View Full Version : One day i want my body back
FearlessLeader
26-04-2010, 20:04
i'm breastfeeding my 10 week old little miracle (as i type actually) and was always planning to go for as long as i could, definitely 12 months and hopefully much longer, if i can get him in a centre close to work when i go back.
What i never thought of was the fact that i really feel like my body isn't completely my own anymore- i was so looking forward to having it back after my pregnancy! Don't get me wrong, i enjoyed pregnancy and love BFing but it's things like-
Not being able to wear all my pretty vintage dresses with no boobie access
Not being able to just grab a beer whenever i feel like it
Not being able to go for a run cuz my boobs are too full if i go before he wakes, and by the time he does and i've fed him, DP has to leave for work. I can't go in the evenings for similar timing reasons.
I guess i just want to hear that others feel the same, or that it gets easier as they get a little older and don't feed as much. I really want to go at least 12 months but it seems like such a long time, especially since it will then only be a few months until we TTC again...
Mrs Nietzsche
26-04-2010, 20:07
IT will ease off heaps - feeding a 10 month old is nothing like feeding a 10 week old.
You can drink a little when breastfeeding, I think it's something like if you are okay to drive, then you can feed (ie one drink is okay sort of thing)
Yes yes yes! I have been pregnant and/or breastfeeding for over 5 years straight now and I'm just sooooo over it. I want my body back to being mine. MINE! I don't want to have to share it with anybody, I don't want to have to restrict my diet anymore (all three kids have food allergies so that means eliminating them out of my diet too), I don't want to express so I can go out without my DS for a couple of hours, I don't want to have to do 5am dream feeds so I can go to the gym with empty boobs I would die for 8 hours solid sleep (can count on my fingers the amount of times that has happened in the last 5 years) and I would kill to have my normal appetite back (I am constantly starving). It feels like forever and I was soooo close to having my body back to being mine 15 months ago when DD2 had almost weaned. DH and I were talking about how great it would be, I was looking forward to so much and two weeks later I got a :bfp: Realising my body wasn't going to be solely mine for another 2 years at least was the hardest part about our surprise pregnancy.
I will go to at least 12 months, and most likely beyond that but will probably look at weaning at around 18 months - 2 years max. I know it's selfish in a sense but I really want my body back to being mine and just mine. You're not alone but the benefits of breastfeeding are soooooo fantastic and that was re-inforced a few weeks ago when I got gastro and I didn't have to worry about my then 4 month old getting sick.
Mrs N is right though...it gets easier as time goes on. DS is 6 months old on Sunday so he'll be able to start solids and I'm sooo excited at the prospect of him not feeding as much within the next couple of months.
I chose not to drink any alcohol while breastfeeding or pregnant. Means I didn't even have a single drink on my wedding night. It will be nice to go out for dinner and have a drink if I feel like it but most of all I'm looking forward to not worrying about what I'm eating and being able to order whatever I want when we go out to eat.
SalTheGal
26-04-2010, 20:25
Is does get easier.... specially the going for a run, timing things round feeds etc.
And as for drinking a beer, the general rule of thumb is that as long as you are 0.05 you are ok to feed (I didn't in the early days- first few months, but now gladly have a drink or two in the evenings :D ).
The only thing I really do agree with is the not being able to wear dresses.... I love my dresses- especially in summer, and I really missed them this year- it is the one sucky thing- but just keep telling yourself- it won't last forever.... and its such a special time, that will be over all too soon!!!
BabyPaparazzi
27-04-2010, 14:31
It sooo gets easier. Once routines fall into place you can your own going around it.
Try getting fitted for a good sports bra, as long as it is not underwire you can wear it while you run. Then over the top of that wear either another sports bra or a sports crop top for extra support. I had to wear 2 whilst playing netball or it felt like they were going to knock my head off. :laughing:
I make special shopping trips with the pure intention of finding normal clothes that are suitable to bf in, one that have removable staps, stretchable neck lines etc. DF looks after the kids while I go all by myself. I have quite a collection happening now, and it makes you feel just a bit more normal.
The effects of small amounts of alcohol in breastmilk are still largely unknown, regardless of whether you are under .05 it will cross over to your milk, .05 may be okay for us, but babies are tiny in comparison. That's why it is still advised not to drink just to be on the safe side. If you want to have a couple, you can purchase test kits to test your milk to see if contains any.
FearlessLeader
27-04-2010, 21:54
so can i ask you experienced ladies- how often (i know it will be v. different for each bub) does a 6 month and 12 month old baby feed? is it more than 3 or 4 times a day?
also will it still be relatively easy to express as i go along? I've been expressing one feed a week for DP to give bubby just to get him used to it, so ONE day we can go out without him.
Areca i know what you mean about the appetite, it's ridiculous! And I'll be up to almost 5 years by the end as well, if i go longer than 12 months for each bubby. Ergh, it seems like suuuch a long time!!!!
i have started buying myself a good BFing wardrobe, that's one bonus! :laughing:
BabyPaparazzi
28-04-2010, 09:24
It can really depend on the baby but majority will have around those 3 to 4 feeds a day between these ages. My DD1 was done to 4 by 6 months and down to 3 by 12. But they usually have an almost perfect routine going, a feed sometime during the night/early morning, a brekky feed, lunch and then dinner. I could set the clock to when she would wake and feed, it made is soooo much easier. And keep up the occassional bottle weekly, i made the mistake if stopping and DD then refuses it when she was little.
It definitely gets better. 10 weeks is still hard IMO. It got a lot easier for us at 6 months. Since 9 months, DS has dropped to 3 day feeds (6ish am, 12.30pm and 6.30pm) and still has 2-3 feeds overnight, one around 10pm and one around 2am (although sometimes he will squeeze a third one in before 6am :rolleyes:)
It means that Im able to have a boozy lunch on the weekend with GFs if I want to, cause I can drink between 1-3 and then stop drinking to be total sober come 6.30pm. Or I can have a glass of wine with dinner around 7pm and know Ill be fine come 10pm.
I wear whatever I want as well cause Im always at home for his lunch and dinner feeds and just quickly can get changed before I feed him. So yes, BF has its negatives but between 6-12 months it gets so much better IMO!!:goodvibes: