View Full Version : Riverina Locals!
aussiegal7
29-03-2010, 19:55
YAY we now have our own thread! Come on the Riverina people, I know there are plenty of you out there!
Hi girls! I'm a Wagga girl...I've got a son (Sept 2006) and daughter (Nov 2008) & I'm a SAHM who has also just started up with The Learning Ladder for some extra cash. :) I love being home with my kids & we get out a lot so it's all good. :)
JJJRain-crew
31-03-2010, 13:33
Wow theres four of us LOL and in just 24 hours haha.
I am used to posting on the Gold Coast section where there was like a gazillion people HAHA not quite...
Im in Wagga, just moved from QLD, here till next year...
Hey I heard that there is a bowling alley in Albury... I was bummed when I found out they smashed the one down here... wat the heck?? I wanna go during the easter hols... do you happen to know what the trading hours are during the hols?? LOL
have2terrors
01-04-2010, 07:30
JJJRain-crew: Hi, yes there is a bowling alley in albury, and one in wodonga too. I love bowling too but haven't been in years! Dont know about the hours for the albury one but here is the phone number if you want to ring and check, 6021- 9628.
have2terrors
01-04-2010, 07:31
SC74: Hi, I use to by a few things from the learning ladder when I was in sydney, they have some good stuff.
Hi Have2Terrors...yeah I love the LL stuff...it's awesome!
JJJ...hey I think there is talk about a bowling alley coming back to Wagga...I heard there was something on exhibition at Council. :) Hopefully it will come soon, although you'll probably be gone before it gets organised. ;)
JJJRain-crew
06-04-2010, 10:56
Thx everyone :) We are going this coming w/e!
HELPihavea2yrold!
26-04-2010, 11:44
Hi everyone. Ive just moved near Urana which is halfway between Albury and Wagga! Ive got a almost 6 month old little boy.
JJJRain-crew
02-05-2010, 13:04
Hello :) Mum2littleprince
Welcome Where did you move from? I just moved from the Gold Coast. Are you enjoying the area?
I am not really counted as riverina but I am close. We just fall out of Temora Shire by about 3 paddocks. If we want to do a major shop we go to wagga. We also go that way for specialists.
HELPihavea2yrold!
03-05-2010, 18:11
Hello :) Mum2littleprince
Welcome Where did you move from? I just moved from the Gold Coast. Are you enjoying the area?
Yep, moved here to be closer to my parents. I moved from Brissy. Slightly cooler down here:gloomy:
Baldie's Mum
03-05-2010, 18:15
anyone in West wyalong? :)
ZooKeeper
17-05-2010, 03:00
Well, I'll be around 1,200kms closer end of first week of June - I'm pretty excited to be moving back home with daughter (and leaving defective XDH here) - I have only spent one night in the Riverina in the last 20 years. Hun, I should bring you down some baby bits, if you are not already stockpiled to the rafters that is :D
excited! excited! excited!
hi there. im in albury. im a single mum with 2 kids (6 and 5 months).
How are you all?
JJJRain-crew
24-05-2010, 15:05
What playgroups/activities do the Waggarians? close to Waggarians go to? and what are they like?
I go to a playgroup in glenfield and airborne gymnastics every second friday or so...
I am feeling so lost here in wagga atm especially since my daughter and I used to have somewhere to be almost every day on the gold coast... here I am struggling to find things that are interesting for the both of us...
Its sending me a bit crazy LOL.
Im looking for a mothers group in Albury / wodonga. I have a 5 month old baby. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
JJJRain-crew
25-05-2010, 09:21
Hey Iccara :) Have you had a look at the playgroup website for groups in your area? I think the link is www.playgroupaustralia.com.au (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au)
Just go to "find a playgroup" and click on your area, Hope that helps?
Hey Iccara :) Have you had a look at the playgroup website for groups in your area? I think the link is www.playgroupaustralia.com.au (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au)
Just go to "find a playgroup" and click on your area, Hope that helps?
Thanks heaps!!! Ill take a look.
Ok Ive had a look.. there is actually one for under 1s close to my place. I think I might just have to go along and have a look
cassvanm
20-06-2010, 19:52
I know you guys might not come here anymore, but I haven't been on BH for MONTHS and searched "learning ladder" and up pops this thread!
I'm a Wodonga girl, recently became a SAHM (hence the search for learning ladder :laughing:) and have three little cherubs - dd1 is 6, dd2 is 5, dd3 is almost 2 :wave:
ZooKeeper
20-06-2010, 22:52
What playgroups/activities do the Waggarians? close to Waggarians go to? and what are they like?
I go to a playgroup in glenfield and airborne gymnastics every second friday or so...
I am feeling so lost here in wagga atm especially since my daughter and I used to have somewhere to be almost every day on the gold coast... here I am struggling to find things that are interesting for the both of us...
Its sending me a bit crazy LOL.
Hey there - I'm in Wagga at least once a week with Bear (she's just turned three) and the Botanic gardens is proving a real winner (great playgrounds - TWO! and one has adjacent coffe etc for mummas) and the little zoo (free to get in- lots of birds and farm animals, plus roos, alpacas, emu, wallabies) - as Bear likes kids of any age so long as they'll interact with her, just PM me if meeting up on a Saturday arvo or a Tuesday arvo would work for you. I'm keen to connect with other mums with little ones now I'm back in the area - really impressed with how they've done up the kid stuff at the park. it was always my favourite place.
I'll let you know if I come across anything else cool to do - Bear likes art galleries so planning on doing some gallery hopping soon. Am also on the hunt for early childhood swim classes to get her ready for summer as we are half a block from the local pool here (not wagga).
zooy
research456
22-06-2010, 11:11
I am from a research company who is recruiting people for some paid focus groups in Albury NSW, to be held THIS THURSDAY 24th June. Great way to meet other mothers!
We need people who:
- Are pregnant or hoping to be in the next 12 months
- Considering using formal childcare for their children in the future
- Have children in after school care or vacation care
The discussion will go for 2 hours, and you get paid $80 for attending + light refreshments will be served.
If you are interested, or know anyone who might be, please contact us on freecall 1800 669 133 and ask for Mia, or email solutions@mcnairingenuity.com (solutions@mcnairingenuity.com)
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/misc/progress.gif
I'm a SAHM who has also just started up with The Learning Ladder for some extra cash. :)
I do 2 completely different party plan things. One is good ol' Tupperware. Tupperware is such a good product, and since leaving the husband, I have nothing, so doing Tupperware is helping me build up my cupboards again with some great quality products I know will last.
I also do Tickle your fancy (adult parties). They are so much fun and also have some great products on offer. Always enjoyable and gets me out and about and meeting new people. I love it.
Electric Rodeo
17-07-2010, 15:44
Hi everyone. Ive just moved near Urana which is halfway between Albury and Wagga! Ive got a almost 6 month old little boy.
Didn't realise they had finally set up a section for riverina.:)
Mum2lilprince I'm in the next town over to Urana, well country style anyway about 40km away. How do you find living out there must be a real change of scenery?
Albury is my main place to go, occasionally wagga as we are sort of half way.
I have a 4yo, 3yo and 10mth old.
Hope this thread keeps going.
JJJRain-crew
26-07-2010, 15:09
Just wondering if anyone in the area can help me with accumulating a working lawn mower for cheap, we really need to mow our lawn because its starting to turn into a jungle and Im worried that my daughter will get lost in it HAHA.
Hi everyone ,
My name is Hayley and I just gave birth on the 1st of september to my first child a son named Maximus. Am interested in getting to know anyone with children in the area, unfortunately I don't really know anyone with young children
HELPihavea2yrold!
12-09-2010, 16:56
Didn't realise they had finally set up a section for riverina.:)
Mum2lilprince I'm in the next town over to Urana, well country style anyway about 40km away. How do you find living out there must be a real change of scenery?
Albury is my main place to go, occasionally wagga as we are sort of half way.
I have a 4yo, 3yo and 10mth old.
Hope this thread keeps going.
Yep, its very different living out here but Im enjoying being on the farm. Its nice and quiet out here and my DS is going to have a blast here when hes older and can ride a motorbike! I go to both Wagga and Albury as well.
ZooKeeper
26-10-2010, 00:19
How'd everyone go in the floods? aside from our community being cut off for a while, 21 houses here near us lost all contents, and my own place one room really waterlogged and a bit of stuff wrecked, not too bad really for us.
hope everyone else got thru it OK
zooy
PS sure better than cyclones, drought & bushfire tho...
Electric Rodeo
26-10-2010, 20:54
How'd everyone go in the floods? aside from our community being cut off for a while, 21 houses here near us lost all contents, and my own place one room really waterlogged and a bit of stuff wrecked, not too bad really for us.
hope everyone else got thru it OK
zooy
PS sure better than cyclones, drought & bushfire tho...
Hey, we got through OK. Water surrounded the house to the back door and underneath but nothing inside damaged. Biggest problem for us it the water trashing the beautiful looking crops we had:no:. We were stuck at home for a few days.
Were you in wagga?, i can't rememeber.
Wonder what mother nature has in store for us next year.?:)
ZooKeeper
26-10-2010, 22:22
No not in Wagga, but go there regularly for the 'big town' stuff like supermarket, organic shop (I LOVE the Red Pomegranate, nicest organic grocers I've ever met), oppies, counselling at the women's centre and seeing bestie and her kids. it's our big weekly event the wagga trip.
sorry to hear about the crops - around here a lot of them are recovering pretty well because it drained and dried fairly fast, hopefully drowned a lot of the locusts before they really got going.
noticed early this week the ants are building high around their holes again, so I reckon we might get another big rain event. before the flood, I noticed they not only built high, heaps of them grew wings (not kidding, they do that).
the weather is looking a lot like it was growing up down here (70s and 80s) so I'm expecting a hot hot summer with the odd thunderstorm you can smell coming and an autumn that's slow to come on and nicely crisp before a wet cold winter. one thing I'm loving again after being up north is four distinct seasons and watching all the tress and flowers change. right now it's all about roses and irises at my place. :cloud9: and snow peas, our first crop at this new garden.
Hi girls, sorry to crash your thread but I am a Melbourne mummy looking to move the family to the Albury/Wodonga area. Just wondering if you have any advise about getting jobs, looking for schools and daycare.
For those of you who have already made the tree-change, any tips on relocating would be greatly appreciated :goodvibes: Thank you sooooooooooooo much.
Electric Rodeo
07-11-2010, 20:54
Hi girls, sorry to crash your thread but I am a Melbourne mummy looking to move the family to the Albury/Wodonga area. Just wondering if you have any advise about getting jobs, looking for schools and daycare.
For those of you who have already made the tree-change, any tips on relocating would be greatly appreciated :goodvibes: Thank you sooooooooooooo much.
ooohhh a tree change:yelclap:
I moved to A/W 15 yrs ago now from the city.
I love Albury, even though I don't live in the actual town (outlying town), I used to and am in there twice a week. It's big enough to have everything you need, lots of good schools, pretty friendly etc.
There are lots of activities you could get involved in to meet people. Not sure how old your kids are? Swimming lessons, playgroup, sport for yourself?
Happy to help with specific questions. Are you interested in working in a particular area? Some areas are better to live in than others too.
Nice place though I love it.
Where do you suggest I take the kids so they can meet some locals? DD is 5 & DS is almost 2.
HELPihavea2yrold!
29-11-2010, 15:20
I've just moved to albury. Looking for a good playgroup to take my bub to
angcaltam
12-12-2010, 23:14
I'm from Wagga also :wave:
I think we should try and do a Wagga catch up over the xmas holidays, anyone keen on that idea ? ? ?
30somethingDad
14-02-2011, 22:06
Hi Eeyore,
My wife and I made the move to Albury / Wodonga last month and are loving it. My advice for looking for a job, schools etc is to take a look at the recently started site http://www.evocities.com.au/ It was created to bring people from Sydney to several inland cities through-out NSW but I found it very useful.
As with many towns when your looking for somewhere to live, it depends on if you want to buy or rent, how much you want to spend and what you want nearby. With this in mind, everything, and I mean everything is within 10-15 minutes drive of anything you should need.
Our situation is that I work in town and walk no more than 12 minutes each day while my wife stays home with our 19 month old, although she is about to start work shortly.
When looking for somewhere to live I recommend domain.com and Seek.com was the best for jobs.
Happy to chat via PM if you want specific info on what I found.
Good luck.
HELPihavea2yrold!
14-02-2011, 22:20
Hi Eeyore,
My wife and I made the move to Albury / Wodonga last month and are loving it. My advice for looking for a job, schools etc is to take a look at the recently started site http://www.evocities.com.au/ It was created to bring people from Sydney to several inland cities through-out NSW but I found it very useful.
As with many towns when your looking for somewhere to live, it depends on if you want to buy or rent, how much you want to spend and what you want nearby. With this in mind, everything, and I mean everything is within 10-15 minutes drive of anything you should need.
Our situation is that I work in town and walk no more than 12 minutes each day while my wife stays home with our 19 month old, although she is about to start work shortly.
When looking for somewhere to live I recommend domain.com and Seek.com was the best for jobs.
Happy to chat via PM if you want specific info on what I found.
Good luck.
Thanks for that link. I have only recently moved here as well. I have a 15 month old if you want a playmate for your child. Im still trying to meet some people and join some groups
Is Griffith classed as Riverina?
If you have been there please let me know what its like!! Pros and Cons please!! Looking at coming to work short term.
Cheers!
Pumpysmumma
22-03-2011, 08:51
My husband and I have just relocated from Port Macquarie to Albury for his work.
We are looking to meet some new people! We are a young family, in our mind 20's with a 21 month old son and a 6 week old baby girl.
We would love to hear from some mums in Regards to playgroups or mothers get togethers?
Would be great to hear from someone! :)
Thanks amie
Hi all :wave: Well we did make the move from Melbourne and we are LOVING it!!!! It was quite an effort as I finished my Melbourne job on Dec 23rd and began my new Albury job on Jan 5th :freakingout: Phew...
We have a 5year old who just started school and a 23month old son. There is so much for the kids to do, especially if they love the great outdoors. As for a playgroup, my DH is staying at home while he studies and looks after DS so if you dont mind a daddy crashing the party I am sure he would be interested in coming along.
We are looking at daycare for DS just one day per week so he gets some social interaction with kids his own age. Does anyone have any recommendations? We are living south of the border.
Anyone still around in this thread? The horse carrot thread got me wondering... :D
I didn't realise there was a Riverina thread! We live close to Wagga (for big shopping purposes).
Electric Rodeo
19-02-2012, 18:26
Anyone still around in this thread? The horse carrot thread got me wondering... :D
Haha I had the same thought
Wickedly Happy
19-02-2012, 20:28
I didn't realise there was a Riverina thread!
Me neither! My DP and I have lived in Albury since January this year. Bubs is due in July, and I'm wondering how things will go here with almost no family in the area. So far, I've found a great obstetric GP and have my booking in appointment at the hospital next week.
So far, we're loving Albury. We live in a great street and I'm really comfortable and confident about raising our baby here.
HELPihavea2yrold!
19-02-2012, 20:53
Electric Rodeo, I'm sure we can get our kids together with some horse carrots at Maccas!
Thought I better pop in and say Hi.
I'm 45 min east of Albury/Wodonga, and never noticed this thread before. I have two DD's, age 7.5 and 5 months.
I'm all in for the horse carrot flash mob at Wodonga maccas , if anyone else is interested.
Cheers Bugsy
HELPihavea2yrold!
19-02-2012, 21:00
Sounds good Bugsy. I'm in as long as its not a Friday as I work.
The horse carrot event is happening on the Sat 28 April at 12pm. I'll be there with my kids and my giant horse carrot, lol.
Love to see you there.
HELPihavea2yrold!
19-02-2012, 21:23
Awesome. The Maccas at Biralee or Homemaker Centre?
Electric Rodeo
20-02-2012, 07:28
I wouldn't be able to stop laughing if I saw people in there with horse carrots lol. Which maccas are you talking about, I only know the one neat the leisure centre. So are we talking 2 months away?
Sent from my HTC Desire using BubHub
HELPihavea2yrold!
20-02-2012, 10:43
I wouldn't be able to stop laughing if I saw people in there with horse carrots lol. Which maccas are you talking about, I only know the one neat the leisure centre. So are we talking 2 months away?
Sent from my HTC Desire using BubHub
28th of April at midday. It's the one near Wodonga Bunnings. Hope onto freeway and take Tallangatta exit ( just before Wodonga city exit) follow the road to the big roundabout (2nd one) and its straight thru roundabout near Officeworks, Pet Domain, renovaters warehouse. That area
Jess1889
07-04-2012, 18:24
Im moving to Albury soon and have no friends there. I would love to meet some people. Ds is 18 months and dd is 3 months.
Any advice?
Jess
Sent from my GT-I9100 using BubHub
CountryChrissy
17-09-2012, 09:02
Thought i'd pop my head in and see if anyone was around? We are in Hillston. Anyone in the surrounding areas? Anyone had their baby at Griffith Base?
jellykrystal
07-12-2012, 17:02
Hi im from griffith
Sent from my GT-I9210T using BubHub
Mellie29
19-03-2013, 21:31
Hi just wanted to see if there are any riverina people floating around?
HugsBunny
19-03-2013, 21:33
Albury :wave:
Mellie29
19-03-2013, 21:44
Hi! Im in wagga
HugsBunny
20-03-2013, 11:39
Oh! You poor thing lol.
Mellie29
21-03-2013, 18:31
Haha it's not too bad
HugsBunny
21-03-2013, 20:56
Have you lived there long?
Mellie29
22-03-2013, 12:49
Ah it's three years this year - formally from Canberra.
honey gold
15-05-2013, 09:01
Oooh just found this thread. I live out in the sticks on a farm near Boree Creek (in between Lockhart and Narrandera. Have been out here for about 6 months. Before that I was in Wagga for 4.5 years and Albury before that for the same period of time. I still work in Wagga 3 days a week.
Mellie29
15-05-2013, 22:02
Hi honey gold, nice to see you, there are not many of us riverina's around