View Full Version : Great Grandparents names

cwsmum
17-08-2005, 22:34
Does anyone know their Grandparents and Great Grandparents first and middle names? I am looking for inspiration for my bubs name and have no ideas at all :confused: We have been told we are having a girl.
Any help would be greatly apreciated :)

Chickadee
17-08-2005, 23:19
You're looking for older names? My grandparents were Laura, Howard, Ethel (sp?) and I think James. Other names in that generation on my dad's side include Wellington, Martha (of course), Dorothy and Troyer.

BlueGin
17-08-2005, 23:46
Hey, well in my older family there are a few choice ones: Clarence, Mabel, Amelia, Rita, Albert, Len, Les, James, Phylis, Rhonda

Food for thought ;)

Miaow
18-08-2005, 06:46
Im not sure on what my grandparents names were but I found these on babynames.com.au if it helps.

My mother's middle name was Nevada (after the war ship) which i've always thought was interesting.

Popular girls names 1900

Mary
Helen
Anna
Margaret
Ruth
Elizabeth
Marie
Rose
Florence
Bertha

drewid
18-08-2005, 07:01

My grandparents were/are:

Daisy May & Leslie John
Colleen Wanda & Kevin

The only great-grandparent I remember is the only one still alive - Bertha.

I love Daisy May - I never got to meet her as she died when my dad was little, and always planned to have at least part of her name for my daughter, if I'm ever lucky enough to have one!

Nick47
18-08-2005, 08:09
My Grandmother is Lizzie Bella which I thought must have been quite unusual back then ( 90 years ago) as firtsly there are no italian (bella) influences in the family-we're scottish and secondly Lizzie is a shortenen version of Elizabeth- and I'd have reckoned that shortened christian names would fave been frowned upon.

18-08-2005, 08:17
Firstly can I just say Cathyn your little bub is beautiful, when I had my 3D ultrasound our boy had the umbilical cord in a tight bear hug covering his face so for most of the session we couldnt see him. At the last minute he pulled it away so we got a beauty of his perfect little face. Actually thats how he got his traditional Aboriginal name-Warrgul, meaning SHY ONE.

My dh mums name was Iris, my grandma's names are Mavis and Kathleen. My great grandma's were Coral and Gwen- I love the name Gwen thats making a come back for sure (Gwen Stefani for one!) :cool:

If we have a girl next she'll be Iris Ann and if we have another one she'll be
Lily Sue (after my mum) :)

To Nicole 79 I too LOVE Daisy May it is too cute! :p

Sarah

red crayon
18-08-2005, 09:35
Hello! My grandmothers were/are: Audrey Isobel (she's 92 and still going) and Maisie Jean. My grandfathers were: Frank Murray and Henry (Harry) Lund. I love both my grandmothers' names and if we'd had a girl we were going to name her Maisie Ruby. Ruby is my dp's grandmother's name.

cleighsa
18-08-2005, 10:29
my grandma is Genevieve and my grandpa was Keith. my nan was Mary and my pop was Kevin (known as Ben).

alicesmum
18-08-2005, 10:56
some of the old names in my family are:

Alice (hence my daughter's name)

Willoughby (which I love for a boy!)

Muriel (hmmm....)

Jessie

Dorothy

George

Ilene

Irene

Evelyn

Robert

Richard

justtwogirls22
18-08-2005, 11:00
my grandparents names are Ada Anne & Norman Dudley - Kathleen Ruth & Kingsley William - some other old female relatives names i can remember are Thelma, Phyllis, Joyce, Rainbow (yes it is a real name) Constance, Margaret, Maud, Merve, Eleanor, Shirley, Deleece, Noretta & Glenda

cwsmum
18-08-2005, 12:03
Thanks for the sugestions :) I have found some names I like, that also sound nice with our last name. Still trying to find a name that DH also likes, so please, keep the suggestions coming :D

talon
18-08-2005, 12:30
Ivy and Dorothy

cath
18-08-2005, 12:32
my grandma's names were Mollie (really Mary but always called Mollie - no middle name) and Jean Alice and my grandpa's names were John (sometimes called Jack) and Alexander Robert. I love the older style names - good luck with making a decision.

Cath

bubhub
18-08-2005, 13:52
Hiya Kriscee

That's spooky, my grandmother's names were Ivy and Dorothy too...!!

Hilary

TwoBlue
18-08-2005, 14:14
My grandmother was Isobel Maude and her sister was Violet (not sure on middle name) I LOVE isobel and Violet.

My grandfather was Victor James, he just passed away in April aged 99 and didnt even die of old age but skin cancer, he was a trooper and the best guy i've ever known ...
James is my DS middle name and Victor will be DS due Nov's middle name.

Good luck with your name picking..... its hard work !!

18-08-2005, 16:34
Here you go, though some have been said previously probably;

Ive
Merle
Edna
Eva
May
Letticia
Hannah

Sydney
George
Robert
Patrick
Colin
Alfred

I would have liked to name my daughter Letticia Hannah but hubby was not a fan :rolleyes:

Hope that helps.

Rockett
18-08-2005, 20:57
One of my grandma's name was Alice Clara (pronounced Claire-ah),though she also got called Bonnie. The other was Jean.
One grandfather was Norman Saxon. :)

stellaj
18-08-2005, 21:10
My grandparetns are- Isobella and Keith, Margaret and Bruce my g-grandma was Elizabeth and g-pa was James.

My grandma has 5 sisters- Jean, Elsie, Margaret, Lilian and herself Isobella. ( i think Lilian is cute)

Its funny how names come around again isn't it? There are still alot of Elizabeth's and JAmes' and Isobella is now very fashionable.

Briannabear
19-08-2005, 08:51
My Grandparents names are Dorothy + Raymond, and Marilyn + Geoff, + Brian (step-grandfather!). My DH's Grandmother's name was Grace. (Which I absolutely love!!) :D

xkwzit
19-08-2005, 14:11
Hi My great gran on my mother's side was Sapphira (sp? - its like sapphire the precious stone) Ann.

Benandrewsmum
19-08-2005, 16:32
Hi...my Grandmothers middle name was Alladeine which I always thought was beautiful.....pity my hubby doesn't like it!!

Donna

noniandlilysmum
20-08-2005, 09:46
My grandparents on my mothers side were Joyce Muriel and Jack, not sure of his middle name, he was German as their surname was Haselich, My Granparents on my fathers side were Richard Nixon, not sure of his middle name and Margaret Kimmins, My Grandma met my Grandpa when he was over here from America on leave from the Army, A fling which ended up with my dad, My grandma never had any other children, but my grandfather was married and have children of his own which live in America... Wow don't you just love history... I really like the name Jack, It is very popular now... :p

Audrey
20-08-2005, 15:03
My Gandmothers names are Molly and Nelly.

ThomasMum
20-08-2005, 18:49
What makes it so special for us is that our both GrandDad's name is Henry ! We are using it as Thomas's 3rd name...

xkwzit
20-08-2005, 21:59
My Pop's first wife's name was Avelis, which I have always thought was beautiful, but could never find what it meant.

summerly
20-08-2005, 23:36
Some of our family names:

Dorothy Winifred
Alma Jean
Florence
Rose
Lillian

Leslie Howard
Squire Albert James
Raymond
Edward

Though just about all these names were shortened to one syllable.

shinebrite
06-09-2005, 15:20
We have heaps of weird names in our family
Lucy
Minnie
Audrey
Oliver girls name = Olivia
Anita
GeniveRe instead of GeneiveVe
Dawn

I cant think of all of them at the moment have you looked at your own family line thats were im taking all of my names its pretty cool if you think about it coming from the family

red crayon
06-09-2005, 15:45
I can't top those two but my nana had six siblings - one sister was named Thora and one brother was named Lavington.

Nickster
06-09-2005, 18:47
My dear departed grandma was christened Lavenia Melba, and my DH's grandma was called Alma, and, get this, her maiden surname was Clacher (pronounced "clacker"). Yes, that's right - Alma Clacher!! LOL!!! :D
If Libby was a boy, we were going to name her after my Grandpa. His name is Edward William, but we were going to switch it around and call him William Edward.

jembelina
07-09-2005, 14:56
my grandmother's name is Wendy and her brother is Peter - they were named after Peter Pan and Wendy which was apparently common then and i think is kind of cute. Other older names in my family are- George, Joan, Mary, Angus, Jim, Jean, Doris, Seddon.... have fun

Ky
15-09-2005, 01:13
My g/grandmother had a pretty name ... Ruby Lily

Others, not so pretty ...

Myrtle Ethel
Mavis Irene
Arthur Wilfred (used Arthur as my son's middle name)
Donald Douglas

jes
16-09-2005, 16:53
My nana is Joan Ellen and my pop is Kennith. My great grandfater is George and is still very active at 94 years old. Other old names are simon, ivy,clive,betty,hazel,lily. My other nanas name was Jean Angela. I got ELLEN as my middle name and my sister Laura got JEAN as her middle name. Also QUINN is a lovely name.

BabyJoy
27-09-2005, 13:21
I haven't read through all the posts, so these names may have been mentioned, but all of them are in my family (some still alive today):

Betty Joan
Edgar William (his middle named has passed through three generations and he was mostly called Eddie)
Betty Jean
Aubrey Ronald
Percy
Gertrude (Gert for short)
Ivy
Alice May (everyone called her May which was quite funny when she married Percy Day and ended up being called May Day!!!)
June
Thomas (this one has gone through a few generations)
William Williams (but he was known as Bill Williams)
Ruby
Gladys

I'd love to name my children after my grandparents (especially while they are still here so they'd get a million warm fuzzies) but I just don't think Betty, Aubrey or Edgar are good names for this century!

27-09-2005, 14:10
Lucy, Mary, William & Gilbert were my Great Grands. I love the name Lucy for a girl but dh hates it... :( for me!

Peaceangels
27-09-2005, 14:39
My grandmothers names are - Mary Loretta (may she rest in peace) and Ruby (not sure of her middle name?).
My grandfathers names are - George Munro and Edmund (Ted) James.

Funkychicken
09-10-2005, 18:36
My paternal grandmothers name was Jeune. It is the french word for young. It was not pronounced as June but as Jurne without the J sound that we use. OOhh this is hard to explain without saying it aloud. Anyway, our daughters name is Ella Jeune.

Sharlee
09-10-2005, 21:27
My granny's name was Grace Alice and my nana's name was Iris Elizabeth.

DH's granny was Sarah Ann Teresa and his nana is Roma ??

zenifa
10-10-2005, 01:30
My grandparents were called Paul, Anna, Josef and Katalin
My DH's grandparents are called Iris, Ivy, Arthur and Murray

quriouskey
18-10-2005, 11:51
My grandparents' names were Mary, Edward (Ted), William and Rhena. I also had a great-aunt named Theodosia, which I think is kind of cool, but called Dosia for short which is just ugly.

Elfin
18-10-2005, 12:18
My Great Grandmothers were called Ellen and Annabella which I think are both pretty names. Great Grandfathers were George and John James.

PMS
18-10-2005, 20:15
Hi, both my daughter and son are named after their great-grandparent's.
My daughter is Lily Rose after my hubbie's grandmother and my son is Jack William
after my grandfather. Needless to say both my parents and hubbies parents plus
aunt's and uncles on both sides were very pleased and touched by the names.

:p

Jen
18-10-2005, 21:11
My boys are named Patrick John , after both his grandfathers,and Sidney James after his great grandfather.
Other family names

Esme
Dorothy
Joan Winifred
Marie-Louise
Polly
Doris
Pamela
patricia
Deidre
Carmel
Gabrielle

other male rellies are pretty standard
thomas
francis, (frank)
Edward
John
George
samuel
james

due in another month with no 3. Thinking Alice Louise for a girl.
Marvin Anthony for a boy. (DH passionate about Marvin Gaye!! It's taken me a while to get used to it.)

LittleBoysRock
18-10-2005, 21:28
Some old names in my family....

Margarita Adelaide
Frederick James
Ruby Jean
Brian Keith
Yvonne Lillian
Neville Andrew

I love the name Ruby...if my next one is a girl, she will be RUBY ROSE. :)

Mala
23-10-2005, 17:44
My grandparents are:

Marion Kathleen - shouldn't say it, but my most loved Nanna!
Mary Margaret (Molly)
Maurice Albert
Maurice Steven - bit trendy for a man about to turn 80!
Other 'old' names I love, include Marnie and Mabel.
I like Archie too - it's got character!

Also, Marion's grandmother was born onboard a ship on the way to Australia - and the month was May, so she was named Oceana May :D .

We've half decided that #3 here will be Morrie if he's a boy. - After both of my puppa's.
If #3 is a girl, her middle name will be Marion - I love the name!

DH's grandparents all have names that I consider vomit material - really.
-Nobody in this century, or ever again, will call their daughter Shirley.
My DH was going to be Yvonne :eek: if he were a girl - Matt suits him much better! - We're only 24 - I've never met a Yvonne under 50!
Some names just never come around again! - for good reason! ;)
More food for thought!

My children are Isabelle Marie, and Leo Thomas (I desperately wanted Leo Albert - but DH wouldn't hear of it! - Luckily, I get more weight in the naming game this time around, and Morrie Albert it is!)
Mala

BlessedWithBlue
11-01-2006, 16:00
My grandparents are Rosaleen Margaret Donuelle, Esther, David Edwin and Johan but he calls himself John. Df's grandma was Suzanna and grandpa was Ben, was short for something but not sure what?? don't know any others on df's side.

lukaelmo
11-01-2006, 16:20
One of my nanas was named Lola.

I think that's a pretty cool name for a nana :D

11-01-2006, 16:23
-Nobody in this century, or ever again, will call their daughter Shirley.

My Dh's sis's name is Shirley......she's 41. :D

M O P
11-01-2006, 17:10
My great grandparents I knew were Henry James and Stella Bertha

Some of the others were Hannah, Elizabeth Sarah and Thomas Morgan.

Elizabeth's maiden name was Tilly, so another name for inspiration!

11-01-2006, 17:55
I only know some of mine as they died before i cam along, and i never really learnt about them, but the ones i know are:
Grandparents -
Joan
Neil
Howard Richard
Alicia

Gr-Grandparents-
Lorna
Alice

Dh's are:
Grandparents-
Elsie Rose
Dulcie
Archie Roy
Charles Leslie White (white was a middle name too)

Charlee Rose came from his grandfather & grandmother

Mamaduke
11-01-2006, 18:51
My grandparents...
Boleslaw Aleksander
Helena

Herbert Gould
Gladys Winifred

Great grandparents...
I'll come back with that!

We have Lucas Aleksander and Jesse Douglas (after my dad) - if we ever have a girl she will be Charlotte Helena...
I WILL get my Charlotte Helena!!!!!!

tyler's mum
11-01-2006, 19:12
hazel,,, i love this name its tyler's middle name
john, margrent, lewis

tyler's mum
11-01-2006, 19:17
i meant margaret pretty bad i can't spell my nan's name...lol:D

my mum's and dad's name is ian norman,,, dawn margaret

~MUMMY~
11-01-2006, 19:24
some of my sons great aunts and great grand parents are......

william
Ivy
Ronald
Thoral
Jeanette
margerette
evelyn
barbra
darryl
barry
edna
dianne
dorothy
malcom
charles
john

Worm'sMum
11-01-2006, 19:50
Hi There! What a good idea to get the 'older' names...there's some really nice ones out there! Not sure what you think of mine but my grandparents are;

Patricia Margaret
Basil Douglas

I also had
Jack Ambrose
Jessie Edna
Norman Daniel
Henry Mari
Lillian Margaret
Marie Rose

My DH's
Valda
Beryl
Stanley George
Fred
Not sure of the middle names of those ones.:)

Jenko
11-01-2006, 21:03
My grandparents were Doreen May, Patrick John Sydney Alyioush, Eileen and Norman.

Some of the other names of that time were:

Annie
Molly
Reenie
Harold
Elizabeth
Nancy

MissSparkle
11-01-2006, 21:42
My grandparents are
Maunie
Paul
Peter
Faye

And my great grandparents are (That i remember
Gwen
Jack
Edward
Jackie

I do have a couple of Great Aunties who are very old and their names are
Joan
Betty
Marie
Sandra

Jacki
12-01-2006, 14:21
Grandparents:
Joyce & Reg
Betty & Harry

Great-Grandparents:
Amelia & James
Lillian

mummykass
12-01-2006, 14:34
My Grandparents names are Katherine, George, Keith Boyd and Irene Edna
Other oldies in the family include Laura, Elsie, Fee, Fay, Beryl, Velma, Stan, Dee, Rick, Arthur, Marnie, Boyd, Eva, Lorna, Annie.

Hope this helps, have fun choosing a name!

mar
12-01-2006, 14:44
My grandparents were Arthur and Doris, and Herbert and Phyllis - so you probably wouldn't want to use those! I know one of my great grandfathers was George which is quite a nice old fashioned name.

Foxy
12-01-2006, 15:34
My grandmother is called Violet and she has hated it all her life and insisted people call her Vi. (She is 85)

I told her about Jennifer Garner & Ben Affleck calling their baby Violet and that it is considered a "cool" name now. She just can't believe it! :)

Lauren176
13-01-2006, 18:31
some names in my family are:

Hanora Jane (Nora for short)
Arthur
Elisha (we called her Leat because she didnt like her name)
Margarette
Pieternella (pronounced Peter-nella) Nella for short
Patricia (Pat for short)

Thomas Gordon
Henrikus
Geradus Antonius (Gerry for short)
Theodora (Thea for short)
Nicolas Johannes Lucas

thats all i can think of at the moment. all the best!

OM
14-01-2006, 13:43
My favourite older style name is Mae-belle or Mabel but......

In my family the names dating back a few generations for the females are

Iris
June
Victoria
Francis
Cindy

Just found a few other names too that I quite liked.

Bonnie
Abigail
Cecilia
Bindy
Esme
Scarlett
Viola
Delilah
Margot

addictedtobabe
14-01-2006, 13:51
Ethel, James, Moira, Rose, Hugh, Gabriel, Popsy

Best mates middle name is Elmira...always loved that one...but she hates it!

whatwasithinking
14-01-2006, 16:38
My nans name was Marjorie and middle name was May (we have Bec's middle name as May). Grandma's name is Lillian but have no clue actually about her middle name.

Grandfathers names are Reginald Edgar and pops is Henry but they call him Harry and middle name is Daniel.

Odessa
14-01-2006, 19:37
My great grandparents names were:

Stanley George
Olive Susan
William House
Vera
Reginald Henry
Marion
Norma

My Grandparents are

Lorraine Miriam
Maxwell John
Beverly Phoebe
Bruce Ian

DPs grandparents from Brazil and Germany were

Agathe
Heinrich
Guilherme
Donna Maria

LilShenanigans
15-01-2006, 01:01
um, let me think... closest family middle names are, Joan, Glennen, Ann, Allan, Carol. My G Grandmas name is Lillah, dont know her middle name - dont think she has one!
Or theres ones like, Gladys, Winifred, Robert, Joyce, ...actually theres too many to list :p

GIZMOE
25-01-2006, 11:05
My Great Grandmother's name was Elsie May and my Great Grandfather was George Lane.

My Nan's name was Sylvia Joan and my pops was James Patrick.

Amy

25-01-2006, 11:24
ME
Anne Rose + Ronald
Winnette + Charles Carlos

DH
Yvonne + Douglas
and Ernest (hehehehe)

My Dads name is Vincente Carlos - I reckon its awesome!

Louise and Rose are names that I plan on using when I have a bub (providing they're girls!)

Fraggle
25-01-2006, 11:44
My grandparents on the german side are Maria (pronounced with a rolling R) and Joseph (pronounced with a Y instead of J), Berta (female - looking at it now, I think this may actually be spelt Bertha, but it was always pronounced without the H) and Adolph (:eek: ), on the english side, Dorothy (but shortened to Dot) & Steve, and lastly Ted (Edward) and Joan. I don't know the middle names.

missie_mack
30-01-2006, 15:25
Most of mine have simple names - at least first names but here goes

James Anthony
John
Lillian Anne
Marjorie Audrey Joyce (and gram will tell you not to call them Marjorie!)

g grandparents
Mary Catherine
John Thomas (what the??)
Eugene Francis
Ellen
John Alfred
Elizabeth Emily

Any guesses what nationalility my family are?? haha
If you like some old names try playing on birth deaths and marriages and see what you can find
http://www.bdm.nsw.gov.au/cgi-bin/Index/IndexingOrder.cgi/search?event=births

Mummabear
30-01-2006, 23:08
Clarice Alice Jane
Doris
Alma Emma
Jakob (Jack)
William
Alan
Stan

I luuuuuuuuuuuuuurve Molly. DH doesn't. When he can push a baby out the end of his peenie then he can come and talk to me about names (he named DS so the next one is my turn).

missie_mack
31-01-2006, 09:30
Molly is a traditional nickname for Mary.... maybe Molly can be used as a nickname for something else??? as Mary is pretty old fashioned and in my personal opinion boring