View Full Version : starting my autistic daughter at school

naomis mum
27-04-2010, 21:17
Hi there.

I am in the decision process of starting my daughter with a chromosome deletion and autism at school. Naomi will turn 5 on the 15th March 2011. She is able to start school that year, however I am unsure whether I should hold her back until the following year. At this stage she is in her second year at preschool and this year she also attends her local early intervention class for three mornings a week plus therapy and preschool once a week.

My question is, do you think it appropriate to send her to school next year when she is turning five or to hold her back until she is turning six. My fear in holding her back is that she will have to repeat and I would rather her repeat when she is turning five than six. She has come a long way in the last year and although she struggles with articulation in speech she is talking heaps and becoming quite social.

I want her to attend the same mainstream school her siblings go to. There is no support class there but I feel it is the best place for her at this stage. I would like some opinions as to experiences etc or what you think is best. I feel that sending her to preschool for one more year for an extra day just isnt a step up but i dont want to send her when its not appropriate, either way I dont think she will be totally ready no matter what year I send her.....

SimplyMum
28-04-2010, 11:39
I'd talk to her therapists and see what they say. :)

trishalishous
28-04-2010, 16:20
Would she have any support there ie Teachers Assistant?
Will she know the other kids in her class (from kindy)?

Those would be my main concerns, as starting school is pretty scary, NS or not :)

(my mum made sure my sister would have a TA, and we socialised with her before school started, plus she came to kindy, so that my sister wasnt going in to a completely strange environment.)

sandy cheeks
28-04-2010, 16:28
I would maybe let her do kinder for another year.
I have a friend whos dd is autistic and she (feb bub) is doing really well this year in prep her mum thinks last year would have been too much.

I held my child back as they were 4 starting school and he turned from a loving kinder child to a hating school child and he was stuttering and anxious by the final term the pead thinks he started too early and couldn't cope emotionally. This year his loving school, I wish I had of waited another year.
I always thought I'd have problems with the reading, writing and math (proved me wrong and loves learning) but turns out the class (18) and playtime caused him the most stress.

KaM
28-04-2010, 20:09
You should be able to access a teachers aide for sure . .

I would talk to the therapists as well . . my little miss could start school next year but after talking with her preschool and therapists decided the extra year would be well worth it in the long run!

melbryan
29-04-2010, 12:43
I teach at a mainstream school we have the whole spectrum of autistic children. Get her assessed before you send her I held my son back and he isn't autistic being younger is already behind the 8 ball. Let alone having to deal with all the other thigns involved in school.

Bel1978
29-04-2010, 17:26
I was told by an autism advisor to apply when my son is 4 if needed as you may take the 2 years to qualify for the help.