View Full Version : Beautiful things about BOYS!
Baldie's Mum
13-04-2010, 16:58
What are your positives to having a boy!?!!
RedPanda
13-04-2010, 17:12
I have two boys! I love having little men. They're so different so I can't pinpoint "boy" qualities as such, but they are really no fuss little people. I'm hoping my daughter will be the same. DS1 is creative and quite good with his hands, DS2 is the stereotypical "boy". He's loud, boisterous, outdoorsy and loves any game involving mess, dirt and crashing things together. It's also really lovely to watch brothers bond and play.
Boys clothes are pretty cute too. I love their little shirts - they look like little men!
Lemonhead
13-04-2010, 17:21
I think little boys are more easy going and so much more affectionate.
I would love 3-4 boys :cloud9::goodvibes::bee:
Bountiful
13-04-2010, 17:23
I think that a lot of times boys are closer to their mothers than girls tend to be (that's a generalisation based on relationships in my own family of course :yes:), and they're so curious and love to engage with the world - then again, most children are like that :laughing:
digging in the dirt looking for worms
Lemonhead
13-04-2010, 17:32
Oh and another thing, boys playing with their dads is just precious. I think dads and boys go together so well, like best buds. I know my DP is so over the moon he has his boy :goodvibes:.
other than being sweet...i dunno :laughing:. hair is low maintenance and clothes are easy to co-ordinate...match the pants to the jumper/t-shirt. cheap, boys don't have accessories like stockings, bracelets, hair clips :(.
the world is better set up for men to succeed with careers and money...but hopefully that will change by the time our kids grow up.
Lemonhead
13-04-2010, 17:37
other than being sweet...i dunno :laughing:. hair is low maintenance and clothes are easy to co-ordinate...match the pants to the jumper/t-shirt. cheap, boys don't have accessories like stockings, bracelets, hair clips :(.
the world is better set up for men to succeed with careers and money...but hopefully that will change by the time our kids grow up.
Hair is a good point! Especially if they happen to get nits, you can just shave their head and they look cool, cant do that with a girl.
Hootenanny
13-04-2010, 17:42
I think it is such an individual thing I have two boys who have lots of different wonderful qualities. I have been happy to have both boys because I really didn't want a PITA girly girl but we have friends with girls who are wonderful so it really is an individual thing.
Some of the things I love about having boys I don't know if they are solely attributable to the fact they are boys but here goes
- their exuberance and love of the outdoors
- their beautiful hugs and cuddles
- their ability to make me laugh
- fart jokes
- a love of nature
- pure unadulturated musical talent
I think the thing I love most about boys is their ability to be totally self asorbed without meaning to and without any intent.
melbryan
13-04-2010, 17:43
Boys love their mums and in their eyes youa re a queen (until they get a girlfriend that is). It really i s a special bond between a mum and her boys.
heatherm
14-04-2010, 10:28
boys aim when they pee on you.:laughing:
I only have one boy so I can't really compare it to being the mother of a girl but oh do I love my little boy.
He's sweet, HILARIOUS (loves toilet humour already), cuddly, caring, stubborn, a real family boy. He thrives on having family around and spending time with family.
He comes and tickles my back when I'm not feeling well, 'helps' me with household chores lol. He has this adorable cow-lick at the back of his head and for some reason when I look at him from the back it's all I see. His little blonde head with his cow-lick. It's the first thing I see in the morning when he snuggles in and wants me to cuddle his back.
I adore him :bee:
As a much older sister, I had 2 younger sisters and one brother. As babies, the girls were beautiful, but hard work! Their cries were loud and constant. My brother was docile.
I always wanted to have a baby girl. When I finally became pregnant, DH and i hoped for a girl (as he already has 2 boys from a previous marriage) I wanted a girl, right or wrong, having a boy just was not an option. Through out my life, all my pets, my horses ect had all been female, except for the odd one or two. I understood girls. I could bond with them, I knew how they felt, they made sense. Boys??!! How could I possibly relate to a boy? When I found out we were having a boy I was shocked and saddened. I didnt know how to be a mum to a boy, how could I even bond with a boy? I didnt understand them nor did I want to. Months into my pregnancy I had been telling myself when our baby is born I will fall in love with him, it will be natural. As my due date approached, I got nervous, and felt as though I could not relate to my baby. After all, who was he? He may have been there all along, but he was a stranger. All of a sudden it felt as though this thing inside me was no more than a living being, but there was no attachment. I felt detached. When he was born, I thought wow, look at him. I was whisked off for surgery after I finally pushed him out, so I never got to dress him for the first time or be able to happily walk out of the labour ward with him. But when I woke after surgery, I couldnt wait to see him, but even then I didnt really bond. I loved this little baby, but I loved him as if he were a new pet put into my care. Bonding didnt happen for weeks later. I guess it was the whole role of becoming a mother, my life changing completely. Not that I minded the change, but I am a bit nervous by nature, and my feelings can be fragile, I was very unsure of my self. Now this precious little boy is the most beautiful thing in my life. I love him so much and I am thankful I didnt have a girl, because then I wouldnt have him, and I wouldnt give him up for anything. I am so grateful to have him in my life. I am so lucky he chose me to be his mum, I only hope I never let him down again.
mum_I'm_hungry
14-04-2010, 13:19
They can pee anywhere with a low amount of mess. This is actually very handy after being in many parks without toilets with a three-year-old girl, let me tell you! Also very handy when you're toilet training. You can take a little container with you in the car for those, 'I've gotta WEE!' moments on the highway.
That said, have had our moments on the peeing front. He once spent the day pretending to be a cat and I realised in the evening he'd spent the day peeing in the kitty litter :laughing:
Little Gorilla
14-04-2010, 13:33
I had a boy first and then a girl.
I have found boys to be more cuddly and affectionate. More kisses from boys too:kiss:
There is something very special between mums and their boys.....I can't put my finger quite on it - I love spending time with my son.
Boys are less worried about what they want to wear etc - it's easier with boys - unually they wear shorts & t-shirt - with girls, well, the options are endless and so are the dramas with clothes.
If I could pick what I had next it would be another little boy:hugs:
faroutbrusselsprout
14-04-2010, 13:43
DS1 is emotional, creative, super intelligent, intense, articulate, stubborn, interesting, witty, affectionate, careful, self aware, proud.
DS2 is LOUD, boistrous, tough, clumsy, hilarious, daggy, funny, cheeky, demanding, clingy, gorgeous.
Myztiks#1Fan
14-04-2010, 14:44
boys, they are real sweet hearts and i am glad i have a boy. there is really something about them as with the girls but boys, well they make my heart melt :cloud9:
Well DS is only 5 months old so nothing really obvious just yet (and he is not an easier baby than his sisters so that is a myth as far as I'm concerned!) but I love that I won't have three little girls lined up to get their hair done in the morning (such a waste of time, searching for matching hair clips etc.) and am looking forward to the urgent 'need to do a wee and no toilets around whilst just grasping toilet training' thing because it will be easier.
That's all I've got at the moment. 5 months in and I'm not seeing any obvious differences.
I am blessed with two beautiful boys and LOVE them for being boys. Boys will make you laugh, make you want to pull your hair out with their stubborness, wonder at their ability to climb, give you the best cuddles, amaze you with their problem solving skills, surprise you with their gentleness, make you smile with pride as they try something new and can rough and tumble all day long.
I love how my boys get so excited about a hotted up car, are so easily fascinated by tools and seem to instinctly know how to use them and could help outside for hours at end in the garden or shed.
Boy themes when it comes to decorating a room seem endless and much more exciting (pirates, zoo, jungle, space, cars, farmyard etc) while the girl themes seem alot more restrictive.
boysrgr8
14-04-2010, 17:21
I haven't got any girls so I can't compare. I adore my boys so very much, they are always busy and when they aren't causing mischief they are asking for food! They kick around the footy together, love the outdoors and just bounce all day long.
My boys are so very good at giving cuddles. Their smiles light my life!
Things about my Boys, as it is so hard to generalise :D They are 5, 3 and 1. :D
They love to snuggle, and give great hugs and kisses, and love to be loved!
They keep me on my toes, and constantly make me laugh!
They love to protect their brothers, and work as a team! They like similar things to each other and are now starting to love sharing games etc.
They like to play football with me (YAY!!!)
They like to watch footy with me! (GO CATS)
They are just amazing friends with each other.
They don't care if they get messy.
I don't have to do anything to their hair in the morning before going out.
They don't care what i put out for them to wear, they just put it on and off they go :D
They are great sleepers in the car, and great sleepers in general actually.
They are mine :D
Shellfish
15-04-2010, 21:15
DS is such a bundle of energy, and he is really full on but he's awesome - he's easy going and doesn't get upset by little things, he's not overly emotional but he hates to see me upset or angry. He's got a great sense of humour (from his dad), could care less what he's wearing (as long as he's comfy), he's very bright, adventurous & resilient.
The more I think about it, the more I am not sure how good I would be with a girl, moody and bossy :laughing:
My Baby Boy and Me
It's three am, they're all asleep,
and no one is here to see.
As we rock slowly back and forth,
my baby boy and me.
His little hand is feather light
tucked up against my chin.
I hold his tiny hand in mine,
and stroke his baby skin.
The house about us creaks and groans,
the clock hands creep around.
He snuggles closer to me still,
and makes his baby sounds.
I love these quiet hours so much,
and cherish every one.
Store memories up inside my heart
for lonely nights to come.
All too soon he'll be grown up,
his need for Mama gone.
But until then I still have time
for kisses and for song.
Time for quiet hours like this
with him cuddled in my arms.
Where I wish he'd always stay
protected, safe and warm.
And yet I know the day will come
when his tiny little hand,
will be bigger than my own.
He'll grow to be a man.
But until then he's mine to love
with no one here to see.
my baby boy and me.
~Temet Nosce~
15-04-2010, 21:55
My Baby Boy and Me
my baby boy and me.
His little hand is feather light
tucked up against my chin.
I hold his tiny hand in mine,
and stroke his baby skin.
The house about us creaks and groans,
the clock hands creep around.
He snuggles closer to me still,
and makes his baby sounds.
I love these quiet hours so much,
and cherish every one.
Store memories up inside my heart
for lonely nights to come.
All too soon he'll be grown up,
his need for Mama gone.
But until then I still have time
for kisses and for song.
Time for quiet hours like this
with him cuddled in my arms.
Where I wish he'd always stay
protected, safe and warm.
And yet I know the day will come
when his tiny little hand,
will be bigger than my own.
He'll grow to be a man.
But until then he's mine to love
with no one here to see.
my baby boy and me.
dawww now I wanna go wake my ds up and give him cuddles :D
can't say much about boys just yet as ds is only 4 months old, but already his personality is just absolutely shining through so much, (which isn't necessarily because of gender of course, they are their own little people, boy or girl) I think the best thing so far is seeing the love and delight on his face when he sees his sister.
sweetsugardumplin'
15-04-2010, 22:03
When they start to grow out of infancy, they have that special `sweaty boy smell' :cloud9:
bumblytumbly
15-04-2010, 22:10
I must admit I wanted a little boy first and was so blessed to have one...I think my favorite things are
- all trucks and buses have a new meaning or interest...we MUST see them
- he gives the best hugs and kisses to his Mummy
- the joy that comes with raising not only my son, but someones husband and someones father.
- That he is full speed, bull at a gate and will try anything
- He loves eating sand and getting dirty
MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
15-04-2010, 22:25
Well, you know my boys - need I say more? They love their Mumma oh so much!! You get to hear him say "Mummy, you're my best girl" :goodvibes::cloud9:
It's hard to say anything else because I know a lot of girls can have the same traits....oh I know one thing that's only a boy thing LOL - you get to see the strangest things they do with their willies - never thought it could be twisted or pulled so hard! And then you get the stage where they flop it over the top of their pants and run about to see your reaction :D
And then there's teaching them to be a sensitive, caring man, the privilege of nurturing their creative, caring, loving side.
Endless affection and a special place in there heart for mum. I see this in all my boys 6mths 5 and 18yrs. My beautiful girl, strong and independant, always has been.
My 18 yr old never comes in without giving me kiss hello, he's protective to no end.
LulusMum
16-04-2010, 14:30
Ummmmmmmmmm - EVERYTHING:D
I also think its pretty special and a complete honour to raise this baby boy to be a man :goodvibes:
littleleos
16-04-2010, 14:32
I love my little boy... I have the most amazing bond with him, he is the best thing that has ever happened to me.
he hugs me all the time... if I where a puppy I would not be able to breath. and when he kisses me it melts my heart.
I love playing with his toys... My brothers never let me play with their cars so its all new.
ah ha to boys hair being easy to manage???? Aiden needs a hair cut every 2 weeks and I have to catch him to spike it gee wizz :p
BOYS ROCK ! :bee:
Baldie's Mum
16-04-2010, 14:35
I am so excited to be having a little man! :goodvibes: :bee: :goodvibes:
Has anyone had alot of jelousy from other family members?? For having one that can carry on the family name???
I love saying that i have a wee boy waiting to come earthside! :bee:
littleleos
16-04-2010, 14:37
oh and I love that he will always be
mummas little boy
:cloud9:
great idea for a thread BTW!
Ruby Slippers
16-04-2010, 14:50
I Love both of your Threads LINK (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=334160) :goodvibes:
I Love my 3 year old Little man he makes me laugh everyday ,
I think after having 2 girls and then a boy ,
changing he's bottom was way easier .:D
Baldie's Mum
16-04-2010, 14:56
I just thought it would be good to start these threads for people experiencing gender dissapointment!
:goodvibes: :goodvibes: :goodvibes: :goodvibes: :goodvibes: :goodvibes:
It's a lovely thread, but the positives of the gender child you have doesn't diminish the feelings for the baby you won't have. Remember that GD isn't about the baby you have, cos you will love them to pieces, it is about the baby you aren't having. 2 separate issues.
Boys rock!!!Its all about Cars,trucks,being outside and riding bikes in our house!
BUT my 4yo is sooo damn fussy about what he wears,right down to shoes and a hat.He gets changed about 4 times a day:laughing:We call him Lady GaGa LOL
But my boys are cuddly,and lovey,lots of kisses and MAAAAMMMMMAAA's!!But also lots of attitude:cool:
TeamAwesome
17-04-2010, 11:33
Not reading anything other than the first post so I don't get distracted before posting.
DS is kind, thoughtful, generous, intelligent, affectionate, creative, imaginative (all things so far that I usually hear attributed to girls;)) he comes up with ideas and builds things/creations with blocks, paper, small cardboard boxes and bits and bobs - we get robots, cars, forts and castles, boats, dolls (for his sisters though they need some imagination ).
He's bold and adventurous but likes to stay close to us while doing so to make sure we can see what he's up to, he plays imaginatively, makes up stories (the good kind-not lies) makes up jokes and games for his sisters and friends.
He loves helping around the house, in the kitchen and in the garden - we have plans for a vegetable patch and a few fruit trees (not sure if we'll do it here or not as we don't know if we'll stay in this house) first brought up because of an experiment at school with the good old grass head stocking.
He learns from every experience we encounter and loves sharing them.
Gee I could go on as I'm so proud of my DS:D but I'm trying not to be overly specific as I can think of so many examples for all the things I've mentioned I'd be typing all day long.
Boobycino
17-04-2010, 12:16
My boy is super affectionate, just wants to cuddle and kiss all the time. He goes "mmmm" and puts his lips on me nicely about half the time - the other half its open mouth slobberfest :rolleyes: I dont know, I just think everything about him is wonderful. The way he moves even. The little stompy stagger of a baby boy is just adorable.
The way he's always busy. Always exploring. Always doing things. He's constantly doing things that are brag worthy! Mums at the park always go "wow! he's such a good climber!" "he's so steady on his feet!" "he's so fearless" he falls over and bounces back up and just keeps on running.
I was disapointed to not be having a girl. I wanted and hoped for a girl, hoped for a mistake on the scan until the moment he was born.
Now I cant imagine anything more beautiful and amazing than my son :yes:
I did used to say that I wouldn't find out the gender of our next baby until they were born, because I'd still be gutted to be having another boy I'd rather find out when they are born and then I wont be disapointed because I'd have my baby.
I almost thing now if I was having another baby i would want another boy.
A girl would still be nice though....
... which is great! Because I could only have one or the other, so either way I'm happy :laughing:
Oh where do I start :goodvibes: In the four months he has been here he has such an amazing impact on us!
Seeing him with his Dad melts my heart :bee: Father and son.... very cute
I love that he is the first boy to be born for 17 years on DF's side of the family, so makes him a bit special!
Easy to change their nappies (not having to ensure its wiped front to back etc)
I could go on lol Boys are awesome! :D
18-04-2010, 14:22
I don't know yet, Nathan is still a baby just the same as what his sisters were.
lovinmybub
29-04-2010, 14:26
My Baby Boy and Me
my baby boy and me.
So beautiful EmyN!! I just read it and have tears streaming down my face still. I have a 3 year old boy and one on the way.
My son is SO affectionate, all of my friends have girls and in our circle my son is by far the most affectionate child.
I know one day he'll be a teenage boy, taller than me, noisy, stinky :laughing: but I want to remember every moment with him now. Even those moments in the middle of the night when I am SO tired, because I know one day when I'm wishing he'd just GET OUT OF BED, these little moments we spend will seem like they were a lifetime ago.
He's so sweet with animals. He's hilarious, he makes us laugh all the time. He's gorgeous playing with his cars and trains (and it's easy to put some in my handbag for when we're at a cafe etc!). He loves reading books. He loves his Mummy and Daddy and Grandparents and Aunt and Uncle SO much, he wants to ring them all the time! He hates when I'm cross at his dad.. :( He gets so excited when Daddy is home and they play outside together. He likes to help me do laundry. He's so very brave and I'm so proud of him every single day.
Hahaha I know lovinmybub! I sobbed when I first read it hahaha.
Your little man sounds just gorgeous. I hope my bub is just as affectionate at that age!
My little boy is sweet-natured, sensitive, cuddly and easy-going. These qualitlies aren't necessarlily boy-specific, but I can tell you - I'd have another 5 boys if all boys were like him.
My DD is only just about to turn one but she has been high-maintenance since day dot:laughing:. DS was the cruisiest bub. DD is a ninja in a baby disguise.
My boys are so beautiful ...
My DS1 is so affectionate, thoughtful and loving!! He makes me so proud and makes me laugh and smile more than I ever have - he also gives the best cuddles in the world. My DS2 is only 8 weeks old - but already he is a cuddly little bunny :yes::)
I wouldn't have life any other way - I love being surrounded by noisy, beautiful boys!!! :cloud9:
my ds,
is the sweetest child i have ever known, he is only 5 yet always tries to look after me, when he goes to get himself a drink or a snack he asks me if i want some too <3 he tells me loves me, and says 'wheres my beautiful mummy? THERE SHE ISSSS' lol the woman that ends up with him someday is going to be very very lucky. he is SO loving he's beautiful, im so proud.
now for ds#2...hes only 10 months and 3 weeks (roughly) and lol hes a cheeky one, he's a real boys boy already, he loves making loud noises, and getting rough with daddy! he loves banging on everything with his hands.. he's adorable.
While I don't believe it's because he's a boy this us why I love my boy.
He's soft and gentle, always uses his manners, asks how everyone is feeling, rubs and brushes my hair when I'm sick, kisses and cuddles, is kind and considerate to others, loves cooking, cars and helping his Mummy and Daddy with the house work, loves tractors, dress ups with my clothes, worships his family and is just plain gorgeous.
It's all to do with their personalities and how you raise them.
Raising Leprechauns
12-05-2010, 18:25
No man will ever love you as much as your son does.
Mrs Molly Coddle
24-06-2010, 17:46
Nappy change waaaay easier! :D
lots of things. I live my ds. He is affectionate, boisterous, energetic and sensitive. And hillarious! Not all necessarily because he is a boy but I could never be disappointed to have another boy if there was a guarantee he'd e like my beautiful ds
I have 7 sons and they are all different, but they are very close to their mums, even teenage boys they are very protective:yes:
When I go out with my 15 yr old son he always does everything from carrying all the shopping to loading it all and unloading, I dont have to do much:D and he also mows the lawn, takes out our huge bins that I cant even move 1 inch. Yeah its good having sons:D
BellyFruit
08-07-2010, 21:44
Definitely!
And the fact that as their mother, you can groom them properly how to treat a woman :yes:... my 7 year olds open doors for ladies and are "trained" to help with bringing the shopping in from the car and stuff...
There are no "frills" in our household, which is a good or bad thing, depending on how you look at it.
Having 4 boys we're constantly harassed about "going back for a girl" which is tiring some days- yes a girl would have been nice, but we did go back TWICE more after the twins and got TWO MORE BOYS! :D
Best thing though, is mummy is put on a pedestal :p
this is a wonderful thread...
my boys are different...but also very similar.
my eldest boy is very creative, curious and full of energy. he loves to read and run.
my youngest boy is cheeky, affectionate and loves to make us a laugh...
i absolutely adore watching my husband play with our boys. it is beautiful and very special.
there is a definite bond between them.
my boys are physical, energetic, creative, challenging, pragmatic, affectionate, intelligent, curious, messy and funny...i love them very much and glad they chose us as their parents...
Sammie1986
30-10-2010, 12:06
I have 2 boys. My oldest, TJ, has always been independent, caring, cautious and placid. While my little PX is also very independent, he is alot more full on, reckless and fearless.
I always wanted to have boys as I grew up in a female dominant household with only my younger brother taking the only male roll in the house. I have always been more into cars and lego and boys toys instead of the barbies and dolls which my sisters always prefered ( I would shave the hair off my barbies and use them as G.I.Joe).
I honestly dont know how I would go with a girl so will be interesting to see what our Jellybean is. Im guessing if it is a girl, she would be a bit of a tomboy like me :)
Great thread! It was really good to read b/c we think we will only be having one child and a scan a few weeks ago shows a boy! It is lovely to read all the special things abt boys because although I know I will love mine very much, I have to admit that I have worried a bit just cos I feel I know what to do with girls more, having a younger sis.
MagicalLeopluradon
22-12-2010, 08:07
Boys are beautiful! My two are so cuddley! They love having and giving cuddles. Both have very big personalities, DS1 is hillarious always cracking us up, always on the go...never stops. DS2 is very placid, happy to sit there and play, gabbling away to himself and waving and smiling at anything. Love my boys!