View Full Version : First Words
squirtle81
09-08-2006, 23:15
My DD is now almost 14 months and im just wondering about what age do babies say there first proper word, she says anpa for grandpa and aby for baby.
What age did your baby say there first word and what was it?
My kids varied heaps. My eldest said the usual "Dad-dad" at about 1, but my B said "Mum-my" as her first real word at about the same age.
Our E (about 2 3/4) has only just started talking a few months ago and he still leaves the first letter off most of his words. He can't say some sounds eg. "f" and "l" but he is beginning to talk in phrases.
I reckon 14 months to make understandable words like your bub does sounds perfectly normal.
My DD can say dog, bird, dad, mum, look & she tries to say fish but it comes out as fshh. She is 10 months
10-08-2006, 21:40
My DD said 'da-da' at just over 5 months. Now she is 16 months & can say daddy n mummy properly plus nana, grandad (but it comes ou dandad lol) fishy, bird, dog, Kelly (her aunty), a few others too but her favourite is NUNU'S (breastmilk) :laughing: