View Full Version : where do all the poms live? and where are you from?

flowerpot21
09-08-2006, 10:08
thought i would be nosey and find out!

ok to start; i am in adelaide and i am from wirral

(AND i'm dying for summer to arrive :smiliedance: )

LA62
09-08-2006, 10:15
Hi:wave:

Im From Melbourne and im from manchester :smiliedance:

Not to far from the wirral!

And im with you, im dying for summer to come:yes:

Jacki
10-08-2006, 10:13
Hi:wave:

I'm in Melbourne and I'm from Milton Keynes.

Manxie
10-08-2006, 10:17
:wave: Adelaide too!!!! Family from the Isle of Man - durrrrr wouldnt guess it from my username hey! I lived around london for a long time and loved it:D

Beany
10-08-2006, 11:28
In Sydney, from London :wave:

filmgirlgail
10-08-2006, 12:01
In Brisbane, will be looking forward to summer once we have air con in the bedroom!! From Amersham, Bucks but lived in Kingston, Wimbledon, Henley, Marlow, Chalfont St Peter, Little Chalfont.

Clinya
10-08-2006, 12:48
Im in Sydney but from Wigan

Pixie
10-08-2006, 12:49
I am in Sydney ..... From Devon

Beany
10-08-2006, 14:07
*poke* whats with the new nick, Pixie? :p

Pixie
10-08-2006, 14:10
Well yannno M&P is too friggen long :ecomcity: I like Pixie :D my DP picked it for me very, very old nickname when I was a ween

AquaDevil78
10-08-2006, 17:37
Im in Melbourne, was born in the Orkney Isles (off the top of scotland), mum born in Wembley and Dad from manchester, last placed i lived before we moved to Aus was Burton in Christchurch, Dorset :thumbsup: (Been in Aus for 15 years now).

Hi to all the fellow poms :)

*Sparkles*
10-08-2006, 18:14
Hello :wave:
I am in Melbourne and originally from Southampton.
I have been in Oz for 13 years and spent the first 11 years in sunny Qld :thumbsup:

CarolineF
11-08-2006, 06:26
golly lived in brissy but just left oz and have returned to yorkshire....gods own county!!!!!!!!:hugs:

Clinya
11-08-2006, 13:26
Caroline i am sooooooooooooooooooooooooo jealous that you moved back!!!

mythreelittlemonkeys
11-08-2006, 15:08
In Perth - originally from a little village called Marston Magna on Dorset/Somerset borders about 5 miles equidistant from Sherborne and Yeovil - as if any of you are gonna know where they are :laughing: I emigrated last July bit had previously been to Oz travelling...:smiliedance:

Pixie
11-08-2006, 15:14
Well I know yeovil lol I emigrated too georgie after a brief visit oh and a bit of a fling with a certain man :D still with him 9 years on :D

flowerpot21
11-08-2006, 20:37
In Perth - originally from a little village called Marston Magna on Dorset/Somerset borders about 5 miles equidistant from Sherborne and Yeovil - as if any of you are gonna know where they are :laughing: I emigrated last July bit had previously been to Oz travelling...:smiliedance:

i love perth! don't know yeovil or sherborne or places equidistant from them... lol :yelclap:

natasha
11-08-2006, 21:53
I am in North Sydney, from Cheshire/Wirral - Birkenhead/Liverpool.:p

SilverStarfish
11-08-2006, 21:54
I'm a Brisbane girl, but I lived in UK for quite a while between 97 - 99, mainly in Nesscliffe, which is about halfway between Shrewsbury and Oswestry :)

flowerpot21
12-08-2006, 09:28
I am in North Sydney, from Cheshire/Wirral - Birkenhead/Liverpool.:p

ooh beeeerk-enn-ed! know it well!! when did you leave the sunny shores of wirral?? im from meols... so not missing meols beach... :smiliedance:

flowerpot21
12-08-2006, 09:30
I know you're all poms not scots but thought I'd share anyway. Our safeway/woolworths has Iron Bru, I just love it for a pick me up and it was same price as any other soft drink. Besides deep fried haggis balls, about the only food substance I did miss.
Do you know that scotland is the only country in the world that doesn't have Coke as the no 1 seller, it's Iron Bru, true.
Sorry to be a hijacker:D

hijack away :wave:

do they do diet irn-bru?? is that a silly question for the scots who invented deep fried mars bars :thumbsup:

no but do they?

natasha
12-08-2006, 09:41
ooh beeeerk-enn-ed! know it well!! when did you leave the sunny shores of wirral?? im from meols... so not missing meols beach... :smiliedance:

:laughing: I love the way people used to say Beeeeerk-enn-ed!! brings back memories!!
I moved here 3 1/2 years ago! Never been back and never want to!! I used to have a friend that lived in Meols!! I actually snoged some guy on Meols beach once! He picked me up and my pants split all the way down the ***!!!:o :laughing:

Pixie
12-08-2006, 09:59
LMAO Nasha :) My Family originate from Cheshire Never been there might go on our visit next time got family up in Newcastle under lyne

flowerpot21
12-08-2006, 20:37
:laughing: I love the way people used to say Beeeeerk-enn-ed!! brings back memories!!
I moved here 3 1/2 years ago! Never been back and never want to!! I used to have a friend that lived in Meols!! I actually snoged some guy on Meols beach once! He picked me up and my pants split all the way down the ***!!!:o :laughing:

oooh snogging on meols beach - the height of romance :laughing: i hope he was worth splitting your pants for - LMAO! where'd your mate live, i grew up on bennets lane which was just down by the common opposite the meols beach slipway.

filmgirlgail
12-08-2006, 21:06
I'm a Brisbane girl, but I lived in UK for quite a while between 97 - 99, mainly in Nesscliffe, which is about halfway between Shrewsbury and Oswestry :)

Is that near Great Ness? We used to drive up from London to visit a Brissie friend who live in Ruthin, just west of Chester, and pass thru Oswestry

natasha
13-08-2006, 10:31
oooh snogging on meols beach - the height of romance :laughing: i hope he was worth splitting your pants for - LMAO! where'd your mate live, i grew up on bennets lane which was just down by the common opposite the meols beach slipway.

:laughing: Oh Gosh, I have no idea, I only used to go there at night and used to get driven there, so nope, no clue!:rolleyes: I used to live in Moreton aswell, do you know where that is?

flowerpot21
15-08-2006, 08:45
yes i know moreton (it is only down the road!) both my parents are from moreton and my eldest brother lives there now, my other bro is in cosmopolitan :laughing: new brighton.

as for the girl who knows ruthin - how funny, know that area well. my folks had a big caravan thingy on a lovely site there before they emigrated to perth a couple of years back. very pretty place.

rubyredlips
15-08-2006, 15:55
I'm from sunny Hull....now live in Sydney...theyre quite similar really...........NOT mind you, its ****ing down here just now! my dog is terrified and under my desk shaking :gloomy:

fozzie
17-08-2006, 20:22
Hi I live in Central Victoria and I'm from Derbyshire. Been here a year next month and we love it:thumbsup: But really miss friends and family:thumbsdown: :gloomy: . We have made some good friends though so that helps.:smiliedance:

scotsmum
18-08-2006, 19:33
Hello all live in Brisbane now originally from sunny Scottish Borders (30mins south of Edinburgh). Been here since Nov 2005 and loving it so far. Had bubs in Jan this year, so experienced a very hot summer here already! I'm hoping it will not be so bad this time around as I'll not be preggers! Can't believe it's winter here and it's still 25-27oc! Can't beat it really! :thumbsup:

scotsmum
18-08-2006, 19:36
Oh forgot - Flowerpot21, yes you can buy full fat and diet irn bru over here. I get it in Woolworths and it's cheap as chips!

blessedmummy
18-08-2006, 19:44
yeah.. im from Geraldton WA.... im part scottish (from dad- hes scottish)
if anyone is interested...

Me25
DH25:kiss:
EMily3:smiliedance:
Clare22months:smiliedance:

Beany
18-08-2006, 20:08
They have Irn Bru in the Woolies here, too.

Liquid orange jelly! :D

flowerpot21
18-08-2006, 21:19
Hello all live in Brisbane now originally from sunny Scottish Borders (30mins south of Edinburgh). Been here since Nov 2005 and loving it so far. Had bubs in Jan this year, so experienced a very hot summer here already! I'm hoping it will not be so bad this time around as I'll not be preggers! Can't believe it's winter here and it's still 25-27oc! Can't beat it really! :thumbsup:

how funny - i came here to live in nov05 and i had my bub in february!

in jan adelaide had a stretch of about two weeks where the temp wasn't below 35 at any time, and for three days it was in the 40's :( living in an old house with boiling hot walls and ceilings (no insulation) i spent lots of time in a cold bath! (no air con either aaaaagh) and not much time sleeping :no:

flowerpot21
18-08-2006, 21:20
Oh forgot - Flowerpot21, yes you can buy full fat and diet irn bru over here. I get it in Woolworths and it's cheap as chips!

ooooh! i will try it with vodka

:barf:

scotsmum
19-08-2006, 19:36
Yeah that sounds good - I used to drink that in the pubs back home VODKA AND DIET IRN BRU...... :thumbsup:

Next bubs will have to be planned for a winter bubs I think! Don't fancy another summer preggers! How is Adelaide? Are you settling OK?

flowerpot21
19-08-2006, 21:30
yeh adelaide is fine and i feel settled. wherever i sleep is home! it's spring, it's warm and the sun's out... it's all good!

:yes:

HollyHotLips
25-08-2006, 15:04
Live just outside Bunbury, WA, moved here in October 2005 from Kent :)

Buttercup
25-08-2006, 16:24
Living in Perth since June 06, originally from London but have been living in Spain for the past 6 years.

Hector
26-08-2006, 22:58
well i'm another originally from oz but lived in Scotland 02-05 (had to come back to oz to have baby!); stil in Oz but can't wait to go back...am DREADING Summer - you guys can have it! wishing for snow! but the grass is always greener i suppose >sigh<

my wee girl is a hybrid aussie-scot (altho her dad was actually born in Wigan so ???)

and as for that other post about chocolate - it was one of the first things we noticed when we travelled to the UK - the chocolate's just not the same.

apparently coke is like that as well - each country has it's different flavour but that might be a rumour..,

flowerpot21
27-08-2006, 07:16
well i'm another originally from oz but lived in Scotland 02-05 (had to come back to oz to have baby!); stil in Oz but can't wait to go back...am DREADING Summer - you guys can have it! wishing for snow! but the grass is always greener i suppose >sigh<

my wee girl is a hybrid aussie-scot (altho her dad was actually born in Wigan so ???)

and as for that other post about chocolate - it was one of the first things we noticed when we travelled to the UK - the chocolate's just not the same.

apparently coke is like that as well - each country has it's different flavour but that might be a rumour..,

gosh i cannot wait for summer!!

choccie def tastes differently in different places, US choccie is not nice (reeses pieces asides) and dublin guinness is much nicer than english guinness. amd fanta limon is sooo much nicer in spain than boring old lemon fanta in the UK

:yes:

HollyHotLips
28-08-2006, 12:50
I'm looking forward to summer too, although can't really complain about winter as we've only had a few days of heavy rain, a few nights of heavy rain and winds (oh, and a tornado!). Last few days have been lovely and warm and sunny, fab.

I've started eating Dove chocolate rather than Cadburys as can't stand the taste of Cadbury's here.... :no:

Fern Treacy
23-09-2006, 15:28
I'm from the West, moved a lot around Wiltshire/Somerset and I'm now living in Parramatta near Sydney and having ongoing huge problems with my visa and medicare and everything else the government throws at us.

I love Australia though, I can't see myself ever moving back home permanently.

Georgie47
23-09-2006, 17:57
Heelllloooooo!

I'm a Dover, Kent girlie:yelclap: now living in the northside of Brisvegas!! Been back from U.K holiday for almost a month and finally settling back in! Missed everyone this time but glad to see the weather getting warmer:smiliedance:

Pixie
23-09-2006, 18:33
Well we're moving back in Feb and we'll be in Kent for a while then hopefully find a lush house in London somewhere :D

I love Dove chocolate :D

meeper
09-10-2006, 12:25
I'm from Glasgow (dh is from Paisley) & we've lived in Montrose and Kent. We're currently residing in Brisbane's inner-north!

We moved out here last October (a year and 3 days now!) and had dh2 in December in Sydney.

ds1 was born in Glasgow too, although he was meant to be born in Dartford but arrived 6 weeks prem when we were visiting our folks for christmas. (something about wanting to be scottish !!!:D )

ds2 was born bang on due date, and we left hospital the day it was 45C in Sydney - not sure how we'lll survive a summer in QLD!

p.s. Dove is quite like Galaxy - close enough for me to enjoy it! :devil6:
p.p.s has anyone seen Jagos over here? got a mate to bring some out but then she said she saw some in Bi-lo in Melbourne!

babypisces
19-10-2006, 17:17
Hi All :hugs:

I am from Wigan, hubby is from Perth in Scotland and I lived with him for 4 and a half years before we left. We live on the Sunshine Coast and have been here nearly three years. Love it we are now citizens.

C xx:thumbsup:

bubblesox
23-10-2006, 19:25
I'm from Colchester in Essex and I live on the Central Coast of NSW................. hubby is aussie

louiseward
24-10-2006, 18:08
I'm from London living on the Gold Coast now been here since end of Feb - loving it but miss family and friends terribly.

Louise

tanyac1976
03-11-2006, 08:09
Hiya,

I'm in Brisbane...Originally from London:)

Mum-of-Preston
21-12-2006, 12:27
I've been living in Bribane for 3 years since moving from the UK. I'm originally from the lake district Cumbria but also lived in Barrow-in-Furness, Lancashire and last lived in Gloucestershire.
My DH is from Fife Scotland and we have a 7 month old Australian baby boy. We are both citizens.
I'm not looking forward to the Brisbane summer but love the winter, although we are due to move to Canberra next year so much cooler winters burrrh but no more humid summers yeah.

We both love it here and don't plan on ever moving back to the UK and haven't been back since.

I miss my weet-a-bix as they taste yuck here.
Someone mentioned american stuff taste yuck I agree I lived there for 9 yrs when imigrated there against my will as a child (12-21). Doesn't there bread make you want to :barf:
anyway enough from me

Jif
28-12-2006, 16:38
:wave:in Melbourne, originally from Sunderland, then Reading.

JJ's mum
28-12-2006, 20:28

Originally from Hull, and also lived in Leeds for 7 years. Now living in Brisbane, but my parents still live in Hull (Anlaby for those that know). Have been in Oz for 8 years and loving it. I was most homesick whilst pregnant as I kept having strong cravings for haddock and chips (skin on) and scraps....just not the same here. I also miss prawn cocktail crisps, and chips from Chinese takeaways

Jude

Jan4kids
28-12-2006, 21:52

I am on the Gold Coast now but have been in Adelaide for 2 1/2 years previous to that. Born in Edmonton, North London, grew up in Enfield,got married and lived in Cheshunt (Herts) and was in Hoddesdon (Herts) before we emigrated in August 2004. 3 kids are Poms and the littlun is Australian.

jess_live_die
28-12-2006, 22:17
we are in perth im part but my dad is full and his from essex

bechope
29-12-2006, 19:03
Can i join in. I'm not from england but from Wales. Now living on the Sunshine Coast QLD