View Full Version : How much money do you have right now??
crazymuma
17-02-2010, 12:54
Just curious how much cash people have access to right now.
Was just talking to a family member who was worried about money. She was telling me that their bank balance hasn't looked this bad in years and they were a little concerned. When I asked how bad it was she told me that there bank balance had just fallen below $8000 :eek:
I can't see how anyone with that sort of money can be stressed.
I currently have $9.00 - that is to last until I get paid on Saturday and while I hate it I am trying not to stress about it.
So just curious how much people have access to and at what level do you become concerned.
Also please don't feel ashamed to say you have $2 or $200 000 and if you don't like my question or feel its too personal feel free to not respond :D
Baldie's Mum
17-02-2010, 12:56
I think about $1000. I will die if there is less there! Means DH is going to the pub and spending my hard earned $$$ :laughing: (as i sit at home in my p.j's!!!)
Lil Bugs Mummy
17-02-2010, 12:57
I can't believe she is stressed at it dropping below 8000 my bank account at no time will ever have that much ours is about 109 at the moment but will probably be gone by the end of the day, we do have about 900 in our business account but i have to wages today so that will also drop.
nothanksbye
17-02-2010, 12:58
we have a good bit.
I feel worried if it drops below 5 figures..
Because its a safety net. we have mortgages,rent, nursing home fees, school fees, soccer fees, ballet fees, tax, gst...and everything else!
we also have to pay salarys to staff.
It drops and I freak...I worry that it wont go up or we spent too much....
we also have a special savings account but its restricted as to what we can use it for.
MrJones&Me
17-02-2010, 12:58
atm i have $45 in my bank account.
4OnEarth1InHeaven
17-02-2010, 12:59
Pay day today, bills are paid and we now have just under $400 left and i'm sure it won't last, something always comes up, i worry if i can't get hold of the inlaws they are my saviour!
savings account..160. Atm 40 and about 20 in my purse. We don't get paid til wednesday next week
about $7000 in the account but most of it is for bills, mortgage so maybe about $2-3k that i could spend
Rileysmuma
17-02-2010, 13:05
Are you serious!!
I wish I could worry about money falling bellow 8000 :laughing:
ATM we have 1500 all up in our personal accounts. But im lucky enough to have grandparents who put money away for the grandkids so bank account will go up soon.
I have had times were we were over drawn in all our accounts and had no food and we managed some how :laughing:
I currently have $70 in my wallet which im saving for when im in hospital and not alot in my account, we have $5000 in an other account but $3200 of that is being used today to pay whats left of our new car.
DP gets paid today so he should have $700 in his account and we also can over draw 2 accounts to $1000.
We have rent and cars and a motorbike and 2 x insurance payments to come out though.
and we have to pay to stamp duty and transfers on our new car, plus we just moved yesterday to our new house 30mins away so no doubt moving will cost us alot of petrol!
I hate money it makes everything stressful!
2 weeks ago when I still worked we had no money issues what so ever, Its hard not having my own money anymore
flyawayfree
17-02-2010, 13:06
I have less than $3 and I get paid next week. I hate struggling week to week.
mummyrissa
17-02-2010, 13:12
I have around $3000 in 2 seperate accounts that i have access to. i also still have my baby bonus from 2 n half years ago in savings.
i also have a long term savings account that has a large amount that i recieved after a relative passed away 2 years ago, im hoping to use it to buy a house next year - well maybe half a house . :fingerscrossed:
Bubs'n'Roses
17-02-2010, 13:12
We've got about $1200 in the bank, but I forbid DP to touch it. I get paid next Wed and he gets paid again next month. We've only just figured out how to get month to month (my fortnightly payments are for savings mostly).
Our plan is to one day be the people who worry when the bank balance hits $8000. That'd be awesome.
I think there's about $100 in my account, a bit to scared to look :laughing:
I get where ur friend is coming from though, its savings and a safety net, something u shouldnt touch and if u do its hard to replace. I had $10,000 even in my savings account last year and hated to see it drop or be touched, coz its hard to replace once its gone (obviously, coz now i have none LMAO)
Mum has about $50,000 in a do not touch account, plus other savings accounts for bills or holidays etc. She would feel the same and stressed if it was to drop
Bambibambino
17-02-2010, 13:43
In our everyday account about $1000 but in our "not to be touched" account about $15,000. We started scrimping and saving and depositing in it while I was pregnant so we had a good buffer for when I became a SAHM. The thought of spending any of it makes me feel ill, it's my safety net.
In my wallet... about $0.40
Money I have access to that is NOT being used for bills, car rego, rent, kindy, anything else....
about $2500... that's around $2000 in a savings account... and about $500 in other savings.
BUT.. we have zero debt, nothing that needs to be paid, are stocked up in the cupboards till payday on Monday.
We did have more than that about $9000... but lots of things have broken since we moved out here. :no:
Our everyday account is about $25,000.
But honestly, it's not from hard earned savings.
Some is... and some is the remainder of my grandad's inheritence and DH also sold his pride and joy (car).
DH is on good wages though and I am somewhat too for a 3 day a week job.
I'm a stress head with money. Esp since we have a mortgage and the car repayments. I'd die if we couldn't pay the mortgage.
But I also like to splurge every now and then, and then I feel guilty afterwards.
I think you should add a private poll.
We have over $8k in accessible savings and I am concerned that our balance is below what it should be.
It's not stress, it's just being concerned. We have a goal as your friend likely does, and when you're not meeting the requirements to achieve your goal it is worth being concerned about.
Poppetfish
17-02-2010, 13:56
I have 16 bucks in my purse and 2 bucks in the bank.
I dont know what DH has as we have separate accounts.
It was pay day last night and DF paid all the bills etc but hasn't had time to spend anything else so I'm guessing in DF and my shared account (where his pay goes) there is about $400 (how much is usually left after clearing bills/rent etc)
Pay day today, bills are paid and we now have just under $400 left and i'm sure it won't last, something always comes up, i worry if i can't get hold of the inlaws they are my saviour!
My IL's are our saviours too! :o Last week we had a really bad money week (a non-pay week since DF is on fortnightly pay) and we actually put them on our meal planner! Saturday dinner: M&K's (plus take home doggy bag for Sunday dinner) :laughing:
I'm really, incredibly thankful for my Mum who has just saved us $300 by offering to pay for our dog to get spayed! As it was we were looking at putting $100 aside each pay (what's normally our energency food or surprise bill money) for the operation and it would have taken us 6 weeks to have enough... provided nothing went wrong!
We don't always rely on the generosity of our family, but it is always a wonderful gift when they offer to pay for dinner or something bigger! :goodvibes:
sandy_1902
17-02-2010, 14:08
savings nothing
wallet nothing
bank - 11 cents.
(till next tuesday)
partner - not sue.. probably not alot.
i would really love some of these bank balances
GabberQueeN83
17-02-2010, 14:08
$298:laughing::D I'm rich!!!!
~BEXTER~
17-02-2010, 14:10
I have about $40- then i get paid on Friday so will add another $100 to that.
But I need to buy food and textbooks.
CrankyAndTired
17-02-2010, 14:11
A fair bit.. but with DH retired we have to "survive" off that until our next dividend.
I will just say "not much"...:laughing: I is a bit embarrassed about it, it's definitely on the lower end of the the scale of bank balances here though. I will have enough to buy that Weiss Bar I've been hankering though, as well as a small jar of nutella.
CookiesRYum
17-02-2010, 14:21
In my bank $1100 - got paid yesterday but $1000 goes on the mortgage tomorrow .. so $100
DH bank - nothing
Cash - maybe $450
In my purse - $30
I don't get paid for another fortnight and DH will get paid next week. I just had rego to pay and put it on my credit card until DH gets paid for some of the cash jobs he has done.
We really need to budget better because there is now $7,500 on our credit card and I want it gone.
I feel comfy when I have paid all our bills for the fortnight including a couple hundred off CC, food, petrol etc and we have a spare $200-$300. (seems to happen one month adn then the next month your hanging out for cash)
FiveInTheBed
17-02-2010, 14:23
in my wallet there are a handful of coins.
In our 'bills account' there is enough for me to do the next months worth of grocery shopping and pay monthly bills.
In another account (not accessible by keycard) is enough for me to pay our home loan and insurances including home&contents, car, landlords, health.
and also a few thousand for us to do our renos(that was borrowed when we got our home loan - so kinda technically isn't ours)
The kids have a couple of thousand in their accounts - this is from their baby bonus and is used for clothes, shoes, presents, furniture, emergencies etc.
And for the first time iin a looong time our credit card is nil.
Even though it sounds like there is alot there - our budget is VERY tight - and everything that comes in pretty much is spoken for with a bill or due payment.
The kids accounts are there because we don't have enough left over from DPs monthly pay to buy the things I mentioned.
and the amount I get as FTB gets spent on the kids one day at child care.
We have about $1000 in our daily account and a fair bit in 'do not touch account'. That DNT account is our safety net that I no longer work and DH is a contractor. We are also saving for a house.
Monster & Boof
17-02-2010, 14:35
Umm we have 6000 but that's for furniture our normal account will have about $1500 in it and I have $7900 in cash but 6700 of that is going in to pay off a loan this week the rest is going into our normal account to get it back up as we normally don't let it get below $1000.
My bank account has maybe $40 in it as I just spent $700 today paying off my pram and putting a car seat on layby for ds and buying a baby shower pressie for a girlfriend, were not struggling atm but in saying that there has been many times where we have not had much at all but we've scraped through
Mum2Mimi
17-02-2010, 14:41
in my acc i have 2400,i usually never let it go below 2500 as its like a safety net incase of emergencys,and in my wallet i have 400 and 9bucks in coins,bills are paid and thats what i have left after groceries but will prob have to buy more food and petrol throughout the week
Dp has 80 in his wallet and 5742 in his everyday acc
And in our joint savings fixed term deposit that we cant touch for next 6months or the bank charges us for taking money out and we loose interest we have 68thousand, 3 months ago we had 126thousand in it but we took money out to buy the territory just before christmas and a new lounge and dining suite plus we traveled from perth to adeliade,then adelaide to sydney and then sydney to perth and jase had 8weeks off work so we were livng off the money and dp did a few tickets for excuvator and a few other things which cost 6grand all up and the tickets arent even valid in wa now so it was a wste
I think you should add a private poll.
I agree! We have 'quite a bit' in the bank :yes: as for my wallet $46.45
Mum2Mimi
17-02-2010, 15:03
yea agree,do a poll
we have 50.45 in our account til friday when dp gets paid. i got paid yesterday, but we do have food in the house and rent paid, the only things we may need by then is bread we need it today, and milk possibly. so this week is a pretty good week for us considering what we have had to catch up on lately, just before christmas we owed 5000 and my dp had no job for a couple of weeks so we are still recovering after that. its depressing for me because before i fell pregnant and quit my job (medicly required) i had 8000 in a savings account and was putting away 200 a week and always ahead with bills now we struggle week to week, but i wouldnt change it to much, id love to not have to stress about weather we can affored to eat or pay bills but i have scence realised having no money isnt the end of the world, and pasta goes along way.lol.
we will struggle on one income until the time comes that we decide we have enough kids and they are in school. we both would rather be money poor but rich in life. even tho at times i already think id much rather be working then dealing with the dirty nappies and tantrums.
ok so its official i can make a novel out of any question. lol
Myztiks#1Fan
17-02-2010, 15:12
atm, i have $36 to my name and i got paid today. cant wait til i get paid again on friday
We are up to our eye balls in debt and I have $0.15 in my wallet $0 in my bank $26 available on my credit card and DP has $310.
But our rent just bounced because $50 of account fees were taken out so now we owe $350 to the real estate... ARGH!
Finances suck at the moment. I so have to organise changing bank...
Ffrenchknickers
17-02-2010, 15:17
We have $2 in the everyday account until tomorrow....But I could access about $3K in a hurry if we really needed it.
TeamAwesome
17-02-2010, 15:19
handful of coins in my wallet.
in every day account - enough for groceries and my Zofran so I can eat some of said groceries.
savings less than $500 - was looking really healthy until I lost bub last year and Dh had to take to time off. We kind of caught up again at Christmas but things kept coming up since then and I've been really sick combined with bad weather for DH's work = not very much savings and some weeks more being spent then what comes in due to things like mortgage, rates, car rego, electricity and gas, school related and my expensive meds. Not to mention my kids all have big appetites and I do on and offas well.
TacoFest
17-02-2010, 15:23
We have 5 figures in our bank account but we are saving to buy another block of land
In my wallet about $25-$30.
In my everyday account about $200 (will be getting paid about $700 on friday, then about $300 on monday)
In my savings account about $3000.
In my DDs account (that i dont touch - I deposit only, no withdrawals) about $900, i think.
Fuchsia!
17-02-2010, 15:29
I got paid today and i now have $40 to last me the week. Which it won't.
Im sick of worrying about bills and money. My whole life is consumed of how im going to pay the next bill. I got my electricity bill yesterday and my phone bill and i have absolutely no way of paying it. Im not sure if they cut the power off these days, but i think its going to happen.
MothersMilk
17-02-2010, 15:37
In my purse about $30.
In savings i'd rather not say but will say it is 5 figures but really not enough - it would help us in a smaller emergency but in a major emergency i don't think it would go very far.
*babygirl*
17-02-2010, 15:41
I have $0.02 in my account and 5c in my wallet but Im not worried as I have a full tank of petrol and a full pantry and fridge, I get paid next Tuesday. :)
dp on the other hand had about $8000 saved for our house deposit (13,000) so we are well on the way and that doesn't include the first home owners grant, term deposits (15,000) and other amounts we have tied into our dream home :) he is very good with money, although it helps that we both live with our parents so don't have to save plus rent... We're trying to be smarter with money and our time to get where we want to be by the end of the year!!
waterlily
17-02-2010, 15:43
We have a $3000 safety net that we try not to touch. And $1000 in our spending account.
bubbies4me
17-02-2010, 15:44
i have $2.50 in the back acc, $800 in joint acc for rent next week. DH got paid today so this morning he had $1200 but now i guess its around $300.
I too hate living week to week, might have to think about going back to work.
17-02-2010, 15:48
Not exactly sure. About $1500 or there abouts in the joint account. $60 in my account and $800 at home.
MMM about 550 but thats gotta pay rent (250) and by the weeks groceries plus fuel for 2 cars
8.78 till next Wednesday and hardly any food in the fridge/pantry.:party:
luv2shop
17-02-2010, 15:53
we have savings and we live comfortably enough but I guess when the balance goes low regardless of whats in our account we all stress a bit....but we also have set up trust funds for the kids so when they graduate high school and should they wish to go to uni,buy a car or house, it gives them a headstart.
But we also wanted to make sure our kids were taken care of financially aswell should anything happen to us so we will never touch what we have set up for them.
I just use the cc and the accountant handles everything else so if im in the red i'll hear abt it from dh!
goldencrumble
17-02-2010, 16:09
All our money is combined so currently DH and I have $4200 in the bank to last the next 4 weeks which we need to take our food, petrol, mortgage plus everyday living. We have about $150 in cash on us.
We have about $7000 in savings account.
We live pretty comfortably, but am trying to reign in some of our spending to save more for when we are pregnant so I can stay home for a year without working with no money hassles.
crazymuma
17-02-2010, 16:17
I got paid today and i now have $40 to last me the week. Which it won't.
Im sick of worrying about bills and money. My whole life is consumed of how im going to pay the next bill. I got my electricity bill yesterday and my phone bill and i have absolutely no way of paying it. Im not sure if they cut the power off these days, but i think its going to happen.
I have the same problem at the moment.
The phone sucks but ergon usually let you keep extending your bill as long as you are paying something off every week - just ring them before its late.
Fuchsia!
17-02-2010, 16:20
Yeah im paying it off weekly but its not covering it and when the next bill comes its even higher. Its about $650 at the moment!
we have a negative balance atm... I'll leave it there
Guest1234
17-02-2010, 16:30
I personally have $5,000. I won't say how much we have in the other account because 1) I don't know exactly (I don't manage it) and 2) It's a lot.
We don't stress much about money, but we do have things we can fall back onto should we absolutely need to.
cluckcluckcluck
17-02-2010, 16:35
Together, DP and I have about $8-9,000 and a further $5,000 we could put on credit cards if an emergency called for it.
We are saving at the moment (probably for a holiday), if you had asked me 6 months ago it wouldve been like $1000, if that.
We are both students and work as much as possible in part time jobs, don't get centrelink and my parents support us a bit too. Once uni goes back and we have to work less, we will probably have to start dipping into our savings to live. Which is a shame!
Slapmyelbow
17-02-2010, 16:46
I have $4000 sitting in a savings account but i cant claim any saving skills as it is all baby bonus. In my personal account I have about $200 and sadly enough i get an allowance off my DF to spend each week which will bring it up to about $340 on Friday.
Not that i spend it all but things come up. PRescriptions, fuel, cute baby things that my duaghter just cant live without :o
I have a balance I am comfortable with.