View Full Version : New section for our Limestone Coast viewers

bubhub
17-05-2010, 15:06
As requested, here's a section specifically for our Limestone Coast viewers to meet up online, chat, talk about local issues and get to know each other.

mummynow
18-05-2010, 09:49
Yippee :smiliedance: Our very own section! Now all we need is some people to come along and join us :detective:

:wave: :yes: :shakehands: :ecomcity:

mummynow
01-06-2010, 12:47
:detective: Ok so now the question is how to attract new members from the South East SA / far South West Vic here so I'm not having to talk to myself :ecomcity: :laughing:

ilikeshinythings
29-06-2010, 10:01
We've just moved to Mount Gambier, and not long after moving I found out Im pregnant, 13 weeks now :cloud9:
Thought Id say hi so your not so lonely in this limestone coast thread lol :D

Blue&Pink
29-06-2010, 21:23
Hiiiii. I'm in Mt Gambier :wave:

waitinghoping
16-08-2010, 23:02
Mummynow - I might be joining you in about 12 months time.....DH and I are contemplating a move from Adelaide to Millicent or Mt Gambier.....:D

mummynow
17-08-2010, 10:51
Ooops :o Hello Ladies :wave: I can't believe I had forgotten to check back in here! So very rude of me :doh:

Hi Waitinghoping! I remember you from the IVF threads ;) Congratulations on you little bubba by the way :hugs:That would be very exciting if you move down here too. I don't know if you were around when we did just the same thing - moved from Adelaide to down here in mid 2008 just before DS was born. We are right in between the Mount and Millicent!

Hi ilikeshinythings - Sorry I completely ignored your last post. How are you and how is your pregnancy going?

Hi Mummy+T+C - Hope you are keeping well and warm? We have finally succumbed to the nasty winter bugs that have been going around :gloomy:

ilikeshinythings
17-08-2010, 11:16
Its going well thanks mummynow, 20w now, found out the other day that its a boy :)
Settling in to the mount still, cannot believe how cold it is here! brrr! lol

mummynow
18-08-2010, 14:39
Hi ilikeshinythings :wave: Congratulations on your little boy! I am am 27 weeks tomorrow and we're having a boy too! Got my gestational diabetes test tomorrow too with the OB. Not looking forward to drinking that yucky sweet stuff before hand though :no:

Yes it is really cold at this time of year, do you have a wood fire or other good heater? The upside of the colder climate here though is during summer when it's 40+ degrees up in Adelaide ..... it's usually only 30-35 degrees down here and cools off about 4pm each day which you won't get further up north :rolleyes: Where did you move from?

ilikeshinythings
18-08-2010, 14:48
Congrats on your boy!
Yeah not looking forward to having that test, yuck! But gotta do it I guess. Most of my family is diabetic so Im hoping I dont get it too :fingerscrossed:

We have a wood fire but the smell of the smoke makes me sick, so we're stuck with using the oil heater, oh my poor power bill. Im from Victor Harbor - which is almost as cold as here, but not quite lol. Looking forward to it being warm, thats good that it wont be so hot, my partner hates the heat (so living here is perfect for him!)

Got my hospital visit next week, have you had yours yet? (the one where they show you around). Should be interesting, ive never seen a maternity ward - Victor Harbor just has a maternity room in a normal ward!

mummynow
18-08-2010, 15:11
Brrrr - Victor Harbor is definitely cold too ;)

I had my hospital visit about 6 weeks ago. I had DS at Millicent and DD up in Adelaide before we moved down here. So the Mount Gambier hospital visit was all new to me too. But after i left my 1 hour appt I realised that no-one had shown me around :confused: So I have another appt in about 4 weeks as I am having a c-section so there's more paperwork to do etc. So I am going to ask to be shown around then as I have no idea where anything is in there or what the rooms look like etc. I really just wish I could go to Millicent again but at this stage for family convenience (eg. DH ability to visit and access to child care and school etc for the kiddies) I am going into the Mount this time :(

I have a family history of type 2 diabetes and I am a bigger person (as this is my 3rd pregnancy) so I have always feared gestational diabetes. But so far so good and I've not had it with either of my 1st two, so I have my fingers crossed I will be as lucky this time :fingerscrossed:

ilikeshinythings
18-08-2010, 16:12
Well hopefully the mount hospital is good to you then! Ive heard varying stories about it, but I dont have a choice so they better be good!
Thats strange that they didnt show you around, I guess theyre pretty busy though. I hope they show me around, but then again its not like Im going to remember where to go when it comes time to have the baby, I have no sense of direction and I imagine Ill be pretty distracted when Im in labour lol!

mummynow
18-08-2010, 16:35
I have no sense of direction and I imagine Ill be pretty distracted when Im in labour lol!

:laughing: Yes I imagine so ;)

I actually think they didn't show me around, or perhaps just forgot to, because she kept saying things like "well as this is your 3rd pregnancy I guess you'll know that......blah blah blah" But I didn't think to remind her that it was my first at their hospital. I've heard varying stories too so I am a little nervous :cool: But there are hundreds of babies born there every year so it can't be all bad hey :confused:

Blue&Pink
18-08-2010, 22:30
Hi Mummy+T+C - Hope you are keeping well and warm? We have finally succumbed to the nasty winter bugs that have been going around :gloomy:

We're keeping warm! There are some nasty bugs right now aren't there?! 2 weeks ago we all had gastro (as did 95% of my DS' school apparently..), now miss DD has a cold, tonsilitis, and just cut a tooth... and on top of her lactose intolerance just got diagnosed with cows milk protein issues too :rolleyes:

As for the Mount hospital... :laughing::laughing: Aaanyway, just be wary of pushy midwives. I had a half-half experience with them... they messed up my C-sec, we almost missed out on it being on the day, placenta bits were left inside me causing me to hemhorrage a few weeks later (sorry to scare! :laughing:), I had wanted a general anisthetic & was pushed into a spinal, and because i'd had depression during my pregnancy I did NOT get listened to.. I campaigned from day one things were wrong with DD, "oh no there isn't"... see my above about lactose & cows milk & she has bad reflux too. I actually applied for my medical records, and about day two of my stay in hospital all across the page is written "ALERT: MOTHER HAS MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES" - all because I asked for DD to be taken to the nursery so I could get some sleep. I was discharged but had immediate CYH and dom-care midwife visits due to my "mental health issues". Ironic part is, I have had zero mental health issues since DD's birth... not even PND which they tried to say I have.. Has left me with a bad taste in my mouth I must admit...

And the food.... :barf:

There is one midwife, Sonia, has short spiky hair and glasses... SHE IS A LEGEND. I loved her! She is friendly and helpful and you can ask her anything and have a joke with her.

Not to scare you any further, but when DD was approx 10wks old I ended up back in hospital with a 2nd hemhorrage - had an immediate D&C and told never to have anymore children. I've followed this up with my obst to find I didn't hemhorrage I was on AF, and didn't need the D&C, and no reason why I can't have anymore children. :confused:

Enjoy your birthing process and stay at the mount hospital ladies... :laughing:

ilikeshinythings
19-08-2010, 08:47
Thats horrible, you poor thing! Ok so note to self: dont eat the food, and fingers crossed I dont need a c section - Ive heard theyre pretty c section happy there tho :rolleyes: Ill have to get my partner to sneak food in for me :laughing:

They shouldn't have written mental health issues on your file without some sort of psych assessment surely? Thats so unfair! Its normal to be worried about your baby - and normal to want to sleep afterwards, geez! Im the most paranoid person when it comes to babies (had two misscarriages, so every little thing sets me off on the 'oh no its all over' train), so can only imagine what theyll say about me!

Ill keep an eye out for sonia :) the midwife I see at the moment is really nice, baby brained me cant remember her name right now though.. Cathy I think?

Blue&Pink
19-08-2010, 21:31
Ill have to get my partner to sneak food in for me :laughing:

They shouldn't have written mental health issues on your file without some sort of psych assessment surely?

so can only imagine what theyll say about me!

:laughing: I had exDP and friends bringing food in for me! I mostly stuck to the cold meat & salad option, it was the most tasty thing they had on offer!

Because I "apparently" had depression during my pregnancy (based solely on me being pregnant and alone...) it meant they could immediately label me as post natally depressed also... despite it simply being that I was just TIRED. :rolleyes:

waitinghoping
23-08-2010, 23:20
MummyNow - Yep I remember you from the Adelaide IVF threads (you're still on our Due Date list too - how exciting Bubs #3 and not long to go!!)

ilikeshinythings - congrats on having a boy on the way!

M+T+C - Sheesh you had a bad run!! I remember your story from the Nov thread (Im a lurker in there cos my I started in there, then was given a Dec Due date so moved but DD ended up being a Nov bub...) remind me to not eat the food at Mt Hospital :laughing:

Hmmm I will definitely be waiting for your birthing experiences at Mt hospital.... If all goes to plan we will be in Mt Gambier/Millicent (or 1/2 way between like you MN!) by the time I TTC #2... Ideally Id like to come back to Adelaide to have bubs here at NECH cos I had such a good experience and all our family are here... but dunno if thats going to be an option or not..:confused:

mummynow
24-08-2010, 12:25
MummyNow - Yep I remember you from the Adelaide IVF threads (you're still on our Due Date list too - how exciting Bubs #3 and not long to go!!)

ilikeshinythings - congrats on having a boy on the way!

M+T+C - Sheesh you had a bad run!! I remember your story from the Nov thread (Im a lurker in there cos my I started in there, then was given a Dec Due date so moved but DD ended up being a Nov bub...) remind me to not eat the food at Mt Hospital :laughing:

Hmmm I will definitely be waiting for your birthing experiences at Mt hospital.... If all goes to plan we will be in Mt Gambier/Millicent (or 1/2 way between like you MN!) by the time I TTC #2... Ideally Id like to come back to Adelaide to have bubs here at NECH cos I had such a good experience and all our family are here... but dunno if thats going to be an option or not..:confused:

Wow WH! Very exciting. I was in the same situation as you when I moved. DS was half baked (my IVF bubs) and I was so desperate to travel back to NECH where I had DD and to Dr Hughes who was my comfort zone doctor (love him as an OB!!). Plus my whole family are in Adelaide too and my bestest friends. But in the end it wasn't practical financially or physically etc. But you know I ended up choosing Millicent hospital and I actually had an even better experience than NECH! I couldn't believe it.

Admittedely I was a private patient so I got all the bells and whistles and the bestest room in the hospital and my own private access to the courtyard where there's grass, trees, benches and a fish pond etc. But aside form all that the food was great, the service too & the nurses and doctors etc were great too. And they weren't in a hurry to send you home (unless you wanted too of course) Not like in the Mount where they are hard and fast on the rules of how many day you stay in (the less the better in there opinion unless there is medical reasons that say otherwise of course). And Millicent hospital are a certified 'baby friendly' hospital so they advocate skin to skin contact and all the other bits that go with a pleasant experience.

I really hope I can work out a way to go there again for this bubs to be honest even though I will be in a public room (no private health cover anymore due to unexpected pregnancy!) so I won't get all the fancy trimmings but the medical service and food was great!

Blue&Pink
24-08-2010, 21:09
Not like in the Mount where they are hard and fast on the rules of how many day you stay in (the less the better in there opinion)

And Millicent hospital are a certified 'baby friendly' hospital so they advocate skin to skin contact and all the other bits that go with a pleasant experience.

Really? I had my C-sec with my DD and on day four wanted to go home and they didn't want me to... They wanted me to stay another day or two. :laughing:

Mt Hospital claim to be "baby friendly" - they'll really push for breastfeeding, skin to skin, etc. I made up my mind long before having DD that I wouldn't breastfeed and was pushed (gently by one midwife, not so gently by the rest) to breastfeed right up until I took the tablet to dry my milk from coming in.

Part of the reason for labelling me as "depressed" is because I didn't want skin-to-skin with DD... I had 35ish minutes with her after I came back onto ward from recovery, and after that figured it would be better for her to be dressed/wrapped/warm as the midwife kept banging on about making sure she was covered and warm. :ecomcity: But because they badgered me and I gave up and opted for her to be taken off me they figure I was having trouble bonding with her.

:rolleyes:

mummynow
26-08-2010, 13:29
Really? I had my C-sec with my DD and on day four wanted to go home and they didn't want me to... They wanted me to stay another day or two. :laughing:

Mt Hospital claim to be "baby friendly" - they'll really push for breastfeeding, skin to skin, etc. I made up my mind long before having DD that I wouldn't breastfeed and was pushed (gently by one midwife, not so gently by the rest) to breastfeed right up until I took the tablet to dry my milk from coming in.

Sorry Mummy+T+C. I didn't mean that the Mount hospital weren't a 'baby friendly' hospy. I could only comment on Millicent at this stage as that's the only one I've been too. I wasn't trying to say it was better than Mount Gambier necessarily.

As far as time staying in hospital after the birth I can only go on what I've been told by others and I'll admit the stories differ significantly. But the few that stuck in my mind that were negative towards being made to go home when the mum wasn't ready for whatever reason, and the hospital saying that was the rules, or they needed the bed, or not to worry as a midwife will visit you at home etc. I have had good reports from other mums that have delivered there but as you would know the bad things always seem to stick in ones mind :o

Not saying any of this is bad just that I felt really comfortable and relaxed at Millicent and not under pressure to head home if I wasn't ready etc.

starbright77
26-08-2010, 15:39
Hi ladies, this is my first ever post on here. I've just moved to Victor Harbor from Kalgoorlie, WA a month ago and am getting a bit lonely and missing my friends. Beautiful area though! I was trying to find some local Mums to chat to with , and I guess you must have mentioned VH in your posts.. :)

mummynow
26-08-2010, 15:57
Hi ladies, this is my first ever post on here. I've just moved to Victor Harbor from Kalgoorlie, WA a month ago and am getting a bit lonely and missing my friends. Beautiful area though! I was trying to find some local Mums to chat to with , and I guess you must have mentioned VH in your posts..

Hi starbright77 :wave: Welcome to Bubhub :thumbsup:

Unfortunately your search for Victor Harbor has misled you a bit. One of the ladies on here said she moved here FROM Victor Harbor. Unfortunately we are about 4 or 5 hours from VH :( Sorry. I am more than happy to chat with you though or help you around bubhub any way I can.

If you click on this link: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=30

it will take you to the South Australia section where you can then either select regional SA or Adelaide (which is then broken down to north, south, east & west) and start a new thread for Victor Harbor, or better yet Fleurieu Peninsula (gives you a broader spectrum of people) and invite others from your area to come and chat. Some people may think of it as South of Adelaide and others think of it as regional SA, so it's up to you which you'd prefer to post in.

Otherwise feel free to stick around in here! I grew up in Adelaide (lived there for 30 years) and visited VH many times and obviously there is someone in here too that has lived in VH so we might be able to help you out with some things anyway ;)

Sorry for my :ecomcity:

Best of luck with your new life in SA :hugs:

ilikeshinythings
26-08-2010, 17:27
Hi starbright, I just moved FROM victor harbor lol!

Have you thought about going to a mums group? I never went (didnt have kids when we lived in victor) but I know a couple of girls that go to a group, the facebook page for it is http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=35768697276#!/group.php?gid=35768697276&v=wall

Hope your enjoying it in Victor! :)

starbright77
26-08-2010, 20:28
Thanks to you both for your replies. I actually saw the 'Young Mums' book when I did a facebook search, but I'm 33, and feeling much older lately. Maybe I should start an 'old Mums' playgroup:p
..also, am curious, if you don't mind me asking, what were your reasons for leaving VH and moving to Mt Gambier? I was only looking at real estate there a few days ago and it looks pretty affordable, is there much work around there? My husband is working at Olympic Dam, so he's been working away the last few weeks, and I hate it:thumbsdown: other than the fact that there's less snoring and less housework/cooking as he's not around for me to impress, I really miss him!!!
Thanks for chatting!

ilikeshinythings
26-08-2010, 21:06
No big reason, we just needed a change - we both grew up in Victor, so it was time to 'explore the world' as such lol. I found work before we came here, I think unless you do that it would be pretty hard to just show up and get a job - I emailed a bunch of places and got a job for each of us, then got pregnant and had to quit! (Im a cleaner so the chemicals and the bending over was making me sick). Housing is really affordable, but you have to be careful what area you live in, apparently some areas have a high crime issue. Im in the east tho, and thats meant to be bad, but I havent seen any wierdos - mainly Ive seen those in the west, go figure! :laughing:

That must be hard, moving somewhere new and missing your man :no: Hope you make friends soon, Im sure you will :yes:

waitinghoping
26-08-2010, 22:49
Hi Starbright - wow a big move from WA!! U can understand it being tough. Thats one thing that scares me about moving from Adelaide (Im still in Adelaide but there might be a move south on the cards next year...) You just reminded me I have a friend who recently moved to Goolwa and I have been meaning to go down and visit... I hope you meet some new mummies soon. Have you tried contacting any local churches or community centres to see if they have mums group down there? Or is there a CYH you can contact (Child Youth Health - 1300 733 606 there is a branch in Victor) they can give you a list of local groups, thats what I did when I was looking to meet other mums) :yes:

Mummynow - I loved NECH. Had a fantastic experience despite it ending in emergency c-section. If you dont mind me asking - how did you find the move to the S/E? How did you find settling in etc??

Ilikeshinythings - hmmm Ill have to research the "Where NOT to move to/buy a house in the S/E" :laughing:

mummynow
27-08-2010, 10:39
if you don't mind me asking, what were your reasons for leaving VH and moving to Mt Gambier? I was only looking at real estate there a few days ago and it looks pretty affordable, is there much work around there? My husband is working at Olympic Dam, so he's been working away the last few weeks, and I hate it:thumbsdown:

Real estate is definately more affordable here than Adelaide and far more affordable than Perth and the east coast of Oz. But like 'shinythings' says there is good patches and bad patches (or rather less desirable patches) With the whole East thing they usually refer to 'east of Pick Avenue' south of the Jubilee highway and down to Lake Terrace east. So if you look at a map you'll get a bit of an idea where that is. But it is down to your personal opinion and what you expect from your neighbours etc. And there are spots all over town where there are little pockets of 'less desirable' neighbours but that's everywhere in the country I'm sure. But even in the high demand areas like the newer estates etc the cost of housing is excellent compared to other places in the state or across Oz.

We actually chose to live out of Mt Gmabier (about 20 minutes away) as a lifestyle choice. We wanted some space but with the convenience of the big towns nearby. We are in a small town but we only have a general store / liquor store / post office / fuel station etc. (yes it's all in the same building - no main street here :no:) But we also have a primary school, kindy, occasional care for preschoolers, football, netball, tennis & cricket club and a bunch of other community activities. So it's not as bad as it sounds. Plus we have the freedom to grow our own vegies, fruit, meat etc.

We wanted to buy land and build, and land out here is really affordable. We have blocks on our street up for sale that are 4.5 to 10 acres and they range from $70,000 to $110,000. And established houses range from $150,000 to $400,000 (depending on the house and size of property. But as I said before it all comes down to what you expect from life, friends, neighbours etc.

As far as work goes it really depends what your skills or interests are. If you are trained in something in particular and only want to work in that area then you need to make sure that is available down here first. If you are more flexible or like your DH (FIFO) then there is plenty around.

Do not rely on the main job agency (Gramac) They are good, but you will seriously have more luck by word of mouth / cold calling & Friday's Border Watch newspaper. Oh and the jobsearch.gov.au website. July / August and December / January are not good times of year to be looking for work though. They are quiet patches in most industries. But there is also the option for seasonal work around the places. My DH has a 5 year plan (apparently :rolleyes:) and has decided to work at a local saw mill (plenty of those down here too) so we can get things established here and by then the kids will all be in school etc. Then we'll re-assess the work situation for both of us.

There is also a drilling company down here that have the contract up at the Beverley mines for over 10 years or more if your DH still wants to be in mining. It's Fly in Fly out. They do exploration mining in other places too.

Housing is really affordable, but you have to be careful what area you live in, apparently some areas have a high crime issue. Im in the east tho, and thats meant to be bad, but I havent seen any wierdos - mainly Ive seen those in the west, go figure! :laughing:

ilikeshinythings
27-08-2010, 10:59
With the whole East thing they usually refer to 'east of Pick Avenue' south of the Jubilee highway and down to Lake Terrace east.

Lol Im about two streets away from there, but I did notice that the deeper into that side you go to dodgier the houses look etc. Mind you I grew up in smithfield plains (elizabeth), so I guess Im used to 'shady' areas! My partner gets so nervous when we go visit friends in smithfield, paranoid about the car being stolen etc... he lived in victor his whole life til we moved here, so he's a bit sheltered :laughing: Im like 'um, I used to walk around here on my own when I was 5, Im pretty sure we'll be right'.... because in my experience, those areas get a bad rap, and sure theres some bogans, theives and druggies, BUT theres also a lot of the nicest, most caring and accepting people you will ever meet :yes: *end of rant*

However, if someone breaks into my house no doubt my view will alter and we'll have to move to conroe heights :laughing:

Danielle

mummynow
27-08-2010, 11:08
Mummynow - I loved NECH. Had a fantastic experience despite it ending in emergency c-section. If you dont mind me asking - how did you find the move to the S/E? How did you find settling in etc??

We were considering moving to the country for about 5 years prior to actually moving. We didn't know where at first but after thorough research on job availablity, real estate prices, cost of living & climate (so sick of water restrictions in the capital cities - don't get me wrong I understand the need, was just over it) we decided on the South East.

So then it came down to finding a house or land and building and finding DH a job (as I'd had DD by then and was doing IVF TTC #2) Over the course of about 2 years we made regular trips down to the south east and sussed out areas, lifestyle, people in areas we were considering etc. And when we finally picked a town I visited the kindy & school and introduced myself to the teachers and some parents to see what kind of feeling I got. I loved it - so very different to suburban Adelaide.

We had never heard of this town before but found a lovely small community with a school and kindy and sporting club and general store and affordable land prices - right in the middle of Mt Gambier, Millicent & Penola which is very handy as it opens up more opportunities for employment in regards to travel distances etc.

It took a year for us to build the house and get things sorted ready to move in so I had 12 months to warm to the idea of a big scary move away from all my family and what few friends I had in Adelaide. But although it was sad it was an exciting adventure too. We had some major technical hurdles due to weather moving in the middle of winter and for the first few weeks I cried alot (was pregnant with DS by then too) and I wondered if we had made a huge mistake.

But I decided to be pro-active and join the local playgroup and get DD straight into kindy (they are allowed to start at 3.5 years down here if you want - and have occasional care from 2 years if you are interested - just 3 or 6 hours per week). I soon met some really lovely friendly local mummies.

Most people are so welcoming and helpful. There are some exceptions and you soon learn who to tell your life story too and who not too :ecomcity: And there is also typical town gossip and politics. But you either get involved (if that's what your into) or you learn to stay out of it. Generally it's all very positive.

I can't comment first hand on living actually in the Mount or Millicent although I have heard from other mums (DS's CYH mothers and babies group) that it can be very similar to living up in Adelaide where you don't necessarily know your neighbours etc. Which is sad, but I guess that depends how much you are willing to introduce yourself and try to make friends etc.

There was a young family who used to live next door to us that decided to move into Mount Gmabier earlier this year. They moved in here 12 months before us. At the time of moving they had no children but then soom fell pregnant and had their first bubs by the time we moved in here. They were both so sad and depressed and he was long term unemployed (mostly his own doing :rolleyes:) and she was sad that she had no friends and didn't know anyone locally etc.

She told me she was sad that I had been here 6 weeks and met more people than she had in the whole year she had been here. But she soon realised it was because she wasn't putting her self out there and being friendly and polite and open to conversation etc. So I took her down to playgroup and that soon all turned around for her. But it proved to me that you have to be in the right frame of mind to make a big move like this. You have to want to make it work. I hope that makes sense :confused:

I feel like I've dribbled on a bit too much already so I'll leave it at that but feel free to ask me anymore questions or PM me and we can chat via email or something. I have plenty to say on the subject :ecomcity: lol :D

mummynow
27-08-2010, 11:16
because in my experience, those areas get a bad rap, and sure theres some bogans, theives and druggies, BUT theres also a lot of the nicest, most caring and accepting people you will ever meet :yes: *end of rant*

However, if someone breaks into my house no doubt my view will alter and we'll have to move to conroe heights :laughing:

Danielle

I totally understand where you are coming from Danielle. I have some really lovely friends in Munno Para & Andrews Farm & the not so nice parts of Craigmore. Sometimes it comes down to where you can afford to live and you just hope and pray that the nastier ones leave you alone. Unfortuantely I had a friend who had no choice and was 'stuck' in a rut in Smithfield and she was burgled many times and also raped one night by an intruder as she was a single mum and someone knew she was home alone etc. It was a very distressing situation for all concerned. But that's all beside the point. I was just trying to say that like you said just because you live in a less desirable area doesn't mean you are necessarily a bad person. My only concern though with finding myself living in an area like that would be that if my children then had to attend the local school that the cycle continues if you know what I mean. They grow up with friends of people that might be not so good and they are impressionable to some very wrong things. I hope that makes sense. Not meaning to upset anyone or hurt anyones feelings etc.

ilikeshinythings
27-08-2010, 11:28
How horrible for your friend :( Some people do have a really hard time, some just get lucky I guess.

Thats a good point about the cycle continues with kids, hadent thought about that. (seeing as I dont have kids yet, so I dont think about that stuff yet, oh god Im going to have so much to worry about when my little man arrives!! *freaks out*)

I also think my opinion may vary if we hadent left when I was so young.... your pretty innocent at that age, so everyone seems nice... i wasnt really old enough to understand the dangers I guess.

hmmm. But anyway my point is that there are nice people there, not just bogans :D

mummynow
27-08-2010, 12:05
Thats a good point about the cycle continues with kids, hadn't thought about that. (seeing as I dont have kids yet, so I dont think about that stuff yet, oh god Im going to have so much to worry about when my little man arrives!! *freaks out*)

:laughing: You will be amazed at the things you start to worry about from the moment your little boy pops out :yes: Talk about anxiety and stress :rolleyes:

waitinghoping
27-08-2010, 22:42
Woah lots of info I love it :D

Dani - I know exactly where you are coming from, Im actually a social worker by my first degree (dont hold that against me :laughing:) and worked for a few years in Smithfield Plains so Ive seen the good, bad and ugly out there. Unfortunately I got mostly the bad and yep, 3rd generation unemployed stuck in a rut... but theres some awesome people there too so I completely agree - the areas might sometimes be a little rough round the edges but not all of the residents always are!!

My story is DH wants to re-train so will be going back to an apprenticeship (SHEESH money will SUCK) and may have potential to do so working with a family member in the S/E. He has always wanted to live there so is chomping at the bit to go. Ive also worked in recruitment and DH unfortunately has a medical issues which sadly would be looked down upon by many employers here in Adelaide (too many other candidates to choose from):thumbsdown: so getting a new start at age 34 might be a bit tough for him.. so Im happy to move if it means he can do what he wants to do. Im studying atm, hoping once I finish uni mid next year to pick up work in the S/E to support him....

Mummynow - we are looking at living just out of Millicent (hopefully), want some space and land like you have done :thumbsup: I love my veggie patch, I want to expand!!!!! Im a fairly outgoing person and love to meet others so would be pretty proactive (like yourself) in getting my butt out and meeting other Mummies. :D

starbright77
28-08-2010, 08:24
WaitingHoping,
What are you studying now? My DH and I are talking about going back to uni. I did a media communications diploma back in Canada but never got into the industry. I have absolutely no idea what I'd like to do for a job, but it would have to be something that I like and that pays enough to be worth being out of the house:D

mummynow
28-08-2010, 12:29
My story is DH wants to re-train so will be going back to an apprenticeship (SHEESH money will SUCK) and may have potential to do so working with a family member in the S/E. He has always wanted to live there so is chomping at the bit to go. Ive also worked in recruitment and DH unfortunately has a medical issues which sadly would be looked down upon by many employers here in Adelaide (too many other candidates to choose from) so getting a new start at age 34 might be a bit tough for him.. so Im happy to move if it means he can do what he wants to do. Im studying atm, hoping once I finish uni mid next year to pick up work in the S/E to support him....

Mummynow - we are looking at living just out of Millicent (hopefully), want some space and land like you have done I love my veggie patch, I want to expand!!!!! Im a fairly outgoing person and love to meet others so would be pretty proactive (like yourself) in getting my butt out and meeting other Mummies.

Hi again :wave:

Wow what an exciting adventure for you. DH turned 34 the week we moved here so we can relate to getting a fresh start at what is not always considered a young age :rolleyes: Do you mind if I ask what industry your DH is looking at doing his apprenticeship in? Oh and for yourself there are a number of recruitment agencies down this way and I have seen ad's in the careers section many times looking for employees like yourself. You said you were at uni?? What are you studying? Have you been to Millicent and Mt Gambier before? Millicent is quite a bit smaller than the Mount but still has mostly what you need out there but also not too far to travel to Mt G if you need something more. And of course the upside is I'm right in the middle so you can stop for coffee :p Which side 'out of Millicent' are you looking?

Gosh I'm nosey! Sorry don't answer anything you don't want too :o

Blue&Pink
28-08-2010, 23:08
I live in the dreaded east end. Right smack bang on the main street of it, really.

Shoot me :laughing:

It gets a bad rep, but seriously, people talk a lot of dung if you ask me. OK I don't like it much & I'm trying to find a rental not in this area (I took it because it was cheap & I was desperate - and I'm finding ppl won't rent to single mothers above $200p/w so I guess I was sensible taking a cheaper house) but I really don't get much drama here. Most of my drama is actually my neighbours. If they'd go, it'd be all good :rolleyes:

The west end is as bad as the east end now-a-days. Conroe won't take long to be the same, crime doesn't discriminate :laughing:

Oh all I will say for this area is the school - SHOCKING. Well, OK the school is good & it has some of the best resources of all the publics in Mt G, but some of the children.. SHEEEEESH the language coming from little kids mouths... makes me wanna take a baseball bat to their parents.

starbright77
29-08-2010, 17:49
Mummynow: My husband is working as a process tech and has been doing so for almost six years now. He wants to do an engineering degree. At least we'd be able to live wherever we wanted instead of him having to work away. He's done lots of things, boat building (in NZ), meat cutting, but we just think for job security and for our future it's kind of now or never.
M,T+C, is it really that rough? It sounds a bit like Kalgoorlie, though I always felt safe, but I HATED my husband going into town (for drinks, that is) as the concentration of morons seems to be multipled by about 20 at 3am.. also, I got used to seeing fights on the main st at midday, and also at the library one time, at noon, as I was standing at the counter with my kids, two men literally rolled in the door pounding on each other... and also our car was broken into, and we lived in the best area of town.. hmm... guess if we lived there and got out alive we can live anywhere :laughing:
However, school is another issue altogether. The public school in Kal was awesome. Here in VH, most Mums I've met seem to send their kids to the private school. I don't understand how people can afford those fees, especially with more than one kid (or three of school age, as we have atm)! I wonder if there's really a difference in the quality of education? Any opinions here on public vs private ed? (Esp. ilikeshinythings, was it, who just moved here from VH?) Thanks for the company everybody!!:wave:

mummynow
29-08-2010, 18:32
Oh all I will say for this area is the school - SHOCKING. Well, OK the school is good & it has some of the best resources of all the publics in Mt G, but some of the children.. SHEEEEESH the language coming from little kids mouths... makes me wanna take a baseball bat to their parents.

However, school is another issue altogether. The public school in Kal was awesome. Here in VH, most Mums I've met seem to send their kids to the private school. I don't understand how people can afford those fees, especially with more than one kid (or three of school age, as we have atm)! Thanks for the company everybody!!:wave:

Just in case anyone is reading this that doesn't know Mount Gambier .... it has a population of about 30,000 people as at the last consensus (and that's in Mount Gambier alone not including surrounding areas) and has about 5 public primary schools, 2 public high schools & 2 main private schools that are R-12. Plus there are many small country town schools between 10-20 minutes drive from the Mount if you prefer that type of school (including Yahl, Suttontown, Mil-lel, Compton, Moorak & Allendale just to name a few) so the good news is you have options when it comes to schooling. Also although I'll agree 'crime doesn't discriminate', we have a much lower crime rate here than in Adelaide and Melbourne (thank goodness:thumbsup:).

ilikeshinythings
30-08-2010, 11:14
Here in VH, most Mums I've met seem to send their kids to the private school. I don't understand how people can afford those fees, especially with more than one kid (or three of school age, as we have atm)! I wonder if there's really a difference in the quality of education? Any opinions here on public vs private ed? (Esp. ilikeshinythings, was it, who just moved here from VH?)

Wellllllll here comes another Dani rant, lol.
So, in smithfield I was a public school kid, moved to victor, went to the public school for half a year then my parents got religious and I got sent to the private school. Then it closed (its now reopened under a different name but it shut for about a year!), so I was home schooled, then went to the public high school - so as you can imagine I have an opinion on each of these!

The public primary school is great - good facilities, mostly good teachers. If we were still there then that would be were I would send my little fella. The port elliot one is good too, my brothers went there.

The private school - how do people afford it? well when I went there it was on scholarship, so my parents only had to pay a small fee and my uniform costs.

Im biased with this one though - I was badly bullied there, so I would never recommend it. Some teachers were wonderful, others were horrid (and made the bullying worse. One joined in) Apart from that, the education I recieved was no better than the public school, in fact I would say it was worse because its a smaller school, so it has less resources, and a lot of the education was heavily religion based - this may have changed though, it was a long time ago after all - I was there yrs 5 - 9.... I finished yr 12 in 2003.... so that would make it roughly what, 1996 - 2000?? Hmmm none of these schools succeeded in teaching me math :laughing:

But I would never send a child to that school. The way the kids behave is appaling, they are taught to think that they are superior to public school kids, and boy does it show. The teachers arent any better than the public school teachers, and the education isnt either. So why pay more?

The high school has good resources, some great teachers, I thought it was great, as long as your kids have the sense to stay away from the kids that hang out under the bridge (drugs...). It also has a lot of wonderful programs, like sailing, surfing, and a lot of pathways to work / further education, with a great counselor to help the kids with their options for after school. I guess you dont have to worry about that for a while though!!

Sorry to ramble :D In my opinion - go public. That will give them a smooth transition from primary to high school, with the same group of kids, similar teaching methods, and they wont come out with a superiority complex :laughing:

Blue&Pink
01-09-2010, 14:20
:laughing: Yes we do have options here for schooling, but you're also zoned.. ie: because I live in the east end I have to send my kid to east primary. if i lived over north, he'd go to north. you can't change without your child being suspended or expelled (trust me, I've tried).

I looked into one of the private schools for DS, but sheeeeesh :eek:

Meh, it's like anywhere really. It's no better or no worse than anywhere, it's just part of the world :)

mummynow
01-09-2010, 14:29
:laughing: Yes we do have options here for schooling, but you're also zoned.. ie: because I live in the east end I have to send my kid to east primary. if i lived over north, he'd go to north. you can't change without your child being suspended or expelled (trust me, I've tried).

:( What a shame. I didn't realise the zoning was so strict. I was under the impression it was just a 'genral rule'. What a bugger for you. Do you know if the outer schools (The country ones I mentioned such as Allendale or Suttontown, Mil-lel or Moorak for example) are zoned? Could you take him there being only a bit further to drive? DD's school is a country town one not far out of the Mount, (but probably too far to drive twice a day, each day) but they aren't zoned and welcome kids from anywhere with open arms (to keep up their numbers).

Blue&Pink
04-09-2010, 15:14
I'm not sure if the outer schools are zoned or not. I keep meaning to look into it and not getting around to it :rolleyes:

Yeah the zoning thing is pretty strict. Unless your kid is in a private school. Then ANY public school will take you, zone or not, cause they love stealing kids from the private schools :laughing:

waitinghoping
07-09-2010, 10:03
MA - recruitment agencies - yeah will have to look in to them... my background before working in schools was working in recruitment.... may have to actually work FOR them :laughing:

All this talk of schools.... does anyone know about the high schools in MG/Millicent? (Im studying high school teaching and will be qualified to teach when Imove so Im interested as they maybe my future employers....;))

mummynow
07-09-2010, 11:02
All this talk of schools.... does anyone know about the high schools in MG/Millicent? (Im studying high school teaching and will be qualified to teach when Imove so Im interested as they maybe my future employers....;))

In Mt Gambier you've got Grant High & Mt Gambier High for Public High Schools & Tennyson Woods College and St Martins for Private High Schools.

Then there's Allendale Area School just 10-15mins out of town which is Kindy through to high School.

Millicent you only have Millicent High School I think.

The only things I am aware of re: the high schools is in Mount Gambier the Public schools are zoned but there is exceptions based on individual circumstances that can get a student into the other school if you meet certain requirements. And I've been told Grant High used to be the technical college so due to facilities on the premises it still has a strong tech focus for those that are into that.

I believe there is also a High School at Penola (:detective:) which is only 50km from Mt Gamier and 50 km from Millicent also.

Sorry I don't know much else yet though as my kids are way too young for high school.

mummynow
09-09-2010, 11:15
Well I had an appointment at Millicent Hospital with a midwife/lactation consultant and it looks like it's all go for me to have bubs there after all :smiliedance:

Apparently there's only a 10% chance that I'd need to be sent over to the Mount Gambier Hospital and that is only if I go into early labour and I ring the hospital and they can't pull all the relevant staff together at that time (eg. anaesthesitist etc.) But even with early labour there's still a pretty good chance they could get everyone in quick enough for me. But that said, so far I have never gone into labour spontaneoulsy, so good chance it won't happen that way this time either.

On a side note in case anyone is interested... they have a new policy as of last year sometime due to a security scare in an Adelaide hospital somewhere.... They almost always manage to put all maternity patients in a private room regardless of whether they have private insurance or not. And I don't mean in a public room on your own.... I mean one of there swishy private rooms with all the mod cons.

She also said they don't treat any of there maternity patients any differently to each other... regardless of private vs. public patient compared to some of the bigger hospitals in the state. I'm not terribly fussed about this side of things this time as it's my 3rd baby so hopefully I'm not so dependant on their assistance emotionally & physically, but it's still nice to know that there'll be a little bit of luxury as an added bonus :thumbsup: (and without the dreaded 'excess' contribution payment to the insurance company at the end of it)

waitinghoping
09-09-2010, 14:39
Oooh thats awesome news Mummynow!!! :yelclap:

Blue&Pink
10-09-2010, 20:48
I think I should've gone to Millicent :laughing:

waitinghoping
29-10-2010, 21:12
Just thought Id pop my head in and say hi, hope everyone is well!! We are heading down to the S/E after New Years to suss out a move there in late 2011.... :D

Oh and Good luck MummyNow!! Not long to go! Please keep us posted :)

Crinklecut
31-10-2010, 20:32
im a newbie to BH
i have lived in the mount for 2 yrs(as of friday ;) ) i have 2 kidlets 5yr old boy and a 3 yrs old girl.
I am a student midwife, so i am getting very comfy at the Mt G hospital :)

just another note with millicent dont go into labour on the weekends as you will get sent to here as generally there isnt OB cover on the weekends

any way
catchya round!

waitinghoping
04-11-2010, 15:19
Hi Crinklecut! Welcome :wave:

Mummynow - Did I hear somewhere your new little man is now Earthside??!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! :flowerz:(really hoping it was you now!!:D)

patsmum
18-12-2010, 14:57

I am being positive as saying we will be moving to Robe in the new year!

Well dh has had a job interview, and we have been short listed, just waiting to hear the final verdict!

We are playing to start for our 3rd bub after april and millicent hospital sounds lovely! I have had one bub in a country hospital that had been rebuilt - not to deliver babies. So we christened it! Still *most* of the care was fantastic!! And very different, the second night we had a dementia patient in our room asking us too put our dancing shoes on to go dancing!! lol Second was all out private with a awesome room, views of Perth city, belmont race course and the swan river. I am very tempted to be back there for the birth!

So thats my bubs- both boys!

My story - travelling Australia semi long term. We have been on the road for 12 months and have only done some of WA and the Eyre P of SA. We are from midwest WA. At the moment we are near Streaky Bay.

Your posts are all great for me! I didnt realise mt Gambier was so big, or feral! (no offence meant there, im just used of smaller towns!!)

Anyways will be back in here if we end up in Robe!

waitinghoping
19-12-2010, 21:20
Welcome Patsmum! Its been a bit quiet in here lately! Fingers crossed that your DH gets the job in Robe!! We are going down to Millicent after New Years to suss a move out more, but if we do we wont be relocating until later in the year.

Lima
03-01-2011, 15:23

I'm a newbie, who will be moving to Mt Gambier in Feb / March from the Murraylands (or sooner if I can find work). DH's family live there, and we spent Christmas down there which is what sparked the move (he was born in Penola and has lived in the Mt, pt Mac and Nangwarry over the years)

We have an 8yo DD, who DH wants to send to Mt G north school, so that is where we are looking for a house. He refuses to live over East, and refuses even more to let DD go to Maleluca (he went there as a kid, from the stories I've heard they'd probably refuse to enrol here there based on the havoc he reeked back then anyway :laughing: )

At the moment the biggest challenge is finding me a job. I'm slightly frustrated that the border watch don't list their jobs online - or if they do I can't find them. DH is starting his own business down there, and his Uncle already has a lot of potential customers lined up for us, so that is one headache taken care of.

I am also going to be starting fertility treatment this year - first appt is this week :eek: after trying for 2.5 years we have just discovered DH has not so great sperm. I'm guessing - and google is agreeing with me - that I will still have to travel back to Adelaide for treatment because there are no clinics in town.

Anyway looking forward to getting to 'meet' you all.

mummynow
03-01-2011, 17:04
Hi Lima and welcome to our little corner of bubhub. Sorry I have to keep this short for now as I'm breast feeding with one arm and cooking tea with the other and typing withe 2 spare fingers ;)

We live in a little town between the Mount & Millicent but I shop and visit the Mount once or twice a week at least. We temporarily have no computer or internet after our house fire on 30th of October but I try to get to friends houses regularly to check bubhub and emails etc. I have a DD who will be 6 in March & DS who was 2 in November and another DS who is 9 weeks old. Our first bubs we needed fertility treatment of clomid to get pregnant & our 2nd bubs we had IVF. But bubs number 3 was a complete surprise to us as we had no assistance and were not even TTC! You should look into some Victorian clinics as some have units in North Western Victoria which is far closer than all the way back to Adelaide. I often pop over the border for medical treatment rather than dragging the kids 6 hours back to Adelaide.

Anyway, I wish you all the best with it and look forward to getting to know you a bit more soon. I will try to get back on here later in the week or so :wave:

mummynow
03-01-2011, 17:09
Hi Crinklecut! Welcome :wave:

Mummynow - Did I hear somewhere your new little man is now Earthside??!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! :flowerz:(really hoping it was you now!!:D)

Hi again, so sorry for not getting on hear..... between our house fire 30/10 & Little Joshua arriving 2/11 & Matthew's birthday 4/11 and we;re still not back in our own house yet.....it's still being fixed & we have no computer or internet. Life has been hectic to say the least. I will be back in touch asap.

Joshua Riley was born by c/section on 2/11 at Millicent hospital. My stay there was awesome. He weighed 3.86kg and was 52cm long. Sorry but I have to fly now and will talk soon xx

waitinghoping
05-01-2011, 09:20
Congrats Mummyagain on little Joshua, I love that name :) Oh how awful a house fire, I hope you didnt have too much damage, sounds like its been busy times at your place!

Welcome Lima :bigwelcome: Im not yet living in the S/East (Im in Adelaide) but we are contemplating a move later this year (wow it sounds scary saying that, in the past ive always said in 2011, "this year' sounds so much closer!) we are looking at moving to Millicent (just out of, like MA probably somewhere between Millicent and the Mount). I too had Fert treatment when TTC though my DD was a natural surprise so am hoping we might be blessed again. The thought of going through fert treatment while living so far away had concerned me so thanks for the info MA.

Well we just got back from Millicent after spending New Years there (well stayed in Millicent but went to Beachport for New Years). Spent time with family and travelled around a lot, was a nice break. Good to have a look around too and get a feel for the area more. I didnt want to come back here!!!

Hope you are all well :wave:

patsmum
16-01-2011, 18:39

We have ended up in the Barossa instead of Robe. Never know we might come that way at some time!! ( we are long term travellers!!)

See ya round!

Lima
18-01-2011, 18:14
Thanks for the welcome.

Things are moving ahead here, I am hoping to get a call about a job tomorrow. If I get the job I will be moving to Mt Gambier ASAP and living in a caravan park for a few weeks waiting for DH and DD to join me - They get the fun job of packing up our current house and moving everything. In a way I kinda hope I get the job, because even though being away from them for weeks will suck, packing sucks more:laughing:

christianne
19-01-2011, 10:06
Hawo,
Im from Naracoorte! I was wondering if I had fellow Limestone coast people here hehe! Seems I do!
I have two kids and due in APril with bubs #3

waitinghoping
19-01-2011, 21:53
Patsmum -ooh the Barossa, nice! Good luck

Good luck with the job Lima!!

Christianne welcome Im in Adelaide but contemplating a move to the S/E later this year...

christianne
20-01-2011, 07:05
Hi waitinghoping!

I love the south East, we live an hour from Mount gambier in Naracoorte. Good area though, altho Ive found I now dont like Adelaide as its way to busy for me (after having lived there most of my life and loving it lol)

waitinghoping
25-01-2011, 21:32
Christianne - oooh Naracoorte is lovely, I have a few friends who either have previously lived there or have family there. We have family (well DHs side) in Millicent so that is where we will probably head. Im currently finishing my teaching degree so planning on going down to Millicent to do my final prac in Sept/Oct to "try it out" and get a feel for the area, and hopefully score some work somewhere in the south east.

What made you move from Adelaide? I know what you mean about Adelaide though, Ive always lived here (apart from a short stint in Whyalla a few years ago) and although I love it Im over how crazy busy its getting!! I love the feeling of the small community but it scares me leaving all my support behind!!

Hi to everyone, hope you are all doing well

christianne
26-01-2011, 08:54
Christianne - oooh Naracoorte is lovely, I have a few friends who either have previously lived there or have family there. We have family (well DHs side) in Millicent so that is where we will probably head. Im currently finishing my teaching degree so planning on going down to Millicent to do my final prac in Sept/Oct to "try it out" and get a feel for the area, and hopefully score some work somewhere in the south east.

What made you move from Adelaide? I know what you mean about Adelaide though, Ive always lived here (apart from a short stint in Whyalla a few years ago) and although I love it Im over how crazy busy its getting!! I love the feeling of the small community but it scares me leaving all my support behind!!

Hi to everyone, hope you are all doing well

We take the boat thru millicent and it seems ok. Havent actually stopped there lol.
My Dh works here so I moved here coz his work was better pay than mine and I have lived here before when I was younger.
I hate shopping in Adelaide, the whole struggling to find a park , rude checkout people or staff, not to mention rude ppl just passing, here I can go to the shop always find a park and the staff are nice, or they dont last long lol...
I know what you mean about leaving support behind, my one true support was my best mate and we did coffee every week, and now we dont :( I miss that mega amounts but you get that.

waitinghoping
02-02-2011, 08:40
Yeah I think that if we move the period of adjustment while we get settled in and meet people will be difficult for me but Im sure once I get to know some people and make friends I will be ok :) I just noticed you're pg again too, congrats!!

christianne
02-02-2011, 08:42
Thanks! Im sure the move would be ok and you seem like you could handle it :)
At least you have the right idea and joining a bubhub group thats near the area first :)

KrissyM
10-02-2011, 17:39
I dont belong in this thread but I am a regional SA mum from Eyre Penisular and that group doesnt seem to chat. Anyway sorry for crashing your thread but I'm hoping someone in here may be able to help me. Im pregnant with my 2nd child who will be a heart baby so am now having to have my baby at WCH. Just wondering if anyone has had their babies at WCH and has used accomadation close by. Just wanting to know whats good, whats affordable and whats flexible cause I dont know how long beforee bubs is born I'd need accom, since bubs dont always come when theyre supposed to and how long after as sometime in 1st 2 weeks we go to Melb for surgery.
Thanks heaps

christianne
10-02-2011, 19:16
Hey Krissym

I didnt have mine at WCH, try starting a new thread, I lived in adelaide for years tho but try starting a new thred in the chat section and see how you go...
hope it all turns out ok

mummynow
09-03-2011, 21:24
Hi waitinghoping! and all my other fellow limestonecoasters:cheerleader1: I'm officially back online with my own computer and back living in our house after our fire. It's been 18 weeks since that terrible day :impatient: Baby Joshua is 18 weeks old already - eeek! :eek: I am really tired tonight after a very long day of still more unpacking of boxes but I will get back on here in the next few days for a proper catch up. Hope everyone is well :fingerscrossed:

chat soon xx

waitinghoping
11-03-2011, 20:21
KrissyM - sorry Im still in Adelaide and had my DD at NECH. Not to familiar with WCH myself..I hope everything is ok with bubs

Welcome back Mummynow! Sorry everyone Ive been slack in here, will pop in more often now. Congrats Mummynow on Joshua, wow 18 weeks already! Did you end up having him in Millicent? Awesome you are back in your house, if you dont mind me asking what happened?? Did it happen around Joshuas birth day??

Well it looks like Im probably coming down to Millicent for 5 weeks as a "trial" in Sept/Oct to see if Im happy to relocate and if I can get some work for 2012.... SCARY!!!

Hope everyone is well

mummynow
12-03-2011, 15:42
Welcome back Mummynow! Sorry everyone Ive been slack in here, will pop in more often now. Congrats Mummynow on Joshua, wow 18 weeks already! Did you end up having him in Millicent? Awesome you are back in your house, if you dont mind me asking what happened?? Did it happen around Joshuas birth day??

Well it looks like Im probably coming down to Millicent for 5 weeks as a "trial" in Sept/Oct to see if Im happy to relocate and if I can get some work for 2012.... SCARY!!!

Hi WH :wave: Nice to hear from you again after such a long time. On Saturday afternoon, October 30th we went out to do our groceries in Mt Gambier (25km away) as we often do. When we arrived home about 6.45pm (we'd stopped for fish and chips tea) our house was on fire :eek:. Long story short, it was a electric wire in the wall that ran to a power point. They don't really know why at this stage and may never know the answer but it appears to have just caught fire in the wall. The house was only just over 2 years old at the time too. We were relocated for what wqas supposed to be about 8-12 weeks. It turned out to be 18 weeks and we only moved back in last weekend because we asked if we could even though it's not finished yet. I mean the building work and painting and carpets etc are finished but we still have no couches, no curtains, no dining setting etc. But much happier to be in our own home even without those things for a while longer. The fire only damaged the lounge room and the nursery but because it smouldered for a good 3 hours before taking hold there was extensive smoke damage to everything in the house from one end to the other. This happened on the saturday and I was booked for a c/section on tuesday the 9th of November, but ended up having a much earlier than expected c/section on Tuesday 2nd (3 days after the fire) instead due to the stress of it all and the contractions and the back pains etc. Not something you really want to experience ever let alone at 37 weeks pregnant :rolleyes: Oh, and yes I did have Joshua at Millicent hospital. They were fantastic. Especially under the circumstances. They were so caring & thoughtful to my crazy emotions :laughing: I'll tell you about some of the wonderful things they did for me some other time as I have to run at the moment.

Glad to hear you are getting the opportunity for a trial run at Millicent. Where will you be working?

waitinghoping
16-03-2011, 21:22
Oh WOW Mummynow thats CRAZY! You poor thing I would have been SOOO stressed! I hope your insurance covers the fire damage? At this stage hopefully Ill be at one of the schools in Millicent (if not then in the Mount). :)

shadowangel0205
19-04-2011, 23:47
Hi girls just thought id drop in and say hi!

Technically not from SA as such... Im in Portland, But my DF and i met in Mt. Gambier while i was living there for a few years, and were going to have our DS there In march, but got shipped to Flinders in Adelaide due to complications...

He is 5wks old today :) Born on the 15/3/2011

Hope ur all doing well, i havent really read back too much... But will over the next few days.

waitinghoping
22-04-2011, 20:54
Welcome :wave: Congrats on your new little man! Its been quiet in here lately but I regularly pop my head in to see if anyone is around. Hope you are doing well, enjoy the early days they go so quickly (my DD is now 17months its gone so fast!!!)

mummynow
23-04-2011, 10:31
Hi girls just thought id drop in and say hi!

Technically not from SA as such... Im in Portland, But my DF and i met in Mt. Gambier while i was living there for a few years, and were going to have our DS there In march, but got shipped to Flinders in Adelaide due to complications...

He is 5wks old today :) Born on the 15/3/2011

Hope ur all doing well, i havent really read back too much... But will over the next few days.

Hi Shadowangel! nice to meet you :wave: Congratulations on the birth of your DS. Sorry to hear you had to go all the way to Flinders to have him. Must have been scary and stressful for you :hugs: We come to portland for appt's and Aldi shopping sometimes. I had my 2 DS's at the Millicent Hospital and DD in Adelaide before we moved down here. My latest arrival will be 6 months old next week already! Very scary indeed. A bit sad too as DH is adamant that he doesn't want anymore. I'm think gonna miss my bubba's not being bubbas anymore, but relieved at the same time I guess. It's a confusing time for a mum I think. Anyway sorry to start rambling :rolleyes: I look forward to talking more to you in the near future.

waitinghoping
24-04-2011, 17:01
Oooh theres an Aldi in Portland??!!! Might have to travel there one day, never been to one as we dont have any in Adelaide!!!! (shadowangel I currently live in Adelaide but will be in the S/East during Aug and Sept for uni, then **hopefully** moving to the S/East at the end of this year)

OMG Mummynow your DS is 6 months already??!! Where did that time go???!!!

shadowangel0205
24-04-2011, 22:56
Hi girls! Nice to meet u!

WH - yes theres an aldi here now, it only opened in September. Some of their stuff is amazing!! DF and i would drive from Mt Gambier to Hamilton or Warrnambool to go there every 6-8wks and stock up on staples like pasta, sauces etc...

I miss him being little already! Ive already decided (IF DF Agrees... or will be persuaded haha) that i think, if DR gives us the all clear, we will be TTC again around Xmas! Theres a 4, 11 and 4 yr gap between me and my brothers...(Im 3rd) and wished that we were closer....so im going to try for around a 2yr age gap between them. (anywhere between 18-30 months) would be nice.

Hope everyone had a great easter! I know my little one got spoilt rotten!!! And we had the biggest cheekiest smiles and grins today, which have only started this past week :) That was the best present for me!

soon2bee
13-05-2011, 12:01
Um hi! I'm in the Mt...glad to see that there's a specific forum for us :yes: does anyone still chat on here? I'm 11 wks today, excited...a little nervous. Look forward to hearing from some more Limestone Coast/SW Vic people

mummynow
13-05-2011, 14:24
Um hi! I'm in the Mt...glad to see that there's a specific forum for us :yes: does anyone still chat on here? I'm 11 wks today, excited...a little nervous. Look forward to hearing from some more Limestone Coast/SW Vic people

Hi soon2bee :wave:Welcome to bubhub! I still come in here regularly, but haven't had much to say lately :( We are about 20-25 mins out of the mount but come there a few times a week for shopping or appt's etc. Congratulations on your pregnancy! How exciting :cheerleader1: So this little group is growing, which is nice to see. Hopefully we can all get a bit more chatty soon. I'll try to do my part too later ..... when I'm not holding a squirmy 6 month old:rolleyes:

mummynow
13-05-2011, 15:10
ok, so bubs is down for at least the next 20 mins... that's all he ever seems to sleep for lately :( I just wish he could be more like my older DS who has always been a good sleep, day and night. DD who's 6 now was a shocker duringf the day - 20-30 min cat naps maybe 2 or 3 times aday. Baby DS is exactly the same. Oh well they can't all be easy I guess.

So I still don't have much to say really - need someone elser to pop in a start a subject for conversation! Bubs is 6 months old and has 2 teeth now. Waiting for his results from him lactose trolerance test last week. I don't think they are going to call me if all is ok. Just if there's a problem.

Fairly ordinary winter weather we're getting at the moment hey! And it's only autumn. I don't mind the rain as we have 2 x 23,500l rain water tanks outside that run the entire house but they are both full to the brim and over flowing .... so the rain can go away now and we need some sunshine. We just had a 3kw solar panel system installed on our roof last week. Next Monday ETSA's coming ut to alter our meter and activate the system. Looking forward to it, but kind could do with some more sunshine in the meantime :D Anyway, I'm just rambling so I'll go now as DH just pulled in from work :wave:

shadowangel0205
14-05-2011, 02:07
Hey girls!

Welcome soon2bee! and congratulations!! Hope all goes well for u!

mummynow, seems like theres alot going on for u and its all happening! Ouch at the sleeping from DS. Hope he improves for u soon.

Well all is going good for us here. DS is 9wks old on Tuesday, and having his immunisations then. He is starting to draw out his feeds now to 4-5hrs, and is alot more content to sit and play, and is constantly giving us the hugest cutest smiles that make ur heart melt!

If all goes well with his immunisations, on Thursday we're heading up to Wangaratta to visit my older brother and his family. My niece had a bub 6wks before i did and we're all yet to meet eachother (the bubs) so it will be quite special! I Cant wait!

Am i crazy?? We are already planning #2! Possibly TTC As soon as the end of this year!! (I Want them close together, about 2yrs apart)

Just curious, is anyone familiar with Dr. Olesnicky?? I know it says he is a ob/gyn (I Seen him during my pregnancy) and have been having issues with BF supply, even LC and ABA people are at a loss as to why my supply is so low... Im wondering if he would see me about that, based on my old referral which is only about 9mnths old now.... (My GP is Anti BF so i dont think he would give me another referal) Do u think it would help to see him? Im wondering if theres a hidden reason we dont know about that he might be able to find, as to why motilium, fenugreek and regular feeds and expressing arent working to boost supply......

Anyway, hope everyone is enjoying the cold weather (NOT!) Im off to feed my little man and go to bed :) TC girlies!!

Lima
15-05-2011, 10:16
Just curious, is anyone familiar with Dr. Olesnicky??

I believe he is leaving town in a couple of months.

Oh, and hi everyone, thought it was time to pop in and catch up, seeing as we finally got an internet connection yesterday (only took 6 weeks). We are loving living down here, I practically walked into a fabulous job 2 weeks after we arrived, which was fabulous.

Just a question for anyone who might know......... DH and I are long term TTC'ers, and were seeing Dr's about it before we left Adelaide. I need to find a new Dr down here to get the ball rolling again, does anyone have any recommendations for a good dr who WONT just tell us that I'm young and to wait it out (I've encountered 3 of them in the last 18 months)

soon2bee
15-05-2011, 10:23
Nice to meet you both! :wave:
Sounds like both of you are flat out and loving being mums!
At the moment I'm sick of waiting to tell people...only our parents know (and a few very close friends) I want to tell everyone, but then I don't...just incase something happens (again). Arrr!! :freakingout:
So I'm gald that I've been able to "tell" you guys - lol
We've got our 12 week scan this week, so I guess after that we'll tell the rest of the family and then just go with the flow...if people ask they'll get the truth, instead of some vauge answer as to why I'm not drinking etc etc.
Anyway...great to hear from you and look forward to hearing from you soon!
Have a good rest of the weekend :smiliedance:

soon2bee
15-05-2011, 10:28
Hey Lima - Welcome to Mount Gambier :)
My GP is Dr Kitchen @ Ferrers Medical Clinic - she is also Obs etc (ph: 87254261) and then my Obs is Dr Colin Weatherill (ph: 87258833)
Maybe they could help?

Crinklecut
15-05-2011, 10:44
nice to see more people popping in :)

SHADOWANGEL what makes you think your supply is low? Dr O is retiring so no point in seeing him.. i would persist with ABA and LC (is it JO?)

Soon2bee would you consider having a student midwife? to give you extra support/ continuity of care through out your pregnancy, birth and postnatal? let me know if you would :)

Lima Currently your only choice is Dr wetherhill for fertility issues, one of the fertility clinics from either melbourne or adelaide comes here once a month ish. also you cant get in to the ferrers drs clinic hawkins are the only place taking new patients.. or the new clinic out near collins court.

have a great day

mummynow
15-05-2011, 14:01
Hey Lima - Welcome to Mount Gambier :)
My GP is Dr Kitchen @ Ferrers Medical Clinic - she is also Obs etc (ph: 87254261) and then my Obs is Dr Colin Weatherill (ph: 87258833)
Maybe they could help?

I had Dr O through both my pregnancies, but as someone else said, he's retiring so not much point seeing him. I have seen Dr Kitchen a few times for myself and my then 5 year daughter & I found her to be a good doctor but very abrupt and unfriendly. So it's up to you but I'm not keen on her myself. There's a good female doctor at Hawkins clinic that does baby stuff too. And then there's the midwife that works with Dr Weatherill, she does appt's just with herself also, seperate to Dr W. But Dr W would be your best bet for fertility treatment at this stage. We have a visiting specialist also and there's a clinic at Casterton also which isn't too far away. I was fortunate to be still living in Adelaide when we had our IVF. Good luck with all that. :goodvibes:

shadowangel0205
15-05-2011, 15:43
oh wow ok thanks for that girls! the only reason i was thinking dr O was i saw him through my pregnancy, and was hoping my referal was still current... We dont actually live in mt gambier (we're in portland) and i doubt my GP will refer me to anyone for breastfeeding support as when i asked for motilium he asked why i would want to BF, that its a load of crap, he is ok and he was bottle fed. I burst into tears and he reluctantly wrote the script out.

My supply is low, it never properly established in hospital. By day 6 my lil man had lost 17% of his birth weight and was no longer having wet or dirty nappies (soley BF on demand) so we got readmitted to hospital (and sent to warrnambool) where they started comping with formula and within 3 days he was passing urine and all again, and starting to become more alert and responsive. I seen 2 Lactation consultants while there, our attachment and sucking etc are fine... And i got given motilium to try and help.

waitinghoping
15-05-2011, 16:26
Oh wow Ive been busy and all of a sudden its busy in here, awesome!!! Welcome soon2be and Lima Im not actually in the S/E (yet) but am hoping to make the move at the end of this year. Im currently in Adelaide but will be down in Millicent during Aug/Sept **hopefully** getting a job either there or in the Mount so I can stay!! My DD is 18months old next week, so we are planning on TTC next year after we have moved so Im very interested to hear your experiences of GPs/OBs/Hospitals and I may have to go the IVF road again, we will wait and see....

Mummynow - just a ques - did you say you built your place while still living in Adelaide? How did you find that? Only asking cos its an option we are now looking at.

mummynow
16-05-2011, 11:15
Mummynow - just a ques - did you say you built your place while still living in Adelaide? How did you find that? Only asking cos its an option we are now looking at.

Hi again WH :wave: Glad to hear you're still looking towards a move down here ;)
Yes we lived in Adelaide whilst building but because we chose to build a transportable home we actually used an Adelaide company to build it there then put it on a truck to bring it down here. So the actual house was built at Para Hills. But the block preparations and everything else had to be done here of course so we made a nukber of trips where we left home 4 or 5 in the morning, did what we had to do here then drove home again the same day arring back in Adelaide around 9pm. It sounds hard but it wasn't really and we were also travelling with a toddler girl. DD was between the ages of 2 & 3 during the whole process. I also have a friend who lived in Adelaide whilst building with a local builder down here. She said everything went smoothly as they were able to exchange emails and photos regularly with the builder and it wasn't as stressful as she thought it was going to be. Hope that helps :goodvibes:

waitinghoping
17-05-2011, 22:35
Ahhh ok cool, yeah we have decided we will look in to both buying and building (transportable or through a builder in the S/E), theres so much land available so that option is really tempting. Ive built in Adelaide but never outside of Adelaide so its a whole new world, got no idea about processes / costs in comparison to building here etc!! I know theres some places that do transportables around near me (Parafield area, Im at Ingle Farm) might be the builder you went through?

mummynow
18-05-2011, 11:28
Ahhh ok cool, yeah we have decided we will look in to both buying and building (transportable or through a builder in the S/E), theres so much land available so that option is really tempting. Ive built in Adelaide but never outside of Adelaide so its a whole new world, got no idea about processes / costs in comparison to building here etc!! I know theres some places that do transportables around near me (Parafield area, Im at Ingle Farm) might be the builder you went through?

The one at Parafield is called Rivergum Homes. We found there floor plans nice but there customer service was crap. They were pretty rude and arrogant whenever we went in or rang them. Butg they might have nicer staff there now as that was back in 2007.

We went through Systembuilt homes. There display village is on the Gepps Cross intersection opposite Hungry Jacks. There sales and customer service was great but we found out after that there tradies workmanship was sloppy and there after sales service is non existant. We really liked All Steel homes out on Pt Wakefield road Burton but as we didn't use them we can't really say what they'd be like in the long run.

There are quite a number of transportable builders in Adelaide to choose form. A local lady here used Selecta Homes (i think that's what they're called) She came away with the same feeling as us... good customer service but sloppy workmanship.

Since we built though we've found a company down here called Empak Homes that really are no dear than a transportable and they do brick homes. They seem to be a mid range builder - not overly expensive but not cheap and nasty. But there's quite a few builders down here. I'd be happy to pass on some names or info to you when you get up to that stage.

Lima
19-05-2011, 08:54
There's a good female doctor at Hawkins clinic that does baby stuff too

You wouldn't be able to give me her name would you? We've been to Ferrers a couple of times for different things since we've lived here (not related to fertility issues though) and I left each time feeling a little underwhelmed. I'm thinking of checking Hawkins out - and it's closer to home, and easier to park at.

waitinghoping - I can highly recommend Ausline Removals here in the Mt if you are looking into a removalist when you shift. I got quotes from a few places when we moved and they had the best prices, and the removalists themselves were very friendly and good at their jobs (No breakages or damage, or even scratches on our furniture):smiliedance:

mummynow
19-05-2011, 14:15
You wouldn't be able to give me her name would you? We've been to Ferrers a couple of times for different things since we've lived here (not related to fertility issues though) and I left each time feeling a little underwhelmed. I'm thinking of checking Hawkins out - and it's closer to home, and easier to park at.

Dr Diana Cross is at Hawkins. I haven't seen her but my sister in law went through her and Addie Guess the midwife across the road from Hawkins who works out of Dr Weatherill (OB/Gyn) rooms. I have heard from other ladies too that this combination worked well for them Especially with Dr weatherill being in the room next door to Addie or just across the road from Hawkins if he was ever needed. They m,ay have another SHared care doctor at Hawkins too, but I don't know, you'd have to ask when you ring. Good Luck with it all :goodvibes:

Crinklecut
20-05-2011, 12:09
Dr Zweninberg at hawkins is ok to.

mummynow
20-05-2011, 16:21
im a newbie to BH
i have lived in the mount for 2 yrs(as of friday ;) ) i have 2 kidlets 5yr old boy and a 3 yrs old girl.
I am a student midwife, so i am getting very comfy at the Mt G hospital :)

just another note with millicent dont go into labour on the weekends as you will get sent to here as generally there isnt OB cover on the weekends

any way
catchya round!

Hi Crinklecut :wave: I wasn't around when you posted your first post as it was the very day after our house fire (30th Oct) then I went on to have bubs at Millicent hospital on the 2nd Nov! Then I was without a computer for about 5 months so I completely missed your introduction.... sorry :cantbelieveit: Wow, so you're a student midwife? Sounds interesting!

waitinghoping
20-05-2011, 22:12
MA thanks for the info, will definitely pick your brain if the time comes re: building! Just a ques though, how long did it take for your house to be completed using a transportable?

Lima - thanks for the tip on the removalists too!

waitinghoping
13-06-2011, 22:36
Well its official Im definitely coming to the S/East for uni in Aug/Sept!

Been quiet in here lately, hope everyone is well :wave:

shadowangel0205
14-06-2011, 22:02
yay waitinghoping!!! Do u mind if i ask what ur studying?

We've been busy! Went away on a holiday to wangaratta, we all got sick! Bub spent a night in the hospital on oxygen as his sats was around 78% when it should be 99/100%, was off his feeds and lethargic but has come out a new bubba!!

He's 13wks today, and has started stretching his feeds to 4hrly, and also sleeps 6-7hrs at night now, then goes back down for another 2-3 straight after so we can usually get from 11-8 or 9am with 1 feed :)

DF and i should be heading over there shortly .... My MIL Lives in mt gambier, (we're in portland 100kms away) And she hasnt yet made an attempt to see bub, other than call and abuse DF because we havent gone to see Her. I personally dont wanna go for her, but i have some fantastic girls i used to work with in childcare there who are dying to meet him. (And im dying to show him off!!)

waitinghoping
17-06-2011, 09:28
Shadow - wow how scary your poor little bub, good to hear he is much better. Wow hes 13 weeks already, thats gone quickly!

Oh and Im studying teaching

PirateMummy
08-07-2011, 08:11

I am a mum of 2 boys in Mount Gambier. 3yrs and 17 mths. I am wondering if there are any local mums out there still using this forum?

mummynow
08-07-2011, 13:42
Hi Piratemummy :wave:There's a few of us here that come and go when there's something to talk about. I have 3 children. A 6 year old girl, a boy who's 32 months (3 in November) & a baby boy who's 8 months (1 in November). We live 20 mins out of the Mount but I go there heaps for shops & doctors etc. We moved from Adelaide 3 years ago this month. I'm more than happy to chat with you about stuff. Look forward to talking to you again soon :thumbsup:

mummynow
08-07-2011, 13:47
Just a note for anyone who might not have heard.....

Tenison Woods College in Mt Gambier is holding a baby, childrens & maternity market on Sunday August 14th from 10am to 4pm. New, used & hand crafted goods. Should be lots of interesting things there with some bargains to be grabbed.

mummynow
08-07-2011, 14:16
Well its official Im definitely coming to the S/East for uni in Aug/Sept!

Been quiet in here lately, hope everyone is well :wave:

Not long now Waitinghoping! August is just around the corner! What school did you end up getting into?

shadowangel0205
08-07-2011, 21:02
Hi Piratemummy!

Ive got an almost 4 month old Son. DF and i used to live in Mt Gambier, but moved about 18months ago to Portland. We were actually over there on Tuesday!

My MIL lives there, and I still visit my old workplace, and a friends new business randomly or whenever we're in town.

soon2bee
09-07-2011, 08:47
Hey!! Yes I'm still here - been meaning to get on and post for AGES!:rolleyes:
All's well, am 19 weeks now (got past the 16 week mark which was a massive relief) We've got the 20 week scan next week. Not too sure if we'll find out the gender yet...kinda want to but then kinda want to leave it....mmmmm dunno. I do actually need a little bit of advice though please :idea: We've been having alook at prams/car seats etc and are looking at getting a travel system (i.e. where the car capsule is also the pram capsule) are any of you using one? Was thinking that it would save buying a pram and car seat first up (although we'd have to buy a car seat once bubs outgrows the baby capsule) but then on the other hand is it better just to buy a carseat that will last from newborn up:confused:
The one I was looking at getting is the Steelcraft Strider (4 wheel)...any reviews or advice?

soon2bee
09-07-2011, 08:48
Anhd sorry I forgot to add - Waitinghoping CONGRATULATIONS!! :celebrate:
Not long now...make sure you bring your thermals though...it's a little chilly down here at the moment! :p

waitinghoping
09-07-2011, 22:13
Oh yay we're chatting again!! :)

Mummynow - Thanks, Ill be in Millicent and in a school there so pretty happy with that. Im coming down in 2 weeks time (Week 1 of term) for a couple days, back again for a couple of days in Week 3 then Im teaching full time from Weeks 5-9 (Aug/Sept) cant wait!

Pirate - Welcome :wave: Im actually in Adelaide but we are looking at a move to the S/East in 2012.

Soon2bee - Congrats at making it past the 16 week mark must have been such a relief! Good luck for your scan next week, we didnt find out DDs sex it was nice to have a surprise!! I didnt use a capsule system with my DD just had a reversible carseat but I will definitely get a capsule system for bubs #2. When really little my DD hated riding in the pram so was really difficult to transfer out of the car unless I put her in a carrier (which was fine until she got too big!) so I say it can be done but a capsule system would probably be much easier!! We also didnt have the money to get a capsule with DD and it can be expensive to get a capsule and a car seat so I guess it would be up to you if you want to fork out the $$

waitinghoping
10-07-2011, 21:40
Just thought Id share (cos Im excited!) we just put DD to bed in her 'big girl bed' (cot converted to toddler bed) for the first time and she went straight to sleep!!! :hyper::smiliedance: So proud of my big (little) girl!!!!!! Lets see if she stays there all night.... She's been trying to climb in to her cot for a while now when she gets tired, and if she wants to get in and we dont put her in she cracks a right old tanty so we decided to give it a go. Fingers crossed...

shadowangel0205
10-07-2011, 22:18
Hi soon2be! Congratulations!!! how exciting! We found out the sex, but i dont think we will when we try for #2. We're using a travel system atm... Though not for much longer :(

We've got a valco matrix pram, and brought the adaptor that suits the safe n sound unity capsule. The capsule is rated to 12kgs, bubs is almost 17wks and pretty much outgrown it size wise (hes getting too long)... He was 6.5kgs at 3mnths. Getting him checked this week for his next injections...
Its quite heavy to carry but SOOO handy if he goes to sleep in the car, we can just cary him inside or clip him onto the pram without disturbing him. I love it, though *sometimes* its harder than a reversable seat. Especially since we have to have it in the middle seat of the car (we have raised headrests on the sides, and its a single strap so would wear a mark into them) Ive been thinking of getting the Hi-pod Milan Seat for when he outgrows the capsule as its rated to 12kgs Rearfacing, where as our mothers choice one is only 9kgs.

If it helps, 2 girls in my mothers group are using the 4 wheel strider plus travel system and they like it. Havent heard any complaints?

Hope everyone is doing well. :)

waitinghoping
12-07-2011, 16:37
Shadow - I have the HiPod Milan seat for A, have used it since birth its great, highly recommend it.

shadowangel0205
12-07-2011, 17:21
Thanks waitinghoping! We might have to get one!!

We just had our 4 month checkup with CHN and he weighs 7.5kgs!!! although the capsule is ok till 12kgs i think he will grow too much....

waitinghoping
12-07-2011, 20:43
Wow 7.5kg he's a growing boy!!! My DD FINALLY cracked the 10kg mark last week and shes 19months!! (she's teeny tiny and a little shorty too!) so Im spewing we didnt get a capsule, we could have got LOTS of use out of it!! I contemplated getting one when she was 2 or 3 months old but didnt thinking she would grow out of it too quickly.. little did I know haha!!

shadowangel0205
12-07-2011, 20:59
haha!! We thought we were in for a TINY baby! I seriously didnt begin showing till about 32/33 weeks. I had him mid March, and people i seen in Jan, then not till after id had him were like WHOAAAAAA WHAT?! U had a baby?!?! WHEN??

Haha actually, i even got asked last week "Is he yours??" Then when i said yes "OMG! When did u have a baby?!" Umm.. almost 4 months ago!!

It wasnt till i had a scan at 36wks due to him being breach, that we were told he was going to be a lil big. He was born 4kgs or 9lbs!

waitinghoping
13-07-2011, 14:11
haha thats funny, I was showing from 10 or 11 weeks (couldnt hide it!) and OB thought Id have a big baby (9lb) but DD was 7lb 8 or 3.4kg. Most people who see her now are surprised she was even that big as she is smaller now than all of her friends yet was the biggest at birth!!!!

shadowangel0205
14-07-2011, 11:46
oh wow! Amazing how they vary so much growth wise.

soon2bee
16-07-2011, 09:09
Thanks guys for your comments! Very very much appreciated!:wave:
Well we had the 20 week scan, we'd decided to find out whether we are having a boy or girl...however, we couldn't find out!!:freakingout: Bubs is a bit of a wriggly worm and is a little 'shy'...so it looks like we'll have a bit of a surprise in December! Hope you're all going well :)

shadowangel0205
16-07-2011, 20:46
awww how cute! I think itd be awesome not to know. :) We found out but i think i want the next 1 to be a suprise! How are u feeling? Hope tis all going well

waitinghoping
18-07-2011, 12:47
Congrats on a great scan Soon2be! We didnt find out the sex of DD either, it was killing me toward the end but finding out when she was born was amazing!! I always said I needed an incentive during labour hence why I didnt find out haha!!

Well Im heading down to S/East next week for a few days, cant wait!! Hope everyone is well :)

soon2bee
23-07-2011, 09:49
Enjoy your visit down waitinghoping :) All's well here, the tiredness has crept back in again...so I'm looking forward to having a very quite/relaxing weekend! Starting to get more and more movement in my belly, which is pretty exciting:smiliedance: Hope everyone's going well! Have a great weekend :wave:

shadowangel0205
23-07-2011, 15:01
yay for getting movement!! Its the best feeling! I miss i :(

I used to love my good morning kicks :) And the "mum u cant sleep on ur belly it squashes me" kicks :) DS also kicked the dog off if he was asleep on my belly too.. Makes me already want another :) hehe

countrymumma
10-08-2011, 10:16
I thought I might stick my head in and say hello:wave:

I live just outside of MTG, I've got 4 kids (including the big husband type one ;), plus 4yo girl, 2yo girl and 5mth bubba boy).

shadowangel0205
04-09-2011, 22:04
Hiya country! Welcome :) I used to live and work in Mt Gambier, originally from Portland. 2yrs ago Feb, DF and i moved back across to Portland when TTC, as we (I) have more support here. I miss Mt. G. and the people i used to see daily through work! But i LOVE having my little man, wouldnt change how things are for anything!

waitinghoping
01-10-2011, 09:50
Hi, thought Id pop in and say Hi, its been a while :wave: Ive finished my 5 weeks teaching in the S/East and completed uni this week :smiliedance: Ive been lucky enough to have been offered work in the S/East for next year so plans for a move are underway (subject to my hubby's business here selling). Sadly I had a m/c last week so we are thinking that delaying ttc and starting our new careers before heading down the IVF road again might be the way to go (MummyNow if you are still around I might have to pick your brain about IVF/Fert assistance in the S/East) Exciting times!!!

Hope you are all well.

soon2bee
04-10-2011, 19:53
Oh no! I am so so sorry to hear this news waitinghoping :( Congratulations on the job offer - that's great news!:smiliedance:Hope the move goes well!

waitinghoping
04-10-2011, 20:08
Thanks soon2bee

how much longer have you got until bubs is due must be coming up soon!! (Sorry yes that is a question but I have no question mark key working on my keyboard thanks to DD... ;) )

soon2bee
16-10-2011, 10:42
Yes...not too much longer now, only about 6 weeks! Getting pretty excited...but also a little nervous:p Looking forward to finishing work and being a mum.
How are the moving plans going??

shadowangel0205
17-10-2011, 10:38
OHH How exciting! Im sure u will love being a mum soon2bee! Its very tiring, but the most amazing and rewarding job u will ever do! I was hoping to be back at work part time by now (My lil man is now 7mnths old) but i just cant bare to separate from him yet. I LOVE spending time with him, he just amazes me with everything he does. Good luck!

waitinghoping
17-10-2011, 15:02
Wow Soon2be not long now!!! Moving plans are coming along slowly, going to QLD for a family holiday next week (FINALLY!! we had to cancel it in July due to illness) then will be back in S/East the weekend after, I think its the weekend of the Millicent Show from memory?? (Nov 4-6th is that right?)

Blue&Pink
19-10-2011, 13:04
*waves* hi ladies!!! How good is this weather?!

waitinghoping
28-10-2011, 21:26
ARGGGHH I missed the good weather!!! (Though I cant complain I was in QLD!!) landed in Adelaide today it started pouring! Ah well. Will be back in the S/East next weekend, hopefully looking at houses and child care ready for the move!! WOOHOO!!!

Has anyone here used (or know much about) the child care centre in Milicent by chance?

shadowangel0205
30-10-2011, 14:43
OMG! QLD! im jealous!! lol

Sorry, no idea on the Milicent childcare centre... I used to work for 1 in the mt though, but thats not much help! I probably done training with the millicent girls, but cant really remember them. My advice would be to give them a call, make an appointment to have a look around/meet them, and see how u feel :)

waitinghoping
30-10-2011, 15:49
Yeah have rung the Childcare centre in Millicent, going in on Fri to check it out. Still deciding if we are going to rent initially (then eventually buy) while we are getting settled in or if we just go the whole hog and buy straight up. hmmmmm Currently looking around the outskirts of Millicent and Glencoe. Anyone in here from Glencoe area??

shadowangel0205
30-10-2011, 23:39
I lived right in the Mt, near the North primary school. From what ive heard its very nice, and quiet out at glencoe. Only a short drive into the mt. I know 2 ppl who live out there and they love it!!

soon2bee
16-11-2011, 20:26
Just a quick update...I had a beautiful baby girl on 7 November! :smiliedance:
She was about 4 weeks early, but is happy and healthy. Everything's going well so far. Just can't believe that she's here already!!
How's the moving/house hunting going waitinghoping?

waitinghoping
16-11-2011, 21:14
Wow 4 weeks early!!! Congrats on your little girl Soon2be!!!!! :cheerleader1:Enjoy the sleepy newborn cuddles :goodvibes:

Moving plans are slowly moving along (just cant confirm anything until I get a contract for work through which is holding everything up GRRRR!) getting our place here in Adelaide ready to rent out and currently looking for a rental property in S/East (will rent initially look at buying down the track). Will be back there again in 2 weeks to sort more stuff out :)

Hope you are all doing well

shadowangel0205
17-11-2011, 22:11
yayyy soon2bee! Congratulations on ur lil girl! I hope u enjoy your newborn cuddles :) It wont be long and you will be chasing after a crawling monster like mine! :) He was 8 mnths on tuesday

waitinghoping
18-11-2011, 20:41
yayyy soon2bee! Congratulations on ur lil girl! I hope u enjoy your newborn cuddles :) It wont be long and you will be chasing after a crawling monster like mine! :) He was 8 mnths on tuesday

Or running around a crazy 2 year old like I am!!! Cant believe my little girl turns 2 in a week where did the time go??!!! :eek:

waitinghoping
24-11-2011, 08:33
Contract came through yesterday, we are definitely moving now!! :freakingout:

shadowangel0205
27-11-2011, 22:37
oh yay waiting!!! How exciting!

mummynow
26-12-2011, 08:43
Oh my gosh! I can't believe I haven't been here since July or something! It had gotten really quiet in here so I stopped checking so regularly then completely forgot about it altogether :rolleyes: So sorry ladies. It might take me a while to catch up on what everyones been upto so I do apologise. Well I hope everyone had a great Christmas yesterday. At least we had nice weather for a few day. Loos like some hot weather on it's way for later thsi week and NYE :celebrate: . So Waitinghoping... are you down here yet? We need to catch up! How do you feel about that? I'm at Glencoe which is only 20 mins from Millicent and Mt Gambier. I can drive to you or you can come here - whichever :D

waitinghoping
26-12-2011, 10:22
Merry (Belated!) Xmas!!! Hope you all had a wonderful day! A got totally spoilt so after her 2nd birthday only a month ago our house now looks like a toy factory haha! Ahh well thats what its all about - the kiddies!!

Mummynow - :shame: tut tut slack!!! :p Welcome back. I check in here sometimes but have been flat out getting ready for Christmas and the move. Looks like we are moving in 2-3 weeks (Im waiting for a move date, dont get a choice just get told when!) we have a place to rent in Millicent for now but want to eventually live out of town, hoping to head to Glencoe so will definitely have to pick your brain about that! Would love to catch up once we are settled in for sure :yes:

mummynow
26-12-2011, 13:41
Sounds great waitinghoping! So what school are you at next year?

waitinghoping
26-12-2011, 14:15
Will pm you Mummynow not that I mind people knowing its just once its out there its in cyberspace and trackable!! ;)

mummynow
26-12-2011, 14:30
thats fair enough... i didn't think of that, sorry.

waitinghoping
26-12-2011, 23:03
No problems at all! By the way I saw your pics on FB, your kids are so cute, love the Christmas one!

So how was everyone's Christmas? We spent today just relaxing and A got to play with all her new toys which she loved as she got totally spoilt by family! She "traded" her bottles in for toys from Santa and Im sooooo proud we have now had 2 days bottle-free, and she usually wont go to sleep at nap time or bed time without them yay!!!:celebrate:

Blue&Pink
27-12-2011, 08:40
Christmas here was good!! The weather was so good :-)

Me (27) & Him (25) = DSD (7), DS (6), DSD (3) & DD (2) plus TTC from Dec 2011 :-)

waitinghoping
27-12-2011, 20:56
Yes the weather was beautiful, though a little stormy here in Adelaide but not to wet!

Wow Mummy+T+C I noticed your signature has been updated, TTC again??!!

Blue&Pink
27-12-2011, 21:16
Yes waitinghoping, TTC again! :) for the 3rd & final time! Though I've recently been diagnosed with PCOS, so we're not sure how long it will take! Fingers crossed not long ;)

Me (27) & Him (25) = DSD (7), DS (6), DSD (3) & DD (2) plus TTC from Dec 2011 :-)

shadowangel0205
28-12-2011, 16:28
Hi girlies! hope everyone had a great chrissie!

My lil man got spoilt rotten from Santa, Us and all my family. We sweltered in Northern Victoria near albruy/wodonga for the past week, and bubs has learnt new tricks!

Yay for TTC mummy! I hope it doesnt take too long foryou.

Waitinghoping... are u excited about the big move??

Hope everyone has a good new years! We'll probably take bub down the street if its not raining and visit the Carnival and see the early fire works, then come home for a quiet one :)

Blue&Pink
28-12-2011, 18:47
We're going down to V.park for NYE too! Gunna be a sober NYE for me (cause of TTC) but we're going to take a roadie to Portland for the day and then see it in at the park. :-)

Lima
28-12-2011, 21:47
We are off to V. Park for NYE too. DD is so excited lol

waitinghoping
28-12-2011, 22:06
Mummy+T+C thats exciting your TTC again! We've put TTC on hold for a few months while we move. Hoping to be utd again in 2012 so heres some babydust for us both :babydust1: I remember you from the Nov 09 threads (I was in there a but but mostly the Dec 09) and remember your story, great to see things have settled down a bit for you :hugs:

We will probably be having a quiet NYE this year with the upcoming move. Last year we went to Beachport but this year we are staying in Adelaide till the move. Still waiting for an official move date..... :impatient:

Blue&Pink
29-12-2011, 08:29
Thanks waitinghoping! :babydust1: for us both!!! I remember you from the Nov 09 threads too :-) how cool you'll be in the limestone coast! We'll have to meet!!
Yeah things have finally settled; fortunately I think that experience was one of those "once in a lifetime!" things..

Just saw you're a teacher! PM me what school you'll be at!

We reviewed our plans for NYE; I'm gunna have a few drinks and we're going to spend the day at Port Mac at the beach & then head to V.park. Its my first NYE without kids in 3 years & the last for about 4 years so I'm going to let loose and enjoy!

waitinghoping
01-01-2012, 09:29
Happy New Year!!!! :celebrate: Hope theres not too many sore heads today. :cheersdears: Heres to a fantastic 2012!! :smiliedance:

waitinghoping
05-01-2012, 22:58
We relocate next week!!!! :freakingout:

Blue&Pink
06-01-2012, 02:26
Good luck waitinghoping! :)

Me (27) & Him (25) = DSD (6), DS (6), DSD (3) & DD (2) plus TTC from Dec 2011 :-)

Patch
13-01-2012, 12:50
Hey everyone, I'm christianne from Naracoorte, are there any other mummies near me? I have 3.5 kids and don't work ( well asides from my own part time photography business) and keen to meet up with people :)