View Full Version : Irregular & Frustrated!
Bexter11
06-08-2006, 02:11 PM
First timer, here goes...
TTC for 6 months now! Off the pill in Jan with plans to start TTC later this year. Then decided why wait?!?
1st month off no probs, since then cycles have been anything from 35- 46 days! Now checking CM, temping, and using maybe baby. Looking back we had the timing all wrong!
I have full ferns today but I think CM is only creamy. I find difficult to read CM day after BD. Goodbye DB last night, hubbie left this morning for boys week away (bad timing!). Very rarely get full ferns, do you I could be O'ing?
morganj
06-08-2006, 02:21 PM
Hey Bexter
Sorry to hear about your cycles. I've had the same nightmare for months. Last month I finally visited a chinese herbalist who has given me some herbs to balance my hormones and now my temps are great and I've O'd at CD22 instead of CD53.
I've never used cm as a guide as it just always looks creamy to me - am just no good at telling the difference. I've tried the maybe baby but again I've had ferning at various times of the month before and just don't think it's reliable enough for me. So now I just rely on OPKs (use at least every 24 hours) and temps. Make sure you take your temp at the same time every morning as soon as you wake up. I set me alarm for 6ish - even on weekends.
I hope you find some joy soon and catch that eggie!! Remember you normally O about 14 days before AF!!
06-08-2006, 02:26 PM
Hey Bexter11 - welcome to BubHub! I hope your stay in the TTC threads is short and sweet :)
It took 3 months after coming off the pill for me to fall pg the first time. My period was also all over the shop, and vitex has helped to regulate my cycle. I am now having 28-31 day cycles and I can pretty much pinpoint when O (ovulation) is going to strike.
I am a huge advocate of OPK's - I purchased a bulk lot over a website called www.fertilitynaturopath.com - this is also where I bought my BBT thermometer and Maybe Baby (Lady Q)
I have fallen pg twice, and each time was the result of timing ovulation with OPK's. I will check CM every now and again - if I see that its clear and stringy then I will get excited - otherwise I dont rely on it too much.
Best Wishes!
mich71
06-08-2006, 02:33 PM
i think it would be a good idea to get ovutating kit because your time will be differant due to your cylcle but normaly if its over 40 days you should go and see your gyno and get checked out ive never been regular and fell p/g with ds2 and didnt have anything at all for 2yrs so please dont worry to much it will happen good luck
Bexter11
06-08-2006, 02:36 PM
It's good to know I'm not alone! My chart last month shows I only have 10 days after O before AF. It was my first time temping so I'm interested to see what this months shows. My notes from the previuos month also suggest only 10 days between O and AF...
I am now at day 26, such a long time to wait between trying it does my head in.
We have also consultated a Dr, ultrasounds show no problems however tests for rise in progesterone levels haven't been suggesful as timing of O is always unknow... Hubby is having his swimmers checked this month.
I have been trying OPKs this month but so far nothing to show...
Pink Lady what is Vitex?
Little_Toad
06-08-2006, 03:05 PM
Hi Bexter,
Having irregular cycles really sucks.. but it doesn't mean you cant be PG.
You just have to get to know your body really well.
Temping is great for when you are looking at previous cycles so you can see a general pattern of when you ovulate and to confirm you have ovulated, but it's not used to tell you when you are about to ovulate.. it's too late by then.
Check your CM every day and study it till you've got a Doctorate in CM.
OPK's are frustratng too if you have long irregular cycles cause it can take two opk's per day till you get the lines.
Maybebaby is good for some people, but you'll notice lots of girls get ferning even when they aren't ovulating, a good "side kick" method but i wouldn't rely on it totally.
A combination of everything can be the best way to tell when you ovulate, you'll soon get to know after temping for a couple of months which is best for you.
Good luck!
Bolli
06-08-2006, 05:58 PM
Hey Bexter - welcome to Bub Hub
Me too, my cycles have been pretty irregular. From 31 - 44 days. You just want to :banghead: when you can O any time over 3 weeks. Not knowing is torture. Little toad is right, we need to get to know our bodies well. Of course this month when I've been checking lots of things - nothing seems to be going according to plan!
I've been taking macca powder this cycle(its a herbal supplement supposed to help balance your hormones, Vitex is similar I think) and I actually thought it had made me more regular and that I O'd on CD19, but nooo that would mean I'm now 16dpo and I've had no AF and a few BFNs. I've always had a 14 day lutueal phase, its the one part that's been regular - and my progesterone was fine when tested.
Soo I think that for me this month, maybe I O'd on CD23 which means I'm heading for another long cycle - though looking at my chart just now, maybe I haven't even O'd yet!
Do you mind me asking how long you have been TCC - did your Doc have any issues sending you off for an ultrasound?
LittleBoysRock
06-08-2006, 06:53 PM
Welcome to Bub hub!!
I just wanted to wish you luck TTC and say that I can co-miserate about the long cycles!! I have gone from 83 days to 42....
I am currently using the Maybe Baby and have tried Vitex to regulate my cycle. No luck yet but will keep trying.
Again goodluck! :fingerscrossed:
wantagirl
07-08-2006, 03:34 AM
I have long cycles also. I have even gone 3 years without a period before. But, since having my son they are around 38 to 44 days. The shortest one was 30 days.
Bexter11
07-08-2006, 09:53 AM
Bolli in response to your question re: ultrasound. We have been TTC for 6 months (now going on 7) off pill 8 months. Dr had no problem sending me for ultrasound and blood tests due to irregular cycles. She said it could still be attributed to coming off pill however if I felt strongly about not waiting she was happy to send me.
Update - I had full ferns yesterday, again this morning. Temp is down today, loads of EWCM (just like morning after BD) and ovulation plains. :smiliedance: I had this last month so pretty sure all signs show ovulation today.... I'm now day 27 (O was 25 last month).
Last BD was Saturday night, are we in with a chance? BD not possible today, hubby is away :crying:
morganj
07-08-2006, 10:09 AM
I reckon you are definitely in with a chance. :fingerscrossed: to you!!
Bolli
07-08-2006, 10:49 AM
Thanks Bexter. I might go see the Dr and ask some more questions.
I think your definantly in with a chance, 3 days before O is good timing - some even say up to 5 or 7 days.
:fingerscrossed: you caught the egg!
morganj
07-08-2006, 11:10 AM
I've just had O confirmed by FF - am very excited!! These chinese herbs are working a treat - would definitely recommend it if you can find a good one. They've shortened my cycle by four weeks already.
Bolli
07-08-2006, 11:25 AM
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Julie
That's awsome! :fingerscrossed: you catch the egg!
I don't think the macca's worked for shortening my cycle - its looking like AF will arrive tomorrow.
On the plus side, so spotting at all (normally I have a fair bit) which is very nice.
On the negative, my temp wasn't as clear a rise. Then again I did spend the week after AF interstate where it was heaps colder!
Think I might visit the chinese doc this cycle. I like to try something new each time.
morganj
07-08-2006, 11:51 AM
Thanks Bolli. I think stuff like Maca Powder can take a few cycles before it kicks in. Good luck with the chinese herbalist though!!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.