View Full Version : Did morning sickness make you reconsider becoming pregnant again
Mumof3furbabies
17-03-2010, 20:53
I was wondering if those of you who have previously been pregnant and suffered from morning sickness whether severe or mild have reconsidered having another child because you did not want to go through the it all again? If you did what made you decide to go ahead and become pregnant again?
This is our first baby and in the moments were the m/s gets to be too much I just think to myself I can't do this again :(. I have no choice but to work to pay the mortgage etc and as much as I would love have more kids it makes me think twice....
with ds i had terrible ms. infact i used to fall asleep on the floor at work because i was so exhausted. and then when your little bundle of joy arrives and you hold him and cuddle him your heart just melts and although you dont forget about it, its like it was all worth it. if that makes sense.
then you do it all over again, and you think oh my god why have i done this. i cant remember it being this bad the first time around. but i have my eye on the end prize. my beautiful bundle of joy that i am going to meet. if you ask me now if i want another after this bub i say no way. but i know when bub arrives and you ask me again i will be saying yes.
~BEXTER~
17-03-2010, 21:29
Nope!
I had severe morning sickness with Keiara
This time I threw up about 11 times in 3 months, that was great for me.
delirium
17-03-2010, 21:37
A big yes from me! I was ill with DD, but seriously wished I would die with DS and I'm serious. Like someone shoot me and put me out of my misery sick.
Add having generally a really bad pg and DS being an extremely spirited child and we have put a third child on hold, possibly indefinately :gloomy:
Mathermy
17-03-2010, 21:44
Yep, I had it the whole 9 months and it was foul. It wasn't extreme, i would only throw up 3-4 times a day (early morning and evening or if I got hungry) but feeling that sick for that long really gets you down:(
Mumof3furbabies
17-03-2010, 21:49
Thanks for your responses so far . I find it very interesting to read about everyone's viewpoints.
Amiee- I had a feeling 'memory loss once baby arrived' would be a very common reason lol. It is hard to know as I haven't had my first yet. How did you get away with falling asleep at work? Lol
Keiara's Mum- wowww I haven't thrown up yet and I thought just the nausea was bad enough!
Delirium- I am sorry that the pregnancy was so difficult for you. My heart goes out to all women who suffer from m/s.It really does suck.
Mumof3furbabies
17-03-2010, 21:56
Yep, I had it the whole 9 months and it was foul. It wasn't extreme, i would only throw up 3-4 times a day (early morning and evening or if I got hungry) but feeling that sick for that long really gets you down:(
Wow 9 months!! How did you manage? I am trying to make it to 3 months hoping it will pass then. I don't know how you cope for that long :(
Mathermy
17-03-2010, 22:02
Wow 9 months!! How did you manage? I am trying to make it to 3 months hoping it will pass then. I don't know how you cope for that long :(
I think it became like a routine:o
I would wake up, throw up, eat, throw up..be fine for most of the day except if I was hungry or something smelt bad and then I would throw up again in the afternoon.. I think I just got used to it and did what I could to accomodate it. Like we used to live in a 3 level townhouse so we moved our bed to the middle floor and lived from there just to make it easier, I changed my hours at work..
I guess it's like living with a chronic illness, you just adjust for it in your life. I gained a lot of weight though because there were so many foods that made me sick I would eat a lot of stodgy stuff:o
Amiee- I had a feeling 'memory loss once baby arrived' would be a very common reason lol. It is hard to know as I haven't had my first yet. How did you get away with falling asleep at work? Lol
i great company and had a wonderful boss. they even said that if i felt like sleeping use the bosses office as i can shut the door.
delirium
17-03-2010, 22:12
I gained a lot of weight though because there were so many foods that made me sick I would eat a lot of stodgy stuff:o
Same. Carbs were the only thing that I could keep down and that made me feel half ok. I think I gained about 10 kgs in the first 20 weeks :o and only another 6 for the rest of the pg.
Jemima J
17-03-2010, 22:15
sure did! i threw up the whole pregnancy,several times a day,sometimes more.......
But my desire for my son to have a sibling overcame it....and so far im having a horrible pregnancy,ive had a big bleed and bad vomiting and nausea but i keep reminding myself of the end result:baby:
sunflowermummy
17-03-2010, 22:24
most definately..I had m/s for the entire 8 months I carried my twins and hated being pregnant :( medically I had a good pregnancy ( except for DD having a 2 vessel cord and slight growth issues), but I had all the bad side effects of pregnancy. Carpel tunnel at 18 weeks, PDS, constipation that bad I couldnt walk as my bowel would twist and turn and cause great pain etc.....
Even now, 4yrs on when I think about having another baby, the thought of m/s and pregnancy in general comes into my thinking a fair bit and wonder If I could handle being pregnant and mum at the same time....
Mumof3furbabies
18-03-2010, 15:48
Thankyou for all your responses . You all gave me alot to think about.
I was sick all day everyday until about 18 weeks then I threw up a few times every morning until the day my son was born. I spent a lot or of time in hospital but even though it scares me it hasn't stopped me wanting another. I was actually happy to be sick. I was told I'd never have children naturally so it was all a blessing to me. Even the days I felt like I wanted to die. I would wake up in the middle of the night throwing up and felt miserable but I just couldn't wipe the smile off my face. I'm a weird one :p
TeamAwesome
18-03-2010, 16:06
I've had hyerpemesis twice now, the first time was sick between 20-30 times a day up until 20 weeks pregnant, I agree it became the norm get up be sick, eat breakfast be sick brush teeth be sick go to work be sick many times during the day go home be sick go in kitchen be sick.
This time similar to first hyperemesis pregnancy but have had times I've been so dehydrated a sip of water would make me violently sick and been hospitalised twice becuase of it, though it's settled a bit more now, so it's now livable.
I've had also bad m/s with one pregnancy and 'textbook' m/s ie mostly nausea and vomiting a few times a day for another.
It's never stopped at 12/13 weeks either.
So in some ways no it didn't stop me having more, despite having severe and bad m/s for my first two, though this is my second time having hyperemesis and will be my last pregnancy as it's not fair on the other children that I've been so sick.
I can certainly say I haven't forgotten being as sick as I was with my first one or my others but each time I held my new baby in my arms they made it worth it.
Something I held onto that kept me going, especially with my first pregnancy, from a family friend was "m/s is much worse than labour as you don't know how long m/s is going to last for but labour is only for a short time in comparison and with labour you get the reward of your beautiful baby at the end."
Lily of the Nile
18-03-2010, 16:11
I had sever m/s 24/7 till 18 weeks, the first 10 weeks being absolute misery, I didn't get out of bed and couldn't even stand the smell of soap! I had a yuck pregnancy all round actually, but having him now, yeah I want another one and I know there is an end to it with the best gift.
1st trimester is the only thing I'm scared of and I think about it all the time, like how will I get through that again, and this time with a toddler. But if I want the baby, I gotta go through the 9 month misery :(
I also had hyperemesis twice and both times it lasted until I had given birth. Hospitalised and placed on drips a few times (had 3 drips during one visit).
At the time, I felt like I was going to die. It was horrible. I think maybe once or twice I thought I never wanted to do it again, but really it didn't make me too upset very often ( I had my days).
It was no facto whatsoever in deciding how many kids we would have. After you've given birth, you tend to forget the m/s.
I've told my husb and friends to remind me how sick I was as I know I'll forget. I'm happy with one. I just don't know if I could go through it again! Don't know how I'm going to cope with the labour and delivery part!!
Mumof3furbabies
18-03-2010, 19:40
Something I held onto that kept me going, especially with my first pregnancy, from a family friend was "m/s is much worse than labour as you don't know how long m/s is going to last for but labour is only for a short time in comparison and with labour you get the reward of your beautiful baby at the end."[/QUOTE]
That's a good way to look at it actually. I guess when you are in the moment of throwing up you can forget the bigger picture and the whole reason behind the m/s.
Mumof3furbabies
18-03-2010, 19:50
After reading some of the posts I swear I won't complain again when my stomach turns for a little while. I know m/s is hard whether mild or severe but I have to take my hat off to those of you who went through such severe illness and then went back for more and had more kids. That's amazing :)
I guess the reward is very much worth it and memories can be short term
baby no 2
24-03-2010, 09:47
i had HORRIBLE hg with my first up until 22 weeks 10 to 15 times:barf:a day, and i was terrified of getting pregnant again due to that, but i really wanted one more baby and knew to get pregnant and have hg was the only way to get another baby, so here i am pregnant had hg but over it now................................but yes it was a huge decision to make due to hg..................:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:
TripleTime
24-03-2010, 09:53
Yes, I will never have any more kids. Mainly thanks to the shocking MS I has till 17 weeks.
I remember havin my head in the bath bringing everything back up & yelling at DF I'm ne'er doing this again.
Good thing I got 3 for the price of 1.
elisabeth80
24-03-2010, 17:49
Hello mumof3furbabies:wave:
I am pregnant with bub #3 and my first pregnancy was an absoloute nightmare as I was diagnsed with "hyperemesis gravidarum" which literally means excessive vomiting during pregnancy.
I was hospitalised at 8 weeks after collapsing at work on 2 different occasions and was put on the drip to replace the loss of fluids. I basically stayed there for the next 5 months of my pregnancy being fed through an artificial tube through my nose however my body rejected the fluids fed to me and my weight plummeted down to 66kilos when my original weight was 82, so the weight loss was very dramatic not to mention horrifying to all friends and family that felt helpless.
I spiralled into depression and was seen twice a week by a pyschologist to help me through this traumatic time but all I wanted to do was curl up and die because I was losing the will to carry on & was starting to resent the baby because I couldnt eat, walk or even talk properly because of severe lack of nourishment.
I was induced at 32 weeks when doctors concluded that my weight was dangerously low and I was not responding to any treatment and once I gave birth to my baby girl, it was like this infection I had lived with for several months had been taken from my body. It was like I was cured and allergic to my own baby!
The impact the pregancy had on my relationship with my fiance', close friends and family was hurtful and yes I did reconsider not having any more children. However after much counselling and a loving and supportive network of faily & friends I was able to overcome the trauma of it all and have since had another and am due in 3 weeks with bub #3. My pregnancies that have followed the first have been fine with occasional sickness but not as severe.
The doctors could not pinpoint why I got so sick and the cause of it is still very much unknown however they say you are at greater risk if you have a history of travel sickness or migranes, have a pre-existing liver disease, are expecting twins or multiple babies, are the sister or daughter of a hyperemsis sufferer.....the list goes on but there is no definite reason.
Don't know if this helped any but just wanted to share my experience with you and that I strongly believe with a close network of family, friends and loved ones it can really make a difference.
-Lis-
Mumof3furbabies
24-03-2010, 19:25
[QUOTE=elisabeth80;4612246]Hello mumof3furbabies:wave:
I am pregnant with bub #3 and my first pregnancy was an absoloute nightmare as I was diagnsed with "hyperemesis gravidarum" which literally means excessive vomiting during pregnancy.
I was hospitalised at 8 weeks after collapsing at work on 2 different occasions and was put on the drip to replace the loss of fluids. I basically stayed there for the next 5 months of my pregnancy being fed through an artificial tube through my nose however my body rejected the fluids fed to me and my weight plummeted down to 66kilos when my original weight was 82, so the weight loss was very dramatic not to mention horrifying to all friends and family that felt helpless.
I spiralled into depression and was seen twice a week by a pyschologist to help me through this traumatic time but all I wanted to do was curl up and die because I was losing the will to carry on & was starting to resent the baby because I couldnt eat, walk or even talk properly because of severe lack of nourishment.
I was induced at 32 weeks when doctors concluded that my weight was dangerously low and I was not responding to any treatment and once I gave birth to my baby girl, it was like this infection I had lived with for several months had been taken from my body. It was like I was cured and allergic to my own baby!
The impact the pregancy had on my relationship with my fiance', close friends and family was hurtful and yes I did reconsider not having any more children. However after much counselling and a loving and supportive network of faily & friends I was able to overcome the trauma of it all and have since had another and am due in 3 weeks with bub #3. My pregnancies that have followed the first have been fine with occasional sickness but not as severe.
The doctors could not pinpoint why I got so sick and the cause of it is still very much unknown however they say you are at greater risk if you have a history of travel sickness or migranes, have a pre-existing liver disease, are expecting twins or multiple babies, are the sister or daughter of a hyperemsis sufferer.....the list goes on but there is no definite reason.
Don't know if this helped any but just wanted to share my experience with you and that I strongly believe with a close network of family, friends and loved ones it can really make a difference.
wooow that is an amazing story. What a strong woman you must be to get through all of that! Hats off to you. I have heard of h/s and I have a friend and some family who went through it which scared me even before I fell pregnant.
Thankyou so much for your kind words and support. It helps knowing I am not in this on my own.
baby no 2
25-03-2010, 07:15
Hello mumof3furbabies:wave:
-Lis-
ohh my dear........that must have been beyond words of pain and agony, amazing what us women are capable off ...........:hugs:
JabberJaw
25-03-2010, 07:48
I had severe morning sickness....still went on to have 4 kids ;) I vomited from conception to birth, and still held down a job. Was pretty ill, but vit b helped.
DoubleDelight
25-03-2010, 08:06
I have had all pregnancy all day sickness with all of mine. At the end of the day I kept fooling myself that maybe it wouldn't happen this time but for me it such a small price to pay for such a big reward that I just tolerate it.
Jackandbellasmummy
25-03-2010, 08:19
i had my tubes done when ds2 was born last month. i had it with all 3 pregnancys, they were worse each time. at on stage i had a blanket on the bathroom floor right next to the toilet and didnt move for a whole weekend until dh called the ambulance and i went to hospital for 2 days. there was no chance in hell i was going to go through that again. and dont even get me started on the c/section recoveries. im so glad im done having babies.
I am currently 26 weeks pregnant and have suffered servere morning sickness since 5 weeks. I have spent over a month in hopsital and have lost a lot of weight.
I still throw up often and i am not sure i could ever have another baby, my obs keeps saying. let's get through this one before thinking about the future.
Happy2be3
25-03-2010, 12:39
Totally! The MS I suffered from 5 weeks to 14 weeks would put me off another, but then.. so do alot of other things.. pregnancy, birth, post birth.. it all put me off having anymore:ecomcity:
Youve gotta weigh it up.. if you have an overwhelming desire to have more kids then you dont have much choice but to go through it all again.
Happy2be3
25-03-2010, 12:44
Same. Carbs were the only thing that I could keep down and that made me feel half ok. I think I gained about 10 kgs in the first 20 weeks :o and only another 6 for the rest of the pg.
Same!:laughing: Hungry Jacks became my best friend, it was the only thing I didnt throw up almost.. now Im addicted to the stuff.. and its the reason I gained 22kg during pregnancy..
DaughteroftheForest
25-03-2010, 12:48
I was lucky enough to not suffer from much morning sickness with my first pregnancy due to low hormone levels, but unfortunately thats the very reason why i lost my second pregnancy at 6 weeks :( But again, lucky enough to not have to go through more than 'morning ickness' with my 3rd. But my old flat mate suffered horribly, poor thing, and i spent many a morning holding her hair back and fetching hertea and biscuts :o
Yes I am definitely feeling like I can't go to that morning sickness place again:(.
I thought I had it badly with DS...until I fell pg with DD!!! Horrid! I still shudder when i think about it. Trying to care for DS when I was that sick was nightmarish.
Maybe one day I will feel I can handle it. But right now imagining having 2 little kids and coping with the horrendous sickness just makes me feel depressed:gloomy:. I feel really sad about it.
Mumof3furbabies
25-03-2010, 19:49
Totally! The MS I suffered from 5 weeks to 14 weeks would put me off another, but then.. so do alot of other things.. pregnancy, birth, post birth.. it all put me off having anymore:ecomcity:
Youve gotta weigh it up.. if you have an overwhelming desire to have more kids then you dont have much choice but to go through it all again.
I think you are on the ball. If the desire for more wasn't there why would so many women keep going back for more I haven't had my first yet and I am already saying no more but obviously that may change down the track :)
Mumof3furbabies
25-03-2010, 19:52
Same!:laughing: Hungry Jacks became my best friend, it was the only thing I didnt throw up almost.. now Im addicted to the stuff.. and its the reason I gained 22kg during pregnancy..
:( arghhh I have the worst cravings for maccas quarter pounder or a cheeseburger but I can't as I know it would be a waste of good food waiting patiently for m/s to go away.....
I thought I had bad morning sickness with my first. I remember swearing I would never do it again! That I would go on the worst drinking binge so I'd be hung over for days and if I was okay with that, then and only then would I consider doing it again.
One of the woman at work said - you'll do it again because DS will need a sibling ...
Last year my DS started drawing pictures of his family + a sister... oh my...
We talked about it and decided we knew what I was signing up for and knowing this would be the last time, I could do it. DH knew he would be doing all the family duties while I was pregnant if it was like last time. It took 4yrs to forget enough to consider it and within weeks of doing it again I remember why I swore I'd never do it again.
It wasn't the vomitting - it was the constant nausea - the waiting and wishing to throw up. I lost 12lbs in the first trimester. I really should have ended up in hosp. I was so dehydrated my BP was 85/45. I physically couldn't get out of bed a couple of days. I am worried however the effect the hyperemisis has had on my bub?
The good news is each one is different! At 17 weeks things eased off and I can now function. I only throw up on average once a day!
Ha ha try to explain to people that throwing up daily is okay, that is good...
baby no 2
30-03-2010, 07:22
I thought I had bad morning sickness with my first. I remember swearing I would never do it again! That I would go on the worst drinking binge so I'd be hung over for days and if I was okay with that, then and only then would I consider doing it again.
One of the woman at work said - you'll do it again because DS will need a sibling ...
Last year my DS started drawing pictures of his family + a sister... oh my...
We talked about it and decided we knew what I was signing up for and knowing this would be the last time, I could do it. DH knew he would be doing all the family duties while I was pregnant if it was like last time. It took 4yrs to forget enough to consider it and within weeks of doing it again I remember why I swore I'd never do it again.
It wasn't the vomitting - it was the constant nausea - the waiting and wishing to throw up. I lost 12lbs in the first trimester. I really should have ended up in hosp. I was so dehydrated my BP was 85/45. I physically couldn't get out of bed a couple of days. I am worried however the effect the hyperemisis has had on my bub?
The good news is each one is different! At 17 weeks things eased off and I can now function. I only throw up on average once a day!
Ha ha try to explain to people that throwing up daily is okay, that is good...
i was over the moon ONLY having to vomit 4 to 8 times a day with my second baby on good days compared to my first on 10 to 20 times a day........:rolleyes:
I was quite sick with my first pregnancy, I was lucky though because I didn't have to go to work and I had no other kids to look after.
The time I decided to get preg with #2 I had forgotten how aweful I felt the first time round and I swore NEVER AGAIN!
#3 wasn't planned and neither was #4 and OMG it was very hard to get up and face breakfast and making school lunches for the older 2. Driving with a bucket under my chin and constanlty vomiting up bile as I couldn't eat anything but suck on ice. The smells from dinner being cooked was revolting and even the soap smell when the kids where having a bath...I locked myself in my room and hubby had to do everything he could...I had to try my best when he was at work....worse than a bad hangover that lasted till I was about 26 weeks with each pregnancy. I would never plan to get preg ever again as the m/sickness alone is just too horrible to cope with alone without having to care for other kids too.
Mumof3furbabies
02-04-2010, 20:05
All you women deserve a . It amazes me what we put ourselves through and the strength it takes to soldier on.... I wonder how a man would cope with it