View Full Version : How can I help bring income into this house?

nsmonkey
20-01-2010, 11:06
DH's ute decided to sh!t itself yesterday, hes not getting paid by his boss coz his boss hasn't been paid.
So times are rather sh!t at the moment. Nothing ever seems to go right. :(

My centrelink seems to just cover all of the bills, but not food and fuel.

With another bub on its way I would like to actually help out and contribute to this familys income.

I have gone through alot of items and have sold them on ebay over the last 2 weeks. Which has helped, but theres only so much you can sell right?

DS1 starts prep in a weeks time and we were going to put DS2 into kindy 2 days a week but now wondering if we could afford it. :(

Has anyone got any ideas?

*Chels*
20-01-2010, 11:10
What about doing a mystery shopper job?You could take the kids with you...

84zsazsa
20-01-2010, 11:14
My first thing probably wouldnt be approperiate for you being preggers but I mow lawns of friends, fam & neighbours on weekends...with up to $120 a yard at times (mow, whippersnip, spray weeds) I can easily earn up to $300 some weekends & during the week Im an Avon rep...I have a territory I drop in the evenings & make up to $600 a mth on average doing that. I also do refferencing for students Uni assignments at the local uni...$40 bucks per job. Ironing is another idea...advertise in the local rag or ask friends, fam that may not have time due to jobs etc...cake baking...

nsmonkey
20-01-2010, 11:20
Theres never any jobs here for mystery shopping, we are rural. :(

As for mowing um once again, not many yards to do.

I am an avon rep, but theres too many people in this region that does it so I am going to quit. I haven't put an order in for over 2 mths.

nsmonkey
20-01-2010, 13:24
omg this is really stressing me out today. I wish DH would go to work, he better when he gets home instead of taking his so called friend everywhere. ARGHHHH

Hes only just had 6 weeks off of work, though that wasn't his fault.

SuperGranny
20-01-2010, 14:12
hi nsmonkey, have you looked online, for anything like proof reading, or doing surveys. Do you have any skills, cake decorating? sewing,? making jewellery,?? these sort of things can bring in some income, without taking much time or effort. Even ironing or doing house cleaning, can be worthwhile , if you have a few customers. Good luck, Marie.

20-01-2010, 21:55
Maybe look into something like Avon or even newspaper/catelogue delivery.

Also maybe if you have a certain skills as joshcamgrandma mentioned like sewing, cake decorating etc that could come in handy. What about selling things on ebay? Or look into cleaning houses or whatever. Could you work nights for a few hours?

20-01-2010, 21:58
Nightfill? Hubby could do that...

nsmonkey
21-01-2010, 08:21
DH is a lazy bum. I said to him maybe he needs a career change but he won't, hes a contractor. I just want thim to get a job the pays WEEKLY, coz I am just so over this sh*t.

And his excuse is, you born broke you die broke.

ILovePink
21-01-2010, 13:16

That attitude would really S**t me!:mad:

Doesn't he want to provide a better future for his family??

Nomsie
21-01-2010, 13:23
That attitude annoys me too. DP is a spender, and his motto is "I can't take it with me when I die".. no, but you could leave some for us.... :mad:

What about looking up a job search site and seeing if there is any secretarial work you can do from home? I'm not too good with ideas that are work from home, otherwise I would be doing it too! ;)

FluffyBunny
22-01-2010, 17:53
Sorry but your husband sounds really selfish to me.
Can he get another job somewhere else?

nsmonkey
23-01-2010, 10:01
I am trying to get him to get another job, but now hes got other plans which involves taking out a business loan.

missie_mack
23-01-2010, 10:10
Got a green thumb? Perhaps you could take cuttings from plants and grow them in plastic pots to sell at a market? Grow fruit and vegies yourself to save some $$

23-01-2010, 10:31
DH is a lazy bum. I said to him maybe he needs a career change but he won't, hes a contractor. I just want thim to get a job the pays WEEKLY, coz I am just so over this sh*t.

Not true at all.....

I'm sorry your hubby isn't doing much to help this problem for you guys :(

Jesska
23-01-2010, 10:46
I know exactly how you feel... my DH is an apprentist plumber he is in his 2nd year so we don't get much.... and the fact the DH's boss is his brother is even worse cos he NEVER pays us on time.. It is really hard, and I have been trying to find things i could do but nothing is coming up. I could go back to my old job (waitressing) but my DD wont take a bottle..
I hope things work out for you guys soon, and your DH gets a different job soon. my dh is tryin to get another job but no one will take him on :(
Im sick of havin no money either, it sucks big time

hugs hugs

A Party of Five
23-01-2010, 10:47
I am an avon rep, but theres too many people in this region that does it so I am going to quit. I haven't put an order in for over 2 mths.

What about Tupperware they do not have set region that you work so you go where you like :)

BellyFruit
23-01-2010, 11:02
Theres never any jobs here for mystery shopping, we are rural. :(

As for mowing um once again, not many yards to do.

G'day, there's a company called Gapbuster who does mystery shopping and I noticed they do it in rural areas - they do Australia Post, Telstra shops and Maccas. They pay absolutley dismally in the city (like $5-10 per job) so it's not even worth doing it but the rural jobs seem ok ($30 per job?) you might be able to do one a month... every little bit helps...

nsmonkey
23-01-2010, 11:09
Hmm might look into it, thankyou. :)

nsmonkey
23-01-2010, 11:28
I have just signed up to mystery shopping. :)

winky
04-02-2010, 21:18
Have you thought about becoming a body shop at home consultant.
I was in the same boat and then looked into all the party plan businesses so i could choose my own work hours and times and also bring in a little money to help.
I have found it to be more profitable and enjoyable than i thought it would be. It is great as you can run it exactly the way you want to as its your own business and there are no restrictions on how many parties you need to do which i find easy if i feel like having a quiet month.
It also works great if you are in rural areas as you and locals are further away from shops and hence usually spend more and become regular customers.
Let me know if you need any further details about it. They are having some exclusive joining offers at the moment too!! Lots of freebies.
Hope this helps.:smiliedance:

Starlet
05-02-2010, 00:19
I do a cardmaking/scrapbooking partyplan type thing. I use to do it in the city and go to people's houses to do workshops, but now that I'm rural, I just put an ad in the local paper and advertise workshops at MY place so they come here. The money isn't bad either because you get a discount on their goods for the workshop and you pocket the rest of their 'fee'. They also tend to ring through orders alot as there is no scrapbooking shops out here.