View Full Version : How much fluid does your 17mth old drink???
halloweenmum
08-03-2010, 17:41
My DD drinks 600 ml as soon as she wakes, then 300ml every hour until she goes to bed at night.
She wakes at 6am and goes to bed at 7.30pm, so Thats a total of a whopping 4200ml per day. Is that 4.2 litres? I cant recall the conversion.
I know its excessive and I am in the middle of the GP testing her, but its going to take weeks before they can say she is fine or not...
so just wondering how much your child drinks? I want to compare ot see if my DD is really excessive or just a little excessive...
any help appreciated :)
JLeesmum
08-03-2010, 18:24
im assuming its milk shes drinking?
my ds is 12 months and drinks 450mls milk a day ( 3x 150ml) (before his sleeps).
and sips on water or juice all day, probably about 250mls all day..
after 12 months their 'supposed' tp have 375mls day to meet calcium requirements..
is she drinking much water?
My ds drinks about 400ml of milk a day and maybe 200ml - 400ml of water a day.
4 litres a day is extreme ... I'm glad your GP is investigating it. Sorry, but it sounds like she needs investigating.
halloweenmum
08-03-2010, 18:50
im assuming its milk shes drinking?
my ds is 12 months and drinks 450mls milk a day ( 3x 150ml) (before his sleeps).
and sips on water or juice all day, probably about 250mls all day..
after 12 months their 'supposed' tp have 375mls day to meet calcium requirements..
is she drinking much water?
So my DD is drinking water or diluted clear juice (eg apple) that she is drinking. She is refusing milk alltogether now.
OMG this is a HUGE difference compared to your bubs, I honestly though that maybe other babies were drinking 200ml per hour, boy I was way off the mark.:no:
Seacretsquirrel
08-03-2010, 19:02
Wow that is a heck of a lot of fluid.. DS is BF but he has about 200 ml of cows milk with breakfast, then about another 200 ml of water during the morning another glass of water at lunch (couple of hundred mils) then another 200 or so in the arvo and evening and a BF before bed. so about 1.5 or so lt a day. - minus the amount he spills! - and we live in Darwin so it is very hot all the time too!
DD is 3 and she probably does a couple of litres too!
crazymuma
08-03-2010, 19:06
My daughter averges around 3 litres of water a day - she is 2.
Had a few tests done and she is healthy - just thirsty like me - I easily drink the same as she does a day plus a million coffees.
Does she eat well - if not maybe she is just drinking heaps to stop hunger.
My DD is 12.5 months and she drinks 300ml of milk (150ml at breakfast and 150mls at dinner) and anywhere between 400 - 1 litre of water a day. So she has between 700mls - 1.3L of fluid per day.
We were worried about the amount of fluid she was drinking but it seems about the norm. I'm glad your doctor is looking into it because 4 litres seems like a lot to me.
My DD1 is a little bit older (22 months) But for a long time now she's drunk probably a 500mls of water a day plus milk on her cereal, I always thought she drank heaps, she has a tall sippy cup and I always have to refill it 1-2 times.
halloweenmum
08-03-2010, 21:25
My daughter averges around 3 litres of water a day - she is 2.
Had a few tests done and she is healthy - just thirsty like me - I easily drink the same as she does a day plus a million coffees.
Does she eat well - if not maybe she is just drinking heaps to stop hunger.
She eats heaps. 3 full meals, plus 3 snacks per day, sometimes more...
She is being tested for Diabetes Insipidus, its different to the diabetes we all know where insulin is needed. The one they are testing for has no cure, she will drink like that forever I think. Not sure, too scared to google for info.
Gosh I still cant beleive the huge difference.
Secretsquirrel -
thats intersting you live in Darwin, I am in QLD and its hot and humid and I kept putting her thirst down to the climate, but obviously my DD has something else going on, thankyou for posting as I really thought the climate was a factor. I am going to let the GP know.
Jade&lilliesmum-
My DD's sippy bottle holds 300ml and I have to refill it every hour. Around 10-12 times per day and the first morning bottle has to be filled twice in one hour. Im surprised she doesnt wake up in the night thirsty, or maybe thats coming... A few months back, I only had to refill it 4 times per day, and now its increased to the rate of hourly. She is drinking far more than me and DH put together.
I've been worried about the same thing with my DS. He drinks a full drink (water) in the morning (400ml) when he wakes up and then he'll drink another 2-3 over the course of the day. I find that he drinks the whole thing in one go if I let him and he always has VERY wet nappies- as in they leak within the hour often and he's often very sweaty. So I have been worried that they are signs of diabetes and it runs in our family but he seems otherwise well. I'm thinking maybe he's just hot? I have found that if I ONLY offer him water, he drinks less than when I add even the slightest bit of juice to it so I've started only offering him water now and he has been sipping rather than draining the drink in one go. Maybe try that tomorrow and see if she's just liking the flavour?
halloweenmum
08-03-2010, 21:45
Good idea Moozle,
I will definately do that. Anything is worth a try. My DD also skulls the drinks non stop and Im changing her nappies 1-2 times per hour, just soaking full. Frequent urination is the other symptom of Diabetes Insipidus. She had the sugar test done, came back fine, but Insipidus is a different Diabetes, nothing to do with sugars.
Gosh - I'm worried now! I'll have to look it up. I hope she's ok and my DS too!!
halloweenmum
08-03-2010, 21:59
OMg Im sorry I didnt mean to worry you Moozle :o Dont google it, googling is BAD!!!
Just go to the GP, he will do the finger prick test (for sugars) and ask for a urine sample, just go from there.
Hay if you do google it and it aint so bad, can you let me know? Im too scared to research it until I have a diagnosis, I dont wanna freak out, lol. But if its not a serious form of Diabetes, will you let me know?
My DD seems fine in every other way, which is why I keep thinking it must be the weather, or teething or this or that, kwim...just the drinking and wet nappies driving me insane. 4 litres per day is far too much to be even remotely normal, I know that now.
halloween mum - it's not so bad :) Does your DD show signs of dehydration? Are her lips dry?
The type of diabetes you mentioned just means that they HAVE to drink a lot because the body does not hold on to any of the fluid that goes in - ie in one end, out the other. If your DD is drinking less and she STILL has soaking nappies then you worry because dehydration is likely to occur. Otherwise it can come and go and doesn't require a lot of intervention, just medication in some cases.
I think DS does not have it because when he drinks less like the past few days, he has much less wetness in his nappies :)
Hope your DD is the same as DS and only drinks the juice because it tastes good - thankfully now he's drinking just water and a normal amount. The moment I offer him watered down juice though, he drinks the whole thing in one go.