View Full Version : When do you think Children should make their Own school Lunches?

Pax
02-02-2010, 08:20
This has always been an issue for me and other people I have always made my kids school lunches right up until they leave school.

Other people think their kid can make their own lunch or miss out.

what is your ideas?

onionskin
02-02-2010, 08:27
I am the same Morrigan.

My highschooler is more than capable of doing it herself. I just usually do it for her, gives her an extra 15 mins sleep in. Also she packs it all messy, and it drives me insane :laughing:

flyawayfree
02-02-2010, 08:28
Mum made mine till I was in year ten. My older brother used to just grab whatever was easiest like noodles, when he had to do his, so she wouldn't let us do ours.

Fuchsia!
02-02-2010, 08:29
Im not sure when i will get DS to make his own sandwich. Probably when he is about 9-10 i guess? I don't mind doing though.

~BEXTER~
02-02-2010, 08:31
I enjoy packing Keiaras lunch, but I think in High school she should be able to make her own.

codswallop
02-02-2010, 08:32
mum stoped making mine when i stoped eating it

i think when they start to complain about wht your giving them they can make there own

Mrs Nietzsche
02-02-2010, 08:34
My daughter has made hers for about a year. I made mine as a kid.

It's either make her lunch or take care of her brother while I do and I think she prefers to make her lunch.

I think it's great and she likes it, she often makes it the night before and fusses with it.

missie_mack
02-02-2010, 08:35
We still have to make our own for work so its not much difference to make one or three. I see it as a non issue really

neekynoo
02-02-2010, 08:35
I started helping mum in grade 6 so I was about 11. It was just mum, my sister and I and from a very early age I wanted to help her as much as possible. We used to make them the night before though cos mornings were always such a rush.

My DD can help me make hers whenever she wants to but I think when she hits grade 11 she is more than responsible enough to get her own.

sweetseven
02-02-2010, 08:42
I make the sandwiches (though I'm considering switching to sushi) and they grab the snacks. They have a box each for their available snacks in the breakfast cupboard, to ensure that everyone gets a fair split.

WorkingClassMum
02-02-2010, 08:47
My 8yo has been making his own sandwiches since he was 6 and my 6yo DD makes her own sandwiches as well now.

They both pack their snacks and i check the lunchbox and 'fix' it up

Baldie's Mum
02-02-2010, 08:48
My mum made my lunch until the day i left school! We were aloud a lunch order every 2nd friday.......but to tell you the truth, my lunches mum made were heaps better. I was like the wog kid!!!! I had a picnic!!!! All my friends loved it, oh and my ex thought it was amazing too. LOL!

I personally think i ate better with mum making lunch for me. If i was going to make it, i would probably put a vegemite sambo together, with nothing else! We had meat, vegies, fruit, homemade muffins when mum made lunch! My fave was roast beef and potatos, pumpkin and sweet potato rolls! I would eat it cold! YUMMMMMMM!!!!!

So personally, i think if your going to make a more nutritional meal that your children would, then make it for them! :yes: Cause its nutrition!

Oh also another reason she hade it was because i was rowing and training about 12 times a week.....So i needed good food and i was getting up 6 mornings a week at 4:30am! Then i wouldnt get home 6 mornings a week till 6:30pm! So HUGE days!

Pippi Longstocking
02-02-2010, 08:49
With five kids at school, I find it much easier to just get in there and make the lunches myself. It's easier than cleaning up the inevitable mess after they're done. And I know what they're having, I can make sure it's nutritious and filling.

elleandsam
02-02-2010, 08:53
Mum stopped making it for me when I started high school, but she always made sure there were things available for me to have. We'd go shopping with her and we picked a fruit, a snack and if we ran out of sandwich fillings then we'd pick those out too.

Pax
02-02-2010, 08:54
So personally, i think if your going to make a more nutritional meal that your children would, then make it for them! :yes: Cause its nutrition!

:iagree:

Mrs Nietzsche
02-02-2010, 08:57
I don't know, you can look at it as an opportunity to teach nutrition. Ie - my daughter has to have fruit and a carrot, we pick her snack at supermarket and it cant be too unhealthy, she also makes her own muffins, sandwich has to be healthy, etc.

So she is probably picking up a lot.

crazymuma
02-02-2010, 08:58
My 5 year old has to help make his already!!

I think once they hit high school though they are on their own - same as I beleive at that age they should be cooking dinner at least 1 night a week - after all we are trying to teach them to live in the world.

WorkingClassMum
02-02-2010, 08:59

Whilst my kids make their own sandwiches, they do so under supervision and their sandwiches are nutritional but also more likely to be eaten as they've had an input into the make-up.

My kids also learn about nutrition by being involved with the food choices and making up their lunch boxes.

I often laugh when I see how much stuff kids pick out of their sandwiches that mum has lovingly put together...

TripleTime
02-02-2010, 09:01
I started complaining about what mum was packing when i was in yr 2, after than i made it myself.

Mathermy
02-02-2010, 09:03
I really enjoy packing her lunch at this stage, she's only just started and it feels like a nurturing thing for me to do for her when someone else will be caring for her all day.
I do love to cook and stuff though so maybe this is just an extension of that, I like the ritual of preparing food for those I love.:goodvibes:

I imagine if I was a busy working mum then I would take far less pleasure in it though, I'm just blessed with time right now.

DD is quite capable of doing it or at least helping though, she will often make herself a sandwich or pour herself a glass of milk, make cereal etc.

Pax
02-02-2010, 09:03
I started complaining about what mum was packing when i was in yr 2, after than i made it myself.

2 of my kids do this too.. but they wont give me an idea of what they want.

i dont think they know what they want..

Pippi Longstocking
02-02-2010, 09:04
I don't know, you can look at it as an opportunity to teach nutrition.

Yeah, it could be. But my kids leave home at 7.10am - at that time of day, teaching them to hurry the f*&^ up is about the best I can manage :laughing:

Baldie's Mum
02-02-2010, 09:04
Whilst my kids make their own sandwiches, they do so under supervision and their sandwiches are nutritional but also more likely to be eaten as they've had an input into the make-up.

My kids also learn about nutrition by being involved with the food choices and making up their lunch boxes.

I often laugh when I see how much stuff kids pick out of their sandwiches that mum has lovingly put together...

Oh yeah, if your standing over them and helping ect and if your home has a huge amount of choices ect then it should be fine!!! :yes: My mum is a chef, so for us, it was just sooooo much easier and more nutritional that she made it! Especially with my training! The school i went to unfortunatly had more money than anything else and alot of parents just gave their kids money and they bought pies and sausage rolls from the canteen. Even though we had a VERY healthy canteen, thai beef salad, sushi, fresh sandwiches ect....... but there was still the sausage rolls and crap all available! :rolleyes:

crazymuma
02-02-2010, 09:06
Yeah, it could be. But my kids leave home at 7.10am - at that time of day, teaching them to hurry the f*&^ up is about the best I can manage :laughing:

:laughing::laughing::laughing:

WorkingClassMum
02-02-2010, 09:06

Give them closed choices, you can have a,b or c and if you don't tell me what you want then I'll make option d

TripleTime
02-02-2010, 09:08

Possibly dont but i did. I dont eat sandwiches & never have, which is what mum would pack me. Im more of a 'bits & pieces' person. I like things a can dip & eat quickly.

Pax
02-02-2010, 09:11
Give them closed choices, you can have a,b or c and if you don't tell me what you want then I'll make option d

:laughing: I cant think of that many things!

Pina Colada
02-02-2010, 09:26
To me I do it with pleasure, cause it is one of those 'mummy' jobs that make me feel all 'mummy-ish' :laughing: I'll probably still pack their lunches when they are in uni or working :p

I used to go all fancy on DD1's lunch making savoury rolls or muffins etc, and then she asked me to just make her sandwiches!! :o

Mrs Nietzsche
02-02-2010, 09:31
Pippi, the thought of 5 kids all making lunch in the kitchen of a morning made my heart sink. The mess my one 11 year old makes is atrocious, let alone 5. And the accompanying arguments too no doubt.

kezzaskids
02-02-2010, 09:34
I pack lunches for all four of mine, I have to do it for the little one so i do if them all and my eldest is in yr 12 and the middle yr 10. I do a week of cooking one day of the week, like vege muffins, jam biscutes, roast chicken for sandwiches etc. i even great cheeses and carrots and snap lock bag the lot in the fridge or freezer.
The reason I do it is because I know they would slap some vegemite on some stale bread and leave..... at 6.45am and I do want them to eat better then that. They both dance and do gymnastics and nutrition is important but being teens they are prepared to compromise on this where as I am not :)

WorkingClassMum
02-02-2010, 09:47
Pippi, the thought of 5 kids all making lunch in the kitchen of a morning made my heart sink. The mess my one 11 year old makes is atrocious, let alone 5. And the accompanying arguments too no doubt.

Our lunches are made the night before, and cleaning up is part of the whole 'Making Lunch" scenario - even my 6yo can clean up after herself

Granted I only have two kids, but for me it's part of teaching my kids lifeskills and also them being part of a working family - we all pitch in

SassyMummy
02-02-2010, 09:50
I never made my own lunch, unless Mum was sick or something.

Pippi Longstocking
02-02-2010, 09:51
Granted I only have two kids

And therein lies the difference! :p

nothanksbye
02-02-2010, 09:53
I only have 2..

It takes them a whole hour to eat breaky and find shoes and hats...

If they had to make lunches, I think I would have to wake up at 4am! lol.

3'llhavetodo
02-02-2010, 09:58
DS-5 helps already helps me to make his. He makes his own sandwich, gets his snack and packs it all. He even cuts his own lunch. I really only supervise to make sure he doesn't cut himself.

ETA: I love the whole experience. Its a chance to do something with DS while teaching him about good food choices and self help skills. we've only been doing it for 4 days so it's still exciting for us both. He loves scouring the cupboards for snacks and helping me make little bits and bobs. He took fruity couscous last week :)

anewme
02-02-2010, 10:27
I make 5 lunch's. 1 for the toddler too. if I don't he steals the big kids food.:o

I make up sandwiches, muffins, bacon and cheese rolls, vegemite and cheese scroll etc once a fortnight and freeze them. I have a big box of school treats in the cupboard and section in the fridge that is for school stuff.
I lay out the lunch boxes and they get to pick between the items available.

With the exception of my teenager who like to make hot pastas etc for herself.

Ana Gram
02-02-2010, 10:40

:laughing: You've been peeping in my windows.

DD contributes to the lunch box discussion and I make it. We have to drive at least 45 minutes just to get to school and neither of us are morning people, so I'll still be making it for a while.

Sheer Bliss
02-02-2010, 10:44
I'll play it by ear. DD started her first day at Kindy yesterday, and she LOVES 'helping' me make her lunch already :laughing:. Seriously though, in high school, they will probably be more than capable of it, but kids grow up FAR too fast for my liking, and if they want their mum to make their lunch until the end of school - then I will do it. With exams, the pressure of being a teen etc, I will be happy to do it. I am also a SAHM, so have the time to do it too!

JabberJaw
02-02-2010, 10:46
My eldest is nearly 13 and she is capable of making her own lunch, but i make it because i make the 5 and 6 yr olds aswell as hubbys!

At times Eldest DD has made the sandwiches for everyone if i am busy, but she has it pretty easy as i have containers with pre grated/shredded lettuce, cheese, carrot and the lunch meat.

Usually the little ones help me by getting out the containers, cleaning out there lunch boxes and filling there water bottles.

It only takes 5 min of my time and i usually make lunches after i have washed the dishes while hubby is bathing bub.

The grating/shredding i do once or twice a week while bub is napping (if i not on here :D)

Veritas
02-02-2010, 11:13
I was making my own lunch well before high school.... heck I was washing, ironing my own clothes, and cooking the family meal before high school....

X on the other hand still had his mother making his lunch as a 21 yr old working full time, and she was doing his washing, ironing, all his meals etc..... it was quite the culture shock for him to go from literally doing nothing in his household at home, to being expected to contribute to a household living with me.....

I think teaching responsibility and life skills is important, so once DD hits school age making lunches will be something we do together, and when I feel she is capable she will take over with a quick check from me.....

Already as a 3yr old she has to keep her room clean and tidy (which she does), she puts her clothes in the basket, helps put clean clothes away, helps unpack groceries, helps pack clean dishes away, puts dirty dishes on the sink and so on..... she enjoys it, it certainly isn't forced, but feeling helpful can be a rewarding feeling for kids.... and its teaching her skills that will never go astray!