View Full Version : how bad is it if they actually eat cat/dog food?

Jaspat24
26-02-2010, 20:55
So DS is crawling and into everything and that includes the cat bowls and the dog bowl. He is just so quick! So far i've managed to get out all the bits of dry cat/dog biscuits he's managed to cram in his mouth, but in case he actually swallows some, its not that bad is it?

Bellini
26-02-2010, 20:59
My sister ate a good half tin of cat food when she was little, and she turned out fine ;)
I'm sure a few biscuits wouldn't have done any harm.

JabberJaw
26-02-2010, 21:00
I dunno, i remember as a young kid me and the bestie use to have competitions to see who could eat the most :barf:

And my darling son made me a coffee with puppy milk the other day :barf:

But it should be ok, as long as you get most of it out. I would be more worried about bub choking on it than actually eating it.

me+he=3
26-02-2010, 21:02
I don't think it can be that bad....DD used to love crawling over to the dog bowls and sit there eating their dry food. She hasn't developed 3 head or anything strange.

I'm sure over time, both my kids have eaten worse things that I just don't know about.

NonnyMouse
26-02-2010, 21:02
DS has eaten cat LITTER, I would actually prefer it if he ate catfood. LOL

I wouldn't worry too much, it's not *intended* for human consumption but I doubt it's poisinous or anything. He just might be ingesting horrid stuff like weird body parts of other animals, ash, and stuff you'd probably rather not think about.

ETA: Actually, what I described above is probably no worse than you'd find in your average meat pie! LOL

MimiGrace
26-02-2010, 21:03
i (and most of the kids i know) used to eat the pellets of food in the chook pen, the dry cat food (i never went for dry dog food that i can remember), the dry pellets they give out at zoo's and animal farms.

And most of that was when i was technically 'old enough to know better' (and still remember it as an adult :o), so its not overly bad.

The wet cat/dog food would worry me a little bit more. But i honestly don't think its that different to them eating our food - its still just meat etc - not like cats need food which is poisonous to us :p

bellarosey
26-02-2010, 21:07
Your little one should be fine. I am sure most of us have eaten some very unsavoury things when we were little.

nugglyboysmum
26-02-2010, 21:07
I wouldnt worry for a second hun. Geez, the things my son has consumed over the last few years, pet food is NOTHING! LOL

Moxy
26-02-2010, 21:09
i used to eat dried cat food when i was younger. and im talking 9 or 10. i turned out ok. i was nice and salty........:barf:

PrettiestInPink
26-02-2010, 21:26
Something yucky to think about:
- Top dollar premium dog/dry food as 'real' fresh meat. (Just like we eat)
- The standard dog/dry food has 'road kill' :barf:

Hooves
26-02-2010, 21:46
I used to apparently have a real thing for whiskas, biscuits, when I was little.

Apparently I ate heaps of it.

:barf:

I don't really think it would do any harm. Not a few nibbles here and there.

IF you say made him a bowl of it like wheeties for brekky, and did that long term. I think that would perhaps be different.

Jaspat24
26-02-2010, 21:49
LOL thanks for your replies ladies! i didn't think it would be bad but you never know! i stillcan't believe how much he manages to cram into his mouth in one small handful!

*babygirl*
26-02-2010, 21:52
I used to sneak into the pantry as a small child and eat the white 'bone' shaped dog biscuits out of the dogfood and I turned out great lol... Don't worry too much:)

Lolanthe
27-02-2010, 02:17
My bub has eaten a lot more than a few cat biccies :laughing:

It's fine, just as long as he doesn't snack on them too often ;)