View Full Version : Medicare Safety Net. Are You Registered?

Mrs AJC
11-08-2006, 00:25
If not then go to the medicare website and register for the medicare safetynet http://www.medicareaustralia.gov.au/...alth/index.htm (http://www.medicareaustralia.gov.au/yourhealth/index.htm) (right hand side of page) which reduces your out of pocket expenses by 80% each year after you reach the threshold (was $700 out of pocket last year). You only get this if you register and they don't advertise it so everyone should register - it will save you a packet!:yes:

M O P
11-08-2006, 10:36
Good idea. We're registered and have to get up to $1000 in out of pocket costs. Looks like we'll end the year on $900!:mad:

11-08-2006, 10:44
yep im registerd:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 10:48
Me too, but there is no way in hell we would reach the level in one year. :( They should make it more reachable if they really want to help families.

Karizma
11-08-2006, 10:54
I just registered. Thank-you for the link I have been meaning to do it. :thumbsup:
It seems like we are there all the time lately with my sons asthma ans chest infections :eek:

~Emmylou~
11-08-2006, 11:03
yep we've had 80% of everything refunded since we reached the threshold in April :thumbsup:

Mrs AJC
11-08-2006, 11:08
No worries. I posted the link in another thread and when someone said they hadn't heard of the safetynet, I thought it wise to add a thread of its own. I agree the threshold should be lower but at least if you are registered and you do go over it will help to not break the bank.

M O P
11-08-2006, 11:20
yep we've had 80% of everything refunded since we reached the threshold in April :thumbsup:
Just a quick question, as the web site is terrible and not really that helpful.
Is that 80% of what you'd already spent, eg refund of $800 if $1000 to reach,
or, 80% of everything you've claimed since reaching the $1000?

Mrs AJC
11-08-2006, 11:24
Everything you claim after you reach the threshold. Wow. Have they really put it up to $1000 - that's so stupid!

M O P
11-08-2006, 11:29
Ta, that's not so bad then. Thought it was a refund of 80% on what you'd already spent- so thought we might miss out on $800. Thought that sounded generous!

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 11:42
It should be 80% of what you've already spent.

M O P
11-08-2006, 11:54
Jeanette, you do look like someone who would have a lot of on going medical expenses.

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 12:05
DS1 never has to see his urologist again, so he has no more medical expenses.
DD should hopefully be starting her dental work this year, but Medicare already cover about 85% of her costs.

ATM, between 5 of us, we only make about 3-5 trips a year to the Dr. But they are fully booked out for 3wks in advance (1GP for 6000 people) so you can't get in even if you are sick.

twinkles
11-08-2006, 12:09
Our threshold is $500.00 and we get 80% back after that of the out of pocket expenses. We are waiting for a receipt to 'cross over'. Becasuse we are eligible for family tax benefit A, as most families with kids are, we get the lower threshold after the first year of claiming part A. You also get the lower threshold if one member of the family is entitled to a health care card. Check it out on the medicare website.:thumbsup:

Sabby
11-08-2006, 12:38
OMG thank you so much for letting me know this info.

I was wondering what I had to do because going private and having to pay everything I was told that after spending $1k that we get 80% back but was not sure what I had to do etc.. First we put our medicare card to a couple one (we both had it on single) then I wasn't sure what to do next. So far I have collected all pg exp and it's almost $1k but I haven't claim any yet and was going to once it hits the $1k mark...

So thank you so much for the info - this has help us heaps!! Thank you!!

~Emmylou~
11-08-2006, 12:57
Our threshold is $500.00 and we get 80% back after that of the out of pocket expenses. We are waiting for a receipt to 'cross over'. Becasuse we are eligible for family tax benefit A, as most families with kids are, we get the lower threshold after the first year of claiming part A. You also get the lower threshold if one member of the family is entitled to a health care card. Check it out on the medicare website.:thumbsup:

This is correct, that's why we reached our threshold so early in the year, it was only $500.
A few trips to our non bulkbilling GP for DD and me, and a few private OB appointments and a scan when I first got pregnant and we were there by April....and now 80% back until December (well after this bub is born :smiliedance: )