View Full Version : Worse advice you have been given
I am not sure if a thread like this exists but i thought it would be entertaining to hear about the worse advice everyone has received.
Whilst I appreciate the older generations opinions and the way they did things back then, I really can't stand when they think this is still ok or the right thing to do......
Here goes.....
1. My daughter had a umbilical hernia when she was born so her belly button popped out a bit. I was told by my Mum and MIL to put a coin on top of the button and wrap a bandage around my daughters waist to force it back in.
2. My MIL told me that if I decide to stop breastfeeding before my daughter is one, then I should give her full fat cows milk diluted with water and then sugar added to it.
3. Told to put honey and/or sugar on my daughter's dummy...
4. Told to give my daughter mushed up milk arrowroot biscuit at 3 months..
Needless to say, I didn't do any of the above...
Nothing to do with advice, but I was also told that the little strawberry birthmark that my daughter has on her stomach is there because when I was pregnant I craved something and I didn't get it and I scratched my stomach which resulted in her mark...!!!
rynosmum
09-08-2006, 21:39
My DS hit his head quite hard. I came in to find him distressed, a huge lump on his head and MIL rubbing butter into it.
ICE!!! for goodness sake!! Get the ICE!!!! not the butter!!:mad:
My DS hit his head quite hard. I came in to find him distressed, a huge lump on his head and MIL rubbing butter into it.
ICE!!! for goodness sake!! Get the ICE!!!! not the butter!!:mad:
where did she get the idea of butter
LOL these are tooo funny!
Have heard all of them before!
OK, got to think about the silly things I have heard.....hmmm...?
where did she get the idea of butter
my gran used to try the butter thing to.... must be an old person thing (sorry 'older' person thing;) )
I cant think of any dodgey advice I have been given (but that could be cos I wasn't errr listening all that well:laughing:
I did have a lady tell me that DD would have brain damage cos she was sleeping snuggled up next to the side of her (very well padded) pram though....I was like ummm ok (back away from the crazy lady:D )
And a doc told my mum I had down syndrome based on some wierd luner calculatin...needless to say I don't:rolleyes:
Someone did tell me it was a good idea to TIE an apple core around the neck of my teething baby so they would have something to gnaw on, while they were crawling around the floor.
Wrong on so many levels....:D
Someone did tell me it was a good idea to TIE an apple core around the neck of my teething baby so they would have something to gnaw on, while they were crawling around the floor.
Wrong on so many levels....:D
:laughing: so thats where I have been going wrong... "DF pass me the apple corer":D
*Sparkles*
09-08-2006, 21:53
When we went to MIL's to announce the pregnancy, she bought out some camenbert cheese and biscuits which I declined. She asked why so I told her about the listeria warnings etc and what foods I am supposed to avoid during pregnancy.
Her reaction was "pffft what a load of rubbish, in my day you ate what you liked"
I bit my tongue as I wanted to say "but that's probably why there was a higher mortality rate back then as they didn't know about these things"
But I didn't.
And I didn't eat the cheese either :p
P.S I am more vulnerable too as I had severe food poisoning 18 months ago and I am considered a "high risk" for listeria.
:laughing: :laughing: too funny... Apple corer OMG...
worst advice would have had to have been the honey or jam on the dummy... Also weetbix for bubs at 3mths :eek:
Oh I got one!!!!........
If baby is having trouble sleeping and has a sore tum, put a bit of scotch or cherry in their bottle!!!!!:eek: :eek:
And if they have worms, give them beer!!!!:eek:
WTF?!?!?!?!?!?!?
whatwasithinking
09-08-2006, 22:02
1. My daughter had a umbilical hernia when she was born so her belly button popped out a bit. I was told by my Mum and MIL to put a coin on top of the button and wrap a bandage around my daughters waist to force it back in.
And I bet you tried it too lol
*Sparkles*
09-08-2006, 22:16
When DH was a baby his mum would dip the dummy in the brandy or sherry to "settle and help him sleep" :eek:
I wonder if she would try that trick with mine?
When DH was a baby his mum would dip the dummy in the brandy or sherry to "settle and help him sleep" :eek:
I wonder if she would try that trick with mine?
Funny you say that! My grandfather has said it with both my girls when they were crying and has even attempted to give DD1 a sip of his beer, I just told him that if he dare do it I will flatten him! (No joke! To me that is child abuse!)
BlessedWithBlue
09-08-2006, 22:33
My MIL told me that if I decide to stop breastfeeding before my daughter is one, then I should give her full fat cows milk diluted with water and then sugar added to it.
This was actually in a fact sheet that my child and youth health nurse gave me as a last resort if you run out of formula:eek:
When my sister was a baby someone told my mum to put some Brandy in my sisters bottle to help settle her while teething, needless to say my mum did put a drop in and ended up with a very groggy baby and knowing better not to do that next time:eek:
heres one my mil says she wonts to give my dd her first bath im like shes already had it anyway she goes gives her a bath i walk passed the bathroom and she has 2 fingers in her mouth and dd is dangling in the air ive fliped and she has never bath one of my nb babys again its suppost to help them drink dd had no probs with that in the first place old country customs are so wrong
A friend recently was told by her FIL to get the wind up in her DS give him a tablespoon of Bi-carb Soda.
Just remembered another one.... I was told I should eat soup broth for the first couple of weeks after I had my baby... not sure if this is because you are "sick" after you have a baby or if it is supposed to boost milk supply. Can't imagine broth would have a lot of nutrients in it for your milk supply........
tanni_83
10-08-2006, 09:13
Just remembered another one.... I was told I should eat soup broth for the first couple of weeks after I had my baby... not sure if this is because you are "sick" after you have a baby or if it is supposed to boost milk supply. Can't imagine broth would have a lot of nutrients in it for your milk supply........
You know what. I reckon it would. When you make broth you usually put whole washed vegies in still in the skin. Thats were all the nutrients are. And as the broth is liquid, while feeding you need plenty. It sould like a good idea to me...but not for a couple of weeks, maybe once a day for a week including other foods and drinks :)
I know someone that gives their child whole fat milk (not formula) with corriander seeds OMG!!
She also says when breastfeeding should express some first as milk goes off before feeding. I don't feed during the day as I am working and this was her advice.
Said I should give my DS garlic when sick OMG!
I know someone that gives their child whole fat milk (not formula) with corriander seeds OMG!!
The corriander seeds are meant to stop wind - but it is mum who is meant to eat them whilst breastfeeding.
10-08-2006, 13:42
Mum tells me to give Oliver soilds and cows milk instead of adding some formula to his diet. :) LOL I did try him on Farex at 3 months, but it didnt agree with him, so I stopped it!
when ttc#1
"just relax and it'll happen" :banghead:
when pregnant
"when you hit 6 months stay in bed 24/7 till birth" :rolleyes:
"Ignore the Dr, your body knows what it needs to do" (Grandma after me saying I was having a c/s for placenta previa)
after Tom was born
"Give him a pork chop to chew on" (FIL when Tom was 12 weeks old)
"Let him cry it out" :thumbsdown:
*Sparkles*
10-08-2006, 14:20
A friend recently was told by her FIL to get the wind up in her DS give him a tablespoon of Bi-carb Soda.
:eek: OMG that's terrible!
10-08-2006, 14:29
The corriander seeds are meant to stop wind - but it is mum who is meant to eat them whilst breastfeeding.
Does this work? Does anyone know?
li'l mac
10-08-2006, 15:46
I told a midwife how much pain I was having breastfeeding, including having bleeding nipples and she told me to hold my breath until the pain went away.:banghead: A feed took 30 mins - I'D BE DEAD!
Everytime I tell someone that story they just cannot believe it!
10-08-2006, 16:19
I told a midwife how much pain I was having breastfeeding, including having bleeding nipples and she told me to hold my breath until the pain went away.
Holding your breath actually makes pain worse, you need to breath out to relax! Arrgggg!!! What a stupid thing to tell you!!!
red crayon
10-08-2006, 17:38
after living in s e asia for nearly a year and a half i've been given lots of 'interesting' advice. my favourite has been a long sermon about how babies shouldn't put their fingers in their mouths because it's a bad habit that will lead to them being bad adults.
mind you my mil also has given me the dummy in honey advice.
bad advice comes from everywhere!
i had my wisdom tooth coming thu and was in absolute agnony, i was about 8 or 9 wks pregannt and was told i couldnt go to the dentist or take pandol, so i didnt for about a month, then went to the doctors and she told no thats not true, was not impressed that i had listened to that stupid girl
porridge
10-08-2006, 20:12
2. My MIL told me that if I decide to stop breastfeeding before my daughter is one, then I should give her full fat cows milk diluted with water and then sugar added to it.
This is what my mum did with my sister at 3 months because she wasn't getting enough BF... that was in 1977 :p
Holly_Golightly
10-08-2006, 21:14
Give a teething baby a lemon. Lemon rind tastes pretty yucky to me and I wondered what if they bit into it it and got a sour surprise. They probably couldn't do too much damage gumming it though.
In a weird way I can see that it might be satisfying because the lemon is hard but soft enough to bite through a little to help the teeth break through?
A friend was given a dose of brandy as a baby and slept for 24 hours. Her parents were in a panic but she was just too drowsy to stay awake. Pretty dangerous actually.
"Drink a lot of red wine when you are pregnant, it's good for your blood"
"You need to drink a lot of milk when you're pregnant so you can breastfeed"
"Don't worry about using the baby car seat, you're only driving up the road"
And the classic one "If you're tired just sleep whenever the baby sleeps" - Did you all get that one too? :yes: Did anyone do it? :no:
10-08-2006, 21:33
And the classic one "If you're tired just sleep whenever the baby sleeps" - Did you all get that one too? Did anyone do it?
Yep, got that advice from everyone, but nope, only ever did it the one time, and it took me half an hour to get to sleep and I woke about 20 minutes later when Oliver started stiring...I felt worse than before!
EskimoMumma
10-08-2006, 21:38
Unless i am knocking on deaths door, I cant sleep during the day :laughing:
arthursmum
10-08-2006, 21:49
i love this thread, it's hilarious:yelclap:
just quietly, i think that the broth is a good idea, too. i had lots of homemade brothy- soupy things after a's birth, lots of nutrients and liquid/fluid is good for bf(OK, not for 2 whole weeks, tho')
from mil (she is a fountain of information, these are just a few)
1. take aspirin when pregnant to help me sleep better.
2. give arthur weetbix at 10 weeks 'cos he was looking at me eating.
3. have a sherry before the 6pm bf and it will help baby sleep.
4. swaddling restricts the baby and it's motor development
from another mum
5. babies don't need to eat for a few days after they are born (i think there is some weird merit to this, any ladies who can enlighten me?) so just put the baby in the nursery for the first few days.
from my oh-so-supportive and positive father of 2 older brother
6. that i should move back to Australia because i'm 'all alone' and 'have no support' and 'what will you do when the baby just cries and cries for hours? (shake it til it stops i said, wtf do you think?:confused: )
& from a waiter, oh sorry waiter/ob/gyn
7. that mint tea and the TABLESPOON full of wine i had with my meal at week 40 are 'bad for the baby'..i tried to chase him to strangle him but i couldn't fit between the tables:laughing:
unfortunately, i think that i blocked out all the advice that REALLY got to me & i can't remember them, even to have a laugh!
arthursmum
10-08-2006, 21:58
From wattle:
"Don't worry about using the baby car seat, you're only driving up the road"
OMG!! forgot mil said this about a 3.5hr freeway trip!! we sadly had to go to a funeral when a was about 10 weeks old and she said i should just sit in the back and hold him and nurse him when he was hungry and that way we would save time by not having to stop to feed him. on a freeway where everyone drives
120+km
:idea: now, why didn't i think of that??:laughing:
jessgray
10-08-2006, 22:16
i have had the "dont worry bout the carseat " line too! lol from MIL.
she also told me not long ago the reason why ds has so many allergies is because i drank alot of milk while pregnant and ate alot of the foods he reacts to. (now where did i see her medical degree lol)
when i was preg wih ds1 i was told if i injure myself while preg and create a burn or bruise or scratch that part of baby's body would have a birth mark.needless to say i ended up with a small burn on my belly lol (dont ask how i did it lol) and ds one is birthmark free.
i still get told to sleep when ds1 sleeps lol mostly from MIL and DP lol although dp knows when not to say it to me coz i launch into a speech about how i cant because of the housework,ds will wake up soon,etc.. lol
My MIL told me to eat porridge with the Dark Brown Sugar on it to build up my milk supply whilst BF my DD (looking for an icon that punches) Oh well this will do:banghead:
the_queen
10-08-2006, 22:33
Bad advice I've received, and my responses
"Don't sleep with the baby, you'll roll onto him and squash him" Gee, if I can manage to avoid rolling off the edge of the bed while I'm asleep, I'm sure I can avoid rolling onto my baby :yes:
"Breastmilk doesn't have any nutrients after 3 months" :banghead:
"She won't understand what you're talking about if you keep using those big words" Erm, don't you think that makes absolutely no sense at all???? It's BECAUSE I'm using these big words all the time that she DOES understand them now. And :p you're just jealous because a 5 yr old's vocabulary is bigger than yours!
"Babies lungs need exercise, so you must let them cry" :eek: Get the **** away from my child.
"You need to put him down during the day or else you'll make a rod for your own back" well if it's a rod for MY own back, why the hell are YOU worried about it???
Holly_Golightly
10-08-2006, 22:39
My lovely EX-MIL suggested I put my DD in foster care and visit her on the weekends?????
Is she mad??? I was 19- not an addict, mental incompetent or general dimwit. I have certainly proved her wrong 6 years later.
lmao at
from my oh-so-supportive and positive father of 2 older brother
6. that i should move back to Australia because i'm 'all alone' and 'have no support' and 'what will you do when the baby just cries and cries for hours? (shake it til it stops i said, wtf do you think?:confused: )
Also when the hospital told me I wasn't in labour (actually 9 and a half centimetres dilated) they told me to go home and have a panadol and a big glass of wine. Um haven't you been telling me for 9 months to avoid this?
arthursmum
10-08-2006, 22:40
queen you are a very funny lady:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
from another mum
5. babies don't need to eat for a few days after they are born (i think there is some weird merit to this, any ladies who can enlighten me?) so just put the baby in the nursery for the first few days.
No merit that I can see...
1. While there is only a little colostrum, it is still of immeasurable benefit to baby to have those precious drops in their first 3 days
2. Baby may not need gallons of milk in the first few days, but the mother NEEDS to have the baby feed to properly establish BF
I'd be worried if a hospital would actually LET you do this...please don't tell me they do :o :p
Supermum
11-08-2006, 14:14
I had a Doctor tell me when my son was 6 weeks old that I overfed him (B/F) and that's why he cried so often. He told me not to feed him between the hours of 9pm and 6am and that feeding a baby between those hours was not necessary and purely a Western trend with no merit. TOSSER!
SimplyMum
11-08-2006, 15:08
Oh, this is just too funny.
My SIL comes up with the best theories! I wouldn't ever call them 'advice' because well, some of them are just STUPID!
My nephews have bad teeth (could be all the take-out and Lollies in their diet) and is not allowed too much sugar. So, out goes the sugar on cereal and in tea but the MacDonalds and KFC stay? :confused:
So the week, I asked her what she and the boys had for lunch one day, she said Fairy Bread. I said but that has sugar in it. She said it doesn't have that much sugar in it? Isn't sprinkles just coloured sugar?
Also the other day she said that oranges and apples were THE WORST thing you can give a child because it 'thins' their teeth? But she is a-ok giving them coke and lollies for breaki! :laughing:
Oh yes, you want crazy ideas, I have them. Millions of them. I'm sure I'll be back with more. My SIL just cracks me up!
cjb/jbvd
11-08-2006, 15:31
funniest worst advice i was ever given??
on a 43 degree day, i dragged my sorry *** with nine week old DS up to the community nurse (a 6km walk there and back) because i thought he was sick. she had the nerve to ask why he wasn't wrapped?? WTF, was she trying to give DS heatstroke or something?? :banghead:
i've also been told that my nearly ten month old doesn't need a bath every day because it's bad for his skin. i'm really sure that leaving him to sleep covered in strawberry juice and with biscuit crumbs in his hair is good for him :rolleyes:
i got the whole "oh a bit of sherry can't hurt him" from my MIL. her son is an alcoholic, and her daughter is a druggie. :mad:
some people should have "stupid" permanentley tattood on their forheads as fair warning to the rest of us. :D
I picked up DH and his best friend from the pub one evening with DS in tow. It was 11pm and DS was only 3mths and due for a feed, and had been up for too long. When DH wanted to get through drive-thru maccas on the way DS started screaming his little heart out because of the long wait (fast food my ****) so I was getting upset and DS was getting hysterical so I went to get DS out of his carseat and was told by DH's bestie to "leave him, he's a growing boy, it hurts to grow and he has every right to cry" when I politely told him to backoff he replied "this is why men don't cry, because mothers like you don't let their sons show any emotion".
Needless to say I cannot repeat exactly what came out of my mouth next ... but along the lines of he's my son and if I can stop him from being so very upset I will.
Did I mention this man has no children?
Rum in a bottle to help them sleep.
Honey on the end of a dummy!
arthursmum
11-08-2006, 19:27
No merit that I can see...
1. While there is only a little colostrum, it is still of immeasurable benefit to baby to have those precious drops in their first 3 days
2. Baby may not need gallons of milk in the first few days, but the mother NEEDS to have the baby feed to properly establish BF
I'd be worried if a hospital would actually LET you do this...please don't tell me they do :o :p
I was told this by a woman who had had her babies at the same place that we went to. it was a very old established clinic in french part of switzerland and supposed to be 'the best in town' but certainly we had conflicting ideas!!
they didn't forbid me to see Arthur but most of the women there were content to have their babies in the nursery ALL the time except for when the midwives would bring the baby for a feed..they thought it was a bit odd that i would want my brand new precious bundle of gorgeousness in the room with me but i was glad i'd done so much reading beforehand and was reasonably clued up on how i wanted to handle things. it truly was one of the most cultural experiences i have had in 5 years.
Sorry to bogart the thread!
Wow Arthursmum
That is eye opening...just shows how different things can be. My paed wouldn't let me take 15 minutes to eat my dinner when DD2 was crying.
"You should feed her" he said
"But I've just finished feeding her" I said, "and I'm hungry"
"You can eat later, she is programmed to feed frequently and build your supply" he retorts.
We compromised and I fed her while eating my steak with my fingers.:D
OK my hijack is over...as you were :thumbsup:
11-08-2006, 21:13
That is eye opening...just shows how different things can be. My paed wouldn't let me take 15 minutes to eat my dinner when DD2 was crying.
"You should feed her" he said
"But I've just finished feeding her" I said, "and I'm hungry"
"You can eat later, she is programmed to feed frequently and build your supply" he retorts.
We compromised and I fed her while eating my steak with my fingers.:D
Sorry, but this made me laugh....I remember being told off in the middle of the night by this tiny little midwife....She bought Oliver in for yet ANOTHER feed, I had barely slept for about 3 days, and I had just dozed off...and was falling asleep feeding him. "You sleep later, you feed your baby NOW" she told me, hands on hips...LOL She was so lovely, and funny, and boy did I feel guilty! LOL
From the MIL.
Honey on the dummy.
burp the baby by holding him upside down for a few minutes-WTF???
Give him some weetbix at 8 weeks old "he looked hungry?" (for the record he was a big boy)
When he had a head cold in summer she told me to take him outside (on a 40C day) and sit him in the sun for an hour???????????
From the grandma
Put condensed milk on the dummy.
Put condensed milk in the bottle (condesed milk is versatile stuff)
Put brandy in the bottle to help sleep.
From the GP.
I was having problems bf and he says" have a few glasses of wine before each feed to help you relax" WTF_ you mean i have to get drunk 8 times a day so i can then pass that on to my baby? hhhhhmmmmmmm thanks but NO!!!
From an old unknown lady in the supermarket checkout.
*Said at the top of her voice- Oh your huge!! Start rubbing Almond oil into your Va#@na NOW and you wont get any stitches!!!!. Gee thanks for that, now the 50 or so people in this shop have that vision of me doing that in their heads and i am just mortified. For the record- NO i didnt do it and i have never had any stitches either.
arthursmum
12-08-2006, 16:09
[B]From an old unknown lady in the supermarket checkout.
*Said at the top of her voice- Oh your huge!! Start rubbing Almond oil into your Va#@na NOW and you wont get any stitches!!!!. Gee thanks for that, now the 50 or so people in this shop have that vision of me doing that in their heads and i am just mortified. For the record- NO i didnt do it and i have never had any stitches either.
raoflmao!:laughing: that's AWFUL!
MIL
You should feed her less fat baby = fat adult hmmm OKaay
If she cries just leave her it doesn't hurt them hmm no thanks!
12-08-2006, 22:12
Granny:
He's two years old and should be toilet trained by getting him to pee into a bottle. She then likes to explain how she'd always have a glass jar or bottle with her on the bus for her son to pee in. "That's how they learn".
:eek: :eek:
worst advice i been told was to add honey to my daughters dummy, which i was told was not a good thing to do.
MIL....
Babies need to cry, it helps strengthen their lungs...
ME...
Babies don't cry for no reason.
MIL....
She probably just wants to be picked up. You nurse her too much.
ME...
Babies NEED love, attention and CUDDLES to know they are safe and loved.
MIL...
You making a rod for your back. You'll regret it.
What? Regret having a GREAT bond with my baby and knowing that she knows just how much I love her??? Yeah, that just soooo bad!:rolleyes: :banghead:
mamabear
13-08-2006, 22:13
I was told by my aunty to "stop breast feeding my baby because formula is much better these days, you know they've improved it so much since you were babies".
What the!!!!!:laughing:
:laughing: it's funny to hear what people say.
i actually like the sleep when the baby sleeps advice and only wish i could, but not possible with my toddles around too.
i have had mostly good advice, nothing horrendous comes to mind. i have had unwanted comments though.
an older man told me that it was too cold for dd to have no boots on the other day..i had just told him she pulls her socks and shoes off, but no , he insisted it was too cold...i guess i'll have to gaffer tape them on next time:rolleyes: .-as if i would leave her feet bare if i thought it was too cold..:banghead:
I just got told to stop breastfeeding because this will only result in my boobs sagging and I'll regret it.
Just remembered another one......
I shouldn't breastfeed after I have been doing some work around the house and garden because if I am hot then my milk will be too hot and will have gone off and isn't any good for the baby.
Ok, being a new mum and being told this in the first 6 weeks, I didn't know if it was true or not so I asked my chn and they told me that of course it wasn't.
li'l mac
15-08-2006, 15:46
*Said at the top of her voice- Oh your huge!! Start rubbing Almond oil into your Va#@na NOW and you wont get any stitches!!!!. QUOTE]
OH. MY. GOD. What was she thinking??? I would have loved to have seen your reaction!
li'l mac
15-08-2006, 15:48
Oops, stuffed up my'quote', sorry... :confused:
*~alegna~*
15-08-2006, 16:02
:laughing: :laughing: li'l mac...that has to be the funniest thing I have heard!!!!.
The worst bit of advice was actually from MIL - "If the baby Won't burp after EVERY feed it means that his bowel is twisted & will turn into Crohn's Disease!":eek: ......Lets just say she had me buping my baby continuously for the 1st 2 weeks of his life...I know I was probably a bit Simple to believe her...But she is a Paed Nurse!!!!
15-08-2006, 16:11
I swear, everytime someone picks up DS they say "oh he has wind". EVERYTIME. It drives me crazy.
My favourite is the dipping of a dummy in honey or jam to make them like it :rolleyes:
worst advice i been told was to add honey to my daughters dummy, which i was told was not a good thing to do.
no it definatly isnt! Here's a link to some information ----> Here (http://www.healthgoods.com/education/nutrition_information/Nutrition_and_Health/hold_honey_baby.htm)
arthursmum
15-08-2006, 21:19
Just remembered another one......
I shouldn't breastfeed after I have been doing some work around the house and garden because if I am hot then my milk will be too hot and will have gone off and isn't any good for the baby.
that's some gooood advice:laughing:
this thread should be a BOOK! they are all so funny.
*Said at the top of her voice- Oh your huge!! Start rubbing Almond oil into your Va#@na NOW and you wont get any stitches!!!!. QUOTE]
OH. MY. GOD. What was she thinking??? I would have loved to have seen your reaction!
:laughing: :laughing: i would be so shocked if some stranger said that 2 me
My reaction went something like this. :eek:
I was standing there with a red face, my chin on the floor and my tongue hanging out! I was embarressed beyond belief and all i could think was OH NO!!!! These people are gunna think i am gunna rush home and do it:p
cupcakemafia
16-08-2006, 09:26
YOu know what I hate? EVERYTIME someone else holds my baby, except for my husband, if she cries they all coo sweetly "ooh she must have a pain".
Maybe she does, but for Gods sake!! There ARE other reasons why she cries, and most of the time she doesn't have a pain, she just hates getting woken up so some selfish person can have a cuddle. My FIL is the worst offender - she'll be all alseep and settled nicely and he'll come in and POKE HER gently with his finger until she wakes uP!!!!!! I've told him not to on numerous occasions but he just says "i dont get to see her that often, so I want her awake when im here so i can have a cuddle!!"
BEST worst piece of advice: from the MIL - let DD cry, dont "pander" to her crying, she just wants attention and if you go to her she'll grow up spoiled.
Maybe I should just lock MIL in her room and leave her there one day, and if she cries out I PROMISE i wont "pander" to her cries. ..
:no:
I just got told to stop breastfeeding because this will only result in my boobs sagging and I'll regret it.
Now you would much rather have perky boobs than give your baby the best food huh?!:laughing:
See my response to that would be to look at their chest for a while and ask "so how long did you breastfeed for?"
MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
18-08-2006, 19:16
This thread is great!! My neighbour (mother to a 6 mnth ff baby) told me when DS was 3 mnths that I should start comping my bf sons feeds with foormula.
me:why??!!
her:ff babies are chubbier, therefore its better for them, bf bubs mums don't have enough nutrients in their diet, also the bigger you can make them in the first year the taller they'll end up being.
Me:he's getting plenty of food, he's happy healthy and sleeps well, thanks but no thanks for advice.
bubs_and_us
11-09-2006, 17:42
after i couldnt breastfeed... "formula is better for babies anyway. if you dont have a good diet, you wont have enough nutrients in the breast milk" (i dont eat many vegetables, so they were referring to that) :banghead:
"he should have a taste of everything you eat/drink or he'll grow up fussy..." (and this included alcohol) :no:
"he's only crying because he knows you'll pick him up. he's manipulating you" (about my, then, 2 week old son) :thumbsdown:
"when he vomits, its because you have overfed him. dont feed him until the next day so its all out of his system" (so wrong on so many levels) :ecomcity:
"dont sleep with him in your bed. he'll never go to sleep in his own cot again" (if thats the only way i can get some sleep, then thats what i'll do!)
lovemybub
11-09-2006, 22:28
YOu know what I hate? EVERYTIME someone else holds my baby, except for my husband, if she cries they all coo sweetly "ooh she must have a pain".
My FIL's new partner spent at least an hour wandering around the house with my (then) 2 month old DD when we visited at Christmas, patting her on the back trying to get rid of imaginary pains. All she wanted was her mummy... I know she was trying to help by 'giving me a break' but somehow I just wasn't able to relax...:banghead:
Samantha83
13-09-2006, 13:29
As a first time mum to my baby boy, i hate to hear him cry and he very rarely does - maybe 6 times since the birth. After my DH mentioned this to my MIL she hastly confronted me about it and said i have to let him cry otherwise his lungs wont grow.... :eek: She comes out with some bizarre old wives tales but that by far was the most ridiculous i have ever heard. :laughing:
KiLLaKaZ
14-09-2006, 19:39
MIL
You should feed her less fat baby = fat adult hmmm OKaay
If she cries just leave her it doesn't hurt them hmm no thanks!
yes, i got the one from my MIL about over-feeding my baby (breastfeeding!!) i asked the doc. about it in my next visit & she told me she's a PERFECT weight (& she was right about the average mark!) & also said u can't over feed a BF baby!
& i got the one about strengthening their lungs from my SIL, but i was wondering if there's any truth to that? my bubs will have pretty week lungs if it's true coz i can usually meet her needs before she makes any crying sound- i can just tell what she wants when she starts wriggling/ whimpering a little.
I swear, everytime someone picks up DS they say "oh he has wind". EVERYTIME. It drives me crazy.
my mother is CONSTANTLY telling me Q.T. has wind! i talked to the doc. about it & she said the kicking out she does isn't necessarily from wind, but a form of crying.
one i get from practically EVERYONE:
Q.T. sucks on anything & everything that comes near her mouth (most often her fist, tho) & so everyone keeps telling me i HAVE to give her a dummy!
y can't ppl understand that i don't WANT her to have a dummy!! :banghead:
any advice my inlaws give is bad :laughing:
Ashleigh<3
14-09-2006, 20:08
Hilarious, I read them all.:D
But I’m still quite amused over this one...
“Nothing to do with advice, but I was also told that the little strawberry birthmark that my daughter has on her stomach is there because when I was pregnant I craved something and I didn't get it and I scratched my stomach which resulted in her mark...!!!”
Damn! So Shouldn't have said no to that chocolate cake last week. I guess my baby will have strawberry marks all over his/her body.:laughing:
Who knew there were so many 'experts' out there?
My contributions:
"If he vomits, it means his formula is too strong - just water it down 50/50" (my mum)
"You shouldn't feed him straight away when he's hungry, because then he will come to expect it" (SMIL - DS was 2 weeks old!). Yes, how unreasonable of him to expect to be fed when he's hungry :shame: .
"Have you tried wrapping him up nice and tight?" (woman on street on 35 degree day)
"Cot bumpers are really good" (friend with 2 yr old :eek: .)
"If he won't sleep, try a bit of southern comfort in his bottle at night" (my mum again).
"If he stands up too much, he'll end up bowlegged" (FIL).
"You should drink unpasteurised milk - it has more nutrients" (SMIL when I was pregnant - she also used to try and hide raw egg in my food)
jess_live_die
14-09-2006, 21:28
i got told putting vaseline on nappy rasy, i think she was thinking of something else vaseline tore the skin off my daughter wen she put that on her.:thumbsdown: bad idea.