View Full Version : Want to wean due to low supply :-( advice please
1st Time Mummy!
14-05-2010, 19:09
As the title suggests, I am thinking I might start to wean my 6 month old DS due to ongoing issues with low milk supply. I am disappointed as I breastfed my first DS for 15 months, but am so run down and just so over trying everything to build it up that I think it is what is best for him and especially for me. I really wanted to at least get him to 6 months and have made it to nearly a week off so want to start now. I have just about tried everything to build it up. I have oats with linseed meal every morning for breakfast, then a glass of juice with brewers years mixed in that I use to wash down fenugreek tablets which I have been taking three times a day. I also have tried blessed thistle tables and have been having Guiness (stout or dark beer) every night. Doing all this has only had the smallest effect on my supply and his weight gains are small, only about 160g a fortnight at the most. I am also finding it hard to cope with my 2yo and give him the attention he is craving as well as all I do is feed! Am I being selfish in wanting to wean him now? I am so tired and sick of the worry over his weight. Have I done ok in doing it for 6 months. How do I do it? Which is the best feed to drop? He loves the bottle and sucks down formula as I am sure he is hungry all the time to my supply so he won't have a problem with the change. Please help me. Am I doing the right thing?
Thanks in advance,
Anita
LilMissnBoo
14-05-2010, 19:23
:hugs::hugs:
Does he still have plenty of wet nappies?
Also with fenugreek tablets you need to take 6 per day (2 with each meal) to notice a difference is supply.
Also just wanted to add that both my girls were slow to gain weight too. DD1 only gained on average 50-70 grams a week (she is now almost 3) and DD2 is almost 8 months and she is also slow in the weight gain.
As long as he is reasonably easy to settle, plenty of wet nappies and NOT losing weight, then you don't have a problem with your supply.
LilMissnBoo
14-05-2010, 19:26
Sorry, just wanted to add that if he is feeding heaps it could be that he is teething (both my girls fed heaps) could be a growth spurt or maybe he is just a boobie monster.
DD1 fed non stop, she loved it! I fed her to 17.5 months..DD2 doesn't seem to be as attached.:o:(
1st Time Mummy!
14-05-2010, 20:10
Hi there. I have been taking 3 Fenugreek tables 3 times a day for ages and I noticed a difference at the start, but then after a while not so much so weaned off them and onto blessed thistle which made no difference at all. SO went back onto the Fenugreek!! His nappies are wet, but not hugely so. Not really heavy if you know what I mean. I always notice that after he's had a bit of formula they are a lot heavier. He is such a lazy feeder as well. Has never feeds himself to sleep and never uses it as comfort either. Plus he only waits for one letdown and then gives up. I am so frustrated. Really don't know what to do. Might start on baby rice this weekend instead and wait to have his weight checked at 6 months and see what happens then.
My DS1 was like your DS. He LOVED the boobies. He was in the 97th percentile all the way from birth!! At the same age as my DS2 he was 4 pounds heavier! A very big boy with no worries about his weight at all!! That frustrates me even more. I know all bubs are different though and DS2 is a lot more active so that prob makes a difference too.
Tam-I-Am
14-05-2010, 20:48
What makes you think he's not getting enough? A gain is a gain is a gain. He's GAINING weight - consistently too! He's a very different person to his brother...is it possible that you're overthinking this, and comparing them too much?
I guess at this point, I'd be saying that as soon as he's on solids, he's not going to be relying on you so much - so get him to 6 months, and then take it from there. It doesn't have to be an all or nothing proposition. Take each day as it comes and see how you go. But honestly - it sounds to me like you're doing just fine together, and that somebody is giving you bum advice.
I personally would stop weighing him and start basing your idea of his health ON his health. Breastfed babies don't gain weight like formula fed babies (ie steadily over time). They gain it in spits and spurts...so measuring his health based on something so variable is really difficult. Instead, look at how happy he is, how healthy, active etc he is. Does he have enough wet and dirty nappies? If yes - there's your answer right there! What comes out HAS to have gone in! Does he sleep well (ie in 2 - 3 hour blocks for a cumulative total of around 12 - 15 hours a day, with a slightly longer sleep in there somewhere)? When he's awake is he active and alert. Does he have some quiet awake time and some really active awake time? If your answer is yes to all of the above - he's just fine!
And I guess my suggestion if some of the above is 'no' - then perhaps look into taking some maxolon for a week or so (prescription med, so you'll need to go see your GP) and pumping lots in that week to really give your supply a good boost before you wean your bub.
NonnyMouse
14-05-2010, 20:55
Some good suggestions above, but I also wanted to add that if you're taking Stout every night, then it might be causing you trouble, as alcohol is known to dehydrate you, and if you are not suitably hydrated, your breasts will have trouble as well.
DS averaged 50g per week... he's healthy as an ox though. Look at your baby, not the scales. There are far better indications of good health than numbers on a scale.
SalTheGal
14-05-2010, 21:19
I agree with others in asking why you think your supply is an issue? Is it only the weight gain? You don't mention in the OP how often you are feeding- is he wanting to be fed all day/night, making you think he is hungry?
Its really hard but, definitely try not to compare both your children.... I have two boys- both born at the top of the charts (10lb, 9lb) and DS1 stayed there... he was a massive gainer. DS2 has dropped all the way down the charts so he is now on the 15th%ile.... but he has always had gains, albeit small- but gains all the same...
Also a piece of advice my MCHN gave me which (not sure how accurate it is- but I like it)... is taking more into account the head circumference, as this indicates good brain development and growth. DS2 whilst being small has average head size, and it is always increasing....
Also as Tam said- you will be starting solids soon (if you haven't already) and this will help to boost his calorie intake, so there is less emphasis on BM solely.
DD put on one kilo from 6 to 12 months, and she is the picture of health....Just try really hard to relax, not overthink things, and just keep on as you are.
1st Time Mummy!
14-05-2010, 21:59
Now I'm feeling better and just a wee bit silly as well. I think I have been concentrating on his weight a little bit too much. It all started with my clinic nurse telling me he hadn't put on enough weight and if he didn't start to I would have to get him seen by my paediatrician. I have gone downhill from there.
This is how he is. He is around 7.3kg at around 71cm long and growing longer all the time. He is so active, rolled over from front to back at 3 months. Skin is perfect, plump and glowing. He laughs and talks constantly, only cries when he's tired. Never cries for a feed, and I feed him about 6 times over a 24 hour period, sometimes 7 or 8. Sometimes his wees are a bit smelly, but never yellow and his number 2's are the brightest pumpkin yellow explosions you have ever seen. He sleeps really well. Three sleeps during the day, the first one in the morning being the longest of around 2-3 hours. At night he sleeps from 7pm till sometimes 2am, but mostly up again at 11 for a feed then up again at 2.30 for another. Does this all sound good?
Should I stop all the things I have been doing and see what happens or just stop the stout and keep on with the rest?
Thanks so much everyone for all your advice and support. Think the bum advice I got from the clinic has done terrible things to my confidence.
His weigh gains fine, at 8 months my DS was 7.45kg and 69.5 cm in length
at 6.5 months he was 6.5kgs and 67cm so compared to my bub he sounds like he is growing fabulously
also now at 10 months my bub is just under 8kgs and im not sure how tall he is now
I know what its like with weight gains and all that pressure you get because of it all and then you start to doubt your supply, i still get that now, and my DS is 10 months old and on 3 meals a day plus snacks plus water plus his 6 breastfeeds he has on top of that. After all he eats i still doubt my supply, i think its something that happens kind of automatically when your baby is a slow weight gainer, but honestly, he sounds fine to me.
Anyway, :hugs: to you because it can be really hard and mentally draining constantly worrying about all of that
ETA: i just wanted to say that when you say your bub guzzles down a bottle of formula i dont necessary think that means his hungry, i know my bub would happily guzzle down a bottle if i gave him one after his dinner of an adult sized bowl full of vegies and desert, so i know that he cant be hungry but he is just a pig and will eat as much as you give him, he cant say no
AND dont feel silly at all, i know exactly how you are feeling and its really a terrible place to be, :hugs::hugs::hugs:
lovelymum
14-05-2010, 22:44
hi, sounds to me like you are doing a great job if he is sleeping well, content and gaining weight then he is doing great!! I had a low supply with DD and she also gained around 60g per week but in the same token was content, slept well etc... I fed her every 2 hrs during the day which was exhuausting but she slept good overnight and only fed once or twice. If your DS is nearly 6 months I would suggest getting him on solids I went to the Queen Elizabeth Centre with DD and we put her on solids at 4 months to help sustain breastfeeding due to my supply issues and the fact she refused to take formula. You could also maybe top him up with formula if you are happy to continue breastfeeding. But its your choice if you are totally over it and want to put him on the bottle then you should do what is best for you as you are the one who is feeding around the clock and tired. Its such a hard decission one I have found myself facing before I am just grateful my DD made the choice for me and weaned herself (totally eliminates all guilt :))
Tam-I-Am
14-05-2010, 23:05
Topping up with formula is likely to compound supply issues, not help them. The only thing that helps supply issues is putting them to the breast more often, and allowing them to take as much as they need - and more. This is the ONLY thing that helps boost supply.
But to be honest, OP - it doesn't sound like you've got a supply issue to me. It sounds like you've had your confidence knocked around by a bum steer that the CHN gave you. Your bub sounds delicious and healthy and like he's doing just fine, and you sound like you're doing wonderfully. If it were me, I'd be weaning off the fenugreek and stopping the other measures, giving my baby unfettered access to the breast - and watching him, not the scales. The CHN does not and never can know your baby as well as you do - you're saying he's happy and healthy and it certainly sounds that way. Don't let anybody tell you that you're not doing well. I do NOT understand these health nurses that think that if a baby's not on the 50th percentile of weight and weight gain, that they're failure to thrive - we're ALL DIFFERENT, and that's the way it should be.
If you do decide to stop the fenugreek etc, make sure you wean off it slowly over the period of the next month or so - if you stop abruptly it could knock you around a little.
(PS. Don't feel silly - you're not the one who's done anything wrong here. Your CHN should be ashamed of herself though!)
SalTheGal
15-05-2010, 10:25
Nawww he sounds just PERFECT!! :bee:
Drop the advice from the MCHN and go with your gut.... I agree with Tam (as usual :p) drop off the boosting measures, and give undivided access to boob for bubs....
As I said in PP my DS2 went from being up the top of the charts born, to steadily dropping down down down (for comparision- @ 6mnths DS2 was 6.8kg and 64.5cm- so your little man is doing really well!)... and you can't help but worry a bit as a mother- its natural! But if he is gaining, happy, healthy, meeting milestones etc... then I think everything is perfect! :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Hollywood
15-05-2010, 10:35
Now I'm feeling better and just a wee bit silly as well. I think I have been concentrating on his weight a little bit too much. It all started with my clinic nurse telling me he hadn't put on enough weight and if he didn't start to I would have to get him seen by my paediatrician. I have gone downhill from there.
This is how he is. He is around 7.3kg at around 71cm long and growing longer all the time. He is so active, rolled over from front to back at 3 months. Skin is perfect, plump and glowing. He laughs and talks constantly, only cries when he's tired. Never cries for a feed, and I feed him about 6 times over a 24 hour period, sometimes 7 or 8. Sometimes his wees are a bit smelly, but never yellow and his number 2's are the brightest pumpkin yellow explosions you have ever seen. He sleeps really well. Three sleeps during the day, the first one in the morning being the longest of around 2-3 hours. At night he sleeps from 7pm till sometimes 2am, but mostly up again at 11 for a feed then up again at 2.30 for another. Does this all sound good?
Should I stop all the things I have been doing and see what happens or just stop the stout and keep on with the rest?
Thanks so much everyone for all your advice and support. Think the bum advice I got from the clinic has done terrible things to my confidence.
Honestly, he sounds just perfect! My advice would be to stop listening to the silly MCN and listen to your own gut instincts. He sounds like a happy, healthy little fella.
I used to ALWAYS come away from MCN visits feeling somewhat like a failure as a mum. In fact, next time I have a baby, I won't be seeing one, I'll just get the child weighed at the doctor's and avoid the MCN all together. They focus way too much on weight gain, and often their advice undermines a breastfeeding woman.
Jaspat24
15-05-2010, 12:48
He sounds just fine! alsoi agree with Nonny about the stout maybe dehydrating you. You are already having brewers yeast in your juice, that should be enough.
Just relax and feed as you are (6-8 feeds) and once you are relaxed about it all you'll feel like you could feed 10 babies!
I had huge worries over my DS's weight (small gains) and the biggest turnaround came once all the little problems were fixed and i stoppped worrying and weighing him. Some babies and children are jut smaller than others. My DS is now on solids and eats a lot, but you know what? he is still small! so its just him and how he's meant to be!
i wouldn't go back to the CHN for a little while, maybe weigh him again at 9 months and 12 months just to gve you an idea how much he weighs if you need to give panadol etc
LilMissnBoo
15-05-2010, 15:38
PS. Don't feel silly - you're not the one who's done anything wrong here. Your CHN should be ashamed of herself though!)
:iagree:
The MCHN I saw with DD1 was always harping on about her small weight gains, I was always booked in for weigh ins every 8 weeks until she was 12 months old. I used to feel awful for days afterwards..
With DD2 her last weigh in was at 4 months (she is now almost 8 months) and she hadn't gained a lot (or what the MCHN thought as a good gain..:rolleyes:) and booked me in for a return visit at 6 months as she didn't want her to go below the 10 pecentile... I ended up cancelling that appointment and will just stick to the normal appointments as I know my baby best and I know that she is perfectly healthy even though she is petite.
You are doing such a fantastic job! Your DS sounds just perfect!
:hugs::hugs: