View Full Version : Amniocentesis - have you had one?

Twins Kelly
22-03-2010, 16:40
Hi Gals,
After more discussion with my DH we are going to have AC on Thursday as one of our twins is high risk and my DH (more so than me) would like to know if one of our twins has chromosonal issues.
I'd love to know what to expect and how it works from mum's who have had one. I'll also have to have 2...one for each baby.
I'd also appreciate any stories about things that may have gone wrong etc.
While I'm ok to do this, I'm still apprehensive about the risk and then, obviously, the results.
Thanks very much for sharing.

Amara
22-03-2010, 18:29
I had one. The procedure itself was painless. I did not feel a thing. I felt a whoosh of air go past my belly as the needle came towards me and that was it. I got no cramping, no bleeding, nothing. For me it was far less stressful than visiting the dentist. The ob would not allow anyone in the room during the procedure so dont be surprised if your partner gets asked to leave.

I did however experience lots of stress leading up to it and then after it wondering what the results were and if I would have a loss. It was a huge relief when all was ok.

Twins Kelly
22-03-2010, 18:39
Thanks Amara. I def. want my DH in that room with me!! For support and so he can see what's happening. I'm praying that our results are ok but still trying to prepare myself for the fact that they may not be. It is stressful and hard not to think about. I'm so pleased your results came back clear.

Amara
22-03-2010, 19:19
Perhaps ask the ob who is doing it if hubby will be allowed in. For me the shock of finding out partner had to leave the room was the worst of it. I was not expecting it and immediately felt tearful. He said he never did it with anyone in the room as any slight movement from them could put him off and he could miss. Yours could be happy to have someone in there of course, but I just wanted to warn you it could happen.

Yes the what ifs can do your head in. My son was 1/37 for ds yet he did not have it and I did all that worrying for nothing.

Is it the nt measurement that caused the high risk in one twin?

Twins Kelly
22-03-2010, 21:25
Yeah it's the nt measurement...was 3.2mm....above 3mm is high risk...plus my age, i had just turned 33 ( was 32 when we conceived). Apparently my blood was ok so go figure! Plus the fact that our scan at 16 wks showed nothing obvious. I just keep seeing all these lovely normal babies and think, please let our's be ok. I can't ehlp but think about it..mostly at night once I get into bed!

emmwill
22-03-2010, 21:33
I had one with DD2. I would say it was a little painful. I was very scared. Laying there watching my unborn bub reach towards the needle was very surreal.

My bloods came back with a high chance of a chromosonal disorder. My DH could not cope with not knowing so insisted we have one done. He was with me during the procedure.

The wait is horrible. Do what they say and rest for at least the first two days as it is a little uncomfortable for a little while.
Good luck

meegzz
22-03-2010, 21:43
my best friend had an amnio done to check
if bubs had CF a she is a carrier as is her partner and their first bub had cf, anyway... She said it didn't hurt but not to watch it go in as it's uncomfortable and the needle is quite big... Her mum went with her and she was allowed in with her while she got the
procedure done! She had no cramping and is nearly due with bubby :D she did however faint once she walked into the waiting room so sit down for a bit afterwrds
GOOD LUCK!!

Twins Kelly
22-03-2010, 22:18
I have a wedding to go on Friday in Sydney....doesn't start till 4pm. I've already prepped hubby and best mate that I might not be feeling too well! I can always just go and a comfy chair I guess!
I'm also going to take food and a soft drink in with me for afterwards in case I'm feeling faint.
Thanks for all the positive stories though...makes me feel better. x

Amara
22-03-2010, 23:14
My son's measurement was 4.1. When he was born he had a fleshy fold of skin behind his neck so I guess that is why. Try not to worry as I have read several other mums with similar results say the same thing.

I fellt completely normal walking out of the doctors and was back at work the following day having been told it was ok as long as I took it easy and did not lift anything. I am sure you will be fine at the wedding. Good luck with it all.

mum5089
24-03-2010, 08:44

I also had one with DD#1, it was totally painless because the needle is so fine. My DH was absolutely allowed to stay with me while it was being done, I think most OB/GYN's would understand you need the extra support.

You can watch what is happening on a screen, they do an ultrasound and you can see where the needle is going, in relation to where the baby is in the womb. You don't have to watch it, I did, it was reassuring to me to see bubs moving around and active.

I felt relieved when it was over, regardless of the results, at least you know what to expect, and they are very accurate. I was told to take things easy and rest for a couple days afterwards.

Just FYI- I was told my DD had a 1 in 3 chance of being a Downs baby, which is why I had the amnio. It came back that she was totally fine and was born a beautiful healthy girl. It makes me kind of angry how the tests leading up to the amnio can indicate there is a problem, and you are sick with worry, then you have the amnio and it is all okay. Because the amnio itself does carry a very slight risk, but it always made me wonder - what if something went wrong with the amnio, and then you find out afterwards the baby actually had nothing wrong with it - and it is too late ?

I don't know, I am not trying to scare you, I just think the tests that lead up to having the amnio are far from accurate, and everyone I know that has had an amnio has had healthy babies, there was nothing wrong anyhow.

I guess you need to weigh it up - I was told my bubs had a 1 in 3 chance of being downs baby, the risk of miscarriage from an amnio is about 1 in 200, so for me the risk of NOT having the amnio was far greater IYKWIM, I was prepared to take the risk in a way, but it is something you need to weigh up - are you being told it is a high risk pregnancy just because it is twins ? Or because of age ? Or because of some genetic problems in the family ? Or because some other testing has shown potential abnormalities ?

I would have to really think about having an amnio based on the fact that twins is considered a high risk pregnancy - it is up to you and it is your choice, I am saying just consider all the facts before you go ahead. If other tests indicated there may be an abnormality, then I would definitley have one, but if they are suggesting you have one just because it is twins, then really think about it.

Good luck !!

Twins Kelly
24-03-2010, 14:20
Hi Mum5089,
When we had our 12wk scan we were told Twin A had a nuchal of 3.2mm and using my age and blood tests, came back as 1:134 chance of being down syndrome. I find it very annoying. I've been told my blood tests were ok, so I'm assuming they use my age as an indicator...I was 32 when i fell pregnant, yet 33 when I had the test...did they take this into consideration???
We are hvaing the amnio because, while I also would like to know if there is anything wrong, my DH has serious issues with bringing a special needs child into the world. And as it's our babies, I can't just go on blindly hoping for the best.
The fact I have 2 babies in there changes things for me...eg risking one for the other?? What to do if we do have a problem?? I don't find it so 'cut n dry' knowing I have the responsibilty for 2 children.....it's a crappy situation but we are in it, so were taking the amnio.
I can only hope and pray like hell we get positive results and that nothing goes wrong after having the tests.
Some people have much worse issues re. conceiving etc than us, and life will go on regardless. I Just hope I'll be strong enough to deal with what life throws at us.

mum5089
25-03-2010, 08:30
Hey there

I know you must be worried sick ATM.

You have been told you have a 1:134 chance of having a downs baby - remember I was told I had a 1:3 chance, and there was absolutely nothing wrong with her. Although I was relieved after the amnio to discover she was fine, I was also pretty upset about the fact I felt like I was 'talked in to' having the amnio, knowing there is a risk of miscarriage with it, albeit very small. I always wondered what would have happend if I miscarried from the amnio and then found out afterwards she would have been fine anyhow.

This is what you need to weigh up - because if you go ahead and have the amnio and you find out it is a downs baby, what will you do ? Can you and will you terminate that baby ? Will you love that baby no matter what and just want to be prepared for it when bubs does arrive ? What will you do ? If you will have the baby and love it regardless of any defects, then what is the point in having the amnio ??

I am not trying to sway you one way or the other, this is just stuff I wish someone would have told me when I was trying to work out if I would have had the amnio or not. My DH was not so sure he wanted to go ahead with the pregnancy if we found out it was a downs baby, but for me - I understood all the logic behind NOT having a downs baby, but still - I had a life inside of me and knew I would love her regardless. So this is what you need to talk to your hubby about.

I honestly do not know how they came up with 1:3 for me though. I never had a family history of ANY problems on either side. I was about 30 when I was pregnant and had the amnio too. I asked A LOT of questions after the amnio results, about how in the heck they came up with the figure of 1:3 - because these figures affect peoples lives, and has an impact on what they do next. No-one could really tell me. Yes, age has something to do with it, and the closer you are to being 35, the more the odds get worse, so this could be a big factor in it too.

I really don't know what else to tell you, except for you and hubby need to talk about if it is a downs baby, what will you do ? Because this will effect if you decide to have an amnio or not. THe amnio itself is painless.

Anyhow, it sounds like you have decided to do the amnio, and it sounds like you have made the right choice. You will be relived when it is over, and after that, whatever happens, happens (as far as the results go). I hope it all goes well and that your results are fine, Ask for the rapid 'FISH' test. It costs a bit more, but you get the results back in a couple days, Otherwise it takes a couple weeks.

Remember I had worse odds than you, and it was all fine.

Let us know what happens

THinking of you:hugs:

Twins Kelly
25-03-2010, 21:30
Well we had our amnio's today. We also had another detailed scan...with no obvious issues in either twin.
The amnio did hurt a bit....one needle more than the other. The Bams were so active during our scan, and then, when it came to the needle...they barely moved! I reckon they could sense my stress levels and me saying in my head, "Hold still boys...no moving!'
So we have fast tracked results and find out Monday arvo........
My DH has strong views on not carrying a baby with special needs to full term....I on the other hand, well i really don't know. I just hope that it's positive news...I don't want to have to deal with anything else.
My belly is a bit sore now, I've been resting all arvo.
Thanks for your thoughts, I'll let you know how we go.

Twins Kelly
27-03-2010, 21:45
The boys are OK!! We have been given the all clear!! It is such a relief! I burst into tears over the phone when they rang us!! Thank you God and whomever prayed for us that all would be be ok. xxx

Amara
27-03-2010, 22:07
Woo hoo! I am so pleased for you. You can relax a little now and start to really enjoy the pregnancy.

Manxie
27-03-2010, 22:11
Fantastic news. Now you enjoy every minute of your pregnancy:yelclap: