View Full Version : thread for AUGUST!!

Pages : [1] 2

brideofjabba
01-08-2006, 04:56 PM
OMG its August already!!!!!!

How is everyone today? I'm doing good, other then the wooziness in the mornings which the dr just put down to the fact that my heart is beating a bit faster(just one of those pregnancy things i have). But everything else is great, bp fine, glucose test was normal(phew!) and bubs seems fine, measuring right etc.
Dh and i bought our car seat yesterday! I'm finally doing something to prepare. lol

Anna - i can't believe you have dropped and are so close!!!!!!!! I remember that feeling - that the baby is going to fall out any minute! With my ds#1 i dropped a few days before i went into labour!

Bec(?) - sorry your having trouble with your OB, what a pain! You do what YOU want. I can't stand people(especially drs) dictating how things should be done. Its your birth for heavens sake!

Hope everyone else is doing well...

loulousmum
01-08-2006, 08:36 PM
Brideofjabba - I've had the morning wooziness too! :yes: I think it is the heart beat and the lack of space in the lungs but will ask my doctor on Friday.

I thought my baby had dropped and was getting a bit worried about how early it was for a second pregnancy, but I think he was just sitting in an awkward position because the past day has been feeling much lighter and higher (if that makes sense), I guess I'll just have to wait for Friday.......waiting, waiting, waiting....:rolleyes:

AnnaT
02-08-2006, 12:48 AM
Bec - yeah braxton hicks can be super painful, other women dont get them at all. Luck of the draw I guess :rolleyes: I first started getting them every couple of weeks here and there at 16wks and at that stage it was just a really tense tightening of my tummy for about 30 secs, not uncomfy just weird. Then nothing from 26-30 weeks, now they are back and painful (doesnt help when bub kicks through them either). Sometimes I get them during the day but mostly at night or when Ive been exerting myself too much.

BOJ - yeah but my version of dropping and a normal womans is different seeing as Im 5'3" - bub doesnt have to drop very far lol At my physio class tonight everyone else ahead and behind me in weeks was complaining about not being able to breathe, I was like "My boy isnt into trying to suffocate Mama anymore, cervical headbutts are more his thing. DONT wish for those" They didnt believe he was engaged until the phsyio said "Oh yeah he is and its cause she is so short its not noticable." Yeah Im a midget :p

Lou'sMum - I thought the same thing but OB assured me that bubs can engage from 28wks and still not be born until 42wks. Unusual but can happen so dont stress too much! Its a good sign though, atleast the head fits :laughing:

ETA - anyone else getting a resurgence of morning sickness?? I was hoping I'd make the final weeks without getting it back but looks like its nausea and possible vomiting filling my last weeks. Yay *sigh*

loulousmum
02-08-2006, 07:25 AM
I'm with those who are having a late resurgance of the need for a purge! I've managed to keep it down so far, but it seems to be part and parcel with the wooziness etc.:barf:

It's probably a good sign because those hormones are kicking in ready for the final weeks and first weeks iykwim!

Now girls - topless sunbathing is a must in preparation for feeding. I know it's cold, so find a sunny spot inside and get them out there!!!!:laughing:

Gumby
02-08-2006, 07:29 AM
Morning all. I cant believe its AUGUST already. Everyones belly pics are great and I hopefully should update to a 30-31 week one soon.

My bus seems to be sitting low but my uterus is sitting high...lol. Up until yesterday he was kicking my cervix which was starting to get on my nerves but after a shove yesterday from the middy, he seems to have moved. I am not evan going to try and guess how he is laying at the moment.
After having 4 days of him being quiet (well i couldnt feel movements because he was breach and facing my back) he decided last night at 6 pm to turn around and make up for the lack of kicks. I FINALLY got to sleep @10 in between another belly bashing. I dont know Y I ever complain....lol.
Sorry seem to be going on about me...lol

Anna- I am feeling off again in the mornings but it is sort of steming from my lungs being squashed and I feel sik in the chest if that makes sence.

Better go. Shopping is calling my name :D
Rian

Becbabe
02-08-2006, 08:08 AM
I was just going to jump on here this morning and ask if anyone else had the old m/s back - sounds like I'm not alone! It's not as bad as it was early on, but I still feel yucky and don't want breakfast (but if I get hungry I feel like I'm going to hurl...)

DP and I have sorted out a plan of action for the OB - basically we're going to take our birth wishes in and say "we need to know you're going to support us with these" - otherwise we will be looking for someone else. I've calmed down a bit today (!) In the end we have faith in the way we want to do things, and that's the main thing for my peace of mind. But I'm not going to be told that I can't try a natural birth based on any statistics!

AnnaT - oh yeah when baby kicked through the B-H it nearly dropped me yesterday! DP was very alarmed!

LouLousmum, I had heard that 10mins a day of sunshine was good for nipples :laughing: next week when I'm off work I can give it a go... our new house is really sunny so I can lie in a patch indoors.... not so good in the old house I would have had to lie in the backyard, brrrr! (I'm sure the neighbours would have loved it too :p )

DP and I are struggling with sleep patterns at the moment - one of us is usually tossing & turning (me mostly!) and waking the other up... this morning I said "maybe we should just get used to this as the return to normal is probably a long long way away.....:o

mumchristy23
02-08-2006, 08:54 AM
Morning all, Wow August already, its exciting and scary at the same time.... not long until we meet our bubs :) both my DD were born 2 and half weeks early... that means I could meet my son in like 5 weeks.

To those of you who are feeling sick I hope you are feeling betta soon.

Becbabe - Thats great news about your birth wishes. Am glad you and hubby have decided what you what to do (and not your rude doctors). :fingerscrossed: for you that he stays positive for you both.

Has anyone been getting REALLY bad braxton hicks? I got it quite often with both my previous pregnancies and it never bothered me (i got them that frequent I had to learn to deal with it:) ) but last night I had the most excrusiating pain in my stomach and then the worst back pain... I couldn't move at all and when I tried I thought I was going to be sick... i seriously thought i was in full labour.. couldnt sleep properly for the rest of the night then.

Also, How often are you all going to the doctors? I went to the doctors about 2 weeks ago for my Anti D, I got a referral for antibodies at 34wks plus glucose test and that was it... she never said i'll see you in 2 weeks or 4 weeks... nothing. My doctor doesn't check my weight, urine sample regularly or blood pressure regularly.

Well I hope you all have a good day.

Claire R
02-08-2006, 10:21 AM
Becbabe - Good to hear you sounding more confident with approach to the ob. Hope it is cleared up soon one way or the other. Maybe he is trying to "soften you up" in case you do end up needing to have a caeser so it is not all a hige shock and disappoinment? As long as he's prepared to support you to try it naturally that's the important thing.

I'm wondering if there's some chapter in the OB manual that says start to work on the pregnant Mama's psychology at around this time!!?? After reading about your experience I realise my ob was taking a slightly firmer approach with me yesterday, not in a bad way but just in a sort of it's time to get serious girlie (I am one of these types that can't even keep track of what week I am up to etc so I suspect she is trying to get me focussed that there is actually a baby coming)

No BH for me yet - but I'll be forewarned thanks to you lovely ladies. Think I will give the topless sunbathing a miss though if you don't mind - I suspect the Tassie sun is not strong enough and I might in fact get frostbite and lose them all together!!

~Kimba~
02-08-2006, 11:12 AM

Yep I've been feeling a bit nauseous again too lately, not actually :barf: though (haven't actually been sick once, this whole pregnancy, touch wood), I feel sorry for those of you who are!

Bec it's good to hear that you are going to stand up for your need to be supported. When I hear about other people's experiences I don't regret at all not having an ob - my shared care has been pretty good (GP and midwives), without having to spend all that money - I'd be devastated if I'd decided to 'invest' in an ob only to have them leaving me feel unsupported or undermined.

I'm going for 'routine' checkups every 2 weeks now - have a 32 week appt with my GP next week, a 34 week appt with the Birth Centre midwives, a final 36 week appt with my GP, and then from 37 weeks it'll be weekly visits with the midwives at the Birth Centre. However in the meantime (this week at least) I'm also seeing the hospital ob registrar, just to keep an eye on some of the problems I've had recently, hopefully all will be clear on that front though and I won't have to see them weekly for the rest of the pregnancy.

I'm dying to have another scan because I haven't had one since May, trying to think of a way to convince my GP or midwives that I 'need' one, but bubs isn't breech any more, so there's no real reason, dammit :laughing:

02-08-2006, 11:15 AM
Hey all :wave: just thought i would jump on in here so i can chat to people who are around the same stages as me (Im 27 weeks & 1 day)
Wow i cant believe its August already :eek: not long to go now hey!! I remember when it was March it & October seemed like a lifetime away now its what? 2 months away??

brideofjabba
02-08-2006, 01:09 PM
Anna - i'm 5'3 too...maybe thats why i look so big! lol its all belly on a short body.
Kimbaleo - with ds#1 i had a quick u/s in the OBs office at the hospital when i had my 36wks check(i think it was), totally wasn't expecting it! Maybe you will get the same.

My m/s sickness hasn't even stopped! I am still vomiting in the mornings as i have been since week 5. And i have noticed lately i have been feeling a little seedy in the evenings and have vomit burbed a few times...yick yick yick.

I'm down to fortnightly visits now. And i've also been having painful BH. Annoying..but i guess good practice for labour!

Ruth1010
02-08-2006, 03:46 PM
Hello Lovely Ladies,

Its AUGUST - YAY!!!!!!! Not long to go now and I am so excited for us all. X

Becbabe - good on you for standing up for your choices. I am so keen to try hypnobirthing and I haven't mentioned it to my Ob yet. I really want to try and get through this as natural as I can but am not object to any assistance if I can't but I want that to be my choice, not my Ob's. I will let you know how I go when I tell my Ob.

Went to the doctors today for a 31 week checkup (I'm all out of whack with appointments - living so far away) all is good, baby has head down already, heart beat good and my blood pressure was spot on - Great!!!!

Well along with the pregnancy I have produced a protruding blood vessel to which I had to have frozen off my nose today! Not very attractive I can tell you that. The doctor said that it is due to the expansion of your vessels in pregnancy and as I had a slight spot on my nose my vessel decided that was the perfect place to erupt from! It was pretty gross - If I knocked it, it would bleed for hours!!! So I have been very sooky with DH of late asking if he still loves me because I look like a witch. :laughing: He has been so good about it really, I can imagine I have been quite painful!

Only 10 more days of work left and counting :smiliedance: And more good news............we are moving back to Perth on the 19th of August which is just brill!!! My worst fear is to be stuck out here when I go into labour.

Anyway I hope everyone is doing well. Bye for now :wave:

Rach78
02-08-2006, 05:05 PM

I am new to posting on here but have been following all the posts for the past few months.

My name is Rach and I am currently 28.5 weeks pregnant with #1 (baby boy due 22nd October).

It is so reassuring to read that others are havng the same issues and concerns as myself.

I have only had 2 OB appts this whole pregnancy and haven't even booked in for my next one (due at 30 weeks) because she only works Thursdays and I have to work the next few Thursdays. My last appt I waited an hour and a half and she spent a whole 5 mins with me - cost me $75.... was a total waste of time and very disapointing since I had looked forward to that appt for 6 weeks.

I have my GTT tomorrow - I don't understand why I have to have the 2 hour test with 3 needles when I don't have a history of diabetes or anything... will be begging them for the 1 hour one but I don't like my chances.:(

I have heaps more to say but I better not overdo it for my 1st post.

Rach

P.S. I have just read over my post and it does sound like I am having a big sook but I think I am just having one of those days - I haven't had much movement since Monday night and I am a little concerned, have been a bit on edge.

Gumby
02-08-2006, 05:12 PM
Rach, welcome. Feel free to have a sook in here anytime you like. I too feel abit more emotional when bubs is having a quiet period. If you are concerned enough to mention that ur bubs hasnt moved much, pop into the hospy for a ctg. They are always more than happy to see you and seeing as though you dont see your ob that much, they can take your b/p and check your urine for you. Take care and let us know how you are going.
Take care Rian

Becbabe
03-08-2006, 07:45 AM
Welcome Rach! Don't worry about having a sook we all do it on here sooner or later (sometimes quite regularly :D )

I know what you mean about OB's. I don't think I'll go private next time. So far it feels like a complete waste of money! Thanks Kimbaleo and ClaireR for your support too. It means a lot to have people who don't think I'm overreacting! :o

Hey Ruth, good luck with your OB. I certainly recommend the hypnobirthing type stuff - so good for helping you relax! Bet you are looking forward to the move. I have been thinking how it would have been having a baby where DP and I are from... 2 hrs from the nearest maternity ward!

Hi Mum&bubs, welcome. Yep 2 months to go... I can't believe 9 months can pass so fast! :eek:

My hips are so sore today, I must have kicked my pillow out during the night... totally addicted to the pillow between the legs now!

AnnaT
03-08-2006, 11:32 AM
Bub wasnt moving at all this morning after a night of BH, restless sleep, hot flushes and vomiting - even after Dh and I poked and prodded, wriggled, drank milo etc etc so I rushed off in a panic to the hospital :thumbsdown:
We heard his heartbeat (thankgod I was sooooooooo worried) but they hooked me up to the CTG machine to check for contractions.
Im not in labour (yet) but my braxton hicks are 2-3mins apart *eek* My internal showed no dialation but my cevix is very very soft and bub is 100% engaged (nurse said she could feel his big head lol) :eek:
So semi-bedrest and relaxation for me so he doesnt think about making an appearance before 36wks.

Im happy for him to make it to 37wks then he has my full permission to make his way to the exit door lol

So if Im MIA dont worry, Im just milking the bedrest for all its worth this weekend and making Dh my slave ;)

Briannabear
03-08-2006, 12:29 PM
Just wanted to say hello everyone!

AnnaT - You keep resting up! You should invest in a little bell you can keep beside your bed. Just ring it every time you want your DH to get you something! Im sure he'll love it! NOT! LOL! Lap it up while you can! :D

sare
03-08-2006, 12:36 PM

Still same old, same old here. Nothing very new to report. I was a bit worried that the baby didn't seem to be kicking heaps, but after a choccie fix, s/he is moving a bit more. I remember worrying that Eloise was moving heaps at about this stage. My OB sent me off for another ultrasound just to make sure everything was ok...and it was, so it's just me being a worrier.

Anna - you poor thing :hugs: . So it looks like you'll be meeting your little man in just 6 weeks. That's so exciting. :yelclap: It's looking like you'll be the first of us October mums.

Welcome Rach. Hope everything goes well with your GTT test. The lovely (:laughing: ) sugary drink that you have to have is likely to wake your bubs up, so hopefully you'll be getting lots of kicks soon. It may just be a growth spurt too (I didn't know that the baby's movement slowed down during growth spurts until I joined this forum...another reason why bubhub is so good)

i hope all of you who have had the dreaded morning sickness return are doing ok. Take it easy...

suemp
03-08-2006, 12:41 PM
yeah for august.:smiliedance:
dp going away fishing next week, i wont know what to do with myself
had to buy a tv today as the old (well its not that old :no: ) one was playing up so while i was there i bought a video camera. thought it would be nice to be able to tape the kids at xmas etc to send down to my parents.
get my glucose test on monday. might have to take ds as dp is working so i hope im not there too long. it s amazing how fast a 4 yr old boy gets bored
does anyone know what week you start doing ante natal every 2 weeks. im hoping to get another 4 week appointment out of them.
welcome rach
annat if its any consilation my friend had a daughter at full term and she had the same problem as you (being fully engaged) before she was even 30 weeks. sometimes i think the bubs like to start stressing us parents early:eek:
when my mum was preg with me she had full bed rest the whole time with a 4 yr old (due to heavy bleeding for 9 months) dont know how they do it :no:
anyway i really have to start cleaning the house so ta ta

S'mores
03-08-2006, 04:03 PM
Hi all.
Been checking in and reading daily but haven't written in myself!

All good on my front, bub moving regularly throughout the day. Had 2 good nights sleep :thumbsup: so I hope this is a break from my usual getting up at 2am-3am. Health wise, nothing to report.

Sorry to hear about those of you who are getting sick again - yucki.

Suemp, I am due a week before you and have my last monthly appointment in 2weeks (I'll be 30 weeks), then I start to go fortnightly after that.

Thats really all. No wonder I didn't write in before now :D.
Have a good day all!!

SalTheGal
03-08-2006, 04:50 PM
Hey everyone- another month down, getting scarily (and very exitingly) close now!! Only one more week and i'll be into the single figure countdown- yikes!!:eek:

Had my diabetes results today- GRRRR got a high result so have to go back monday for the yucky two hour test, bummer!!!!!!!!!

Other than that and the usual gripes nothing happening here, bubs still having parties in my tum- I was just saying to DF the other night that it is actually starting to get a bit over the top- this bub seems to think it can party all day, not to mention all night too!! No consideration:D !!!!!

Has anyone else hit the third trimester mark and just lost all energy?!? It felt for me like I turned the week over and boom- tiredness hit me, just like that! yuk!!!

Anyway take care everyone, so looking forward to hearing from all of us as time draws nearer to meeting our bubs!!:smiliedance:

Rach78
03-08-2006, 07:55 PM
Hello ladies,

I had my GTT today - apparently most of the OB's in my area send you for the big test straight away instead of the shorter test. It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be but I am glad it is over.:yelclap:

I got 2 kicks from bubs after drinking the glucose drink, was hoping for more as he's been really quiet for 3 days now. I have started noting down how many movements I am getting. A question for you- is any slight "tickle" or "feathery" feeling classed as a movement because I am not getting kicks as such but am getting a few tickly feelings?

Also do you think it's ok to assume that if you can find the heartbeat then everything is ok? I have a doppler and have found his hearbeat each day this week even though I haven't felt much movement. Thats is the only thing that has stopped me going to the hospital to get checked out. When I was 24 weeks i rushed to the hospital due to lack of movement and they just checked for the heartbeat and then sent me home so I guess that is the most important thing?

Sorry about all the questions, I am trying to not to worry so much but I just want to feel him kicking so much.:)

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Rach

maybe1more
03-08-2006, 09:21 PM
Hi ladies, Well august here we come!!! The time really seems to be flying by, especially for us that have children already.

As some of you mention, i hear you on thoses sleepless nights, i just cant seem to get comfy and bub seems to move heaps and wakes me up a few times a night, i supose he`s getting me ready:yes:

Anna- I hope you are getting lots of rest, i think little Jett cant wait to be in his awesome nursery. What a scare you had, make sure you take it easy:thumbsup:

Welcome Rach78- dont stress to much all bubs are diffrent, some move more then others, hearing the heartbeat it a great indicator all is just fine;)

Best of luck to all having there GTT.

maybe1more
03-08-2006, 09:44 PM
A Big Happy 25th Birthday to Bec!!! (aka briannabear)Wishing you a great day, i hope you got spoilt rotten!!!happybirthday

suemp
04-08-2006, 06:07 AM
rach : all ive ever really got off my munchkin is flutters...lazy little buger, hopefully it means we will have quiet bubs:fingerscrossed:

Becbabe
04-08-2006, 06:36 AM

Well the main thing on my mind today is... Last Day Of Work!! Yippeee :smiliedance:

Lots to do today so I got up with DP at 5.30 so I could do some washing, get ready for work & still have time to get on here for a while!

Suemp, my DP is going to his ol stomping ground this weekend, not back til Monday. I am planning lots of nice girly indulgent things to do so I don't mope! I'm going to watch Brokeback Mountain as DP has refused to let me rent it! I'm also going to make spinach & ricotta pie and pad thai and watch several episodes of Buffy :p

AnnaT, hope you don't get too bored with the bed rest - my friend had to do the same so I lent her my entire movie collection! Hopefully your little baby will decide to hang around int here a bit longer :fingerscrossed:

My baby movements have changed - less kicks and pokes, now it's more like a squirm/really strong flutter! DP was laughing at my active belly this morning. She never seems to sleep!

happy birthday Briannabear - 25 what a great age :D Weird to think that by the time I turn 26 I'll have a new baby...

M~T~J~M
04-08-2006, 09:03 AM
happybirthday to Briannabear!!! Hope you have a lovely day!!

Not too much to report here. Apart from being soooo tired! I feel like I am back in the first trimester. All of a sudden, it just hit me, and I feel so lazy and sluggish. I have never enjoyed being at home so much :laughing:
I, too, am starting to feel a little queezy again. Just when I wake in the morning, and sometimes when I wake during the night. No where near as bad as I felt in the early stages, but enough to annoy me.
I am not sure if the baby has moved head down yet (as he was lying transverse!), but I had some horrible pains on Monday, which seem to have slightly carried over the last couple of days also. I have my next appoint on 10 August, so unless I start feeling worse, I will just wait until then. I haven't heard anything from him about my glucose test, so I am assuming that all was ok!!

One of my friends gave birth to her second little girl on Wednesday morning, and named her Matilda. She was 10 days early. She weighed only 5lbs 5oz (tiny, tiny). The little poss is having trouble maintaining temperature and she is getting too cold. She also has low blood sugar. Hopefully she will pick up quickly so she can come out of special care and go home!

I have just had the census lady here delivering the forms for Tuesday night!! How fun will that be! At least we know what everybody else around the place will be doing then....Mmmmm....

Must be off, the kids are running crazily around the house getting into plenty of mischief.
Take care everybody

~Kimba~
04-08-2006, 09:47 AM

Welcome Krissy and Rach! Hope you enjoy our friendly group as much as we all do.

happybirthday Bec! Hope you have a lovely day and that you're appropriately spoilt!

AnnaT - hope that Jett stays right where he is until 37 weeks for you :fingerscrossed: and I the bed rest isn't too boring for you - bed rest sounds lovely to me though, I'm so lazy at the moment! :laughing:

Ruth - sorry to hear you had to get that blood vessel burnt off, that's the last thing you need on top of pregnancy!

Becbabe - so envious that it's your last day of work! You lucky thing :yelclap: I still have 4 weeks of work to go. Like most of you, I'm starting to feel lazy, sluggish and tired, I can think of nothing better than being home resting right now! But the longer I stay at work, the longer i can take off when bub arrives, that's what keeps me going.

Sal - sorry you have to do another GTT. The sugary drink doesn't bother me so much as the waiting around!

Speaking of which, I had to see the hospital ob yesterday to check some test results, usually I don't have to see them so it was my first time to the hospital antenatal clinic. We had to wait for an hour and a half past our appointment time - DH was with me (for the first time, usually he doesn't come to my appointments) and couldn't believe how long we had to wait, only to be seen for 5 minutes. 'Welcome to my world!', I said! LOL

Re: movement - I must be lucky, my little Tigger doesn't seem to bounce much at night, or else I just can't feel it, he certainly isn't keeping me awake. I sometimes worry when he's a bit quiet, but even little flutters and wiggles are still counted as movement. A middy the other day told me that around now they are starting to get so big that the movement changes to squirms rather than kicks, just when I was enjoying the big kicks and turns too!

And Rach, re: heartbeat, when I told the hospital ob yesterday that my bub had been a bit quiet, all he did was listen for the heart for a second or two, and said 'perfectly healthy!' so from that I assume that as long as there's a heartbeat, all is OK!

Hope you all have a lovely weekend,

lesley
04-08-2006, 09:52 AM
hey all

well it has been so long an i missed so much i had computer problems and it went back under warrenty but its back now and i am happy as can bee ,
we are all fine i had my 1st lot of brakton hicks yesterday that was exciting
bubbie is having a ball in there swimming around

We are on the move our realestate informed us last friday we have 60 days to move out as the owner wants to move in with his new wife so i have been busy packing and house hunnting and cleaning my eldest broke her arm my partner broke his thumb and my son tore his finger open and almost needed stichers but i am down to my last days at work i have 5 days left now its getting exciting now
well i better go lots to do

take care and say hi to those bumps for me :D

Mookie
04-08-2006, 10:56 AM

I've just caught up on all the news of the last week. Sorry I havent been on here too often lately - I've been buggered when I get home from work & DH is on the computer a lot on the w'ends studying.

A big Happy Birthday to Briannabear - I hope you have a lovely day with lots of treats.

Lesley - sounds like a lot is happening in your household! I hope you find a new place to live easily. Try not to overdo it with packing etc - easier said than done.

Welcome to Rach & Krissy. It's nice to have you join us all.

Ruth - not good to hear about your blood vessell having to be zapped off. My DH had that on his nose last year sometime & (sorry) said it hurt like hell. I saw his toes curl from behind the curtain when he was zapped. I hope yours isnt too bad & heals nicely.

AnnaT - sounds like you've had a scare! You really need to take it easy to keep bubs in a bit longer.

I called in sick at work today, as it has been majorly stressful lately. We are severely understaffed & the position I'm in at the moment has copped a heap of the work. I've been getting tireder & tireder & really worked up about it. Not sleeping, woke at 1am really upset about it all this morning (& probably only had another hours sleep after that). Took myself to the dr who said my BP and pulse are too high. He gave me a cert for all of next wk to rest & said I really shouldnt go back at all. I was plannning on another 3wks at work, but am now thinking I might call it a day now. It's just not worth it. I'll talk to my ob next wk & see. The main thing is Dr checked bubs thoroughly & she's completely fine.

Anyway, that's enough about me - sorry this turned out to be a bit long.

I hope everyone else is well & not suffering with MS too badly - mine has been creeping back again too. I'm hurling every couple of days now. At least it's not as bad as the start.

Hope you all have lovely weekends.

Briannabear
04-08-2006, 11:36 AM
Thanks everyone for wishing me happy birthday!! I had a fabulous day! My girlfriends took me out for brunch, and my mum babysat my DD last night so my DH could take me out for dinner! I feel utterly spoilt! :D

I hope everyone is having a great day. And I hope work settles down for the mummies who are still working. :hugs:

lil pumpkin
04-08-2006, 12:54 PM

Happy Birthday for yesterday Briannabear, glad you had a great day.

Hi to Rach and Krissy, you will find heaps of support on here.

AnnaT - Hope you are relaxing and enjoying bedrest and milking it for all its worth. :fingerscrossed: Jett stays for a bit longer.

Well i have had a great week and looking forward to being home in 2 weeks time. :smiliedance: I booked my antenatal classes yesterday and am sort of looking forward to them. Time is going really fast atm for me as i am getting organised to go home and classes and baby shower and the birth and then my sisters wedding. I have had a few Braxton Hicks over the past week and Jack is moving soo much now. Lately i too have been waking up early in the morning for the toilet first then not being able tyo go back to sleep as Jack decides that it is time to play.

Hope everyone has a good relaxing weekend and feel better soon.

loulousmum
04-08-2006, 01:22 PM
Had my OB appointment today - had been looking forward to it so much and then when he came out to call me in, I could tell he'd been up all night delivering babies and I was right!

He checked me out thoroughly but there was no chatting or anything like that. BP fine, baby's position fine, heartbeat fine.....I know this should make me happy, but I guess I feel like the next four weeks until I finish work are going to go sooooo slowly!:(

I am going to a ball tomorrow night at the Convention Centre in Bris. It will be heaps of fun but I am stressing about going along looking like Humpty Dumpty...:eek:

I can't believe I am a worker and mum to a 2 year old and I'm saying I'm bored!!! Maybe it's just the mood I'm in today :rolleyes:

ikis84
04-08-2006, 04:04 PM
AnnaT, ditto to all the other comments regarding hoping that bub stays put for the next 5 weeks!!

I have booked into a breastfeeding education workshop run by the ABA - is anyone else going to this? It looks good... along with the 3hr workshop you get a 12 month membership to the ABA, free book and subscription to thier magazine. Hopefully it is worth the $70!!

Becbabe - hope you enjoy your w/end without dh!! And your new found stay-at-homeness!!

sare
04-08-2006, 04:44 PM
happybirthday Briannabear. It sounds like you had a great day.

Ikis - I didn't do the ABA class before dd was born, but my hospital ran a breastfeeding class which I went to. It was great. I have to say though breastfeeding was one thing that I was not prepared for. Everyone was telling me how it was a beautiful and natural experience and I was expecting this. For the first few days Eloise really took to b/fing. Then my milk came in, it hurt and she had trouble staying attached. I hated it, but I persisted and it took ages until we both got the hang of it. But the story does end well...Eloise was b/f for 14 months and by then it was a beautiful and natural experience.

Hope everyone has a great weekend.

lesley
04-08-2006, 10:36 PM
hi

well i just wanted to ask has anyone else lost weight
i had my clinic check on Monday and in a week i have lost 2.005 kg my BP was 100/50 bubs is fine though very active so next time i see a doc not a mid wife

well i am very sorry to hear about every ones troubles its not good well i better go now

catch you all soon

Lesley and bub

ikis84
05-08-2006, 01:19 AM
Sare, thanks for your comments regarding breast feeding. It seems that is the general kind of story - it is extreemly hard in the beginning, but if correct help is recieved and you persist it ends well. I am hoping this is the case for me (well, not the difficult bit, but the good ending!). I am fully expecting it to be hard after what I have heard, and am trying to find out what I can so that I am somewhat prepared. I have been told by many that the most important thing to do expect to do nothing but feed in the first few weeks!

Lesly, I have certainly not lost weight... only gaining around here :eek: 12kg so far! Sorry to hear about you having to move... what sucky timing! :hugs: Hope it all settles down for you very soon... maybe you will find somewhere even better!

Has anyone started taking raspberry leaf yet?

Any ideas about what to do for very itchy nipples?? It is driving me INSANE!

loulousmum
05-08-2006, 06:49 AM
Is it normal for bubs to be hiccoughing for a prolonged period? I woke up at 4am this morning with a very regular "hic, hic, hic" and when I woke up again at 6am it was still going - of course it may have stopped for the two hours I was asleep....I've never had it with either pregnancy.....:confused:

Re: Breastfeeding - because I'd read up and knew the stat that 98% of women can successfully breastfeed if given the right support and if they are willing to perservere, I was planning for it to be a challenging but in the end positive experience. They reckon that if you plan for it to be successful then it will be - that means having support people ready, knowing where to go immediately there's a problem (the ABA are FANTASTIC, but so are the hospital clinics) and in my case this time around, buying great maternity bras upfront and not "waiting to see if I can feed...", as I've said before on this forum, I've also bought some breastfeeding tops for in hospital. It'll be the best $70 you've spent during your pregnancy! And think how much you'll save on formula and bottles for the time you are feeding!:D

Re: Raspberry Leaf Tea - I'm going to start drinking my four cups a day from the end of week 35. That's what I did last time and I don't know if it was the tea or not, but everything went smoothly and my recovery was great. I didn't drink it in hospital after delivery, but I'm told you should do this as well to help everything to go back into place! So, I'll be packing it this time!

suemp
05-08-2006, 07:54 AM
no weight loss here for this little duck. i think i must be storing fat for a rainy day or something cause ive ballooned :thumbsdown:
i did not b/feed my son. well i tried but he could not latch on due to medical conditions and it worked out great. i stuck with the cheapest formula, was able to feed him any where with out feeling uncomfortable (our house is always full of guys) and the thing i enjoyed the most was dp was able to feed him too which a0 gave me a chance to sleep thru certain feeds and b0 was a great bonding experience for ds and dp....so will i b/f or f/f this time???? i still dont know.i think i will try give bub the colostrum and see how i go. if i or bub is not happy with it i will have no problem putting him on the bottle

lucy72
05-08-2006, 08:43 AM

Sorry have been MIA also. I can't remember everything that has gone on over the past week, so I have 3 sessions of the Internet open so I can remember what you all posted.....

M/S back - this has been happening to me as well. Not every day but some times I just feel Yucky. I usually take an ENO (not sure if I am supposed to) and that settles it down for me. I then jump into bed and have a nap.

Loulousmum - topless sunbathing - now with a backyard of workmen do you think I should!!!! Might make their day more enjoyable! Alas in Sydney there has not been much sunlight to enjoy - I knew as soon as we started to build our pool the drought would be broken and we we would get heaps of rain days! Guess I will have to wait to sun my boobies!!!

Bec - so sorry to hear about your OB. You are on the right track, tell him/her what you want and if they don't agree find someone else. I know it is not ideal as this one knows your history, but at the end of the day you, Dh and bubs are the most important people in the world.

Welcome Rach. It is reassuring to know that you are going through the same as others due around the same time.

Anna - make the most of the bed rest. Did you watch the program on SBS the other week called the Odyessy of Life? Very good and the lady there had the same. She gave up work and immediately started with BH and was put into hospital at about 32 weeks until 37 weeks when the baby was born. Fingers crossed Jett stays in his warm spot for another 5 weeks!

Well i am not finished with the post yet, but my brother has just arrived with his washing. His washing machine has broken down.... Will sign on again later and finish reading all your updates.

Lucy

ikis84
05-08-2006, 11:08 AM
Loulousmum, my bub gets hiccoughs all the time!! At first it's kind of cute, but after ages it gets a litte annoying :o I haven't seemed to master the art of ignoring them! The hiccoughs generally last for about 45-60 mins, go away and then come back... so I would probably say it's normal (yeah, with my case study of 1!).

sare
05-08-2006, 02:00 PM
Ikis - I thought after I had made that last post..."that seems so negative" and I really didn't mean it to. I think that the breastfeeding class that I did helped me understand b/fing, so I definitely found it valuable. I also went to the hospital's lactation clinic after I had dd and found this excellent as they were able to assess my hold and how she was attaching etc and suggest modifications. They suggested getting in contact with the ABA, but I never did. Good luck with it all.

Becbabe
05-08-2006, 02:43 PM
I'm going to an ABA morning tea & info session at Maccas (!) this Wed. I'm looking forward to it as DP and I don't know that many people in town, so I'm hoping to make some mummy friends! I'm also going to go to the hospital info session in a few weeks. I was just on the phone to Mum and she said she had trouble with milk coming down too fast and had to feed lying down for a while.

I really missed DP last night! This is the first house since we've been together that I haven't lived in without him (he moved in with me last year). But he rang to say how much he missed me just before I went to sleep so that was nice. :kiss:

I'm having my first relaxed Saturday in ages, cos I"m not rushing around doing things that need to be done on the weekend!

Nice to see you again Lucy & Lesley. Glad things are going ok. Thanks for your support Lucy, I'm asking my GP for referrals to some other OB's next week.

It's a beautiful sunny day here today - it was lovely having a leisurely lunch in the sunshine!

HanCh
06-08-2006, 08:24 AM
Hi girls!! Sorry i have been MIA........again........

It sounds like most people are still getting by without many major compications. THose who are having a few troubles, I hope they all get sorted SOON!!! :fingerscrossed:
Things here are still going ok. Down to fortnightly doctor visits now. I have an ultrasound on Weds which I am excited about. We should see a lot this time! :fingerscrossed:
The doctor told me that he is either going to induce me at 39 weeks or give me a c-sect (depending on bubs). So that means I only have 8 weeks until I meet my baby!!!! :smiliedance:
I hope you are all enjoying your weekend. Have a great week and I'll let you know how the ultrasound goes on wednesday.

Only 5 weeks left of work!!!!! :yelclap:

SalTheGal
06-08-2006, 09:18 AM
Hi everyone, Hope everyone has had a relaxing weekend so far (as relaxing as can be!!)

I am finishing painting the nursery today- very excited cause then I can set it all up looking nice!!

Lesley- I have lost weight too :detective: , 2kgs this last week, but like you bub seems to be fine so not too stressed- since I am getting married 12 weeks after bub is born I am happy to keep my weight gain to a minimum!!!

I think bub had hiccups the other night- maybe someone can confirm for me?!? Lying in bed the other night I felt a rhythmyic consistent movement in one spot, like a soft thump....thump...thump, it went on for about 20mins, then I drifted off to sleep. Could this have been hiccups?? I felt terrible for poor bub- does it bother them? I nearly wanted to get up and do cartwheels or something just to try and help get rid of them!!:D

Well Back to my morning cuppa, I am sitting in the lounge watching 'the sound of music' while catching up on all the news here (and blubbering like a baby at the soppy bits- don't you love pregnancy hormones!!)

Take care everyone!!

AnnaT
06-08-2006, 09:33 AM
Sal - yep thats what hiccups feel like. Its like a regular pulse or thump and I find it only centre down near my girly bits as thats where his head his (I get alot of headbutts with them so theyre a bit painful lol) Arent they cute?

I survived the inlaw weekend, and even scored some pretty shoes courtesy of MIL. I should have seriously been resting instead of shopping and seeing family yesterday as I was miserable all last night with pains, BH and backache. So resting it is today.

Hope everyone is doing well!

SamanthaJane
06-08-2006, 11:48 AM
I have been having heaps of trouble getting in a comfy position to sleep in, its really quite annoying. :crying:

When i lay on one side the baby kicks into the side that i am laying on... so i swap around, and then she kicks that side... I think she thinks its a game... lol :rolleyes:

Re: Raspberry leaf tea: my mum bought some on thursday, but i havnt been game enough to try it... i dont like tea :no:

suemp
06-08-2006, 12:06 PM
anyone being extremely hormnal lately?
lately i blow up at dp over everything. if he goes out to a friends house i scream saying stuff like he mustnt love me if his friends are soo important. i feel like a fruit loop. also i started nesting today....even cleaning out the tracks in the windows...scarey..

SamanthaJane
06-08-2006, 12:26 PM
anyone being extremely hormnal lately?
lately i blow up at dp over everything. if he goes out to a friends house i scream saying stuff like he mustnt love me if his friends are soo important. i feel like a fruit loop. also i started nesting today....even cleaning out the tracks in the windows...scarey..

Yup :yes:

i think people are starting to avoid me... lol

Becbabe
06-08-2006, 01:28 PM
Hey salthemum2b - that's what I was assuming is hiccups too. AnnaT, that's where I always get them as well. But the first painful headbutt I've ever gotten was last night in church... did a bit of a stagger and grabbed the pew in front of me, but noone seemed to notice!

Samanthajane, my baby seems to like that game too. But as long as she's not poking me anywhere painful I can usually sleep anyway. She's very fond of doing it after one of my midnight/dawn toilet runs... maybe things get rearranged down there after I go!

Suemp, at least we have a reason for it! I'm just going to let it go as a hormone thing and hope after the baby I'll go back to my normal well balanced self :p The flip side of it all is that when I'm happy (most of the time!) I'm happier than I've ever been... I dont' seem to feel things by half measures anymore!

I have just planted a whole heap of seeds for our vegie garden. I'm just having a little rest then I'll plant some more. I feel full of energy but I'm trying so hard to be careful and not get too tired (which leads to sore and cranky and nobody wants that :no: ). I should follow the cat's example and just stretch out in the sun!

ourfirstbubba
06-08-2006, 05:10 PM
hi girls

hope that you are all well and happy....I am going really well...now 31 weeks and counting down!

I am going to cut back at work soon (I am a casual primary school teacher) so can't wait to have more time to get my hospital/labour bag organised and buy some more last minute bubba things...and have time to just read and relax....

we started our ante-natal classes last Tuesday and it was really great to hear a real midwife talking about labour and what to expect etc. We got to see the birthing suites and it was very surreal to think that we would be there soon.....this week we get to see the video which will be interesting, esp for my hubby!

I realised today that I have been having BH contractions for the last week...we had my cousin and his wife and 3 children over for lunch today (their 3rd baby was born 9 weeks ago) and I had this tightening feeling...she felt it and when I asked her what that was , she said, "their BH honey"...so, now I know what they feel like!

Sue, I have been hormonal too, not getting cranky or anything, but today because we were having my cousin and his family over for lunch, I got panicky because I was running late...I blanked out and could not remember how to make the rissotto that I normally make...my poor hubby told me to calm down and just relax......I did but I would not normally stress over something so small......our hormones are doing funny things at the moment so I think its good to be kind to yourself!

well, hope all the bubbas are well, take care all

loulousmum
06-08-2006, 06:57 PM
I've had a MASSIVE weekend and I'm feeling a bit dodgey as a result. Really tired and achey and totally regretful of overdoing it....:shame:

I've also decided that they are definitely hiccoughs! I read somewhere that when newborns have hiccoughs they don't get annoyed at all the way that adults do - so let's hope that's true for our unborn cherubs!

I have to go to bed soon or else I'm going to wake up tired in the morning and even more guilty and regretful than I am now....:yes:

Claire R
06-08-2006, 08:11 PM
suemp - I had an attack from the cleaning fairy also - after months of not feeling up to much at all - very strange, hubby was impressed...

on the downside my sense of smell has gone all strong again like in the first trimester - everything smells bad

i read some interesting research this week about a trial of people receiving chemo who often suffer from really bad fatigue - well they randomised them to either do gentle exercise or not and found the ones that did push themselves to do something (as opposed to resting which is the conventional wisdom) well they actually suffered less from fatigue...I'm wondering if this could also apply to preggo mummas - I know I have done next to nothing for the last month as I feel totally knackered but now feel I'm just not only totally knackered but also extremely unfit - puffing after 1 flight of stairs etc. Food for thought.

Off for the anti-D tomorrow and also to get the results of the GTT which I am dreading! Warm wishes and a great night's sleep to you all!!

AnnaT
06-08-2006, 08:54 PM
Lou - its actually very beneficial for bubs to have the hiccups in-utero! Means they are practice breathing and will most likely have great swallowing reflexes and lungs when they are born :)

~Kimba~
07-08-2006, 08:41 AM
Hi All! I'm 32 weeks today...getting so close now.

re: hiccups - They are cute aren't they? I figure if bubs doesn't get a headache from being upside down for months on end, then a few hiccups can't bother him too much!

ClaireR, my sense of smell has been really sensitive through the whole pregnancy, but just lately I can't stand the smell of my husband!!! He always seems to smell like garlic for some reason (even when he hasn't touched any, and when he's brushed his teeth), I keep having to roll his face away from me in bed, so I don't have to smell his breath at night, LOL.

re: energy and fatigue - I find lately that even when I'm feeling energetic, suddenly I'll just 'hit a wall' and go from feeling bouncy to feeling totally exhausted, and like I could just fall asleep then and there. And yeah, I get so puffed walking up hills/ stairs now! not sure if it's from being unfit though, I think it's also because there's less room in our lungs with bub pressing up there...?

We just finished our antenatal classes yesterday (we did 2 x Sunday workshops, instead of going weekly) and really enjoyed them, I feel a lot more prepared now and reassured about some things that were niggling me. Still have a breastfeeding workshop to go, which I'm also looking forward to because they already gave us some great tips in the antenatal class about bf'ing. One thing they stress at my hospital is that if you want to bf, you should make it your utmost priority for the first 4-6 weeks, get as much support as you can, and don't give up until you've tried for at least 4-6 weeks (unless your caregiver advises otherwise).

Still no BH for me and bub is still quiet at night (never wakes me), actually he's been a lot quieter during the day too, but I guess he's also getting bigger, and running out of room to move as freely...

lesley
07-08-2006, 11:10 AM
hey all

Well i am over this whole house hunting thing it is so stressful i can not find anything that would suit us a unit is to small a duplex my kids are to noisy and the houses are just few and far between what am i to do i need something soon
:gloomy: :thumbsup:
well everything is OK with bub 31weeks today and nothing is ready for the poor little bub.

My d/h has had 3 weeks off work with a broken thumb and i know he meant well but he packed everything excpt the dirty washing the kids have no toys and i have no bed i am on the floor on my mattress and it seems to be more comfy than my bed was or is it just something new :yes:

I am down to my last week at work no i Finnish this Friday cant wait heaps to do at home

well i better go now take care all

PS so sorry a bout the whinge i needed it though so thank you all.

Becbabe
07-08-2006, 11:50 AM

:hugs: Lesley, moving is horrible especially when you're not sure where you're going to next. I reckon once the decision is made, even if it's not a great place, you feel better being committed to an action. Heaps of good luck your way for finding a place. :fingerscrossed:

Kimbaleo, that's just how I feel with fatigue... I'll be full of energy then just want to stop... it means that I'm leaving a lot of jobs half done and have to force myself back to them when the energy returns!

Don't worry about being unfit Claire, I was reading a pregnancy story about a woman who was a personal trainer, and she was complaining about getting puffed easily after week 29... so I figure the rest of us mere mortals shouldn't worry about it!

I started preggo yoga yesterday and it's sooooo good - feels so relaxing and not like you're exercising at all, but you still get that post exercise high and nice loose muscle feeling. I'm only doing it with a DVD but it's a nice one... no scary leotards :eek:

Briannabear
07-08-2006, 12:01 PM
Well i am over this whole house hunting thing it is so stressful i can not find anything that would suit us a unit is to small a duplex my kids are to noisy and the houses are just few and far between what am i to do i need something soon
Oh Lesley you poor thing. Moving house (and finding a suitable house) is so stressful. Particularly when you're pregnant and needing to find a house soon! I hope the house hunting is successful very soon for you. :fingerscrossed: :hugs:

Hello to everyone else! :wave: I hope you're all doing well.
I had my glucose test today. Oh yuck I hate that stuff they make you drink! I forgot how awful it was! Oh well, all over now. Now I have to wait for the results........
Anyways, thats all from me! Have a great day!

~Kimba~
07-08-2006, 03:50 PM
Lesley - you poor thing :hugs: , house hunting and moving is bad enough at the best of times, I can't imagine doing it at 31 weeks! Hope that you find something soon :fingerscrossed: And don't be sorry for whinging! we all need to vent every now and then.

Becca - good luck with your GTT! When I did my first one at the hospital at 16 weeks with the midwives, it was awful sticky syrupy stuff and I couldn't get the taste out of my mouth for ages, yuck :barf: But when I did my second one at 28 weeks with my GP, she gave me a fizzy lemonade type drink and it was quite OK! Maybe it's new or something, but I wish they had given me that one at my first test.

Becbabe - that's exactly how I am with the fatigue. It's really strange to be feeling great one minute and totally knackered the next! I've got a preg Yoga DVD and a Pilates one too, hadn't tried them yet, but you just reminded me! I think I'll give them a crack this weekend.

kristin5
07-08-2006, 05:00 PM
I had that lemonade-y type drink as well, and LOVED it!

I had my first OB appointment in five weeks today (the start of fortnightly visits) and it wasn't a great one :crying: She took one look at me and said she could see I was swelling up. She asked how I was feeling, so I began with my 'woe is me' tale - my pubic bone area is killing me (it hurts to move), my wrists are sore, I've got pains in my stomach, etc. I said "I want him out now!" And she said "well, it's still a little early". I responded with "I know that. I was only joking, but just telling you so you know how sore I am." She said that for some pregnancy isn't much fun. But I had to tell her that aside from aches and pains, I actually do like being pregnant - the movement of my baby inside me is one of the best feelings on earth!

Anyway...she then took my blood pressure...160/90. Uh oh! So immediately started writing out a script for blood pressure tablets :mad: I didn't want to have to take tablets, but it looks like I have no choice. I also had to have more blood tests and a urine sample, to see how my liver and kidneys are coping. And I have to see her again next week (looks like weekly monitoring already:( ) to get the results of my tests (to determine the level of seriousness of the pre-eclampsia) and to see if the BP tablets are working at all. She is leaning heavily on me to finish work also (but then she doesn't have to pay my bills!) She can't see me lasting more than 2 more weeks at work and says I will certainly go early.

Then came the feeling around on my stomach and the measurement. I am measuring at 32 weeks, which is pretty good, however the baby is transverse breech (as I suspected!) and she is already saying that she will refer me for an ultrasound and then to a specialist at 34 weeks. I asked if I was going to have a caesar and she said that she still can't say for sure, yet then said, not once but 3 times during the visit, that I will NOT experience labour! Um, that sorta tells me I think!

When I got back to work (finally!) my mum called to see how I went and I told her. Her response "You're taking the easy way out!" This caused me great distress and I ended up calling her back and telling her that she'd upset me. I don't think it is easier - recovery time I hear is worse (and I have never been to hospital, let alone had an operation, so I imagine I'm going to find it a bit rough). Anyway, she apologised, and I'm glad I got it off my chest. The problem is that my sister cruised through her recent pregnancy yet I have had one problem after another, and my family seems to think I am just a big whinger :crying:

Oh well, there you go - that was my fun day! Now I'm off to the hospital for my first breastfeeding/parenting class.

ourfirstbubba
07-08-2006, 05:29 PM
hi girls, hope you are well

Claire R- maybe try some gentle yoga or aqua aerobics which is really low impact but makes you feel nice...I am doing both at the moment and love it...yoga is teaching me about breathing also which is great for labour...

Lesley- I really hope that you find a place soon.....we moved when I was 21 weeks pregnant and that was stressful enough..ended up with very bad haemmorhoids from bendind..even though we had so much help I still did stuff, so make sure you take it very easy!

Kristin- I hope you are okay.....I am glad that your Mum apologised because having a c-sec is not the easy way out, it is major surgery......take care of you....

Tomorrow in our birthing class we are going to see a real labour and also a c-sec, can't wait!

I have had a lovely massage today (I have been having one every month and I love them) and have decided we are going to get Thai tonight....I don't feel like cooking and I have a craving for satay vegetables and rice.....I have not had many cravings but tonight I just feel like satay!

well, take care all

maybe1more
07-08-2006, 10:11 PM
Lesley- im with you in the house hunting mission!! Its terrible, im still trying to find a place and im scared i wont find one in time, not no mention renting has sky- rocket thru the roof and renatl estate agents arent very helpfully, they hardly call me back and if they do its so say the property has gone:banghead:

Becbabe, thoses breatfeeding classes sound great, especially to help you get to know other mothers. Where abouts do you hear about this, im interested.

Rasberry leaf tablet and or tea- just wondering everyones views on them, have you had them before and do they work in helping the uterus contract? and when is the best time to start taking them??? I so dont want to be enduced again or go over 14 days so i want a head start;)

loulousmum
08-08-2006, 05:53 AM
I read up on raspberry leaf tea last time around. Weeks you should start drinking it range from 32 to 36 and then beyond the birth. My midwife said that as raspberry leaf tea is associated with softening of the cervix and preparation of the body for birth, you should only start drinking it or taking it when you are prepared for labour to begin and as 37 completed weeks of pregnancy is when it is safe for bubs to be born, that would be her recommendation.

My doctor said he didn't believe in that sort of thing anyway but he still wouldn't recommend it until after 36 weeks.

BUT - all the reading says that you need to be drinking 3-4 cups a day for it to have any effect, and like any herbal remedy etc. I imagine you need to build up certain levels in the body for it to be effective.

As I've said on here before, I started drinking it last time on the day I hit 36 weeks and LouLou arrived a few days later....:eek: I guess I'll never know......:p

It doesn't taste great, so I recommend buying a blend from a special tea shop, the one I have has spearmint in it as well and it actually tastes quite refreshing!

~Kimba~
08-08-2006, 12:11 PM
Kristin :hugs: sorry to hear about all that, and really sorry to hear what your mum said - Mums can be so insensitive at times can't they! But I'm glad you told her she'd upset you and that she apologised. Fingers crossed :fingerscrossed: that they're able to settle your BP down, and that your bub turns and you don't need a c-section. There are actually some exercises you can do to get your bub to go head down - I've got a link at home, I'll send it to you.

ourfirstbubba you lucky duck getting a massage...mmmmmmm

Re: Raspberry leaf tea - I asked one of the midwives at the Birth Centre for her advice about it and all she did was photocopy a page for me out of a book I already had! LOL ('Birth' is the name of the book). I've started drinking one cup a day for now (I'm 32 weeks), and will start drinking more around the 36 week mark, might start on the capsules as well. With the taste, I actually use a Lipton Herbal Infusions teabag at the same time (one lipton teabag and one raspberry leaf teabag, in my cup) and that does the trick! I like the Lipton cranberry, raspberry and strawberry flavour. Yum!

S'mores
08-08-2006, 05:23 PM
As I am a research scientist, I looked into this raspberry tea business a little more closely, cause if it helps....I'm there baby!!:thumbsup:

There are lots of studies documented in the mainstream scientific literature but only one has been conducted in such a way as to remove personal bias & conjecture.

THis study was performed by Simpson et al. 2001 . THis study was a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial of 192 first time mothers (average age 28.5 years) who had their babies between May 1999 and February 2000. One group of women took raspberry leaf tablets (1x 200mg twice per day) from 32 weeks of their pregnancy until labour started and the control group took a placebo. There were no identified side effects for either mother or baby, but contrary to popular belief, it did not shorten the 1st stage of labour. The only clinically significant findings were a shortening of the 2nd stage of labour (by about 10 minutes), a lower rate of forceps (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/) deliveries (19.3% vs. 30.4%) and less chance of Caesarean (62.4% vs. 50.6%) for the women who took raspberry leaf. Both groups of women experienced similar occurrences of nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea and constipation.

Their conclusion to this study was as follows:
"This study has provided a baseline for further research using the raspberry leaf herb in pregnancy. The dosage used in this study, while maintaining safety for both mother and baby, has been shown to possibly reduce the length of second stage of labor and the need for artificial rupture of membranes during labor or forceps to assist the birth. This outcome has clinical significance for mothers, their babies, and their birth attendants. Less intervention means a reduction in midwifery and medical time in labor and an increase in maternal satisfaction, which has been suggested to ease women’s transition into motherhood. Further research is required to investigate the actions of the raspberry leaf herb on pregnancy and birth and to find an optimal dosage that will maintain safety while producing more profound and beneficial effects."

For anyone who is interested in the actual article, I can email them the pdf file.

As there are no risks to taking it, I'll be on it come 32 weeks!!!

sare
08-08-2006, 06:47 PM

Kristin - Sorry to hear about all your problems. Take care of yourself. Good on you for calling your mum about the c-sect comment, but hopefully it won't come to that for you.

Lesley & Jenny - Good luck with your house hunting...nothing like adding the stress of moving into the pregnancy mix hey? :p Seriously, I hope you both find the house you are looking for very soon.

Well, yesterday was my day for poking and prodding. I had the GTT test, but had to have the 2hr one, which meant 3 blood tests :( . This time around they gave me a lime-flavoured-flat-lemonade type of drink. I much preferred the one that tasted like Mountain Dew that I had with Eloise, but it wasn't that bad. Later that afternoon, I went to the hospital for the anti-d injection. Again not too bad and the midwives were lovely. It was great to be able to take dd there and explain that this would be where mummy would be staying for a few days when the baby arrives and that nanna would be looking after her and bringing her into the hospital to see mummy and her new brother or sister (dh will be dividing his time between home, the hospital and work - I want him to have his time off when we are at home). I don't know how much of what we tell her goes in, but it can't hurt.

Thanks to whoever explained the hiccoughs feeling. I don't think I ever experienced them with dd and have been feeling the rhythmic feeling in my pelvis (which means that the baby is probably head down :yelclap: ) The baby has been moving heaps again, which like Kristin said, is one of the best feelings out.

Take care...

SalTheGal
08-08-2006, 08:20 PM
Hey everyone, hope you are all well.

Good luck to the house hunters- I feel your pain, it is such a night mare trying to move house- let alone doing it whilst being heavily pregnant, just think about the satisfaction of a brand new 'pad' to set up!!

Kristin- hope your ok, glad to hear you told your mum you were upset, she sounds a bit like my mum. I went to lunch with her and a freind recently- the friend just finished telling me how much my tummy had grown and how great I was looking- when mum said how she thought I was way bigger than I should be! :no: It really hurt my feelings as I have had such a struggle with weight for many years, my mum is a size 8 on a fat day and is always at me bout my weight. After being upset and paranoid bout how big I was for the next few weeks I finally told her on the weekend how much she upset me, it was good to get it off my chest.

Funny story happened to me yesterday- hopefully you should get a giggle out of it-:D

I had to go for a follow up two hour diabetes test yesterday as my initial test came back high. Unfortunetely the twelve hour fast (no breakfast) and the high sugar drink didn't agree with me so I was pretty unwell- had to lie down in pathology, and fight nausea, headache etc. Anyway felt pretty yucky all day, and when DF finally got home last night I had enough emotionally and was balled my eyes out. At this point my Dad called into visit- and caught me in the middle of my melt down, I tried to explain to him that I was just upset cause it had been a long day and I wasnt feeling well- but he somehow thought I was upset cause I had found out I had diabetes- so he heads home and tells mum, who then gets on the phone to my two brothers and tells them!! Meanwhile we went out last night for antenatal classes, only to come home to a stack of messages on our phone from concerned family members who all thought i had diabetes (and not just gestational- but the full blown deal). Talk bout something being blown out of proportion, my dad has a habit of getting stories wrong!!!

It was pretty funny though- we had a giggle afterwards!!

Apart from the usual tiredness etc all else is well, take care everyone!!

SalTheGal
08-08-2006, 08:25 PM
Sorry guys I just realised how long my post was- oops!!:o

beck75
08-08-2006, 09:10 PM

Why do I always forget to subscribe for the next months talk until so far into the month - no wonder I wasn't recoeving any emails!:banghead:

Anyway too much to catch up on for me at the moment so no personals. Getting really tired again which is a bugger and starting to have more trouble sleeping (my back hurts) put i have found a bit of consulation with a few extra pillows. Jealous of all of you getting clost to finishing work - I still ahve 6 weeks to go and it is killing me (I only got home half an our ago tonight and will have tea in a minute then pretty much striaght to bed).:sleeping:

Gotta go and will catch up more later.

loulousmum
08-08-2006, 09:16 PM
Well, just popping in to say Yay! - another milestone has passed for me - we've just had school Open Night, so it's one more job off my list!:yelclap:

Another milestone was the Census! We're only planning for two babies - so next Census our family will be complete - and scarily enough - one will be at Prep....:eek:

lucy72
08-08-2006, 10:02 PM

Not a lot happening on this front. Start the parenting classes tomorrow night which will be good as I have no idea how to bath a baby or even how to change a nappy!!! Just not a lot of experience. Had one of the girls from work come in yesterday with her 5 month old. He was 8 weeks premmie and still only really tiny. it gave me a bit of a scare to see how small and fragile they are. Even go as far as to say I was uncomfortable with him as he was crying and wouldn't stop. Turns out he had a wet nappy and also it was hot in the office (could really tell the difference with my hormonal heat!!!) and he was hot as well. Poor little thing. Made me think am I going to be an okay Mum.

Only 14 work days to go - can't wait.

Hope the house hunting goes okay and everyone's tests are good. Don't we also need to do some swab soon? Apparently it is not that pleasant!!! :eek:

Anyway hope you are well.
Lucy

ikis84
08-08-2006, 11:27 PM
S'mores... that is the same article I read, lol... I have started taking RL tea... although not the tea, the capsules as the dose is more measured and they don't tast like dirt!!

Lucy, I was told that i would be getting the swab (that even sounds gross, lol) at my 30 wk antenatal appt, but that was a few weeks ago now, and they didn't do it... I didn't really want to mention it either. I have heard though, that many midwives/obs will let you do the swabbing yourself, so it wouldn't be that bad! We shouldn't really be that worried though, after all, we are going to have to give birth. I haven't even had a pap smear before (I know, I am a baaaad girl :shame: ) ... the closest anyone but my husband has got to down there is my waxing lady!!

Speaking of waxing, everytime I go to get my bikini line done, my waxing lady tries to convince me to get a brazillian :eek: She finally convinced me and I will be going before bubs is due lol... I figure it can't be any worse that childbirth, so that should get me through it!

I really don't know why I shared that with you guys... oh well!

lucy72
09-08-2006, 06:50 AM
It's funny Ikis as I used to get a brazillian and now my Mum is coming into the birth I have stopped and let it grow back as I thought she would be shocked if she saw it!!!

Am going to do the Raspberry Leaf Tea thing from about 36 weeks. 31 weeks today!!! Am over work and would love to give up now! DH is home from Canberra tonight so will be good to see him for a bit.

Take care - off to work now, dodging the Sydney traffic to get to Alexandria from the North West is always a mission and I slept in a bit.

Lucy

Briannabear
09-08-2006, 07:08 AM
When I got back to work (finally!) my mum called to see how I went and I told her. Her response "You're taking the easy way out!"
Grrr! :mad: That infuriates me when people say that! A caesar is major surgery - and believe me its no walk in the park. Chin up Kristin, you will do whatever is best for you and your baby - dont let anyone make you think otherwise. On a lighter note, the bub may still turn yet. There are excercises you can do to help this. I hope your BP settles down for you.

Salthemumtobe - So does this mean you have GD? If so Im sorry to hear that. Your family must love you a lot to be so worried! :laughing:

On the raspberry leaf thing - I took it from about 30 weeks with my first baby. I used the tea form, and to be honest it didnt taste that bad to me! Dont know if it had anything to do with it but I had my baby at 37 weeks. It didnt help to shorten my labour, but my uterus got back into shape fairly quickly afterwards.
I'll definately be taking it again, but probably in the tablet form as your body will absorb it better and quicker. I'll most likely start taking it from 32 weeks.

Im off to our naturopath/ homeopath on monday and I cant wait! She is also a midwife and is full of excellent information! Going to pick her brains on good natural ways to cope with pain during labour, and good positions to help keep things moving. She's done quite a few VBAC births before so she's a wealth of information for me - I just wish she could come up and deliver this baby!! :rolleyes: (she lives outside lismore, nsw)
She's also got a remedy to help strenthen the uterus in preparation for labour - particularly c/s scars. Will definately be taking that one.

Anyway, nuff from me... Have a good day everyone! :wave:

Becbabe
09-08-2006, 08:40 AM

Kristin5, sorry you're having a rough time :hugs: . Good luck with getting the bp down and the bubs to move! And I don't think there's any such thing as an "easy way out" with labour is there?

Had my free pregnancy massage at Canberra yesterday... it was sheer bliss! They did an hour and 10 mins and did feet, legs, hips (hooray!) back, neck and shoulders. Right at the end they asked if I wanted my belly too, I had it but I find any pressure on there when I'm on my back is uncomfortable, no matter how well I'm propped up! So next week I will just have that extra 10mins on my neck. They even gave me a neck heat pack for when they were doing the rest of me it was SO relaxing! Then I got home and had a warm bath... love being a lady of leisure! :D

Firstbub, the classes are at the hospital and the midwife told me about them when I had my preadmission appt at 25 wks. The ABA morning tea was in the local paper. Hopefully there'll be some nice people to talk to, but in any case the Maccas jaffa torte is my favourite cake so I'll still be happy :p

I might grab some raspberry leaf tea next week when I'm in Canberra. I'm also buying the last few things I need for the labour/baby/hospital bag. Can't believe i'm excited about that!

salthemumtob love your story... my Dad would be just like that he hits panic buttons when one of his girls is upset! When I used to ring occasionally from Uni with tears in my voice he'd pass the phone on to Mum as quick as humanly possible!

ikis84 I thought about getting my Brazilian "redone" but everything is so tender down there at the moment... I have settled for a close trim - done with the aid of a mirror as I can't see down there anymore :laughing:

lesley
09-08-2006, 08:53 AM
hey all

first bub.. I know how you are feeling on the moving front it is bad enough being pregnant with your 1st and not have to look for houses but to do both is just a huge pain.

Well i am so excited i got a phone call yesterday from westmead children's hospital i won second prize in one of there raffles i have to go and get it next week
maybe my luck is changing now :fingerscrossed:
i can honestly say now i think my baby thinks it all good to sleep all day and be awake all night we will have change that i think it was like aerobics in there last night kicking off the side and my ribs .

We still have not found a house yet i have a few to look at next week seen as i will have more time to do it i go on leave on Friday i can not wait till then

ok guys take care i have things to do so i will talk to you later on

good kluck to everyone for the next few weeks :)

Gumby
09-08-2006, 10:47 AM
Hi ladies. How are you all? I am having an emotional day today so i will keep it short.
Had a very long weekend away with my family only to have my alcoholic aunty think she can abuse me and try and hit my stomach. It was a very weird experience and I was so upset that noone defended me at the time when they knew everything she was saying was a lie.
I also have to pack my bags again to go away this week for a training course and am not looking forward to that.
Plus I have no friends and my kids do eveything to push my buttons :( Oh i feel terrible atm. Bubs has been quiet today which doesnt help.
Physically I feel great though. Bubs is still breach and there has been pressure down low that feels like my waters are going to bust but apart from that all is good.
I think I really need to take some time out for myself.

Sorry this has all been about me but I hope you are all well...
Rian

S'mores
09-08-2006, 12:27 PM
Ohhh, Rian:hugs: for you. . I really hope you have a better week. I know we aren't there for you in the flesh but you have TONNES of friends here!! We'll always be here :wave: . Let us know how your day was today. ....

Nanny
09-08-2006, 01:59 PM
Hey Guys I know I haven't been posting but I have been keeping up to date with you all popping in when I can to read the posts, not that anything real interesting has been happening with me until now anyways. I went for my 32 week check up yesterday and everything looks good I'm having a big bub by the looks of things but I've also got alot of fluid apparently but my fundus is messuring correctly so I don't know what the deal is there :confused:
Anyhow I finally got to find out what I'm having and I've managed to prove every gender predictor and well meaning guesser wrong cause everyone has said all along that they a 100% sure I am having a girl but alas it's not true I am having yet another boy. I spent most of yesterday in tears but I'm ok today been going through all my old boys clothes and remembering when my other little ones wore them. So now we have to rack our brains for yet another boys name.

Take Care

Naomi

Briannabear
09-08-2006, 02:38 PM
Rian - sorry to hear about your crappy weekend. That Aunt sounds horrible. :crying: :hugs:

Hi there Nanny! :wave: Good to hear your pregnancy is going well!

brideofjabba
09-08-2006, 03:33 PM
hi everyone!

Not much happening here. I can't believe i'm 30wks!:eek: My baby could be here in like...7 weeks!! holy cow. I can't wait. Is anyone else just over being pregnant? lol or is it just me?
Re: swabs - what swab are you talking about? I never had one with my previous pregnancy.
re: brazillians - i used to shave but since i can't see down there anymore i bought some bikini clippers and with the help of a mirror...lol it was harder then i thought though, just awkward. Next time though i might have to get dh to do it for me:eek: scary thought. lol
Actually i have a funny waxing story - when i was heavily pregnant with my ds i decided that i would wax my legs so that i didn't have to worry about it for the last few weeks of my pregnancy(since i could hardly bend down) I waxed all but the back of my left thigh(i couldn't twist properly to wax it) i asked dh to do it but he wouldn't. So i just ended up shaving that spot instead....weeks later i discovered....although my legs were nice and hair free i had forgotten about the part i had shaved...and that part was really hairy!! lol It was summer too and at times it was noticable! lol i was so embarrassed...

09-08-2006, 04:52 PM
Hello all again :wave: Just read through all the posts in here- really need to keep up lol.
Well Samantha Jane I am having the same problem as you at the moment with sleeping. I lay on one side & Taliyah kicks there & it is VERY uncomfortable, I cant lay on my back because I cant breathe, obviously cant lay on my stomach so lately i have been curled up in a little ball trying to breastfeed Summer at the same time :laughing: Im super woman!

I missed my hospital appointment on Monday. Was very embarrassed when they called me as I had the dates wrong and the lady was really rude to me :shame: I was very excited about my visit too so now I have rebooked for next week.

I went shopping today for baby stuff. I got a box of nappies, 3 packs of baby wipes & a few more outfits. Hope you all are feeling fantastic and looking after your bumps :D

Ruth1010
09-08-2006, 05:11 PM
Hi Everyone :wave:

How annoying!!!! I had just typed this really long entry and went to submit reply and they tell me I had not signed in!!!! I am sure I had! :banghead:

Anyway just hopped on to do a quick catch up and to have a bit of a gripe over what happened to me yesterday.

Rian - sorry to hear about your terrible weekend. :hugs: That aunt of yours doesn't sound too nice. X

To the house hunters - Good luck! What a time to have to move. I wish you all the best!

Thanks for all the info on the Rasberry Leaf Tea and capsules, I will now be sure to get my hands on some when we move back to Perth in 9 days time!!! YAY YAY YAY

Well now to my story from yesterday....... At work I started to feel a little light headed and dizzy, loosing focus and balance etc so I decided that I would take myself down to the paramedics to get my bp checked (for those of you who don't know I work on a mine site). While I was sitting in the waiting room waiting patiently to be attended to I started to come around and feel 100% better. When the medic came out to call me in I explained what had happened and that I felt fine now though and was happy to go back to work. The medic told me just to come through and have my bp, temp and pulse checked to be on the safe side as I am now looking after 2 people. Everything turned out fine with the checks but to be cautious the medic who attended to me asked a colleaugue for his opinion. The colleaugue turned around and said " she just needs to harden up!!!!" WHAT THE!!!!!!!! I was soooo upset by this comment I burst into tears! Not once even though I worked 130 hours a fortnight up until 30 weeks have I had a day off with morning sickness or general tiredness due to this pregnancy! I only wanted my BP checked!!! All I can say is that I am over the moon that I only have 6 more days left here before I finish up for good!

Anyway sorry about my gripe, enough from me today :ecomcity:

Hope you are all well. X

ikis84
09-08-2006, 06:20 PM
That was so rude of him! grrr... but only a week to go for you though, Ruth!:smiliedance:

loulousmum
09-08-2006, 08:57 PM
Ruth, that is terrible. :mad: I've been feeling the same way most mornings and have decided that it is best to not mention it to ANYONE as it seems to pass within minutes and then I either feel silly or as though people are worried about me unnecessarily!:yes:

ourfirstbubba
09-08-2006, 09:08 PM
hi girls

hope you are all well

Ruth, how rude of that man.....I would have burst into tears too!

We had another OB appt yesterday (I am on f/n vistis now as I am 32 weeks)...bub is doing great, and is in the right position which is great.....I am measuring exactly how I should be and BP is all good....also got my results for some blood tests I had, my iron levels are fine and my blood and bubbas blood does not clash...is this the RH negative thing I have read about??

we had our second birthing class yesterday and it was fab, she went through all the things our hubbies/partners/support people can do to help out and we also got to see a natural birth.....it was quite amazing to see...

I bought a great book today- Hypnobirthing- the Mongan Method.......it has a CD with it too and it was $33 which is quite cheap I think....worth a look at I think.....

Thanks to all for the info on rasberry leaf tea, I think I might take it from 38 weeks on...is is meant to bring labour on earlier? sorry, have not heard of it before.....

hubby and I have booked a nice weekend away at the Hunter Valley vineyards for the first weekend in September..can't wait, will probably be our last weekend to get away before bub arrives....is anyone else planning some time away before bub arrives?? I must remember to take my hospital/labour bag just in case! our midwife also said its a good idea to carry our antenatal records with us at all times just in case.......

well, sorry for the long post....sleep well girls

oleander
09-08-2006, 11:30 PM

I dont know if I ever introduced myself but Ive been reading all of the posts with interest. My name is Lisa, Ive been living in Adelaide for 3 years, originally from Melbourne, I have two beautiful dogs who are my life until bubs comes along, tomorrow Im 31 weeks, Im having a little girl! am so excited about being a mummy! I havent really had anything interesting to post until now as things have been trouble free for me :fingerscrossed:

I had my second antenatal class tonight which was semi-interesting. Honestly, I feel like Im going to be pregnant forever and the baby isnt actually going to come out. It just dosent seem real yet. The midwife asked if I had packed my hospital bag yet and Im thinking 'yeah right, plenty of time for that!'. Anyone else feel this way? Maybe its just me.

ikis84
10-08-2006, 11:02 AM
Hi Paris*mum... I think you have introduced yourself before (or is it my imagination - who knows!!) but nevermind! I feel like that too sometimes - it just doesn't feel real... but every now and then (particularly after antenatal classes!) I get a reality check (I freak out) and have to say to my husband "we're going to have a real, live little baby - that's ours".

Oh, and I don't have my hospital bag packed yet either - that means acknowledging that I have to give birth :laughing: Living in denial here....

Becbabe
10-08-2006, 03:14 PM
:( Hi everyone,

Rian - that's terrible about your aunt... hope you aren't feeling too bad today.

Ruth what a rude man! And how many babies has he had to know what it feels like?? I bet if he had to suffer one day of period pain he'd be calling in sick after 10 mins! You wouldn't think a bit of empathy would go astray in a hospital!

ourfirstbubba - we were intending to go away for a week around about now, but I'm so happy just to be on mat leave relaxing, and we decided to save our money in the end.. I guess being in the nice new house helps too! We might still have a weekend away next month but only if we feel we need it.

Paris*mum - yep I'm sure you've said howdy before, I remember your name! I intended to unpack the nursery and pack the hospital bag this week but I have been enjoying the holiday feeling too much :D Next week for sure.....

Sleeping is getting very uncomfortable... my hips are just so sore every morning and it takes most of the morning for it to go away! Well it stops me being too lazy and sleeping in anyway, it's just too uncomfortable to stay in bed:(

ikis I occasionally say things like that to my dp - and he looks at me and goes "well, yeah" - obviously I'm the only one still struggling with the reality checks!

10-08-2006, 03:58 PM
arraggh I would have been so mad AND upset Ruth big :hugs: to you. I get like that sometimes too i have to quickly sit down otherwise it feels like I am going to fall down. When i was pregnant with Summer it happened to me on the train & i nearly fainted:( wasnt good at all. At least you dont have long to go now :smiliedance:

Well I think i have done my back in today. I done about 5 loads of washing & half an hour of vaccumming...and now my body just cant handle it i need a back rub :o

Mookie
10-08-2006, 04:34 PM

Ruth - I would have been soooo upset with that comment - how totally insensitive!

Rian - I hope you're feeling better. There's nothing worse than the feeling horrible like that. Your Aunty's behaviour on the weekend sounds awful.

Hope everyone househunting is having some luck. Moving is stressful enough at the best of times.

I had another obs appt today. My blood pressure is now back down to normal, so I've decided to go back to work next week & then call it a day. I'm looking forward to getting more organised here. I havent packed my hospital bag yet and reading that I'm not the only one makes me feel a bit better about it! At my last appt bubs was head down, but her head was up again today - cheeky little girl. I so hope she turns again. Dr said she has another 4wks to sort it out.

Well, I hope everyone is feeling well. It's really not that much longer now until we all meet our babies - I cant believe it!

kristin5
10-08-2006, 07:33 PM
Seems like we all have problems, in some form or another (whether it be health issues, family problems, etc)

I forgot to mention (about my mum) that she also said that she wanted me to "experience the pain that she went through having me" - now is that vindictive or what? I already know she had a lot of problems having me (she nearly died), but surely she wouldn't really want that for me? She says she wished they had given her the option of a c-section back then so is a bit jealous that I won't have to go through all the same pain. That was her explanation for telling me I was taking the easy way out...I don't know if that justifies it or not!!!

Anyway, I am feeling fairly positive about it all and will just take it as it comes. Even if the baby turns, I think I will still end up having a c-section due to my mum's history of eclampsia, meaning that I am a very high risk of having the same problems (convulsions and coma during childbirth) - they just don't take those kind of risks these days and I think that's what my OB means by me not going through labour. But we'll see. At least I'm prepared now.

I went to the breast feeding class at the hospital the other day and found it quite informative (unlike DH who nearly fell asleep!). The parenting class is this Monday.

And I have 4 weeks of work left, though they are telling me to start coming in only 4 days a week (this is on top of my already reduced hours) which is great that they're being so understanding (because of the stupid health issues), but I'm so worried about the money!!! I've never had to budget before and don't know how we'll go. At least I'll still be earning something I guess (as I'll be doing a little bit from home) but it's a fear of the unknown as I don't know just how much work ($$$) I'll get. I should take it as it comes (but it's hard not to worry!!!)

This is such a massive change in our lives isn't it?

Oh, and no I still haven't packed my hospital bag - I'll probably be doing it in a mad rush as I walk out the door on my way to hospital!

loulousmum
10-08-2006, 08:10 PM
I can't believe that it doesn't hurt during the day when I am walking around but when I am resting at night it kills....very unfair!:(

On the upside, I only have 7 days of work to go (albeit spread over the coming three weeks)!:yelclap:

I'm soooo excited that we are talking about things like remembering to take our bags with us when we go away and taking last minute trips etc. Of course, after my first time around experience I am not planning a trip for fear that I might go early again for the occasion! They do say that the best way to bring on labour is to plan a special occasion!!:D

Becbabe
11-08-2006, 08:16 AM

DP told me this morning that I have been too busy in my first week off and he thinks I should spend some "couch time" this afternoon! Ahh. It's nice to be appreciated. I'm meeting a couple of people from work for lunch at our usual pub today so after a big counter lunch I'll probably be a bit sleep inclined :p

Kristin5, sorry to hear about your Mum being like that. My mum says she wishes she'd had the options that we have but she's glad we don't have to go through it as the "completely alienating and vulnerable" experience that she did (with the compulsory shaving, enemas and lying on back with stirrups!)

I will get the last few things for the hospital bag on Tuesday after my massage. Then it will be done I promise! We are off to prenatal class tomorrow so I'll probably have some new ideas after that as well.

Have a good day.

AnnaT
11-08-2006, 09:58 AM
Appointment update - gained another kilo putting me at 62.2kgs :thumbsdown: BP and bub are fine, he is head down and snuggly in pelvis. OB didnt even bother to check my cervix says bub will come when he is ready so no point worrying about it. So more miserable times ahead until the magic 37wk mark when he can evacuate safely (and I seriously hope he does do it in those last 3 weeks). Just told me to stop work and rest/relax.

House inspection today so wont be on much at all. Hope everyone has a great day!

Lou- I sympathise with the whole pain thing but mine is all day every day, 24/7!

Briannabear
11-08-2006, 10:26 AM

Ruth - That man was highly insensitive. You poor thing!

I had an ob appointment this morning. Apparetly bub is doing well - still measuring further along. The ultrasound he did today estimated bub's wieght at over 500g more than the average for this stage! :eek:
The head is down (hopefully will stay that way this time! :rolleyes: ). Apparently I have an irritable uterus. And he expects it will probably get worse! It has something to do with why my braxton hicks are so strong.
I came down with the flu last night and feel absolutely rotten today. All I want to do is go and rest up in bed for the day but alas, the joys of having a toddler - I cant rest much at all! Oh well....

Hope you all have a great day! :wave:

lil pumpkin
11-08-2006, 01:05 PM
Hi everyone,:wave:

How are you all going today. Hope this weekend is better than the last for some of you.

I am with you on the uncomfy sleeping and kicking on the side that you are laying on. Jack is doing great and appt on Monday went well. We fly home next week and i can't wait.:smiliedance:

Sorry just a quick note i can't think of what to write but just wanted to touch base.

Have a good one and hope all bubs are good.

~Kimba~
11-08-2006, 01:32 PM

Firstly Kristin and Rian - sorry to hear your family members are being awful. We just have to remind ourselves that it's THEIR problem not ours, although I know how upsetting it can be :banghead:

I'm excited, I went out and bought a new stroller, a Hauck Infinity in bright red. I love it and can't wait to use it. DH officially thinks I'm mad, because we had already bought our stroller (a Valco Runabout Trimode). But the Hauck was the one I always REALLY wanted, we just couldn't afford it before, as we wanted the bassinet as well and it worked out to be too much for the whole package. BUT it's on sale at the moment with the bassinet thrown in for free, which works out about $340 cheaper! meaning we CAN afford it now. :smiliedance: So I bought it, and now I'm selling the (unused) Valco on eBay. To me this is all perfectly sane!!! DH just doesn't understand, LOL.

Had another ob appointment at the hospital yesterday and all is good, bub hasn't moved for the past few weeks, he's still head down and with his back facing upwards and towards the left side - explains why I feel the knees/ elbows moving in my right side. I guess he must be really comfy there or something?!

Of course now I am having irrational thoughts that there could be something wrong with him or his legs, because he hasn't moved position or rolled over for weeks, and because he never kicks me up high (just punches down low and knees/ elbows me in the side). Ah, isn't pregnant paranoia fun! :laughing:

Also my fundus is still measuring 34cm which it has been since I was 30 weeks (24 July), so even though it's still big for dates it hasn't grown for almost 3 weeks, and I only put on 500g last month. Hope that bub is still growing just fine in there - certainly from the look of my belly and the way my pants keep falling down, he must be!

Anyone else NOT hungry? I snack through the day, but can completely 'forget' to eat lunch if I'm busy, and just don't feel like meals at night. It's very strange.

2ndtimeMum
11-08-2006, 03:58 PM

back online after sister's visit and lots to catch up on here as had to read whole August thread in one go that can't remember what I was going to say to people !!!

We are planning a w/end away next weekend, friends are having ds for us then got girlie w/end after that, been rushing around so really good to sit down and chill today, first time in a couple of weeks.

Haven't had any leg cramps after taking milk and tums at bedtime, heartburn is getting more and more in the day now so prob bubs will have a good crop of hair:D

Thats about it for now, look after yourselves and bumps and have a good weekend.

sare
11-08-2006, 04:42 PM

I am officially a moody cow! I have had the worst mood swings for the last few days, I really pity dh and dd. The sad thing is I can see how irrational I am being, I just can't stop myself. I hope it doesn't last for the next 11 weeks for their sake.

To all those people who have had nasty comments from their family members lately big :hugs:. Not the thing that you need at the moment, at least you can come here and vent if you can't reason with them.

Kimba - Not hungry??? I'm living up to the addage of eating for 2. I wish I could say that it was all healthy, but alas I can't. I'm thinking that the diet will start late November . ;)

Oooh and the stretchmarks are back with a vengence too. At least they seem to be in the same places as the last lot. They really don't bother me, as no-one besides me and dh see them and they fade over time. I call them my scars of love :) .

I hope everyone has a relaxing weekend...

SalTheGal
11-08-2006, 06:31 PM

nothing much to report here- same old same old!! Very tired- thank god its friday!!

Sare I hear you on the whole moody thing- my poor DP is really getting the raw end of the deal, thank god he is understanding, I like you can see it happening right there in front of me- but just can't seem to stop it- what the?!?!

Kimba, I've lost my appetite too, have basically taken to just grazing through the day- which is not such a good thing cause I end up grazing on junk food! And have to practically force myself to eat something proper for tea, would be happy with a couple of bits of toast if I could get away with it!!

:hugs: to everyone having family issues or health issues, I am having major MIL issues at the moment- but won't bore anyone with the details, suffice to say its the usual MIL stuff that tends to go on!!

Take care and have a great weekend!

M~T~J~M
11-08-2006, 08:41 PM
:hugs: to all having a hard time lately. Wouldn't it be great if people just kept their mouths shut!!

Had my Ob apponit yesterday arvo. Bubs is now breach, not transverse. So, it seems he has moved, but the wrong way!! :thumbsdown: I will have another appoint in 3 weeks and will also have a scan to check if the placenta has moved, and also to check bubs measurements. Then I will have another appoint 2 weeks after that, bringing me up to 35 weeks. We will probably make the decision then about having a caeser (if bubs is still breech) as my Ob will be off on 2 weeks holidays and won't be back till I am 38 weeks. Mmmm, I just hope bubs turns around. I was quite pleased with myself though. I have only put on 600 grams in the past 3 weeks. Definantly better than the 6 kilos in the previous 6 weeks!! :eek:
I asked my Ob about different methods of getting bubs to turn, and he said not to bother as most of the time it's just a coincidence if the bub moves after certain treatments. He said the baby will either turn or it won't. It's not going to take a massage, etc to help it turn. I still may try some exercises though. It can't hurt to give it a go anyway!!

I have been busy this week stocking up on some things for my hospital bag. Now all I need to buy is some new pj's, slippers, and another maternity bra. Oh, and I might buy some nanna knickers just in case.

:idea: - When packing your hospital bag, put in some huggies bath wipes. You know the ones with the soap in them. I have this thing about using the face washers in the hospital to wash myself with, and my friend gave me the idea to use these. This way, you don't have to worry about taking soap, and you can throw your washer away after each use, so it doesn't matter how yucky and dirty it gets!! I bought myself two boxes to take. I have also packed some nice soft toilet paper as hospital toilet paper isn't always the best to use after giving birth, especially if you have stitches or you're badly grazed/bruised.

Well ladies, hope you all enjoy your weekend. Take care

Gumby
12-08-2006, 08:11 AM
Morning all. It has certainly been quiet in here.
I am back from my trip and it was really good. Had a nice spa suite and was waited on hand and foot. It was a shame it had to end...lol
I still havent really caught up enough to do personels but how is everyone feeling??
I have an ob app on monday then I have them fortnightly after that. Hoping doc will send me for a scan in a few weeks to check bubs size before my induction. I am happy to go 2 weeks over if he is measuring a decent size. 7ish weeks to go, give or take. How exciting hey.
Might hed back to bed. I have been battling the flu since wednesday and havent taken anything for it in hope it goes by itself...
I am also loving these kicks from bub. I am so spoilt. I tried putting the doppler on him this morning for DH before work and bubs wasnt up for it. Kept booting it off. OH I AM IN LOVE :D
Rian

loulousmum
12-08-2006, 08:20 AM
Take your own toilet paper?????:eek: I love it. Will definitely pop in and check toilet paper situation when next at the hospital!

My sister-in-law is DUE TODAY! So we are all waiting on a call!!!

Mum, LouLou and I are off to Harbour Town this morning to find some outlet bargains - although last time I went there was nothing!

I am 33 weeks today, which I'm pretty sure makes my due date 30 September but as it's only one day, they didn't bother bringing it back! That makes seven weeks to go - but I just can't get the idea out of my head that bubs is going to make an early appearance around mid-September!

Anyone else experiencing this? One day I feel massive, ugly and about to pop and the next I feel sexy, attractive and "ripe"...It's amazing what a few hours and some hormone changes can do....:yes:

lesley
12-08-2006, 10:07 AM
hi all

Well the time has come i am on maternity leave as of 530pm yesterday i am excited and a little sad the girls at work are really supportive and friendly :yes:
but on the other hand i have time to house hunt and pack and clean and live tight for a while seen as you don't get paid for maternity leave.

So i hope everyone else is doing OK i am down to fortnightly visits now and am 33 weeks on Monday
dose anyone else feel like if they were to jump up and down or something to that degree the baby will just fall OK well not so much FALL but you all know where i am going with this :smiliedance:

Take care all

Becbabe
12-08-2006, 04:28 PM
:laughing: Lesley that is just how I felt a couple of days ago - that any moment a hand or leg was just going to pop right out of there! And welcome to being on leave it's great.

We just had our prenatal classes and they were so good!! I hope all the middies in the hospital are like her! She was so positive and reassuring but didn't bull.... us about it all. DP is still traumatised by the video though! I didn't think with us both growing up on farms it would be such a shock for him - but he says it's different when it's a person :p

had a bit of a chat with the midwife afterwards and I feel really confident now that the hospital will support us in our choices - and the OB won't show up til the end anyway (if all goes along well enough in labour). So I feel like a big load has rolled off my shoulders and I can put away the little niggling worries and just give myself up to the experience!

Rian I love the kicks too. DP puts his head near my belly when they're a bit uncomfy and says "hey little girl, go easy on Mum", but I tell him I don't mind at all cos it tells me she's ok in there :) In fact I think it'll be weird when I'm on my own in here again!

maybe1more
12-08-2006, 06:41 PM
Hi all, a big thanks to all who gave me advice on the rasberry tablets, s,more thankx for written that article :thumbsup: great stuff!!

Lesley- congrats on winning your raffle, i hope it was a lovley one. Best of luck of the house hunting too!!! Glad to hear you only have a few days of work left, you`ll have more time to look and relax too.

Sorry to thoses who are putting up with unnessasary **** from family members, its so not called for, stand you for yourselfs you dont need to put up with it.
Shame on them:shame:

Thanks for the tip on the toilet paper!! thats great advice and also the flannels, anything that makes our after birth expericence more comftable.

Good news to all the are finishing up work, i worked up untill it was 36 weeks with my first (even thought i was 2 weeks over) but i wish i left at 30 weeks, i could imagtion working throught this pregnancy with already having a child, i envy thoses who are.

Lil pumpkin- great to hear your on your way home!!! I couldnt imagtion living anywhere but perth, as its all i know.

Loulous mum- i was a harbor town last weekend and i didnt find much, i had a look through the baby x factory and brought a little outfit but i didnt think they were as cheap as they advertised.

I brought a big bottle of mylanta today, my heartbeat is shocking, its putting me off eating as much which is probably a good thing. My antenatal class went well, im measuring 32 weeks instead of 30 but it doesnt matter.

Re- the swap test, i did mine last time at 34 weeks and you do it yourself (thank goodness) to test for streb b, my midwife said its a good idea to have a yukult a day for the good bacteria in it and apparently helps guard against it. If the test comes back positive it means a drip in he arm whilst in labour, my sister has this with her first baby.

Have a good weekend all:D

loulousmum
12-08-2006, 08:30 PM
To anyone suffering from heartburn - I've found the best stuff is Gavascon (peppermint for me!). It only works if you take it and then don't have a drink or anything to eat for a period of time. If you take it at night, you need to have it a little while before laying down. Apparently it creates an artificial "raft" that stops everything from rising up and making you feel bad!

I've got to get back to my fun getting to know how to use my NEW iPOD:yelclap: My lovely husband went and got it for me as a present this afternoon while I was out at Harbour Town finding absolutely nothing!:no:

I've been downloading photos, music and podcasts...There'll be heaps to listen to when I'm breastfeeding and out exercising off all these naughty things I've been eating! :eek:

ourfirstbubba
12-08-2006, 10:27 PM
hi girls

hope you are all feeling well........had a great day today with my Mum getting my hospital bag organised.....bought nice PJ's from Sussans and slippers and nice lounge wear for my hospital stay (nice lightweight trakkies and t-shirts with buttons)...I have one question though- I am not a big girl and normally wear a size 10-12...I bought the t-shirts in large...what I want to know is, once bub is born, does your stomach stay swollen for long? I know that it wont just go back to the size it was pre-pregnancy straight away, but curious if I should buy bigger tops?

I think I am going to miss my pregnant body, you get so used to touching your belly...but I just cant wait to meet our bub....

one more question, my SIL is holding my babyshower for me at my in-laws place....I have bought her a really nice ring as a thankyou presnt and I am going to buy my MIL some flowers too....is this enough?? not sure.....

well, hope you are all having a nice weekend......

take care

Becbabe
13-08-2006, 12:44 PM

My lovely DP is out digging a vegie patch for me so I can get some stuff planted before I can't bend over anymore :p So this week I can get my hands dirty!

It's an absolutely perfect day here - hard to believe it's not spring yet.

I just put a quiche in the oven for lunch and have finished listing 47 (!) items of clothing on Ebay... so I'm glowing with a sense of achievement!

Hope everyone else is having a nice Sunday too.

Bec. :)

Mookie
13-08-2006, 01:07 PM

Sounds like we are all having nice weekends. It's lovely weather here in Brisbane too. DH is asleep after working last night, so I'm just dagging around at home - exactly what I feel like.

Back to work tomorrow, but only for 4 days & then that's it for me - it will be such a nice feeling being on mat leave finally. I sort of have stuff organised but still need to wash all Lily's little things, sheets etc, get my hospital stuff together etc.
We ordered her cot/change table over 7 wks ago & it's still n