View Full Version : Warrnambool
Anyone from or around Warrnambool on BH ???
Love to chat if you are.
hiddenangel
19-05-2010, 09:53
Hi. Im from Warrnanambool. id love to chat.:yelclap:
i have a son aged 1 and am expecting my second child in September?
how about you?
Mandiemoo
24-05-2010, 15:57
Hi, I'm from near Warrnambool and travel in there to do my weekly grocery shop.
I have a 2 year old DD and an unknown one on the way due October.
I have been told that I will need to give birth at Warrnambool Hospital (public)
I would love to chat aswell.
hiddenangel
25-05-2010, 09:10
Hi mandiemoo.
good to hear from you. its nice to know there are other people locally that are on here. i am not actually from wbool but only 20mins away so i too only get there once a week or so.
i will be having my baby at warrnambool hospital dur 30th september but im likely to be there for the start of october at least. like with DS i will have the baby at warrnambool then transfer to Timboon hospital for the remainder of my stay. its so much more relaxed.
hope all is well with your pregnancy.
Sara
Mandiemoo
25-05-2010, 15:22
Hi Sara,
I'm from Timboon, and will be having a VBAC at w'bool hospy, then a transfer to Timboon hospy too. It will be much easier for DH and DD to come and visit.
The only thing I am worried about is getting someone to look after DD when I go into labour (my family lives in Melbourne) and also will I make it there in time.
How many days were you at Timboon hospy for? Is there any out of pocket costs as it's the dr's are private practioners?
hiddenangel
25-05-2010, 18:16
i stayed in Timboon with DS from monday til friday and they were fantastic. so quiet and much easier for family to visit. DS was induced in wbool so i didnt have to worry about the going into labour at home business but it worries me this time just incase. DS was borh 8:37 am and we were in timboon by 2pm.
where was your DD born?
when i was there (may09) there was no cost. but there was also no doctors, the midwife did all the care and she was wonderful. by the end of the week i only saw nurses first thing in the morning to say hi and at night before i went to sleep. but they were there if i needed them. i cant imagine that even though there is doctors there now you would have to pay. but ill check when i book in with them. we also just gave them a donation when we left to cover some of the meals, tv & phone since its all free.
im pretty lucky that i have lots of family around to help with DS when it all happens but i hope you can find someone to help with DD.
hope your keeping well.
Sara
Mandiemoo
25-05-2010, 20:10
Thanks so much for the info Sara.
I am keeping very well, but I think I might be getting a cold. Thanks for asking.
I had DD at The Northern Hospital in Epping (northern suburb of Melbourne) via elective c/s due to my health complications.
I saw Dr Friebe (sp?) a few weeks ago in W'bool and he was the one who said to try a VBAC as I am pretty much tip top shape.
I am seeing Dr Beaton on the 7th when he is in Timboon, so I will ask him about the costs. When is your next app?
I have taken DD to the emergency dept at Timboon and I recieved a bill in the mail for that consultation. That's why I was asking about any out of pocket costs.
As we moved here from Melbourne 11 months ago, I am yet to find a close friend for someone to look after DD. My DH just wants me to try and ask for a c/s, so it's easier to organise someone to look after DD and also to arrange time off work. (hmm men! :laughing:)
Hope your well too.
hiddenangel
26-05-2010, 09:40
hi again.
my next appointment is with the midwife at wentworth clinic on the 17th June, but i saw Dr beaton last week, he is great, he helped deliver DS (forceps delivery he was twisted).
DR Friebe is also a good dr but i hear theat he is leaving soon.
Not sure why you would have gotten a bill from Timboon, perhaps it has something to do with being an outpatient in emergency not an inpatient in hospital. im not sure just guessing. have you booked in to transfere there yet? if not just ask them when you do. thats what im going to do.
I cant believe your DH wants you to have a cs i think my DH would freak out if that was even considered for us, he is not good with hospital and thats just visiting them (typical) but i can see his point in trying to make it easier.
I know that you dont know me and im due just a few weeks before you but if i can help in any way just let me know.
i hope your cold gets better i seem to have a runny nose that i cant get rid of too but thats it. rest up..
Mandiemoo
26-05-2010, 20:06
Sara,
I just want to thank you so much for the advice and info you have given me so far. Thank you also for offering to 'lend an ear' if need be, it means a lot to me.
I didn't know I had to book to be transfered. When I sopke to Dr Friebe I asked him if I could go to Timboon afterwards and he just said "yeah we can arrange that" and that was it. I will ask Dr Beaton when I see him in 1.5 weeks.
Did you have a tour of w'bool hospy before you had your DS?
I would like to see where my bubs will be born at. I have only been to the u/s place. I guess I will have to ask that question too when I see the OB next.
hiddenangel
26-05-2010, 22:37
im not sure if you have to book but i just went and saw ann at timboon and told her what i wanted to do. she was great.
i had a tour of the ward in wbool as part of my pre natal classes but it wasnt actually open then because of all the works that are going on. but it was by the time i had DS. im sure if you rang and spoke to them they would arrainge a time for you to look. i would prob speak to veronica ( i think thats her name she does the booking in and organising of classes etc)
anyway try that and see how you go.
Mandiemoo
08-06-2010, 15:30
Hi Sara,
I had my OB app in Timboon yesterday with Dr Beaton, he is a very nice dr, he has given me the option of a repeat c/s or VBAC, but is encouraging me to have a VBAC.
I picked up my orange book today from wentworth and I am very surprised that all my app have already been booked. It is very different from when I had DD in Melb. where the dr will say "i'll see you in 6 weeks" then I had to go reception and make my app.
I have also made a booking at w'bool hospy for next tues, I am looking forward to having a tour around.
I hope you are keeping well and talk to you soon.
mummynow
08-06-2010, 15:46
Hi ladies :wave: I hope you don't mind me posting in here. I actually live near Mt Gambier in SA just over the VIC border. But I travel to Warrnambool for specialist appts (eg. DD just had her tonsils out over there recently) and various other things as you're only 2 hours from me. Adelaide and Melbourne are both over 5 hours away so you guys are actually my closet BH 'chat' group I can find at the moment. I've tried to start a Limestone Coast one in the SA section but doesn't look like there's anyone out there :(
DH and I love Warrnambool and wish we had looked into moving there before we committed to where we are. We like it here but fell in love with Warrnambool and the surrounding areas the first time we came over a couple of years ago. I also visit Portland & Port Fairy whenever possible too. Also go to Hamilton when necessary but definately prefer Warrnambool ;)
I have a DD aged 5, DS aged 19 months and I am due with our miraculous surprise baby in November.
Mandiemoo
09-06-2010, 11:13
Hi mummynow,
Your more then welcome to join our group, it's still a little quiet in here so the more the merrier.
Congrats on your surprise bubs due in Nov.
W'bool is a lovely place, I have never been to Portland or Port Fairy, but I have heard it's nice.
hiddenangel
10-06-2010, 14:26
HI all. & welcome mummynow.
sorry its been a while for me been pretty busy.
mandie im glad to hear your appointment went well with Dr Beaton, he helped deliver my DS when things got complicated and he is just wonderful. and thats good news hes happy for you to try VBAC.
I had a bit of a scary experience last night and have not long got home from wbool hospy.
i have had a bit of a head ache since monday and last night at about 10:15 had severe cramping in my tummy that lasted about 45 mins then i woke up at 3am with a masive stitch in my side. so i rang wentworth thismorning and was told to go to the hospy and get checked out. anyway i went up there about 10:00 and they checked bubs and all was good:yelclap:.
so they did some tests on me and now i have just got to wait for the results. but they dont thinnk it was too serious. i am just tired and sore now. so i have an appointment at wentworth next week unless anything comes up in the meantime.
anyway i hope you all stay well and keep out of this cold weather.:gloomy:
Mandiemoo
16-06-2010, 15:25
Hey all,
Well now I am officailly booked in to have bubs at w'bool hospy and also booked in to be transfered to Timboon hospy after bubs is born. My fingers are crossed that there will be a bed available for me as DH told me yesterday that if I have to stay at w'bool then he won't visit me everyday.
I hope you are feeling heaps better Sara.
Talk soon
Wow I am naughty I start a thread and didn't keep checking in to see if anyone wrote back...:doh:
So i'm Natalie (Nat) :wave:and my DH Phillip :wave:and we have 3 boys, my DSS lives with his BM and our other 2 live with us in W'Bool.
I was born here in W'Bool many moons ago and my family moved away when I was 8 and now I'm back raising my family here.
DH is going in to have a vas reversal in 1 week and 5 days and then we will be TTC our next addition.
Glad there are other locals I can chat to here, I also met some ladies on another forum and we have just started meeting up for a mums group at a local cafe so if any of you are in town on a Thursday at 11.30am we meet at Pebbles Cafe it is kid friendly and has playroom etc if you haven't been there before.
Mandiemoo - you don't know me yet but if you want to met me a few times and get to know me I would gladly help out while you are in labour I am a SAHM so always around and available :thumbsup:.
Anyhow better go now, I am on BH daily (i am an addict so will make sure I check in here regularly for a chat! :yes:
hiddenangel
09-07-2010, 08:07
HI nat, its great to hear from you. My name is sara and i am from near timboon. i have a wonderful husband and a 14 month old son. we are expecting our next bundle of joy in september.
your little mums group sounds great and pebbles is wonderful for kids. ill keep it in mind if im in town but at the moment im only in town on wednesdays (every second week) for dr appointments.
hope everyone else on here is doing great, i have had a few complications with this pregnancy but bub is doing great and thats the most important thing.
mandie- how did your tour of the labour ward in wbool go? they are not too bad but i just cant wait to get back to timboon once bub is given the ok to travel after delivery.
stay well everyone :):)
Mandiemoo
17-07-2010, 20:27
Hi Nat,
Nice to meet you finally. I also forgot to check up on this thread oopsy....
I usually go to w'bool on a tuesday or a wednesday (wednesday if I have an ob appointment) and do my grocery shopping and run other errands (kmart, target etc).
Hi Sara,
I didn't get a tour of the ward at w'bool, it was just a booking in appointment, I was told that I need to make another appointment to get a tour, so I need to work out when DH has a day off on either a tuesday or wednesday when we have to go do shopping. But I did get a tour of Timboon and I love it there, I wish I could give birth there or have a c/s there.
Talk soon ladies
I'm back again, been away cause DH had his vasectomy reversed last week so have an extra 'child' to look after ATM but won't be long and we will be TTC our next bubba...
We should organise a meet up on Wednesday if you have time the days your in town...
What's rentals like in Timboon? We are about to start house hunting and is hard to get a place here!
Mandiemoo
18-07-2010, 13:05
Hey Nat,
Rentals in Timboon are about $220 - $260 a week for a 3-4 bedroom, but there isn't many of them or they aren't actually in town.
I was looking for a new place but DH does not want to move.
Have a look at Landmark on Bailey St, they have a rental list that you can take.
When this bubs is born in October, my DH wants to get a vasectomy as he thinks '2 is enough'.
I hope he doesn't turn into a sook when he gets it done, it's bad enough when he has a cold!
hiddenangel
18-07-2010, 14:16
HI all.
Nat, hope all went well with your DH vasectomy and he is recovering very quickly. good luck with yout TTc journey i hope it all goes well for you.
i agree with Mandie re timboon housing, most of the good rentals seem hard to come by or are out of town. I am at Nullawarre (15mins wbool side) and its quite nice here. we brought our house about 6 years ago. we are trying to decide at the moment if we keep it and rent it out or sell and move elsewhere. or just stay put!
Mandie, i love the timboon hospital it is so nice and peaceful. i would have bubs there too but as much as i dont like warrnambool it is nice to know specialists are so close if needed in a hurry. i was only there 4 hours after DS was born so thats the plan this time too.
When are you due in october? im due 30th September but the way things are looking at the moment it will be a week or two earlier.
Stay well.
Catch up soon
Hi again,
I grew up in Mepunga my aunty and uncle and many family and friends live in Nullawarre. DH and I would love to live out of town.
We are all in a 2 bedroom unit in Warrnambool ATM and we can't wait to have a house again but it was all I could get after fulltime searching for a month.
Mandiemoo - I highly recommend being 300% sure to anyone considering getting a vasectomy we were both 110% sure when DH had his and now Just 14 months later we have just paid $4000 out of pocket to have it reversed, but Hubby and I both couldn't have forseen how our lives would change in that time and the change of heart about wanting more kids...
Mandiemoo
19-07-2010, 11:24
Good morning,
gee it's pretty cold out there today. I just went for a walk to the post office and the bank with DD and was lucky that I had put coats on us before I left. My feet are still cold but are warming up slowly.
I am orginally from Melbourne and this is the first time that I have moved away from my family (been in Timboon for 13 months now) and I have to say that I love it here.
I try and visit my mum and siblings at least every 2 months or so, but I don't think we could afford to live back in Melbourne again and I would have to have to go back to work and not be a SAHM.
When we first looked at moving (cos bubs is on it's way and DH just started up his business) I said that I couldn't live out of town - I still needed next door neighbours and a shop that I could walk to. I guess that's the city life I am used to.
Nat: I have tried to talk DH out of getting the snip done as I don't know if I have finished having children yet. But he doesn't think any other forms of contraception is good enough and just "wants to have fun without an after thought"
Sara: I'm due on the 27th October. As I am having a VBAC, they aren't discussing c/s yet until I am over 30 odd weeks. (would like the option if I am to go over 40 weeks then I want a c/s)
Maybe you might have your bubs on my b'day - 23rd sept. :yes:
Have a great day
hiddenangel
19-07-2010, 13:17
Nat- Nullawarre is a nice little town. we are walking distance to the shop and even the school if your energetic. i think we are going to sell up soon though as hubby is keen to go to warrnambool. but we would like to sell our house privately rather than with an agent.
Mandie- i have been given so many dates that im 'not aloud' to have bubs its nice for someone to have a date that i am.
Cant have bub on AFL grand final weekend, 27th is DH b'day, due 30th and 1st oct is my brother in laws b'day. id be happy with the 23rd it would suit me just nice. my DS was born on my MIL b'day. and we never hear the end of it.
anyway off to make some pumpkin soup. its so cold outside itll be nice and warm to eat.
Mandiemoo
22-07-2010, 14:44
hi ladies,
I hope we are well.
I'm excited as I just rang Timboon doctors and they said I can get the glucose test done there. Yay!
The thought of waiting at gribbles at the hospy with a 2 year old was making me very anxious, so now i am super dooper happy. i might get it done on monday as DH has the day off work.
Do you ladies have a fireplace? if so where do you get your wood from and how much?
We get our wood from the dairy farm DH works at but he hates splitting it and he was saying that there isn't much dead trees for next year.
hiddenangel
22-07-2010, 15:24
Mandi - thats great news you can have your glucose test done in timboon. i wish i had thought of that.
we do have a wood fire but this year we have been cutting wood from my DH farm. and i cant find the phone number of the man we used last year. hopefully we dont need it much longer this year. i love the fire but hate getting the wood. lol.
Mandiemoo
01-08-2010, 15:41
Hey there,
Sorry I haven't wrote in a while. I have had some problems 'down there' (varicose veins of the vagina) and I was even admitted over night for some observations as there was blood too and they don't know where it was coming from, I've had no blood today so that's a thumbs up.
It was good to see what the birthing suites and wards were like, also the midwives aswell.
I had one female dr check me out and she was really nice- wish I could see her at my ob app's.
I couldn't believe there was a tv in the birthing suite- and also the tv was free to watch.
I didn't really like that you had to walk across the hall to go to the toilet or have a shower, so I am actually looking forward to getting transfered to Timboon where I will have my own ensuite. (the thought of leaving the baby alone in a room with a stranger and her baby while I go to the loo frightens me)
Stay well and talk soon.
hiddenangel
02-08-2010, 10:25
Mandie- sorry to hear about your troubles. i hope things start to look up for you soon. make sure you try and het plenty of rest.
Also the Female OBs in Wbool are much better than the men. i agree.
Glad you finaly got to have a look in the birthing suite. when i had DS (15months ago) there was no tv in them and i was left in there on my own for 4 hours of labour it was horrible. (they told my DH to go home and get some sleep because nothing would happen til morning only for me to go into heavy labour 30 mins later so they trasnfered me to the birth suite and said i wasnt allout to leave so i couldnt ring him. he got back early at 4am luckily)
I agree with you on the toilet and shower situation there too there is no way i will leave my baby unattended. Bring on Timboon!!! And they have a bath for post baby recovery!!!
anyway 8 weeks to go for me and it wont go quick enough. i have had my fair share of problems too however am going quite well at the moment. baby is still breech so delivery is still to be determined. lets hope she turns and i can have a natural delivery otherwise its a manual turn in 4 wks and if that doesnt work i spose its a c-sect.
Keep warm and well. Rest up!!
ThinkingBabies
11-08-2010, 13:18
:wave: Hi Ladies,
I have just come across your post and I hope you don't mind me joining in :)
Myself and my husband are recently married (Feb this year) and we are thinking of loosening the contraception belt over the next couple of months to let nature take its course We currently live in Killarney (renting) and have ALMOST finished the family home we have been building for 9 months just near Koroit.
I am wondering if you have any tips or advice to pass on. I have recently stared private health cover so we will hopefully be having our baby in the next few years at the Warrnambool SJOG private. I currently see "Ping" at the Jameson Street Medical Centre and from what I have been reading and hearing from other ladies I think I would love Victoria Woodward to become our OB when the time comes.
How far in advance do you need to book one though? Should we be putting ourselves on a waiting list now JIC? Or will we be okay to wait for the referral when the time comes?
Please don't get me wrong - I am a HIGHLY organised person and like every woman I don't want to be limited by poor preparation
Any advice you have would be great! I am also quite into fitness and would want to continue that into my pregnancy as I hear it has labor benefits? Have any of you done any yoga? I was thinking of getting started now (as I currently do more intensive cardio and weights) so that it will be an easier transition when the time comes. :thumbsup:
Anything you ladies could tell me would be great! Although we are still miles off even conceiving a baby the whole thing is a little daunting so I hope discussing everything will help :yelclap:
Aime
Mandiemoo
13-08-2010, 09:18
Nat: You haven't posted in a while, I hope everything is going well.
Sara: Not long now, Has bubs turned? I am thinking I might need a c-sect, but I'm wondering how will i get transfered to timboon. The dr I see at greenwell, she won't even talk about c-sect until I am 34-36 weeks, which doesn't help as I am a very organised person and need to know things now.
I drove through Nullawarre on Wednesday and thought about you- hoping you were safe and not flooded out.
Aime: Welcome to the w'bool thread- and of course bubhub.
The ladies on here are very helpful with lots of things.
Congrats on your marriage.
I'm sorry I am not much help with your questions as I don't have private health insurance and I'm going to w'bool base then getting tranfered to timboon hospy when i am able to.
I'm not a fitness person, and don't do yoga- but i have heard good things about it.
well i best be off,
talk soon
hiddenangel
16-08-2010, 13:56
Hi. Hope everyone is well.
Mandie- no, not long now for me ill be 34 weeks on thursday. Bub had finally turned and made me very uncomfortable, but im so happy we are on track for a natural delivery.
im not sure how you would go about transfere after a c-sect id imagine it would be the same ( drive yourself) however depending on time of delivery you may have to stay 1 night. but i know timboon will have to trouble accecping you. & im like you i like everything to be super organised early.
i spend 3 nights in wbool hosp last week wil an infection somewhere in my system which caused a few contractions an one very inactive bub. i was given some steroid injections incase bub decided to come early but luckily she didnt and it all settled down. it was horrible in wbool, i had to remide the nurses to give me anti-biotics and panadol and i even picked up an error when they accidentily almost double dosed me. Lucky i have a background in pharmacy and know what tablets look like! they are so slack!
Anyway just home on rest now to wait out the next 6 weeks.
Hope all is going well with your pregnancy and you are manageing to keep warm in this horrible weather.
Aime-Welcome!
Sorry im not much help with the private system i am just a public patient. but i do know that once you are pregnant you can choose your OB but im not sure how long ahead you need to do this, however you will find that even though you are going to go to SJOG hospital if anything is wrong or you need an earlier than normal delivery you will be sent to the public hospital anyway.
i havnt done any yoga with either of my pregnancies however i can highly recomend swimming from a very early stage and continue as long as you can.
Wishing you the best of luck when you start ttc and congratulations on your wedding.
ok off now to put my feet up!
Take care!!
Mandiemoo
27-08-2010, 20:52
I hope we are doing well and staying out of the rain/hail/horrible weather.
Sara: I had my ob app last week and I finally got to see Dr Beaton. I have been seeing one of his registrars since 20 weeks.
He agreed to the c/s (his registrar kept declining me) and I am booked in for the 20th October. I will need to stay at w'bool for 1 or 2 nights, depending on how well I recover and if I am able to be transported to Timboon.
I need to be at w'bool at 7am. So that is going to one long day as I just know that I probably won't be able to sleep the night before due to excitement etc.
c/s are performed no earlier then 38+5 and Dr Beaton said if I was that many weeks when he is in Timboon then he would do the c/s at Timboon hospy. But bad news is that he isn't in Timboon in mid-late Oct, when I'm due :no:.
I hope you are recovering well.
Oh dear, you have me a little worried about the middies and medication. I just hope they remember to give me pain killers often especially after my c/s
Looking forward to hearing the news when your princess arrives and how your hospy stay was.
Take care and talk soon
Sorry I have been MIA, we have been super busy, DH has recovered from his vasectomy reversal, saw surgeon at start of month and got all clear and has just done his first SA fishie count so I am crossing everything that they find LOTS of fishes :-)
We have moved house and are now out at The Sisters and loving it, renting a 3 bedroom house it was our landlords house before building their current house waaaay over other side of propert), they are soo lovely with kids same age as ours our older boys are going to same high school together next year. It is great, kids love it as much as Hubby and I do :-)
I went and saw Vicky Woodward at Greenwell on Friday just gone as according to temping I don't ovulate and now DH is all good to TTC wanted to sort it out but she is very confident I can conceive naturally again so am getting day 21 progesterone blood test done on Friday see what it says regardless of result she said try naturally for 6 months then go back if no luck BUT Vicky is leaving soon so will see Dr Beaton for next appt :-( not sure what he is like, I really liked Vicky to point I would consider driving to Melbourne to go see her, if I can find out where she goes to!
I am going private with my next bub, was public with last 2 (had no problems with public) but I have fast labours so DH and I think having option for elective induction on or day after due date just as assurance we will make it to hospital in time...
Aime: welcome :-) when going private usually can only book an oB once you are UTD but first appointment for pregnancy is after you get to 8 weeks or so (as a guide every OB has there own rules)
Hope our pregnant ladies are resting up and taking care!
My sister had her 2nd bub on Friday (on my wedding anniversary) a 9lb baby girl named Bridget Helen, I can't wait to meet her :-)
Well going to try make pineapple muffins...
hiddenangel
10-09-2010, 10:38
Hi all. just a quick post to let you know i will be getting induced on tuesday and hopefully bub will arrive wednesday morning.
Hope everyone is well and looking after themselves.
will let you know once bub is here and im home from hospital.
Take care.
Good luck, will be sending all my positive vibes your way for a safe quick and easy delivery of your little bubba!!!
Mandiemoo
12-09-2010, 22:34
Hey Sara,
Just want to wish you well with your induction for Tuesday.
I was at Timboon hospy on Friday and was thinking about you, if you were there or not.
I hope all is well though seeing that you are getting induced before your even due.
Can't wait to hear back from you.
Hey Nat,
That's good to hear that you enjoy where you are living now.
Dr Beaton is very nice. He has a laid back attitude, which I really like. And he doesn't rush you like some of the dr's do.
Well I am doing fine, apart from some blood flow problems (can't stand in one position for to long or else my feet swell and turn purple.)
I can't wait to have this baby, so I can partly have my body back
Talk soon
Sara,
Just wanted to send you some thoughts and prayers, hope your bubba is safe in your arms or well on it's way.
Nat
hiddenangel
19-09-2010, 10:49
Hi all. just a quick one to let you know:
Bella Paige has arrived
15/09/2010 2:15pm
7lb 1oz 48.5cm
Natural delivery 1 night in wbool & 1 in Timboon but we are home now and we are both doing very well.
she is just perfect
Mandiemoo
19-09-2010, 15:35
That is wonderful news. Beautiful name, and a perfect healthy weight.
And such a short stay too. How did you manage that?
I hope you are getting plenty of rest when you can and looking forward to hearing from you again soon.
Congratulations on Bellas safe arrival, glad to hear you are all doing well :-)
hiddenangel
11-10-2010, 15:12
Hi all.
just a quick one to let you all know Bella is doing really great & growing so fast. its hard to believe she will be 4 weeks on wednesday!
Mandi- i cant remember quite when you are due but i cant imagine it is too far away. i just wanted to wish you the best of luck. & if there is anything i can do to help please let me know.
Mandiemoo
14-10-2010, 13:27
Only 6 more days till I get to meet my little baby. My c/s is booked at w'bool on Wed 20th and I have to get there at 7am, which means we will be leaving home at about 6am- a very early start indeed!
Hubby has been on my back to get out and about and try and find some friends. I think once bubs is born it will be the last thing on my mind. But I need to I guess, seeing that I've lived in Timboon for 1.5 years and I'm yet to find someone to talk to or go for a walk/coffee with.
Sara: Thanks for your best wishes. I hope Bella is doing well.
Nat: Hey, how are you? How's life treating you at The Sisters?
Talk to you all soon.
hiddenangel
15-10-2010, 13:31
Mandi: Best of luck for your cs. that will be a very long day. Are you still hoping to get back to Timboon hosi?
my hubby is always at me too about meeting people so im going to be taking the kids to playgroup in timboon. you are welcome to come too once the new bub is settled.
Also we are moving to timboon as soon as our house in Nullawarre is sold. i cant wait.
anyway im off to feed bella.
Mandiemoo
16-10-2010, 11:19
Sara: I will be at w'bool for approx 2 days then off to Timboon after that (hopefully the Friday)
I was told by one of the dr's at my last app that they will keep me an extra day to make sure my breastfeeding is established - not sure how I will cope being kept away from my DH and DD for so long even though they will visit me everyday.
I have been to the timboon playgroup before and it was very busy with lots of older children but I was thinking of giving it a go next year.
Good luck with selling your house. Will you be looking to buy in the heart of Timboon? I hope you manage to find the right house here.
Well I'm off to get lunch organised.
Talk soon
hiddenangel
16-10-2010, 14:32
thats interstesting that they would keep you longer for the breastfeeding. but best of luck anyway & if you do have any trouble then ann in timboon was great with us.
Timboon is a very busy playgroup but the few times i have been befor bella was born it has been well organised. and there is a few younger kids now but still the older ones as well.
We are looking to move into the town, but just hope we call sell soon. i hate just sitting around waiting.
if i dont get a chance before you go to hospital. i wish you all the very best. you will be just fine away from DD & DH. its hard but make sure you get as much rest in hospital as you can.
Hear from you soon.
Sara
Thought it was about time I popped back in to say hi to you all.
Mandi - Hope you and your Little one are doing well and bubba is doing well with life on the outside. :D
Sara - Hope all is well with Bella you are doing well also. :yes:
AFM: I am on CD5 and my 4th day taking clomid to make me O at a better (more predictable time) last cycle it was CD55 before I O'd... Life in The Sisters is just blissful I LOVE IT :goodvibes:
I am happy to meet up with you all in Timboon at a cafe or somewhere one day that suits you both, I just can't handle playgroups myself, not that there is anything wrong with them, just not my thing because I prefer smaller groups IYKWIM (to much noise at ones I have been to in past and it erks me).
Hope you are all well...:sunshine:and if your interested in meeting up one day let me know I will PM my mobile number to you so can arrange it
hiddenangel
23-10-2010, 15:54
Hi Nat. good to hear from you.
I was on clomid when trying for my DS because of PCOS and no ovulation. it took me 5 cycles but i got a beautiful boy as the result. very stressful process but well worth the effort. then i had no preob getting preg with DD and no clomid required. we were thrilled.
Glad to hear the sisters is going well. i will miss the country life when we move into town.
Mandi- hope all is going well with your new bub. congratulations.
My first bub was conceived naturally my second bub I was on Metformin (for PCOS) was only on it 8 weeks or so but side effects were awful and didn't want to feel yuck at my wedding so stopped it then found out 4 weeks after stopping it I was nearly 6 weeks pregnant... So assume it helped there... Took my last dose of clomid this morning so crossing everything I O soon and we catch the eggie
Mandiemoo
26-10-2010, 19:32
I got home yesterday with my new bundle of joy Charlotte Sybilla. She weighed 3360gm and was 47.5 cm in length. The c/s went great and found the middies at w'bool really nice and caring. I went to Timboon hospy on the Friday and found that different as they just let you be- but I must admit the food was great there!
I am breast feeding every 2.5-3.5 hours and I can tell you I am very tired.
Do you know how Ann and Maree (MCHN) react with bottle feeding?
Nat, the meet up at a cafe sounds good, but it will have to be a few weeks yet as I can't walk far or drive anywhere yet. I hope the spermy catches your egg very soon.
hiddenangel
29-10-2010, 08:13
-congratulations mandie. im so glad things went well for you. & what a beautifulo name.
my mother in law cooks in the kitchen so ill tell her the food was good. lol.
i know marie doesnt like bottle feeding because she was horrified when i put ds on the bottle when he was only a few weeks old. i take both my children to moyne shire mchn in wbool now. i am actually starting to wean bella onto the bottle now because im sick of feeding every 1.5 - 2.5 hours and having her scream in between. at the moment i bf then 1.5h later i bottle feed then she is happy for 3-4 hours and i bf again etc but she has had colic/reflux so that hasnt helped. plus i had gastro and my milk has gone bad.so at the moment she is having both. not sure how ann would be but id imagine she would be happy but not as bad as marie. ( marie made me feel a bit like a failure with ds)
Nat- i agree it would be great to catch up for a cuppa.
also i hope things aer going well for you in the eggy department.
Take care all
just a quick note to update.
Officially in the 2WW to see if we caught the eggie!
Hope everything is going well with your bubbas.
Talk soon!
little ninja
09-11-2010, 20:51
Hi ya
I am new to Warrnambool (been here 2 months) and am 24 weeks preggies. I am struggling to decide which obs to see. Choice between Chris Beaton and Liz Uren. Any advice on this? Also St John of God maternity ward is depressing and very simplistic - doesnt even have neonatal. Anyone delivered there? Wbool is pretty and my other 2 kids (aged 3yrs and 21mnths......yes, I AM CRAZY to have another so soon:)) love the beach environment and the playground. Bring on the sunshine!
Cheerio
Little Ninja (is what we call bubbie in utero as it never seems to sleep!)
Hi ya
I am new to Warrnambool (been here 2 months) and am 24 weeks preggies. I am struggling to decide which obs to see. Choice between Chris Beaton and Liz Uren. Any advice on this? Also St John of God maternity ward is depressing and very simplistic - doesnt even have neonatal. Anyone delivered there? Wbool is pretty and my other 2 kids (aged 3yrs and 21mnths......yes, I AM CRAZY to have another so soon:)) love the beach environment and the playground. Bring on the sunshine!
Cheerio
welcome to the area :wave::wave::wave:
feel free to chat in here anytime, as you will have read I am TTC preg #3 child #4 (have a 16yo DSS).
Yay for insanity bub#3 will be great and ages close means the insanity is huge but you can kick them all out of home around the same time to in years to come :laughing: well that is what my Mum told us about having us 4 all under 5 years... :p no seriously my sister is same as you her 1st is 18month, her 2nd bubba is 10 weeks old and will be TTC#3 as of next month. I would have done the same if I planned my family we are a blended family so DH and I had one each when we met and then DS was a wedding present, DH had the snip thinking 3 was it then we changed our minds had him unsnipped and TTC now, so our kids are a bit spread out, but works for us.
hiddenangel
10-11-2010, 20:54
Nat- fingers crossed for your 2ww. its seems to take forever i remember all to clearly.
Welcome Little Ninja.
I havent had much experience with Liz Urem but ive heard she is great however Chris Beaton stepped in when i was having a pretty traumatic delivery with my first bub and he was wonderful. i also have never seen St Johns ward as i am just a public patient but i dont think they have neonatal because if there are any complications they usually send you to the main hospital. The Main hospital is ok just pretty crowded.
Also your not carzy having your kids close together my two are 16months apart and i love them being so close. my DS is now 18months & My DD is now 8 Weeks.
Anyway We are a small group on here but its nice to chat to others close by.
Do you have family or friends around the area?
Mandi- Hope Bub is doing all the righ tthings for you and you are doink ok also.
anyway i was just jumping on here quickly until DS settles cos he just fell out of bed! the computer is just outside his room and he likes to know you are close by when he is upset. i think he is asleep now so im off to bed too.
Take care all.
Hi ya
Cheerio
Hi all, i'm in Warrnambool too!! I never saw this thread before!
Little ninja, Liz Uren delivered my DS and she was fantastic! While preg, I also saw Dr Beaton, and he was great too, they both really know their stuff and have fantastic bedside manner!
Hope to chat to you all xxx
Kstar - welcome, glad you found us here. Great to get feedback on OB's I will be needing one soon I hope :-).
Is late and need sleep but will be back tomorrow to say proper hello and chat!
Talk soon ladies!
hiddenangel
11-11-2010, 07:38
welcome kstar! lokk foward to chatting with you.
Thanks for the warm welcome! :shakehands:
A little bit about me;
I am orginally from Geelong, but moved here almost 4 years ago after I met then BF now DH.
This year we had our wonderful DS, who is now 9 months old!
I had him at SWH as a public patient, couldn't speak highly enough of them.
Yes, it was a little cramped at time (had to share a room), but the staff were amazing! I missed them when I went home! lol
As I said in my last post Dr Liz Uren delivered DS, after a mammoth labour (which was going along swimmingly I might add) I had to have an emergency c-sect.
My pelvis simply isn't made for birthing babies apparently!
It didn't make my experience any less perfect though. I had an amazing labour, with wonderful midwives and DH and I had some of the best laughs we've ever had.
Knowing I will now have planned c-sect for any future bubs, I kinda feel sad I don't get to go thru it again.
Anyway, just a little background about me :)
Mandiemoo
13-11-2010, 09:12
It's so hard to find time to jump on here. I have been reading from my mobile during feeds though.
Sara: I'm doing well thanks for asking. The only problem I have is my c/s wound isn't healing as nice as I would like it too.
Charlotte is growing and gaining weight so my boobs must be doing something right :laughing:
How are your 2 little ones going?
Nat: I hope this 2ww goes by very quick for you and brings some great news in the end.
kstar and little ninja: Welcome. :smiliedance:
A little bit about me: I'm 28, married and have 2 girls aged 2.5 years and 3.5 weeks. I moved to Timboon 1.5 years ago from Melbourne so DH could work on a dairy farm.
I go to w'bool at least once a week to go grocery shopping (and retail shopping too)
I am loving living here too.
Hope to get to know you both.
Talk to you all soon
kstar and little ninja: Welcome. :smiliedance:
A little bit about me: I'm 28, married and have 2 girls aged 2.5 years and 3.5 weeks. I moved to Timboon 1.5 years ago from Melbourne so DH could work on a dairy farm.
I go to w'bool at least once a week to go grocery shopping (and retail shopping too)
I am loving living here too.
Hope to get to know you both.
Talk to you all soon
Awww lovely, how are you finding motherhood with 2?
My DS keeps me so busy, the thought of 2 freaks me out. Mind you, I guess you just do it, because that's what you need to do. And after a while, it's second nature?
I have only been to Timboon a couple of times. It's nice though.
Moving from Melb would have been a big change? Geelong was big enough. At the beginning I found Warrnambool very uninviting. Was hard to make friends. Thank god for my job, that soon fixed things.
Good to meet you xxx :shakehands:
Mandiemoo
25-11-2010, 07:09
Hey, how are we going? It has been very quiet in here. I hope all is well.
Kstar: sorry for the late reply, it is certainly busy with 2 kiddies now DH has gone back to work.
Sometimes I wish I had a job so I could meet people, but there seems to be no jobs around here, plus now I will need to wait till DD2 is a little older before even looking.
The move was a very big change for me. No friends, no family - just me, DH and DD1. DH told me not long ago that he was expecting me to get home sick from melbourne/my mum.
When I go to Melbourne now, I can't wait to get back home to Timboon.
AFM: DH has finally gone back to work. I think I will cope- I guess I have to until 4:30pm-ish when he arrives home, but he is usually tired and needs an afternoon sleep. :rolleyes:
I wish I could have an afternoon sleep to. DD1 no longer has naps unless she is really tired or we are in the car.
DD1 got into mobile childcare 1 day a fortnight next year, I was hoping for a spot weekly as she isn't going to 3 year old kinder.
DD2 is now 5 weeks old and growing fast before my eyes. I'm still waiting for her first smile as I know it will make my day!
I am now fit enough to drive and walk, so if you girls are still wanting to meet up, count me in.
hiddenangel
25-11-2010, 10:16
mandi-
good to hear from you. my ds got into mobile daycare in timboon next yr too once a fortnight. we are hoping to be in timboon by then but still havny sold our house yet.
Bella is 10 weeks now and we are getting lots of smiles& laughs. she is on the bottle now and is doing realy well.
anyway it would be great to catch up for a cuppa or something if your interested.
i betta go feed bella.
talk soon
take care
Mandiemoo
27-11-2010, 15:28
hey,
Sara: Wow, Bella is 10 weeks already, gee time has flown by.
When I drove through your town the other week I noticed a few houses were for sale. I have never been through the house buying/selling before, but I'm guessing it must be very stressful playing the waiting game.
I know it was stressful just looking for a place to rent and moving.
Everyone: Can you believe Christmas is only a month away?
What have we all got planned?
Is all your shopping done?
AFM: I went down to the school to vote today, it worked out good, cos DH came home on his lunch break to go and vote and as it was raining, he stayed home with the girls so I could vote without taking them with me.
I forgot to take something out of the freezer this morning for dinner tonight, so I have no idea what I'm going to cook. Maybe home made pizza??
I hope your all well and talk to you soon
kings college sounds great online but does anyone know if it's really good or not? :confused:
DH and I went to the info night to enroll DS who is starting high school this year and we loved the small school feel of Kings College. It has all the mod cons a school needs and the students that took us to look around were well rounded polite and proud of the school (didn't seem to be 'just doing it cause they had too iykwim), I also loved the student/teacher interaction I saw whilst there they seemed to really get along well and it felt genuine. So all in all yes think it would be a great school if you can afford the fees
It is the dearest of all the schools in Warrnambool but IMO it was worth it for our DS who is a bit of a loner science type (aka smart, creative, imaginative with lots of personality) he tends to be a bully target unfortunately. We felt the smaller environment was more suited compared to say Warrnambool College that is huge and has lots of kids cause our DS would get lost in the system too easy.
We have only enrolled our son somewhere else as we moved out of town and Warrnambool is too far to travel daily otherwise he would go there for sure!
HTH
Hannahbanana
25-02-2011, 22:48
Just wanted to say Hi :wave:
Nice to see some ladies in this area of the world.
We moved to Allansford in july last year after living in melbourne for 13 years. My DH and I are originally from the Warrnambool area but moved away after high school for jobs and what not. Now that we have 3 kids, we (mainly me) decided it was time to move back before our eldest DD started prep this year and also for the family factor. DD1 just turned 5, DS is 3.5 and DD2 is 1.5. The older 2 were born by elective CS and DD2 was a VBA2C.
Anyway good to know there are a few other w'boolians (or close enough to) on the hub :).
Been too long since I posted in here :-0
All is going ok for me I am in the TWW after my 5th round of clomid so been on a roller coaster of the hormonal kind!
Will be back on on Monday to catch up properly but wanted to say hi to all :-)