View Full Version : Moving to Perth - need advice!

3lovablebratz
02-08-2006, 15:11
Hello to all the Perth mums (& dads) & kids.

We are moving to Perth in the next 2 to 3 months from Melbourne. HUGE move but hopefully worth the effort.

Would love some advice from everyone about the following:

1. Family oriented suburbs of Perth
2. Reasonably priced rental areas with access to CBD and airport - we are used to the city and the country lifestyle
3. Good schools to send our kids to (not private schools)
4. How easy is it to get childcare places? and suggestions on good centres
5. Any information we may find helpful.

Thanks heaps in advance to everyone. I can trawl the net for hours and find plenty of info, but getting it from people who are like us and actually live there is much better!

Mum2Bug
02-08-2006, 15:28
what sort of price range for rentals are you looking at because it varies from suburb to suburb depending on your needs

Elmopalooza
02-08-2006, 15:30
Hi and Good Luck with the move! There are sooo many family orientated suburbs in perth but i think the main one at the moment with lots of young families is Clarkson area. Thats NOR a fair bit but still on 40 mins from the city... as with the airport, its not that far depeneding on which way u go...

The biggest decision u will have to decide on is whether to live North or South of the River. My advice may be slightly biased because i live North of the river.

Perhaps u can check out www.reiwa.com.au and www.realestate.com.au for rentals... the average price range nowadays in perth is about $200 - $250 for a 4 x 2 family home. As i said tho, if u move NOR to somewhere like clarkson the houses are quite new and the modern.

Its a bit hard to suggest good day cares without knowing where u will be living. My daughter goes to a FANTASTIC day care in Edgweater called Little Muppets. She has been there since she was 6 months and i have nothing bad to say.

Hope this helps a bit..

Lana

kirstenriley
02-08-2006, 16:50
Hi, we recently moved from melb to perth also, when we were searching for suburbs we asked a lot of DH work people and it seemed you were either North of the river or South of the river....lol...we ended up south but thats just because it was closer to DH work.

Cant help with schools or anything, but can tell you WA seems to be very family orientated in general-completely different to melb!!

Good luck with the move.

polony
02-08-2006, 18:50
There is a secret rivalry between north and south of the river. Heehee! I barrack for south of the river. It is lovely, nice and close to the CBD, airport, shopping complexes, beach, Fremantle etc. Nice areas are South Perth, Como, Applecross, Manning, Bentley, Mount Pleasant. It really does depend on what you want to spend and how many rooms you want and if you want a new or old place.
Maybe if you could narrow it down, I can try and help you more?
Yay for you coming to Perth! May I also suggest that since you are coming from Melbourne and it will be going into summer, you might find it a bit hot so you might want to find a place with AIRCONDITIONING!! Otherwise you could suffer and we wouldn't want that!

Myztik
02-08-2006, 19:31
I'm another one who votes for north of the river lol.. and I agree with Lana about Clarkson and area's around there being good for families..
as for schools and daycare centres I cant really help in that area sorry.. just thought I'd add my 2cents worth and also wish you and the family good luck with the move :)

kirstenriley
02-08-2006, 20:55
May I also suggest that since you are coming from Melbourne and it will be going into summer, you might find it a bit hot so you might want to find a place with AIRCONDITIONING!! Otherwise you could suffer and we wouldn't want that!

lol...i have only just started wearing jumpers this past week!!!

damien's mum
02-08-2006, 21:01
I am a North of the River person aswell, Although i am in Morley and that is not quite Nor and not quite Sor. I am only a 15 min drive from the heart of the city. And a 15 min drive from the Airport. So i think i have the best place! Haha..

It really depends on what you are allowing to spend on rent, places at the moment over here, are thru the roof, its a buyer's world and they can do what they like.

Good luck with your move to Perth, and hope to see you around the mother's meets!!

Alicia

spiritedfamily
02-08-2006, 22:30
ABC Learning Centres are taking over most of our childcare centres in WA and the other big company is Mulberry Tree. It depends if your looking for the larger centres or small centres....small ones are trial and error but the two companies above have a good reputation.

Yes a reverse cycle split air conditioning is advisable.

So many areas are great to live in perth, I can only speak on behalf of north of the river....
landsdale, darch, madeley, warwick, duncraig, dianella,

good luck

toblerone
02-08-2006, 22:58
Hey
I don't think there are really "family orientated" suburbs or suburbs who have a reputation of being that way, everywhere is pretty family orientated as long as its a residential area :) If you choose somewhere with nice parks etc you're bound to find lots of friends for your kids in the area.

With primary schools, most suburbs have good ones. It's only once you get to high school that you really need to be choosy. I can recommend a few primary schools depending on wot suburbs ur looking at.

Its easier here to get childcare places than it is in Sydney & Melb, but as always the best centres have waiting lists that people join when the kids are born!!

creativewarrior
03-08-2006, 10:07
we did a 3 year stint in melbourne and moved back to perth once amber was born - if there is anything i can help you out with just let me know... im a NOR girl :)

SOR reminds me alot of melbourne, especially freo. but i prefer it north as i love the clean open spaces and modern housing - good roads too and less traffic.

it can be a real culture shock - no 24hr shopping, no sunday trading, no good live bands haha but im sure you'll love it here - the beaches, the weather, the people and the lifestyle make wa one of the greatest places ive lived in austalia - only place i havent been is the NT and perth gets my vote for best city and best place to raise children.

hope to cya around bubhub more
amanda

kirstenriley
03-08-2006, 10:27
and can i say....how CLEAN everything is.....my friend was over from melb a few weeks ago and couldnt believe how NICE people were...you know teenagers saying hello as you pass, workmen making sure you cross the road ok......so NOT melbourne....lol

creativewarrior
03-08-2006, 10:50
yeah it sure is clean - even just the city skyline is clean in comparison - no smoke stacks or ugliness like that.

we went back to melb for a week to visit the inlaws - came back and realised we LIVE where people go for HOLIDAYS! and we went to the busiest city in australia to HAVE A BREAK - what a laugh

perth is amazing... love it.

bubs_and_us
03-08-2006, 11:04
im slightly biased, but i would recommend nor, mainly clarkson and surrounds. the suburbs are modern, close to the beach, reasonably priced (rent and buy), and there are a lot of nice parks and play areas. im not sure about the schools, as my little one is only 6 months, but i have heard good things. the nearest shopping centre is ocean keys, which has coles, woolies and kmart, as well as heaps of specialty shops. there is also EVERY take-away place you could want right here (heheeh).....

as for rental prices, it varies with each suburb, and each part of the suburb. clarkson ranges from $200 - $300 per week. (inside clarkson are 'estates'. sommerly goes for about $280 per week. the rise is a new residential development being built now, so im not sure about rentals in there.) quinns ranges from about $220 - $300, butler is more expensive, about $250 - 350 and mindarie is even more expensive, but right on the beach ($300 upwards)... on the cheaper end is merriwa and ridgewood... you can get in there for $200 - $250 per week. all these prices are for a 4x2 house (most with double carport)

i hope this has been some help to you

3lovablebratz
03-08-2006, 16:42
it can be a real culture shock - no 24hr shopping, no sunday trading, no good live bands haha but im sure you'll love it here

Hey - we have 3 kids - I never take them shopping (scary!), Sunday is family day for us, and live bands - what are they? Hubby and I have been out alone maybe twice in the last 4 years! LOL

Seriously though - thanks heaps for everyones replies. Definitely makes it a little easier when you have some first hand info.

We are looking at around $250 for a 4BR place which is actually better than here in Melbourne. Prices may have gone up for you guys, but it's heaven for us. And yes - airconditioning is already on the MUST HAVE list.

Perth sounds like a great place and I'm sure we'll love it.

Instead of telling me where we could live - are there any places/suburbs to stay away from? Obviously being from a bigger city, we have concerns about safety etc, but Perth sounds like it's not too bad?

My eldest will be in high school in 2008 - any thoughts at all?

Thanks again all - and I'll try to make it to a get together once we're settled in.

Mum2Bug
03-08-2006, 17:17
At that price. I would probably recommend somewhere around the forrestfield area or maybe even bassendean or bayswater. All are within 10 min drive of airport (at the most) and 20 min drive to the city, bayswater even closer than that. there are old and new areas of those suburbs but i have lived in all 3 and think they are great. Im now in midland which is quite good but is quite a bustling suburb as its the gateway to the main hills area

CJJHRA
03-08-2006, 18:28
Where will you be working (or hubby) how much do you want to pay for a house (most 4beds, you will be probably looking at 350K to buy something decentish)

Have a look on realestate.com.au

spiritedfamily
04-08-2006, 09:14
Instead of telling me where we could live - are there any places/suburbs to stay away from? Obviously being from a bigger city, we have concerns about safety etc, but Perth sounds like it's not too bad?

My eldest will be in high school in 2008 - any thoughts at all?

Thanks again all - and I'll try to make it to a get together once we're settled in.

I think most suburbs have their problem areas....like anywhere or house you consider renting...check it out at all hours and see what kind of people are about...

I think its hard to reccommend what to stay aways from...as some people live in this areas and love it...There has been alot of shifting in our suburbs, some problems areas are changing quite dramatically and even though 6mths ago, it might have been a problem, then today it might not be and vice versa.

If your looking at a state school, there are some good schools about...I suppose it ultimately depends on where your living...
I know more about the private schools than state...so if your needing help in that area let me know.

Perth - offers diversity, if you like the beach...there are plenty of suburbs that are close enough without being too expensive...if you like the city...options here as well....if you like the hills...we have some beautiful areas to choose from up there and if your happy in between...plenty there too....Best thing is to check it out!!!

Good Luck

toblerone
04-08-2006, 17:31
The public high school with the best reputation is Rossmoyne SHS. Other good ones are Shenton College & Applecross SHS. Depending on what your daughter is good at, you might consider Perth Modern if she wants to concentrate on performing arts.

Our friends kids go to Mt Lawley SHS & they're very happy with that too. There's no hope of getting into these schools if you're outside the catchment areas unless your daughter wins a scholarship for one of their special programs.

Depending on how important schooling is for u, id look into catchment areas & pick one that u like the high school for :)

Elmopalooza
04-08-2006, 21:03
Speaking of Perth Modern School that is where i went. Its a fantastic school. I went there out of the catchment area becausei had a music scholarship. Their Music program is FANTASTIC! If your DD has any music ability i would seriously recommend her auditioning. They have a huge range of instruments and voice scholarships available!

toblerone
05-08-2006, 20:24
Speaking of Perth Modern School that is where i went. Its a fantastic school. I went there out of the catchment area becausei had a music scholarship. Their Music program is FANTASTIC! If your DD has any music ability i would seriously recommend her auditioning. They have a huge range of instruments and voice scholarships available!

I know someone whos there on a drama scholarship & she loves it :) not sure how good it is for sport & academics though :confused:

limlib
05-08-2006, 21:02
Totally agree with the schools mentioned as known as the best government high schools. Perth Modern has an excellent reputation for everything. Other high schools that have excellent reputation and are difficult to get into if you are not in their catchment area are Churchlands SHS (nor), Lesmurdie SHS (hills) and Willetton SHS (sor). If you choose any of the schools mentioned here (or in the previous emails) and take a house in one of their catchment suburbs (the school can tell you their boundaries) you will likely be in a very nice suburb.

As mentioned before there are lots of nice suburbs in Perth and other good schools I am sure (- schools change over time and there are new ones that haven't built up a reputation yet) but just as a starting point these are suggestions.

Look at a street directory (I am sure there is probably one on line) and you can map out a few suburbs and think what may be best for your family.

Good Luck and welcome to WA!

loopi1
07-08-2006, 17:02
Some great suggestion here for you. I moved over from country Vic 12 yrs ago but have only been in Perth 18mths. When we first moved to Perth we lived in Noranda which is near Morley just NOR. Bout 10mins to airport and 15 maybe to CBD. I loved the area but got a little expensive for me to rent so we moved up to Clarkson, where the rent is cheaper, the area is more spred out and clean and right next to the beach (me a beach(fishing) person), lots a families up here. The only draw back is it is 40kms out of the CBD, but I'm not a city person so I don't go in there too often anyway.

I suggest work out where hubby will be working and get something near there, with the fuel prices at the moment it's best to be close to work. Once you have moved in if your renting take out a 6mth lease if you don't like the area move after the 6mths, you will get to know some places within 6mths of what they are like and the more people you speak to while here and the more you drive around and venture the better you will be able to make a joint descion of where to live.

Perth is a gorgoeus place, since coming from Vic and having Melb as my cap, Perth is just like a big country town not a city to me. Beautiful weather, nice people, plenty of work. The diversity of place from the beach lovers, to the city mongers to the hillbillies(just an expression for the people living up in the hills, nothing nasty) all within Perth.

Look now, I've nearly convinced myself to stay, I'm moving back to my hometown next year as my son and I can't handle being away from family any longer, the last few years have been really hard for me so I'm moving home to be closer to family, I have only one family member in WA, my son is missing out on growing up with his relo's. I would dearly love to stay, because it is lovely here, it will take a little while to get used to it but give the place a chance and I know you'll love it.

Hope all goes well and keep in touch.