View Full Version : Drowning in nappies

waterlily
15-02-2010, 06:43
I have nappies coming out my ears atm and it's been making me dream of the council having a nappy bin you can pay extra for in your rates or Maybe un upfront fee if renting ect. What do you think?
I don't have much rubish as I recylce everything but my bins still full in less than a week!!! Argh!!! I only have one baby, I feel sorry for thoes with 2+ in nappies.

***UPDATE***
I called the council a aparently we only have a single unit bin not one big enough for a family. Problem solved. ATM I can only fit one full garbage bag in my bin. Looking forward to our new one.

Myztiks#1Fan
15-02-2010, 06:46
yes, gotta love the nappies filling the bin up before anything else can go in. so glad we dont do nappies here anymore, its such a relief. it will get better when you wont use as many nappies when they get older.

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 09:01
We have two in nappies but don't have this issue because they are in MCNs. It is for this exact reason that I can't understand why anyone would use disposables. They cost the earth (literally) and the amount of waste is astonishing.

If you are considering paying for an extra bin, why not consider cloth? It's easy, convenient, cheap, funky and your problem will be solved immediately!

I sometimes think that councils should start refusing to take nappies at all and then people would be forced to find an alternative.

caspar
15-02-2010, 09:01
Casey council in Victoria did a trial a while ago of supplying nappy bins and recycling them in some way. I can't remember all the details or what the outcome was but maybe someone else knows??

We love modern cloth nappies, no full bin here.

SimplyMum
15-02-2010, 09:05
Our local government is just at the moment, reseraching ways to better accomodate those with kids in nappies.

embryonichappyperson
15-02-2010, 09:11
Maybe ring up your council and ask how much for a extra bin? I use cloth nappies with DS2 but I remember the bin filling up at a ridiculous rate when I had DS1 in disposables and the smell of nappies fermenting in the bin till collection day was pretty bad. I nearly fainted from the smell every time I opened the lid lol.

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 09:14
The councils really should do more as it's against the law to put poo in bins.

waterlily
15-02-2010, 09:30
I'm not one for cloth nappies sorry guys. It grosses me out! And it's hard enough keeping ontop of our washing as it is let alone adding yucky nappies. Ive been thinking of getting the new 100% biodegradable ones has anyone tried them?

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 09:36
Yep if we ever use disposables that's what we use. They're good.

embryonichappyperson
15-02-2010, 09:36
I'm not one for cloth nappies sorry guys. It grosses me out! And it's hard enough keeping ontop of our washing as it is let alone adding yucky nappies. Ive been thinking of getting the new 100% biodegradable ones has anyone tried them?
That's cool, I don't actually suggest to people to use cloth nappies unless they directly ask me lol. I got given some biodegradable ones before I had DS2 and I used them in hospital and honestly I really don't see the point they are still a disposable nappy in the end, they just *apparently* break down more easier.

All I can think you do is really tighten your nappies up in to little balls before putting them in the bin OR like I suggested above ring up your council and ask how much for a extra bin etc.

Blueberry Crumble
15-02-2010, 10:14
I use sposies full time, and change her when needed and my bin is never full of sposies at the end of the week I never actually notice it! Maybe wrap them in tighter balls? Or you could sneak around putting them in other peoples bins? LOL, sorry no suggestions here.

lilli
15-02-2010, 10:19
I think you actually can pay for a second bin from council. I know we can in our area.

I'm another MCN user... Perhaps I should sell sposie users space in my bin as it's next to empty!

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 10:27
I used towelling squares myself lol.

With disposable nappies, as someone mentioned, it's actually illegal to put poo in the bins so what you're meant to do is empty them into the loo first. So given that, I really don't see the difference with "yuckiness" between cloth and disposable :confused:

waterlily
15-02-2010, 10:32
I used towelling squares myself lol.

With disposable nappies, as someone mentioned, it's actually illegal to put poo in the bins so what you're meant to do is empty them into the loo first. So given that, I really don't see the difference with "yuckiness" between cloth and disposable :confused:

Hahah I don't think they are going to unwrap each nappy and check for poo. ;) yucko.
I callEd the council and aparently we have the wrong size bin we have a unit size one. So yay no wonder it was so small. Hehe.

pinkandblue
15-02-2010, 10:33
I don't have much rubish as I recylce everything but my bins still full in less than a week!!! Argh!!! I only have one baby, I feel sorry for thoes with 2+ in nappies.

When I had 2 in nappies my bins were never overflowing. How many nappies are you using a day?

So given that, I really don't see the difference with "yuckiness" between cloth and disposable :confused:

I didnt use cloth nappies because the thought of poo on the nappy, going into the washing machine with my other clothes, yuk!

myhusbandswife
15-02-2010, 10:35
we live in penrith city council and they have just changed our bins to smaller bins and only collect once a fortnight!

However we have contacted the council and can get a bigger bin collected weekly for $50 per year.

Dont worry OP I dont have the time for cloth either I struggle to keep on top of normal washing

Lilahh
15-02-2010, 10:37
You tip the poo into the toilet whether you use cloth OR sposies... right?? No-one actually just throws the poo into the bin???

We use cloth here, and cause Im a bit icky about the poo on my nappies I use flushable liners, so poo gets flushed and my nappies aren't covered.

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 10:44
You tip the poo into the toilet whether you use cloth OR sposies... right?? No-one actually just throws the poo into the bin???

We use cloth here, and cause Im a bit icky about the poo on my nappies I use flushable liners, so poo gets flushed and my nappies aren't covered.

I would have thought that too. No, I don't think they will open the nappies and check for poo, but surely it gets stinky. I don't know, all the poo here went in the loo and not in the wash and not in the bin. I used flushable liners when out and about, but washable liners at home and they were just emptied into the bin then washed out before going in the machine. Easy as.

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 10:48
Yep we use biodegradable liners, too. So no poo in the washing machine. It's actually easy if people are interested in doing a bit of research about it. I think if there was better education about MODERN cloth nappies a lot of people would be far less intimidated / grossed out by them.

15-02-2010, 10:58
After this packet of nappies finish of Skye's she is out of nappies for good (she only wears them overnight and during nap time) I'm sick of paying heaps for them.

lilli
15-02-2010, 11:03
I think if there was better education about MODERN cloth nappies a lot of people would be far less intimidated / grossed out by them.

I totally agree. I'm a MCN user and I hate poo... Urgh, I can't even pick up dog poo without gagging, that's DH's job. I don't deal with baby poo anymore than a disposable user does, that's how easy the modern cloth nappies are.

Anyway, I'm probably in trouble for getting slightly off topic...

myhusbandswife
15-02-2010, 11:08
The poo isnt my issue at all. Its the time. I would love to have the time to even keep on top of the washing I already have!!

Blueberry Crumble
15-02-2010, 11:08
Yes, modern cloth nappies can be easier. I used them with my son for almost 2 years, I had heaps. But to tell you the truth when you are REALLY busy every single day, it IS more work... I ended up going back to disposables. Yes, they are expensive, but like anything you pay for the convenience.

waterlily
15-02-2010, 11:12
The poo isnt my issue at all. Its the time. I would love to have the time to even keep on top of the washing I already have!!

Yep same here!!!!

Teegzie
15-02-2010, 11:14
I callEd the council and aparently we have the wrong size bin we have a unit size one. So yay no wonder it was so small. Hehe.

Hopefully once you get the bigger sized bin it will make things easier for you! :fingerscrossed: My parents have one of the smaller sized rubbish bins that's only collected once a fortnight and it is a nightmare for them... and it's only the 2 of them and they don't have that much rubbish!

All I can think you do is really tighten your nappies up in to little balls before putting them in the bin

That's what I do with DD's nappies. I shake poo into the toilet, then squash the nappy up as much as I can and seal it with the flaps so all the smell is contained.

It's worth noting that it is not illegal to put pooey nappies in the bin in all areas, it varies from council to council. And most councils that have the "no dumping raw sewerage" rule/law have an exception when it comes to baby nappies. If you are concerned ring your local council and find out what applies in your area.

Personally I prefer modern cloth nappies, but DD can't wear them, and can only wear certain brands of sposies, because she breaks out in a horrible raw rash otherwise. So I'm not going to feel bad about using something that is better for DD's health, even if it is worse for the enviroment! :no:

UmmInayah
15-02-2010, 11:18

i think i would spend an extra 1 hour a week tending to my cloth nappies.. so i don't think time is an issue with modern cloth nappies. it's not like they need to be soaked or anything. you just dump them and then every second day chuck them in the washer and put them on the line. i don't think i even consider it another load because there is hardly anything to hang out! and i usually make sure the little ones are in the sand, or on the swing/slide while i do my washing so i can tend to them

and i love to fold and put together my nappies again.. it's something i really really enjoy.. and i think a lot of clothies feel the same. not only that, my children LOVE to play with the nappies. it's almost like they look forward to me bringing them off the line as much as i do hahaha

but each to their own. i thought it would be really difficult getting into cloth, but it's so easy.

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 11:26
I don't feel like it takes me any extra time, and I have two children under the age of two in cloth nappies.

I am washing anyway, so it makes no difference.

And to be honest, after using them for nearly 19 months now, I STILL get satisfaction out of washing them and putting them away. I feel the same about washing and putting my kids' clothes away as well. I don't know why! I just enjoy it. Far more than I enjoy washing and putting my own clothes away!

That's what's great about modern cloth nappies - they really are as easy as disposables.

lilli
15-02-2010, 11:27
It takes me three minutes to pop them in the machine, four mins to hang them out & five mins to bring them in and snap them together. Most people spend far more time on bubhub!

IndigoJ
15-02-2010, 11:36
Yes, they are expensive, but like anything you pay for the convenience.

:no: No the earth and our future generations pay for the convienience.

I don't feel like it takes me any extra time, and I have two children under the age of two in cloth nappies.

I am washing anyway, so it makes no difference.

And to be honest, after using them for nearly 19 months now, I STILL get satisfaction out of washing them and putting them away. I feel the same about washing and putting my kids' clothes away as well. I don't know why! I just enjoy it. Far more than I enjoy washing and putting my own clothes away!

That's what's great about modern cloth nappies - they really are as easy as disposables.
:iagree: I love my MCNs, i wont go back to disposables.

It takes me three minutes to pop them in the machine, four mins to hang them out & five mins to bring them in and snap them together. Most people spend far more time on bubhub!:iagree::yelclap: Well said, and so true, i spend less time than that.

bumMum
15-02-2010, 11:45
The councils really should do more as it's against the law to put poo in bins.

really??

bumMum
15-02-2010, 11:47
im sorry OP I have no advice.. and I am just wondering.. you know those pads you can flush down the toilet? you can buy them in planet ark? how about them?

myhusbandswife
15-02-2010, 11:49
Im glad you find it so quick and easy. I really do! And honestly I really would if I could even get my husbands work clothes washed in time. The poor man sometimes has to hang them out in front of the fan overnight. My 12 week old DD has a hearing impairment and I spend alot of my time running her around to appointments for tests and resizing her hearing aids. And also taking her to early learning programs. And most of the time Im gone for the whole day. Now I know it sounds like im making excuses but Id rather spend that extra 10 minutes making sure my daughter is getting all the attention she needs to grow up with no learning difficulties. (Im actually writing this reply on my phone in a Doctors waiting room)

amnic
15-02-2010, 12:31
I'm not a mod, but i think this has gotten way off topic and turned into a sposies vs cloth debate, obviously the OP is a sposie user and is happy with that
to the OP glad to hear you've sorted your prob with a bigger bin :)

Blueberry Crumble
15-02-2010, 12:34
Every time somebody starts a thread about using disposable nappies it turns into this

IndigoJ
15-02-2010, 12:36
I'm not a mod, but i think this has gotten way off topic and turned into a sposies vs cloth debate, obviously the OP is a sposie user and is happy with that

Not off topic, just suggesting ways the OP could cut down on rubbish so her bin wouldnt be too full. ;)

embryonichappyperson
15-02-2010, 12:41
LOL wow I knew this would turn in to a debate ha ha! Glad you are getting a bigger bin OP. :D

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 12:55
Not off topic, just suggesting ways the OP could cut down on rubbish so her bin wouldnt be too full. ;)
Exactly. Legitimate answer to the OP's question. Besides, I would call this a discussion, not a debate.

waterlily
15-02-2010, 13:02

Thanks Hun. I think I'll steer clear of posting about sposie nappies. Hahah.
Btw I don't know many people that could cut all their rubish down to one gabage bag. I'll have no problems with the normal sized bin.
Thanks for all the posts. :)

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 13:15
It's the recycling bin we have trouble with. Same size as our other bin but is always full to the brim after a few days and it only gets collected once every two weeks. Annoying!

waterlily
15-02-2010, 13:21
Our recycling bins only collected fortnightly too bit it's huge. Twice the size of our rubish bin atleast!!!

MumtoD
15-02-2010, 20:19
We have a smaller bin - 80 litre maybe? And we never fill it. You must use a lot of nappies every day!!!

As for MCNs people that say they are as easy as disposables make me laugh. All you do is put disposables in the bin. MCNs you have to soak, wash and get dry.

V8
15-02-2010, 20:31
We have a smaller bin - 80 litre maybe? And we never fill it. You must use a lot of nappies every day!!!

As for MCNs people that say they are as easy as disposables make me laugh. All you do is put disposables in the bin. MCNs you have to soak, wash and get dry.

No you don't have to soak cloth nappies, you just put them in the bucket, no different from me putting a sposie in the bin, i just put it in the bucket in the laundry. It's not that much extra work at all.

kar
15-02-2010, 20:32
No soaking with mcns and I don't find an extra 2 loads of washng per week a massive price to pay for not contributing a full bin of nappies each week to landfill. Not to mention the stench by bin day.
They may not b. As easy as disposables, but the feeling of smug superiority is well worth it!

embryonichappyperson
15-02-2010, 20:35
The only type of cloth nappy you can soak is a terry flat. :D

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 20:52
The only type of cloth nappy you can soak is a terry flat. :D

Even that's optional ;)

CazHazKidz
15-02-2010, 20:57
gawd you MCN girls make me feel so guilty

I'm just so freakin lazy, I just don't think I can do it :no:

mim1
15-02-2010, 21:19
Sorry, but glad we used disposibles. Getting laundry done each week is a huge challenge, adding 2 loads to the washing each week, well that would have been near impossible, especially after I went back to full time work. I understand the concept and I think it's a great idea in theory, but with a ds who did 8 - 10 poo's a day til he was 15 months or more mcn's would have been an almighty challenge. Glad my ds is now toilet trained!

Bellini
15-02-2010, 21:26
I have nappies coming out my ears atm and it's been making me dream of the council having a nappy bin you can pay extra for in your rates or Maybe un upfront fee if renting ect. What do you think?

I'm glad you found a solution, however I think that sposie users should have to pay extra fees to have nappies dumped.

I've just read through this whole thread, and i'm loving the amount of people who bag out MCN's without trying them first :rolleyes:. What on earth would all of you have done in the old days when there was no other option?!

Blueberry Crumble
15-02-2010, 21:31
I'm glad you found a solution, however I think that sposie users should have to pay extra fees to have nappies dumped.

I've just read through this whole thread, and i'm loving the amount of people who bag out MCN's without trying them first :rolleyes:. What on earth would all of you have done in the old days when there was no other option?!

I bagged them out and I tried them first :D

Meh, they have their place

IndigoJ
15-02-2010, 21:39

:confused::confused: Didnt you start a thread the other day saying you wanted to use cloth?? Why bag them out then?

I dont soak my MCNs, i take them off bub put them in a bucket then wash twice a week (4min max), then i hang them (10min max) then i snap them (15min max), so an extra 30min a week, AND i save myself almost $5000 for two kids. Whos laughing??

amnic
15-02-2010, 21:44
What on earth would all of you have done in the old days when there was no other option?!

Thankgod there has been another option for over 40 years! ... the world was a very different place 40 years ago

I use sposies because that's the choice I've made, just as the MCN people use them because that's the choice they've made.. I'm not bagging anyone elses choice just as I don't expect to be bagged for my choice :D

embryonichappyperson
15-02-2010, 21:48
Even that's optional ;)
Well I don't soak mine :P

If anyone on here thinks stuffing or snapping a nappy together is slow try folding 20 odd terry flats after a load has dried. I think I have the art of folding that amount down to 15min now, I use the same fold all the time so I do it without having to think it out anymore lol.

Putting the boosters back in to a MM nappy really gives me the ****s for some reason.

myhusbandswife
15-02-2010, 21:49
I was never baggin MCN users and it didnt seem like anyone else was either. It actually seems the other way around...

Bellini
15-02-2010, 22:12
Thankgod there has been another option for over 40 years! ... the world was a very different place 40 years ago

You're right, the world was different 40 years ago. It was much healthier because it wasn't being filled with disposable cr*p :)

*Cj*
15-02-2010, 22:17
Sorry, but glad we used disposibles. Getting laundry done each week is a huge challenge, adding 2 loads to the washing each week, well that would have been near impossible, especially after I went back to full time work. I understand the concept and I think it's a great idea in theory, but with a ds who did 8 - 10 poo's a day til he was 15 months or more mcn's would have been an almighty challenge. Glad my ds is now toilet trained!

:iagree: I tryed some Mcn DS got really bad nappy rash. (I'm glad I borrowed them).

He can have up too 20 pooy nappy's a day. :thumbsdown:

I love using disposables.

I think it's great that people use mcn :thumbsup:, less nappy's in landfill. It's just not for me.

Will be looking at geting some mc Pads soon.

I don't fine that I use that much space in the bin using disposables.

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 22:18
The very first disposable nappies ever used are still in landfill.

Even the biodegradable type are only biodegradable if the contents is emptied and the stuff pulled out of them and buried in the dirt. Is that easier than cloth?

kar
15-02-2010, 22:23
Cj, I'm not being a smart **** here, have you had bubs checked out? 20 pooy naps would surely indicate a problem?

UmmInayah
15-02-2010, 22:24
disposables are disgusting.

after using mcns, i could never go back to that gel crap. ugh.. makes me cringe just thinking about it.. soft and gooey.. :barf:

mcns all the way. i think it's really sad that people are filling their bins with disposables and it appears as though no one cares that they aren't biodegrading.. and they're worried about the "time" and "effort" required in putting a few things in the washing machine. i think we have it so easy now - back when there were no washing machines and disposables everything was washed BY HAND and yet people still managed to bring up children.

we're stuffing up our environment, and i don't mean for this to sound mean, but if your bin is full of stuff that isn't going to biodegrade, maybe you should make the effort in looking after the environment for the sake of your children and at least consider cloth part time.

Sheer Bliss
15-02-2010, 22:25
OP - glad you are getting a bigger bin! BUT....if you roll them up nice and tght they will take up less room in your bin. To get a soiled nappy nice and tight, you need to discard the excess poo into the toilet (which it actually tells you to do on the packet). It's not just the issue of the council looking and you getting in trouble, it's more that it seeps out of the nappy and gets into the soil, gets into everything and anyone nearby. Human waste needs to be carefully treated to avoid disease and contamination. Remeber that it is somebodies, husband, brother, wife or sister working at the garbage dump who could become sick because you are grossed out by poo and can't follow the law (in most areas, not all) by disposing of human waste in the loo and not in a garbage.

Oh and BTW.....I had newborn twins and a 2yo in cloth for almost a year! :p When you are washing for 4 kids....whats an extra load of nappies here or there. :D

BitterSweet
15-02-2010, 22:26
Wow someone asks about a overflowing bin and people turn this into a debate over cloth vs disposable.

:chillpill:

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 22:39
Well, the time that it would take me to go out and buy disposables, plus the money they cost, plus the wrapping and putting them in the bin, plus taking the bags out to the big bin - yeah, I'd say that disposables take up just as much time as MCNs. And all of those things don't take very long to do, which is the point. I reckon I spend about an extra 20 - 30 minutes a week (at the most) on nappies.

Plus, I've paid for them, and I never have to spend any money again. In fact, the only money that will be related to my MCNs now is the money I get back when I on-sell them once we're done.

My son does about 15 - 20 poos a day. It SUCKS!! He has lactose overload and whilst it's getting better, he still poos three to four times in a two-hour period. Sometimes more. This is why I love flushable, disposable liners. Just chuck `em down the loo, no poo in the bin and voila! Done. And I'm not going through 20 disposables a day.

Completely agree

Agree again. I have no problem trying to educate people about MCNs. Even if it does seem a bit pushy. The fact is, if people who are trying to do the right thing by the environment didn't harass people who aren't (just a little bit of harassment) nothing would ever change and nothing would ever improve.

It's the same with anything. You have to BE the change you want to see in the world, as the old saying goes, and if that means annoying some people with an important message sometimes, then so be it.

I take full responsibility for changing the minds of MANY people who now use MCNs when they didn't before. If I never opened my mouth then there'd be a whole lot more disposable nappies in landfill because of those people whose minds I've now changed.

I am proud of it, I'm proud of my efforts and I will continue to try to recruit people to the cause with no apologies for doing so. I feel strongly about this issue and I think it's important enough to try, try and try some more.

*Cj*
15-02-2010, 22:40
Cj, I'm not being a smart **** here, have you had bubs checked out? 20 pooy naps would surely indicate a problem?

:laughing: no your not a smart *ss :laughing:

Yes he has got a problem. His lactose intolerant and all so fruit intolerant. But this is were it is getting really hard. His getting constipated.

I can't win give him fruit have upto 20 pooy nappy's. Don't give fruit and have him pusing for two hours crying for the whole time. :hair:
we are Waiting for the Dr to work it all out.

*Cj*
15-02-2010, 22:44
mcns all the way. i think it's really sad that people are filling their bins with disposables and it appears as though no one cares that they aren't biodegrading.. .

Oh I care. But I care more about my son not being in PAIN becasue of nappy rash.

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 22:46
Oh you poor love. Nappy rash is AWFUL. DD has had it terribly in the past, too - funnily enough, only when we've used disposables. It's all the chemicals against her skin, baby's bums are just too sensitive.

I'm sorry your son is going through this - it's really hard when they have tummy issues. My son does too, and it breaks my heart to see him struggling. I hope he grows out of it soon.

UmmInayah
15-02-2010, 22:51
Oh I care. But I care more about my son not being in PAIN becasue of nappy rash.

yeah, nappy rash is the pits.

but really, i didn't care that i was using disposables to begin with either. i mean, it didn't occur to me until i realised how much of it i was actually throwing out.. and then i started noticing the chemical smell in them and knew that they can't be good for us.. so that's why i switched.

but honestly, filling a whole bin full of nappies?? that's just gross.

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 22:58

Oh yeah gotta take that into account. DD was always allergic to the disposable ones and I'm allergic to the scented wipes. We use gloves in childcare but there have been times where I've grabbed a wipe to get sand off hands before sending kids to the loo and have come out in blisters on my hands from that. You have to do what you have to do when it's about reactions.

*Cj*
15-02-2010, 22:59
I fine it really funny when it come's to bub's and nappy's of any sort. Some can wear disposables, then some can't wear them. Then some bub's can wear mcn, then you have bub's which can't. It's :confused:

I had a cousin who was in mcn his poor bum was bleeding his nappy rash was bad really bad. His mum still would not try disposables becuase they go in landfill. He end up in hospital. The hospital made her use disposables she was crying over it.

I was not ending up like her. I would not have my son in that much pain all over nappy's going into landfill.

IndigoJ
15-02-2010, 23:17
I fine it really funny when it come's to bub's and nappy's of any sort. Some can wear disposables, then some can't wear them. Then some bub's can wear mcn, then you have bub's which can't. It's :confused:

I had a cousin who was in mcn his poor bum was bleeding his nappy rash was bad really bad. His mum still would not try disposables becuase they go in landfill. He end up in hospital. The hospital made her use disposables she was crying over it.

I was not ending up like her. I would not have my son in that much pain all over nappy's going into landfill.

For most babies with nappy rash in MCN a silk liner or bamboo velour inner is enough to stop the rash as it is a natural fibre.

DS only gets rashes in sposies now.

AandKsmummy
15-02-2010, 23:21
DS only gets rashes in sposies now.

Same here with DD, so many people are very judgmental with MCN.

CazHazKidz
15-02-2010, 23:24
Same here with DD, so many people are very judgmental with MCN.

I don't think people are judgmental of MCN's at all :no:

I'd say mostly sposie users are just sick of being judged by MCN users... rather than that they're judging the use of MCN's.

MummaBear03
15-02-2010, 23:30

Some people are bit funny with things aren't they. A rellie of mine had a planned homebirth that ended in an emergency c-section and a very premmie baby yet there were still people who kept telling her she should have stayed away from hospital and just not had a c-section :confused: it's just odd, risking the child's health over things. Having said that, though, not many have a reaction to nappies at all really. I haven't come across another person who's been allergic to wipes like I am :laughing:

BabelFish
15-02-2010, 23:30
Totally understandable cazzie - and you can put me in the group of judgemental mothers when it comes to disposables. I feel like sometimes you've gotta make people feel a bit bad to effect change.

It's easy to talk about respecting everyone's choices but I do believe that there are SOME things you should stand up and fight for, if you really believe in them. I DO think that using disposables is a poor choice. And so I always try to talk up the alternative. I make no apologies for that.

Of course, you have to go about it properly otherwise you'll just p!ss people off and you end up shooting yourself in the foot :laughing:

In real life I am a much nicer person than I am on here :devil:

MumtoD
16-02-2010, 06:18
:confused::confused: Didnt you start a thread the other day saying you wanted to use cloth?? Why bag them out then?

I dont soak my MCNs, i take them off bub put them in a bucket then wash twice a week (4min max), then i hang them (10min max) then i snap them (15min max), so an extra 30min a week, AND i save myself almost $5000 for two kids. Whos laughing??

I did - I tried them. They have their place but not in my house.

And regardless I would NEVER say they are easier than disposable because they arent. I cant even get clothes dry in winter without taking days hanging up or in the dryer so nappies would be the same.

waterlily
16-02-2010, 06:58
OP - glad you are getting a bigger bin! BUT....if you roll them up nice and tght they will take up less room in your bin. To get a soiled nappy nice and tight, you need to discard the excess poo into the toilet (which it actually tells you to do on the packet). It's not just the issue of the council looking and you getting in trouble, it's more that it seeps out of the nappy and gets into the soil, gets into everything and anyone nearby. Human waste needs to be carefully treated to avoid disease and contamination. Remeber that it is somebodies, husband, brother, wife or sister working at the garbage dump who could become sick because you are grossed out by poo and can't follow the law (in most areas, not all) by disposing of human waste in the loo and not in a garbage.

Oh and BTW.....I had newborn twins and a 2yo in cloth for almost a year! :p When you are washing for 4 kids....whats an extra load of nappies here or there. :D

thanks I already do this anyway.

I never want a debate and for some an argument about MCNs vs Sposies!!

I mean no offence but I don't think anyone has the right to preach about how they are better then sposie users because they help the enviroment by using MCNs. I'm sure lots of sposie users do things you may not to help the enviroment.
Unless your 100% green and live in the bush and don't use power or a car or chemicals or over use water ect you can't judge. EVERYONE does something that is killing our world and most people do SOMETHING that helps!!
I make my own cleaning products, recycle, Walk when I can instead of driving, I don't use palm oil, I go to clean up Australia day and more.

BabelFish
16-02-2010, 08:10
Nobody said they are 'better' people for using MCNs. I said that I make no apologies for trying to convert people to use them. And I don't.

Yeah there's lots of things you can do. I'm sure a lot of us do heaps of stuff to help out and do our bit. I don't see that that's relevant. There is always more you can do - always. There's certainly more I can do.

But if you have one child in disposables you are contributing 700kg - nearly a tonne - of unbiodegradable waste into landfill. Per child. Anyone who makes the choice not to do that is doIng something BIG and a lot of people don't know that.

This thread was started to find ideas on how to dispose of more than a whole bin full of disposables per week. Solution? Use cloth? No. Get a bigger bin? Yes. Sorry, but I don't buy that as being the best solution.

And frankly I think people tiptoe around too much when it comes to some things. I'd be happy to hear about more ways I can do better by the environment. At the end of the day, once this earth has gone we are too. I'm not prepared to leave that legacy for my children. And if that means being persistent with a message, well, the future of all our children is worth a bit of inconvenience, don't you think?

Lilahh
16-02-2010, 08:28
Nobody said they are 'better' people for using MCNs. I said that I make no apologies for trying to convert people to use them. And I don't.

Yeah there's lots of things you can do. I'm sure a lot of us do heaps of stuff to help out and do our bit. I don't see that that's relevant. There is always more you can do - always. There's certainly more I can do.

But if you have one child in disposables you are contributing 700kg - nearly a tonne - of unbiodegradable waste into landfill. Per child. Anyone who makes the choice not to do that is doIng something BIG and a lot of people don't know that.

This thread was started to find ideas on how to dispose of more than a whole bin full of disposables per week. Solution? Use cloth? No. Get a bigger bin? Yes. Sorry, but I don't buy that as being the best solution.

And frankly I think people tiptoe around too much when it comes to some things. I'd be happy to hear about more ways I can do better by the environment. At the end of the day, once this earth has gone we are too. I'm not prepared to leave that legacy for my children. And if that means being persistent with a message, well, the future of all our children is worth a bit of inconvenience, don't you think?

:yelclap::iagree::wave:

AandKsmummy
16-02-2010, 09:51

:yelclap: Thankyou! :yelclap:

embryonichappyperson
16-02-2010, 10:07
I don't think I'm a better person for using cloth nappies. I don't try to convert people over to cloth either. I choose to use cloth because disposables are to expensive, I don't want stinking nappies filling up my bin and fermenting in the sun and I really can't be bothered going out to the shops to buy nappies.

I only use old school terry flats and boring PUL covers. I didn't really get in to the whole spend $30 on a pretty nappy and the addiction of buying nappies in general. Also I really can't be bothered buying nappy after nappy to try on DS2. Terrys work and I will stick with them till his TT.