View Full Version : More stupid questions......

Mummabear
09-08-2006, 14:39
I'm looking on the Ennee's site after reading through more cloth threads (yeah, thanks girls, just when I think I've got myself sorted as to what I'm going to use I find more that I just have to try :rolleyes: :p).

Anyway, I"m a little confused on the website. For those of you that say you use the eenee's with a terry folded, are you talking about the 'Standard Weenee Wrap' or the 'New Weenees Baby Pouch Pants'?

Has anyone tried the bamboo prefolds from BBeehinds with the eenee's? DS is a HUGE wetter (think of the biggest wetter you know and then double it!).

Also, with your Greens - has anyone tried a BBeehinds bamboo prefold with them?

Isn't bamboo supposed to be more absorbent than hemp??? (please help me on this one).

What is the most absorbent stuffer that you've found?

Microfibre inserts - the 3 layer ones on the BBeehinds site are $6.50 and the 3 layer ones on the WeeWuns site are $3.50 - is there much difference??

I guess that's enough stupid questions for now.

Thanks girls.....

Mummabear
09-08-2006, 14:43
one more question - what are the eenee sizings like? Are they a big or small make?

LucyE
09-08-2006, 15:19
Sorry can't help with Eenee's.

Also, with your Greens - has anyone tried a BBeehinds bamboo prefold with them?
I haven't tried that combo but do have both of them and can't see why it wouldn't work. (just to clarify, I have the BB bamboo boosters so not sure if they are that different to the prefolds)

Isn't bamboo supposed to be more absorbent than hemp???
Yes approx twice as absorbant for the same weight/weave of fabric. Bamboo is also softer and doesn't have the distinctive wet hemp smell. The only downside is that it takes forever to dry so having a booster that's thinner but larger means you can fold it to size for boosting but it unravels for faster drying.

What is the most absorbent stuffer that you've found?
Probably bamboo. That's not the only consideration though because if you have a super fast wee-er (like my DS) than something like microfibre is good too because it absorbs quickly. Hemp absorbs a lot but I find it doesn't absorb quickly enough so if DS wees straight onto hemp, it tends to just bead and roll off before having time to soak into the material. I use a combo of microfibre and hemp for this reason. Also terry weaves seems to absorb faster and hold more than say a jersey fabric.

Microfibre inserts - the 3 layer ones on the BBeehinds site are $6.50 and the 3 layer ones on the WeeWuns site are $3.50 - is there much difference??
I haven't seen the BB's ones but the WeeWuns have a number of different microfibre inserts. Double check the size of them because for that price difference you'd expect a difference in the product.

I guess that's enough stupid questions for now
No such thing as a stupid question :) It's the only way to learn about all the cloth jargon LOL

09-08-2006, 15:55
For those of you that say you use the eenee's with a terry folded, are you talking about the 'Standard Weenee Wrap' or the 'New Weenees Baby Pouch Pants'?

Usually ppl are talking about the Pouch pants not the weenee wrap.;) The wrap can be used the same way I just found though it wasn't as nice feeling and it does up at the front not the back so if they are running around with just the nappy on little fingers tend to undo the wrap where as the pouch pants can't be undone as they are done up at the back of bub.

Has anyone tried the bamboo prefolds from BBeehinds with the eenee's? DS is a HUGE wetter (think of the biggest wetter you know and then double it!).

Nope sorry havn't tried them with the Eenee's but they would probably work fantastic for really heavy wetters.

one more question - what are the eenee sizings like? Are they a big or small make?

As you probably read they come in 3 sizes the first size would probably do up to 4 - 5 months on an average size baby the next size is 0 - 2 and to be honest we are still using them on Ozzy as well as the size 2 - 4 and he is 17 months old. So they do cover such a broad range of sizes.

mum_2_5
09-08-2006, 16:22

I just worked out the difference. The BBehinds are 12 for $6.00 and the weewuns are $3.50 each.

It has just taken me an hour to work that out. I think need more sleep.

dstahl
09-08-2006, 19:34
Hey... Just found this forum, and it looks awsome. I'm a cloth nappy addict!! lol!!

Anyway, i am on another US cloth Nappy forum, and i have learnt heaps of excellent tips form these ladies. For stuffing nappies, i use microfibre inserts. You can buy the microfibrein a pack of 6 and they work so well!! You just fold them over!! They are in the car cleaning section, and i just make sure i wash them a few times with Darks.

Here is a pic!!
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a370/dannistahl/microfibre2.jpg

It may sound odd... but they are fabulous!!

Danni

Mummabear
09-08-2006, 20:33
Hey Danni - thanks heaps for that. I had read other Mum's saying that you could buy the microfibre from the supermarket but I never knew exactly what it was I was looking for - I'll go and get some tomorrow. So, do you just use a couple of those folded over and nothing else?? What sort of nappies do you use them in?

Welcome to Bubhub - you'll be sick of me in about 2 days as I'm always the one with the stupid nappy questions, lol. It's great to have you on board. I look forward to getting to know you more :thumbsup:

dstahl
09-08-2006, 20:59
No worries!!! :)

I bought them from big w, but i'm sure you could find them anywhere. Even i imagine a place like super cheap auto would have them at a decent price. The main thing to look for is the Polyamide (sp???) In the ones i got it's 30% but usually it's around 20%. Obviously the higher the % of polyamide the better as thats the really absorbant stuff!!

I just fold them over twice and fold the front down about an inch. (you could cut them to size too i think)

We use them in all our nappies. I get my nappies from the USA as i have a friend who owns a "diaper" online store, so i use "Mommys touch" one size pocket diapers.

Anyway.. Hope that helps!!!!

dstahl
09-08-2006, 21:00
Oh yeah.. and i have just started getting into cloth too, so i'm sure all your questions are helping me out too!!!! :D

gidgeroo
09-08-2006, 21:09
I'm looking on the Ennee's site after reading through more cloth threads (yeah, thanks girls, just when I think I've got myself sorted as to what I'm going to use I find more that I just have to try :rolleyes: :p).

Anyway, I"m a little confused on the website. For those of you that say you use the eenee's with a terry folded, are you talking about the 'Standard Weenee Wrap' or the 'New Weenees Baby Pouch Pants'?

Hi Mummabear
I've been using the pouch pants from eenies for a little while now and they have been a great intro into the world of cloth. I use their microfibre nappy folded into 3 with a doubled over bit at the front for my boy. They are really absorbent but sometimes leak if he's been asleep for a while. I also bought a box of the weenee pads which come in handy when I'm out and about (flushable & compostable) I think a standard sized flat terry nappy would be too bulky folded into an eenie so the ones they sell are perfect - about a third of the size of a flat terry.

Thanks Danni - I'll be checking the car section for microfibre cloths - what a superb find!

I haven't used the babybeehinds so am clueless. Am eagerly awaiting my first shipment of fluffy mail - trying some pockets (peapods & bumgenius) to see if they are any good!

good luck! georgia

Mummabear
09-08-2006, 21:14
We use them in all our nappies. I get my nappies from the USA as i have a friend who owns a "diaper" online store, so i use "Mommys touch" one size pocket diapers.

Nature's Cradle (www.naturescradle.com.au) (www.naturescradle.com.au) are now stocking the Mummy's touch pocket nappies too. I had a quick look at them at the trade fair but was still rather clueless about nappies (not that I'm much better now, lol) - how do you find them? I loved that they seemed soooo soft. Last time I looked on the Natures Cradle site they had them on sale so might be worth you checking out. Is your friend the one that makes them or does she just onsell them?

dstahl
09-08-2006, 21:36
I don't have anything to compare the mommy's touch too, as i have just become addicted to cloth, but they are awsome. I like that i only have to buy one nappy, not different sizes.

Yeah i did see that they are stocked in Australia in a few stores, but if i buy from my friend (who is a stockist), i can choose from the whole colour range (which is very important!!! lol!!!!), and also, including postage, i only pay about $19 per nappy.