View Full Version : Babysitters???

Dylansmama
28-07-2006, 21:21
Hellooo,

As some of you may or may not know hubby and I moved to the Gold Coast late last year and now that the little man is here, I'm sure that eventually in the not too distant future we'd like to go out one night on our own, but am a bit hesitant about the whole babysitter idea.

So I was wondering if anyone knows of any good babysitters or has used any good babysitters? I really want to find someone that we can trust. It's one of the downsides of not having any family up here, otherwise we'd have some very keen babysitters in the form of Mums!

Shontelle :)

bub7
28-07-2006, 21:42
hey there
how old is the little one?

Dylansmama
28-07-2006, 21:53
Hi Bub7,

Dylan is 41/2 months old now :)

SassyDiva
28-07-2006, 21:55
:wave: Hi Shontell , We are going thru the same thing at our place. Even though we have our parents on the Coast we dont like to ask them to babysit often - even though they would say yes we don't want to take advantage.

So anyways we want to start tennis together and maybe go out on a date once in a while (it's been 10 years we need to re-ignite the spark :laughing: ), so we'd like a regular person/nanny to mind the kids every so often... But saying that I get a bit paranoid... cause in reality can't imagine trusting someone I dont know with our boys, so basically Im no help at all - but will keep an eye on this thread to see what others say :)

Dylansmama
28-07-2006, 22:06
Hi Mel,

Yeah it's hard isn't it? I'm not keen on leaving Dylan at the moment but one day I'm sure we'll want to go out just the two of us. My friend's offered to babysit but only when he gets bigger (she's not used to smaller babies). I guess there must be heaps of Mums in our situation.

Take care,

bub7
28-07-2006, 22:19
I used to work in child care and was a local baby sitter also. If you are not lookin at going out straight away,say maybe a month or two..or whenever. If you like we could meet for you to meet me.
i know exactly what you mean about trusting people with your baby, so hard isnt it. thats why i am so glad and also lucky i have my whole family close by.
I have got 3 neices and 3 nephews. Have also been baby sitting since i was12. i have a blue card aswell.
but totally up to you. good luck with it all anyway :fingerscrossed:

Pm me if you wanna chat

Dylansmama
28-07-2006, 22:28
Hello again,

Would definitely be interested, thanks for the offer. Let me know when you're free to meet up. And yes you are very lucky to have all your family here :yes: Hence my recent little trip to Sydney to see them, I was really missing them!

suemp
29-07-2006, 08:53
i also have a 4 and a half year old. worked in the health industry so i have senior first aid (although i hope to never use it lol) and blue card also. i am unable to babysit at our house due to living with mil who does shift work but if you are after some one to babysit at your place give us a pm. good luck;)

Dylansmama
29-07-2006, 14:20
Hi Sue,

Thanks a lot for the offer :) Maybe we can meet up some time. Are you going to the bbq this weekend? Hope to see you there.

Shontelle

suemp
29-07-2006, 16:42
no shontelle, we wont be at the bbq due to it being a good friends birthday bbq on the same day. i am on the northern end of the gold coast at hope island , where abouts are you living? my son would love a little play mate. hre goes to pre school and is getting bullied of late. it would be good to meet up. my son goes to school tuesday, thurs and fir this week so if you are free on mondays/ or wednesdays, let us know. i have my own transport. look forward to meeting you too.

Dylansmama
30-07-2006, 10:19
Hi Sue,

Am living at Biggera Waters at the moment, (just near Labrador). I am free on Wednesday if you'd like to meet up.You can send me a pm if you want. Hope things get better for your son, it's horrible when kids get bullied.

Shakey
30-07-2006, 11:06
Hi Shontelle, i'm sure you'll beable to find heaps of people here that are willing to help out, i'm always keen to do a bit of baby sitting, I have heaps of experiance in working with babies and toddlers ( was working in a childcare centre for quite a while) and I have a 2 year old son and one on the way due in feb, if you wanna meet up or anything, give me a yell, I take it your going to the meet today? I can't make it this time but hope to make it to the next,

Sue thats no good about the bullying, is the preschool doing somthing about it, I hope so, hope you have a good time at your bbq as well

mum2littleman
30-07-2006, 23:54
hey Shontelle,

i no of a good sitter my sister, lol she is a part time nanny 3 days a week and is also studying to be a teacher at uni, she has worked in childcare for 4 1/2 years and has deploma, blue card,first adi, fire training the works..

so if ur ever stuck let me no and ill give u her number.

lou and luke

Dylansmama
31-07-2006, 10:34
Hi Jo,

Yes I did go to the meet yesterday, but we didn't get there until late as hubby had to pick up his car from the long-term parking at the airport. But when we finallly did get there :) we had a great time.

Hope to see you at the next meet, otherwise pm me and we can arrange to meet up some time. Congratulations by the way on your pregnancy, do you know what you're having?

Shontelle.

Dylansmama
31-07-2006, 10:37
hey Shontelle,

i no of a good sitter my sister, lol she is a part time nanny 3 days a week and is also studying to be a teacher at uni, she has worked in childcare for 4 1/2 years and has deploma, blue card,first adi, fire training the works..

so if ur ever stuck let me no and ill give u her number.

lou and luke

Hi Lou,

Thanks for that, it's good to get referrals from people who know a babysitter they can trust.

Hope you and Lukey had a good time yesterday, I'm sure Dylan and I will see you again soon :)

Thanks again,

Shontelle

mum2littleman
31-07-2006, 21:07
Hi Lou,

Thanks for that, it's good to get referrals from people who know a babysitter they can trust.

Hope you and Lukey had a good time yesterday, I'm sure Dylan and I will see you again soon :)

Thanks again,

Shontelle

hey yeah lukey and i had a great time yesterday we both love catching up wit everyone, yup im sure ill see u soon and that beautiful little smiling baby of urs:wave:
lou

Mahjong
23-10-2007, 18:52
God, this is an old thread!