View Full Version : Working with a large family - do you?
Just wondering how many of you ladies with large families (or not) are working, and is it worthwhile? I am currently working 3 days a week and I feel like sometimes it is killing my family. Is it worth it? But then, on the other hand, there is my sanity to consider, as I dont think I could handle being a full time SAHM. A day of daycare would be a necessity, but then I would feel guilty putting them in if I am not working.....ah the dilemma.:rolleyes:
Anyway, just wanted to get some ideas on how other people cope with combining both? Financially, I think I am about $120 p/w better off working, but is it worth the running around and stress of getting 4 kids out of the house by 7.30 in the morning? Obviously if I didnt work we would be entitled to family tax and I wouldn't be paying out for daycare and OSHC.
I know that obviously having four kids is a full time job in itself, but does it sometimes send you batty not getting that break? I know I would probably have to put DS2 up for sale if I had to spend 24/7 with him...:laughing:
Thanks for the replies....trying to find that 'perfect' balance :p
ETA: By 'killing the family' I mean that I seem to be chasing my tail constantly - there is no time for one on one, homework is rushed, tea is a fighting zone as the kids are starving by the time it is ready (nearly 7pm), housework is on the back burner etc....or is this just 'normal' with a large family LOL
Its super tough! I'm a single mum of 5 and work on call. We seem to work as a team though. Over Christmas I worked too much so I think no more than 2 days a week would suit us.
I don't work.
I'm studying at the moment, so I receive JET childcare, so I only pay $1 a day per child in care. :eek: (it's insane, wish I studied earlier.. :rolleyes:)
and my DH is studying full-time too, a change of career after 15years working full time in QLD Health.. I think he's entitled to that, and he's decided that studying while the kids are little means he can be at home to help out more.
So at the moment.. we're solely living on Austudy/parenting payment/FTA/FTB....
If you're finding it too much for your family, reassess how much you work, even if you can just cut it back so you'll get more FTA to help out with childcare/outside school care fees..
Sometimes it's just about juggling the system for a while so you come out on top.
I'm looking forward to 2016.. that's when DH finishes his law degree, and we can finally go to work full-time, he in law and me as a primary teacher (Which is what I'm trained to do!).. until then I'll be working 2 days a week..because I've worked out that any more than that will effect childcare payments too much.
It's a juggle... just sit down with the centrelink calculator and vary the numbers a bit, try all the different income senarios and see which fits your family best.
I am a SHAM by choice.
It's hard, we are on one low income but we make do. For us it's more important for one of us to be home.
Thanks for your replies. Sorry for my delay - I have been at work :rolleyes:
I think I am going to re-assess the situation. It wasnt so bad previously, but now that we have moved house, it is taking me an hour and 20 min to get to work (inc all the OSHC/daycare drop offs) which is just crazy - we are all getting home way too late!
Have had a play with the family tax calculator, and quite honestly - I cant believe how much money the govt will give us if I stay home! I've never really checked it out fully before - I've always worked thinking I must be better off. Not so :no:
I will wait til end of financial year I think, and then look at being a SAHM! :thumbsup:
I hate mother guilt. You feel guilty if you work, that you have neglected your children, and feel guilty if you dont work, that you are unable to support them properly. :confused:
There's no reason to feel guilty about not working. I have no idea how you have managed this long. It sounds like your kids will have more time at home to relax, and dinner will be at a time before everyone is at each other's throats. Sounds like everyone will be better off. I hope it works out really well for you.
I am a SHAM by choice.
It's hard, we are on one low income but we make do. For us it's more important for one of us to be home.
same.
mumma sienna
19-02-2010, 14:21
just thought i would pop in and say.... i don't know how you manage work with that many children!!!! it is hard enough trying to get 1 up and ready and out to preschool and myself to work!!!
whatever choice you make... don't feel guilty, enjoy it!!! good luck!!!
sonlou73
21-02-2010, 14:31
You really are a supermum! I have a deep respect for working mum's.
I am a SAHM, I choose to be, makes life easier for our family and we receive a good FTB. But in saying that I do have a couple of hours a month on a Saturday where I work on the receptionist desk at my place of work prior to having bub #1, just to keep my foot in the door and for sanity!
Thanks for all the lovely things you have said, but I'm no Supermum - hey....it's all falling apart at the seams! :p I think to be a SAHM is a much harder thing to do without losing your sanity - I get to use my work as an excuse to having a messy house and not having the ironing done! :laughing:
Well, I went into work to resign, basically burst into tears (the stress is obviously VERY close to the surface :o) and my boss has reduced my hours for me, so now I will be doing 9 -2.30 one day, and 9.30 -3.30 the other two, rather than 9 - 4.30. Will see how it goes. Nice to know they want to hold on to me, and it is a good job, nice people etc, but will see how it goes.
We are in the process of building a new house, so for 'loan purposes' I need to wait until that is 'unconditionally approved' before I jump ship. I have discussed it with my DH and think I will see the year out, and then next year do the Kindy thing with DD2, and then the year after with DS2...and then look for a 'school hours' job once they are both at school - these are my last two babies so why waste it?
Let's just hope we can afford to pay off our mortgage on the new place...maybe I'll send DH out for a second job! :p
Thanks ladies for letting me empty my completely full headspace onto you!
Teena bop
14-03-2010, 14:09
I am a stay at home working mum of four. I hated the idea of working and not being home for my kids when they got home from school but wanted to give them more opportunities that sadly only money could help with so my hubby and I decided that I should do family day care.
I am here for my kids when they get home from school, still get most of the housework done during the day (mostly before fdc kidlets come and during rest time) but they love to help fold towels and wash windows etc.
And I make nearly the same amount as DH each fortnight so I think family day care has given me the best of both worlds.