View Full Version : How much does your bubba sleep ?
heeeeerekittykitty
03-04-2010, 18:49
My DS is 10 weeks , wondering how everyone elses babies are sleeping at night. DS still wakes for a feed at around 11 pm and again once through the night. In between these feeds he still needs to be resettled often with the dummy. Then round 5 - 6 am he is wide awake raring to go !! He is a real cat napper during the day. Reason I ask is alot of people constantly ask me , "is he sleeping through the night yet " , " has he dropped a feed "or "is he a good sleeper" . My answers, well umm.... no, no, and hes ok. Well I think he is an ok sleeper anyway despite well meaning people saying that he should be sleeping through the night by now. He is only 10 weeks for god sakes !! So anyway was just curious how other people out there are going !!!! Please dont reply to tell me your darling bub sleeps a 12 hour night lol , we all know these babies exist SOMEWHERE out there !!!
sarsjovi
03-04-2010, 20:25
Hi :wave:,
My DS is now 13wks, and is NO WHERE near sleeping through the night and doesn't look like doing so anytime soon!!!! :thumbsdown:
Up until he had his 2 month immunisations, during the day he would have two 2hour sleeps and two 40min naps and at night was having a dream feed at 10.30pm, then waking again at 3am, then getting up ready for the day at 6.30am. HOWEVER, since having the immunisations, he is now waking every 2-3 hours during the night for a feed and is only cat napping during the day...GGGRRRRRR!!!!
I still have to rock him to sleep (always have), which is not easy as he is now 6.5Kgs.
So, you're not alone :)
I'm actually planning on making a booking with the 'day stay clinic' next week so i can try and get some help with getting bubs to settle himself and sleep better again, as i don't think i will be able to rock him much longer as he is just getting too heavy and taking longer and longer to settle. Also, he is becoming grumpy during the day due to lack of good sleep.
GOOD LUCK :smiliedance:
Mummy2Kobi&Hailee
03-04-2010, 21:04
Kittykristy:- my lil girl Hailee is almost 16 weeks old and i WISH she slept through the night.
During the day she will only have 15-20 minute max cat naps and only 4 cat naps max a day. Refuses to have more and then at night she goes to bed between around 7.30-8.30 and will wake anywhere between 11pm-1am for a feed the again at about 6am.
I have a friend who has a bubs a day younger than Hailee and she still wakes for 3 feeds a night and hardly sleeps durin the day.
Another friend has a bubs that is almost 11 weeks old and she sleeps for for atleast 2 hours in the mornin and atleast 3 in the arvo and then wakes atleast 2 times over night for a feed.
I think some people bend the truth a little when they say "Oh so and so was sleeping through the nite at such and such age"
Having said all that though i was told by my child and youth health nurse that if they sleep more than 5 hours straight at night that is classed as "all night" ( not in my world it ain't give me 8 hours at least and then i say it all night :laughing:)
i too dont class 5 hours as "sleeping through"... i reckon atleast 8!!:laughing:
ok my dd is 7 weeks old and is now formula fed, and this is what she has been doing. (this is what she did yesterday)
4.45am wake up- feed-
6am asleep (wakes a few times for few mins while im taking dd1 to kindy etc)
10am i wake her for feed
11am asleep
12.30pm wakes and wants a feed
1pm asleep
3.30pm i wake her -feed-
5pm asleep
6.00pm i wake her -feed-
7.15pm asleep for the night
1.50am wakes for feed
2.20am asleep
4.45am wakes- feed-
6am asleep (its now 6.45 and she is still asleep, ill let her sleep at most til 8am)
i know people will say let her sleep in the day and not wake her but if i dont she'll sleep for like 4 hours and has a really un settled night... i know, ive done it!!
i know im quite lucky, and im not complaining....but im still looking forward to her going from 7-8pm til atleast 5am.
my dd1 slept through around 8pm til 5am from 7.5 weeks!!! very lucky!!! shes now 3.5 years and has ALWAYS woken between 5 and 5.30am...(not so lucky :laughing:)
i do have some trouble getting her to sleep, and especially for the first morning and late arvo sleep she often goes down in her swing as she just wont settle yet shes tired, ive even had her sleep in baby bjorn in the late arvo otherwise she is ferral and will be awake for 3 hours then its even harder to get her to sleep for the night!!!