View Full Version : How did you say Thank you??
Morning ladies!
So I have just had baby 1 month ago, and received heaps of gifts from family and friends,
I want to do up cards to say thank you but i have no clue what to say or how to go about it.
so Im juat after some idea's......
I had some gorgeous black and white photos taken of DS when he was 3.5 weeks old. So I went to a photo print shop, where they make up thank you photo cards (they use your photo, and then you pick a design to go around the photo and you write a message). We worded a nice message and then sent them in the post. Everyone loved them!
thats a awesome idea! ty
I got my friend to take pics of the boys, and she did up thank you cards in Adobe PS. They're postcard size, with b&w picture and blue writing. It has all their stats, plus a little messgae from DP and I. I just took them to camera house and printed them out and sent them off. People loved them.
Have a look on eBay- there are people offering several similar things. You can get an idea for what you want from there :)
I just bought a nice pack of baby thank you cards from the newsagent..might try and be more creative this time and use these ideas:)
Seacretsquirrel
05-03-2010, 14:20
These are what I made for my kids
DD (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=390&pictureid=9920)
DS (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=390&pictureid=9921)
I printed them out 4 to an A4 page and popped them in with a postcard sized birth anouncement card I also made
DD (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=390&pictureid=9923)
DS (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=390&pictureid=9922)
People loved them esp the personalised thank you cards!
All great ideas, love them:thumbsup:
I made cards of my own.
You can buy blank cards at craft shops. Then I glued a photo of my son on the front.
I got the cards from Riot art and craft. They came with envelopes.
If I had a picture of him with the person that gave him the gift I used that picture.
Otherwise I just used a few different ones. There was a beautiful one of him when he was just 3 days old that I used a lot.
Then I always wrote a personal message inside. I wrote thankyou for whatever it was that was given to him and something about it. Eg. He looks cute in the shirt or he loves the toy.
Then a little update about where he's at now. eg. he's smiling or cooing etc.
Sometimes it was hard to write something when we got gifts from parents friends etc that we had never met! But you can write the same thing over and over. They're not going to be comparing notes!
I'm not really a fan of the generic card. I think if somebody made an effort to give us a gift for him then I should make an effort to thank them.
It took me a long time to get them all done but people really appreciated them and they know it's busy with a new baby. I sometimes go to people's houses and their card is on their sideboard or mantelpiece.
I used photoshop for his 1st birthday invitations buy just writing text on a photo. You could do this with a thankyou card. It's pretty easy and much cheaper than a card company. Just print it out the way you would any other photo.
Congratulations by the way. Enjoy your new bubby!
I just bought a nice pack of baby thank you cards from the newsagent..might try and be more creative this time and use these ideas:)
The photo place I used is in Castletown :thumbsup: ;)
I got photo cards made up from the Apple store. Big W also do them now.
woodsmeister
05-03-2010, 20:45
i did what bellini did too
beware tho as there are huge price differences from shop to shop. i found office works was cheapest. 15c a card, compared to a dollar at kmart
BabelFish
05-03-2010, 23:20
I make a list of who gave us what so that I can make the thank you cards specific and say 'thank you for the lovely toy train' etc etc
Then I get a particularly sweet photo of bub, print it off postcard size and write my message on the back. I also put magnetic tape on the back so they can have a fridge photo. I laminate them too so they last. Looks great, simple and a lovely keepsake.
That is great idea. Where do you get magnetic tape from?
BabelFish
07-03-2010, 11:24
I just bought mine from the craft section at KMart. But you can get magnetic strips as well - Bunnings, anywhere they sell crafts etc.