View Full Version : Barossa Mums
GingerMama
17-01-2010, 17:24
I'm looking for any new Mums from around the Barossa Valley :)
Rileysmuma
23-01-2010, 08:03
Hey Gingermama,
Im tiffany i live in Mount Pleasant, My DS Riley is 6 months, how old is your little one?
GingerMama
23-01-2010, 09:38
Hi Tiffany,
I'm Sarah, in Angaston.
my son Kevin is two months old
Is he your first?
Rileysmuma
23-01-2010, 14:39
I love Angaston, I go to the farmers market there.
Riley was my second pregnancy but first baby :-), his 6 months old. You son is beautiful :-) Not many people are having boys at the moment :p everyone i have meet has just had little girls. Is Kevin your first?
GingerMama
23-01-2010, 16:05
ev is also my second pregnancy, but first baby. Can hardly believe how fast he is growing :):yelclap:
I keep meaning to get to the farmers market, haven't managed to get there much lately, but they are fantastic, I normally get all my fruit & veg there.
Most women I know who have recently had a baby or been pregnant have had girls too.
Love that really smiley photo of Riley, he's adorable.
Kev is terribly grizzly today, & I can't work out why :(
Rileysmuma
23-01-2010, 22:13
Yeah I haven't managed to get to the market lately either, Riley tends to take up most of my time as you would know :laughing:
I got some professional photos of Riley done today he was all laughs and smiles through the whole thing so i hope we get some good ones :-)
Keven may be going through a growth spurt, Riley always gets grizzly during them but then again every baby is different.
Has Kevin given you his first smile and laugh yet? I forget what age Riley was but i think it was around the 2 months although i think he was a little later so maybe 3 months. He is a little lazy :p takes forever to do anything.
Thanks Riley is a little poser in front of a camara. I love your photo of Kevin its beautiful did you do it yourself?
GingerMama
24-01-2010, 10:48
Kev has given us a few half assed smiles, but not a proper one yet I don't think (except for the wind smiles), I'm waiting for it though!
I think his reflux was upsetting him yesterday, didn't settle for me to go to bed until 11:30pm!!! But it could be a growth spurt either... mind you, so far I think his life has been just one big growth spurt for the most part, lol.
I'd love to get some professional photos of Kevin, but haven't yet. That photo is one that I did... I'm a little bit camera happy and take soooo many photos of him :)
How is Riley coping on really hot days?
Rileysmuma
24-01-2010, 11:30
Riley hates hot weather which is really annoying because our air con isnt that fantastic, we just give him a wet face towel that was put in the freezer it cools him down and he sucks on it so he gets more water so he doesnt get dehydrated.
My Husband Nathan gets Riley up most days on the weekend which is great, all i have to do it feed him then go back to sleep. :)
Riley went through that 'daddy stage' too. It was upsetting because i wanted him to want me too. I think i was still having a little baby blues because thinking back to it it wasnt as bad as what i felt like. He is still a little daddys boy though :p His first word was dadda and he always wants dad to play but then wants mummy for milk and cuddles when he is upset or tierd, I love that though.
Have you found many mothers groups around? I go to a playgroup and young mums group in murray bridge they are very good and it gets me out of the house but it would be handy having somthing a little closer.
GingerMama
24-01-2010, 17:46
I've not been to a mums group or playgroup at all yet... need to organise it still :( It kind of sucks because most of my friends live around Gawler & most of them don't have kids so still want to go out for drinks more than hang out with bubs... I really should get on to it.
I've been getting the baby blues a bit, starting to feel better though :)
Rileysmuma
24-01-2010, 18:35
I have the same problem with my friends. Im the only one with a baby. They are still out partying but im not interested anymore and i cant drink anyway because im still breastfeeding. It started ok, they came and saw Riley are were really happy for me but then the novielty wore off and they only come around know when they need their baby fix. So not really friends anymore sadly.
But it gave me the opportunity to make new friends through playgroups met some really nice people in bub hub and they have babies so its easyer to relate :-) But they all live in Murray Bridge so its a bit of a drive.
Well i better go, Rileys having choc custard with his dad and he will need a change of clothes :-p
GingerMama
25-01-2010, 08:13
Yeah, Murray Bridge is a bit of a hike... I used to live there :)
My best friend is pretty good at coming to see me, her other best mate has a 3 & 5yo and she catches up with them a lot too, but having a baby sure draws in to you who is actually there for you.
I'm going to a mothers group on Wednesday, was supposed to go last week but had a bit of a mood & got myself too upset to go.
Also going to start going to this Rattle & Rhyme thing at the Nuri library soon too.
Hope Riley didn't make too much of a mess, lol.
Kev's reflux is bad again this morning, back to the Dr I think... poor little man
Rileysmuma
25-01-2010, 15:37
Yeah its a drive and a half but im used to it now :-) I jusdt dont know whats in the area i havent been here forever i'm from Learmonth Victoria.
How do you know when your bub has reflux? Is it like heart burn feeling or a little vomiting?
Riley is finally sleeping through with no night feeds!! WOOHOO!!! :smiliedance:
GingerMama
26-01-2010, 11:56
he was vomitting a lot, but we didn't pick it until the Dr said it. Poor little man, a lot better today though, fast asleep right now.
At least it's a pretty drive to the Bridge.
How long have you been down this way? My partner is from Mildura originally, and I'm fairly local (Gawler)
Thats great that Riley is sleeping through the night, I can't wait until Kevin does, mind you, he isn't too bad, sometimes gives me a 6hour sleep, but normally more 4-5hours.
You should come to the rattle & rhyme thing when it starts back up, Nuri isn't that far from Mt Pleasant, and its free too.
Rileysmuma
26-01-2010, 16:28
Ahh thats no good :-( will he grow out of it?
I have been here for 3 years, i moved here with my Husband he got a good job at the lobethal abbotiors and we were engaged and i was 4 months pregnant at the time so i came too. I was born in Mildura base. :-) its a small small world.
Thats a good amount of sleep for 2 months, lucky you. I was lucky to get 3 at the stage.
Yeah i have heard of the rattle and rhyme thingy i was waiting till riley was a little older i spose he is older now may give a think over although i think nuri is still about 40mins away from here.
GingerMama
30-01-2010, 07:32
Yeah I suppose Nuri is still a bit of a hike...
I'm probably gonna go next week, thinking of heading to the markets this morning too
It is a very small world.
Got up early this morning to have a little time to myself... it lasted all of 10mins til Kev got up :)
Rileysmuma
30-01-2010, 13:04
I went to the markets today too :-)
Got heaps of strawberrys and now they are all gone YUM!:laughing:
GingerMama
30-01-2010, 13:38
I didn't end up making it :( really need to get some fruit too, so I'm not impressed...
...I want strawberries!! :'(
Rileysmuma
30-01-2010, 17:11
It was very busy so it was hard to get the pram around. It is so anoying that riley is to big for is sling it would have been so much easyer.
They did have some good fruit there. Mainly berries and grapes.
I just finished peeling a whole heaps of grapes to freeze for riley. boy is that tedious work my hands are killing me.
GingerMama
30-01-2010, 19:36
I can imagine that would be a pain in the *** job peeling grapes...
Kev still fits in his sling, might make the effort to go down next Saturday, I always love the atmosphere there & I love grapes & berries :yelclap:
*sigh* I'm 24 tomorrow... I don't wanna get older :(
Rileysmuma
31-01-2010, 09:17
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!
Hope your having a great day :)
Yeah my 21st is on the 7th. I thought it would be a great have a big 21st party but with Riley my birthdays arent important. And i dont want to get any older so i know what you mean.Kinda.
Anyway, have a great day happybirthday:party:
alarna mae
23-02-2010, 11:22
im alarna i live near williamstown. im kinda new to the area...but a floter in and out of bub hub.
im going back to work tomorrow actually after being off since september. i have 2 children bayden is about to start school in April and Emmy is almost 3 years old.
i love going into nuriotpa i think its beautiful. my choice to live would be there or tanunda.
Rileysmuma
24-02-2010, 11:37
Hi alarna,
Welcome to the adelaide hills :laughing:
Although i havnt been all that long either. I live in Mount Pleasant.
I agree with you Nuri would be a lovely place to live.
alarna mae
24-02-2010, 11:43
are there only 3 people that live in the barossa area?
my son had his first day of school yesterday...a 2 hour introduction becasue he starts in april. he was a different kid..after 2 hours!
is ther eplaces that do swim classes for kids around here? or will i need to go to gawler?
Rileysmuma
24-02-2010, 16:06
Im not sure there may be others that have not found this thread.
Nuri may have something but thats a bit far from williamstown. Your best bet is gawler its closer I think there is one in tanunda as well not sure if they do lesson or not but once again i would think gawler would be your closest and most likly place.
GingerMama
03-03-2010, 20:39
I haven't been on for a while :( had no internet.
I know Tanunda has a decent pool, but I'm unsure if they have kiddy swimming classes though :(
Doesn't look like much happening in this thread....
We are moving to the Barossa at the start of the yr. (2011).
Hopefully there are stiil some bubhubbers around!!
I have 2 boys 4 and 2!