View Full Version : Vegetarian Pregnancy

chubbybubby
01-08-2006, 14:15
I have got one gorgeous healthy boy and later this year, we hope to get pregnant again. But I have recently become a vegetarian for moral reasons, and am worried about how I will go during pregnancy. Obviously my main concern is that my baby will get all the nutrients it needs. Has anyone done this? Can anyone recommend any good links? Or does anyone have any tips on how to stay healthy during pregnancy? Thanks.

01-08-2006, 14:25
theres a member here named sammy-d who is due next month and is a vegetarian
maybe you could pm her:D

BJelly
01-08-2006, 14:48

I'm a lacto-ovo vegetarian and I'm presently pregnant and BFing (although I am weaning slowly). I had a great first pregnancy and this one is going well so far (11 weeks) touch wood.

The only non-veg thing I've done is to take the Blackmores preg and BF tablet as it as fish oil in it.

I try to eat some sort of beans like Lentils/chickpeas/kidney beans at least every couple of days. I also eat soy burgers that you can get at the supermarket - I'll often have one for lunch to ensure I get a bit of protein every day. I also snack on apples and other fresh fruit at least once a day. I also like yoghurts, cashews and saltanas as snacks. Broccoli and spinach are great vegies to have with meals as they have lots of goodies in them. Carrots are really good too. Once a week I mix a teaspoon of molasses with some orange juice for some added minerals. I also eat wholemeal bread as that is better than white bread.

Also it's good to have orange juice with your meals as it helps your body absorb iron. Avoid caffene type drinks at meals like coffee, tea and cola as these block iron.

I'm not a health nut, but it is possible to have a healthy pregnancy and bub on a veggie diet. Best of luck with everything:)

Here's one site I found that had some useful info:
http://www.babycenter.com/expert/2286.html

Edited to add: I've not had a problem with low iron or anything, I've been keen for my Dr to keep an eye on this during both pregnancies, and so far I've been fine.

kaiad
01-08-2006, 14:49

I have been a vegetarian for about 18 years and have had two healthy boys and have another one on the way. When I say vegetarian that may not be exactly right as I have eaten fish for about 6 of those years but I don't really have too much of it. What I have found with my pregnancies is that I have been quite low in iron so I would talk to your doctor and ask about what foods you should be eating to make sure that your iron intake is adequte. I have never been one of those vegetarians that have substituted chick peas or lentils for meat, I have just really eaten what I wanted. During my pregnancies I have listened to my body and given it what it needs and I must admit that my milk intake and spinach intake increases dramatically (milk especially). I was taking iron tablets before I fell pregnant with my third but my doctor told me that in the first trimester that I shouldn't take them, I am not sure why. Anyway I have probably not been too much help but like I said I have had two healthy boys and so far everything is going well with this one so I am sure that if you let your doctor know that you are vege and listen to there advice and listen to your body then everything will go well for you.

Good luck when you start TTC.

Angie

chubbybubby
01-08-2006, 14:57
Thanks for the replies. I am actually feeling much healthier as a vegetarian than I ever did before! I have so much more energy - I think my body didn't agree with meat. I am also taking multi vitamin tablets which helps. I still eat eggs and dairy, just not any meat/fish. I keep meaning to go and see a dietician, but I never seem to have the time! Thanks again. :)

LittleBoysRock
01-08-2006, 15:07
I had a perfect vegetarian pregnancy with DS and am also lacto ovo vegie.

Feel free to PM me if you need to chat.

chubbybubby
01-08-2006, 17:06
Thanks guys. I will certainly be in touch when it gets closer to TTC. I am so excited! I am the cluckiest person in the world, and I have had to watch my two best friends have gorgeous babies recently and I just want to get pregnant now! I think I am doing very well, holding on until the end of the year! I just hope it happens as easily and smoothly as the first.

LittleBoysRock
01-08-2006, 18:50
I will be TTC #2 prob in December this year and it will be another vegetarian pregnancy! I know what you mean, I am SO clucky atm!! I just cant wait to be a mummy to another little darling! :p

nicoleE
02-08-2006, 08:01
I've been a lacto-ovo vegetarian (I eat dairy but no 'flesh') for about 11 years and am currently TTC #1 (likely to have PCOS so have an appointment with a FS this Friday! YAY!!)

I try to eat a range of things, DH is not a vego but luckily is not one of those 'meat-craving' people who need their steak every week, he is happy to eat the vegie foods most times, even when I offer to cook him meat.

Our meals through the week range from; Veg Tacos with Mexican Chilli beans & Sanitarium Soy Gluten Mince, Pasta w/Broccoli & Mushrooms, Home Made Lentil burgers (will find the recipe and post here later incase anyone is interested, they are YUM, I make a big batch and freeze) with vegies, Stirfry with range of vegies and Tofu... I also include eggs on my salad sandwiches for lunch, mushrooms in salads and snack on 1/4 cup of mixed nuts & dried fruit every day.

I am currently however taking a Marine Oil tablet, not that I would normally but when it comes down to it my future baby is more inportant than a fish (sorry fish!). (I do also take a prego multi vitamin while TTCing high in B Group). Years ago I always thought that when pregnant I would go back to eating meat for my babies sake however over the years I have learnt that you can be perfectly healthy (if not healthier) not eating meat, to be honest I think I would throw up if someone put meat on my fork! My choice was also for moral reasons but it has been so long the thought of eating flesh sickens me..

I am interested to know if Vegie parents (particularly when there is only one that is vego) will raise their children as vegetarian..? I personally will be letting them decide when they are old enough. We do eat mostly vego meals in our house anyway but when DH has meat then I will offer it to my child, or they can opt for my 'option'.

nicoleE
02-08-2006, 08:24
This recipe came from this web site, it is the web site of my natropath/nutritionist http://www.bodytalkhealth.com.au/ You can subscribe (for free) to receive emailed newsletters every month with healthy tips, research and a recipe (also more recipies on his site). He is not a pure vego himself (although his daughter is and she just had a baby) but he understands the health benifits of the choice, he is a very smart man...

Phil’s Lentil and Chickpea Burgers

Ingredients

· 1 can lentils (I throw in probably at least twice this much of soaked dried ones)
· 1 can chickpeas
· 1 cup cooked pumpkin (i dont like pumpkin so I use about 2 cups of mashed Potatoes instead)
· 1 cup cooked zucchini (i use 2 of them)
· 1 onion, chopped
· 2 cloves garlic
· 2 eggs
· 1 extra egg white
· 2 cups wholemeal breadcrumbs
· Olive Oil
(I also add in 2x carrots)

Method

Fry onions and garlic in olive oil until soft. Place all other ingredients in processor to make a mash. Add eggs, onions and breadcrumbs.

Form mixture into patties and fry with small amount of olive oil until brown. Serve with a tossed salad of your choice or on a bed of rice.

MY EDIT:
I dont really measure much of it, I just throw it all into a bowl (wet ingreedients first) and make sure I have a nice consistency (if not i add either another egg or more bread crumbs). I finely grate the carrot & zucchini and dont blend it all up, nor do i cook the zucchini or carrots beforehand (not sure why it says to do this). I add a bit more of some things like garlic and another egg because I make more than the recipie says! lol I coat them in breadcrumbs to before packaging them up into the freezer. I just get out when required zap in microwave for 1-2 minutes to thaw slightly and fry them with a little olive oil in the pan. I LOVE them! :smiliedance: I normally have about 15 large patties. I have them as a 'meat alternative' with a plate of vegies or as a burger in bread/bun.

twinkles
02-08-2006, 08:35
I think BJelly is mostly on the $. I have been a vego for 12 years and a vegan for the first 2. A good balanced diet, with plenty of wholegrains and fresh F&V is really important. Avoiding mixing dairy and iron sources is helpful for absorption.

More than one protein source simultaneously is important too to create a complete protein mix; I tend to have my salad (or other) sandwiches on wholemeal bread with low fat hummus (home made is sooo much yummier than bought) and that sort of thing to ensure complete protein. If I have TVP mince or vegie sausies etc I have it with a wholemal pasta or w/meal pita etc and for brekky porridge made on milk is a complete protein source. I have found this has been invaluable when pregnant.

As for vitamins, the elevit brand, though spensy is vegetarian and well recommended through the forum, watch out if you have a sensitivity to copper though (those of us who have ear probs wearing gold earrings can be allergic to the copper or nickel in them) and Elevit contains a fair amount of it.

I have also found that while pregnant, 2 hot chocolates a day with minimal, but rich choc mix or a little milo (normally only adds 50-100 calories) and non fat milk has really helped to keep the energy levels up too.

NicoleE - We are a vego household, though my husband eats meat when he is out and about. He is really happy to eat whatever is there so long as he doesn't have to cook it. We have decided as a couple to raise our kids as vegos and hey can make the decision either way when they are old enough to make up their own mind. Bear in mind though that I am actually allergic to meat and as it can be hereditary it is far better to keep the kids vego till they can test it and accurately guage the afeects. The kids are fully aware their Dad and half sister is an omnivore, but there would be too much conflict if we had it in the house as our 3 (and me) are animal lovers. Though I don't make a big deal out of it the kids are aware of where meat comes from and are quite repulsed at the concept as they have pets (chooks,fishies and guinea pigs).:D

I hope this has helped

Twinkles

moomoosmummy
04-08-2006, 11:42
hey there you plenty of other input there as well but this may be handy. i have never eaten meat and i just went through a pregnancy maia is what i like to think of as perfect hehe... wel very healthy and big for her age she isnt lacking anything!
when i first fell pregnant the doc said that my iron was a little low so i got floradex you can buy it any health food shop its liquid iron i would swear by it your usually goes down when your pregnant for obvious reasons but mine actually went up doc could not beleive it...
just email me if you are interested or cant find it anyways hope it was a help.... munju@westnet.com.au

Shellfish
15-08-2006, 10:11

I am a ovo-laco veg. This is my first pregnancy and so far, things are going well.

I have bought the following two books
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0743224523/102-1400625-3531303?v=glance&n=283155 - this one I ordered from overseas

http://www.capersbookstore.com.au/scripts/shop_item.asp?by=fla&item=2085 - this one I bought locally
They (especially the first one) provide a lot of reassurance.

For Omega 3, I eat fortified eggs and I also take Linseed oil capsules. I take fabfol capsules which has a lot of iron although I do try and eat foods rich in iron (lentils, beans, chickpeas, veg. sushi (seaweed), licorice (believe it or not), fortified juice and cereal.

My husband and I are both vego's and while that is how I will raise my kids at home. If they choose to eat meat outside of the house, that's their choice.

My obstetrician is great. He has been doing this for a long time and nothing seems to bother him. When I told him I was a vegetarian, he said "good". Then told me that his wife is a vego and he has two children :yes:

All the best,
Give me a shout if you have any questions

Pippi Longstocking
15-08-2006, 10:24
I have been vegetarian from birth and have had 5 healthy pregnancies which resulted in perfectly healthy above average sized happy little munchkins. My iron levels have always been quite high, even at 9 months pregnant with my 5th baby.
I don't really do anythign special diet wise. We do eat meat substitute products although not often as they are expensive. We eat heaps of pasta, veges, rice, and legumes.

Caithi
30-09-2006, 19:42
Ok.... now I am completely confused.:confused:

I am a dedicated vegan however my nutritionist AND naturopath both said that I had had to add some free range animal foods to my diet due to being pregnant.:crying:

Is anyone in here vegan and if so did they stay vegan throughout their pregnancy with no probs? :eek:

I always feel like a traitor when I eat my "new foods' which is awful emotionally but I didnt think that I had an option.

Do I?:fingerscrossed:

stellarella
30-09-2006, 20:01
Hi ive been vego for 12 years and just gave birth to a very healthy and happy baby boy 3 months ago.

I dont eat fish or chicken (yes they count as meat) and I dont eat eggs either (just hate them).

My suggestion would be to go see a naturopath who will advise you on supplementing (IMO should be done in any pregnancy anyway) and make sure you stay on top of your iron as i did get a bit low towards the end of pregnancy and after giving birth I was very tired for a couple of weeks due to this and other things....errr labour probably:p

Its really important to eat well as a vego and its not as simple as just cutting meat from your diet, you will need to replace it with lentils, beans, grains, tofu, chickpeas, tempeh etc.

If you are prepared to make an extra effort with your meals you will have no trouble providing bub with everything they need, and when you are breastfeeding you will providing everything too. Bub takes the pick of everything ahead of you so all is good.

Caithi
30-09-2006, 20:08
I agree - I see my naturopath on a monthly basis ( migrane problems since I was young ) and the nutitionist when I got pregnant but they still said eat.....

Fish
&
Dairy
&
Eggs

I dont eat any dairy or eggs as I have calculated my needs and what I intake ( am doing this on a monthly basis ) and I am over the required amounts however.....

was told I needed fish due to the fatty acids. I was going to take the tablets but they use more fish to make a tablet than eating fish in your diet so I am gaging that down.

Any suggestions as to what a good alternative to fish is? :D

chubbybubby
30-09-2006, 22:42
Wow! I forgot about this thread and now there are lots of new posts! :) I am still vegetarian (4.5 months now) and not craving meat at all. I am very proud of myself, as I have always been a meat-lover. I have just found out that I have low iron though, so the Dr has prescribed some iron tablets (ferrero or something LOL) but silly me keeps forgetting to take them! Unfortunately we are living with OH's parents at the moment and they insist on making all the meals (despite my offers to plan and cook their meals and my own). For me, that usually means whatever they are having, minus the meat. The other night I had mashed potato and boiled cabbage! Ewww! When I do get to cook, I love to use the soy sausages and flavoured tofu.

Caithi, why not try adding some free-range eggs to your diet? That way, you know the chooks are not being exploited. Perhaps even find a local far that you can visit to see the chooks for yourself? As soon as we have our own place, I will be getting a few chooks of my own and will only eat their eggs. :)

Caithi
30-09-2006, 22:46
Caithi, why not try adding some free-range eggs to your diet? That way, you know the chooks are not being exploited. Perhaps even find a local far that you can visit to see the chooks for yourself? As soon as we have our own place, I will be getting a few chooks of my own and will only eat their eggs. :)

Oooooooooooh I would love to have my own chooks!:thumbsup: We used to have a duck who was the third child in our household - the best eggs ever... but with two cheeky cats and a border collie Im not sure how it would go :eek: