View Full Version : What are you doing for your kids lunchbox?

nsmonkey
25-01-2010, 17:12
As this is my first year sending a child to school. I am just in need of some ideas for school lunches.

Does this sound alright?

Week 1:
chocolate cupcakes with icing (will be freezing)
home made dried banana chips

Week 2:
lamington squares
rolled oats and apricot cookies

Week 3:
homemade lcms
mini quiches

Week 4:
marble cake
scones with jam

In DS1's lunchbox there will also be:
water
popper
sandwich with either bread or bread roll
museli bar
apple/banana/grapes/orange
fruit bar
le snack (biccies and dip)
biscuits

MummaBear03
25-01-2010, 17:45
DD has a sandwich container and 2 snack containers in her lunch box each day, as well as a yoghurt.

In her sandwich box she either has a wrap, cut in halves to fit, a sandwich, a salad, some home made vegetarian sushi, or something along those lines.

In one snack container she has a couple of pieces of fruit cut up. I know she's old enough to eat an apple, etc, but it's nice to have a variety of fruit made into a fruit salad, and she's missing 4 teeth at the front (the top 2 and the bottom 2) and has another wobbly tooth lol.

In the other snack box she had whatever we've baked on the weekend, which could include sweet or savoury muffins, scones, biscuits, pikelets, cupcakes and so on, or she could have vegetable sticks, olives, cheese, etc, or she could have saos or similar with vegemite, cream cheese, or cheese and avocado.

She never has the same thing 2 days in a row :D

Almost forgot to add that she has a water bottle, I don't put juice or anything in for her, and I don't use packaged foods like muesli bars, but we do make our own muesli slide sometimes with limited sugar and no preservatives or other added nasties.

nsmonkey
25-01-2010, 18:20
I also forgot to mention will be putting in a yoghurt. :)

crazymuma
25-01-2010, 19:31
Yay I was hoping someone would start a thread like this to help me out a little.

My son doesn't eat fruit and can't have dairy so I always struggle with lunchbox ideas.

Homemade LCMs - how would I make those - kids love them but they are too expensive to buy.

Any ideas (and recipes if needed) would be great.

pinkandblue
26-01-2010, 07:02
[/B]chocolate cupcakes with icing (will be freezing)
[/B]lamington squares
marble cake

Is he going to a party? Or is he going to school? I think you'll find a lot of schools have a no junk food policy and they only like you to send healthy food.

Is he a big eater? You are sending a lot of things and kids just want to play at lunch time, not sitting there eating the whole time.

museli bar, fruit bar, le snack (biccies and dip), biscuits - Only 1 of these is enough each day.

Blueberry Crumble
26-01-2010, 07:08
LOL How times have changed!! In my lunch box I used to get a vegemite sandwich, an apple and a few biscuits ! Every single day!

Pina Colada
26-01-2010, 07:52
DD1's lunchbox this week will have:

A savoury muffin (made with polenta, bacon, cheese and corn)
Home made pikelets
Cheese stick
Carrot sticks and jatz with cream cheese to dip
Rockmelon in cubes
An apple
Home made custard

Other things I use at other times are, pretzels, boiled eggs, yoghurt, sandwiches, saos, cherry tomatoes, and she loves salad.

WorkingClassMum
26-01-2010, 08:00
nsmonkey - I think you *might* be putting a bit too much into the lunch box

Firstly, most schools have a water only policy - so keep the fruit juice/poppers for home consumption.

I'd also avoid the 'cakey' foods - a lot of schools actively promote healthy eating and cakes are labelled 'sometimes/treat' foods

Kids get 2 'playtimes' and lunch time, and they generally don't eat during the afternoon play

I'd have only two snacks, one of those being fruit and a sandwich/salad/wrap for lunch.

If i overload my kids lunch box a lot gets wasted.

My kids eat a banana on the way to school, they get a healthy carb. snack, an apple/grapes and a sandwich, and sometimes not all that gets eaten. They always have a museli bar in their bag too incase they have a hungry day.

Kids are home by 4ish, and then they are often hungry - at school they are often too distracted to eat

Good luck :goodvibes:

Blueberry Crumble
26-01-2010, 08:13
But what if they are healthy cakes and muffins? I often make chocolate muffins with very little sugar and I had LSA (Linseed, sunflower and almond meal) and grated zucchini and carrot to my cakey things

AM
26-01-2010, 08:14
I'm starting off with crackers and homemade hummus, apple or banana, small bag with sliced cucumber/carrot/celery, water bottle, sandwich with lettuce and cheese or ham and cheese.

Our school has a 'no junk food policy' in their lunches, as well as water ony.

Other stuff I pop in there every now and then is
popcorn
salami sticks
mini baby bell cheeses
pineapple pieces, kiwifruit pieces
Museli bars
anzac biscuits or other plainish biccies
homemade banana loaf
occasionally corn chips
Cut up orange
grapes
nuts - macadamia/cashew/almonds/dried coconut
watermelon
pear
boiled egg

AM
26-01-2010, 08:15
But what if they are healthy cakes and muffins? I often make chocolate muffins with very little sugar and I had LSA (Linseed, sunflower and almond meal) and grated zucchini and carrot to my cakey things

Yeah, healthy cakes and muffins are fine... My zucchini and parmesan muffins are to die for!! :)

loving6
26-01-2010, 08:49
s

nuts - macadamia/cashew/almonds/dried coconut

boiled egg

Most schools have a no nuts policy and some have a no egg policy.

AM
26-01-2010, 08:50

Not my school...I've sent those things all last year...

Mathermy
26-01-2010, 09:00
As this is my first year sending a child to school. I am just in need of some ideas for school lunches.

Does this sound alright?

Week 1:

Week 2:
lamington squares

Week 3:
homemade lcms
mini quiches

Week 4:
marble cake
scones with jam

water
popper
museli bar
fruit bar
biscuits

You know your children and their individual appetites best & ditto the lunchbox policy at your child's school, I think I will be giving DD a portable version of what she eats at home (which is also a considerable amount for someone so teeny, but she never sits still!:laughing:).

Good luck, it is our first day tomorrow too! :goodvibes:

loving6
26-01-2010, 09:07
In my children lunch boxes contain a selection of some of these......

sandwich's (made and frozen in advance)
bacon and cheese rolls
cheese and Vegemite scrolls.
pizza rolls (homemade)
Wraps
toasties (wraped in foil)
salads
pasta ( in a flask)
pasta salad
Muffins
Rice
soups in a flask (older children)
left over in a flask
Cheese bites/ sticks
ham/ devon squares
cherry tomato's
mini cucumbers
mini capsicums
fruit of all kind
vegs ( carrots, capsicums etc)
cookies
scones
pancakes
any other baking i do.
homemade dried fruit (mango )
going to try to make my own healthy roll ups.

If I think of any more I will come back.

JiminyCricket
26-01-2010, 09:08

Week 4:
marble cake
scones with jam

water
popper
museli bar
fruit bar
biscuits

I am not sure how much your child eats but to me it sounds like a bit much for one school day.
You may find that they wont get the time to eat all of that.

Also I think muelsi bar,fruit bar,biscuits and cakes are all much the same thing , they really only need one of these things.

My stepsons are 6 and 8 and they have in thier lunch...

Sandwich with egg/lettuce, tuna/salad, vegemite/cheese
Tub of yogurt
Apple/banana or grapes
Small box of sultanas
Container with dry biscuits and cheese

Sometimes I will swap the biccies and cheese for celery/cheese/carrot sticks with a little tiny tub of mayo for dipping.

Usually they dont get enough time to eat all of that because they eat indoors for 10 mins then they go out and play, they are allowed to take small things out side like the sultanas or piece of fruit.

Also our school has 'brain food' time in the morning and they have to have fruit or dried fruit only.

I would make the juice for a special treat only not a daily thing , water is fine.

delirium
26-01-2010, 09:09
DD is going to school this year and I'm wondering what to pack her too. It seems the list of can't haves is much longer than the list of can haves now. I understand the banning of eggs and nuts for allergic kids but it really gets my goat how the school tries to dictate anything else.

Basically it's fruit or a sandwich. That gets pretty boring. If I want to send MY child with a little packet of biscuits or a piece of cake I should be able to. Things are really getting OTT with food.

loving6
26-01-2010, 09:21
DD is going to school this year and I'm wondering what to pack her too. It seems the list of can't haves is much longer than the list of can haves now. I understand the banning of eggs and nuts for allergic kids but it really gets my goat how the school tries to dictate anything else.

Basically it's fruit or a sandwich. That gets pretty boring. If I want to send MY child with a little packet of biscuits or a piece of cake I should be able to. Things are really getting OTT with food.

:iagree: It drives my crazy. Well more crazy than I normally am.:laughing:

nsmonkey
26-01-2010, 13:10
I have throught thr prospectus book and it doesn't say anything about what type of food to bring, healthy etc.

DS1 seems to eat a fair bit when at home, and at kindy hes use to getting 3 meals.

Their morning tea is for 45mins and their lunch is for 30mins.

My son is really fussy, just like his father when it comes to the "healthier" types of foods. I would rather him eat then statve himself all day.

Pina Colada
26-01-2010, 13:45

I haven't come across a school with this policy yet (and with our uncertain movements, I have enrolled DD1 in ALOT of schools...)

Daycare and kindys, yes, but have never seen a school yet (I'm not saying there aren't any, just I don't think it is a case of 'most')

loveshack
26-01-2010, 15:50
[QUOTE=nsmonkey;4429825]As this is my first year sending a child to school. I am just in need of some ideas for school lunches.

Does this sound alright?

Week 1:

Week 4:
marble cake
scones with jam

How do you make dried banana chips at home?I really love them,and so does DD.We usually buy them at Asian stores.Could you share the recipe please?:)
Does anyone find scones easier to make than cakes?They don't require much effort at all :yes:

delirium
26-01-2010, 15:56
How do you make dried banana chips at home?I really love them,and so does DD.We usually buy them at Asian stores.Could you share the recipe please?:)

Yes, please share how you do it!!

nsmonkey
26-01-2010, 16:00
With the banana just slice them up thinly and put them in the oven, 220 degrees celsius. Takes about 20mins, just flip them half way through, when they are ready they should be crisp.

I made bacon and cheese scones today.
3 cups of SR flour, rub 80gms butter into it. Make a well, put in 1 cup of milk (a little bit more may be needed), stir with a butter knife.
Put all onto a flour board and knead it. Then flatten it out to about 2.5cms thick and cut anyway you like.

I put the bacon and cheese in once I rubbed the butter in and before I put the milk in. Simple. :)

Fuchsia!
26-01-2010, 16:10
LOL How times have changed!! In my lunch box I used to get a vegemite sandwich, an apple and a few biscuits ! Every single day!

Haha me too.

Ok usually DS take 2-3 pieces of fruit. Anything like grapes, strawberries, cut up orange, apple ect.

Then he will have one cake thing like banana muffins, scones or plain cake.

I usually bake a couple of cakes and 2 batches of banana muffins and wrap them individually and freeze them. Then in the morning i just pop them in the lunchbox, by recess they are defrosted.

He usually has something like sliced carrot sticks and cheese sticks or a piece of cheese. Also has sometimes tin peaches.

For a treat on a friday he gets a packet of plain chips.

he only has water too.

I sometimes slice up oranges and wrap them individually and freeze them. he loves frozen or cold oranges.

I also make pancakes sometimes and freeze them too, and when i go to maccas i get the little jam satchels and chuck it in there for his lunch.

Sometimes we make museli bars too, just rolled oats and pour over a tin of condensed milk and bake it. Super easy and super cheap.

We stick to a preservative and additive free diet and his behaviour is awesome.

pinkishbunny
26-01-2010, 16:29
Cordial or Juice
Vegemite Sandwich or a cheese and bacon roll
LCM's
Little bags of chips
Banana
Apple
Strawberries
Grape's
Muffins
or maybe a lunch order
roll up
Tuna (the lil ones) anything like that you can throw in

LizzardLover
26-01-2010, 20:24
At my DD's school they only get about 10 - 15 mins to eat their lunch and about 5 mins for snack time, so I don't send her much because it comes home not eaten! They have to eat in the classroom and are then allowed out to play once done eating.

I usually give her a peice of fruit (they have a fruit snack break with no play time mid morning), water, sandwich, and a small amount of something like biscuits or chips or a little cake or museli bar or something. She then gets a snack when she comes home from school also.

Also DD's school requests no nuts due to allergies (my DD is anaphylactic to nuts) and they don't like you sending things other than water for drinks.

Refresh
26-01-2010, 21:00
I am going to try your banana chips NS :D

Jax, your muesli bars sound super easy, I will keep those in mind....I guess you could add anything you wanted really?

Tomorrow my boys are each having :

2 water bottles
Plum
Pear
Salad sandwich or pita bread - haven't decided yet. 2 of these for DS1 who is nearly 10.
Gluten free pikelets
Maybe a muesli bar for a treat.

Good luck to J for tomorrow - and to mummy :hugs:

twotrunks
26-01-2010, 22:28
The first year can be really tough... you should check out the "go for your life" website. They have lots of great info, and even an interactive lunchbox planner, which tells you how your choices add up.
The basic idea is to have a main course (eg.sandwich), water, and 3 snacks, one for fruit break, one for recess, and one for luchtime (or recess).
It can be easy to send too much casue you think they will be starving, and often they will be, but they just don 't get time to play if they are stuck in the classroom or undercover area finishing their food.
I would suggest sutting back on the treats, and just sending fuel for their bodies :)

TT

MummaBear03
26-01-2010, 22:59
I haven't come across a school with this policy yet (and with our uncertain movements, I have enrolled DD1 in ALOT of schools...)

Daycare and kindys, yes, but have never seen a school yet (I'm not saying there aren't any, just I don't think it is a case of 'most')

Schools cannot implement a nut free policy. Childcare centres and some kindergartens can, sometimes they can in the Prep area (or similar for other states/territories) but they can't enforce it, they can just send notes home asking parents to please comply.

JabberJaw
26-01-2010, 23:09
I just packed my kids lunch! THey have;

Chicken and Salad sandwich
Carrot and cucumber sticks
Cheese blocks and bikkes (jatz)
An apple
Muffin (we baked)
A pack of roasted broad beans
Some Chic nuts
and a bottle of frozen water....

Oh and a little ice brick :D to keep the sandwich fresh.

biscotti
26-01-2010, 23:18
Only 1 of my 4 is off to school tomorrow.

She has -
- a bottle of water
- two nectarines
- a fat piece of watermelon
- some cherry toms
- some capsicum strips and little pot of sour cream for dipping
- and a salad wrap that I will make fresh in the morning

Pina Colada
31-01-2010, 15:12
Schools cannot implement a nut free policy. Childcare centres and some kindergartens can, sometimes they can in the Prep area (or similar for other states/territories) but they can't enforce it, they can just send notes home asking parents to please comply.

Ah-ha! I see! Thanks :)

1+1=5
31-01-2010, 15:28
ours does so no boiled eggs, no mini quiches, no egg sandwiches, no handfuls of nuts or nut bars. its annoying (esp when i forget and i get a note) but there are kids with anaphelaxis (sp?) so i'm happy to comply. the school also has a no junk policy which i think is fantastic, it means that my kids won't be wanting the junk that other kids get to have.

i always have a couple of pieces of season fruit. during winter it gets tricky so i use dried fruit instead. Owen will get a sandwich of some form and some veggies sticks (Lebanese cucumber, red and yellow capsicum and carrots).

Noah is a bit easier as they still have fridges at daycare so he has cheese and greek yogurt with apples or grapes to sweeten (which he LOVES). he also loves hommus (bless :goodvibes:) so i make it from scratch and include some rice crackers to dip.

faroutbrusselsprout
31-01-2010, 15:45
DS1 takes -
Tuna and salad sandwich/wrap/roll
OR
Pasta salad
OR
Rice Salad
OR
Leftovers, Quiche H/M pizza, pasta, etc
etc

Seaweed crackers?Vegie sticks and homemade dip
OR
Homemade muffin/cake/loaf/slice (sweet or savoury)
OR
Tin of corn and four bean mix

Piece of fruit and water...

I GASP at some of the lunch boxs I have seen when helping out last year.....

honeydew
31-01-2010, 15:53
There are so many great ideas in this thread!

I thought I'd share what my kids take to kindergarten & daycare even though they aren't school age yet.

DS - 3.5 years
-2 sandwiches
-tin of tuna
-yoghurt
-homemade mini muffins (usually blueberry or similar)
-banana (rarely gets eaten but I like to include it anyway)
- will also include either a couple of arrowroot or scotch finger biscuits for a treat, or some crackers with vegemite. In the past I have given him cut up raw vegies and a mini philli cheese tub but he would never eat it anyway
-water only

DD - 12 months
-sandwich
-banana
-a container with cut up pears/peaches/apples and will always include a handful of fresh blueberries- her fave
-yoghurt
-2 homemade mini muffins
-water only

Lastcenturymum
31-01-2010, 16:06
I agree it sounds like a lot of food, but you may mean you will rotate some of those items at the bottom.

Personally I would avoid anything sticky, like icing or jam.

I think about 4 items is enough. Most kids will gravitate to what is sweet first and could leave the other - but it depends on their usual taste and diet.

Most schools start preps off by eating lunch in the classroom otherwise they would just play and forget to eat!

Like a PP, I was a vegemite or peanut butter sandwich eater with some savoury biscuits and a couple of sweet ones! I don't think Mum wasted sending fruit as it would get swapped or not eaten, she supervised that at home.

Biscotti, that sounds a super yummy lunch and reminds me of my DD's when she was off yeast, wheat, dairy and sugar.

Imsooverit
02-02-2010, 13:47
Sometimes we make museli bars too, just rolled oats and pour over a tin of condensed milk and bake it. Super easy and super cheap.

I've made a million different museli bars which all get pushed back at me. DD will eat every ingredient raw as she helps me make it (including the rolled oats), but not together cooked :rolleyes:. Thankfully DH likes them.

How long do you bake your museli bar (I'm assuming at 180 temp)?

delirium
02-02-2010, 14:12
I bought some white marshmellows and rice bubbles today to make our own homemade LCM's. While the marshmellows still have sugar they are colour and preservative free, as are the ricebubbles, so much more healthy than bought LCM's and about a quarter of the price.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Is anyone elses school doing the Crunch and Sip Program where they have to bring fruit and a clear water bottle where they have it in class seperate to recess?

Mathermy
02-02-2010, 14:14
I bought some white marshmellows and rice bubbles today to make our own homemade LCM's. While the marshmellows still have sugar they are colour and preservative free, as are the ricebubbles, so much more healthy than bought LCM's and about a quarter of the price.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Is anyone elses school doing the Crunch and Sip Program where they have to bring fruit and a clear water bottle where they have it in class seperate to recess?

Yep Del, they call it fruit stop at our school :)

where did you get the marshmallows? DD would think I was so cool if I learnt to make those:laughing:

delirium
02-02-2010, 14:17
Just at the supermarket.I got the pascal ones, just white. When I was doing a partial failsafe diet someone on here said white marshmellows are preservative and colour free.

I haven't made them but apparently you just heat and melt the mellows and mix with the rice bubbles then set in a container and cut up once set. Yum Yum!!

Refresh
02-02-2010, 14:19
Yep, they call it 'Munch n Crunch' at our school but I think only the preppies do it. Great idea :yes:

delirium
02-02-2010, 14:21
Yep, they call it 'Munch n Crunch' at our school but I think only the preppies do it. Great idea :yes:

DD eats heaps of fruit and drinks water anyway, but yep it's a great idea :D It's a shame it is taken thru to year 6.

MountainGirl
09-02-2010, 19:45
Hmmm,..I would be wary of the 'cakey' items,.. lots of sugar and short term energy,...

I sent Lottie off today with

Hommous with carrot sticks
seasoned seaweed
handful of fresh lychees
rice/seaweed crackers with french brie
edamame beans (japanese soy beans in the pod)
grated carrot, cheese & sultana on rye mountain bread
yogurt and fruit clusters
dried cranberries
salami stick
bottle of water

nothing came home!

delirium
09-02-2010, 19:49
I can't believe how much some people's kids eat :eek:

Today I sent:

white grapes
homemade LCM slice
cheese and bickies
a roast beef roll

MountainGirl
09-02-2010, 19:51
I can't believe how much some people's kids eat :eek:

Today I sent:

white grapes
homemade LCM slice
cheese and bickies
a roast beef roll

My kids eat a lot! lol,... at school anyway,.. then not terribly much for dinner,.. tonight my son ate a steamed zucchini and some broccoli and some blackberries from the garden and that was it!

drewid
09-02-2010, 19:55
My DS gets a sandwich, muesli bar, little cubes of cheese, rice crackers and a piece of fruit. He is a big eater at home, not so much at school - I often get cheese and crackers still in the lunchbox at the end of the day.

delirium
09-02-2010, 19:59
My DD can eat like a bird. Although she came home and had an apple and more grapes then ate her tea too.

JiminyCricket
10-02-2010, 12:07

Yep they call it BRAIN FOOD at our school.

~Candy~
10-02-2010, 12:17
I LOVE the idea of having water and a piece of fruit IN the classroom outside of recess. My kids school does this (depending on the teacher...however I think it should be done in ALL classes). This is the ONLY way my son will eat fruit.

In the lunchbox we have- sandwiches using multigrain bread, biscuits and dip, salami stick, k-time twist bar, pieces of watermelon, cheese on jatz, carrot sticks, brunch bars, frozen yoghurt sticks, muffins, hawian breadroll thingys lol, dried apricots, sultanas.....not all at once ofcourse, but that is the main variety I have throughout the week.

12-02-2010, 15:31
Hayley and Skye have:

Fruit (banana/apple/sultanas or whatever we have in the fridge or fruit bowl)
mueli bars
maybe some carrot sticks
sandwich with vegemite/cheese and vegemite/ cheese/cheese spread/cheese and lettuce
water (occasionally I might give them juice)
yogurt

I am not allowed to pack them unhealthy things.

delirium
12-02-2010, 15:34
yep are you in WA? my girls have the crunch n sip. i think its a brilliant idea!

no, nsw :D

OJandMe
12-02-2010, 15:36
My boys are little piggies..

lol.

In there liunchbox today we had
- mortadella and cheese sandwich
- yogurt
- 2 thick watermelon slices
- museli bar
- cupcake
- 100% juice popper
- vegemite crackers
- and of course, their water bottle.

They usually have
- 2 pieces of fruit
- some sort of 'wet' item (be it custard, yogurt, creamed rice, sago or jelly)
- double crackers or 2 rice cakes with a topping (jam, vegemite, honey)
- fruit juice
- sandwich
and depending on the other special item...sometimes it's a museli bar, at the moment I'm using up the cupcakes left over from their birthday, sometimes it's carrot, capsicum and cheese sticks, sometimes it's a homemade pizza scroll, or spinach and ricotta twist, or a snap bag with some bocconchi and cherry tomatoes..

it all depends.

3'llhavetodo
12-02-2010, 15:39
Our school has a fruit break then lunch then a recess. They advised to put lots of small things in so I've been putting in things like:
Sandwiches, fresh and toasted
Wraps, fresh and toasted,
baked beans
tuna
fruit couscous- super easy equal parts couscous and boiling water and what ever fruit :yelclap:
yoghurt that I froze the night before-I learnd the hard way put it in a well sealed container as the first time I did the lid split and went all over his food :o
muffins
cruskets
a piece of fruit, cut up fruit salad
a marinated cooked chicken tenderloin
mini pizza
mini queches(?sp)
home made slices and bikkies
pieces of carrot, celery cheese cut up maybe with a little home made dip
corn and silverside fritters

that's it thus far but I'll keep adding as I create them

delirium
12-02-2010, 15:40
Wow you're boys certainly have a healthy appetite OJ :laughing: Has someone posted a homemade museli bar recipe yet? Too lazy to look :o

crazymuma
12-02-2010, 20:17
Well its official - my child has the most boring lunchbox out of everyone.

He takes a sandwich (vegemite, jam or nutella)
A muesli bar
Dry crackers and cheese or popcorn
Sweet biscuit or pikelet

Oh and a bottle of water.

MummaBear03
12-02-2010, 20:33
Today she had:
2 fruits (she's got little round containers with screw top lids that are perfect)
apple
banana
wrap with avocado, lettuce, cucumber, spinach and capsicum

tomtom
14-02-2010, 00:28
Great Ideas girls.
My son's a shocker he has

1 half vegemite sandwhich
1 half peanut butter sandwhich every day(will not have anything else in sandwhiches)
yoghurt
mini cupcake
little bag of rice crackers or tiny teddies
banana(comes back most times) will not eat any other fruit
1/2 apple juice 1/2 water in drink bottle

It's very frustrating when there are so many wonderful healthy options.

We do the healthy snack drink thing in the morning too at school, but I don't think they call it anything.

Also what measurment for rolled oats to condensed milk for muesli bar and marshmellow to rice bubble ratio for homemade LCM?
Would love to try these tomorrow!

:skywriter:

mysonroger
14-02-2010, 00:57

Does this sound alright?

Week 1:

Week 2:
lamington squares

Week 3:
homemade lcms
mini quiches

Week 4:
marble cake
scones with jam

water
popper
museli bar
fruit bar
biscuits

sorry, but most of that sounds really unhealthy to me. our school has no junkfood policies and alot of what you listed wouldn't pass the restrictions laid out for us . (incredibly, some parents ignore the rules anyway). not that my kids don't eat cakes, just not something i would pack in a lunchbox or introduce on a daily level.

but your school maybe different.

my kids get only wholemeal/multigrain bread sandwich with two vegies , some cheese and cold meat or tuna, a piece of fruit and a bottle of water. i have to be careful of how often i give them ham for its high salt contents.

when they've been good at eating their dinner at home they occasionally have tuck shop.

Jesska
14-02-2010, 07:58
Yeah, healthy cakes and muffins are fine... My zucchini and parmesan muffins are to die for!!

Could I please get you recipe for these, they sound yummy, and we have zucchinis growing:goodvibes:

NSMonkey Im gunna try the banana chips, thanks :D

DS1 has started kinder this year, and I send with him.

For snack time:
Fruit - watermelon, strawberries and apples cut up in a little container.
Cheese Stick
Yoghurt
bottle of water.

For Lunch:
Sandwich with either vegemite and cheese, ham and cheese or watever he asks for.
Saltanas
saladas
bottle of water.

last week i threw in some mini pancakes.
this is an awesome thread, giving me some ideas :)

DALLASMUM
15-02-2010, 14:33

Wow interesting....... my kids are 11 and 12 and our school has sent home notes asking for no nuts.... and i got in trouble for sending dry fruit, coz its bad for there teeth Grrrr i was really angry about that coz parents bring in hungry jack and maccas for there kids but i cant send nuts and dried fruit.-

edamame beans (japanese soy beans in the pod)

were do you get these.... i have been looking everywere.... they are high protien and great for you but i havent seen them anywere???

My kids get an sandwich or two my eldest is 12 with ham or roast chicken lettuce and mayo, maybe pasta salad or homemade fried rice, tossed chicken salad, fruit, yogurt,custard, cherry tomatos. they usually have a homemade baked treat, a bottle of water. they also have a peice of fruit every arvo after school.

i cook my kids breakfast everyday to, poached eggs on soy and linseed toast..... they have baby spinach under there egg. i find this keeps them less hungry during the day:)