View Full Version : IVF Bubs Due April/May/June 2010 #7

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

JetGirl
13-03-2010, 10:29
Woohoo hurray for nesting Lilly :)
The baby clothes are in the wash and it looks like rain, yikes!! This is the first weekend in ages I have had nothing on and it's awesome. I'm sitting in bed with a cuppa and taking notes from juju's book in between laundry loads. This is the life!! Later I'll walk to the shops to get stuff for dinner, then I'll have a bath and get into my pjs again. I love Saturdays. Bring on mat leave!!

EarthAngel75
13-03-2010, 15:04
Michelle welcome to the group - not long to go now for you! You must be soo excited. Ive always heard big babies and better than small as they help dialate you (small ones dont have the force behind them) and I have heard of small women delivering huge babies too so try not to worry :)

Lilly: YAY on the nesting kicking in. I am soooo waiting for that LOL!

Jet: Sounds like you're having a nice lazy day which sounds just perfect. I hope the rain has held off for you - it seems every weekend for the last few it's been raining here which sucks for washing.

AFM: DH has actually been in a cleaning mood and has now filed all the paperwork from the last few months that's been lying around and scubbed 75% of the kitchen that needed doing - wonder if it has to do with the fact his mum is coming this coming Friday? :laughing: Our Boori bolt pack and mattress was ready at the baby store so we went and picked it up and tried putting the Boori sleigh toddler bed together (we found this in toddler bed version (ie no side rails) at a local salvos for $100 so bought it a few months ago. However we managed to break the bed slats (where they screw into the ends) so now have to contact Boori to see if we can buy just the bed slat part and hoping it doesnt cost too much (the bolt pack was $55!!!). Was hoping to have this setup in what we call the Toddler room with all the toys for when we go back for #2 and move DS into this room and in the meantime the girl ill be looking after from next Jan would sleep there for naps.

Oh and I got a local IGA flyer (not sure how they do their sales) but they have huggies nappies for $29.99/box from Monday!

nikki08
13-03-2010, 16:36
Lilly - :yelclap: on the nesting instinct, I'm still waiting for mine to kick in.

JetGirl - sounds like a good day, we were out and about this morning shopping, looking at new fridges and we also bought our pram (Strider Take Two), but it's on order. Then we came home and had a nap, it was so nice to just chill out.

Earthangel - those nappies sound like a bargain. Sorry to hear about the problem with the slats :(

I was speaking to my mum last night and she asked me if I was finishing work soon. I told her I had more or less finished this week but I still need to wind things down next week. She told me a girl she knows who is only due a few days before me went to her antenatal appointment and was told to finish work now and spend the rest of her pregnancy resting and not stressing. Apparently she has BP issues and anemia. So now I don't feel as guilty for finishing a bit early.

JetGirl
13-03-2010, 17:32
Well so much for a lazy day, I did an hour of yoga, some weeding and an hour of walking. May have overdone it a tad cos I've had some bad cramping since. So staying on the couch for now!!
Earthangel good deal on those nappies!!
Nikki well done with the strider, good to get that ticked off the list. You're doing the right thing finishing work now. With all the other crap you have to go through it's the only thing to do - you have to focus on you and the baby.

JetGirl
13-03-2010, 19:28
Ok girls, own up - who will be ironing their baby clothes?

nikki08
13-03-2010, 20:26
Ironing :laughing: oh you make me laugh, I don't even iron my own clothes. Sometimes if hanging ti doesn't work I might ask DH to iron it. Other than that, I'm not really sure which side of the iron points forward :o

Boo83
13-03-2010, 20:33
Ok girls, own up - who will be ironing their baby clothes?

:o yep Jet, that was me! (only coz mum told me I had to!)

allyoop8
13-03-2010, 20:35
hi all back today i was so disappointed i didnt get to spread the word on my sms buddy but was so happy for sarbear i had no internet where i was thankfully sarbear had boos number too thanks boo for doing that

we had a lovely relaxing holiday swam everyday lovely
have i missed anything??

JetGirl
13-03-2010, 20:37
Heehee I thought this would be fun :)
Boo your mum must be like mine - she irons my dad's and brothers' boxers!!
Nikki I love your line about whch way the iron faces lol
I considered it for about 5 seconds and decided I have enough to do :D
Allyoop welcome back - hope you're all relaxed :)

nikki08
13-03-2010, 20:49
JetGirl - as you can tell laundry is not really my thing. My MIL tut tuts me about it, but I'm not changing any time soon. I figure there are better things in life than laundry and I count myself lucky that I have a home office and live in the tropics which requires very little care and ironing :D

Ally - welcome back :wave:

lillyjack
13-03-2010, 21:42
:laughing: I won't be ironing my baby clothes - too scared I will burn them!

Welcome back Alley - glad you had a relaxing time away.

Grrrr, I can't sleep. DH is out tonight and I attempted to go to bed about an hour ago without any luck... so I'm back up trying to think of things to do to make myself feel tired :(

Why am I so exhausted during the day and so restless at night? The constant need to pee doesn't help - I could seriously just sit on the loo and let it dribble out all night :o

nikki08
13-03-2010, 23:02
Lilly - I know what you mean, I am exhausted all day then at night I lie awake for hours sometimes or wake at stupid times like 3am.

EarthAngel75
14-03-2010, 06:12
Lilly and Nikki: I am with you too on the tired all day but totally restless all night. It's sooo annoying! I did actually get to sleep last night without too many troubles though.

Jet: I will be ironing babies clothes that need ironing (none of the jumpsuits and nothing velour - but any tee's, pants, overalls etc). With DD I had a lot more to iron as she had dresses and a lot more ironable clothes period really. I actually really enjoy ironing little clothes.

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 07:12
Earthangel I think that makes perfect sense :)
I seem to be crying at the drop of a hat lately. And I can identify with all the comments about sleeping - or lack thereof!!!

sparklesare
14-03-2010, 08:03
Thanks for the birthday wishes yesterday I had a lovely day with DH.
I'm definitely not ironing the twins clothes but if something absolutely visibly needs it I will run it over, ie a little top or pants or whatever.
I washed all my blankies and wraps yesterday and Mum brought down sone of my Laybys so been unpacking those. Brought the twins their first little toys too, I thought I'd do it sooner but left it later :-)
My dear best friend made me 2 patchwork quilts for the twins and gave me those yesterday when she dropped in for cake. Soo clever, I didn't get an arty gene at all! Can't sew to save myself!!!

nikki08
14-03-2010, 08:52
Sparkles - good to hear you had a great day. Sounds like you are getting really organised. I used to be arty and sew and make crafts years ago, now I seem to have lost any inspiration for those kinds of things :( DH's cousin sent us some handmade bunny rugs in the post all the way from the UK, which was so sweet of her.

JetGirl - I get teary more often, I don't feel sad or upset just teary. It's all those hormones.

I slept last night but had strange dreams and was awake again sometime before the sun came up. Not sure where this new insomnia is coming from now.

sparklesare
14-03-2010, 09:04
The bunny rugs sound very cute Nikki and you can't have too many of those!!

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 11:06
Aw sparkles glad you had a good day.
Nikki the quilts sound awesome. I haven't a creative bone in my body :D
I am getting heaps of baby movement today. It's almost constant! Think he's turned over from head first to feet first cos the bump has totally changed and I swear I feel little feet tap dancing on my cervix, it's very unnerving!!!!

nikki08
14-03-2010, 11:14
JetGirl - most of last week my belly was bouncing all over the place and dancing, the last couple of days it's quieter, with more rolling movements here and there and only a few kicks. I think it depends on how they sit. It's funny to watch though isn't it. By about 37 weeks they should be getting into the head down, bum up position.

I found the perfect fridge/freezer yesterday, I think I fell in love (yes strange I know) so I went home, measured up and it's 2mm to wide :hissy: So it's back to the drawing board.

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 11:18
Nikki, glad to hear it's not just me with the dancing baby :) what a bummer about the fridge!!!!! That sucks!!!!

lillyjack
14-03-2010, 12:33
Sparkles - glad you had a nice birthday and yay for getting the first toys. I made my first toy purchase the other week ... oh and I just got back from shopping where I finally found some little hats that I like! Got some cute little knitted booties too - pink & white stripes :D

Trying to talk DH into picking up the carseat and pram from Layby today - he is hungover though so I'm not sure it will happen :(

hopefulmama2b
14-03-2010, 16:01
Hi Ladies!!
Once again, Sparkles, happy birthday for yesterday my love. Your friend sounds great. I too am extremely uncreative LOL.
Ally- welcome back! Sounds like u had a well deserved great time!
Jet- I am teary too. Constantly! and yeah how WEIRD does the tap dancing on the servix feel? I have had that for WEEKS lol
I too have had a VERY active baby.. he is a little quiet today, possibly due to his MASSIVE growth spurt over the past few days lol.

AFM.. went out to dinner last night and to a pub/nightclub with the girls. Made it to almost 10:30pm before going home, hahaha. Was very proud. Couldn't beleive how tired I was.
I have been extremely achey lately. From my pelvic girdle bone thingy (thanx sparkles lol) to my lower back and low stomach- feels almost like period pain. Soo achey and sore!

lillyjack
14-03-2010, 16:50
Hopeful - is that achey feeling constant or does it come and go? Could be braxton hicks as it can kind of feel like that? Or maybe just ligaments stretching - I have days where I feel as though everything is about to fall out from "down below" :o

Well, I convinced DH to pick up the car seat so that is one less thing I need to get ready. I won't bother getting him to install it until I'm in the hospital with bub though - I figure he'll have 5 days to stuff around and do it then :D

Oh and I also bought yet more trackie dacks because everytime I try on the one's I have got for the hospital they are too small - I think I am growing huge amounts by the day now. This porky little bubba better slow down right now or it will be a torn perenium for me again :(

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 17:01
Hopeful, glad it's not just me with the aches. And a thought BHs are meant to not be painful? I had awful AF-like cramps yesterday. Maybe it's things getting ready for the big day!!
Lilly, funny about the trackies, I bet the labour nightie I bought will be too small now!!

hopefulmama2b
14-03-2010, 17:13
Lilly- its kinda all the time. More so when I get up from sitting or walk.. when I walk its like my vjayjay hurts lol.

lol re the trackies. I swear, I am not buying any more clothes at the moment. I keep "forgetting" I am preggers and buying stupid inappropriate things like skinny jeans and stuff lol.

Jet- although i do not wish af like pains onto u i feel better that we are in the same boat lol. I keep freaking out that I am going into labour? Am I too early at 30 weeks for it to just "happen"? LOL Ohh yeah- HAPPY 30 WEEKS TO MEEE LOL

nikki08
14-03-2010, 17:18
Lilly - why will you be in hospital for five days? Most of my friends only stayed in for 1-3 days at most after baby was born. I might need to stay in a little longer because they want to keep an eye on the baby's BSL though.

Hopeful - Happy 30 weeks :yelclap: I'm not feeling achy but I am feeling exhausted! A lady in the shop today asked me when I was due, I told her early may and she said, "you look like you are ready to pop now, you are all baby", then she said, "but from behind you can't even tell you are pregnant so you must be carrying just out front". It's funny because a lot of people think I am further along than I am but my belly is actually measuring on track :confused: I have to admit though my belly is starting to feel heavy to cart around the shops and as for walking or cycling, well nup I am not interested at all :no:

JetGirl - they were talking again about buying your own nightie for labour and then telling us about how it has to be comfortable and accessible and it will get dirty and I think I'm now sold on a hospital gown. At least they have to clean it and it won't restrict me too much. I have some pretty PJ's I can slip into afterwards though :)

lillyjack
14-03-2010, 17:37
Nikki - maybe it's a private hospital thing the 5 day stay? With both my boys I stayed 5 days but I think at the public hospitals the stay is only usually 2-3 days and then a midwife comes out for a home visit a couple of times?

Hopeful - yeah I know that hurting vajayjay feeling :laughing:

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 17:42
Hopeful, yesterday I ended up googling symptoms of early labour :D am def packing labour bag tomorrow!
Nikki I too will be 5 days in hospy, which is fine by me! I want to feel confident when we get home lol. Re the nightie, I got a cheapie cotton short-sleeved one with buttons to below the BBs - think I'm just trying to make it feel less "medical" or something.

nikki08
14-03-2010, 18:23
Lilly / JetGirl - that makes sense, at our hospital they tend to send you home once you are breastfeeding properly and they are sure you have recovered from the labour well, assuming there are no complications. I was originally hoping that I'd get to go home within the 2-3 days because I hate staying in hospital but because of the bsl I might be there a bit longer. Hopefully I won't get too bored.

Did I mention I am exhausted lately, honestly it feels like all my energy has been zapped from me, for the last week I just can't muster the energy for cooking, cleaning, shopping anything really. I don't even care if my house gets messy, that's so not me! Is this just a third trimester thing?

Boo83
14-03-2010, 18:52
Hopeful/Jet - I've been having those pains for a few days now :(. I was just saying to DH, if it doesn't settle down by early tonight, I was going to ring the midwife.
In saying that, I did some googling and it seems to be perfectly normal. Althought most of the comments said they went early (:thumbsup: hope so!)

Nikki/Lilly - I'm going private, I think we stay for 4 days if natural and 5 for c-section.

sparklesare
14-03-2010, 19:13
Lilly/Boo I'm also the same re hospital 5 days for a natural but I stay 7 days if I have a c sec, but that's up to how your feeling feeding etc. I think 5 days will be heaps!! I've also found out husbands and grandparents get 24/7 access!!!!! Great I thought, no escape!
I'm with a few of you on the movement so uncomfy and the weather today was hot so felt it moreso today. I'm so sleepy where did the week end go?? Twins birth class tomorrow, can't wait!

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 20:07
Can anybody recommend a good nipple cream? It's on my list of things to buy... We just made a list of who to call/SMS on the big day ooh exciting!!

angeleish
14-03-2010, 20:13

Just a quick one from me as I had such a big weekend and am totally stuffed!! Doesn't help that last night I had a shocking nightmare that my baby died before it was born. I literally woke up crying and found it so hard to get back to sleep. :no:

So now I'm in for an early night before what is meant to be yet another chaotic day at work. So not looking forward to it.

Sorry I haven't been on much lately. Too, too busy..... I hope things slow down soon. I'm just so tired and just want to relax

Jetgirl just quickly - my sister and hospital both recommended Lansinoh for BF and cracked nipples. I think it is just a small tube of lanolin and quite natural.

JetGirl
14-03-2010, 20:17
Aw poor angeleish, please take good care of yourself. Thanks for the tip!

nikki08
14-03-2010, 20:32
JetGirl - Like angeleish said, Lanisoh seems to be the choice brand, I've got some in my hospital bag.

Angeleish - that's an awful dream, it's just a dream though, hopefully tonight you'll have a really nice dream.

lillyjack
14-03-2010, 21:26
Sparkles - I think you can sneakily ask the midwives to not allow "granparents" in ... say for example if your just over it and you think they might be coming, just tell the middies and they'll keep them away with an excuse such as you are resting and they don't want you disturbed etc.

Angeleish - sorry you had a bad dream and I hope you get a more restful sleep tonight.

Boo - I have so many moments when I'm about to call the midwives due to "pains" but they always stop if I lay down on my side and rest for a while. Our due dates are close aren't they? We are probably both slipping into pre-labour mode :D

Nikki - I hear you on the exhaustion ... are you still having trouble sleeping at night?

nikki08
14-03-2010, 21:46
Lilly - my sleep doesn't seem as restful anymore, I am always waking up early and then tossing and turning. Plus I get up to pee now more often again, ah the joys of it all :)

Sparkles - like Lilly said the midwives should keep visitors away if you ask them to. They told us in birth classes that if we want visitors to stay away to just write it in the birth plan and the midwives will act as the gatekeeper, saying you need your rest. They'll even screen the calls for you :p

hopefulmama2b
14-03-2010, 22:00

Well, although I am not happy with the fact that you are all feeling crampy and uncomfy I feel very much not alone now which is nice :yes:

I am so tired.. I am rethinking my end of april work plan a bit.. am just going to play it by ear but I am SO sore and tired atm.. will check with the doctor at my appointment wednesday to see how its all going.. Am getting my hair done tomorrow night- hope my HD doesn't mind if I fall asleep :laughing:

angeleish- what a horrible dream u silly goose! No more bad dreams
Sparkles- I agree.. if u dont want visitors then they won't let them in.. they are looking after
the mumma and babies first and foremost :)

good night ladies xx

nikki08
14-03-2010, 22:04
Hopeful - come over to the darkside with me and finish work :p I am so glad I am because the way I feel at the moment I just have no energy left to be productive.

EarthAngel75
15-03-2010, 07:00
Hey Girls :)

I too have had periods of crying for abolsutely no reason and very easily. Luckily for the moment that seems to have passed though.

Nikki: Don't you just HATE findind the perfect something and then for some reason it just wont work out? We have been thru the same thing with fridges. I wanted a side by side but all of them were just too big. We did end up finding a nice 565L one with a water dispenser at the front for just over $1000 though but it only came in white so I had to compromise hehe (wanted silver).

Sparkles: Yay for buying bubbies first toys. I have recently just bought 2 large felt tubs for storing all our soft toys/rattle type toys in so that they'll be out in the living room instead of the main toy room and I can't beleive how many we have lol It seems when we had dd i was always buying them at the baby n kids markets and such places as they were so cheap that now Ive filled these two giant tubs!

Jet: Some people actually complain that BH are painful for them. I think they can be painful but if you move around and change position that the pain should ease (i think thats what i remember reading).

Hopeful: Congrats on 30w! Only 10 more to go...

As for the hospital stay thing - private always lets you stay longer - after all thats how they make their money. Usually in the public system you go home on the morning of the 3rd day (first day is counted as the day you deliver not the next day i learned when had dd) and if a cesear than on the 4th day. I was in for 6 days as i had HBP issues and my wound was acting like it wanted to cause an infection. If you're in a shared room (usually the case in public) you often want to go home sooner anyways as you never get any sleep with the other persons (or peoples) visitors and how they choose to mother (ive heard awful things about women leaving their babies to scream while they go out for a smoke etc).

Angel: What an awful dream! I hope you don't have any more repeats of that nightmare.

As for pains - ive been getting a few but mainly if im out walking about so I try to take it easy (hard to do as im usually such a fast walker) and rest a lot if it's a long trip out. Some women can have prelabour for weeks and weeks before going into actual labour. Some notice it and others dont apparantly. Ive had a lot more of the grinding on the pelvis than i ever did with dd so hoping thats a good sign ill go natural.

AFM: DH and I went to see Alice in Wonderland in 3D yesterday arvo then we took cheese and crackers (cant wait until i can eat soft cheese again) and sat on the lawn for the Canberra Symphony Orchestra performance as part of the Canberra Day celebrations. Was a really nice afternoon/evening. While waiting to go into the movies we went into DJ's to pick up our decaf coffee and noticed they had the new Boori sleigh cot setup in the baby dept and went and checked it out. It's much cheaper than the org ($899 instead of almost $1300) and they have it on sale for 15% off ($765) at the moment and you can get interest free on their cc and also earn $200 in gift vouchers so have decided we're going to buy it in white. It is soooo much sturdier than the one we have (ours shakes and moves if you try and shake it from just one corner) which makes me feel a lot better about safety. It wont be ready until after baby arrives but thats fine since he'll be in with us for the first 6mths or so anyways.

hopefulmama2b
15-03-2010, 09:03
Morning gals

oohh.. am sitting at work am trying to get comfortable. When I was asleep last night it was good.. and when I wasn't MAN i was uncomfortable. Even my body pillow didn't help. I feel like having a massive "being pregnant SUCKS" cry but then bob moves and I am like, aww.. i love this LOL. In all seriousness but, this pain sucks. I feel like I am walking with my legs apart like I have been horse riding coz my joints are so tender. And when I sit my hips and legs get achy. Oh welll...

Nikki- the darkside sounds great.. :yes: let's see how much longer I can hack this for lol.
earth- thanks. Did u enjoy Alice..? I wasn't terribly impressed tbh..

lillyjack
15-03-2010, 09:12
Hopeful - that's no good you're in so much pain! Maybe try some panadol just to see if it helps at all?

My hips and legs ache so much at night, I wake up from the pain - this big chunky baby must be cutting off my blood supply or something :D

I am trying to have yet another day of full on cleaning but finding it hard to get motivated .... realistically I'd just like to lay down and sleep all day but then I know I'll be up all night :rolleyes:

EarthAngel75
15-03-2010, 09:18
Hopeful: I didnt mind Alice but found it hard to understand Johnny Depp at times with the accent he was using and wished there was more of his character in the movie (but i guess then it would have had to have been called the Mad Hatter and not Alice in wonderland!). DH didnt rate it too highly - thought the chacters needed more development and thought the dance that JP did at the end killed the whole thing.

Lilly: I could sleep all day too but am trying to stay awake for the same reason - so that I actually get some sleep tonight. There is some cleaning and a little ironing i need to do but so far i havent found the energy.

JetGirl
15-03-2010, 09:34
Hi girls, I called in sick. Can't face work. So so so tired, sore and generally crappy. Slept in guest room last night and dh's face was a picture this morning - trying to pretend he hadn't just had the best sleep in ages lol.
Earthangel good job with the Boori!
Nikki I wanna come to the darkside!!!

hopefulmama2b
15-03-2010, 09:40
good on ya jetgirl :yelclap: and lol at your DH

OK- am going to try and stop being a wah wah- seeing as though we are all in the same painful boat LOL

nikki08
15-03-2010, 10:10
Hopeful / JetGirl - I'm still at work this week, at least part time trying to tie up some loose ends. I am going to be so grateful when I can stop properly. I am exhausted! Went to the doctor just now and he said I need another iron test in two weeks but my fatigue is probably related to my restless sleep now and all my tossing and turning.

JetGirl - enjoy your day off and put your feet up :)

EarthAngel75 - I'm not really drawn to the new Alice in Wonderland, seems a bit disjointed. I might hire it on DVD though. It's a shame because most of Johnny Depps films are usually quite good. I think this might be a little bit abstract for me though.

LillyJack - I am glad you still have the energy to clean the house, my housework efforts have slipped. I make a strong effort to make the bed and keep the kitchen clean everything else is taking a backseat at the moment. I wonder how clean my house will be with a newborn...

EarthAngel75
15-03-2010, 10:28
Jet: Enjoy your day off and try and catch up on some sleep :) Just don't nap too late as in my experience it means youll be even worse off tonight!! If nothing else - relax and enjoy putting your feet up.

Nikki: The new Alice in more like Alice in wonderland #2 and a modern take of the traditional Alice in Wonderland (she's all grown up in this movie and they talk of her being there years before etc). I'm a huge Johnny Depp fan - he's just soo suited to some of the roles he's done.

Well ive just been good this morning lol took out my rubbish from my crafting room and finished off DH's casual ironing. Now to find the energy to hang out the wash from last night. I've also now booked our photographer for DS's first year of photos. We'll be getting newborn photos done in the first 2 weeks, 3mths, 6mths, 9mths and 12mths and she said she'd snap a few belly shots when i see her in early May to sign the contract and make payment. We also got a deal on a package of prints etc and will be getting an 8x10, 2 - 5x7's, a CD with 6 high res images on it from each session and then 12x12 bound book with all images in it. Costing quite a bit of $$$ but worth every cent imo.

nikki08
15-03-2010, 10:41
Earthangel - :iagree: as a big fan of photos I believe that they are worth the $$. At the time the expense may be big but when you look back years later you'll be grateful for them. Even happy snaps taken throughout your life are so precious in years to come. I love looking at photos of our childhood and of the earlier years of DH and me together. Our child is going to have so many happy snaps they will start thinking we are the paparazzi :laughing:

I'm going to create my own photo book though, but I'm booking the photographer who did my belly shots in for newborn photos and I'll also take a heap myself. Plus my mum will want some for her wall, she currently has my nephew plastered everywhere, she loves photos too.

EarthAngel75
15-03-2010, 11:12
Nikki: I so agree. All up our whole photo experience is costing us $4000 but it is worth every single penny imo. With DD I had DH stressing about money (he was contracting and constantly worried they were not going to renew) and my mum who thought her photo taking was just fine and that we shouldnt pay money for such things so we never got proper photos done. As a result we have only 2 family photos that my mother took and they're really not all that great (http://s17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/bestdressedkids/Arwen/)

It bothers me to this day that I dont have a very good nice photo of my daughter and the three us of together as a family and that I have no choice but to live with what Ive got.

nikki08
15-03-2010, 11:25
Earthangel - it's a big expense but you are so right, you can never get those years back. My sisters camera broke when her little boy was about 2 months old and as a result she went months without many photos apart from what friends / relatives took. I took some family photos for them while I was over there but I live so far away it's a once a year thing. I don't think you'll regret the photos you're booking in, sounds like you appreciate the sentiment with a more long term consideration.

BTW your little girl looks adorable, you both look very grateful to have had her in your lives :hugs:

EarthAngel75
15-03-2010, 13:11
Geez it's quiet in here today. Maybe thats a good thing lol I did some scrapbooking on my pregnancy album - pretty well finished the first 3 months other than titles etc that I need to cut out using my electronic plotter which i just can't be bothered doing right now.

Nikki: Nope you never get the years back and ill tell ya something - without the person here with you it's hard to just 'remember' what it was like or how things were. Somehow having a living person around helps to jog particular memories etc. Without the physical person the memories seem to fade into nothing in such a short period of time and all you are left with is photos to try and remember. I was a little photo crazy with her (didnt have my DSLR back then though) so have almost a complete 200 photo album full of pics even though she was in hospital for almost 3mths! oohh and I definately wont regeret spending the money on the photos - not spending the $ with dd is the biggest regret of my life so far... You just never know what life will bring you and what you'll regret later so not having regrets this time around!

We tend to think of our dd as an angel who was sent to us to bring us hope (thru and about the whole AC ordeal) but was never meant to stay on earth.

JetGirl
15-03-2010, 13:14
Woohoo labour bag is approx 90% packed and it feels really good but I can't put my finger on why!
I'm so tired I can't believe it (I know, I say thus every Monday). No energy at all. Was gonna go for a walk this arvo but I think I would rather do an hour of yoga.
Re pics: we got a babiesgalore voucher for a photo session plus DH is a great photographer with a professional camera so he's gonna buy a flash for it cos he'll take heaps of pics, yay!
Ps earthangel I agree with Nikki, you're so right to spend the $$$

nikki08
15-03-2010, 13:36
JetGirl - I hear you on having no energy. I am usually pretty on top of housework, even though I do whinge about it. At the moment I am just not caring at all, so unlike me! My labour bag is packed too, it feels good doesn't it. I just have a few other bits and pieces to add but I'm pretty well sorted. Plus I'll get DH to take away anything I don't need and bring new fresh stuff when he visits to save me from packing too much.

EarthAngel - sounds like your angel is looking out for you and now you'll be able to look forward to meeting your little boy soon.

Boo83
15-03-2010, 17:01
Ok ladies, please share! whats in your labour bags????

I'm starting to slow down at work over the next 2 weeks and hopefully finish by easter. I'd love to have all my bags pack by the too (can you tell I'm hoping to go early:p)

Cat21
15-03-2010, 17:02
Another Monday another very tiring, hot day at work.

Hopeful, Sparkles and other Melbournites - how are you finding this new dose of heat we're having????

EarthA - what a beautiful baby - and thanks for sharing your story about DD.

Nikki - agree re the photobooks. Keep an eye on for some of those small books - they make great brag books for the grandparents and are very quick, easy and cheap to make. I've really enjoyed using various photobook software and they do look so professional when complete. Momento have some of the best software but Target is very similar and I've been really impressed with their quality.

I got a great gift yesterday from my sis - she's bought us a packet of every different brand of newborn nappy on the market (except Huggies, thankfully, which was next on her list but I already have a massive box!). She even scored a sample of the new Sorbies ones! I'll update you all with reviews as I get through them! Thankfully I read the Choice review saying that some of the cheap ones aren't as bad as they used to be so I'm even looking forward to trialling the Aldi brand but I'm not sure if I'm brave enough to use anything but Huggies at night!

sparklesare
15-03-2010, 17:25
Cat: Over the heat!!! Be gone with it I say!! :p Spent yesterday down the beach and even managed to burn my legs!!! Crazy!

Boo: Yet to pack my hospy bag also...need to get my A in to G me thinks. Thats great your finishing up soon, time to relax soon enough. I hear you re going early...would be nice I think also!:yelclap: DH is of the opinion, more us time is needed for a few more weeks yet!

nikki08
15-03-2010, 18:04
Boo: My hospital bag is fairly minimalist but it contains:

Lanisoh nipple cream
Maternity Bras
Chapstick
Headband (tip from the midwife to keep annoying hair out of face)
PJ's
Breast Pads
Maternity Pads
Socks
Wet Wipes
My oldest most unattractive undies (I'll throw them out afterwards)

Things I still have to add:

Snacks (if I am allowed to with my bsl readings)
Make-up / Moisturiser
Shampoo / Conditioner
Day time clothes
Change for TV or snacks
My mobile phone - charged and ready to go
Digital camera

Cat / Sparkles - I am over the heat too. I think the heat is one of the reasons I am not sleeping as well.

JetGirl
15-03-2010, 18:42
Boo I'm having a small labour bag and a bigger hospy bag. In the labour bag:
nightie
nipple pads
lip balm
tissues
loo roll
pens
notebook
nipple cream when I get it
toiletries
stress balls
socks
swimmers
inhaler - I have asthma
nivea face wipes instead of having to pack all my face stuff lol
wet ones and hand sanitiser - not sure why!
Not bringing knickers cos I figure what's the point?
Lavender spray for the tissues to hold to my nose to help relax
I will add powerades and snacks which my ob will probably forbid :(
hairband which I will buy this w/e

hospy bag will have yoga pants, nighties, bf singlets, dressing gown, maternity pads, cardies, socks, maybe a book, Disposable knickers, camera with spare batteries, towels if they don't provide them, ugg boots. I think at the private hospy they give you a fancy dinner as a couple on the last night so I have no clue what to bring for that.
Ooh iPhone charger too, very important!!!

allyoop8
15-03-2010, 19:47
just took me all that time to read thru post now i forgotten who asked about the nipple cream
best thing is before and after every feed you squeeze a bit a breast milk on your nipple and when you put it on after the feed try and let it air dry if you can i swear by this a midwife told me this and i had no troubles at all

hospital bag lol what hospital bag lol

hopefulmama2b
15-03-2010, 19:49
Nikki- LOL. I packed my oldest daggiest comfiest hello kitty undies to be turfed afterwards as well.
Boo- I'm pretty much the same re the packing as Nikki. I added some comfy stuff that doesn't look too "PJ" like for after bub is born, some singlets, a zip up hoodie and some comfy harem pants and my havs lol.
cat- this weather is f**ed up lol. I am OVER it! Was so hot in the office this morning, they didnt even have the aircon on until i asked them! Hello?!
Sparkles- aww I wanna go to the beach!!!! I hate work, lol.

I went to the HD tonight and got reblonded lol YAY. Feel more human again lol

hopefulmama2b
15-03-2010, 19:53
P.S I have HIDEOUS cankles!! :(

JetGirl
15-03-2010, 19:57
Hopeful, yay for the hairdo!
Angeleish, thanks for the nipple tip!!

angeleish
15-03-2010, 20:09
Jetgirl - no worries about the "nipple tip" lol!!!

ally - our midwife also recommended the breast milk on the nipple too! Will definitely be giving that a go.

I think it was cat who mentioned the Melbourne weather - yup I hate it. I was so enjoying the cooler weather. Hopefully this warm heat doesn't last too long!

Cat - the gift from your sister sounds great! What a wonderful effort she has gone to!

I haven't even started on any of my hospital packing - labour bag, baby bag, hospital bag.... nothing is prepared at all. I figure I will do it once I start mat. leave..... so I guess I'm stuffed if I go too early!

Not much to report here. Slept better last night after my crappy dream the night before. I tend to find I either have nights where I am so exhausted I sleep really well (apart from the toilet trips), or other nights where I just become an insomniac and sleep wont come at all!!

nikki08
15-03-2010, 20:12
Hopeful - :yelclap: for the hair, I am getting mine done is two weeks so looking forward to it.

Ally - us first time mums are a bit over zealous aren't we, packing our hospital bags weeks in advance :p I think it's just the pure excitement of going from pregnant woman to mummy. That nipple trick sounds really good, I'll have to remember to try it.

JetGirl - I packed Kleenex Flushable Wipes instead of paper because someone (might have been on this forum) said that after you give birth you'll be grateful the gentle softness. As for the snacks like you I am not sure I will be allowed to have them either because sugars are hard to control during labour.

JetGirl
15-03-2010, 21:14
Ooh good tip Nikki, I shall add them to my shopping list :)
Man it is hot and sticky again :(

Cat21
15-03-2010, 22:35
Speaking of breast milk - the midwife at my baby class also suggested that a drop of breast milk also helps cure any eye infection that your bub may get!

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 06:37
Hopeful: YAY on getting your hair redone. Bummer about the cankles. Luckily i havent had many instances of cankles this time around but I havent been out on my feet much either which probably explains it! If DH and I go for our 30min walk after dinner when i get back i can feel my hands and feet starting to swell though.

all you melb girls - your weather from yesterday is hitting us today and I am NOT looking forward to it at all! I too was enjoying the much cooler weather and hoping the heat wouldnt come back.

As for hospital bags - I havent packed mine yet either but I'm quite a few weeks behind most of you. Ill have it packed by 35w which is usually what they recommend in case you do go early. Ill have chapstick, poweraide, snacks, stress balls, harder balls, music in mine and I'm not sure what else yet.

Angel: glad you got a better nights sleep. I'm like you in that I either sleep really well due to pure exhuastion or have insomnia for much of the night.

Cat: the BM in the eye works wonders. Did this when dd had bad eyes for two or so weeks and it helped clear it all up. BM is a very good substance for almost anything like that - great healing properties.

I think ill get my hair cut and styled etc in the morning of the day ill be meeting with our photographer to sign the contract and make the first payment as she is going to take some pg photos then. That way I'll at least look half decent! hehe

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 06:46
Morning Ladies,

I wrote a long post last night but it was lost :(

You are all very organised with your labour bag packing .... I like the idea of the flushable wipes too :D I hadn't thought of that!

I think I might wash baby clothes today - looks like good weather - can't wait to see all the little pink stuff on the clothesline - might even take a pic of it all :laughing:

hopefulmama2b
16-03-2010, 07:43
morning girls
i feel soo sick :barf:
i think i have gastro.. called in sick to work..
is it bad to have gastro while preg? I have no idea lol.. all i know is I feel violently ill and spewy... yuck :crying:

sparklesare
16-03-2010, 07:52
Ohh no Hopeful, hope your okay. Was it something you ate? I had the same thing last night, felt very spewy but tried a diff recipe for dinner....maybe that was my hint not to cook it!!! Feel better Hopeful get those fluids in today it's hot again :-(
Off to OB this morning to get the latest on these little monkeys inside. Hope your all doing okay.

hopefulmama2b
16-03-2010, 07:57
aww hi sparkle
nah i think its just going around. i called my boss to tell him and he said he had the same thing and was also staying home lol.
everything i drink i bring back up so i might go have a little sleep and try again later
have fun at the obs, hope your little monkeys are behaving xx

nikki08
16-03-2010, 08:05
Hopeful - I had a stomach bug a few weeks ago, no fun. I saw the doctor and he said just to keep up fluids and to report back if I had a fever.

Sparkles - I haven't tried a new recipe in months, my menu has been so boring my whole pregnancy. I hope I get my passion for cooking back after bub is born. What did you make?

angeleish - I'm the same I either sleep like a log or I am awake half the night. Last night I thought I'd be staring at the ceiling again but I managed to fall asleep eventually. Then the dog woke me up with his over-vigilance at our fence. I am going to have to work out how to stop that barking.

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 08:05
Sparkles - have fun at the OB!

Hopeful - sorry to hear you are sick, rest up and try to drink little sips of water if you can. Or suck on an ice-block (or ice cubes) sometimes that can help.

angeleish
16-03-2010, 08:18
hopeful - take it real easy hun! As lily said try little sips of water or even ice. If you keep having troubles keeping fluids down though then I would go see a Dr your little man needs his mum to stay well hydrated. . . especially since it's meant to be quite warm today.

sparkles - ooh an ob appointment!! Hope the 2 littlies are doing well. Let us know how you go.

lily - washing lots of pink clothes sounds great fun!! Think I would be taking pictures too!!

As for the hospital bag - I agree.... flushable wipes sound like a great idea.:thumbsup:

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 08:22
Lilly: Have fun washing all the little pink clothes. I had the thought of doing the same thing today as it's going to be warm and I have a whole hamper full and that's not including sheets or blankets etc but I feel it's too early for me since I've still got just under 12w to go.

Hopeful: Sorry to hear you are sick. Take care of yourself, rest up, get some sleep and if you can't keep any fluids down I'd ring the hospy and see what they say as it's fluids that are sooo important and they may want you to come in for an IV fluid drip to keep you hydrated (oh and you dont want a fever either). I'm hoping it's just a 24hr thing for you :)

sparkles: Have fun at the ob :)

Well ive actually found some energy and am doing some of the washing and cleaning up that has needed doing this morning already and it's only just after 9am! Have started changing over my wardrobe since i have the energy as most of the summer stuff in there i cant wear at the moment anyways and starting putting some of my winter stuff in instead for when the weather cools down again.

sparklesare
16-03-2010, 08:36
Nikki: I attempted (read: badly!) Beef Wellington, but just the pastry side of it was a bit of a disaster!!! And it didnt agree with me late last night...DH said it was good, love him, way to his heart is through his cast iron stomach! I love cooking, but moreso a main course cooker than anything else.

nikki08
16-03-2010, 08:53
Sparkles - Even though I love cooking when it comes to making things wrapped in pastry I always seem to mess it up. Hopefully it was just a bit of mild gastro us pregnant women are more susceptible. Hope you feel better today. These days I stick to the simple things, and DH still praises my cooking, bless them for their support :D

Earthangel - I haven't had a winter wardrobe for nearly three years now. The closest things I have are a few light weight cardigans.

sparklesare
16-03-2010, 08:57
Same here re the pastry...its one of those things guaranteed to go wrong with me every single time!!! Feel a bit better, surprisingly slept well last night once I dropped off which has helped.

Is it humid and sticky in FNQ? I dont know how you do the heat up there, but in saying that I would love it in the cooler months. How long have you been up there?

nikki08
16-03-2010, 09:02
Sparkles - the wet season is horrid, humid and sticky and wet. However it really only bothers you Nov - Mar. The rest of the year it's lovely up here, mild, warm and only rains occasionally. So it's perfect if you like being outdoors. I'd love to have a pool because up here you can swim for most of the year, but where we live we don't have one. We might move to a house with a pool once bub is a bit older to take advantage of the weather.

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 09:08
Nikki: I could not live up where you do! I admire anyone who can. one of my SIL's lives in Airlie Beach and we went up there for xmas a number of years ago now and I almost didnt survive LOL! It was sooooo humid by 10am in the morning it was awful - but I don't really do humidity at all. I don't know how I even survived living in Sydney for all the years that I did. I much prefer having 4 proper seasons and holidaying somewhere with warmer weather if I want to escape the cold.

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 09:18
Poor Hopeful, I really hope you can keep the fluids down.
Sparkles, good luck with the OB!
I'm back at work today, not feeling much better but feel bad for calling in sick when I'm really just run down and cranky...

angeleish
16-03-2010, 09:33
Jetgirl - I wouldn't feel bad for calling in sick if I were you. You have sick leave.... you are entitled to it. Not feeling good emotionally is a good enough reason to use it. As my parents tell me (when I make excuses not to call in sick) - no one will thank you for not using your sick leave.

Nikki - I think I would have to have a pool if I lived where you do. It would be great when baby is bigger (very scary to have a pool when baby is young though!). How's the wind down with work going?

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 09:48
Sparkles - your dinner sounds yum.Well done :) I can not cook to save my life. Although I go ok at making biscuits and slices probably because I would prefer to eat them than a meal :laughing:

Nikki - I normally love warm weather but just not during pregnany. I would love to live in FNQ but would have to have a pool I think! Are you close to the coast?

Jet - take as much sick leave as you can I say :thumbsup:

nikki08
16-03-2010, 10:07
JetGirl - don't feel guilty, I am basically going on early maternity leave because I don't have the energy anymore and I feel a bit tired and crappy during the day. Pregnancy isn't the same as feeling sick but it doesn't mean we have to martyr ourselves either, women are notorious for feeling they have to do it all. Maybe ask them about going part-time until maternity leave. My sister went part-time from about 32 weeks and she said if she could have she would have gone on full maternity leave but p/t was better than nothing.

LillyJack - no we don't, but we are thinking of moving to the coast and having a pool too. It would be nice to be able to walk along the beach at night, but I'd prefer to swim in my pool, not a huge fan of swimming with all the creepy crawlies.

angeleish - I want to start swim lessons with bub from 4 months, I know someone who started at 2 months. Apparently if you start them young they adapt quicker and they are basically swimming before they can walk. Plus it must be good exercise for them.

EarthAngel75 - I'm the opposite I like to holiday in the cold, get all rugged then look forward to the warmth back home :)

Boo83
16-03-2010, 10:08
Hopeful - I had a week off sick with gastro only 2 weeks ago. I went to my doc after 4 days and the baby was doing nicely. He said the best thing to try and drink is poweraide type drinks. He said sports drinks are better than water when your sick. Hope your feel better soon.

sparklesare
16-03-2010, 10:32
Nikki: can you start swimming classes very early on? I was thinking it would be great for the twins also...mind you need my Mum for it during the week or DH on the week end for the extra set of hands. I would love to get them in the water...how cute in their bathers!!!!

I need to look in to it me thinks!:yelclap:

nikki08
16-03-2010, 10:43
Sparkles - the one closest to me starts lessons from 4 months, so I'll be signed up for then. I really want to get the baby used to the water because we have so many rivers, drains, pools, beaches up this way I think it's just a wise move. Even though nothing beats supervision. You'll need two sets of hands though with twins, I bet your mum or DH would love to go, everyone who does swim class seems to love it! Plus they usually do it in a heated pool so the babies love it too, like being back in the womb I suppose :)

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 10:48
Aw that sounds like a great idea girls :) I must look into it too. When I have the energy!
Hey, gross question, can we use thrush creams in pregnancy?

nikki08
16-03-2010, 10:54
Aw that sounds like a great idea girls :) I must look into it too. When I have the energy!
Hey, gross question, can we use thrush creams in pregnancy?

I think externally you can, but it's best to check with the OB I think. You could try home remedies as well but once again I'd just check with the OB because anything that goes up there is going to touch the cervix.

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 11:01
Sparkles and Nikki re: the swimming lessons. I think most people recommend not swimming with baby until 6mths (partly for immune reasons and partly due to the chemicals - there was gastro in our local pool in the last month). If you can find a local pool that doesnt use too many chemicals Ive heard of people doing it from younger and a lot of people swim with their younger babies in private pools (you can find private swimming lessons in private pools in the bigger cities and even here in Canberra). We'll be taking our boy swimming once he hits 6mths while over in Canada for xmas this year.

Sparkles: many of the multiple mums i know use these orange floatie ring things when they take their multiples swimming even if both parents are there. Once they're over 1 I highly recommend the floatie swimsuits (http://www.mypoolpal.com/). I have never used them while looking after multiples or anything but I used to take a 3yo to her swimming lessons and had her 1yo brother in the pool with me and then we'd all swim afterwards and in summer i had them in our pool together. The floatie suits keeps them above the water fairly easily and means you don't have to have such a hawk eye on them all the time (good if you have one not scared at all of the water -1yo boy was like this - would jump in without thinking!) The one I used allowed you to remove individual pieces of styrofoam so as they became more confident you could remove some of the floatie-ness and they'd learn more about keeping themselves
afloat and swimming etc.

Jet: you can use thrush cream but not the other stuff...

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 11:25
Sparkles: these are the orange floatie things twin mummies seem to use in the pool with their babies:
http://www.zoggs.com.au/index.php?option=com_products&task=viewProduct&id=88&Itemid=73

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 13:51
Woohoo got me some Lansinoh or however you spell it. Says on the box you can use it during pregnancy to "prepare"... fun fun fun.

nikki08
16-03-2010, 14:34
Prepare - :confused: sounds intriguing.

An old wives tales (that my mum was taught) says that around 36 weeks you should start using a loofah on your nipples to get them ready but more modern approaches say that all that does is make the nipple sore beforehand and usually pain from breastfeeding is a more direct result of the baby not latching properly. A friend sent me some youtube videos of how a baby should latch and if they don't, take them straight off and try again BEFORE you damage your nipples. I found that quite helpful because I always assumed that it had to be painful to start with, but apparently if you do it right it doesn't have to be.

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 14:42
LOOFAH???? That sounds like torture!!! Apparently using Lansinoh while UTD makes them more "supple" which in theory will help with dryness later... I guess the less dry they are before you start, the better?! Yeah reading up on it what you've said seems to be the latest guideline on it... Oh the joys... I bet you anything I get mastitis... :D

nikki08
16-03-2010, 14:52
I really hope not :no: apparently that is quite a painful condition. If using lanisoh beforehand helps I'll be all up for it. I am going to make a booking with the lactation consultant at the hospital anyway to talk about expressing colostrum beforehand so I'll ask them about tips and tricks then. For some reason I find BFing more daunting than labour, probably because it's something that nearly everyone I know struggled with and stressed about.

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 14:56
Yeah my Mum had it with my little brother and I remember confusing the term with a mastectomy LOL!!
Oh yeah I forgot you were seeing the LC, that's so good that you can do it early on. I bet it will help. You'll be fine Nikki :)

8isenough
16-03-2010, 15:58
Hi girls sorry I havent been in here but Ive been in hospital on and off as my body isnt copeing having 2 babies to look after. Everytime i seem to get on the computer id start feeling dizzy and sick so I just couldnt get on. So for now Im feeling ok so I try and post as much as I can while im feeling ok.

I cant catch up on all your post cause Ive missed like the last 3 or 4 threads :-(.
So you will have to fill me in on the most important goss.

Babies are doing just fine and are both the same size as a single baby at the same gestation. Twin A is 3p 8oz and Twin B is 3p 10oz give or take cause there machines arent spot on but it gives you a pretty good idea on there size. I had my first ever baby shower on saturday. It was so much fun and was just an awesome day.
Nursery has been finished for afew week now so im happy its all ready.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/album.php?albumid=1763
My Ob is looking at doing my c/s at 35/36 weeks so im starting to get abit on edge about it all.
Anyways its time to cook dinner. Take care girls xx

nikki08
16-03-2010, 16:06
momof6 - wow with two babies as big as singletons no wonder your body is finding it hard work. I've only got one on board and am feeling tired and lazy these days. Your nursery is lovely, very pretty :) Only a few more weeks and your two babies will be here, so exciting but I can understand daunting at the same time. I'm sure you'll do fine :yes:

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 16:16
Aw love the nursery momof6! You're doing great!!!

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 16:24
Great Nursery Momof6 - everything is very neat and organised. Hmm, won't be taking any pics of the inside of my wardrobes :o

Jet & Nikki - my nipples are already really sore and tender so maybe I should get that cream? I had a lot of trouble breastfeeding with my boys because it just hurt so much....my nipples bled and were basically split in 2! The lactation consultants all said I was doing it right and the boys were latching on just fine but it just wasn't working for me. Needless to say I gave up after a while. I am hoping I'll do better this time but I am not counting on it :(

nikki08
16-03-2010, 16:31
Lillyjack - sorry to hear about your trouble BFing :( Maybe the cream will help this time? I've heard it can be quite a stressful time learning how to BF and pushing through the discomfort at the same time. Us women really do get a raw deal sometimes!

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 16:37
Ouch lillyj. That really sucks that they couldn't work out why.

8isenough
16-03-2010, 16:39
I think i have one dud nipple, i can only get stuff from the right side and not the left :'(

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 16:45
The most frustrating thing was that I had HEAPS of milk. I could have fed about 10 babies I think. It was literally pouring out. I managed to express for a while when I just physically couldn't feed anymore but it was so time consuming and I felt a bit like a cow put on the milking machine that I threw in the towel on that too.

The only theory the ped and middies could give me that it was because of the shape of my boys mouths (they have small mouths which were tiny as newborns).

8isenough
16-03-2010, 16:48
Lillyjack...with my first baby i used a soft toothbrush in the shower to get my nipples ready.

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 16:52
Lillyjack...with my first baby i used a soft toothbrush in the shower to get my nipples ready.

I can just imagine if DH (or my kids) walked in on me doing that :laughing:

I think the less I touch them the better now ... I will just see how I go and at least bub will get the first few days of the all important colostrum out of me .... it wasn't until my milk came in that the problems (and pain) started!

EarthAngel75
16-03-2010, 17:18
momof6: your nursery looks lovely :) Hope you're getting to rest up lots and your babies will be here before you know it.

Lilly: Sounds like you had a really hard time feeding your boys. I have heard from several other women who couldnt BF (or gave up early on) due to their babies mouths/jaws/face shape etc were just wrong for BFing. I don't think it's all that uncommon. Did anyone else in your family have issues? I know one good friend who knew she may have issues as her mother had them with all of her kids and as it turns out my friend had the same as her mother. Maybe you'll luck out this time and your girl will get some different genes in that department. My DH was just telling me (as he's studying biology at the moment) how genes grouped together are often the dominant ones and the ones that appear - so the fact you're having a girl this time might mean you get a totally different look due to different genes being grouped around the x chromosone - who knows!

I'm hoping I don't I dont have any BFing issues. My mother certainly didnt and never got any pain etc. I was told when I had dd that I had good nipples etc for BFing so I guess ill have to wait and see. I'm praying our little boy has got a complete cleft too as hard/soft palettes are not seen on u/s. I have kept all of DD's special bottles just in case and my electric pump.

JetGirl
16-03-2010, 19:44
Oh the joys that we have ahead of us!!!
Wonder how Sparkles got on at the OB...

Boo83
16-03-2010, 19:58
:smiliedance: boo's bag is packed! Now I just have to think of what to put in mine :rolleyes:

lillyjack
16-03-2010, 20:35
Boo - look at your ticker :D

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 06:55
Morning Girls

god I had a sh^t day yesterday lol.. feeling much better today but, and thanks for all the tips and info ladies, I went and got some powerade yesterday afternoon and drank it.
off to the clinic this morning to see how my bob is going :yes: hope my bp and all is fine :fingerscrossed:

lillyj- i hope u can bf this time. my mum didnt bf any of us, she hated the way it felt and although i realllly want to bf, she told me to not feel bad if I can't so I am not going to. The midwife says that if it hurts or its not working then u are not doing it right and by seeing a lactation nurse you can fix it therefore everyone can bf- i disagree.
boo- yay for the bag packing and yes, your ticker, omg!!
sparkles- how was ur ob appt??

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 07:42
Morning everyone :)

Hopeful: Glad you're feeling better and that you survived yesterday. Good luck with your clinic app and your BP - hopefully all is good :)

I too disagree that everyone can BF. Silly midwife saying that - that just makes people feel guilty and very bad when they can't actually do it. Ive known people who beat themselves up about things like that for months after bubs is born and it doesnt help with everything else one has to adjust to. In my AC DIG when i was pg with DD there were at least 3 of us who couldnt BF - me due to DD having a cleft, 1 due to nipple/mouth shape issues (I'd say like LillyJ) and another whose milk just never came in (she hardly had any colstrum either) and she really beat herself up about it and saw a LC for weeks and pumped etc - it was an absolutely horrible experience for her. Here in the ACT I have a mate who also has PCOS and her milk never really came in either - she struggled with this when her first was born (she was never told beforehand that 33% of PCOS never have their milk come in) and pumped what she could (only about 60ml/day) for the first few months trying to do what is best for bub and stressed over it etc. When her second was born she was much more relaxed about it and tried BFing - espcially for the colstrum but then just switched to formula after the first week or two.

AFM: Well we finally sold the last pc of furniture I wanted out of here before bubs comes along last night WOOHOOO!! That just leaves DD's bouncer (everytime DH sees it he sees dd in it so it has to go) but if it doesnt sell soon Ill just give it to the Salvos. I may take advantage of the warm weather we are having to wash all the muslin wraps/bunny rugs etc today so that they are out of the way - better to be able to use the sun to dry them then waiting and having to use the dryer I reckon. Only 2 more days until the MIL arrives and hopefully next week we'll have the nursery finished off! I sooo can't wait.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 08:07
(Why is there no St. Patrick's Day smiley?!?)

Morning ladies and Happy Paddy's Day to you all!!!!

Hopeful good luck with the clinic today.

My mission this week is to book in some aircon quotes. Anybody got any recommendations?

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 08:31
Jet: What kind of aircon are you wanting? Were you the one planning on getting ducted heating sometime? If so I'd try ringing all the larger companies (usually those who provide elect/gas services) and ask them whether they do ducted with electricity (i think it was you who doesnt have gas) and tell them you want both heating and cooling as this is by FAR the cheapest way of doing it. If you can't find anyone who will do it with electricity (I do know of some people who do have ducted with elec here in the ACT but no one seems to do it anymore) then your best bet is using inverters. Doing it this way means you have to buy each unit for each room (smaller rooms you can get away with split systems from somewhere like Bunnings as they still have 5-6 star energy ratings and only cost about $400/unit). A unit for a reasonable sized living area is more like $1500-2000 if you want good energy ratings (worth it imo as you save in energy consumption charges). I think the Panasonic we have in our living area cost us just over $1500 on sale from Harvey Norman and has 5/6 stars - which uses a max of 2kws in any mode/setting and yet outputs over 6kws in both heating and cooling. The one BIG downfall in having to use inverters/split systems is that they don't operate all that well in cold climates (so in winter when it drops below a certain temp overnight they can take a while to start up in the morning as the outside unit is so cold it has to blow back on itself to warm up etc) and it will do this periodically if it stays cold in the morning/throughout the day. Should only be a prob for you in the mornings as you're out west in syd so I'm assuming it usually warms up by mid morning (it can stay pretty cold here all day at times).

We paid $600/small unit for intall and $700 for the larger one. We used the guy Harvey Norman recommended as we tried people out of the paper and they were totally unreliable!! The HN guy had a team of 6+ guys come and they did all 3 units in less than half a day or so.

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 08:36
Ohh and Happy St Paddy's day!!

Jet: Also if you're good with your money and can budget interest free can be a VERY good friend when it comes to getting heating/cooling done. All the big companies who do ducted down here offer interest free for 2+ years and if you need to buy big inverters etc HN and other big chains offer interest free on the units at least (we always use interest free and then divide the cost over # of months + $3.95 admin fee/mth and make that our monthly payment so we never pay any interest etc. Also i think I remember Clive (I think it's Anthony's we have down here) offering interest free on the unit AND install which is very handy!

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 08:47

Well I saw the OB yesterday and it appears I have two very healthy growing bubbies inside. My placenta is doing good, no bleeding and calmed right down...think its the early mat leave hehehe :laughing: forcing me to slow down and relax a bit.

The twins are 1400g and 1350g respectively already so doing nicely. He expects two 6-7 pound bubbies so somewhere in the 2-3.5 kilo mark each. And one has very prominent ears girls!!! My reaction to that was "not Prince Charles ears or anything hideous!"

Twin A is very low already, not ready to come out now very low, but low enough for him to ask hows the kicks and Braxton Hicks going, this baby must be killing you! Twin B is sideways across my belly and kicks the other one so lots of movement going on as you can imagine.

We asked when he thought they would make an appearance, well DH did, and he said "I would give you a 50/50 chance of being pregnant still at 36 weeks!!! He said if you can get to 37-38 great, but with Twin A already so low, he doesnt like my chances at all and said, prepare yourselves, your going to be parents soon!!!:smiliedance:

Im excited, nervous, poor DH is scared out of his mind I think, asked 3 times if the OB was sure!! I had to laugh, some things he cant control!

So all in all we are doing great. I have the elegance and grace of a retarted hippo at the moment but I am riding this wave and enjoying it. No stuff has arrived yet which is nothing short of amusing now as I will probably get the babies before that arrives!!! Will laugh in years to come but right now...NOT IDEAL!!!:laughing:

Growth scan in 3 weeks will tell me more.

Sorry for the me me post...sorry for no update yesterday.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 08:59
Wow Earthangel you have a good memory!!!! Thanks for all the tips :)
Sparkles, I'm still laughing... if they come at 36 weeks would they have to stay in hospy for a bit or would it just be the 4 days or whatever?

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 09:01
Sparkles: Good news on the twins front :) Had to laugh about the ears - as our little boy also looks like he has prominant ears which happen to run on both sides of the family so I guess we cant escape it. Luckily wavy/curly hair also runs on both sides so hopefully ds will get DH's curls which hides the ears quite well hehe

If twin B stays transverse do you still get to try labour or it is a cesear? My dd LOVED being transverse and stayed that way until 36w when she went sort of head down but with the rest of her body still off to the side lol

Jet: Yes i do have a good memory lol - for facts mainly. I was awesome at history as i had no probs remembering all the dates!

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 09:06
Sparkles - that's great that your bubs are growing nicely! You could even be the next one to go!!! If he thinks 35-36 weeks then you'll have them by the end of April :yelclap:Oh and prominent ears are nothing a bit of hair growth won't hide ;)

My youngest had a really wide nose, with big huge nostrils when he was born and the ped asked me if I had any "islander" blood in me or DH :laughing: for those of you who haven't seen my pic, I am really really fair and DH has reddish hair so it was the funniest thing anyone has ever asked!

Hopeful - good luck at the clinic :)

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 09:25
Jet: Yes in some ways I am laughing too!! :laughing: Very excited though...I've just shaved a few months off my EDD...I quite like that!
re the stay in hospy he said I can expect about 5-7 days (standard for my hospy apparantly) depending on how we go feeding/how I am recovering etc, how the bubbies are. Probably wont need SCN but wont know obviously till they arrive. I cant wait to meet them! AND you will be the first to know being the SMS buddy! ;) Place your bets for 2 boys or 2 girls!

Also asked re the thrush treatments...he okay'd pessaries but NOT applicators...every OB may/will have a different opinion on this though, so just bear that in mind.

Lilly: Not sure I really want to be the next one...surely someone else will beat me, ;) Boo/yourself etc are my tips. My two can cook a while longer yet.

Earth: re labour, not sure, we didnt discuss it yesterday will do so once I have had growth scan.

nikki08
17-03-2010, 09:26
Sparkles - how exciting that you are going to be parents soon :yelclap:, by the time it comes you'll probably be more than ready, having to carry to bubs around all day.

JetGirl - Happy St Paddys Day :smiliedance: I'm not sure about an aircon, depends on the climate where you are really. We have separate units in all rooms and some rooms rarely need to be on, others are on all the time. The biggest unit is in our lounge/kitchen and if I can make one suggestion it is to make sure you don't undersize the unit. I've seen so many new houses with small units in their main living area and as a result they waste power and don't do the job adequately.

Lilly - DH has an English Accent and I am fair skinned (European too) and when we went to our midwife appointment they asked us if we were of Islander or Torres Strait descent. However she went on to say that although it may seem like an odd question (she was English herself) she once said to a very fair haired girl, "oh you're obviously not from the Torres Strait" and the girl was really offended and said, "Actually I am". So now she asked everyone even if they have a foreign accent.

EarthAngel75 - sounds like my bub, they are always lying sort of head down but to one side, the OB said that they will need to move more to the middle and properly get their head down but they don't seem to like that position yet. She said they had time to turn but the look on her face said she wasn't so convinced they were going to.... My right side is so heavy and I'm lopsided because that's where they like to lie. Makes lying on my side very uncomfortable at the moment.

Hopeful - good luck at your appointment today, hope your BP is down and everything is looking good :)

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 09:41
Jet: I agree with Nikki about the sizing of the units too. Our loungeroom isnt all that big (less than 16 sq metres i think) but is open to our kitchen, hallway going upstairs and wide open to the entranceway which leads to the bathroom and a bedroom. We got a fairly large unit (as i said im pretty sure it runs at 6-7kw) and sometimes it even has to be cranked to full most of the morning due to it being so cold outside.

Nikki: It is common thought that especially for first timers bubs should be head down and engaged by around 30-32w (so like Sparkles twin A) - its like they prepare early etc as everything is not stretched out yet (2nd+ pgs bubs dont usually engage at all until labour has started). Some bubs are just lazy though even in the first timers so there is always hope - no matter how slim it's still there! :) Ive also heard very good things about chiro and osteo's being able to align things properly for labour as often that is what keeps bubs from being in the right position. I'm planning on trying both this time around just to do everything possible for my VBAC.

allyoop8
17-03-2010, 10:14
morning all happy st paddys day

had a crap night at work last night i still have 3 weeks to go ooohhhh!

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 10:34
Only 3 weeks Ally, that's awesome!! It's less than me!!

8isenough
17-03-2010, 10:42
Sparkles...glad ur ob appt went well, having two babies in ur tummy isnt going to be nice from here on in I dont think! Im feeling it to.

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 10:48
Ally: wow 3 weeks!! Thats's sooo soon...

Well just got a call from the MIL - she's had to cancel her trip down due to an older family member needing her help with DRs and such. I'm now in a panic with all that DH and I need to try and finish ourselves over the weekends with his study timetable and before he goes off to intensive school in mid April. Ive been putting off starting anything with DH as I thought id leave him to study and his mum would be here to help - but now she's not - aaahhhhh!!

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 10:58
MumOf6: I hear you I hear you!!! Hope you are travelling well and coping with the heat..:flowerz:

nikki08
17-03-2010, 11:23
EarthAngel - sorry to hear that :(

Ally - I can understand your enthusiasm to finish sooner, I am just winding down and the sofa is really calling me these days. I also want to do some op-shopping for baby clothes and cute beanies, oh priorities :p

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 11:26
Couldn't help myself - had to take a pic of the baby clothes drying on the line :D

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/album.php?albumid=2046

nikki08
17-03-2010, 11:50
LillyJack - so pink :p you must be getting excited now.

Boo83
17-03-2010, 11:59
Lilly - Love the washing :laughing: DH did the same when I had the washing hanging inside!

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 12:31

Lillyj- hilarious re the islander comment!!!
Sparkles- Oh MY!! prominent ears hahahaha.. cute!!! You're gunna be a mumma soon awww....
ally- i'm with ya.. can't WAIT to finish work!

who have i missed? sorry ladies.. am at work trying to catch up lol.
soo my appointment went well.. saw the same nice dr as last time.. had to wait for ages as they were waiting on some test results but I am all good :thumbsup: BP is fine, no protein, fundus measures exact for 30 + 3 weeks and heartbeat is fine.. so bob is obviously happy and well in there lol- next appointment is in a fortnight again. :smiliedance:

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 12:54
Aw LillyJ that pic is adorable :) I want pink stuff too!!
Hopeful, well done with your doc visit :)
I'm just back from the pub. I had half a midi of my favourite Irish cider - with ice, sipping for nearly 2 hours while also drinking water - and am about to fall asleep. Can't even have a coke or a bar of chocolate to wake myself up, boohoo.

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 13:08
Jetgirl - you just made me soooo thirsty!

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 13:10
Oops, sorry!! OMG look at your ticker - in 2 days it will say 4 weeks!!!

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 13:35
Lilly: Aww look at all that pink stuff. I love photos like that.

Hopeful: Glad to hear your clinic app went well and that your bp is holding steady and Bob is doing fine.

Jet: can't you have diet coke?

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 13:39
Earthie, I dunno, can I?! I thought we weren't allowed coke cos of the caffeine...

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 13:52
Lilly: Love the washing, all that pink, its so cute, love the cot quilt also, so cute and a clever Mum!

nikki08
17-03-2010, 13:59
JetGirl - I don't think we have to avoid caffeine all together just limit it to a reasonable level. I think one diet coke would be fine, if you drank it everyday and coffee and tea you'd probably be exceeding your limits. I went shopping yesterday and all I saw was Easter Eggs everywhere, and realised this year I won't be able to have any! Maybe one little egg. Normally DH spoils me with Lindt but this year I'll have to be a good girl and just say no :yes:

Hopeful :yelclap: on your visit, sounds like bob is happy and healthy! Great news on the BP and protein, sounds like you are taking good care of yourself.

My SIL is coming to stay with us in April and wants to go to a day spa for some pampering. I found a place that does pregnancy packages and all of a sudden I'm really keen. They do pedicures too so my feet will look good too, which is great. At the moment they are annoying me because I can't reach them and my toenails need to be painted.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 14:01
Hmmm tempting :)
Nikki I too had the Easter realisation the other day :( I said to DH I have to have just one Cadbury's creme egg and he said that was probably the egg with the most sugar lol. I won't be writing that one in my notebook!!
Your spa treatment sounds divine :)

nikki08
17-03-2010, 14:09
JetGirl - funny you should mention the creme egg because I picked up a magazine (diabetics) yesterday because it was about Easter and it listed the easter chocolates in order from 'least sugar' to 'most sugar' and you guessed it the cadbury creme egg came out with the worst score, must be the creme part in the middle, not sure what they make that of? I think I might have a normal egg, just a small one. I'll get DH a little bunny and some eggs and pinch one :) I don't think one egg (even the creme one) is a big deal if you are otherwise eating well.

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 14:10
Nikki: the day spa sounds lovely! I soo want to do that for the day before this bubs comes but we'll have to wait and see whether we can afford it or not.

Jet: You certainly can have a diet Coke. You're allowed up to 200mg of caffine a day while pg. That equals one reg size espresso, a few teas, i think 2-3 soft drinks with caffine or a combination of the above with chocolate (because chocky contains caffine too!). I have the occasional small or very occasional reg espresso. We have an espresso machine at home so... hehe

And for those of you with GD if you're craving chocolate you can buy sugar free chocolate from health food stores that has been sweetened with fructose (from fruit with a GI of about 20 from memory) so shouldnt affect your BSL's (although Nikki it may for you). DH loves the mint chocolate one. I think priceline may also stock some of them. They're a little exxy though.

Funny you girls mentioning the creme eggs - I have been craving a cadburry egg you can get back home that has penut butter inside instead of the cream (i find the creme way too sweet!) but you just cant buy it here - they do have the caramel one though which has been attracting my eye lately LOL

nikki08
17-03-2010, 14:12
And for those of you with GD if you're craving chocolate you can buy sugar free chocolate from health food stores that has been sweetened with fructose (from fruit with a GI of about 20 from memory) so shouldnt affect your BSL's (although Nikki it may for you). DH loves the mint chocolate one. I think priceline may also stock some of them. They're a little exxy though.

I think I have just given up craving chocolate now, knowing how sensitive my body is to ANY sugar at the moment. Thanks for the tip though, I might sneak one egg though after dinner when my BSL is easiest to control ;)

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 14:20
Thanks for the tip EarthAngel but I'm fussy about my chocolate and I've tried those sugar-free ones before with no success. It's only 7 weeks, I CAN DO THIS!! If I keep telling myself that :)
Nikki, which did it say was the least sugar Easter egg?
I have a massage tonight at home, yay! Straight to bed after and I will sleep like a log :D

nikki08
17-03-2010, 14:32
JetGirl - I think the dark chocolate ones without any added centres are the best from memory. You know like the 'old gold' cadbury ones. I know what you mean about psyching yourself up, in a few weeks we'll be able to eat normally again, just a few more teeny tiny weeks :yelclap:

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 14:33
Jet: An at home massage, man that sounds the best, like you I would roll of the table and in to the bed! Enjoy the land of nod :sleeping:

Nikki: Yay for the day spa, thats exactly what you need and fantastic you can share with your SIL. I was only looking at my toenails yesterday thinking, some serious work needs to be done soooon! Enjoy it, you will love it and a good way to wind down.

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 14:49
shiiiiiiiiiiit i am really bad.. i have at least one coffee a day (but no more than 2), drink pepsi max or coke and eat chocolate..
Jet- aww have a creme egg- how awesome are they? I am really loving the taste of red tulip this year.. i have already sampled a bit :olol
nikki- ohhh the day spa sounds great. I didn't get to have a pedi or anything last weekend because the step kiddies were draining me lol so i think this weekend I'm going to be realllly indulgent and book a pedi and massage :thumbsup: my feet look yukky.

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 14:51
Oh no you poor girls with GD .... I could not go through Easter without at least 100 eggs ;) I am addicted! (sorry, that's not very encouraging is it?)

Sparkles - thanks re the quilt. My mum is a great sewer but she had strict instructions that it had to be "bird themed" otherwise she would probably make something I wouldn't like as she has very different taste to me.

Nikki - the spa treatment sounds devine :)

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 14:55
Hopeful - don't worry re the caffeine. I don't drink coffee but I do have about 3 cans of diet coke plus heaps of chocolate every day. They say up to 200mg is ok and a can of diet coke has around 40mg - so you would be able to drink 5 cans per day if you wanted too!

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 15:15
lilly- ha, nah am not really worried! Hasn't done me any harm so far lol. and i am SO like you- 100 easter eggs please :yes:

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 15:28
Aw girls can you imagine me & Nikki the second the baby's out LOL :D FEED ME CHOCOLATE!!! I have DH under strict instructions to keep the chockies coming while in hospy!!

nikki08
17-03-2010, 15:56
JetGirl - We have some chocolate bars in our fridge from before GD and I've told DH to bring them to hospital and I want a big fat tray of Lindt choccies too :) And a ham and salad roll, I really miss those :yes: I'm going to allow myself a couple of weeks to go a bit crazy on all the bad stuff then I need to go back to eating well again, otherwise I'm going to end up overfeeding myself and I'll stack on the kilos!

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 16:09
Dead right Nikki!! Those weeks of indulging will get us through the madness of being first time mums!!

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 16:39
Oh, that's a good question. What's the first thing you'll do post-pregnancy to treat yourself. Mine is having some grilled/fried haloumi cheese! :D Oh and then a big fat greek salad with a tonne of fetta in it :laughing:

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 17:06
ahh.. im not going to indulge in anything food related coz i dont think there is anything i haven't eaten that i want- i don't do soft cheese :no: and i hate eggs now lol so no runny eggs either? You know what I want lol (this is SOO bad) a cigarette :o. I quit last february and am VERY happy to be off them, but i dunno, they smell kinda nice at the moment :o but DH won't let me have even one LOL.. and i wouldn't anyway, in all seriousness.
I wouldn't mind a southern and coke :cool: but since i will be (trying) to BF, not the best idea anyway lol. Maybe I will have some salami lol.

nikki08
17-03-2010, 17:40
My list is long: ham and salad roll, chocolate, cake, eggs benedict, greek salad with fetta, camembert and crackers, smoked salmon, chocolate fudge sundae from maccas... makes my mouth water now!

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 18:07
I'm not gonna join in cos the list is endless and I will make myself hungry!!!
PS lillyj why can't you have haloumi now?

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 18:09
LOL my list is similar to yours Nikki:

Smoked Salmon, Soft Cheeses, greek salad with lots of feta, caramel sundae from maccas and some nice wine. I also love Eggs benny and would eat this now if i could be bothered to make it myself as I have a good recipe (minus the ham/smoked salmon) but I don't have the energy. ohh and maybe some smoked oysters and seafood in general - maybe go out for a nice seafood buffet.

Ive been craving a nice glass of wine lately which is driving me nuts.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 18:12
Earth, woolies do a good fake wine - Ariel. I adore it but it has sugar :(

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 18:20
Jet - isn't haloumi a soft cheese? If not, then I'm going out to get some NOW!!!!

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 18:24
Nikki - I have been eating Ham the entire pregnancy - I was told that it's ok as long as you buy the pre-packaged single serve ham and use each serve as soon as it's opened. Although I am far more relaxed than that and just eat any old ham!

Oh and I thought of something else, you girls are going to laugh, I really feel like a Strongbow 'Dry' with lots of ice :yes: or maybe a Champers with orange juice :D

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 18:30
Lillyj you can have soft cheese if it's cooked!!

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 18:33
:o Oh now I feel like a dumba*se. I just did a quick google and found this:

Cheeses which are SAFE to eat in pregnancy

Hard cheeses:
Austrian smoked, Babybel, Caerphilly, Cheddar, Cheshire, Derby, Double Gloucester, Edam, Emmental, English goat's cheddar, feta, Gouda, Gruyere, Halloumi, Havarti, Jarlsberg, Lancashire, Manchego, Orkney, paneer, Parmesan, Pecorino (hard), Provolone, Red Leicester.

Soft and processed cheeses:
Boursin, cottage cheese, cream cheese, feta, goat's cheese without a white rind, mascarpone, mozzarella, Philadelphia, processed cheese (such as cheese spread), Quark, ricotta.

SH*T, I could have been eating feta too ..... I have been DEPRIVED all for nothing :(

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 18:33
whoops i have eaten mcdonalds sundaes, ham and cooked seafood :o

lillyjack
17-03-2010, 18:35
Hopeful - I eat Macca's sundae's too .... I'll take my chances rather than give those up :D

Cat21
17-03-2010, 18:37
You're all hilarious re your food stories! Funny you were all talking about Cadbury Creme Eggs - I actually picked up three when I filled up my car on the way to work this morning then cleared my conscious by giving two away at work (and devouring the third with my one daily coffee)!

I had to pick feta off my lunch today - I must've missed it on the menu and I was so sad to leave it to the side! That'll be one of the first things I want!

Lily - halomi DEFINITELY ok! Thankfully!

Hopeful - you're hilarious - Maccas shakes and sundaes are the worst - all that soft serve icecream!

Congrats Sparkles on the OB visit - wow, you're getting so close now...

EarthAngel75
17-03-2010, 18:39
The risk of Listeria is quite small but its still there.

Lilly: The risk of Feta all depends on what list you are looking on. When i was pg with DD it was on every safe list as it has been pasturized (I have also eaten it this pg but not since learning of the recalls) but since 2007 there have been several Feta recalls due to Listeria poisoning - last one was late last year and hence why now you'll find it on the do not eat lists (at least on the health websites here in oz). And on the prepackaged ham front - there have been recalls of this due to listeria in the last 12mths too.

Funny thing in the UK last time I checked Smoked salmon was ok to eat during pg as the listeria risk was so small they didnt bother with it. It seems there are a lot of Listeria outbreaks in prepackaged foods here though. There are always recalls.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 18:49
Yeah and I was told cream cheese like Philly is ok but it's on your soft list. Feta is on both lists! You can't win :(
Cat I'm so jealous of your CCE ;)

Cat21
17-03-2010, 18:55
Jet - you should buy some and stash them in your hospital bag!!! :D

allyoop8
17-03-2010, 19:08
i asked hubby to bring me in sushi salmon ones yum now i want one yum 8 weeks to sushi i can do it

re the diet coke there is a caffeine free diet coke for the ones that didnt know i have had it a couple of times

sparklesare
17-03-2010, 20:09
I've done the ham also, so I'm naughty too I guess! All I am missing is sushi like it's going out of fashion, a really good cheese platter and crackers and my favorite red wine and champers. DH knows to bring sushi rolls to me also when the twins are here!!
I try not to get caught up in this recall or that recall or this study or survey, if it's okay'd by my OB then I'm cool with it. A healthy well balanced variety in diet I feel is more important, not what you read etc. That coupled with exercise I think your fine.
I am a coeliac anyway so I'm conscious of what I eat anyway. I don't need to worry myself with more stuff.

JetGirl
17-03-2010, 20:31
Just had massage, time for bed!! And yes a stash of CCEs is a good plan except for the sticky fingers :D

hopefulmama2b
17-03-2010, 21:17
sparkles i agree re the surveys etc stuff.. and i'm just way to addicted to naughty food to stop eating it LOL.
cat- hehehe... I only did the shakes from macas for a liiiitle while ok!! LOL. I had no softserve for the first 12 weeks lol, I was good!
Jet- I was like, CCE?? wtf?? ohhhhhhh cadbury creme egg lol.
Lilly- yeah i never liked the chocolate sundaes from maccas before getting pregnant so I justified it by thinking, well if the pregnancy is making me want them.. they must be OK! LOL

am just about to update some more pics for my nursery.. just more nursery pics lol

nikki08
17-03-2010, 21:51
In some ways I am glad I gave up a lot of foods in pregnancy because it's made me look at my diet differently and made me realise how much crap I ate before. I really hope that it's all sunk in and I keep eating better after the baby is born, but we'll see. The temptation is great and the convenience foods are open all the time, especially suited to sleep deprived mums.

Went to antenatal class, saw a newborn and gooed and gushed. Then we watched a birth video, maybe I'm a bit loopy but I loved it, it was such a emotional moment. I can't wait to meet our baby. We also toured the hospital, the birthing suites are very well equipped and the normal overnight suites are fairly private too. Not that I want to stay in there too long, they offer midwife visits after the birth for about 2 weeks at your home.

JetGirl - I eat philly but not feta. On the UK site for Listeria feta is ok but on the Australian Listeria site feta is off the list. It's a bit confusing and probably fairly safe but I figure we've come this far what's an extra few weeks and how good will it taste after the baby is born!

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 06:53
Ally: Whats the coke without caffine in it called - do you remember? I know that pepsi has such a producy but didn't know that coke had one too.

Jet: I hope you had a good nights sleep after your massage last night.

Nikki: It is so hard to change your diet - good on you for being able to stick to it for bubs sake. I have a pretty good diet of only whole natural non refined/white foods most of the time with the occasional sugar binge (otherwise no sugar either - not in pasta sauce, not in any product generally). After dd died DH and I stopped eating sugar period and lasted a little under a year as DH has a serious sugar addiction problem (easter at his mums set off his addiction again). We havent been able to kick it since. I do still find many sugary products made too sweet for me though (like they could cut the sugar content in half and it would still taste fine). I even notice the sugar in chinese food.

I'm with you Nikki I'll wait for certain foods as to me the risk is too great. I wouldnt be able to cope with loosing a child due to listeria or worse yet I could not deal with a child who contracted listeria and survived till birth but had complications. I just cannot do anything like that again.

Nikki: your hospital sounds really nice. We get midwife visits at home too - especially if you go home early.

Once you are home though you will also have the MACH/community health nurse visits starting too if you want them. They come to you for the first few weeks and weigh your child and talk to you about any concerns etc. Then you'll start taking your child to the community health centres for checks/questions and immunizations (though you can go to the GP too for these too but it's free thru the health centres). We won't be seeing the community health nurses this time around as it was them who brought the RSV into contact with my dd - they're all quite feral around here. We have our own baby scales so will keep track of weight at home this time and will take DS to the GP for the Rota Virus vax's.

angeleish
18-03-2010, 07:14
I think DH and I might be the odd ones out... we don't really do easter eggs in this house. I usually buy him a small egg and if he remembers he will also get me a small easter egg. His MIL always buys us a huge easter egg and ....... it sits on our shelf in the pantry for months. We usually end up eating it when friends pop over for dinner as a dessert. Don't get me wrong we both like choccie but not in a big way!!

As for after baby is born DH has a list. It includes: sushi, wine & cheese. Also, I'm hoping eggs are on the menu at the hospital as I'm hanging out for some good fried eggs with a nice runny yolk!!!

earthangel - that sound shocking with the community nurses and RSV!! I've heard mixed reports about some community nurses in other cities too!

nikki - I find those birth videos quite emotional too (not so scary but emotional). Such a beautiful thing (maybe I wont think so when I'm suffering in pain though!! :laughing:)

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 07:23
EarthAngel - I won't be attending the clinic visits either. I found them a waste of time as all the nurses did was scorn me for not bf'ing. After having 3 babies I'm sure I'll be able to tell if my baby is growing and happy!

Angeleish - you let easter eggs sit in your cupboard :eek: What kind of crazy person are you - he he just kidding ;) I would love to not like choc as much as I do!

angeleish
18-03-2010, 07:39
don't worry Lily - no offence taken. All of our friends think we're crazy. We have a lovely crystal bowl that also sits on our kitchen bench full of snack sized chocolates.... only ever gets eaten when visitors arrive. We will have one or two occasionally but our guests go nuts over them!! Everyone can't believe that we barely touch them. Yep - definitely freaks here!!! :D

Boo83
18-03-2010, 07:48
Sorry had to post to check out my ticker :p

And OMG Lily, check out yours!!!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 07:51
Nikki, sounds like your class was a hit :)
EarthAngel, yes thank you I slept like a log and only woke up once for the loo! My hips, pelvis & lower back are in shocking shape. I've booked her in again for 2 weeks time!
Jeez Angeleish you are lucky not to suffer from chocoholicism :)
Our antenatal classes start Saturday week and I cannot WAIT. I have a course on Tuesday all day (which work is paying for, yay!) called Preparing for and returning from parental leave, so I'm also looking forward to that. 4 weeks left of work, halleluiah.
PS Crikey all the tickers seem to be on fast-forward!!!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 08:13
Did everybody get their weekly BH update today? It's got a link to the hospy bag checklist and here's something I hadn't thought of that sounds like a good idea:
- cardboard/plastic folder to keep all your paperwork in (you'll get given more when the baby is born)

hopefulmama2b
18-03-2010, 08:18
Angeleish- aww i wish i didn't love chocolate too! I woke up this morning CRAVING strawberry freddos LOL.
Jetgirl- that course sounds awesome. I would get nothing like that out of these tighta$$es lol.

god it was an effort dragging my a$$ outta bed this morning. I have had some ok sleeps the last few nights but it makes me want MORE sleep!! lol

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 08:28
Boo - you're only 6 days behind me! I am hanging out until tomorrow when it says 4 weeks :D

I don't want to get too carried away though. A friend of mine who also went through IVF just had her baby - 2 weeks overdue by c-section! Can you imagine getting all excited about your due date and then having to wait 2 more entire weeks!!!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 08:33
I think I'll be begging to be induced if I'm 2 DAYS late!!! Let alone 2 weeks!!

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 08:33
Aaahhhhh lost a long post! Stupid BH and how it doesnt save your post if your browser goes spaz...

angel: I'm not a big chocholate person either - it drives DH crazy as he is and always wants me to give him permission to eat chocolate and as I'm not keen I don't LOL! I don't get easter eggs either but I do get DH a kinder suprise or two for easter usually. If i'm wanting chocolate for some reason its usually in the form of chocolate milk.

Lilly: I don't know too many on their 3rd+ kids who use the CHN's either. Im pretty sure you know what you're doing by then and if you run into trouble its not like you can take them to see someone anyways. Heck most 3+ time mums ive known do all kinds of 'naughty' things like letting their LO's use pillows or sleep on their stomach.

Jet: YAY on getting a good nights sleep. Ill be starting to treat myself to some massaged once im passed that 30w mark. I can't wait!

well DH stripped the wall paper border off of the nursery last night after I had looked up how easy it was supposed to be to get off (people were saying you could even use the kidsline stuff in rentals as it just comes off the walls) and it was easy peasy! Just soak it with a spray bottle and get a grip on the edge and pull and it comes right off! Unbeleivable compared to my memories of 70s/80s wall paper nightmares. Leaves no marks or anything on the walls. Why i didnt try searching for that info sooner I don't know - guess I thought it was going to be a nightmare. Tonight we're changing over the expedit bookcase and the tv unit (they're in opposite rooms to where they need to be at the moment). Tomorrow night DH will be sugar soaping the remaining walls for painting on Saturday! I can't wait. So hopefully by Saturday afternoon the nursery will almost be finished (except the wall border which i probably wont attempt to put up and wait for my mums husband to come for a visist later in the year and do it then). It will be such a relief to have it all done. The loungeroom will then just be waiting for our new lounges to arrive in 4 weeks and some organizing of the toddler room and it's all ready for baby!

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 08:44
Lilly: wow 2 weeks overdue for an IVF bubba? Ive done a lot of reading on birth and IVF and the longest i could find was 5 days over! In fact my FS said I'm not allowed to go more than 10 days over as with IVF they know the exact date of conception and with LMP you dont since some people O late and some O quite early.

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 08:48
Hey EarthAngel you finally created a ticker! Nice job :)

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 09:08
Jet: hehe I succumbed and made one last night.

I had a craving for hummus this morning so I just made some and am eating it with bread fingers hehe I LOOOOVE tahini and garlic and lemon...

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 09:22
What's tahini? I used to hate hummus but lately I find it quite tasty... strange!! There must be sugar in it LOL

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 09:40
Tahini is kind of like a penut butter but made from sesame or sunflower seeds (cant remember which!). It's the nutty flavour found in Hummus. Most people dont like it on it's own as it is a little bitter but i LOOOOOVE it but then again I'm a bit strange like that - loved eating red blackberries as a child cause they were sour. I can eat tahini all on it's own or on toast. I used some awesome organic unhulled tahini in my hummus this morning and it was soooo yummy!

Ohh and yes if you're buying cheaper grocery store hummus then it usually does have sugar in it (dont know why as it doesnt make any sense...) The Mum's brand found in Woolies is the best imo

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 09:40
I think I'll be begging to be induced if I'm 2 DAYS late!!! Let alone 2 weeks!!

Same here - although I'm actually going to be sneaky and see if I can be induced prior to my due date :D

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 09:45
Lilly: wow 2 weeks overdue for an IVF bubba? Ive done a lot of reading on birth and IVF and the longest i could find was 5 days over! In fact my FS said I'm not allowed to go more than 10 days over as with IVF they know the exact date of conception and with LMP you dont since some people O late and some O quite early.

Yep, she was definately 2 weeks over - so it goes to show it can happen. Even when the conception date is known!

nikki08
18-03-2010, 09:59
Wow you girls can chat :D

JetGirl - at the hospital visit last night they showed us the cardboard folder they give you to keep all your baby paperwork in. The midwife told us to guard it with our lives because all the important registration and financial information for centrelink / tax was in there and if you lose it you have to jump through hoops.

Angeleish - I used to love chocolate when I was a teenager then I sort of went off it, then I started craving it again during the later part of the 2nd trimester but I read somewhere that GD can actually make you crave chocolate or sweet things, so that might have been the reason. Since not eating it for a few weeks I barely think about it at all, although I will treat myself once bub is born :)

LillyJack - I'm hanging out for the birth! I can't imagine going two weeks over, I think if I start to go a few days over I am going to beg them to induce me. There was a woman in our class last night who was 37 weeks and she's already doing exercises to bring on labour because she just wants the day to be here.

EarthAngel75 - I'm probably going to ask the midwives to come out to check on bub a few times but I'll also go to the clinic / doctor to do the general health checks. Our doctor has already told me to book in for a visit in the first two weeks for a routine health check.

angeleish
18-03-2010, 10:30
lol at you girls wanting to get induced asap. I'm not quite at that point yet (perhaps because I'm not organised for baby to arrive yet). Can perfectly understand your logic behind it though.

I should add re the chocolate: please don't think I am a saint girls. We went out the other night and had a buffet at a city hotel. Well the desert bar won me over. I swear I had at least 6 different deserts (the creme brulee was to die for). Poor baby was kicking away like mad afterwards..... think it was on just as much of a sugar high as me!!!! I guess I'm more a cake than chocolate fan!!

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 10:41
Angeleish - yumm, I am also a big fan of cakes!

Actually I like anything with sugar in it! I am a sweet, not savoury person. I would pick sweets over hot food/dinner any day :o I once went to a naturopath and she nearly died when I told her what I ate each day. She scared the life out of me and told me that I would get diabetes, cancer and all sorts of other illness's ... so I went really healthy and organic but it only lasted for 2 weeks :(

Maybe if I went back to her once a week it would keep it fresh in my mind. The problem is that I can get away with eating that stuff and still be in a healthy weight range so I feel like there is no incentive :rolleyes:

Kit84
18-03-2010, 10:53

Sorry to crash your thread! Just wanted to ask if any of you lovely ladies have an anterior placenta? when did you start to feel baby move?

Kit:)

nikki08
18-03-2010, 10:58
Hi Kit - :wave: good to see you again! I have an anterior placenta and I felt baby move at about 19 weeks (light flutters) but it started to get a lot more noticeable around 21-23 weeks.

Kit84
18-03-2010, 11:01
Nikki - Thanks so much! You have put my mind at ease...I felt some light flutters on Monday but then nothing since then and I was getting very anxious! Do you know if it makes any difference if you are "well padded" on your belly already? haha...cause I have lots of padding and was wondering if maybe that was also why I couldnt feel anything yet?......

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 11:02
Mmmm cake...
LillyJ I'm making a voodoo doll of you now :P just kidding!!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 11:08
Kit I think I had that too and trust me, I have lots of padding. Around 20 weeks I realised one day that I had had butterflies in my stomach for a whole week and thought I was just nervous but I couldn't figure out what I was so nervous about - silly me, eventually I worked out that it was the baby moving!!! If you're worried and you're not seeing your OB for a while, call him/her - it's not worth the stress!

Kit84
18-03-2010, 11:16
Thanks Jetgirl! It just seems like everyone else is posting about their bubs moving around so much and they arent as far along as I am so i was beginning to worry but I feel better now talking to you and Nikki!

nikki08
18-03-2010, 11:18
Kit - I was told that the slimmer you are the sooner you are likely to feel the movement and also with your first you tend to feel movement later because you don't know what you are meant to be feeling. My doctor asked me casually around 24 weeks if I had felt anything yet and told me that even at 24 weeks some first time mums are still unsure if what they are feeling is gas or baby moving. If you feel unsure just ask the midwife or GP to run a doppler over you belly so you can hear the little heart beating. The other thing to remember is some people have very active babies, other people (like my friend) have babies who sleep a lot and are very calm and relaxed. Mine is a bit of an energiser bunny and my friend said she never felt as much movement as I am feeling and her little girl is a happy and healthy 7 month old now!

Lilly - cake was my vice before I had GD and waffles, I couldn't get enough pancakes and waffles! Not bad for someone who doesn't eat a lot of sweets :) At one stage I was eating pancakes with maple syrup for lunch! Poor baby was probably getting a full dose of glucose at that stage. No wonder they were so active and hyper.

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 11:19
Aw maaaaaaaaan pancakes and waffles!!! You girls are killing me!!!

hopefulmama2b
18-03-2010, 11:20
Hi Kit
I have me some lovely tummy padding and i felt bubs move at about 22-23 weeks. I wasn't worried as the doctor told me not to worry as if you have padding (i love how they call it that lol) it may take longer to feel bubs move.

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 11:27
Kit good to see you around!
AFM I was around 20 weeks....looking back those were the easy days now I have two sets of limbs making themselves verrry well known!! No complaints though they are groovers!

Kit84
18-03-2010, 11:31
Thanks Hopeful...I feel much better!

Nikki - Thanks again! I am a little reluctant to go to my GP and have her use the doppler as I went to her at 15weeks and after 30mins of searching for babys heartbeat she couldnt find it. And because of where I live there is no scan option so I then had to drive up to cairns so my OB could do a scan and there it was and he said to stay away from dopplers because of having anterior placenta its apparently harder to find the heartbeat with a doppler...so I think I'll just keep waiting for a kick until my next OB appt which is in 2 weeks:)

Kit84
18-03-2010, 11:34
Sparkles - Hey there! Thats what my friends keep telling me.....enjoy the quiet time before the storm....hahaha

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 11:48
Exactly!! You will come back in a few weeks and tell us all of that first big one, or a nice foot in the ribs etc!! Once they become regular you will be loving it, it's pretty special.

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 11:50
Kit: It sounds like you have a full on anterior placenta like Hopeful (as in the centre of the uterus right in the front). There are various types of anterior placentas and that particular one covers the most area where you would be feeling baby move so I wouldnt worry. My obs said not to worry about regular movement until after 25-26w so it can come and go as mine has done this pg.

I too have an anterior placenta but it's off to my right hand side and not in the middle front and felt baby move very early in this pg (but it is my 2nd pg) and I am well and truely 'padded'. In fact i was able to feel baby move from the outside by about 22-23w this pg which is amazing considering how much I weigh (well and truely into the triple digits). I'll bet you start feeling lots of regular movement in the next few weeks :)

Jet: LOL@ the voodoo doll comment! I sometimes feel that way about everyone. I can eat extremely healthy, no sugar and exercise 1+ hours/day and not actually loose that much weight. DH can eat crap and not exercise and loose more weight while im doing the above - it's disheartening at times.

Nikki: MmMm pancakes and waffles. DH and I had pancakes on the weekend but made with whole wheat flour and buckwheat with buttermilk and blueberries and bananas. He loves my pancakes cause I make them american style so they're nice and thick and big LOL I love waffles too but usually only have them xmas morning.

My stupid laptop keeps overheating - some hardware is failing i think and making the whole thing overheat - pain in the bottom! I'm in the process of finishing off our DS's name banner for the nursery. Have to add some details to an elephant ive cut out and attach it and then I'm finished.

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 12:05
Mmmm cake...
LillyJ I'm making a voodoo doll of you now :P just kidding!!

:laughing: don't worry, it will catch up with me eventually! I'm not exactly "skinny" anyway, just average but I would be pretty thin if I ate normal portions of decent food instead of pigging out all day on junk!

nikki08
18-03-2010, 12:06
I used to be able to eat whatever I wanted and not put on weight, in fact I tried to put on weight. Then one day everything changed and I put on weight and had to watch my diet. Not sure exactly when things changed but it comes as quite a shock if you spend your whole life not worrying about weight then suddenly you start rethinking every hot chip.

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 12:13
Mmmm hot chips... I was craving them like nothing else early in the pregnancy. For my birthday in September I had a hot chip buttie. Drool.

I went on a gluten free diet once to try to lose weight and boy did it work but I felt like death so said stuff that :D I do feel for Sparkles being coeliac. I figure walking the buggy every day will have to help me lose weight. When I go back to work it will be interesting though cos I will be really bad at making time for exercise!!

The lovely people who sent me the wrong MB sun cover have said to send it back and they will send out the right one, yay!

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 12:30
Nikki: I have several friends back in Canada who are like you - never had to watch their weight but now that they're older something has changed and they have to watch what they eat or they stack on the kgs.

Jet: I craved hot chips and vinegar in ths first tri - it was one of the only things that didnt make me feel sick. I don't normally eat chips either so it was weird! Good news on the MB sun cover :)

Ive finished the name banner YAY! Here are some pics:

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/bestdressedkids/IMG_2976.jpg

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/bestdressedkids/IMG_2977.jpg

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b89/bestdressedkids/IMG_2978.jpg

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 12:42
Wow Earthangel, that's fantastic!!!

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 12:43
Jet - what is a "hot chip buttie"???

nikki08
18-03-2010, 12:43
JetGirl - my SIL has coeliacs as well and so she has to eat a gluten free diet. I am so grateful I dont have to follow a diet that is that strict because that would drive my crazy but it's amazing what you do when you have to for your health.

Earthangel - I should have seen it coming, my mum isn't overweight but she was skinny until she was 35 ate whatever she wanted, helped herself to two plates at dinner and never went over a size 10-12, then after about 35 suddenly her body just started putting on weight and since then she has had to watch her weight. Actually she found the biggest change was after having her third child. Love the banners, very creative!

My craving in the first trimester with m/s was plain potato chips, I was eating them like they were going out of fashion and normally I only eat them once or twice a year. Pregnancy does funny things to your body :)

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 12:45
Dammit I want chips and coke now!!

LillyJ, a hot chip buttie is a sandwich made from white bread with lots of butter, and hot chips! Try it, you won't regret it!!! It is the world's best comfort food, IMHO :D You can add tomato sauce, which I love, but sometimes just the basics are what you need!

nikki08
18-03-2010, 12:48
LillyJack - :laughing: you've never lived in the UK, when I lived there I had to learn what a hot chip buttie was too, I'll let JetGirl tell you.

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 12:54
Nikki: I'm grateful I dont have to watch my diet like some people do too. Although i guess if it's done from a very early age you might not know any different really. It's when you have to make the change and you're older and know what you are missing out on that's hard I reckon!

Jet: I always think chip sandwiches look gross and never understood how anyone could eat that... It seems fairly common here in oz though.

just have to share this pic. It's a new nursery line from Haba who is a German toy/product maker. Been around for over 100 years etc. Quality stuff and absolutely heavenly! DH is probably lucky I didnt find this before lol as I love the whole price theme for a boy (and impossible to find as i tried!) the cot (which converts from a bassinette to a cot setting and converts to a toddler bed too) only costs over 800 pounds LOL not to mention what everything else would cost!

http://www.haboo.ie/images/008513_4c_07.jpg

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 13:09
Jet - ok, now I'm planning my next meal .... warm white bread roll, slathered in butter, with hot chips covered in chicken salt :D Thanks for the idea :thumbsup:

Nikki - yep, I am thinking this 3rd child will be the end of my "eating whatever I want" days. I think I will struggle a bit to lose the weight this time around .... I have heard that about the 3rd child from a few of my friends - I think I will try either Weight Watchers from home or Lite n Easy if it comes to that!

hopefulmama2b
18-03-2010, 13:12
Jetgirl- I would love a hot chip buttie, but with chicken in it as well.. hot chicken and chips sanga yum yum. when i worked my weekend job before getting preg (in a take away/eatery) i used to sometimes make roast beef, gravy and scallop potato sanga's.. mmmm... lol
earth- i dont have an anterior placenta?? Mine is left lateral to my knowledge.

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 13:17
Jet: good on you for giving gluten free a go, it's a tough way to eat but I've learnt to live with it, only diagnosed 2 yrs ago. I've got it relatively bad, as in I flare up pretty bad but if it's under control I do okay with it. Prob what made me want to cook more also. DH eats what I eat now so I don't do 2 dinners and the same thing he dropped some weight which he lived!
Interestingly my girlfriend switched to a gluten free diet after 3 m/c's and got her dd straight after it. I often wonder if that's what happened with me aswell maybe my body just rejected it all. It's a hard diet but hot chippies are allowed too!!!!!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 13:21
LillyJ, enjoy :)
Hopeful, I had SUCH a giggle at your post cos it looks like you got knocked up in a takeaway ROFL oh that hurts, too funny... That sanga sounds like heaven. I am STARVING today for some reason :(
Sparkles, that's great that your DH joins in, I can't imagine having to prepare separate meals all the time, I'd go nuts.

hopefulmama2b
18-03-2010, 13:33
:laughing: jetgirl!
I think not! I can't beleive I used to work mon-fri here and then saturday afternoon/evenings and every second sunday afternoon in the first and part of second trimester!! Last autumn/winter I would work mon-fri here and then like 12 hrs saturdays and sometimes a sunday afternoon shift too!

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 13:34
Jeepers I don't know how you did it Hopeful!!

EarthAngel75
18-03-2010, 13:42
Hopeful: I swear remembering you having an anterior placenta from WAAAAY back like 12+ weeks ago but its more than possible to not remember things correctly from sooo long ago.

I havent really tried gluten free but have thought about it as I've known other PCOS women to give it a go and loose a fair bit of weight. I think i would find it quite hard. My step MIL is also coeliac and started cooking a lot more and baking since changing her diet.

hopefulmama2b
18-03-2010, 13:43
Jet- me neither!! And i remember it was soo busy just before christmas so I would have been about 16ish weeks and we had heaps of functions and i managed saturday nights, so i was flatout bloody carving meat and cutting up cooked chickens and making salads etc LOL

i literally all of a sudden have a massive craving for some chocolate with peppermint hahaha

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 13:45
Ok we really have to change the subject away from food!!!! After Eights Hopeful... I must have eaten half a box over Christmas...

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 14:56
Girls Target has discounted cot/bassinet flannelette sheets $12 incase anyone is interested.

nikki08
18-03-2010, 15:01
Sparkles - DH follows my GD diet at the moment and he has dropped 3kg in about 4 weeks without doing any extra exercise. It's amazing what diet can do. He originally did the diet to be supportive of me but now he wants to keep doing it because it's helping him achieve his ideal weight. My SIL is visiting soon so we'll have a pregnant woman with GD and a coeliac in the house to cook for, talk about pressure!

JetGirl - mmmm after eights, I used to eat them by the box load years ago, haven't seen them around for a while, probably a good thing considering my addiction to them :yes:

I just went op-shopping for baby clothes and they didn't have much but I found heaps of nice preggie tops for me that cover right down past my belly and look really stylish too. I am beginning to run out of tops that cover my growing belly :p

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 15:04
Ooh Sparkles where do you hear about these sales?
Nikki, well done with the shopping :) I'm so sick of the limited stock of maternity clothes I have!!

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 15:07
Gosh Nikki that is pressure!!! Thats great though re your DH weight loss. Mine really had no choice, I didnt tell him it was Gluten free pasta / products etc when I was cooking and only occasionally he says something about the flavour etc, thats when I know he has caught me out!!! hehe:laughing: I cant do gluten free bread though...in my opinion its like eating cardboard and its vile. I miss Burgen bread with Vegemite...god that was good.:crying:

Glad you found some good tops. Gotta love the belly getting bigger though! Bubby is growing big! I am wanting another pair of pants, found a great pair months ago, but just want some other ones. I hate buying pants...hate it hate it.

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 15:12
[QUOTE=JetGirl;4592583]Ooh Sparkles where do you hear about these sales?
QUOTE]

Sorry I may have this wrong, Ive just checked their website and its CHILDRENS flannel sheets reduced, but doesnt mention babies...im a twit sorry!

My girlfriend emails me all the good sales / deals around the place...love it!

nikki08
18-03-2010, 15:12
Sparkles - where can I get some gluten free pasta? I find pasta easy to make at the moment and it suits my diet (preg and GD) so I was hoping that there was some gluten free pasta that I could use so my SIL can eat it too.

DH does't really like to cook so in his case it was partly him being supportive partly him not wanting to cook himself a separate meal ;)

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 15:15
Sparkles I'm on the Burgen now - rye toast with philly every morning. I have to admit it's the best rye bread I've tried... but give me white bread any day... with lashings of butter and strawberry jam... droooooooool...
I was lucky with pants, between 2 friends who've had all their kids I got 4 pairs :) so that saved me a bundle, just had to get them taken up! What kind are you looking for - jeans? Casual? I'm loving the yoga pants I got from kmart, they are SO comfy and I just live in them... The gluten free pasta from woolies is awesome, I remember when I was doing the GF diet the pasta was like paper but I love the San Remo stuff, I sometimes still use it now! Actually I wonder if that does anything to sugar levels, hmmm...

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 15:17
Ooh Nikki do woolies have the San Remo gluten free pasta up your way? It's seriously good!! http://www.sanremo.com.au/products/product-range?cat=27 They have a couple of different varieties too...

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 15:27
Sparkles - where can I get some gluten free pasta? I find pasta easy to make at the moment and it suits my diet (preg and GD) so I was hoping that there was some gluten free pasta that I could use so my SIL can eat it too.

DH does't really like to cook so in his case it was partly him being supportive partly him not wanting to cook himself a separate meal ;)

Best one Ive had is the Orgran brand. I can get it at Coles down here in Melbourne, pretty sure Wollies stock it also. San Remo is another good one. San Remo personally I find a bit "claggy" but thats just me, dont mind the 3 type ie spinach brown and normal pasta one though. Ive even seen it in IGA stores.

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 15:29
Jet: Snap!!! Your thinking what I am thinking! It is a good choice the San Remo, and readily available. Only thing you will find with these products, they are a bit more exxy. Sure beats the side effects which I promise you - UNPLEASANT...

God white bread...dont get me started!!! gone are those days! You are a naughty naughty girl I used to love it so much.

Re the clothes, I would kill for a pair of "cargo" type pants, you know some really comfy casual pants. Another skirt I wouldnt mind but I am not really a skirt girl if that makes sense...gone are my suit wearing days I figure!!! Jeans are another option going in to cooler months.

nikki08
18-03-2010, 15:30
Thanks JetGirl, I'll try that one. Might even be good for GD but I find that I don't really have high readings with pasta anyway.

I tried low GI burgen for a week, my sugar levels were sky high. Now I eat Tip Top wholemeal - 9 grain bread and my levels have been fine. It might have been a coincidence but for now this bread seems to work so I'll stick with it. I try to limit the amount of bread I eat anyway, even when I don't have GD.

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 15:36
Oh Nikki I love that 9 grain one... hmm maybe I'll try it and see what happens. I think I tried the Burgen one cos it suggested it on one of those Diabetes websites... I've had to give up garlic bread, it sends me right over.
Sparkles I got some pants like what you're talking about from some maternity shop at Piccadilly centre in sydney but that's no help to you is it. They were like 80 or 100 bucks but I lived in them over summer so I thought it was worth it... I feel your pain though, it's very hard. I'm not a skirt girl either but leggings under dresses/tunics are very comfy! Angel maternity do nice leggings with extendible waists...

nikki08
18-03-2010, 15:48
TBH I havent even dared to try garlic bread since having GD, I'm sure it would send me over. To think only a few weeks before my GD test I ate half a loaf of white bread in an afternoon (lunch, toast and then after dinner) I was like a woman possessed and I don't normally eat white bread at all. I'm thinking maybe the GD has curbed my wicked ways this pregnancy :yes:

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 16:09
For those of you wondering about pants.... I have found the best maternity jeans are the one's from Just Jeans - you can get them from their website (harder to find in their stores). I have the "S" Straight Maternity Jean and they are so comfy and don't look like maternity jeans either. They also have an adjustable waist on the inside so I imagine I'll be able to wear them after bub comes along for a while too!

Boo83
18-03-2010, 19:43
Evening Ladies :wave:

Has anyone heard of a head cold being an early sign of labour???
DH thinks he remembers something about it in one of our classes and yes I think I'm getting one :( (please be a sign :fingerscrossed:)

nikki08
18-03-2010, 19:48
Boo - I've never heard of that one, but I can understand wanting to hope for a sign.

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 19:53
Wow Boo that's exciting your so close!!! Only thing I've heard of is our systems "clearing" out ie the runs or spews, both of which I'm not sure even exist!! So excited rest up and make sure DH is doting on you :-)

Boo83
18-03-2010, 20:05
Thanks Nikki!
Sparkle - I've heard that too! And Yep :yes: had that too :detective:

sparklesare
18-03-2010, 20:07
Go girl it could be happening sooooon!!! How exciting!! I'm so jealous xxx

JetGirl
18-03-2010, 20:07
Ooh I haven't heard of it but how exciting if it's true!!

angeleish
18-03-2010, 20:18
boo - can't help you on the head cold theory... but our midwife did say that a lot of girls think they have gastro (ie the runs and the spews) when actually it is quite often an early sign of labour. Maybe things are happening.... keep us posted!

can't remember who was asking about the maternity pants (sorry) but I got some great jeans from "jeans west" at the start of my pregnancy which I still love. They don't even look like maternity wear. From memory they were quite cheap too! :thumbsup:

lillyjack
18-03-2010, 20:35
Boo - never heard of the head cold thing but have heard about the runs etc being a sign. Never experienced it myself though .... main thing you might notice is feeling really heavy down below ... that's usually a good sign things are not far off!

If you're in labour this early then there is hope for me! I am so fed up with it tonight, I feel enormous, uncomfortable and sick and just really really over it. Not sure how I can make it through 5 more weeks :(