View Full Version : Labour promises 2 million each year for Breastfeeding

sopolicha
28-07-2006, 15:09
I hear in the news today Kim Beazley promising to support breastfeeding and the ABA to the tune of $2 million a year.

He says that Breastfeeding is on the decline and it should be on the incline.

Now the Labour Government just has to win the next Federal Election :laughing: and then Beazley has to fulfill an election promise :laughing: and then they going to have to convince teenagers that breast is best :laughing: . I am unsure which will be the hardest to accomplish.

28-07-2006, 15:43
Shall be interesting.....:rolleyes:
I think 2mil is a lot of money - for education and health related to bf, yeah?

SilverStarfish
28-07-2006, 15:44
That's good news... but I'll believe it when it happens...

the_queen
28-07-2006, 16:27
Isn't it strange how cynical I am. 10 minutes ago I would have said that this is EXACTLY what a government should do. But now I'm just thinking "vote grabbing" :thumbsdown: I really really really really really really really hope that if Labour wins power, Mr Beazley keeps this promise. But like you Sop, I have severe doubts.

shed
28-07-2006, 16:31
But I don't need education or financial incentive to breastfeed, I just need my boobs to work. :rolleyes:

Areca
28-07-2006, 17:00
But I don't need education or financial incentive to breastfeed, I just need my boobs to work. :rolleyes:

This is exactly why we need money put into education on breast feeding...only 1-3% of people medically can not breast feed. I'm not saying it's easy for everyone, cause it's not, but the education needs to be out there for all those that were given bad advice, or had problems they didn't know how to deal with properly, so that breastfeeding is on the incline again.

sopolicha
28-07-2006, 17:02
I think that is the point Sheddo............more people around to help you to get your boobs to work. I hope they do. I never thought I would become militant about breastfeeding but here I am. It will be a sad day when when Cha no longer requires mine. (Will be nice to wear a proper bra again though)

Ana Gram
28-07-2006, 17:11
Vote grabbing. Do we ever believe the pre election "promises" pollies make?

Sheer Bliss
28-07-2006, 19:58
It would be great....if it really happens!

More education would be great - I have heard of people saying they couldn't breastfeed 'cause they didn't have enough milk, but their babies were put on the bottle in hospital on day 4 or 5. Maybe if they had more education & support they might have given it another week & found out they did have enough.

Can't say I actually trust a politician to follow through though!!

Pixie
28-07-2006, 20:12
Funny how all these wonderful ideas come up and as soon as they are elected it dissapears up there ar$e where they got it from in the first place!

Nickster
28-07-2006, 20:53
"Look at moi, Kimmy, look at moi, look at MOI - now I have one thing to say to you - election strategy"

28-07-2006, 20:55
Now if they could give me $2 million for breastfeeding I would be happy :D

kadownie
28-07-2006, 22:44
I'm sure that they ABA will be happy- if they get their money- I wonder what the Liberal Party offers....

Tam-I-Am
29-07-2006, 01:10
Well, whoopty-bloody-do.

What exactly is $2 mil suppossed to do? In this day and age, that's not a great deal of money.

And besides, Kim Beazley is a big fat liar, just like all the other big fat lying pollies in the world. I don't believe a word of it. I don't think that women's issues are ever going to be important to male politicians. And Breastfeeding is still very much seen as a woman's issue (although I, and hopefully many many other sensible people in the world, recognise that it is in fact a PEOPLE'S issue because it impacts on PEOPLE'S health).

Sorry. Tired, cynical, and tired!

pegasus
29-07-2006, 01:48
I'd also be interested to find out exactly how the 2mil is supposed to increase the bf'ing rates. My community health nurse has asked me to take part in a breastfeeding study so they can look into declining numbers in WA. No problem with this - someone is already funding research.

Yeah - I'm with the others who are saying vote grabbing, I really don't see how the government is going to make a difference here.

I'm sure that they ABA will be happy- if they get their money- I wonder what the Liberal Party offers....

In line with my above statement, I don't think it's even worth getting the Lib's comments on this issue.

I breastfed my last bub (and the hospital I went to supported this wholeheartedly), I'm also breastfeeding this bub (saw the lactation consultant in hospital, so support was in hospital here too), where I'm hazy is that I've made the choices myself to work at continuing this - I've not seen much advertising from the ABA, nor have I been contacted by them or whatever. I know they exist et cetera, but not really what they do (don't get me wrong, I'm sure I could find out by contacting them, but it'd be like preaching to the converted, I'll ask for support if I need it). Therefore, my thoughts are if you're not really sure or don't know what's involved or whatever, why would you bother? So what is any money currently going into breastfeeding doing? It's obviously not getting to the target people (I heard nothing while I was pregnant except from my own investigations).

Goosie22
29-07-2006, 07:19
Any money is good:fingerscrossed: .

I would hope the Lactavists would approach the Howard & Co and ask what they are doing, its a good chance to put the squeeze on.

veve
29-07-2006, 08:00
how about they fund more women so they can STAY HOME to breastfeed??? most women that I know stopped bfeeding so they could return to work .. purely for financial reasons - no amount of advice or physical assistance can change that ...

I know we get the baby bonus... but there is also a vax allowance... what about an incentive to feed till 6 months .. and an incentive to feed till 12 months.???

JMO ... sigh

Jen

ps 2 million in the grand scheme of things aint much .... however... I'm sure that I could manage well on that kinda money :p

Little Gorilla
29-07-2006, 08:14
what about an incentive to feed till 6 months .. and an incentive to feed till 12 months.???

yep, great idea :rolleyes: - lets make the divide amongst breast feeding mums and FF mums even bigger. Lets pay breast feeding mums to stay home, but hey, FF mums can just go back to work because they don't want to stay at home with their bubs as much as BF mums do or they can still stay at home and not get paid because they are FF:rolleyes:

the_queen
29-07-2006, 08:30
Veve I think it's a great idea - I'd never thought of it like that, the government offers a payment to try to encourage vaccination, but if they also offered a payment to encourage breastfeeding then maybe a lot more women would choose to breastfeed (OBVIOUSLY SOME WOMEN HAVE THAT CHOICE TAKEN OUT OF THEIR HANDS, I WAS ONE OF THEM, NOBODY GET SNARKY AT ME :mad:) and the more breastfed babies there are, the less pressure on public health in the long run!

veve
29-07-2006, 08:41
Veve I think it's a great idea - I'd never thought of it like that, the government offers a payment to try to encourage vaccination, but if they also offered a payment to encourage breastfeeding then maybe a lot more women would choose to breastfeed

thats kinda what I meant queenie... that SAME AS THE VAX situation ... you could get exemptions... - non-vaxing parents can get the vax money --- if they get a letter of exemption from their drs.... the same could apply here.... if you have a medication condition that prevents you from feeding- or have tried all avenues (lactation consults... etc etc) and still not succeeded .. you could get an exemption - does that make sense???

there wouldn't be any discrimination .. just an encouragement to continue trying ... I gave my son formula... but still tried to give him a few bfeeds a day - I honestly didn't realise how awesome it would feel to reach the 6 month mark and still be feeding him twice a day .... (please dont get snarky bubbaganoush... I completely understand that women find feeding difficult,.... I cried every feed for the first three months... and I use formula myself... )

sopolicha
29-07-2006, 08:50
BEWARE THE WRATH OF THE BREASTFEEDERS!!! :)

Good point veve, but how **** are things when people need cash incentives to do the right thing? Think of the logistics, how would you prove you still bf. Maybe you would have to go to Centerlink or Medicare and pass the Breast Pump Test.

29-07-2006, 08:57
thats kinda what I meant queenie... that SAME AS THE VAX situation ... you could get exemptions... - non-vaxing parents can get the vax money --- if they get a letter of exemption from their drs.... the same could apply here.... if you have a medication condition that prevents you from feeding- or have tried all avenues (lactation consults... etc etc) and still not succeeded .. you could get an exemption - does that make sense???

there wouldn't be any discrimination .. just an encouragement to continue trying ...

:yelclap: :yelclap: That is a wonderful idea.

the_queen
29-07-2006, 09:04
BEWARE THE WRATH OF THE BREASTFEEDERS!!! :)

Good point veve, but how **** are things when people need cash incentives to do the right thing? Think of the logistics, how would you prove you still bf. Maybe you would have to go to Centerlink or Medicare and pass the Breast Pump Test.

LOL good point Sop. I guess you could just have to go to Centrelink/Medicare and stay for 4 or 5 hours straight... eventually the truth would be seen!!

veve
29-07-2006, 09:06
Maybe you would have to go to Centerlink or Medicare and pass the Breast Pump Test.

ROFL - oh FUNNY!!! **number 62 -- please proceed to desk number three... please ensure that you have your bottle.. containing a minimum of 150mls of fresh milk**

love the imagery sop. ... :laughing:

mummy always
29-07-2006, 09:11
I know this is the breastfeeding section and what I would have done to beable to breastfeed is endless - I just feel that having to be tested to beable to receive money from the government is really hard going....

I thought whilst being preggo and having 16 hemroids to deal with was bad (they were that bad I couldnt sit for the last 11 weeks of my pregnancy and had to have each one of em dosed with a local to try and relieve - didnt work), then because of these having to have a csection 2 weeks prior to my due date - which was quite painful but nothing prepared me for the hurt, disgust, humililation and let down I felt when I could not breastfeed my bub - what kind of mother was I - while all notices everywhere telling you breast is best and midwives pushing for you to breastfeed - I have inverted nipples but my ob didnt think it would be a problem (just to be sure I purchased a breast pump early on in my pregnancy and practiced expressing - trying to get nipples use to it - twice daily for a whole 9 nine months) and still nothing......

I had lactation consultant after lactation consultant come and try and fix my nipples, as all I wanted to do was be a perfect mother and provide the best for my new child, but nup - even after getting syringes (still in hospital) and cutting the tops off them and sucking my nipple out - dont get me wrong the midwives & lactation consultants were brilliant - we together where trying every method/every wives tale known to man or women in our case , well trying to get it out, it hurt so much but as I said I would have given anything to breastfeed my bub even once....

I know where you guys are coming from and please I am not getting snarky or anything like, I like reading this section as maybe there is someone out there that tried something completely diferent and got a very positive result, but just be a little more considerate for the ones that cant and as much it must be the most wonderful fullment there is as a mum, I have finally being able to come to peace with that and find joys from my children in other ways - dont take that away from us and have the government hassle us at such an awful time.....

Keep smiling

the_queen
29-07-2006, 09:21
Nikki, under Veve's governmental proposal :p you would still receive the payment, because you would have a medical certificate and documentation from LC's to say that you tried everything but in the end couldn't do it. I would still receive the payment for my first child, for the same reasons.

This is the BFing section, if us BFers can't be pro-BFing here, where can we be!!!???

On bubhub, some of us can't say anything pro-BFing without being told "you're making me feel guilty, I couldn't breastfeed, and here's an essay to explain why" :rolleyes:

veve
29-07-2006, 09:26
oh mummy always - that post is really well worded... much applause to you ... :yelclap:

I know that breastfeeding is extremely difficult.. I struggled with it so much that my DH was often in tears... and I ended up using formula - for at least some feeds.. and found that I loved my son much more once I introduced it .. (although I STILL loathe the bright red words written on the formula cans and bottles... :rolleyes: )

please remember that this is merely a hypothetical thread... a) we dont have the money b) we dont hvae the power to influence where the money goes (snigger... when do voters ever really hvae the chance to do that!??) and c) Labor isn't in power... and the chances of THAT happening are slim anyway ...

so lets just have a sense of humour about the issue... :D

desperatehousewife
29-07-2006, 09:29
On bubhub, some of us can't say anything pro-BFing without being told "you're making me feel guilty, I couldn't breastfeed, and here's an essay to explain why" :rolleyes:

I think everyone here should be able to voice their opinions, whether it be pro-BF or whether it be people who have had issues. It can be a heart-breaking decision for those who cannot BF and they should be heard. I do agree though that the people who are BF successfully should not be made to feel bad that they are happy, we are ALL women and we ALL have a common goal to want to do the best for our children, no matter how we go about things and in the scheme of things, how we choose to feed our children is very minor as opposed to the real-life lessons we teach them. It is interesting to see the debate that has opened up based on a "proposal", imagine what will happen if it all comes to fruition!

Pixie
29-07-2006, 09:30
There would be no way in hoo ha that i'd get my pert knockers out in a centerlink well not around here anyway!

Sheshh A centrelink person would have to come to me and monitor me in my environment to prove it lol

the_queen
29-07-2006, 09:34
I think everyone here should be able to voice their opinions, whether it be pro-BF or whether it be people who have had issues. It can be a heart-breaking decision for those who cannot BF and they should be heard. I do agree though that the people who are BF successfully should not be made to feel bad that they are happy, we are ALL women and we ALL have a common goal to want to do the best for our children, no matter how we go about things and in the scheme of things, how we choose to feed our children is very minor as opposed to the real-life lessons we teach them. It is interesting to see the debate that has opened up based on a "proposal", imagine what will happen if it all comes to fruition!

1. True, this is a forum where EVERYONE can voice their opinions, and I for one welcome that.

2. True, it is a heart-breaking decision when being forced to FF. I know from personal experience.

3. I disagree that how we feed our children is "minor".

veve
There would be no way in hoo ha that i'd get my pert knockers out in a centerlink well not around here anyway!

I'm sorry ... I think I must be hard of hearing... did you say PERT knockers???? PERT??? :laughing: :laughing: who the hell around here has PERT knockers... :laughing:

the_queen

Sheshh A centrelink person would have to come to me and monitor me in my environment to prove it lol

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

desperatehousewife
29-07-2006, 09:58
3. I disagree that how we feed our children is "minor".

I meant in terms of BF or FF. Whichever way we choose, it is a minor issue to focus on in comparison to other things we should be focusing on, such as their development, health, happiness and general well-being. The more women beat themselves up on the issue, the more stress it causes and this is not good for a baby, as they are very aware of when an adult is stressed and they take this stress on board themselves, which is not good for them.

Ana Gram
29-07-2006, 10:15
I'm sorry ... I think I must be hard of hearing... did you say PERT knockers???? PERT??? :laughing: :laughing: who the hell around here has PERT knockers... :laughing:

More like socks with tennis balls!

tickle
29-07-2006, 10:16
:laughing: Chelle.

Pixie
29-07-2006, 10:18
:p well mine are still the same FOR NOW come back in a few months perhaps they will be like dried T-bags :D I still wouldn't get em out at centrelink :laughing:

SilverStarfish
29-07-2006, 10:19
More like socks with tennis balls!

At this point, even tennis balls would be good. I've got more of a 'baseball in socks' look going on...:o

the_queen
29-07-2006, 10:21
I meant in terms of BF or FF. Whichever way we choose, it is a minor issue to focus on in comparison to other things we should be focusing on, such as their development, health, happiness and general well-being. The more women beat themselves up on the issue, the more stress it causes and this is not good for a baby, as they are very aware of when an adult is stressed and they take this stress on board themselves, which is not good for them.

I agree that stress is not good for babies or adults - but I still disagree with your implication that it doesn't matter that much whether baby is BF or FF. That kind of attitude promotes apathy towards BFing, and if a young, uneducated mother decides that it "doesn't matter" whether she BFs or not, then she may choose the 2nd best option for her baby.

When I focus on my baby's development, health, happiness and general well-being, breastfeeding is very important, nay, essential for all of those things. I am glad formula exists, or my daughter may have been fed something really unhealthy between the ages of 5 and 9 months. Formula is for surviving. Breastmilk is for thriving.

And you know what? I know what it's like to "beat myself up" about this issue. And I may be at a place in my life where I'm able to seem cynical about it. But I will repeat myself again: once I got counselling to deal with my grief, all the negative self-talk disappeared. If any person is beating themselves up internally for any reason, then there needs to be some assistance given to that person to move past the emotional block they are trapped by. The actual issue is irrelevant.

Pippi Longstocking
29-07-2006, 10:44
Queenie, you is very wise.
I agree with you - it does matter how a baby is fed. And we as a society need to acknowledge that. Not to "make" others feel bad or inferior, but to get the message across that it really shouldn't be a choice of convenience. I was raised on artificial baby milk - my dad had custody of me since I was three weeks old and he didn't lactate :p . I have no problems at all with formula feeding bubbas when there is a real need. But I do have a problem with women choosing a second rate food and denying their baby all of the health benefts that breastmilk offers.
Even if labor is using this idea as an election sweetener, they are quite clearly coming form the right place. maybe it won't happen, maybe it is an empty promise. But at least it gets the message out there that the labor government is pro breastfeeding and I think that that is important.

29-07-2006, 10:48
Perhaps some of the money can be given to workplaces to make them more breastfeeding friendly. (and to universities too :mad: )

I know there is some support out there, but the follow up support lacks. Me and Liam have been enjoying our breastfeeding relationship for 6 months now and we will soon be in the minority of "extended" breastfeeders. I would love some more support for this! We still have some difficulties re:latch with teething and nursing to sleep.

29-07-2006, 10:50
Formula is for surviving. Breastmilk is for thriving.

And you know what? I know what it's like to "beat myself up" about this issue. And I may be at a place in my life where I'm able to seem cynical about it. But I will repeat myself again: once I got counselling to deal with my grief, all the negative self-talk disappeared. If any person is beating themselves up internally for any reason, then there needs to be some assistance given to that person to move past the emotional block they are trapped by. The actual issue is irrelevant.

You know what i stayed out of this because in all honesty it is about Labour apparently promising money towards b/f which although sounds great its rather laughable when we all know they promise us the world but never give us anything come the time.
Anyways yes money is needed to promote b/f, yes money is needed to help more mothers b/f. It needs to be promoted as not breast is best as i say again as i have said before in other posts in previous threads "we get it already" we need it to be more serious like BG has said " do you need help ? not as easy as you thought ? " things like that because the reason many have felt guilt or continue to do so is that its assumed being natural it is "easy" or that it comes "naturally" when it doesnt for many many women. Then i think there needs to be the counselling afterwards if it does fail to help the mothers realise they are not to blame because im sorry there are many who do blame the mothers & many comments like " didnt stick with it because they are selfish " or the likes can be rather offensive as well as destructive. It also makes me wonder what they have wrong in their world to say such things as to upset or hurt others who are just trying their best. Not saying you have said things like this Queenie but they have been said by others. As you said you sought counselling & it helped you but this is something we lack in society as a whole counselling or support for whatever way we go. There needs to be support on both ends of the scale because many ff mothers are left high & dry without anything because they have switched.

Now the comment above is interesting because it would mean that no child bar those that are b/f are thriving, rather interesting to say such a thing because that would mean you feel your own daughter didnt thrive & wont do so. Sorry but thats rather degrading.

desperatehousewife
29-07-2006, 10:57
The-Queen, Norah Titov,

You are both misunderstanding my point. I am not implying that no thought should go into the matter of breastfeeding and that it plays no importance. What I am TRYING to get across that regardless of the choice made by the mother as to how to feed, the most important thing is that they are comfortable with THEIR choices and to not feel a bombardment of negativity. I know that if it was possible, EVERY mother would most likely breastfeed, as the positives are proven and I know that most mothers agree that this is the best form of nutrients for their baby at its early stages in life. However, this is unfortunately not the case and rather than feeling guilty, ashamed or somehow less of a mother, we should be sending a positive message to these mothers who for whatever the reason are formula feeding. It is not the be all and end all to life if you breast feed or not, me and my brothers are living proof of that as I am sure thousands of others are. I do not feel that just because I was a bottle-fed baby that I was any different to any breast-fed babies, in fact I was actually healthier than a lot of other babies and have had no health issues as an adult. I just want ALL mothers to feel comfortable with the choices they are making and not cross-question themselves.

Pippi Longstocking
29-07-2006, 11:07
You know what? I really don't think I am misunderstanding your point, I am just disagreeing with it.

I bottle fed my fourth bub from 5 months. I did that because the wrong info was out there, because people made me feel ok about it. I wish so much that there wasn't so much support to bottlefeed. I am ok about admitting I made the wrong choice. I'm ok about feeling bad about about doing that to Luke. I'm fine with the pro breastfeeding message because it is RIGHT!

I resent this attitude that we cannot speak the truth for fear of "making other's feel bad". What is a forum for if not sharing our ideas and our views? When I read of others doing things differently to me, I do not take that as a personal attack. I am at peace with my decisions and I am fine about being challenged on them. Guilt comes from within, no one can impose that on you.

desperatehousewife
29-07-2006, 11:17
You know what? I really don't think I am misunderstanding your point, I am just disagreeing with it.

I bottle fed my fourth bub from 5 months. I did that because the wrong info was out there, because people made me feel ok about it. I wish so much that there wasn't so much support to bottlefeed. I am ok about admitting I made the wrong choice. I'm ok about feeling bad about about doing that to Luke. I'm fine with the pro breastfeeding message because it is RIGHT!

I resent this attitude that we cannot speak the truth for fear of "making other's feel bad". What is a forum for if not sharing our ideas and our views? When I read of others doing things differently to me, I do not take that as a personal attack. I am at peace with my decisions and I am fine about being challenged on them. Guilt comes from within, no one can impose that on you.

See this my point exactly, why are you feeling bad about bottle feeding, why do you think the choice was wrong? Because you are being bombarded by people telling you that you are not doing right by your child? I feel exactly the way you do about everyone being able to share their ideas, in fact that was what I wrote in one of my initial posts! You are contraditcting yourself by saying you feel bad about what you are doing to your son and yet you say you are at peace with your decision. I don't understand.......To be honest I don't think you have really read my posts properly or else you would see that I am not biased on either front, I simply want people to be comfortable with their decisions, which is what i keep repeating in each post but somehow people are making up their own dialogue of what they think i am saying. I am all for breast-feeding, i am a breast feeder and once again I agree that it is the best choice....IF it is a possible one. If it isn't, then I think mothers should not feel bad as you did for needing to or choosing to bottle feed.

~Emmylou~
29-07-2006, 11:28
Allyoo is right. The support is just not there in the way it has to be and if they're going to be throwing money at the ABA I sincerely hope that is where it goes.

I was evicted from hospital before my baby was breastfeeding properly (she was early). I was not given lactation support from the hospital after I left. I contacted the ABA twice and was basically told to "stick with it, you can do it". I need better than that when I have been struggling for two weeks to get my baby to feed properly.

Eventually we worked it out by ourselves, but not after tremendous stress and angst for both of us. No thanks whatsoever to the ABA. If I have problems with this baby I woudn't waste my breath contacting them again. I get better advice from people I know online so they would be my first point of call next time.

I'm sure many people have found them helpful but for me they were totally useless.

Tisme
29-07-2006, 11:46
OK I'm going to stick my head out there on the chopping block and say yes it's vote grabbing - for most ..... but for me it won't make me vote for him cos with $2mil I believe we will end up with more "breast feeding" ads that make us bottle feeders feel like ****.

I do agree best is best, and I whole heartedly believe that women should be educated about this point BUT not to the expense of those who don't WANT to bf, or CAN'T bf or HAVE to go back to work and their jobs don't SUPPORT bf.

It is a ploy to get on the good side of those who have majority power in the household .... the women. Cos whether we are acknowledged for it or not .... Men are the head which we the NECKS turn to OUR tune.

Pippi Longstocking
29-07-2006, 12:15
Desperatehousewife, I'm not contradicting myself at all! It is possible to feel that I made the wrong choice but be at peace with it. It's ok to make mistakes, learn from them and move on. I feel bad about it because I made the wrong choice. Not a contradiction, it's just a learning thing.

tickle
29-07-2006, 12:18
I am really surprised by the way so many people think that a positive for breastfeeding is somehow a negative for mothers who formula feed. I really struggle to understand this. Yes breast is best, but if you can't breastfeed formula feeding is obviously the next best thing. There are many emotions that surround issues like this but I think things need to be looked at from a different angle sometimes. Just because you couldn't breastfeed doesn't mean that someone who is pro breastfeeding is anti formula feeding and vice versa.
I don't know whether you can compare but I wanted a natural birth as I knew, through much research, that this was the safest option. I was then told I needed a c/section, did some more research and found that this was now the safest option with my complications. I was upset that I couldn't have a natural birth, and was concerned about the emotional impact on my baby but that's just how it had to be. I have dealt with it, it's what happened so that's that. I don't believe that threads that are pro natural birth is out to make c/section mums feel bad. If you need to formula feed to keep your baby alive and healthy then that's what you have to do. I'm not saying that women shouldn't have any emotion in regards to not being able to breastfeed, but just that no one is out to make them feel bad by being pro breastfeeding.

shed
29-07-2006, 13:02
I am pro-breastfeeding but i don't know if I can do it yet because I haven't had my baby yet, so hopefully I can be seen as being neutral.

I can tell you one thing, I will give it a really good go and if I can't do it or don't want to do it anymore for whatever reason then I am not going to feel bad about it. I will still be pro-breastfeeding though. Just because you don't do it doesn't make you anti.

It would be nice if there was a nice lady who was paid to come around and see me if I was having trouble, because I really would like to give it a really good go, but I agree that the money would probably be spent towards lame TV ads.

desperatehousewife
29-07-2006, 16:02
I will still be pro-breastfeeding though. Just because you don't do it doesn't make you anti.

I agree with you exactly.

xkwzit
29-07-2006, 16:19
Lets keep to the topic, this should not be a BF/FF debate, this is abotu a promise of money and what might be done with it.

I think Shed's point is very good:
IF Labour gets in (or should I say if the Liberals LOSE the next election), and
IF the money is actually paid...

I would like to see it go to making sure there are more ppl on the ground with new mothers to PHYSICALLY help them out. The ABA is staffed by volunteers, who are mothers themselves with a home to run and are on call in their own time. Some of these women have never had a problem BFing, so are perhaps not equipped to deal with those of us who had serious technical difficulties. I saw an LC every week for the first 12 - 13 weeks of DD1's life, some women would not have been able to afford this. There need to be more LC, especially in rural areas and they need to be accessable to everyone, regardless of their financial situation.

melfunction
29-07-2006, 16:35
Well, hasn't this thread gone to sh!t?

In keeping with the OP......................................

In all honesty, I see it as another vote grabbing stunt. Kim Beazley hasn't got a hope of winning the next election.

Kudos for trying another angle though Kimmy.

xkwzit
29-07-2006, 16:38
Ah KM, Kim doesn't need to win, not if Howard loses...no one ever wins an election, the gov in power loses (gosh I'm cycnical this arvy)

But I digress...back to the topic

~Emmylou~
29-07-2006, 17:07
I would like to see it go to making sure there are more ppl on the ground with new mothers to PHYSICALLY help them out. The ABA is staffed by volunteers, who are mothers themselves with a home to run and are on call in their own time. Some of these women have never had a problem BFing, so are perhaps not equipped to deal with those of us who had serious technical difficulties. I saw an LC every week for the first 12 - 13 weeks of DD1's life, some women would not have been able to afford this. There need to be more LC, especially in rural areas and they need to be accessable to everyone, regardless of their financial situation.

:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

I know I wasn't in the financial position to afford an LC at the time, even though I knew about them. We just had to struggle through on our own, the whole time with my mother in my ear telling me to give her a bottle - it's very hard to resist that pressure when you're not sure what you're doing as it is and you have no one to show you. Eventually we came good with no support whatsoever really but I certainly don't think any less of anyone who was not so lucky.

This is such a complex issue - the reasons women don't continue with breastfeeding are a lot more involved than many people realise. And it is not so black and white as breastmilk being the best thing for babies, nor so easily solved by throwing 2 million bucks at the problem :rolleyes:

shed
29-07-2006, 17:34
Although I don't vote anyway. I am not an australian citizen and I have been out of NZ for too long to be eligible there either.

Limbo land. Lumbo lend.

None of them want my opinion anyway so I guess me and my boobs are on our own.

Anyway, tangent.

If I was to get a lactation consultant, where would I start? It doesn't have to be free, we can pay for it, I just don't know where to look.

I started to read a book on it but the first five chapters were spouting about the benefits of it and I was like yeah yeah just tell me HOW not why.

Nickster
29-07-2006, 19:42
Well, well, sopolicha, look at the monster you've created...what do you have to say for yourself young lady?

(Don't worry, I think I know the answer :p )

xkwzit
29-07-2006, 19:44
Hi Shed
Your hospital should have a list of LC (mine had one by location), also a pro BF paed would have access to some contact names (my paed had 3 LC working out of his rooms), again the hospital should be able to point you in the right direction of a sympathetic paed if they don't already have a list of LC.

I didn't read books about BF and with my particular problems, it prob wouldn't have helped. An LC could tell me exactly what I was doing wrong and go through a few different things to change it.