View Full Version : Baby Wipes/Nappies

Mrs Dolphin
29-07-2006, 23:18

I am expecting my 1st child in December and I would like to start to buy just a few packets of baby wipes and nappies. Everytime I go to the shops though I am over awed with all the various brands of baby wipes and nappies available.

So are Huggies really best for nappies for a newborn? I am thinking of buying these to begin with (will also use cloth later too with just a few sposies') and then experiement with some other brands once I have had my bub.

Also, similar question with baby wipes - are huggies best or are the cheaper ones like the Woolworths Little Wishes etc just as good? I am thinking of again starting with the Huggies extra Sensitive wipes.

I would love some advice on all of the above!!

Many thanks in advance! :wave:

mum2littleman
29-07-2006, 23:23
hi, i started a thread awhile ago called cheap and just as good u might want to have a look in there we talk about heaps of baby nappies ect that are good in price and just as good as anyother nappy..

i always used huggies for DS as a new born now i use huggies, baby love{there great} and beebees{also really good} dont use snugglers no very many ppl like them at all i found them worse than a homebrand nappy. goodluck:wave:

the_queen
29-07-2006, 23:27
We use cloth :thumbsup: Muslin flannels make the best wipes IMO, but we usually just use the plain old terry flannels. Favourite nappies are Baby Beehinds. They fit from birth to self-toileting. I like the bamboo, because it's 400% more absorbent than cotton and he lasts all night in a bamboo nappy.

But, I did use sposie stuff for DD. Huggies are very expensive, and if bub doesn't have any skin sensitivities then why bother spending all that extra money?? IMO. I used home-brand nappies and wipes, and never had problems with her skin. We did use Huggies for the first few months, until she fit into the small size home-brand ones. If you are going to use sposie wipes, get the new Huggies pop-up box ones. Because while we do use cloth wipes at home now, I did use sposie wipes in the first few weeks. And the pop-up box makes it much easier. Of course, IMO the cloth wipes option makes it even easier!!! :D

Cheeky Little Monkey
29-07-2006, 23:27

I would recommend Little Wishes (to me they are very similar to the Huggies ones and stay moist) and if you buy in the large bulk box they work out to about $3.50 a pack. Aldi Mamia brand are also good.

At home I generally just use facewashers with plain water :thumbsup: they do the trick everytime. DH uses the commercial wipes as he refuses to use anything else.

Mumshmum
29-07-2006, 23:28
There used to be a brand called V.I.P and they were great nappies. A current affairs program ( or was it a magazine?) did some comparing, and they won on price and performance. After that I found it hard to find them again.

I used Huggies nappies and wipes and found them to be really good.

spring
30-07-2006, 17:59
The woolworths select nappies are really good for new borns because they are low at the front so they dont rub on the belly button. I didnt use them I used huggies & found they came up much too high & would stick to the gunky stuff it was only later when it didn't matter any more a friend mentioned it too me.

twinkles
30-07-2006, 18:07

I always have used huggies (or cloth) and found if I ever tried other brands - target, woolies, etc, that rashes and wet night ensued. If they are very little and the cord is a problem, you can always fold the nappy down at the top and then fasten it:) . I had the same problem too.

As for wipes, flannels at home and thick huggies when we're out, having said that though the new huggies ones are thinner in the 'new easy dispensers' and I'm not very impressed!

I hope all is well with your little one

Twinkles

30-07-2006, 18:10
i always use Huggies wipes and nappies.

One to stay very clear away from is Snugglers.. i find that they don't hold much at all. Ibought them once and found that i was changing the nappy every 1.5 hours because they leak straight through.. the next day i was back onto the Huggies. They are expensive but well worth it.

30-07-2006, 18:53
I use huggies and babylove nappies

and I use the huggies or johnson and johnson baby wipes

shanz
30-07-2006, 19:13
We use Woolies Select wipes but if we find huggies on special we get them. As for nappies....WE HAVE A HUGGIES MAN,Wont try snugglers as we heard lots of bad things and BABYLOVE arent absorbent enough!! I was changing DS every 1 1/2 hours and sometimes he would still wet through!!He is a human urination machine!!

Mrs Dolphin
30-07-2006, 19:18
Thanks for all the replies everyone and the great advice! :yelclap:

That is interesting what some say about the Woolworths Select brand - I did notice they were lower at the front but hadn't actually thought of them being more helpful with the cord etc. Maybe I will start with them then....

Sounds like the Huggies wipes are probably the way to go....and will definitely just be using them for when we are out...at home will use the face washer and water to save $$$ too!!

Thanks again for all your help!! :)

Areca
31-07-2006, 00:53
Just wanted to say don't buy too many of one brand of wipes. We had huggies wipes (thankfully only 2 boxes, only one we bought ourselves) and DD was allergic to them. We had someone buy us a pck of Johnson&Johnson and only cause I had them in the nappy bag and changed her when out without her crying did I make the connection. She went from having a bright red butt and crying in pain every time we changed her to stopping crying and the redness going out of her butt straight away. It was not a nappy rash, it was an allergic reaction. Huggies claim to have no alcohol in their wipes but with smelling the two huggies reek of alcohol. I never tried little wishes but dd reacted to the little wishes bath lotion (a baby shower gift)
As far as nappies, all sposies sucked on DD. They couldn't keep her poo's in no matter what. I was so sick of scrubbing and soaking her outfits, we changed to cloth AIO's and never looked back.
Now I always tell people to not stock up on nappies and wipes, put money aside for them instead until you know what will work.

Chumps
31-07-2006, 07:38
Definately don't go buying a lot of one type - nappies or wipes. As pp said, you might find unexpected reactions to products that claim to great! Also, everyone has their own personal views & preferences. For example I was under the impression that huggies wipes were the best because they are so thick. As it turns out. I found that the thickness was too awkward for me when wiping such a tiny bot :D . I can however (and I never hear of others recommending them) recommend the pigeon wipes. They are excellent & if you get them at the right place you can get 3x 80wipe packs for $10.

twins+another
31-07-2006, 09:21
I agree about the Huggies wipes. I find them too thick and therefore awkward to use. I buy the coles brand wipes in the bulk pack. You get 3 packs of 80 for $8.85.

subaruforestermum
31-07-2006, 09:32
dont use snugglers no very many ppl like them at all i found them worse than a homebrand nappy

I found snugglers are really thin, and dont work too well, a cheap brand I've found that is excellent is Woolworths select nappies, they are thick, and fit well. Other that that i only use Huggies...i found babylove nappies tend to leave little soft gel like balls from inside the nappy on bub, and it's hard to get rid of as so sticky..

As for wipes I only ever buy Huggies non-scented wipes in the 240 pack (better value), they are gentle enough to wipe their faces as well....the cheaper homebrand ones seem to have a strong soapy smell, like the detergent aisle in the supermarket, which i personally dont like...

Hope this has been of some help to you

Another product that is excellent is 'Amolin' calming baby wash. It has a nice subtle scent..Good luck

angelao1098
03-08-2006, 08:57
:wave: A little off the subject, but i just thought i would mention, before my DD was born i bought so many baby lotions, wipes, the big pump packs of the johnsons bedtime bath, and the milk bath, only to find DD has very sensitive skin, and couldnt use any of them :thumbsdown: .
So.. my advice would be, if you want to buy something for the bath, QV wash - It has no soaps, fragrance, etc and even my DD can use it. It smells nicer than just plain water also. With the wipes, get the ones for sensitive skin. And babies dont really need lotions anyway, but sorbolene is always good. Just thought i would mention it, because I wasted so much money on things we cant use. And even if your baby doesnt have sensitive skin, you will be able to use them all either way! :D

MumofMadd
03-08-2006, 09:48
I use huggies nappies on DS have tried others but haven't found anything nearly as good. I use Johnsons baby wipes in the pink packet as huggies wipes gave him a rash.

*~alegna~*
03-08-2006, 09:53
if you want to buy something for the bath, QV wash - It has no soaps, fragrance, etc

The QV Oil is fantastic aswell. My little boy was under the lights for 3 days which dried the poor little mite right out. All is use is that & he was back to normal within 2 days. Wonderful stuff, & yes is not so harsh on their litrtle skins.

You can also use in without water, just on damp cloth on the faces if they are a little dry in these winter months.

Back to subject...lol:laughing: i use HUggies as I find they are the best for Bubba, Snugglers seem to leek on me all the time. As for wipes, I like the Woolies "Wishes" Brand, I find them to be ok. Huggies wipes are too thick I think..

almond eyes
03-08-2006, 11:06
I use Huggies nappies and Huggies or Johnson& Johnson's sensitive unscented wipes. I do so only because I have many sensitivities and a lot of this could've been passed on to my DS so to be on the safe side...

If you have no strong family allergy history then most wipes should be fine. :)

03-08-2006, 11:20
Chris picked up Mamia wipes the other day when we ran out at a friends house. I love them! thicker than huggies, much cheaper ($3/80pack) and I just prefer them. :)

We use babylove nappies :) We were using mamia but they were heaps big on his little tooshie (the newborn ones at least)

dannii
03-08-2006, 11:38
i always buy huggies, i find they are the best! although sometimes i find theyre not as moist as others but theyre thick and good quality, same goes for their nappies, great quality nappies and dont like using any other brands.

Its a great idea stocking up while your pregnant, i did it with everything, plus i had friends and family doing the same for me.
i was surprised how quickly i went through it all though!

03-08-2006, 11:46
Ive always found huggies nappies & huggies wipes to be the best. Tried a few other nappy brands but wasnt happy at all due to leaks. The only other wipes brand i liked & used alot was johnsons :thumbsup:

garfield
05-08-2006, 01:06
yes, i love huggies nappies. But i prefer johnson's baby wipes, i found it much softer than huggies wipes. And also johnson's wipes is a little bit cheaper than huggies.

LucyE
05-08-2006, 21:24
We use cloth and on the occassions we did use disposables I found that DS had a bad reaction to disposable wipes. If you really want to stock before bub arrives, I'd recommend sticky taping (or storing in one place) the receipts to the box/pack so that if they don't work for you, you can at least return unopened packets back for a refund/exchange. That way you are minimising your risk of outlaying lots of $$$.

These days when we need to use disposables, I make my own wipes by cutting chux cloths in half and just wetting it with water. I usually store them dry and just wet them as needed with water but if I want to use a more luxurious solution (eg. chammomile tea etc) I store them in a Glad Ziplock bag which is nice and compact.

Natsmummy
05-08-2006, 21:47
I'm a big fan of Huggies nappies and Little Wishes wipes (which are available from Woolworths - these are just as thick and moist as the Huggies brand wipes and are cheaper!).

SassyMummy
06-08-2006, 00:09
I used to use Woolworths Select Nappies all the time.

The only reason I've changed is because DD has gotten fat...and one size doesn't fit, but the next size up is a little too large for her. So I've just switched to Huggies for a while.

I use Huggies wipes too...mainly because I like the container (even before it was a pop up lid)

gidgeroo
06-08-2006, 00:14
I've just started using cloth nappies and wipes but I am still using my stash of Aldi Mamia nappies and wipes when we are away from home for a long time - I have found them very good, cheap and reliable.

The only thing is that you need an Aldi nearby...