View Full Version : Sleeping to much????????
jennifer707
06-08-2006, 19:28
Hi girls, i was just wondering if anyone on here knows how much a 8 month old should be sleeping per day. My DD is sleeping on average 19 hours per day, (10-12 at night, and 6-8 during the day) i read some where that they should only be having 1-2 naps during the day but monique has up to 4 naps each 1:30 - 3 hours long. When she is awake she is very happy and loves to play but she gets tired very quickly and can only stay awake for 1 - 1:30 hours at a time, then she needs to sleep again.
I thourght that once they got a bit older they are ment to stay awake more often and for longer periods but she has been like this since she was born she still sleeps the same amont as a new born, is this ok?????????
PLEASE help i am really worried about it. thank you.
jennifer (me)- 20
James ( hubby to be )- 21
Monique (dd)- 8 months
i'm sure that ur bub is fine, if they didnt need the sleep they wouldnt sleep that much. if you are very concerned about it tho perhaps you should speak to your CHN or dr about it. there may be a simple underlayin issue, perhaps not enough iron or something like that.
my son has bee sleeping a lot more than he used to when he was younger, and i recently discovered that it is possible due to another health issue that was nothing serious.
if they are happy and generally healthy i dont think there would be a problem. but like i said if you are concerned just see ur dr/CHN
my son is 8.5 mths and he probly sleeps between 12 and 19 hrs a day. but then you have to also take into account that they may not be asleep the whole time at night. i know my son often wakes up in the night and plays quietly for a bit then goes back to sleep.
Mum2Lucas
06-08-2006, 21:31
im sure your bubs is fine. if you are worried then you can see a doctor or something. but i wish my ds slept that much. lol.
06-08-2006, 22:42
Ds was like that until 2.5 yrs, he would sleep up to 23 out of 24 hours per day, sometimes waking only to have something to eat anda bottle and go back to sleep. He was like this from birth and had slow growth and developmental delay.. his development was more than likely held back by sleeping so much, but he needed to sleep to grow.
If concerned it doesnt hurt to see your GP but im sure theres nothing to worry about they're all different.
If this isnt a normal thing for her she could just be having a growth spurt, it could be a sign of an illness so as i said, if concerned see your GP.. or she could just need to sleep a lot!
DS is now 3y8m and still naps for 3-5hrs every afternoon as well as 11-12 hours each night (much longer when DSS goes to his mums)
chameleon
07-08-2006, 09:00
I've actually been wondering the same thing about my DD. She is 6 months and sleeps 14 hours at night and about 6 hours through the day.
The other day I took her out to visit some friends, and she wouldn't sleep at all, but was then extremely unsettled that night and slept very lightly, which is unusal for her as I often have to wake her.
Sleeping definitely keeps her in a better mood so I'm not too concerned.
FourAngelKisses
07-08-2006, 09:14
Don't worry about it, kids know how much sleep they need. DD was still sleeping 17hrs a day (yes....17hrs!!!) until she started school. She was only getting 5-6hrs a day from birth until 10mths, so I think she was making up for all those lost hours.
SamanthaJane
07-08-2006, 11:06
You will find that most children sleep as much as they need to. Some need a lot of sleep (bliss to parents) others live on very little (not so blissful lol).
If you are really worried, go and talk to the doctor about it. I'm sure nothing is wrong, but if it makes you feel better knowing for sure, then just go for a quick visit to the doctor :)
Oh, and by the way, HAPPY BIRTHDAY :hugs:
happybirthday happybirthday
07-08-2006, 11:25
im sure your bubs is fine. if you are worried then you can see a doctor or something. but i wish my ds slept that much. lol.
same here, im lucky if my DD has more then 40 mins sleep at each nap time
jennifer707
07-08-2006, 23:09
Hi guys, thanks heaps for ur replys its put my mind a bit more to ease hehe,
I wasnt really worried about it until i read a artical my health nurse gave me saying they should be sleeping 10 hours at night and behaving 1-2 naps a day for an hour or so.
I have tryed to keep her awake for a lil while but she just gets so grumpy lol its not worth it i just feel so bad when i wake her or try to keep her awake.
My health nurse says i should wake her if she sleeps throu a feed, does anyone think thats its not a good idea to wake them????? i hate waking her up it makes me feel so guilty some people tll me to just let her sleep but i dont know hehe it gets confussing when people tell u different things hehehe
08-08-2006, 00:20
Hi if ur daughter seems happy and healthy and putting on weight i would just let her sleep obviously if she is puttng on weight she is getting enough to eat.I too know of babies that sleep for that long so it sounds pretty normal there are some babies that dont sleep much and some that sleep alot.The amount of time the CHN says baby should sleep is just a rough guideline not all babies do this.Hope this helps;)
toblerone
14-08-2006, 00:57
Hi, as the others have said children sleep different amounts. Apparently I was a great sleeper, i sletp through the night & heaps during the day. Even when I was 4 years old in kindergarden I'd come home and have a sleep for 2 hours, long after all the other kids had outgrown their naps!! (I'm a nanny and the 2yo I babysit no longer has arvo naps). I still need my beauty sleep nowadays LOL I need my 9 hours sleep a night or else Im tired (and of course I never get that!) Ask ur GP if you're overly worried but I'm sure all is well if there arent any other signs that shes unwell :fingerscrossed: