View Full Version : Jealous of the Well off and Honest enough to admit it.

Pax
05-02-2010, 17:42
Well... I am on a roll :laughing:

Luv ya Oleander... :skywriter:

I cant help but respect the honesty of some members and their ability to know themselves and what they want out of life.

I wish I had!

I often see so many quotes around the net saying 'dont have any regrets' well what a load of Crapola that is.

If i had stayed in school
If i had studied harder in a course
If i had the courage to put my kids in child care
If I had married more wisely the first time
If If If

I am honest enough to say I am jealous.. I wish I had money enough to fix my teeth.

i wish i had money enough to let my kids join whatever sport/leisure activity they wanted to do

i wish i had enough money to buy that instrument they want

i wish i could get my dog 'groomed' without worrying about what was for dinner

I am so jealous of the wealthier women that can do this without worrying about their next meal

I wish i could to.

I WANT MONEY..... and money is good! :D

1+1=5
05-02-2010, 17:43
why not do something about it?

Mrs Nietzsche
05-02-2010, 17:43
grass is always greener Morrigan, there are plenty of welloff women who would love 1 child, let alone 5 but can't due to infertility etc. (as an example)

Benji
05-02-2010, 17:46
grass is always greener Morrigan, there are plenty of welloff women who would love 1 child, let alone 5 but can't due to infertility etc. (as an example)

:iagree:

Alexander Beetle
05-02-2010, 17:47
Nope not jealous in the slightest.

Pax
05-02-2010, 17:48

nothing wrong with wanting it all baby!

so ..... rather than sit in jealous contemplation what the hell can a woman do with

a bad back that made me loose a job I wanted?

hubby said study psychology cause i am crazy enough to be one..

what do ya think
am i mad enough?:laughing:

Pax
05-02-2010, 17:49
Nope not jealous in the slightest.

after 20 years of poverty you might change your mind girl... but embrace it while you can...

it sux...

Benji
05-02-2010, 17:50
What's the point of wondering Morrigan? I'm happy with what I have. Rather than what I have not.

I'm in the same boat as you, have high medical fees etc but I would much much rather that than scraping coins out of the car like when I was a single SAHM to go and buy some milk..

Mair is right.. grass is always greener..

sam's mum
05-02-2010, 17:52
hmmm. when I was on mat leave I wished that I earnt less. It is easy to decide not to go back to work when you earn less.

When you earn a lot, it is hard to decide to stay home and give that money up.

Pippi Longstocking
05-02-2010, 17:52
Stuff sitting around being jealous for a joke. I'd much rather get out there and make it happen! I'm not spending my life sitting back pining for what others have, and I'd rather eat my own head than sit back and wait for someone else to give me what I want. I'm too busy getting out there and doing it myself to pay any attention at all to what others have.

Fuchsia!
05-02-2010, 17:53
No im not jealous at all. Having lots or money comes with a price i don't want to pay. Money doesn't buy happiness.

Of course i want to do things and of course i need money to do that. But i will do it the way i want to with morals and ethics.

Ana Gram
05-02-2010, 17:53
I have a lot of wishes, however i am not jealous of others who have made their wishes come true. I also don't want a ton of money, it's not that important to me.

1+1=5
05-02-2010, 17:54
why not go back to uni and study something, change your situation rather than spending the rest of your life feeling sorry for yourself. pick something that you don't need to be physical with.

i study psych and i can tell you now, they won't let you do enough post-grad to qualify as a psych if you're as mad as you say you are ;)

Alexander Beetle
05-02-2010, 17:56
after 20 years of poverty you might change your mind girl... but embrace it while you can...

it sux...
But what is the point of being jealous? No one is going to come and save me, mI have to do it myself. I dont want lots of money, I do want a good job which is why I plan to study again.
Anyway, I have worked with some incredibly rich women in my time and they actually make me sad. No way would I want to have a life like them, nipped, tucked, angry and bitter.

Morrigan, if you really want to study psychology then you should do it! you can go and study at any time if you want to, even if you didnt finish high school. It is never to late.

1+1=5
Stuff sitting around being jealous for a joke. I'd much rather get out there and make it happen! I'm not spending my life sitting back pining for what others have, and I'd rather eat my own head than sit back and wait for someone else to give me what I want. I'm too busy getting out there and doing it myself to pay any attention at all to what others have.
:iagree::iagree::iagree::iagree::iagree:

JiminyCricket
Theres nothing wrong with wanting the best for your kids and It can bring you down when it seems the rest of the world is able to give all those things to there children and yours miss out due to money issues .

Blueberry Crumble
05-02-2010, 17:57
I am not jealous of the well off at all.

I nannied for a VERY RICH, (actually I think they are the richest family in this state) for a couple of years. They lived in a palace, no kidding.

But they were the most miserable family ever.

I was always happy to go home to my humble rented house with my humble everything!!

So money certainly didnt make them happy

missie_mack
05-02-2010, 18:04

~Temet Nosce~
05-02-2010, 18:07

It's been 1 year since the victorian bushfires today, I was just watching something on tv about it. Remembering all the families that lost everything, alot even lost their lives. Having to rebuild from absolutely nothing.

Then I read this thread.

:no:

Alexander Beetle
05-02-2010, 18:10

It's been 1 year since the victorian bushfires today, I was just watching something on tv about it. Remembering all the families that lost everything, alot even lost their lives. Having to rebuild from absolutely nothing.

Then I read this thread.

:no:
No its one year on Sunday. Feb 7th was black saturday. Etched in my mind because thats my birthday and I had family and friends who lost ther houses, but thank god not their lives. You're right though, it sure makes you thankful for what you have.

Amara
05-02-2010, 18:10
Werent you jealous of those living off welfare yesterday?

SassyMummy
05-02-2010, 18:11
Meh, I'd like a lot of money too, but if I was, I'd still find something else to complain about.

I'd like to be richER than I am, but not exactly rolling in it.

I'm not jealous of rich people as a whole, simply because they're monetarily rich. I might have something in my life they're jealous of too. Who knows?

~Temet Nosce~
05-02-2010, 18:14
My bad, thought it was today.

Anyway of course more money would be good.. but can't say I'm jelous of other peoples situations, more just annoyed at the way some people are so senseless and careless with money iykwim. And how they do not really appreciate it.

BigRedV
05-02-2010, 18:30
I'm not jealous of those who have more than me :no:

I don't let my life be ruled by negative emotions, they are destructive.

No matter how much somebody has, they always want more. There's always something they want or think they need and they are convinced it will make them happy.

onionskin
05-02-2010, 18:42
I'm not jealous at all. My dh and I have worked hard for what we have, we live within our means and do ok. Our kids are fed and happy. What more could I want...seriously.

Veritas
05-02-2010, 18:52
Just wondering of what the purpose of your thread is Morrigan???

I hope you aren't insinuating that those who don't profess to be jealous of those wealthier than them are indeed liars????

To me, money does not equal worth..... or happiness for that matter.....

To me, I am content financially with the fact that I can provide for the necessities in life for myself and my daughter, and a few wants here and there.... I don't ache to be rolling in cash.... no way sirree.....

In fact, I think there is a certain value in not having everything, in not being able to provide your offspring with every single material thing they desire.... it teaches them to prioritise, to value money, and that luxuries have to be earnt, they aren't a given..... To me that is more important than being able to give my DD everything she wants at any given time....

I am certainly not envious of those that spout about their high finances like it's something that makes them better than everyone else.... very classless indeed.....

Pax
05-02-2010, 18:58
why not go back to uni and study something, change your situation rather than spending the rest of your life feeling sorry for yourself. pick something that you don't need to be physical with.

i study psych and i can tell you now, they won't let you do enough post-grad to qualify as a psych if you're as mad as you say you are ;)

Never failed a psyche test yet ;)

Mad enough to realise everyone is crazy but not mad enough to realise I am.. :laughing:

Pax
05-02-2010, 19:00
Just wondering of what the purpose of your thread is Morrigan???

I hope you aren't insinuating that those who don't profess to be jealous of those wealthier than them are indeed liars????

To me, money does not equal worth..... or happiness for that matter.....

To me, I am content financially with the fact that I can provide for the necessities in life for myself and my daughter, and a few wants here and there.... I don't ache to be rolling in cash.... no way sirree.....

In fact, I think there is a certain value in not having everything, in not being able to provide your offspring with every single material thing they desire.... it teaches them to prioritise, to value money, and that luxuries have to be earnt, they aren't a given..... To me that is more important than being able to give my DD everything she wants at any given time....

I am certainly not envious of those that spout about their high finances like it's something that makes them better than everyone else.... very classless indeed.....

bloody oath I am.. if you cant be jealous of others being able to provide for you kids more than you can then you are either christ incarnated or oblivious to reality.

Veritas
05-02-2010, 19:07
I am certainly very aware of reality.... and how consumer driven society is..... and how ugly lust for money can be....

I am also aware that some people don't place as high an importance on material extravagance and monetary riches as others..... and I just so happy to be one of those people.....

I feel I can quite easily ensure a happy existence for myself and my child by simply providing the necessities and a few added extras from time to time, and embracing all the wonderful aspects of life that don't centre around material possessions and the outlay of cash.... which if you aren't caught up in envy, are quite easy to find.....

A liar, I certainly am not....I feel pity for you that you have this unbelievable knack for only seeing the worst in people.... must be a very sad place to be....

Leisa21
05-02-2010, 19:07
While sometimes I wish I had more money to have longer holidays or travel more, I'm not jealous of those that have more.

Honestly I'm so complete, I adore my husband, son, family and friends. I know who I am and like who I am. There's not a day that goes by that I don't feel overwhelmed with happiness. My life rocks, why would I be jealous of someone because they have more money then me?

Pax
05-02-2010, 19:08
Werent you jealous of those living off welfare yesterday?

haha touche.. i am jealous for anyone that gets money for doing barely anything.. :australia:

Nowhere
05-02-2010, 19:10
bloody oath I am.. if you cant be jealous of others being able to provide for you kids more than you can then you are either christ incarnated or oblivious to reality.

Not everyone wants to be miss big god money bags, Some prefer to induldge there children with time then fancy gifts and expensiver meals.

Obviuosly life would be alot easier for most if they had more money, and not have to scrip and save, but one doesnt have to be all green eyed monster over someone else who has that luxury, For all you know or I know they could be lacking something else.

You seem to have a huge fixation on money and what others have, what others earn and what other receive from centre link. maybe you need to look closer to how you can feel better about your self and your situation instead of worying so much about what everyone else has, gets or earns etc.

Life is far to short to be jelous and bitter.

Phyllis Stein
05-02-2010, 19:11
You should study sociology, Morrigan. :devil:

I don't feel jealous of the materially wealthy, but I sometimes feel upset at how blind to their own privilege some can be. Also, how some uber-wealthy believe that any ethically grey areas associated with extreme wealth are erased with a few minor acts of philanthropy.

I'd never make a good wealthy person anway. I'd still shop at vinneys and drink coffee at daggy cafes. I don't buy anything new that I can get second hand, hate brands and labels, and not into the trappings of materialism. I'm actively trying to reduce my dependence on materialism, so it would be contradictory to everything I believe in to lust after more wealth.

CazHazKidz
05-02-2010, 19:12
Wow. I'd LOVE to be like all of you who are so content with what you have! I'd love to see the positives in everything and know that I can have what I want if I just go out there and work at it..

That is so not me. I hate myself for it, but there it is. I am jealous! Yep sure am. Not necessarily of people who have lots of money, although I would LOVE to have lots of money.. but moreso of people like all of you seem to be, who are happy and content with what they've got. I don't think I EVER will be.

Nowhere
05-02-2010, 19:13
haha touche.. i am jealous for anyone that gets money for doing barely anything.. :australia:

Do you receive family tax benift at all ?, or have you in the past ? Have you received baby bonus for any of your children ?

If so then you have also had your share from the government to ? or as you call it money for doing nothing.

Blueberry Crumble
05-02-2010, 19:16

But how much do kids actually "need"?

Do they really NEED the latest instrument? The latest clothes, the best holidays?

We live week to week and I can honestly say that atm my kids get everything they need to be happy and healthy.

If when they get older, they want something that is beyond our pocket, well Ill cross that bridge when we come to it. But it wont harm them to learn that life isnt about getting everything you want.

There are so many people suffering in this world! I feel damn lucky!

Fuchsia!
05-02-2010, 19:18
I am certainly very aware of reality.... and how consumer driven society is..... and how ugly lust for money can be....

I am also aware that some people don't place as high an importance on material extravagance and monetary riches as others..... and I just so happy to be one of those people.....

I feel I can quite easily ensure a happy existence for myself and my child by simply providing the necessities and a few added extras from time to time, and embracing all the wonderful aspects of life that don't centre around material possessions and the outlay of cash.... which if you aren't caught up in envy, are quite easy to find.....

A liar, I certainly am not....I feel pity for you that you have this unbelievable knack for only seeing the worst in people.... must be a very sad place to be....

Perfectly said :)

Pax
05-02-2010, 19:19
I'd never make a good wealthy person anway. I'd still shop at vinneys and drink coffee at daggy cafes. I don't buy anything new that I can get second hand, hate brands and labels, and not into the trappings of materialism. I'm actively trying to reduce my dependence on materialism, so it would be contradictory to everything I believe in to lust after more wealth.

me too but i am fed up with 20 years of stuggling just to have to leave private school after 12 years of it for my older kids... and having to try to afford medical bills but being just above the income level that can get a health care card to give medicine to my kids and husband, and not be able to afford it

I am fed up with it all to be honest.

i am fed up with BLUDGERS making this system so expensive... and i am fed up with extremely wealthy people flaunting it and not understanding the stuggles of others.

i am fed up with raising one kid with ADHD ODD and Anxiety and one with a brain injury

i am fed up with a husband not being able to work and being on sick leave while it threatens his job that he has worked hard to get

I am fed up with debt collectors

i am fed up with never having enough money to pay the basics in life let alone the other NECESSITIES to get my family by

i am fed up with having kids ranging between 18 and 1 and not being able to give them everything they need without them feeling bad that they are costing me money

i am fed up with not having any savings

i am fed up with never having the opportunity to have had extra money to put aside for superannuation and reaching 40 and being scared

i am fed up with people that think poverty is okay cause love it enough

**** it all.

more money people would make me MORE happy.. money DOES bring happieness IF YOU APPRECIATE IT.

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2010, 19:20
I'm not...usually. TO be totally honest, materialism, consumerism and the idea that money equals success makes me want to puke.

WHen I spend alot of time around my extended family, I start to find myself believing that I need to live like they do, aspire to what they aspire to...and I hate myself for it. :(

I really think that jealousy is a waste of energy and time and emotion...it s easy to fall into that trap though...always believing we need more.

If we can't learn to be content right where we are then we will never be content.....there is ALWAYS more to be lusted after....ALWAYS. Doesn't mean you can't have goals and put things into action but if life is constantly about striving for me then that is no way to live.:no:

Ffrenchknickers
05-02-2010, 19:22
me too but i am fed up with 20 years of stuggling just to have to leave private school after 12 years of it for my older kids... and having to try to afford medical bills but being just above the income level that can get a health care card to give medicine to my kids and husband, and not be able to afford it

i am fed up with BLUDGERS making this system so expensive... and i am fed up with extremely wealthy people flaunting it and not understanding the stuggles of others.

i am fed up with raising one kid with ADHD ODD and Anxiety and one with a brain injury

i am fed up with a husband not being able to work and being on sick leave while it threatens his job that he has worked hard to get

i am fed up with never having enough money to pay the basics in life let alone the other NECESSITIES to get my family by

i am fed up with having kids ranging between 18 and 1 and not being able to give them everything they need without them feeling bad that they are costing me money

i am fed up with never having the opportunity to have had extra money to put aside for superannuation and reaching 40 and being scared

**** it all.

more money people would make me MORE happy.. money DOES bring happieness IF YOU APPRECIATE IT.

:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

Pinkzy
05-02-2010, 19:28
I'm not jealous of those who are well off. I don't think they're well off because of just luck or because they won the lotto...but hey, if they are, then good for them! I'd love to win the lotto one day, and when I can afford to enter every week, I probably will :) Most people who are in a stable financial position worked damn hard to be in that position and they continue to work hard to stay in that financial position, so I absolutely respect that. It's not really something to be jealous of.

I'd rather spend my time working towards bettering my life (financially) than waste time thinking about how lucky others are - jealousy over that sort of thing is just a waste of time. It's a much easier thing to be thankful and grateful for what we do have rather than envying others who are financially better off.

Nowhere
05-02-2010, 19:29

Do you get careers alowance for either of them two if there issues are needing extra care each and every day then you would be entitled to, If so then you are also getting government assistance, IF not maybe apply for it and it may help out with the money issues, if they are both elegable that would be an extra 400 dollars a month thats sure as heck nothing to sneeze at

Alexander Beetle
05-02-2010, 19:31

**** it all.

Morrigan I am sorry that you are so uhhappy at the moment, but once again you have started a thread asking a question and got annoyed when the majority dont agree with you. I feel you are throwing a lot of blame and aggresion where it is not warranted.

Phyllis Stein
05-02-2010, 19:37

**** it all.

And you have every reason to be fed up with (most of) those things. I'm angry at poverty, because it's most often entrenched by big, systemic factors that are far beyond the scope of individuals to change. Yet all we ever hear are demands that individuals change, despite these factors. It's so much easier to just blame the already disadvantaged, rather than understand and change the factors that led to their poverty.

As for the money = happiness thing, you're right to an extent. A bunch of research has shown that people do get happier with more money, but only up to a certain point, which is lower than you'd expect. After that point, there's no corresponding rise in wellbeing. I think there's some stuff on the Australia Institute website about it.

By the way, those on the "dole" make up the teeniest, tiniest fraction of our welfare budget. It's mostly age pensions, disability pensions and "middle class welfare" that receives the largest proportion. Even if you eliminated every so-called "undeserving" recipient of Centrelink, it would hardly make a dent in the overall spending.

sam's mum
05-02-2010, 19:48
And you have every reason to be fed up with (most of) those things. I'm angry at poverty, because it's most often entrenched by big, systemic factors that are far beyond the scope of individuals to change. Yet all we ever hear are demands that individuals change, despite these factors. It's so much easier to just blame the already disadvantaged, rather than understand and change the factors that led to their poverty.

As for the money = happiness thing, you're right to an extent. A bunch of research has shown that people do get happier with more money, but only up to a certain point, which is lower than you'd expect. After that point, there's no corresponding rise in wellbeing. I think there's some stuff on the Australia Institute website about it.

By the way, those on the "dole" make up the teeniest, tiniest fraction of our welfare budget. It's mostly age pensions, disability pensions and "middle class welfare" that receives the largest proportion. Even if you eliminated every so-called "undeserving" recipient of Centrelink, it would hardly make a dent in the overall spending.

I have always believed that having money won't make you happy. But not having money can make you unhappy.

Hootenanny
05-02-2010, 19:49
I am sorry you are feeling that way Morrigan :hugs:. In your case I am sure more money would certainly alleviate or reduce many of those problems.
For me personally we are fairly financially secure at the moment but I know that could change in a heartbeat, we have been on a minimal wage and I have faced the fear of an injured husband as well as the thought of his mortality. I am much more careful now and appreciate what we get all the more.

I would love to win lotto but I don't think it would change where I live or the opportunities for my children. I think I would use it to make the world a better place for those who have nothing.

There will always be those with more than you, I love that passage from Desiderata

If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter,
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.
Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

I think I am probably more jealous of people who are organised, talented and have a plan for their lives.

jaq
05-02-2010, 19:57
I think you have every right to be fed up, and jealous, Morrigan. Because at the end of the day, there is having enough and NOT having enough, and if you are struggling to get medicine for your kids or they are feeling bad about costing you money, you quite clearly HAVE NOT got enough.

Living comfortably isn't about how much a person earns (or is given ...) but how much they NEED.

And I guess that's what ties all these threads together, really. Maybe poverty is about not having what you need, and a bludger is a person who is taking where there is NO need.

Unfortunately, our society has a big problem knowing the difference between need and want, and that's where a lot of the materialism comes in. Not to mention financial troubles - people putting themselves into debt for flat screen TVs, or a new car. (Not saying this is what you have done, but it seems to happen a lot these days.) And with materialism comes jealousy.

I'm not going to say there is an easy way to STOP feeling like you do, and I wouldn't, because you're feelings are as valid as anyones. You sound at the end of your tether, and that's understandable. I really hope your luck changes soon, and that you and your family get a break.

(Because, as someone who is relatively well off, while I have worked hard, paid a lot of tax etc, I know full well that it is MOSTLY luck that put me in this position. )

sockstealingpoltergeist
05-02-2010, 20:15

I'm not jealous, but then we have everything we need. I feel quite well off.

When I was poor I did wish I had more, but I can't say I was ever really jealous, probably just a bit sad at times.

I like Phyliss was allways really angry at the system and poverty. Moreover I have allways been angry about the assumptions made by others.

RedPanda
05-02-2010, 20:17
Britney Spears, Michael Jackson, Princess Diana, Tiger Woods.... all of these people have money but it couldn't/can't buy them happiness. I agree that having to struggle is awful and I'm not saying that putting on a happy face will ease poverty, but being envious won't help.

I hope you somehow find a way to increase your resources or find some satisfaction.

MummaBear03
05-02-2010, 20:23
I'm not jealous of those who are well-off. I'm just sick of the ones who have that attitude and think those on welfare are bludgers and living it up when they have no idea how little people on welfare get. I mean, honestly now, when someone earns $85,000 with a husband who earns $250,000 and have parents who look after the kids while they work and don't get money to do so (they don't want money, just want that time with the grandkids) then whinge about not having much and about how if they didn't work the govt would pay for everything for them, they have no idea. I just get annoyed by that, but certainly not jealous. If they are on that much money without having to pay for childcare and still can't be happy, I'm sorry that all their money doesn't bring them happiness and they can't figure out what will bring them happiness.

I don't have much money but we don't go without either. That's because I'm good with finances, not because I have a lot of finances.

hailsntwang
05-02-2010, 20:26
I wish I had enough money so I could buy and own my house.:(
We are saving for it now so one day that wish will be reality and the very moment we receive the keys we will know we succeeded.:yes:

I wish I had enough money to take my Husband and Son on an overseas trip. I long to see the Great Wall of China, the Canadian Alps, Hawaiian Mountains, the Great Pyramids of Egypt and the Roman Empire.

One day it will be us walking through that international terminal on the trip of our dreams. :yes:

I'm allowed to long for more money to help make my life simpler and I'd be lying if I said I've never daydreamed about what life with more money would be like.

However in saying that, my life is rich in other things.
I DO have a loving husband :valentine:
I DO have a healthy son

I am extremely close with my family
I LOVE my job and enjoy getting up everyday to go:thumbsup:

I'm beyond wealthy, just not in the material sense and i'm not lying when I say I wouldn't give it up for all the money in the world.:)

Pax
05-02-2010, 20:30
Morrigan I am sorry that you are so uhhappy at the moment, but once again you have started a thread asking a question and got annoyed when the majority dont agree with you. I feel you are throwing a lot of blame and aggresion where it is not warranted.

Blergh! the majority what a load of...

the majority is not the 12 or so bubhubbers that respond ...

there are many many many many many more of me out there. fed up!

NO i dont receive Carers benefit because my kids with their problems are not 'disabled' enough to qualify .. but the eldest was 'disabled' enough to qualify to have her license suspended and have to pay $500 in OT to prove otherwise.

No my son is not 'disabled' enough to qualify for carers or health care card.. but inable to cope in mainstream school..

oh we are the so lucky to have kids that are 'normalish' but not normal enough not to slip under the radar to fail.

so we have to pay heaps of money to bring them up to a level to get them through and we do... mind you our teeth rot and our debt collects.

why? because i dont want my kids on welfare bludging off society making up excuses as to why they couldnt succeed!

so yes when i see people i know that have handicapped kids but earn $30,000 per month etc because their hubby's work overseas ... i feel a tad jealous..

hence my 'hubby hunting... is love enough' thread

hence my 'centrelink are you grateful thread'

etc

If you dont qualify to be poor enough or rich enough is sucks big time.

honestly sick of working... sick of listening to whinging people that dont do squat, sick of listening to wealthy people that should be more grateful... where the hell do i fit in.. cant whinge about anything and I WANNA WHINGE>>>

Pinkzy
05-02-2010, 20:34

Yep, I absolutely agree with that. Being jealous of others ain't gonna fix it though, trust me.

Alexander Beetle
05-02-2010, 20:37

NO i dont receive Carers benefit because my kids with their problems are not 'disabled' enough to qualify .. but the eldest was 'disabled' enough to qualify to have her license suspended and have to pay $500 in OT to prove otherwise.

No my son is not 'disabled' enough to qualify for carers or health care card.. but inable to cope in mainstream school..

oh we are the so lucky to have kids that are 'normalish' but not normal enough not to slip under the radar to fail.

so we have to pay heaps of money to bring them up to a level to get them through and we do... mind you our teeth rot and our debt collects.

why? because i dont want my kids on welfare bludging off society making up excuses as to why they couldnt succeed!

so yes when i see people i know that have handicapped kids but earn $30,000 per month etc because their hubby's work overseas ... i feel a tad jealous..

etc

honestly sick of working... sick of listening to whinging people that dont do squat, sick of listening to wealthy people that should be more grateful... where the hell do i fit in.. cant whinge about anything and I WANNA WHINGE>>>
Then why not just do a vent thread rather than opening up threads under the illusion that you are wanting our opinions? Then you can rage all you want. Thats what vent threads are for.

MummaBear03
05-02-2010, 20:38

etc

You fit into the category of someone who just wants to throw it all in for a while. Is that a possibility? Just take a break, use Centrelink to fall back onto for a while. I actually wish I could work full time and NOT use centrelink at all but that's not going to happen just yet. Not because I'm jealous of others, only because I don't like dealing with Centrelink. If I can get off Centrelink and work full time.

FWIW I have a child who costs a fortune in health care. The out of pocket expenses for her paed is $450. She's also in sport as recommended by the paed (which has helped her come ahead in leaps and bounds and she loves it) and she's also starting OT which is private. I know what it's like to have a child with problems. You know they changed the rules for Carer's? We didn't qualify for it under the old rules but we do now so it's worth seeing Centrelink about it again.

delirium
05-02-2010, 20:38
Meh, money doesn't make people happy, if it did there would be no unhappy rich people.

Although I do understand that being really broke all the time can take it's toll.

Why not do distance ed morri? You have a few years before your youngest goes to school. If you start now you'll be finished by the time she goes. Then you can have a decent paying job and 2 incomes.

I'm not...usually. TO be totally honest, materialism, consumerism and the idea that money equals success makes me want to puke.

WHen I spend alot of time around my extended family, I start to find myself believing that I need to live like they do, aspire to what they aspire to...and I hate myself for it. :(

I really think that jealousy is a waste of energy and time and emotion...it s easy to fall into that trap though...always believing we need more.

If we can't learn to be content right where we are then we will never be content.....there is ALWAYS more to be lusted after....ALWAYS. Doesn't mean you can't have goals and put things into action but if life is constantly about striving for me then that is no way to live.:no:

jaq
05-02-2010, 20:39
I've just had a horrible postscript to this thread tonight.

I have a very good friend of many years that works incredibly hard. So hard that he has never really had much time to enjoy all the money he earns. The last time I saw him, I told him that he needed to slow down, put some time into his relationship, think about having kids etc.

I just got a text from my husband saying he (our friend) has been rushed to hospital with blood clots on his lungs. :(

Meanwhile, his girlfriend is busy being grateful that when she crashed her bike in training a few months back, she only received a minor brain injury and only spent three months off work, rather than a lifetime.

But they have plenty of money ...

KatiesMum
05-02-2010, 20:39
Morri - :hugs: no-one minds when you want to have a whinge about YOUR crappy situation

But - people get offended when you put others down who are also in a pretty ordinary situation.

Everyone has struggles - and those same people are happy to offer you a place to vent, and a should to cry on ... but insulting other people because of your difficulties isnt ok.

ETA - and I am a case in point for Jaq's post too..... I have money to pay my bills etc .. but would happily pay it all away to have my health and to live long enough to see my daughter graduate high school ...

kimberpotamus
05-02-2010, 20:42
Threads like this **** me off.

There seems to be this assumption that people who are well off haven't had to work for it, that everything they have has been given to them, that well off people look down upon people who are struggling financially, and that we are never truly happy.

Seems to be a lot of pigeon holing going on here.

MummaBear03
05-02-2010, 20:43
I've just had a horrible postscript to this thread tonight.

I have a very good friend of many years that works incredibly hard. So hard that he has never really had much time to enjoy all the money he earns. The last time I saw him, I told him that he needed to slow down, put some time into his relationship, think about having kids etc.

I just got a text from my husband saying he (our friend) has been rushed to hospital with blood clots on his lungs. :(

Meanwhile, his girlfriend is busy being grateful that when she crashed her bike in training a few months back, she only received a minor brain injury and only spent three months off work, rather than a lifetime.

But they have plenty of money ...

That is so sad, I hope it all works out :(

Pax
05-02-2010, 20:44
Morri - :hugs: no-one minds when you want to have a whinge about YOUR crappy situation

But - people get offended when you put others down who are also in a pretty ordinary situation.

Everyone has struggles - and those same people are happy to offer you a place to vent, and a should to cry on ... but insulting other people because of your difficulties isnt ok.

ETA - and I am a case in point for Jaq's post too..... I have money to pay my bills etc .. but would happily pay it all away to have my health and to live long enough to see my daughter graduate high school ...
I guess i have a round about way of figuring out if i am worthy of a whinge and after the last 2 days of threads i figured I do...

sockstealingpoltergeist
05-02-2010, 20:45

>> >

Well I think you have hit the nail on the head there Morrigan.

You are doing the best you can by your children and they will probably be fine because of it. For various reasons other peoples best isn't good enough and whole families slip through the cracks.

If you really don't believe it (upbringing, money, opportunity etc) is a reason for poverty and that the only reason for "failure" is because you are a bludger you wouldn't bother trying so hard with your own children.

What happens in our lives affects us deeply and changes our life chances and outcomes, so quit calling people bludgers allready.:)

brogeybear
05-02-2010, 20:47

I find that really sad Morrigan, that non only you are so jealous but that you obviously put such high value on something as shallow as money. Money is a necessity in our society to get by in life, but it does not proverbially buy happieness.
I resent the fact that you admit to calling me a liar, just becaus eI am actually content and more than happy with our life. I know that one day we will have more money than we do now, but it is certainly not something that consumes me and there are a lot of wealthy people out there who have MY PITY, for the fact that their lives are miserable.
And you cant have it both ways, sprouting the entitlement to welfare yet wishing you were rich. You make your own circumstances and although we do have our own personal limitations, if you really want money, no one is standing in your way.
As a PP said, however, this comes at a high cost, one which I certainly am not willing to pay. I chose to be a parent, I will stay at home and be the primary caregiver for my child, I will provide the meals and the stimulation and the education, and the activities that my child needs, I will budget and use points systems etc. so that DH and i can go out once in a while....really it would be exhausting both physically and emotionally to lead a "high flying" life, not to mention the effects on children and marriages.
No thanks, not for me in a million years, and im honest enough to admit that!

KatiesMum
05-02-2010, 20:48
of course you are worthy of a whinge .... :hugs:

( we would of course prefer you to do that FIRST .. rather than start thousands of contraversial threads we have to close :laughing: )

But keep in mind - there are real people behind the computers ... real people who are upset and offended because they see your posts, but not your reasons and hurt. Real people you owe an apology to.

brogeybear
05-02-2010, 20:52

**** it all.

Yes I think appreciation is the key, for whatever we have, there are so many so much more worse off than any of us could even imagine.
:hugs: for your personal pain.

Pax
05-02-2010, 20:59
of course you are worthy of a whinge .... :hugs:

( we would of course prefer you to do that FIRST .. rather than start thousands of contraversial threads we have to close :laughing: )

But keep in mind - there are real people behind the computers ... real people who are upset and offended because they see your posts, but not your reasons and hurt. Real people you owe an apology to.

thanks for the support... but too stupid to figure out why i need to apologise.. Oh is it Obtuse? LOL..

most of the threads I started ended with people twisting and misconstruing my words and making up things to be offended about.

:confused:

sockstealingpoltergeist
05-02-2010, 21:02
thanks for the support... but too stupid to figure out why i need to apologise.. Oh is it Obtuse? LOL..

most of the threads I started ended with people twisting and misconstruing my words and making up things to be offended about.

Your posts don't come across as very insightful.

Pax
05-02-2010, 21:04
Well I think you have hit the nail on the head there Morrigan.

You are doing the best you can by your children and they will probably be fine because of it. For various reasons other peoples best isn't good enough and whole families slip through the cracks.

If you really don't believe it (upbringing, money, opportunity etc) is a reason for poverty and that the only reason for "failure" is because you are a bludger you wouldn't bother trying so hard with your own children.

What happens in our lives affects us deeply and changes our life chances and outcomes, so quit calling people bludgers allready.:)

When I have spent my entire adult life fighting being swallowed up by society and keeping my head above water... how can i not resent those that either

i) do nothing but budget their welfare money to get buy each week... been there done that not hard!

ii) have so much money that they dont understand why you cant go out to coffee or feel bad when they suggest "why dont you put you daughter into dance she would love that"

On a positive note.. I am loving public school.. how nice it is to go to pick up time and the parents are not dressed up for a 'function'. How nice it is to see dads in the school grounds rather than just mums. how nice it is that my daughter was invited to a birthday party and has made a friend (mind you it was a little scary arranging that with the other kids dad that had a beard down to his knees)....

definately re-adjusting here. :laughing:

*Cj*

I would reapply for Carers allowance they have made it easier to get.

Pinkzy

:rolleyes: That last part....

I'd say obtuse. Definitely obtuse.

brogeybear
05-02-2010, 21:05
No i dont think it has been people misconstruing words, I think you have at times used incorrect phrasing for what you actually mean. And yes, feel free to vent, just quit with the debat threads already, my fingers are having trouble keeping up.

Pax
05-02-2010, 21:05
Your posts don't come across as very insightful.

nor do yours.. wanna do coffee?

sam's mum
05-02-2010, 21:06
closed for review

KatiesMum
05-02-2010, 21:11
whilst people certainly read extra things into threads and posts that werent intended .... you have said some pretty out there statements ... I was kinda referring to the posts when you called some 'bludgers' and 'liars' and that poor people should be sterilized or should have been able to have their kids ....

I would have thought actually that you would be campaigning for change to allow you (and people in similar situations to you) to be able to get out of that situation. To enable proper education for the 'fringe dwellers' of mainstream education, for dental care, for additional health care for those in need.

I am sorry for the circumstances you are in ... but you are a case in point for all you are arguing against.