:10
Thanks for the Wondersuit tip Jet that's really cheap!! Can never have too many!
Well my little man O has come home this afternoon. Two bubs in the backseat of our car, felt like we were driving with a 5 tier wedding cake across the back seat!!!
All the nurses gave him a big kiss and cuddle on his way out, I cried naturally!! :-)
Yeah Sparkles I couldn't believe it! Got 5 in 000. Wonder how long they'll last!! I think they shrink in the dryer sadly...
Wow how exciting that you have both your boys home :) have you some help?
Another unsettled afternoon :( that's like 4 in a row... Please just be a phase/growth spurt!!
lilypily
24-05-2010, 18:34
Sparkles... Just want to jump in and say how wonderful it would have been to drive both your boys home this afternoon. Good Luck having them both there, hope your new routein will go to plan and not drive mum to too much lack of sleep.... Take care honey. xxx
:yelclap: Sparkles - welcome home to Oliver!!!
Well I'm still here - this baby has settled in for the long haul. Angeleish - I'm now in your territory - overdue and over it!
sparklesare
24-05-2010, 19:58
Lilly: thx so much hun, quite surreal having two little ones here now!
Just managed to get through bath, feed and both currently snoozing and grunting in the nursery prob wondering who the he'll is next to them!!!
I hear you Jet re the shrinkage they do a bit, but as if I'm not going to tumble dry!!! I need more too. Can't believe that price they are normally heaps more.
May all our little darlings sleep soundly tonight and give us Mummies some sleep...amen!
Well done Wishing! There's hope for us yet eh. I got DD on today too once. Wish it worked every time. Know what you mean about being over the shields. Even aside of the inconvenience, how much nicer does it feel having them on the actual boob!!!! Awesome weight loss. I would love to know how I'm going. Back in normal jeans now I swear I'm thinner than before getting UTD and I'm having at least one chocolate bar a day!!!
hopefulmama2b
24-05-2010, 21:08
sparkles- enjoy your two little men at home together hun xxxxxxx
cat- I hope bubs is on their way for you!!!!
Would you girls believe that I do not have a dryer? I have ducted heating and have a clothes airer situated over the vent in Billys room and I wash and hang his stuff on their to dry. It generally dries overnight so its pretty quick.
Thanks Wishing! I didn't get much sleep last night because I kept expecting every cramp to turn into a contraction!
Hopeful - I also don't have a dryer (or ducted heating) - I'm thinking it might be cheaper to get a dryer than to end up having to buy twice as many clothes!!!
hopefulmama2b
24-05-2010, 22:17
Cat- when I was wandering around big w last week they had this cute teeny dryer in there- and if i didnt have the ducted heating i would have bought it just coz it was soo cute lol.
I was dying to get out of the house today, just for a walk down the road to gloria jean, but didnt make it as the weather was so ****. Mum is coming over tomorrow so will go out then. I feel a little stircrazy stuck in the house :dizzy:
Sparkles - congrats on having both boys home together finally, you must be thrilled :)
Jet / Wishing - the first couple of weeks the weight comes of quickly, I haven't weighed myself in the last week though so I have no idea what I'm at now. I've lost my appetite though because of my gall bladder though so I'm not eating like a horse, more like a mouse :no: and I still express every 3 - 5 hours.
Hopeful - I get stir crazy too. I had DS in the Baby Carrier today walking around the shops, he was quiet for the whole time, he just loves walking around with me and he doesn't get fazed by all the loud noises and people.
EarthAngel75
25-05-2010, 08:02
Good morning girls :)
Hope all you mummies got an ok night sleep :)
Wow - it seems a lot of you have bubbas with nappy rash. DD never really had nappy rash while at home but got it very bad in both the Canberra hospital and at Westmead. Makes me wonoder about the newer huggies nappies as they have changed how they are made since we had dd. As for nappy free time - you dont have to go totally nappy-less. Put a nappy on them but don't do it up and leave some air circulating between the top part of the nappy and their bodies. Doing this will air out the area while also usually preventing pee from getting everywhere lol
Jet: If you kept the room heated while she slept all you would need is a growsuit and the grobag. If it's not heated skip the singlet and put on a long sleeved bodysuit under the growsuit (need something doubled over her arms otherwise she'll get cold) and then the grobag. You have to layer if not using heating just like you would normally layer blankets. I find all aussie made clothing shrinks in the dryer as nothing here has been pre-shrunk. Was quite a learning curve for me when i moved here as most things are preshrunk in North America as we use dryers all year long over there. Ohh and babies usually have a very unsettled period at some stage during the day (and it usually does happen every day) and usually from 5-7pm or so. It's known as witching hour lol.
Sparkles: YAY for having Oliver home. You must be so excited. I hope you had a reasonable night with them both home for the first time :)
Wishing: woohooo for the weight loss! I hope I can pull that off too!
Hopeful: I know plenty of people here in Canberra who use their ducted heating to dry their clothes too. If you're going to have the heating on anyways it makes sense to use it to dry your clothes too - and saves you HEAPS on electricity bills! I will be doing this too once my mum arrives and we have to have the heating on for her. We do have a dryer and I put towels/sheets etc thru it as they take too long to dry otherwise but all clothes etc go on the clothes horse in front of our inverter and dry within the day quite easily.
Cat: Hopefully something happens for you soon :) As for it being cheaper to have a dryer than buy twice the number of clothes - I'm not so sure about that. Dryers are VERY $$$ to run unless you spend well over $1000 on one rated 3 stars or so. You also get into the habit of using them as it's quicker/faster then hanging stuff on the line when you're tired/sleep deprived etc. They are convienant though for emergencies. We do have one but I try hard not to use it (though always do for towels/bedding) as it just adds so much to the electricity bills.
angeleish
25-05-2010, 08:39
Sparkles - Congratulations on finally having both of your boys home. It must be so great after so long. I'm sure your boys are loving it too!!
cat - Sorry to hear your baby hasn't cooperated and beat it's due date!! I found every day past my due date like ground hog day just making sure the house is organised and waiting for action. Hang in there. The wait is worth it. In the mean time feel free to complain.
can't type much as bub is stirring. Congrats to all of those who are having more success with their b/feeding. :yelclap:
hopefulmama2b
25-05-2010, 11:51
Earth- we use huggies and have no nappy rash so far. I think nappy rash is just one of those things that babies get? most parents I know their bubs have had it at least once?
Girls, is it comon to have hormonal changes after having a baby? Since giving birth I have had a few yuck headaches and I never got headaches before.. and my skin is a little drier than before?
my breastfeeding days are sadly over lol- Billy just never took to it and my supply is sooo low- like 20-30 mls a day? I am expressing still but only so I don't leak as I do a little if I don't express.. but I think my supply will dry up shortly.
Hopeful - don't feel bad, my supply is high but my baby is still screaming at me every time I put him on so I am going to express for as long as is practical then he'll have to move to a mix of EBM and formula. I'm sad about it because I have the supply and I'm willing but I can't force him if he refuses :no:
As for hormonal changes, I would imagine a lot of changes are completely normal. All those hormones changing from pregnancy to breast feeding back to normal are bound to have some effect.
Earth - Liam has nappy rash every few days, very mild as I catch it early and put cream on. I think it depends on how often they have a dirty nappy. He has about 7 a day and the midwife said some babies will only have 1-2 a day, so I figure the more he has the more likely he will be to have a rash. He's not overly bothered by it though unless I don't treat it. We use Huggies too.
Nikki I agree re the nappy rash. The poos are more substantial now so it's not that surprising lol. The sudocreme is great for it I must say. Nikki it must be very hard for you re the BFing. You've done so well, I hope you are proud of yourself.
Hopeful, I also agree with Nikki re the hormonal changes. I still cry at the drop of a hat and get cranky over little things. My skin is crazy dry too. And my hair seems a bit flat now I think of it.
I'm finding I get moments of hating this mummy lark and moments where I just love it. Such a rollercoaster.
Jet - having to accept my little boy may not ever breast feed makes me a bit sad, I had hopes of bonding through breast feeding but we are now bonding through play and cuddles instead. At the end of the day I have to do what is best for him and what makes him content, if breast feeding stresses him out that much there is no point driving him to screaming matches just because it would be my ideal. He gets breastmilk either way and I will keep expressing at least once a day for quite a while yet just to give him that breast milk boost.
cat - Sorry to hear your baby hasn't cooperated and beat it's due date!! I found every day past my due date like ground hog day just making sure the house is organised and waiting for action. Hang in there. The wait is worth it. In the mean time feel free to complain.
Groundhog day exactly! It's like waiting to go on a holiday but not knowing when you're actually leaving! I'm even reluctant to have too much food in the fridge in case it all goes to waste! Crazy, I know. I'm obsessed with keeping on top of the washing and cleaning and keep doublechecking my suitcase! On the bright side, I've convinced DH to go out for breakfast the last two days (am going for the trifecta tomorrow) - I'm concentrating on my favourite Melbourne haunts which will be too small to take a pram!
Also on the plus side - I'm learning an awful lot from you all - bfing sounds so daunting and I'm so impressed you are handling it all so well - even when it doesn't work out the way you would hope. You're all doing so well for your little bubs - you should all be so proud of yourselves.
Cat hopefully all our BF issues make it easier on you if you have any dramas. My big problem was that I had no idea beforehand that it could be so hard, I only thought it might hurt, not that all these other issues could crop up.
Cat - I hope you have a baby that just latches on straight away and you have no major issues. I know what you mean about the count down, I think I cleaned my house every day before my due date just to be prepared.
Thanks Jet - I wish it was easy for everyone. I always hear two conflicting points of view: 1. "I don't know what everyone complains about, it's so easy and natural" and 2. "It's so hard, it can hurt and it's just not working". My sis and some very close friends have really struggled and I think, for me, it's been something I've been thinking about most of all during this entire pregnancy. The good thing is that it's distracting me from labour but I don't want to over-think it either! I've got cold packs already but I'll be definitely on here looking for other suggestions once I get home from the hospital because I'm definitely not taking it for granted that this whole bfing thing is just going to come naturally! I really do admire you all - it's great that you are all so honest, especially when things are not going quite to plan.
EarthAngel75
26-05-2010, 08:00
Hopeful: you gave BFing a shot and Billy got some so you did fabulous! :)
Nikki: Sorry to hear that Liam doesnt seem to want the breast. At least you're expressing for him so he's still getting BM and that will do him lots of good :) Expressing is such hard work. I did it for 6mths for dd and then just couldnt do it anymore as the practicality of it just wasn't there.
while most babies do get nappy rash it does depend a lot on the nappy. Some people's babies wont get nappy rash at all in cloth but do immediatly in disposibles, others will be opposite. Some react to different brands etc (depend on the chemicals/materials of the nappy). I think we have some of the old Huggies here from dd in NB size as well as a box of the new so maybe ill get to try them both out and see if there's a difference if ds doesnt grow out of them too quickly. How often they poo probably does make quite the difference though - never thought of that and dont remember if dd was a poo-er or not. I just know she never really had nappy rash while at home.
Ohh now Ive been meaning to ask were any of you given the whooping cough booster whilst in hospital after giving birth? It was my understanding that is what happened last year. I know Jet had to go to the GP to get hers. Maybe there's a difference between going private vs public in this regard?
AFM: my ob called yesterday arvo with news that some bt result had me .1 over on a BP problem which means my BP might not hold steady/normal until the end. I have to go into the hospital tomorrow for a BP check - great day for it considering my mum is arriving and we're supposed to be going to our body corp AGM! So far though it's been in the 120's over 78-84 but that's creeping up from where it has been. Great way to add to my stress levels which doesnt help with high BP! Now I'm quite desperate to go early otherwise another Cesear may not be avoidable.
Earth - good luck with your appointment today hopefully everything will be ok and you'll get your chance at a VBAC :fingerscrossed:
I don't think we had the whooping cough vaccine, we had the Hep B vaccine. They were offering the TB vaccine to high risk children as well but we didn't fit the high risk category.
mattysmum75
26-05-2010, 14:26
Hi all, I think I have 5 mins to myself and not be a feeding machine!
i haven't read back all the posts so I hope everyone is doing well!
I had the whooping cough vaccine the day after i had my bub. They wanted my DH to go get it at the local GP too, since we are both primary caregivers to Kate. I live on the Gold coast so maybe they have had an outbreak here so are more likely to give it out.
Everything is going well., I'm glad I avioded being booked for a ceaser by one day! I went into labour early Tuesday mornin and was to see the specialist at lunch time that day to book for the ceaser on the wednesday, phew! I'm glad too that I had read up all about the vbac, I felt really confident and the midwives were awesome! I was restricted to the monitors but I had a gym ball set up and I didn't get hooked up until they started being really intense. My waters were broken at 6:45 am and I delivered at 7:45am, no drugs, labour was about 7 hrs. It was everything I had hoped it would be minus of course the pain, but you forget about that as the days go by and you look at your little miracle!
i hope everything works out for you earthangel and your BP is ok.
Cat - thinkin of you too
Nicely done mattysmum!
Just had another home visit - up 170g in 7 days yeaaaaah!!!! And I've lost 10kg!!! I'm actually lighter now than before getting utd!
Oh and I'm meant to be keeping her upright for 10-15 mins after a feed, which might explain all the spewing ESP at night cos I'm too keen to get back into bed!!
hopefulmama2b
26-05-2010, 16:17
Mattysmum- well done! I still haven't forgotten the pain and don't think I ever will lol- all my baby-less friends have asked me how was it and they don't my answer because I am too honest apparantly lol.
Jet- yup I am the same, too eager to get back to bed lol. Backfired on me last night. Fed him at 11pm then hopped into bed and had him wingeing till 2am when I decided to feed him again- not sure if he was just in a mood, didn't seem to be too gassy. He drifted off after 2am and then woke again at about 5:30am so I got a little sleep. Well done on Mauves weight gain and ur loss!
dh is taking me and Billy out to dinner tonight :) will take him in the pram :yes:
Hopeful I'm glad I'm not the only who cheats at night :) wow dinner out. Good on you guys. Let us know how it goes!! Where you off to?
Hopeful - enjoy your dinner out :) I have to be honest with friends, labour is not easy but it is less painful than gall stone attacks I assure you! I wish that on no-one :no:
Mattysmum - good work on the labour and managing 7 hours without drugs!
Jet - I've lost around 10kg too and am lighter now than before pregnancy. I would ideally like to lose another 5 but I need to do that slowly to make sure it stays off. Breast feeding probably helps too. I usually burp Liam for about 5 min after a feed and wait for that big burp, if I don't and put him down too soon he spews as well. I agree though in the middle of the night it's so tempting to just put them down again esp if they are dozy and half asleep!
angeleish
26-05-2010, 18:03
oh I'm glad I'm not the only one who slackens off on the middle of the night burping. Luckily my little one isn't too gassy or spewy!
hopeful - don't give yourself a hard time over the b/feeding. Your little boy has got the most important breast milk in the first few weeks of his life and I'm sure he will thrive on formula anyway. Have a great night out with your DH and Billy!
jet - great work on the weight gain for maeve and the weight loss for you!! Super effort.
mattysmum - Well done on having your vbac!! Great work!! Sounds like a good labour too! You must notice the difference in recovery to last time.
earth - sorry that your bp is giving you a hard time. Maybe with your mum here, she can take over some of the housework and it may help your levels lower. (May not but I'm just clutching at straws for you).
Nikki - you have done so well with the expressing. It must be hard when baby doesn't want to attach well. If it helps, when I was in hospital and in the breast feeding room, difficult to attach and babies who didn't want to suck were the most common problems amongst new mums, so you are certainly not alone!
cat - your days at home sound like mine once I was over due. How far over is your ob letting you go before you get induced? When you go into natural labour though it will be so worth the wait. I have everything crossed that things happen soon for you as I can't wait to find out what you are having!!!
AFM - I must be nuts. Despite ending up with an episiotomy, tearing, forceps, manual removal of the placenta, significant blood loss etc... I actually enjoyed my birth experience!! Strange I know, but I actually enjoyed my birth. I guess it helps that I had an epidural in the last parts of the birth, but even labouring naturally for many, many hours with only gas and the bath, I really enjoyed the experience despite the pain both during .... and after for recovery.
As for whooping cough - we weren't even spoken to about this at the hospital. We went private but maybe it isn't a priority in victoria. I will be booking in at the GP this week though to have my shot and DH can have his done soon too.
We had a shockingly unsettled afternoon and early evening last night with DS.... but the up-side is that after his 9pm feed he slept for ........................ (insert large drum roll here)............. 6 hours!!!! Unbelievable. I think he just wore himself out! My poor breasts were killing me when we eventually woke up for a feed. Since then though he has been back to his 2-4 hourly feed so I guess it was just a once off!!
Thanks Mattysmum and Angel.
Angel - I'll probably be induced about a week over...depends on the fetal monitoring I'm having every second day from now on.
lillyjack
26-05-2010, 18:56
Hi girls :wave: - just had to read back about 6 pages because you all chat way too much :D
Angeleish - so glad you enjoyed your birth - even with all the dramas. It's a pretty satisfying experience and you get a huge sense of acheivement when you make it through, particularily if you had a rough time!
Nikki, Jet & wishing - congrats on all the weight loss. I have not lost anything since 2 days after coming home from the hospital :(
Glad to hear you are all doing well and getting out and about with bubs!
Oh and someone mentioned the hormonal pimples - poor little DD is covered in them as well as a blotchy rash!
LillyJack - you are tiny so your body probably didn't need to lose any more weight, whereas I could still stand to lose a few more kg... Sorry to hear about the rash, Liam has started to get little pimples on his cheek, sweat rash from where he sleeps I think.
Cat - the daily monitoring is a pain isn't it, I had that for the last few weeks and although it's reassuring it's a bit inconvenient.
Angel - I doubt we'll get attached now, he really doesn't want to and everyone I have spoken to have said I am doing everything right in regards to attaching him he just doesn't want to. I am glad you are getting into breastfeeding, I think it would be great to have the food on tap like that! Like you I enjoyed my labour experience as well, even without any drugs. I found it really empowering plus the reward at the end is worth it all!
Wishing - 230g is great! Glad to hear it's all going well for you :)
angeleish
27-05-2010, 08:58
Nikki - That is a shame that you have had such a hard time getting him to take to the breast feeding. For what its worth you have gone above and beyond with expressing for him. You've done such a great job. Expressing is hard work and you deserve a medal for keeping it up so well especially given that you have been sick as well. Well done on being so persistent.
cat - not long now then. I had regular monitoring towards the end too but didn't mind as it kept me reassured that everything was okay. Take it easy. Your little one will be here soon. This is such an exciting time in the lead up to your little one's birth!
wishing - that is one huge bill!!! I hope you can claim a fair amount back. I haven't got my bill for the epidural yet but final bills for the ob and paed have totaled $2500. Thank goodness I'll get most of that back.
I hear you on feeding and eating at the same time. I'm sure when he married me, my DH never thought that he'd be chopping my dinner into bite sized pieces so I could eat!! Oh the joys. I'm glad your little one is stacking on the weight though. Well done!
EarthAngel75
27-05-2010, 10:39
Nikki: The whooping cough booster is for parents/care givers of babies as babies cannot be fully immunized until they are 6mths old and there have been massive outbreaks of the illness in Australia since 2008. QLD health was definately recommending all parents get the booster still as of Nov 2009 (most recent data i can find online). Babies most often catch it from their mothers and the full vaccine is only good for 10yrs so most older people need the booster.
Mattysmum: good to hear from you and so glad you had such a wonderful birth experience. I hope I can have that too! so far (from checking at home) my BP is not hypertensive yet but is climbing at times - but am starting to wonder if it's due to the stress of this time in pg around what happened with dd and all that.
Jet: Go both you and dd for your weight gain/loss!! That's excellent on both your parts :)
Hopeful: Hope you had a lovely dinner out with dh and billy last night :)
Wishing: your ds sounds like he's putting on lots of weight - way to go with the feeding. Dont worry if you're not getting out and about yet - I think it's a lot harder to do after a cesear esp one that wasn't planned. You'll be out and about soon enough I'm sure!
Angel: I think it's wonderful you had such a great birth experience even with all the complications you experienced. It does wonders for one's emotional well being when you have such a great experience :)
Lilly: ohh I remember the blotchy rash well! How's the house selling going?
AFM: well my mum is currently up in Syd airport hehe waiting for a bus to bring her down to Canberra. I'm waiting for 3pm when I have to head up to delivery suite and do this bp monitoring business. My BP was stable at 120s over 84 all of yesterday and has dropped back down into the 70s today so far and hopefully it will stay there for another 1.5w and I can get this baby to make a move on time! Thinking I may need a few consecutive days of accupuncture next week to see if it will help start labour. Ive been drinking about 8+ cups of RLT a day lol
Earth - good luck on getting baby moving soon, fingers crossed he will arrive soon for you. I bet you are excited about seeing your mum soon too :) I've had boosters for the whooping cough already, I know that they keep having outbreaks around the country though, I had it when I was six years old and it was horrible, I was lucky to have been immunised though so it wasn't as bad as it could have been.
Angel - expressing is hard work but I want to keep it up until 12 weeks then go down to expressing twice a day and using formula. It will be a bit sad to have to go that way because I was hoping to be breast feeding for 8-12 months but I get the feeling with children very few things go to plan and I might as well get used to the fact that he has his own ideas about how things will pan out :p
hopefulmama2b
27-05-2010, 11:21
Dinner was great, the waiter gave us a table near a wall sort of so I could have the pram against that and not close to anyone else iykwim. The waiter said to me, "Ohh he looks like a newie" and I said YUP he is :). Popped into mum and dads after for a chance for them to have a Billy cuddle and us to have a coffee.
Cat- hurry up bubs! It must suck to have to wait, i wouldn't know!
Earth- your bp is not too bad and because it hasn't been an issue thru out the preg u should be ok? mine was 180/105 at times thru out the pregnancy lol.
Lilyj- Yeah I haven't lost a great deal of weight since my initial 7 kilos- i'm about 8-8.5 now but i guess slow and steady is not a bad thing? I'm putting it down to the fact that I am not BF lol
EarthAngel75
27-05-2010, 11:35
Hopeful: your BP sounds like mine was with dd and no this time mine hasnt been like that. If anything it's been on the low side for most of the pg. Usual for me the bottom number is usually 74 or 76. I'm wondering if the ob is thinking it may turn into late set PE or something as I had a cracker of a headache last week that slowly went away with 2 panadol but came back while i was sleeping and woke me up. I'm also waking up with swollen hands - they go down over the course of the day usually but waking up swollen is unusual i think. Come on baby I say LOL! I think they dont like to medicate for BP this far into pg either and prefer to just take baby out but will find all these things out if need be I guess.
Nikki: Ive had whooping cough too - twice LOL! two years in a row in my early teens at almost the exact same day/mth both years. Has your DH had his booster?
Wishing they are big bills!! My epi was 340 I think after refunds and paed was 340 but Medicare gave me back 180...
Well no spews last night thanks to the 15min upright thing. No tummy time yet today though cos by the time she has both boobs, nappy change and 15 mins upright she's asleep!!! Hopefully she will get faster at feeding lol mummy needs entertainment. Was gonna try the bouncer tomorrow but now not so sure!
I'm so sick of leaking all thru my pjs and sheets...
Oh the shield weaning is not going well. I can only get her on using the football hold but my wrists can't handle that anymore :(
Jet - the leaking thing is annoying, if it's any consolation I have found by expressing routinely my bbs are getting used to when they need to fill and are not leaking as much in between anymore. Maybe once Maeve starts to feed routinely the same thing will happen to you?
Hopeful - that's not a bad loss, steady loss is better for you anyway.
Well I have been told I need to have surgery to have my gall bladder out and in the meantime the only treatment is painkillers, strong ones... with the occasional trip to the the ER for morphine. Lets say I am not in a good mood today :no:
Earth - I don't think that he has had his booster but they didn't mention it in hospital or before. They seem more worried about TB up here because our proximity to PNG.
angeleish
27-05-2010, 14:23
Nikki - that is horrible. Do they have any idea when your surgery will be? No wonder you are not in a good mood. :hugs:
Oh jeez Nikki that is terrible. You poor thing. Are you still able to express with the painkillers? Thanks for the info re leaking. I might start wearing BF singlets to bed so I can use pads lol. Keep us posted on the gall bladder thing. You poor soul.
hopefulmama2b
27-05-2010, 14:42
that sucks Nikki- have you booked in for surgery? I was booked in but ended up down at the hospital one friday night with a reallll bad attack and they removed my gall bladder the next morning- you will feel SO much better once its gone. Did you only just recently start having gall bladder attacks? I really feel for you, i remember how painful they were xx
We're all falling apart :( I had an MRI yesterday of my brain. Should get the results tomorrow. It's to see if I have an aneurism waiting to pop cos my dad had one rupture 4 years ago and we just found out 3 of his 5 siblings have the same thing, as did his dad, so they're all having operations to clip off the aneurism and all descendants over 30 need to be tested. I don't know if DD will have to be tested one day. I'm quietly terrified I have it cos of my migraines but you'd think it would have ruptured while pushing out DD... It never ends does it. You spend years TTC then 9 months worrying about getting out a healthy baby and you'd think you'd have earned a break by now!!! Nikki you must be very frustrated.
angeleish
27-05-2010, 15:59
OMG - jet how scary. I have everything crossed that your MRI shows nothing scary. How terrifying. I hope everything is okay. Please let us know how you get on.
Jet - oh I'm so sorry to hear what you are going through, it's just not fair. We jumped through the hoops of fire to get our little bundles and it just keeps knocking us down. Am hoping it all comes back clear for you :hugs:
Yes I can express with painkillers as long as I only take as directed and don't over do them. Thankfully, that would just be the icing on the cake to be told I can't even express anymore.
Hopeful - my doctor has me on the waiting list for surgery but he says it could be months, in the meantime he said not to be shy about going to ER when I have an attack, if I keep showing up there they will bump me up the list and if it's an emergency they'll whip it out straight away. I have my painkillers on standby. It's just so much harder now with a newborn and no family living nearby, every trip to ER means he'll have to come with us and ER is not a nice place to hang out on a Friday night :no:
Good on you wishing, I can't be bothered changing the sheets ;)
How can you tell the difference between wanting to suck vs being hungry?
EarthAngel75
28-05-2010, 06:10
Nikki: I'm so sorry to hear about the gall bladder issues. That's really awful especially to have it all happen right after having ds. I know someone down here who's been waiting to have hers removed for well over a year now as the waiting lists in the ACT are really bad. Is there any option to have it done privately where you are?
Jet: Oh my gosh - I hope your MRI comes back clear and you don't have to worry about any aneurisms. It's good to know about your family history though so you know there's a chance etc. My DH's mother knows absolutely nothing about her family and both her parents have now been long dead so we know nothing about that side which really sucks medically. As for knowing whether bubs is hungry or just wants to suck - either try a dummy and if she happily takes it she just wants to suck. Or if you're putting her on the boob but she doesnt take a full feed she's not really hungry (and this is the pattern/behavoir that can lead to a baby that snacks all day instead of feeding properly). Also if a baby has taken a full feed they generally aren't hungry again for 2-3 hours so if they are acting like they want to suck sooner than that they are probably just wanting to suck and not feed. Ill see if my baby whisperer book has got info on this I can copy into here for you later :)
AFM: well went into hospital for my BP check yesterday and of course they were overly busy so had to wait forever. She checked my BP which was 154/80 as I always get white coat hypertension in the hospital so she checked for protiens in my urine and found some so of course I had to go have the full blood work done. Good news is though my blood work came back just fine - in fact better levels this time then when i went thru the same thing when pg with dd which is a real relief as I never developed PE with her. Have an u/s this morning to check on growth and placenta etc.
angeleish
28-05-2010, 10:33
earth - OMG look at your ticker!! Moving so nicely for you now! I hope baby comes before its final eviction date for you. Good luck for your u/s this morning and enjoy having your mum around to spoil and look after you!
jet - I'm no expert so you may not want my advice... but for my DS I can tell when he is just "sucking" as his jaw movements change. Usually he does small sucks followed by some big gulps. When he is just comfort sucking it is just small little sucks and hardly any gulps. He also tends to start letting go a little and slips further down the breast towards the nipple. Maybe if you're unsure you could ring the breast feeding hotline. I rang the other night and the lady was awesome (despite it being 10pm and her being a volunteer giving up her own time). Thinking of you today and hope you get some good news from your MRI.
cat - hello???? Any baby yet??? Getting very excited here for you. Hope baby doesn't keep you waiting too much longer. I made it 4 days over with my little man. How far over are you now? Maybe your baby is trying to beat my record (for your sake I hope not!).
nikki - How are you going? You've had so much to deal with too. Hope you are okay.
Sparkles - has been quiet here lately. I'm guessing she's got her hands full with her two boys. I hope having them home is going well for her.
AFM - I'm really starting to get used to this mummy business. We had a tough time at first with my recovery and DS's unsettled nights but now we are past that I am enjoying this so much more. He is so cute that sometimes I just look at him and want to cry as the long wait TTC for him was so worth it.
In saying that though I really miss being pregnant. I loved my pregnancy and can only hope that I get to do it again some day. (Not for a while yet though.... need to get used to having this little one around first! :))
Angel - glad to hear that motherhood is agreeing with you! I'm sure that you'll get the chance to repeat the experience in the future :)
Earth - the waiting list here is about 9 months, so we'll see how I go until then. Timing is not great that's for sure. Glad to hear your levels came back ok after testing, you are nearly there!
Jet - I use a dummy, he likes to suck on it after meals to drift to sleep or sometimes to relieve wind but will usually spit it out as soon as he is sleepy. It's a comfort thing, I think in some cultures babies are just permanently attached to the boob regardless of whether they are feeding or just comfort sucking. Babies just feel relaxed and secure sucking on things.
Thanks for the tips girls! Angeleish that sounds similar to DD - do you let DS suck away?
Earth, glad to hear your bloods came back ok!
My results are in and I can go pick them up any time... haha like "any time" means anything around here anymore! Hoping to walk up after the next feed...
Sparkles must be buggered! I just can't imagine having 2. Even last night I was thinking I can't imagine doing this with a toddler running around aswell... I guess you just get through it though eh!
allyoop8
28-05-2010, 14:23
hi girls
sorry i haven't been around nate is doing really well but it's very hard to walk out of the room with seth around he wakes nate and is very affectionate very hard to know what he is going to do
nikki and jet hope everything goes ok
sorry to hear so many of you are having trouble bfing i'm one of the lucky ones no probs here i'm here if anyone wants to asl me anything!
hope all is good with everyone
Woohoo no aneurysms for me :) phew!!!
Ally, does Nate latch on by himself or do you have to shape the boob for him? And go you :)
angeleish
28-05-2010, 17:30
jet - typing one handed so this could take a while!! Firstly congrats on the all clear. Must be such a relief!! :yelclap:
Secondly - when my little munchkin starts sucking instead of feeding i take him off. If I think he has had enough of that particular side then we'll just move on. If I don't think he's had enough I'll try to wake him more and then offer again. I have tried the dummy (numerous brands) but he doesn't really like them..... I think he can't see the point since there is no milk on the end!!! (he's always been a hungry munchkin) :p
Finally in answer to your question to ally about attachment. I have to hold my breast but for the most part don't need to shape as much anymore now that ds has the hang of things.
Ally - Despite my original severe breast engorgement, DS and I have also developed a good b/feeding relationship which I am so grateful for. It must be hard work for those with issues. How cute that Seth is so in awe of his little brother.
angeleish
29-05-2010, 15:31
wishing - glad to hear that the dummy gave you all some much needed rest! My little one will suck the dummy for 5-10 minutes max and once he realises there is no milk on the end just spits it out! I've given up trying to offer it now as a lot of the time he wont even try it. needless to say I am very jealous of your sleeping solution!
As for Daddy time, my little one is a real daddy's boy. If he isn't due for a feed and is unsettled I can't calm him as well as his dad can. Of course at meal time I am his #1 choice, but any other time he settles so much better for DH.
Angel - DS is the same, I smell of milk so I can't settle him as well as daddy or even grandma can if he is waiting for a feed. Once he isn't hungry anymore he isn't fussed who cuddles him though, he just loves cuddles from everyone!
Wishing - I gave in to the dummy about a week ago and I love it. It is a great way to settle him when I know he is not hungry and just wants to suck on things. I don't like using my fingers all the time because I have to keep washing them and I get worried I may have touched something that I don't want him sucking on.
We went out on a picnic today and took lots of happy snaps, DS just loves outings :)
Wishing - Not sure if this is helpful but when Liam was small 1-2 weeks old he would sometimes go 5-6 hours between feeds, he slept a lot and was a lazy feeder. I would force feed him or wake him sometimes for feeds but trust me that changed as soon as he became more aware. In the last two weeks he has perked up, he is more awake and is getting more hungry going only about 3 hours between feeds. The nurse said as long as they are getting around 6 wet nappies a day and are gaining weight it should be fine. Normally a hungry baby won't sleep, I know Liam lets me know in no uncertain terms if he is hungry, there is no need anymore for me to remind him!
I agree with Nikki - if there is no weight issue and there are pooey and wet nappies I leave her sleep. She did 4 hours from midnight and just did 5 from 530!!! Feeds were over an hour mind you!!
Hehe yes wishing I barely slept this morning cos I kept thinking she was waking up :) and then you're afraid to get up in case she wakes mid way thru brekkie or shower :)
we're off to the good guys this arvi to buy a dyson yay!! DH is currently putting up shelves in the laundry. I'm still in my pjs feeding :) did get brekkie though!!
hopefulmama2b
30-05-2010, 11:29
Nikki- Billy is the same as Liam! At first he slept a fair bit and I woke him for feeds. The last few days he has feed every 3 hours and he has been wanting feeds earlier than that!I have tried giving him a little more formula but he doesn't want it- just constant feeding! Mummy is a bit tired lol. He also has his routine all wrong lol- he has his best sleeps from about 5am-10am.. he thinks that that is night time! from 7pm onwards he is wide awake!!
Hope all are well.. Cat, where are ya???? Has bubsy arrived??? Jet- enjoy buying ur Dyson, I love mine. We are going to look at a new couch today! YAY! Wishing, hope the weather stays nice for u
Hopeful the last few days DD has been awake from 11am til 7pm!!!!
How long are your bubs awake between sleeps? By the time we finish feeding lately DD is falling asleep so no playtime :(
sparklesare
30-05-2010, 12:57
hi girls,:wave:
Good to see everyone going well and enjoying mummyhood. Its amazing isnt it? :goodvibes:
The twins are going well. Already developing their own little personalities and really starting to interact which I am loving.
Jet: re awake between sleeps. Master F is generally up during the day about half an hour then gets sleepy and noddy head so straight back down. He sleeps about 4 hours, then up for another feed. Master O I am still working out a bit. But generally only lasts 30mins awake during the day then back down. He is a 3-4 hour sleeper atm.
Im finding Master O is more alert and awake from about 2pm - 5pm..doesnt sleep that great during this time and just happy to be under his play mat or in his swing checking out the world. How long does your DD stay up?
Hi Wishing, Angel...yes been a bit quiet of late..lots going on and just trying to get a bit of a routine happening.. Both of you sound like your doing a great job :yelclap:
Has anyone started mothers group? Jet did you go to yours was it Thursday? HOw was it? Hope it was good. I start mine in my local area in a fortnight. The multiple birth association one has started...thats a great one, albeit its so weird seeing everyone with twin prams and babies everywhere!!
hi to everyone else, hope all going well. Dying to hear Cat's news...I seriously thought bubs would be here by now!
Jet - Liam sleeps in between feeds, not really interested in play or anything other than food an sleep. He might occasionally look around and try and grab for things and make little cooing noises but mostly he just sleeps between feeds.
Hopeful - Liam is the same he sleeps really well between 6am and 10am, so even though I usually like to get up and do things in the morning these days I usually just sleep then. How are you going with formula, do you give Billy water as well?
Wishing - don't worry about trying to keep him awake, he is still very young and they do all their growing and development in their sleep, they need A LOT of sleep. They just have shorter sleep cycles. I let our little man sleep as long as he likes, if he wants to interact he'll let us know, but mostly he just wants to sleep and grow ;)
Oh sweet sounds like we've all got the same thing happening :) I was worrying i wasn't doing enough re development but you girls have put my mind at ease!! As usual :D
Sparkles yes I went to mothers group the week before last. It was nice to see everybody having the same struggles :)
we've had only one short unsettled period today so now I'm thinking tonight is gonna be shee-it...
Sparkles - isn't it great to see them developing their personalities. My little man has started grabbing things, making faces, making noises and talking to stuffed animals. It's so cute to watch the week by week development.
Jet - just saw the dishwasher photo, classic!
sparklesare
30-05-2010, 19:48
Jet: Great to hear mothers group went well. I am really looking forward to mine in a couple weeks...may need to be up with the sparrows to get our A into gear but we will give it a whirl! Great to hear I am not the only one worried about the development stuff too! I was a bit concerned I wasnt doing enough of it. But figure, sleeping babies are a good thing right now! :o All that good stuff can come in time.
Nikki: I know what you mean. Master O is a real little character, full of personality and a cheeky monkey. MAster F is my quiet little one who just takes the world in. I cant believe they are 5 weeks old today...where did that go!!?! I just want that first elusive smile from my boys...cmon already preferably together at the same time of course! :laughing:
Hi Girls :wave:
I'm still floating around! But just a quick one from me, Maddie is waking for a feed.
I'm Cat's SMS buddy. I haven't heard anything yet, as soon as I do, I'll post straight away :yes:.
In the mean time, Earth/Cat hang in there, not long now till you both meet your little bundles :D.
Hope everyone is feeding and sleeping well :p.
We've got the sleeping down pat :sleeping: but still a battle with the feeding :rolleyes:.
Boo, great to see ya :) tell me more about the sleeping?
angeleish
30-05-2010, 21:41
I'm so glad I'm not the only one not doing much "playtime" with baby. During the day when he wakes I tend to feed him one side, nappy change and short "chat" with him and then other side and bed. He is more alert during the day so tends to feed more regularly. During the day we have a lot of 2 hourly feeds (ouch by the end of the day). Where possible I try to stretch him to 3 hours. Our witching hour is after 7pm to about midnight. He is really hard to put down then and doesn't even last two hours before wanting another feed. This is when DH comes in handy with the cuddles. (No point me cuddling him when he wants a feed...... he just wont settle)
Sparkles - great to see you back here. You sound like superwoman mastering both of your babies. As for mother's group I start this week. Apparently DS is kind of in between ages for mothers group. The mother's group they initially had me down for doesn't start for another 9 weeks and he would have been the oldest. I was concerned that I needed some social outlet with other mums before then so insisted I join one earlier so we start this week and he will most likely be the youngest. I'm happy with this though as I can learn more from more "experienced" mummies who have been there done that with his stage of development.
Also, next week I'm doing a settling class at the hospital we birthed at. Apparently we will be learning about sleeping and play routines for young babies. If I learn anything good I'll try to share here!
DS seems to be more alert at the moment and is making much better eye contact. I love it when he just looks at me!! :goodvibes: So wonderful to see!!
wishing - If DS is really unsettled I sometimes let him fall asleep on me. I figure at this stage sometimes he just needs comfort and to know I am there for him. Also, since I don't do it often I'm not too worried about it becoming a bad habit. I figure he's only newborn and cuddly once in his life so it isn't going to hurt.
sparklesare
30-05-2010, 22:11
Angel: hehe no superwoman here I'm the woman flying blind and just winging it one day at a time. This mummy gig is hard work some days. And there is definitely not enough hours in the day anymore!!!
angeleish
31-05-2010, 09:28
oh I hear you sparkles on not enough hours. I also have a new theory that babies should come with a "sleep o meter". Basically the idea is that the meter should have an indicator of how many hours/minutes of sleep baby has left so we can better plan our hours. That way I will know if baby has enough sleeping time left in it for mummy to have a nap too. Alternatively if baby doesn't have much sleep time left mummy can grab a quick cuppa or hang out a small load of washing!! :laughing:
Yes angeleish I like it! I got 4 hrs sleep last night, was gonna go back to bed now but the feed took nearly 2 hrs so I'm wide awake :( brekkie and shower instead!!!
I went to a settling class while in hospy. It was very good, some of it even works ;) but they said bub should take 30 mins to feed!!! Then you play for 30 mins... Hence my earlier question :D
lillyjack
31-05-2010, 11:15
Hi Girls :wave:
Nikki - sorry to hear you have to have surgery. Has the gall bladder only become an issue since giving birth?
Jet - few for no aneuyrisms! That would have been scary but luckily it's all good :yes:
A big hello to everyone else. I don't have much time as I'm supposed to be cleaning and packing away present's from DD's baptism yesterday!
She is 6 weeks today - can't believe it :eek:
Ah lillyj the magic 6 week mark. Everybody tells us that's when it gets easier - please tell me it's true!!!
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 11:59
Jet: I have heard the same thing re 6 weeks...bring that on!
Angel: :laughing: at the sleep o meter...I would like a burp o meter too!
I didnt do a settling session at hospy. Did either of you guys get some good things out of it? I wish I did now...was in another world in hospy. :o
Sparkles pm me your email and I'll scan in a Settling handout for you. And anybody else... Jeez I seem to have spent all day feeding... Been at it from 830-10 & again since 11!!
angeleish
31-05-2010, 14:11
jet - I am having one of those days too. DS just wants to feed and wouldn't settle. In the end to give my breasts a break and to stop the crying I put him in the sling. put the dog on the leash and went for a short walk. He is still asleep in the sling now (I'm still wearing it). I know it's not ideal but at least he is asleep and I've managed to get some housework done while wearing him. Hopefrlly next feed cycle I'll get him back in his cot.
sparkles - I didn't do any classes while in hospital. The class I'm talking about is a 3 hr class for mums who are struggling with settling at home. If this fails there is a day stay program at our hospital too. I'm all for taking any help I can get!!
does anyone else feel that their little ones sleeping habits are getting worse??
Angel that's good that the sling worked - I tried the carrier but unless she's attached to the boob she ain't happy!! Finally got her down an hour ago yay
and I hear ya on the sleeping - daytime sleeps for sure have gone downhill! Night usually ok...
Angel let me know if you want the settling handout.
angeleish
31-05-2010, 14:36
I think it was wishing who was looking for an updated announement list ready for cat and earth's baby arrivals. I've done my best to create an updated list but between sleep deprivation and typing while holding a sleeping baby there may be mistakes.
If I have details wrong feel free to correct this list or let me know and I'll correct it. My apologies in advance as I am sure I've made mistakes.
Also my formatting is terrible. If anyone knows how to fix this then please help!!
March bubs
9 - Sarbear (Welcome to Dylan!!)
April bubs
19 - LillyJack (Welcome to Lucy!!)
25 - Sparkles (Welcome Finn and Oliver!!!!)
29 - Boo (Welcome Madeleine Renee!!)
29 Momof6(welcomeAllyandPiers!!!!)
30 - Jetgirl (welcome Maeve Margaret!!)
May bubs
2 - Nikki (Welcome Liam Steven!!)
2 - Hopefulmama2b (Welcome William John!!)
7 - Angeleish (Welcome Lachlan!!)
13 - Wishing4ababy (Welcome Jeremy!!)
14- Allyoop8 (Welcome Nate James!!)
8 - mattysmum (welcome Kate Ann-Maree)
13 - Twinmummy2007 (Welcome Lucas and Lachlan)
20 - Surfergal - (Welcome Maya)
24 Cat21 (surprise)
June bubs
7 - EarthAngel (boy)
allyoop8
31-05-2010, 14:50
its so hard to get on here at the moment with the big brother around everytime i walk out of the room nate cries i ask seth did you touch him and he says no so its making it very hard to do anything but nate is feeding and sleeping pretty good how long is everyones bubs sleeping at night
nate is going 3-4 hrs i cant wait till its a little longer he feeds for about an hour so i'm only getting 2hrs at a time
hope everyone is well we start our mothers group tomorrow so i'm hoping there is some nice ladies there
Ally same here re night feeds!! It's haaaaaard eh...
allyoop8
31-05-2010, 14:57
at least nate takes a dummy seth never did and it was a night mare
angeleish
31-05-2010, 15:10
ally - our night feeds are about the same. Last night we had a few 2 hourly feeds though so it was tough. I wish my little one would take the dummy. We've tried 3 brands now with no luck. Have fun at mums group. Mine starts wednesday.
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 15:11
Angel: I often walk around with Master O in the baby bjorn, he likes it but doesn't sleep in it, but it frees up arms as you say so I'm doing it toget things done.
Ally: good to see you around. My boys are pretty good sleepers, 4 hours, Master O was 5.5 hours last night after first night trying the sleeping bags...my new best friend!
I'm finding day sleeps are harder for O rather than F. Still working out their routines but overall ATM I cam get 3 hours out of them in one hit. Nights are better for us, but the routine I feel is more structured for us as I have bath time, then feed, then bed.
when I think ice got it sorted though they throw it all out the window and are feral :-)
Ooh Sparkles the sleeping bags were good then? What have you got them wearing underneath? (Obsessed I am - waiting for DD to grow a bit bigger til I get them out!!)
I've sent you ladies the settling handouts, dying to see if it helps at all... I just PDFed all the Settling handouts we were given - they all say the same thing mind you :)
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 15:37
OMG I was such a sceptic re those sleeping bags, but seriously, after seeing Boo got 7 hours after using her's the ohter night, I pulled it out yesterday, and sure enough...Master O loves it. He had on a wondersuit (his jarmies uniform!) and then under the sheets, with one blanket over the top. No way he was going to be cold. I am paranoid he will get cold though hence the extra blanket. I could probably go without it.
Give it a go and see how you go. Is DD a fan of being wrapped up or wriggles out of them? That was my problem with Master O...hates being wrapped (mind you loved it when he was in hospy, go figure ;))
Thanks for the settling hand out too...appreciate it!
Sparkle - Glad to hear the sleeping bag did the trick :yelclap:. Thats the same way I did it, wondersuit, bag and blanket on top! Although last night wasn't as good, DD was sick on her bag :(
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 15:39
Sparkle - Glad to hear the sleeping bag did the trick :yelclap:
Sparkles hails to Boo and thanks you for a decent block of sleep last night!!! L E G E N D!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:
your welcome sparkle, anything to help :D
angeleish
31-05-2010, 15:49
okay I've tried the sleeping bag once but hearing you girls I'm willing to try again!!
How do you girls find your babies go with their hands moving around when using the sleeping bag? Do their hands wake them?? DS is a real hand waver and I'm scared that they will wake him.
Also, do you tuck them into their sheet on top tightly or lose?
jet - those info sheets are great!! thanks!!
Hmm this all sounds very interesting! DD likes to wriggle out of her wrap so I'm very keen to try the bags!! Says they should be 4kg though so have to wait...
I might get the sleeping bag out when DS gets a bit bigger he is about 3.6kg now and floats in it. It's still warm up here but in August I'll be in WA so I think I'll need to take it over there with me.
I just had two hours of crying baby, nothing settled him. Not the baby bjorn (always a winner), the rainforest swing, the rocking and walking routine, the bath (temporary saviour), nappy change, walking around the garden. What did it in the end... singing ABBA (making up some words) with a bad voice while holding him straight out front of me. Now he is asleep on the sofa with me watching him like a hawk!
I also saw the nurse today, we discussed how I would move from BFing (EBM) to formula. I am a bit sad to go that way because I have the supply and am willing but after trying everything I can I have to do what is right for both of us, and trying to look after him, feed him and express is too much for me, esp on top of having to manage my gall bladder pains. I think I'm still beating myself up a bit over it, because I really wanted to BF :(
OMG OMG!!!!!!!! We just did our first full feed without the STUPID shield :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
Jet - I haven't heard of the 4kgs??? Mine just say 0-6months.
Angel - I tuck dd in tight with her hands up, she doesn't seem to wake herself up.
OMG Boo how did you do it? I am dying to get off the damn thing!!!! Can't get her on without it anymore :( thinking of hiring an LC.
Nikki you know you're doing the right thing. You would make yourself sick trying to do all that.
hopefulmama2b
31-05-2010, 16:27
Hi Girls!
What is this sleeping bag business? Is this the grow bags u are all talking about? Billy doesnt really like being swaddled of a night and is constantly wriggling out of his wrap lol. Last night I let him sleep next to my bed in the emmaljunga (he loves his pram!) and omg- 6 hours sleep! Considering the most in one hit i got last week was like 2-2.5 hrs I thought that was awesome! He has also recently decided that he wants to try and BF lol- so he latches on fantastically and sucks away for um 2 mins until my eeny teeny supply stops and then he cried lol. I think I may let him have a little BF once a day but other than that, its kinda pointless.
Nikki- dont feel bad, seriously, I didn't and don't- i refuse to feel bad if I can't BF, contrary to evil midwives NOT every one can and if U can't then giving ur bub formula is just as good so dont stress!
PS I am so over old ladies at the shops cooing all over billy "ohh he is soo small, he looks like a doll blah blah"- I know that sounds evil but they seriously put their hands in my pram and like stroke his arm and stuff- how do u nicely say F** off and please dont touch my baby??!!
Nikki - Try not to beat yourself up. I know its hard not too. I'm BFing, expressing and using formula atm. She just always wants more :no:.
Jet - I been trying to ween her off for a few days using different methods. The best I had before now was 2mins on after I'd expressed. That way the nipple was already 'out'.
This time I didn't express first, I just 'put' her on. She fussed abit first, until I held her head in place and she did the rest! :smiliedance: She stayed on by herself for a full 15mins after that. I was waiting for her to get lazy and crack it with me, so I had the shield on 'standby' :yes:
Aw Boo I'm both happy for you and jealous :)
PS I am so over old ladies at the shops cooing all over billy "ohh he is soo small, he looks like a doll blah blah"- I know that sounds evil but they seriously put their hands in my pram and like stroke his arm and stuff- how do u nicely say F** off and please dont touch my baby??!!
Tell them he has a really bad skin condition and they could catch it :laughing:. I know what you mean tho, we have the same prob... unless dd is in her bassinet with the hood up and a wrap covering the pram :rolleyes:
:laughing: i think this is the longest I've been able to stay on BH in weeks!
Thanks girls for the support, I need the reassurance at the moment that I'm doing what is right for him.
Hopeful - have you tried a baby carrier, that way nobody can touch the baby without entering your personal space, I find that works well!
Boo - yay on the shield :yelclap:
Gotta go again, baby boy has colic :(
angeleish
31-05-2010, 17:37
Nikki - You've done great to express for so long. Don't beat yourself up. You are definitely doing the right thing for both of you. Hope the colic eases soon. Have you tried some colic drops from the chemist? I think the one I used was Infants friend. Seemed to help a little!
For those who have been expressing, which pump did you buy and would you recommend it? I'm currently on the look out for one and am tossing up between the medela Swing and the Ameda Purely yours. Any opinions/thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Angel manual or electric?
DD sleeping in carrier ATM - bath time approaches!!
i'm using the avent manual. i pump 3x's day and it does the trick. i like it, its portable, quite and doesn't have have parts that can wear out :thumbsup: IMO
lillyjack
31-05-2010, 18:07
Hopeful - :laughing: at your comment about the old ladies. I had the exact same problem. The silly old bats where stroking dd's face and everything! With their massive friggin diamond rings inches away from gauging her eyes out :eek:
Nikki - don't beat yourself up about it. What you have been doing is exhausting. You'll both be far happier and a lot less stressed once you switch to the formula I think.
Jet - as for the magic 6 week mark I can't really say there has been an improvement as dd is having her first unsettled day today (right on 6 weeks!). Normally she is an angel and I have been very lucky to have such an "easy" bub.
They say they have a growth spurt around 5-6 weeks so perhaps this is it? They will want to feed more and just be generally unsettled.
I have the pigeon manual cos the hospy only charged 50 bucks for it :) wish it was dishwasher friendly :(
Angeleish - if you are going to express a few times a day and are talking electric pumps I'd go the Medela Swing for sure. It's recommended by lactation consultants and everyone I know who has had to express a lot has one, myself included. They are fairly heavy duty and with batteries they are portable too, I express around 180ml in about 15-20min.
I just used Brauers Colic Relief, worked a treat. He took another bottle and is looking a lot more like himself now too. Bright eyed and happier. I hate seeing him unhappy like that.
LillyJ - I'm not sure if there is a magic mark with babies, they all sound so different! I can't believe you have hit the 6 week mark already, time is just flying by :yes:
Jet - those carriers are amazing aren't they, I wouldn't get half as much work done around her without mine.
I've got an update from Cat...
I sent her a txt early today asking how she was, anyway we've had some trouble with our phones :no:
Congrats to Cat and DH on the arrival of Baby Nikolas born Thurs May 27th.
Cat is home now and will update us soon.
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 19:20
Yay another boy!!! That's a clean sweep of boys for the Melbourne girls!!! Congrats to Cat and DH so excited for you. And you went on what would of been my due date!! Gorgeous name well done xx
sparklesare
31-05-2010, 19:20
I'm wrong Madeleine is our only girl she has her choices of all the boys!!!
Cat - congratulations, lovely name too :yelclap: Another boy on our thread!
Wishing - my pump is the same, it has up and down settings etc. It's about as practical as it's going to get, BFing would be the better option though. I hope it all goes well for you and you are BFing without the shield soon :fingerscrossed:
Brauers seems to have worked, my little boy is now sleeping soundly. Happy baby = happy mum :yes:
Yay congrats to Cat!!!!!!
hopefulmama2b
31-05-2010, 21:13
oh wow congrats Cat! Another little boy, awesome!!!!
hopefulmama2b
31-05-2010, 21:15
Billy is asleep on the couch, on DH, with a little snore. awww lol
Aw Hopeful :) DD has more or less been awake since 345pm :(
Jet - wow she is awake a lot! DS has been asleep since 5:30pm. His gran is looking after him right now, I'll miss her when she goes home :(
Jet - don't be, I had him in bed with me from from about 2am through until 6am because he refused to sleep in his bassinette. Yesterday my mum put him on his belly to help his wind and he slept for hours, but at night I put him on his back again. As soon as he is on his back he wakes up and won't sleep properly, on his belly he sleeps for hours... I'll only put him on his belly when I can watch him though because of SIDS, even though he does seem much happier on his belly.
angeleish
01-06-2010, 09:59
Woo hoo for cat!!! Wow - what's in the Melbourne water at the moment?!! Madeleine certainly has her pick of the boys!!! Congratulations cat. Can't wait to hear all about him.
Nikki - We had HUGE problems settling DS when he first came home from hospital. My milk had just come in and it wasn't agreeing with his tummy. The nurse at the hospital recommended raising the head of his cot a little. As long as his legs are at the bottom of the cot (as recommended by sids) then she didn't see a problem. It helped a lot. Now when he is unsettled I go back to tilting it. I know it may not help your boy, but it may be worth a try. It is so hard when they are unsettled at awkward hours. I remember when DS wasn't sleeping at all I was just worried that I would fall asleep with him in my arms and either drop or smother him. :hugs: Thinking of you.
Our little man was unsettled last night from 7.30 to midnight, but after that gave me a great night. He only woke once at 4am for a feed and then slept through until 8.30. I'm feeling human again!!! Now if I can get him to do a few day sleeps so I can have another nap today and also catch up on sorting all of this washing!! We have family coming soon to help us with the move and I'd like the house to be a little more organised before they arrive so it looks like I am a super-mum rather than someone just winging it!
Thanks for the tips on the pumps girls. I'm just looking to express a little each day for an emergency back up supply and also so DH can take over when the going gets rough (not all of the time though). Problem is even though my supply is good I've never had much luck expressing so I'm looking for a super-dooper machine that will get the milk as well as my little man does!
angeleish
01-06-2010, 10:02
March bubs
9 - Sarbear (Welcome to Dylan!!)
April bubs
19 - LillyJack (Welcome to Lucy!!)
25 - Sparkles (Welcome Finn and Oliver!!!!)
29 - Boo (Welcome Madeleine Renee!!)
29 Momof6(welcomeAllyandPiers!!!!)
30 - Jetgirl (welcome Maeve Margaret!!)
May bubs
2 - Nikki (Welcome Liam Steven!!)
2 - Hopefulmama2b (Welcome William John!!)
7 - Angeleish (Welcome Lachlan!!)
13 - Wishing4ababy (Welcome Jeremy!!)
14- Allyoop8 (Welcome Nate James!!)
8 - mattysmum (welcome Kate Ann-Maree)
13 - Twinmummy2007 (Welcome Lucas and Lachlan)
20 - Surfergal - (Welcome Maya)
27 Cat21 (Weldome Nikolas)
June bubs
7 - EarthAngel (boy)
Once again if I've made a mistake on anyones details please let me know. I'm really not so good at these kinds of things!
That's pretty cool Wishing, thanks for sharing! My DD likes to turn her head from side to side when sleeping so I don't think we'll be having a flat head lol On the other hand I may get a flat a$$ from all the frickin feeding!!!
Angel - DH does all the 2am feeds for me so I can sleep through, I get up early to do an express and feed him around 6am again. In that way pumping has been good for us. Thanks for the roll call update, it's great! Thanks for the reminder on the washing, it's been in the machine for hours!
Wishing - Like Jet's DD, our DS likes to move his head from side to side. Some babies don't and get a flat head but some babies never stay still. From the moment he was born he was wriggling around in his cot and he never stays at the bottom of the cot, he just wiggles his way up and around, ending up sideways and upside down. I think we'd need to strap him in to keep him in one position!
Nikki your DS sounds like fun :)
Got DD on without the shield for a few sucks whoopdedo.., I think the dryer is shrinking all her clothes :(
Jet - are you sure she is not growing out of them? DS has grown 4cm in length since birth! No wonder he always wants a feed :p
Am venturing out of the house now without baby, shopping goes quicker that way but I always feel lost without my semi-permanent attachment...
Lol Nikki i will find out next week when she gets measured :) know what you mean about the shopping. I did it online this week. My time is too precious! Bidding on a trolley capsule liner on eBay so I can do it with DD soon. Saves me my Sunday morning!
Today we are feeding every 3 hours for an hour. I am still surprised by how draining it is...
surfergal
01-06-2010, 15:26
:DHi girls sorry for the short post but I have just got Mighty Maya down for a nap and she will be up again within 2 hours and i know i should really put my head down too after the last few nights... 3 am'ers.. jezzz thought i gave night shift up ages ago ;)
Firstly congrats on all the new arrivals... and I must say I LOVE everyones names.. they are all devine!! :yelclap:
We are going ok, have alot of problems with her getting over tired and not settling well at night.. but we hope to over come that soon with time no doubt... sometimes she can be awake from 10 pm right through to 2-3 am !! Anyone else with this prob???
I have had private midwife review at the small price of $150 :confused: which was OK, but probably didn't get alot out of it really... clinic nurse tomoz, my mum is still here and staying up late with her so i can get some sleep at night... seems like her 'witching hour' really is between these times... I am actually taking her to the GP on thursday as she still does chuck up some mucous at times and i think this is still from the c section
Anyway birth was great and John Flynn Private Hospital was awesome we couldn't of asked for better care and they were right in the middle of a dry spell when we were in there and the most post natal patients on the ward were 5 and the least for two nights one being me! Midwives rocked... ok must head.. xo
Sleep well surfergal and well done!!! Can't help with the arsenic hour, ours varies day to day...
Hi All! Thanks for the congrats - a very quick one from me. Nikolas came into the world at 11.47pm Thursday 27th May. He is absolutely beautiful and I'm totally in love with him. He had a rough start with his lungs and breathing and got whisked off to Special Care not long after he arrived and so I didn't get to have him with me until Saturday afternoon. We're all on a very steep learning curve as you would all know - especially those of you who didn't get to have their bubs straightaway either.
Our first night at home was pretty disasterous - he just wouldn't settle and I thought, maybe, he wasn't getting enough with BFing so gave him a top up formula but that came up, twice. All of it! Hard work - seems our arsenic hour lasts about 12 hours but we're really hoping for a bit more sanity tonight! I have one spare feed in the fridge so I should be able to sleep through a feed. Because he's so little, he's on the three hour cycle - please tell me this goes to four hours soon!
Anyway, must go, DS is due to wake at 5pm which means anytime from now onwards!
Cat - I know what you mean, they whisked DS away to special care after the birth and he was in their care for two days (with some time with me too). It was hard but I knew he was in good hands. When we came home I had to force feed him because I was told he wasn't latching to the breast well enough and wasn't getting enough, I remember back to those days and all I can say is that in a couple of weeks the stress will seem like a distant memory although it probably feels overwhelming right now. Is DH home with you to support you? I found this really important.
Surfergal - our witching hour(s) are between between 1pm and 5pm. Not sure what triggers it, I think it's because he likes to be awake in the mornings and then he fights sleep in the afternoon even though he really needs it.
Jet - I hope your DD has grown well, it's so exciting seeing them meet their milestones :)
angeleish
01-06-2010, 18:37
Cat and surfer - great to see you guys back!!
cat - our first night home was a disaster too!! We fed him and put him to bed at around 7pm. At 3am he was still screaming and hadn't slept at all. Luckily my mum and DH's mum were staying with us so we handed him to them. They were confident they could settle him but also failed. At 5am he finally slept - but only in our arms. Unfortunately for us this lasted another 5 nights (we only got 1 our of sleep each night). The 6th night things just clicked for him and we started to get sleep cycles. Only 2-3 hours at a time but soooo much better.
Hang in there it will get easier. For us I think it was DS getting used to my milk and his tummy being upset. Also, I guess our house even though it has ducted heating was very different to the hospital and the poor little guy was confused.
I promise it will get easier soon. It is such a steep learning curve for both you, your DH and the baby!
surfer - You sound like us with your mum doing "shifts" for you. Before I had my little man I was adamant that I didn't want our mums staying with us once baby was here. .... That idea didn't last long. Having mum around to do shifts at first was such a help. Once we got used to our sleep cycles a little and I felt physically better we eventually felt capable enough to not need mum around. Extended family is so important at this time though (and I'm sure your mum is loving it).
Great to have both of you girls back here.
Angel - :iagree: wholeheartedly, I am a fairly independent person but having had SIL and mum here has been such a blessing and I'm even looking forward to my MIL coming over in October. Children demand so many hours of the day it's nice to have the help.
mattysmum75
02-06-2010, 06:51
Congrats cat on your baby boy!!! I hope everything settles for you.
Kate was 2 weeks old yesterday, I still can't believe it's all over, I miss bring pregnant, especially after waiting 4 years to have another bub.
The early weeks can be a bit tricky, I remember with my son wishing I had a manual on what to do! As the weeks go by things settle and it's amazing how your maternal instinct will reassure you. Second time round has definatley been easier. I love the Internet, any concerns and you can get an answer so fast. On bfing, it's sad to read that it hasn't worked for some of you girls, but it does happen a lot and at least you have tried. I think all you girls will be great mums because you all appreciate your little miracles so much!! And all that love you give your bub out weighs anything else!
We are going fine, kate is putting on weight and being a good sleeper. I love watching her big brother dote on her, and her dad is just as doting!
Aw mattysmum what a sweet post!
Well yesterday/last night was a shocker. Finally got her to sleep at midnight after being awake since 5 - and that was after a one hour nap!! Her poo ended up being green which I believe meant she wasn't getting the hind milk cos she was so tired she wasn't feeding properly. So new plan. If I know for sure she's overtired I will have to let her cry herself to sleep :( that's better than not feeding properly, right? She slept from 12-330 & 430-7 and her poo is back to normal... Which tells me im right... I think!!!!
EarthAngel75
02-06-2010, 09:53
Cat: congrats on the arrival of your ds! Hope he starts to settle into a nice routine for you soon :)
I can't beleive how old some of the babies in this thread are already! Time sure is flying by at the moment.
Well im still waiting lol have started using clary sage oil 2-3x/day and have my first of 4 accupuncture sessions this afternoon as ob wants to start talking cesear at my 40w appointment on Monday so hopefully with the accu and everything else something happens over the weekend!
Earthangel - it can get quite frustrating towards the end can't it. Hopefully all your potions and acupuncture work and bub arrives soon :fingerscrossed:
Jet - sometimes you just have to let them cry, if they are full, not wet/dirty and have been burped and not ill then there are limits as to what you can do. So many people have said sometimes you need to just put them down and reclaim your own sanity for both of your sakes. Happy mum = happy baby in the end. You sound like you are doing the right thing.
Mattysmum - I thought I would miss being pregnant but I don't really, I love having my little man here and with GD it was all getting a bit much in the end. Having him here is great, but I do know so many people who miss pregnancy. I can't believe your little girl is 2 weeks old already! Time is just flying...
My little man is sleeping in his cot for the first time. I wanted to try him out in his nursery and low and behold he quite likes it in there. He has toys to stare at and he is nice and secure in his sleep positioner in the big cot. I still check on him all the time but as long as he is happy I'm happy :D
lillyjack
02-06-2010, 13:01
Congrats Cat and congrats again Surfergal - glad everything is going well for you girls!
Jet - DD's poo is usually green but she is formula fed. It freaked me out the first time I saw it .... even so though it changes colour some days which is weird because she is always eating (drinking) the exact same thing :confused:
My little chicken is sick atm. She has such a blocked nose it's horrible.... she just grunts and snorts her way through the day and is pretty unhappy about it all. I have tried those "fess" drops but I have trouble getting the suction thing near her tiny nostrils as she moves her head too much and I'm scared I'll poke her eye out! I have the 6 week check with the pead. tomorrow morning so I am holding off taking her to the GP.
Aw no lillyj that sucks. Hope the paed can help.
We just went for lunch with DH and his mates from work. Was so nice to show her off!! Fast asleep in the capsule - leaving her in it so I can have a rest!!!
Nikki, nice work with the cot! What made you do it?
Jet - during the day he doesn't like the bassinette as much so I thought I'd try the cot, it's in the nursery just off the kitchen so during the day it's nice and close by. He fidgeted a bit but within about 10 minutes he was asleep and he slept for 5 hours until his next feed. Good work on DD staying asleep through lunch, DS slept on my lap under the table during lunch out the other day, he likes to sleep in the most strange places :laughing:
Lilly - hope your little girl feels better soon. It's horrible seeing them unwell :(
Good thinking Nikki :) I bet you spent those 5 hours expecting him to wake at any time lol.
Thanks for all your reassuring posts - it feels like time is going so slowly but, at the same time, so fast.
Longer post today - we have had a good day and went out for our first walk up to the market.
We had a MUCH better night last night...unfortunately after a bad start though! After he woke at 6 he wouldn't quite settle even after feed, play, more feed, play etc. By 10pm I went to bed and handed him to DH and just had to get away...DH (now known as wonder-dad!) settled him by 11pm. I managed to sleep on and off between 10 and 2am when DS woke. He fed and was back asleep by 3am- amazing. I thought I'd leave him in the bassinet in the lounge rather than wheel him back into our room and risk waking DH. I napped on the sofa and DS woke again around 6ish. Another hour or so later and he was asleep until 9. Amazing. DH got a solid 6 hours sleep and I probabloy got about the same but broken up over the night. Either way, it's six times more than I've had since Wednesday night! Did I mention we hired one of those hospital bassinets? The first night was a disaster in the cot and DS likes to be slightly elevated and I'm not comfortable propping up the mattress (like we were advised) so we called the hire place first thing yesterday morning and, as luck would have it, they were doing a delivery one suburb away! It's the best thing - it looks a bit clinical but he loves sleeping in it and it's safe.
Angel - wanted to say that I agreed with your post - my biggest fear is that I'm going to fall asleep while feeding him and drop him. It's horrendous. It's forcing me to concentrate really hard when we're feeding and I'm feeling tired. It's really hard but it's better now I've had more sleep.
Also - so far I'm bfing OK although we've topped him up with formula overnight. I'm hoping I can keep up with the bfing but it's exhausting with the expressing. I hired a pump on the way home on Monday and have only used it a couple of times as I need to time it so I don't drain myself between feeds. I'm hoping, once my milk comes in more, then I'll be a proper milkbar but I know it'll continue to be so hard. Kudos to all of you who have tried and tried...I thought it would be my biggest challenge but the sleep deprivation is worse!
I was also lucky enough to get some food dropped off yesterday by my step-MIL and again today. What a blessing. Unfortunately the freezer full of food I cooked a few weeks ago failed while I was in hospital so we're devastated we lost a good month of food. Hopefully we can get into a routine and then we will be able to replenish stocks soon!
Good luck Earth - it's a hard road towards the end. I was lucky my pregnancy was so good (compared to most) but that last week and a half did me in completely.
Oh cat I can't believe your freezer died!!!!!! The sleep deprivation will get better, I promise!!!! You're doing great :)
Question: what time is everybody bathing their bubs and putting them down "for the night"?
DD is usually unsettled in the arvo so we usually end up feeding at 5 or 6 (in saying that, we're on boob #2 ATM so in theory next feed around 7??? Then bath?!) then bath then a top up so by the time she's down it's well after 7 which means a very late dinner for us!! Last night I tried only giving one boob before bath and the other after but that didn't help and she was very unsettled til we finally got her to sleep around midnight. Just want to get some ideas from you girls around timelines.
Cat - that's such a shame about the freezer after all that prep you did. If it helps we didn't freeze any food and we've managed ok. In fact we are eating quite well, small portions lots of veg and salads. I've not had take out since I had him. I think having a baby in the house is making me more health conscious. Jet is right, once the routine is more established the sleep patterns improve. I now get around 4-6 hours sleep at a time, but that's also because I don't express as often because I am planning to comp with formula soon.
Jet - I kept expecting him to wake but he was really happy sleeping there. He is actually quite a good sleeper unless he is unwell or I mess his routine up too much.
Jet - I shower DS in the mornings, things are too hectic at night with dinner to plan etc. DS doesn't really have a 'bedtime' as such. He sleeps between all of his feeds at the moment, so after his 6pm feed he goes to sleep, then wakes up for his 10pm feed then usually down again until his 2am feed. I sleep in between those times, sometimes on the sofa, sometimes in bed. If I'm lucky DH will do the 2am feed so I can go to bed around 11pm after expressing and not wake until 6am for the next feed and express.
angeleish
02-06-2010, 17:31
okay baby is about to wake so this might be quick ... or it could be long (Where is that "sleep-o-meter" that I mentioned)
Jet - we don't really have a night time routine yet. Our little man is always cranky from 8:30ish to midnight (he's like clock work 8:30 on the dot). On bath nights Dh usually baths him once he wakes and then I feed him. I have tried half feed bath other half feed but that didn't work for us either. I can't really say what his night time bed time is as he cluster feeds so much around that time. It's tough. I feel like a cow until midnight with his constant feeding. It doesn't help that lately he's been grizzly during the day too so my only break from 2 hour feeds is from midnight until morning.
cat - I slept on the couch for the first week or so at home too. That way whoever was "on duty" didn't need to worry about waking the rest of the house and it also made it easier for "quick" settling. We are now back to having him in our room in the basinet and I feed him in the lounge at night so that DH can sleep (he is now back at work). In saying that DH is wonder dad here too! He can settle our man so much better than me so if baby is unsettled after a feed poor hubby gets the "your on dad" message and I put my head down for a sleep.
Great work on getting the hospital basinet too. We've propped our basinet up too as DS seems to settle better this way (he is a very windy and colicy baby).
earth - sounds like you have a good "eviction" plan ready to activate. Good luck. Not long at all now.
oh DS is waking... AFM .... Aside from DS being shocking in the evening he is now also unsettled during the day. I think a lot has to do with me constantly having to drag him out to various appointments etc as we are moving house so soon!! Today I was at my wits end... but to prove me wrong he's just had a big sleep :smiliedance: during the day. Here's hoping that doesn't make tonight's witching hour worse.
Is anyone else still struggling physically with the birth? I've had such a sore back since giving birth. Tomorrow's job: organise physio as this is agony.
DS is growing so quickly. He is also making much better eye contact which I am loving. Sometimes he looks at me so happily... can't wait to see his first real smile. (Although his "wind smiles" crack me up big time)
Angel - it took me four weeks to be able to stand for any length of time after the birth, it felt like my insides would fall out, I think it's the muscles and pelvic floor muscles that were loose. I also had hemaroids and general discomfort down there for a little while (few weeks). No-one really tells you how long it takes your body to feel normal again. I am now feeling pretty much normal and my little man is just over 4 weeks old. Rest up and go easy on your body.
I too am finding that because I often out during the day shops/park/friends etc that DS is getting unsettled around midday, so today I stayed home and he slept for five hours straight. Maybe I am pushing him too much taking him out and about so much.
sparklesare
02-06-2010, 18:35
Hi girls :wave:
Welcome back Cat, Surfergal and Mattysmum, good to see you all back and doing well.
Angel: Well emergency caeser for me and 6 weeks later I am still bleeding and in a bit of pain. Not as bad as I was say 3 weeks ago, but still sore to get in and out of bed. Found it really tough the week in hospy and also week 2 and 3. Back to OB next week to get stitches out though. Ive resumed physio and fitball for my tummy and sore back to try and get some movement happening again. Hope you feel better soon :hugs:
Jet: I am probably going to sound like a military seargent when I tell you this but here goes..My boys start the day at 7am then 3-4 hourly from then all day. Arsenic hour from 5-6 they are both feral children and from 6-7:30pm I have bathtime, feed time and then in to bed latest by 8pm. If they go down by 8pm they will sleep till midnight, 1am, and from there I hear them again at 3:30am-4:00am. I am trying to stretch them both out to 5am but at the moment they are pretty much 3 hourly - 4 hourly depends on the day.
I am demand feeding them though so if they wake I feed, but not before 3 hours. If they wake before 3 hours Ive just tried to resettle and let them try go back to sleep etc.
Master F is always awake first at the moment, which has helped on the feeding side as I dread the day they both wake screaming at the same time! :hair::hair::hair:
Crikey Sparkles. I bow down before you!!!!!!
sparklesare
02-06-2010, 18:52
I feel like a military seargent though!! And everyday is a new day with the boys, I wonder what each day is going to be like when I wake up, will they be darling babies, or feral etc. I beat myself up about it particularly to DH as I sometimes feel its all a bit regimented but I just need a routine...for my sake aswell as the boys. At the moment its working :fingerscrossed:...no doubt it will all go to $hit sometime soon and I will have to redo everything!
Also, that email you sent me re settling has helped a lot and cemented some things that I wasnt sure if I was doing right etc.
Sparkles - with two you have to be even more strict I guess, it'd be hard to coordinate things otherwise and you need time to yourself in between as well. It sounds like you are doing a fabulous job!
I have DS on a sort of routine as well, I demand feed him but like you not before he has gone about 3 hours without. If he wakes in between he is usually just being fussy, too warm, has gas or just wants attention or cuddles. I can pretty much set a clock to his hunger cries too, but like you I do wonder when it will all change again...
angeleish
02-06-2010, 20:17
sparkles - you are my hero!! :laughing: Seriously though, don't beat yourself up about it. I agree with Nikki with two babies you have to be organised. I may try your routine yet. I didn't realise you had a c-section. Sounds like you are recovering quite well to be back to the fitball.
I had a V-birth but still found the time in hospital painful. It was about two weeks before the stitches "down there" stopped hurting. And as Nikki said sometimes it felt like everything was just going to fall out. During birth DS was sitting on my tailbone. It hurt for the first two weeks and then last week it didn't. Now it is back with a vengence!! It kills every time I sit so Bfeeding isn't much fun and getting up from a feed is awful!! Hopefully it can be sorted quickly. Oh and still bleeding here too!! Can't wait for that to be over!!! (oh the joys!!)
Anyway best get going. Still witching hour here and time for a shift change so DH can have a break and some "down time"
sparklesare
02-06-2010, 20:35
Angel: Back this week to Fitball, my back like yours is wrecked and was never this sore before being preggers.
IM still a bit sore though. Will be glad to feel a bit normal...oh and to drive again!! Missing that like you wouldnt believe. But giving the Mountain Beast a good workout with walkies!:laughing:
Still witching hour here too :( had her asleep in my arms then putting her in the grobag woke her up :( so she screamed for food again even though she keeps falling asleep!! I'm sore too :( we're all in the same boat eh!!
hopefulmama2b
02-06-2010, 23:00
Just a quickie, I am wrecked. Have had a headache all day probably because just found out we do actually have to move house in 60 days :crying: i am a little excited, well i will be once i have found a new house, i just hate dealing with real estate agents lol.
Sparkles- you are awesome! I just kinda let Billy run the show lol. He still likes to sleep a bit but is much more active of a night. Took him to the maternal child care nurse today and he weights 3.19 kilos which is awesome, almost a whole kilo up on his birth weight. he is still teeny but he is getting there!
cat- big hugs. i know how hard it is to have a bub in the nursery! happy u are both home :yes:
I feel like I never was pregnant lol- i mean, i haven't lost copious amounts of weight but i feel really good, i guess i was lucky, even though Billys birth was traumatic for me because I wasn't sure he was going to be ok and being induced sucks hardcore, it was a v birth and i didnt tear as Billy was so small lol.
Hi All!
Sparkles - I also salute you! You are doing so well!!!
Good luck Hopeful with the househunting - I'm not surprised it's given you a headache!!!
Thanks to everyone for all your words of support - we had a terrible night again with DS awake from 7pm until 2.30 - ended up on the phone (again) to the hospital to get some advice! I just don't know whether it's OK to just keep giving him the boob or should I be more strict? We ended up topping him up with formula as well as the boob - the last formula feed was a whopping 90ml in three lots. He then slept for five hours which has freaked me out because it's too much for such a little man. I forced him up this morning and fed him for a little bit and now he's just hanging out and checking things out.
Angel - you seem to have those long stretches of awake time too...how long do you keep him on the boob or do you force him off and, if so, how do you settle him?
Any other settling tricks?
The only thing that works for my guy when he's totally hysterical is the boob which is a nightmare if DH is on a shift!
Any ideas for getting rid of wind? I just can't seem to burp him sometimes at all - I've tried everything and he just refuses to let it out which, of course, means he just gets so unsettled :confused:
Last question - what weight/age did you start using grobags? Bubby keeps forcing himself out of his swaddle no matter how hard I swaddle him.
MCHN is on her way and will be here by 10. I'm curious to see whether my little piggy has put on weight - he was 3.114 at birth and just over 3 when we left the hospital on Monday. Given how much milk he's been guzzling
Cat DD fed from 6 til midnight yesterday, on and off. People suggest a dummy but because we had weight issues early on I'd rather just feed her. I ended up in floods of tears last night and very sick of BFing. Then at 445 she would only take one boob so I was terrified I'd upset her. She's feeding normally again right now. You can't win.See what the nurse says and google cluster feeding. Only harms the mum... Sarcastic laugh...
Tried the grobag last night - you just have to be sure her head can't fit down thru the neck. After 4 or 5 attempts to put her down I gave up and wrapped. Will try this arvo again after mothers group.
angeleish
03-06-2010, 10:24
cat - I'll send you a pm with the strategies that have helped save our sanity. I'll warn you though they don't always work!! The night before last we really struggled. Last night was a good night. You are always going to have good and bad times. As a friend said to me... during any day with a newborn you are going to have an unsettled period. During any week with a newborn you are going to have bad days. It does get easier though.
hopeful - Moving sucks doesn't it. Once you find a house though it gets exciting and you just want the move to be over and done with. We move next week and I'll be glad when it is all done and we can get back to focusing on us. Poor little DS has been taken to open inspections, real estate agents and various other places in getting us ready for the move. Do you have a lot of people to help? We have hired removalists to do the packing and moving so all that is left for us is the cleaning and un-packing. I have a team of helpers to help us with this so I can focus on baby.
jet - my little one hasn't really adapted to the growbag yet. I think he isn't quite ready. I try on and off though as eventually I know he will like it. My man cluster feeds too. I think it is quite normal (heaps of girls at mothers group yesterday had the same problems). It is hard though as you feel as though you never get a break!
witching hour for us was shorter last night. Only lasted from 7pm until 10.30!!! We then got him to sleep for 5 hours!!! This is a huge achievement for us. Another feed and straight back to sleep for 3 1/2 hours. Then another feed and sleep for 2 hours. Not too bad for our fussy man. Mummy feels so much more human!! He is cat-napping now so I've managed to get a little housework done too!! So far so good!
Jet / Cat - it all sounds so similar to the issues I was having a couple of weeks back. DS was BFing every 1.5 hours for about 30 - 40 min and I was getting exhausted but he was still not putting weight on fast enough and always wanted more food. The midwife came to visit a few times and told me that he wasn't sucking and swallowing properly even when he was attached well on the breast and was using it like a dummy but not feeding. So she suggested topping him up with EBM (or formula if preferred) and voila it did the trick and he started to sleep for 3-5 hours between feeds. I've since learned a hungry baby will not sleep but a well fed newborn will often sleep for hours!
Cat - I put DS on my shoulder and bob / bounce him up and down and then pat or rub his back at the same time. He whinges a bit but feels much better after a burp.
Hopeful - Good luck on finding a new place, its both exciting and annoying isn't it! We are thinking about house hunting at the end of the year too, we want a place with a pool.
lillyjack
03-06-2010, 12:43
Sparkles - I am the same - still bleeding 6 weeks later ... it kind of stops for a day or 2 and then comes back :hair: but apart from like Hopeful I kind of feel as though I was never pregnant (apart from the extra 5kg's or so I am carrying!)
Cat - let us know how you get on with the MCHN - she'll probably have some good tips re getting rid of the wind. I was going to suggest trying "infacol" wind drops if you are using a bottle - they have worked for me in the past.
AFM - We had our 6 week check up with the pead. this morning and I am please to report that little Miss L is "Little Miss Average"
Weight: 4.470 kg, Length 55cm, Head 37.6 - all of which are spot on 50% on the growth charts.
Only 1 small issue with her is that she has "silent reflux" he suggested trying the thickened Anti-Reflux formula and elevating her bed. If none of that helps then we'll talk about medication. Either way she'll grow out of it by about 8 months.
allyoop8
03-06-2010, 16:02
hi all
went to dr for 2wk caesar check today and he felt my tummy and was amazed at how well everything has gone back i've lost the 13 kilos i put on but then he surprised me with an internal yuk i was so annoyed didnt feel very nice at all because i had stopped bleeding and then started again he wanted to check it out he wants to do an ultrasound if i havent stopped bleeding by the 6wk mark
has any one had this happen i'm not looking forward to a papsmear at 6wks
lillyjack
03-06-2010, 16:05
Ally - I have the same thing. I stop bleeding and then after a few days it starts up again! Today it is a lot heavier than it has been for a while so I am wondering if maybe it's AF? My appointment with the OB is on Monday.
I haven't bled in a week or 2 and am dreading ob visit next fri. Also time for 6 wk vax - eek!
Hope Sparkles enjoyed mothers group. I had mine today too.
Really hope no repeat of yesterday evening...
Thank you to all of you for your advice - I don't know where I'd be without you all.
Angel - your tips sound great - I'll send you a PM (if I get a chance now).
We went great with the MCHN - DS put on 176g since disharge on Monday so I'm definitely not starving him! If anything she thinks his unsettle period isn't being helped by me trying to overfeed him. She gave us some good tips about just riding out the unsettled period with holding him upright for a couple of hours and just accepting that this is a long stretch. Trying not to give into the boob is important and only topping him up with small amounts of EBM or formula.
Today hasn't been great for me - I'm feeling really down and unsettled myself. Tried to nap between 12 and 3 and DH took care of the 2pm feed/play cycle. I just feel blah and keep reminding myself that we wanted this for years. Sometimes I look at him and it hurts that I love him so much. I guess these are the day-four-tears (that have taken until day 7 to arrive!).
Anyway, you guys are all amazing and helping me heaps. Thanks.
sparklesare
03-06-2010, 17:35
:eek: Ally: A pap smear at 6 weeks...does that mean I get one next week? Bloody hell I hope not!! Like Lilly, mine has increased back to quite red blood - sorry TMI..but it comes and goes. I just want it gone..stat!
Lilly: Good to hear little Lucy is going so great...good job!
Cat: Its normal to have days like your having, but your doing a wonderful job and Nikolas sounds like he is going so well big hugs :hugs:... I have moments where I just stare at the boys together and cry, I am so happy. We are so blessed and lucky. I had a bit of a teary moment at Mothers Group this morning. I dont know why I just did..was a bit overwhelmed seeing all these other bubs and Mums. There was a lovely Mum with her twin boys..she had triplets but sadly Trip 3 didnt make it...I was a blubbering mess when she told her story...talk about put things in to perspective. I think I have found a Mummy Friend in her though..she was just lovely.
Jet: Hope you enjoyed Mothers Group..how long does yours go for? Ours in 2 hours in length and a group of 12 girls and their respective bub/bubs. Nice group of girls, cant believe how close we all live to each other. Was nice to talk about each others concerns and struggles.
Well I think I am in for a shocker of a night ahead.:yes: Master O slept from 10:00am through to 2pm today, woke briefly so gave him a feed at 2:00pm crashed again around 3pm and still snoring away now. I have this baaaad feeling he is going to be up all night though as he has had such a solid sleep today. Or I could be just jinxing myself. Hopefully he wakes around 7pm for his bath and feed and goes down well.
Its DH's bday this Saturday so I am going to get the boys hand and foot prints and paint them and frame it in a little frame for DH...definitely going to be a messy exercise tomorrow, but thought it was a cute pressie for DH from his boys this year...who knows what Mummy is going to get Daddy though! :o
Aw Sparkles what an awesome pressie for your DH :) my mothers group is 1.5 hrs long. Today I went for lunch after with one if the mums. It was lovely. So sad about that triplet :( I'm glad you said O has slept so much today. DD has done the same so I was starting to worry has she fed enough is she sick etc. Poor thing can't win- if she's awake for hours I'm cranky and if she's not I'm worried :) she's in the grobag ATM so hopefully it works tonight.
Interesting to hear what Cat's nurse said about the cluster feeding. Sounds easier said than done but let us know how you go Cat, dying to see if it helps. I just give in and feed :)
angeleish
03-06-2010, 18:10
sparkles - sounds like a great mums group. I quite liked mine and got a bit teary when I had to go home as I really liked the interaction with other mums!!
As for the hand and foot prints good luck! We did our little boys foot print and it looks great but I had to stop as he really didn't like the experience. I'm hoping to do the hand soon... but who knows when I'll get around to it!!
sparkles and Jet - Like yours my little man has been awesome with his sleeps today. It is the first time ever I haven't had to try to avoid 2 hourly feeds. It is now almost witching hour in this house and I am scared..... I'm hoping his good behaviour doesn't do a complete 360!! Poor kid he's finally behaving as he should and now I'm worried!!
cat - I hope the nurses ideas help!! Hang in there. We are here for support if you need it! As for the tears.... bloody hormones have a lot to answer for!!
sparklesare
03-06-2010, 18:10
Jet: Your doing a great job, keep telling yourself that!! I take my hat off to you with your patience. How nice you went out for lunch, its nice when you can chat to others in a similar situation. Our nurse put on scones jam and cream for us all...was so nice.
The only thing my MCHN nurse said if your getting lots of wet and pooey nappies, your feeding enough. Also said dont worry if your going 2.5 hours between feeds, but try and stretch it out to "train bubs to go longer". This wont work for everyone though as a lot of Mums in my group today said. If she is sleepy, I say let her sleep, but I understand your concern re sick etc. Thats what I did today with Master O...thought it was odd that he went for so long, but thinking it might be a growth spurt? THink they get one around 6 weeks and my boys are 6 weeks this Sunday..scary thought that! :o Master O has a blocked nose this week but its clearing slowly...mind you the little darling sounds like Darth Vadar when he is feeding and sleeping! And the boogers..well they are just charming :thumbsdown:
They say it gets easier...is anyone else sick of hearing it??? I am..:yes:
It's great to have this forum to chat about personal experiences. My midwife told me that I shouldn't see red blood after about 8-10 days well I'm nearly 5 weeks post partum and my bleeding has only started getting brown teh last few days, I was starting to get worried and now I hear about your experiences I think maybe we're all fairly normal!
For all of you with pap smears I have mine at 6 weeks too, along with a diabetes test and appointments to discuss gall bladder surgery... oh and in a few weeks I have to think about getting some teeth fillings :hair:j At least now I know what to use the baby bonus for :no:
Cat - I've heard the baby blues can hit up to 8 days after baby is born, I hope you feel better soon :hugs:
Sparkles - that idea with the footprints sounds so cute :)
Jet - good to hear you are out and about making friends. I am hoping to join a group soon too, might keep me sane.
Lilly - your photos do not look like you need to lose 5kg! You are looking great post partum :yes:
Ditto with the pap smear. Can I have an epidural please?!
DD just woke up, I'm shocked. Actually got dinner at a reasonable hour! Oh please let us have a good night!!!!
Her hands were cold with the grobag - that doesn't matter, right?
lillyjack
03-06-2010, 21:04
Ewww forgot about the pap smear. Guess I'm going to be having one on Monday then :(
Jet - hope you have a good night, sounds promising so far :fingerscrossed:
Nikki - thanks for the compliment :D However I really do need to get back into shape and I am soooo unfit - walking up my driveway nearly ends in a heart attack at the moment :laughing:
Her hands were cold with the grobag - that doesn't matter, right?
I was told that hands and feet are often cold because circulation is not great in young babies, the best way to check temp is feel their belly / abdomen.
Thanks Nikki I heard that too. Just being paranoid I guess!!
angeleish
04-06-2010, 08:38
DS had a great day yesterday :yelclap: I was stoked. I was expecting the worst last night but it didn't happen. Witching hour was missed for the first time in a long time and his night time sleeps weren't too bad (although he only managed 3.5 hours between feeds - mummy was hoping for longer!)
grrr to this moving business. Normally I sleep after DS 6am feed until 9am and if I'm still tired I'll cat nap again after his next feed. This morning we have to go to the new house and meet with a tradesman..... grrr not happy!!!
I hope you all had decent sleeps last night.
earth????? Any action yet?
EarthAngel75
04-06-2010, 09:09
Good morning everyone :)
Angel: not much action to speak of here yet but i really dont expect much until at least Sunday or Monday at the earliest. Most babies just dont come early although this group wants to prove otherwise lol! I have my 3rd round of accupuncture today and my last lot tomorrow and it does seem to be doing something so fingers crossed things may actually happen by or on my edd!
Sparkles: I am going to be very much like you even though ive only got one with a routine. I dont think it's military sergeant-ish at all :)
Cat: how many days did you end up going over before labour started for you? Trying to get a good argument going if im not in labour by my ob app on Mon as he wants to book a cesear then and will probably try and do so for the wed which only has me 2 days over.
For those of you trying hand/foot prints its much easier to do when they are in a deep sleep ive found :) Also ive seen them done in paint (instead of ink) on small canvas's which looked really nice hung on the wall.
Boohoo didn't get to bed til 1 :(
Angeleish you're a lucky woman!!
come on Earthie :)
Got to bed at midnight, up at 4:30 for a feed, back to sleep until 9:30am. Seems to be a pretty set routine at the moment, only prob is that he won't sleep in his bassinette anymore, he hates it. He'll sleep on the floor, his cot, our bed any wide open space but not his bassinette...
Earth - hopefully labour will come when you least expect it, that's what happened for me. :fingerscrossed: the acupuncture is working, apparently if done well it has a good success rate.
Angel - I hate moving too, I've done it too many times in my life and although we want to move out of this area at the end of the year part of me doesn't want to move just to avoid the actual moving part. Hope you are all settled soon.
We're off to the beach today, taking the dog out as well because he deserves some playtime too and I need the exercise.
angeleish
04-06-2010, 11:57
Nikki - I can't even imagine the beach at this stage as it has been so cold here. Have fun. I'm sure your dog will love the attention too!
earth - If it helps you to persuade your ob I went 4 days over with DS. Labour started late 3 days over and he was born on the 4th day past my EDD. Good luck. You've done so much to encourage baby naturally, I really hope it works for you.
jet - :hugs: 1am sounds shocking. You poor thing. I hope you can make up for it today with some good day sleeps for both you and baby!
Angel - it's so warm up here still, no boots and scarves for me this winter. I own 3 cardigans in my wardrobe and my boots are reserved for trips interstate.
angeleish
04-06-2010, 15:42
Well done on getting rid of the nipple shields wishing!! Great timing too... now you wont need to worry about the nurses visit!! Well done on the sleeping patterns to. 4 hours at each interval at night time is a good effort!
Just took my little man to his maternal nurse appointment and the little porker has put on 750g in two weeks!! I guess that means he's having no problems getting enough milk! The nurse also explained that because he's getting so much milk (perhaps too much too quickly) it may explain his unsettled periods and upset tummy.
Oh wishing I'm green with envy on all counts!!!! Well done girl :)
Angel that's some good weight gain!!!!
Sorry wishing been wearing DD all day so no computer time for me. Def tomorrow. DH can take over!! Thanks for the hope re the damn shield :) think I read that about tears btw...
Wishing - tears come with time, DS has only just started with wet eyes but not full on tears yet.
Angel - great news on the weight gain!
Jet - not even the shield worked here with DS. You are doing well, I am sure DD will take to the boob without the shield soon!
angeleish
04-06-2010, 18:14
wishing - i should probably clarify. The nurse wasn't worried that he was putting on too much weight at all. In fact I think she was impressed. It is just that my milk comes so quickly and is so abundant that sometimes it might be a bit much for my poor little boy's tummy. His weight gain is great though.
Wishing - we often do the same here, DS goes to sleep on someone's chest then once he is dozy he gets put on the floor or cot or bassinette. If I try and put him down when he is fully awake I lose the battle.
Angel - I think the weight gain sounds good :) I've heard you can't really overfeed a breast fed baby, just a formula fed baby. I saw the plumpest formula fed baby the other day and I love plump babies but this one looked like it had three chins and he was younger than DS and eating twice as much per feed...
lillyjack
04-06-2010, 21:25
Hi girls, just need to "vent" a little bit. Had a really really bad night last night with little miss struggling to breathe, choking and then screaming. Had a lot of chokes again today and screaming after feeds so I bit the bullet and decided to call the pead. to see what else I could do for her silent reflux. Turns out he is on holidays so went to a recommended GP. The poor little chicken is now on Nexium (which is similar to Losec) a medication used for reflux. About to try it for the first time at her 10pm feed. I am really nervous about giving her a hardcore drug like that but if it helps her to feel better then I will give it a try.
Where has my "easy" baby gone? I knew it was all too good to last!
Aw lillyj that's no good. Hope the meds kick in.
LillyJack - you poor thing, that's so scary. If the drugs are going to help then that's what you need to do, once they work your easy baby might come back again, might just be a hiccup. Big hugs :hugs:
Had a bad night myself, in emergency again with a gall bladder attack and back on pain meds to manage it. Luckily my mum was able to look after DS, but next time we'll have to take him to emergency with us... I am not looking forward to that visit :(
hopefulmama2b
05-06-2010, 14:27
Lilyj- you poor thing- vent away, thats what we are here for. I am sure once she has taken the medication she will be back to easy baby :hugs:
Nikki- no good u were back at emergency but in another light, the more times u are there the more likely they will do something, you know? What do they do when u are there? I know this may sound silly but lay it on real thick when u are there- and I know u wont be acting, I remember that pain so well- my gallbladder was in awful condition but i just said to them, u have to remove it, I can't go on like this!
afm.. just went to lie down as I have had such a busy week and this is really the first day home all day all week but I think I am now overtired lol- billy keeps me up a little at night with gas but I am not one to need a lot of sleep anyway. Think I might clean out my wardrobe lol.
Oh, two quick questions- those of u with formula bubs, how much do u feed and how often and also- i have started bleeding again! Full on, BRIGHT red (TMI) and I am SORE down there.. like achey?? anyone else had this? Billy will be 5 weeks tomorrow can't beleive it already!!!
It's a day of disaster - I've done my neck in! Can't turn left! Like the anti-zoolander!!!
lillyjack
05-06-2010, 14:28
Nikki - you poor thing. Hope you are feeling a bit better now.
Hopeful - see a GP if your sore as well as bleeding down there, not worth taking a risk they may offer antibiotics in case you have a minor infection.
You are right, no need to act the pain is intense with a gall bladder, I have a surgeons appointment this week see what they say...
Thanks for the support girls :hugs:
Jet - you poor thing... you don't need this :no:
We're all falling apart :D this requires copious amounts of chocolate!!!
Oh Nikki...:hugs:hope you have a better night tonight.
:hugs: also LillyJ - hope your DD is doing better now.
Earth - I went into labour three days after my due date but my OB had be booked in to being induced a week after if I hadn't gone into spontaneous labour. Originally he said up to 10 days!!!
Quick one from me - going to try to make some dinner before the arsenic hour kicks in!!!
Far out when does this arsenic 6 hours end? Yet again we fed, bathed, topped up and put her down. 5 mins later she's screaming. Pick her up and she's fine. I'm going nuuuuuuuuts. This goes on til 1am every frigging night :(
lochnessie
05-06-2010, 21:20
Jet these are for you:hugs:
Maybe give ïnfants friend "a try, it helped with Ashtons belly at arsenic hours.......
Thanks for the hugs lochnessie :)
lochnessie
05-06-2010, 21:29
It's such a hard time Jet, but it does pass, just hang in there. Also if you can hand bub over to DH for a while this really helps, go jump in the bath with a glass of red.
Nikki I hope you feel better soon, you poor darling.
Ooh I like that bath and vino idea :)