View Full Version : IVF Bubs due April/May/June 2010 #4
EarthAngel75
17-01-2010, 06:14
Hopeful: yay on the mawali mobile! how exciting - now you can start to put the room together! Sorry to hear about your MIL being so rude.
Ive had terrible heart burn on and off. Atm its doing good but have had a few days here and there where it was almost unbearable! Ive been doing unfiltred raw organic apple cider vinegar mixed into water which i find works a lot better than any of the tabs available.
As for mums being at the labour. I was going to have my mum with me last time but I ended up with a cesear. This time ive decided it will just be me and DH for the first week to give us both the time to bond properly with the bubs and get settled in before we have any visitors stay with us (mum will be coming from Canada so stays with us when she's here).
Rollcall details:
EDD June 7 2010
Canberra ACT
Its a boy!
angeleish
17-01-2010, 08:57
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Angeleish - 3rd May, one bub, gender surprise, VIC
JetGirl - 6 May, one bub, gender surprise, NSW
Nikki08 - 11th May, one bub, gender surprise FNQLD
Hopefulmama2b - 23rd May- one bub, gender suprise VIC
Cat21 - 24th May, one bub, gender surprise VIC
Earthangel - 7th June, one bub, It's a boy!!, ACT
angeleish
17-01-2010, 09:06
hopeful - sorry to hear about your probs with the MIL. Good to hear that you think she'll be better once baby is here. I think some people just forget how sensitive us pregnant women can get ...grrr.
With labour I am looking forward to it. At this stage it will just be DH and I, however, I'm worried at how he will cope with it all.... mum is on standby just in case!! :laughing:
earthangel - sorry to hear about the heart burn. Luckily I've only had it mild once or twice so far. I added you to the roll call/honour roll.... hopefully that's okay
surfergal
17-01-2010, 10:50
Hopeful ~ Your MIL sounds like a nighmare.. mine is similiar but not really in a nasty way, she just constantly talks about DHs spoilt little sister... "oh poor Janelle had to have a laprascope and they found endometriosis".. well freeking HELLO, I've had 4 laps with bowel resection, bladder cystotomy all because I have grade 5 endo! :hair: And no it wasn't all Day Surge like poor little Janelle it was alot of time spent in hospital... Anyway she sent us a cheque for 200 dollars,.... better in my pocket than SILs ~ who is constantly bludging money off her parents! I didn't want inlaws to buy us anything for the baby because then I would feel like I would have to give it to SIL when she breeds!! :devil: Evil I know!
Hey has anyone had hair falling out??? I have thick hair anyway BUT it is falling out in massive clumps???
Oh can I please be added to the list..
Surfergal ~ due 27th May 2010 one bub and its a little surfergal! Location... Northern NSW!
have a lovely day everyone!! xo
Surfergal my hair falls out seasonally, does yours?
Our roll call looks cool :)
allyoop8
17-01-2010, 12:09
April-May-June 2010
the was weird i went to last post and i missed all posts between everyone is talking about something i hadnt read weird i'm very confused i saw nikki replied to mine but not sure if it came out right to everyone
anyway start again lol
Honour Roll!
Allyoop - 14th may, one bub, its a boy NSW
My hair always falls out, apparently during pregnancy it's supposed to stop falling out and then after you give birth it starts falling out in clumps to make up for all the hair that didn't fall out in 9 months. However I find that I shed as much hair now as I did before :confused:
Our roll call is really coming along now, how excited! Glad to hear I'm not the only insane person looking forward to giving birth :D I've started writing up a birth plan (nothing too specific just what I 'hope' will happen as I don't trust the hospital to listen to me when I actually get there). DH actually found the template for me and started working on it, which was sweet. He seems committed to making this about what I want.
angeleish
17-01-2010, 16:43
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Surfergal - 27th May, one bub, it's a surfer girl, Northern NSW
Nothing to add from me at the moment. Just had a quiet day with DH tidying the house. We've started the process of clearing out the nursery which is exciting..... just really posting as I could see that surfergal wanted to be added to the list. Hope you ladies all had a great weekend!
I just thought I'd post this link for anyone interested. It outlines things that can be included in the birth plan and it looks fairly simple and comprehensive. Apparently midwives like dot points to make it easier to read and refer to.
http://www.babycenter.com/100_create-your-own-birth-plan_5235284.bc
hopefulmama2b
17-01-2010, 19:55
I just thought I'd post this link for anyone interested. It outlines things that can be included in the birth plan and it looks fairly simple and comprehensive. Apparently midwives like dot points to make it easier to read and refer to.
http://www.babycenter.com/100_create-your-own-birth-plan_5235284.bc
Oh Nikki u are a mind reader lol, I was googling birth plans earlier! I will have a look at this! Thanks.
I can't beleive how quick the weekend went by- work week starts again tomorrow- yuk. :no:
surfergal
18-01-2010, 06:46
Thanks for adding me to the list Angeleish.
I have two copies of birth plans from my friend from her babies, she is also a midwife. Maybe I should write them up on here?
I'm back to work today after one month off. I only work 3 days a week, but it all seems like such a drag... will probably only stay another 11-12 weeks and then get outta there.. Hope everyone else is doing just fine!
Surfergal I would love to see those samples. This whole birth plan thing is freaking me out!
EarthAngel75
18-01-2010, 07:36
Good morning everyone :)
Hope you all had a lovely weekend. It's our angel DD's birthday today so will be doing something special in memory of her tonight when DH gets home from work. Had something funky happen with our power supply this morning and thought it had fritzed the modem but luckily i restored factory settings and it started working again YAY!
angeleish: thanks for doing the rollcall :)
Id love to see as many birth plans as possible! I had always intended to get around to doing one when pg with dd but never did and REALLY regretted it. I cant stress how important it is to have one imo. If you don't in my experience you end up with a birth you are really not happy with most of the time (some people are lucky though!) which can lead to PND after the birth etc and so much sadness. I definately plan to have one this time and make sure everyone has a copy and that we have several extras on us at the time of the birth so that there are no excuses. One important thing to include is what you want to have happen if you end up with a cesear as most people dont think about that as they assume they will have a normal delivery. If you don't specify you may find you dont see/hold/BF your baby for quite awhile after the actual birth. Some hospitals wont allow babies to go with their mums into recovery after a cesear either so if you don't want to be seperated from your baby after birth you may want to ring your hospital and see what their policy is on this and think about what options you have etc.
Thanks Earth Angel. I can see it makes sense but I just never heard of it before so have this image in my head of me trying to give one to people and they just go, em no that's not how it works love... :D Looking at some samples would definitely help!!!
Well done on fixing your computer :) I had a good weekend. We picked up the rocking chair - it's AWESOME! You might even say, it rocks muhahaha :P DH took me out for dinner on Sat and we went to the movies last night so it was a lovely treat of a weekend.
Is anybody finding they need to pee more than usual atm?
I had a massage on Sat and it was awesome except she reckons my pelvis is out so have to find a physio now :(
hopefulmama2b
18-01-2010, 08:10
aww i love you girls.. u always post my symtoms and i feel better lol- jetgirl I am a peeing machine!!! far out!! 3 times a night! every hour on the hour during the day!! I am sick of the toilet!!
earthangel- :hugs: for your angel DD's birthday
22 weeks exactly yesterday! Time is moving along hey ladies?
EarthAngel75
18-01-2010, 08:16
Jetgirl: you crack me up! Sounds like you had a lovely weekend. What movie did you end up seeing? DH and I have been getting out to the movies or coffee/cake a lot more in recent times to take advantage of not having a baby that makes everything so much more complicated and time consuming. Hope you're able to find a pg phsio but its good news its been picked up now as ive read a lot about pelvis's being out and it affecting labour and such. I plan to see a physio/chiro etc somewhere in the mid 30 weeks to make sure my body is all ready for birth and everything is alligned as i need all the help i can get to get my VBAC. Ill also be doing all the nature labour inductions methods too as they wont let me go over by much due to the previous cesear: accupuncture, rasberry leaf tea, evening primrose oil, long walks, sex!, hot curry you name im going to try it LOL!
As for needing to go pee - yup there is definately times i need to go more frequently. I think the only reason why i dont need to get up overnight is that i limit my fluid intake to almost nothing after 6pm and when i wake up at 615am i am almost nearly bursting to go! I am not looking forward to when bubs gets so big he's always on my bladder as our bedroom is upstairs and the only bathroom is downstairs!!
I'm 20 weeks today - halfway there YIPEEE!!!!
Hehe Hopeful that's funny. I've been going SO many times during the night too. I was worried I wouldn't make it through the whole movie yesterday but I did! It was Up in the Air, very good. Congrats on 22 weeks :) Yes it IS moving along heaps!!!!
EarthAngel - sex, what's that!!! Congrats on 20 weeks :)
hopefulmama2b
18-01-2010, 08:50
jetgirl-yup, by the end of a movie i am BUSTING!! I drink a lot of water during the day and night but even if I am not drinking, I am peeing lol. I do however, think my bub sits quite low and I can feel him on my bladder at times. Oh yes- sex?? I am too tired! LOL. I have made this decision to try and not do much after work during the week- and to have dinner earlier as my usual 8pm or sometimes later dinner means I clean the kitchen late and am still digesting food when I am sleepy and ready for bed. My bedtime is now 10pm too.. but i read for like 30-45 mins lol. Hopefully this will make me happier. I had a relaxing weekend and a fairly good sleep last night and I am feeling quite good today. Back to this sex thing (tmi) but I feel like I wanna do it more (we are down to about once a week lol) but I am just so tired. Perhaps need to make more time for it :devil6:lol
EarthAngel- thats sucks re your toilet. That was our old house!! how bad is it? I feel your pain. Congrats on 20 weeks!
Hopeful re. the sex I'm the same!!! Gagging for it but can't be bothered LOL. Jeez once a week - you are doing great, last time we did it was maybe 2 or more months ago and it felt WEIRD cos of my bump so I've been afraid to give it another go :( Poor DH...
angel2mummy
18-01-2010, 09:16
It took me a while to get back to reading this thread and OMG you girls are moving so fast. So many posts........It will take me a while to read through everything.
I was discharged from the hospital last monday. Doing a lot better since then. Can walk again. No lifting and sometimes my tummy really hurts when I sit down or stand up but otherwise feeling good. De c-section scar is healing really well so happy with that. Bub is growing nicely and making itself known yay!
Angelisch - my thought are with you today. Your beautifull angel will not be forgotten. Give your husband a big hug.
A2M
surfergal
18-01-2010, 10:12
Jet Girl... peeing heaps also and it is never a satisfying one either... yep at least 2-3 times per night.
I must dig into the depths of my email inbox and find those birth plans .. will try and get them up before i go to work.... standby...
JetGirl - we've had guests and been holidaying over the last few weeks and sex has been hard to get into, but I have to say I find it important to connect with DH especially as I am aware that once bubs comes along there may be a drought for a while. At first it freaked me out a bit having a bump there getting in the way, especially when I feel them kicking. However I've noticed (must be biological response) but when we get down to it, bubs goes to sleep or just goes quiet like they are trying to respect our privacy. Which is a relief because I think that would be too big a distraction, like there is someone else in the room with us. Luckily bubs has absolutely no idea what is going on, and I did read somewhere that the hormones you produce during sex are actually like a mild sedative to bub making them feel relaxed, so they probably just go to sleep.
Earthangel - I wasn't sure about doing a birthplan at first, it was DH who did the research because he was beginning to get the feeling that I needed to collect my thoughts and go into it feeling more confident and in control. My birth plan includes what I want if I have a C-section and I want DH with me and to be given the chance to BF and hold bubs straight away not have them whisked away for tests unless necessary. I hope I don't have to have a C-section but I'd like to be prepared so I still feel like I am somewhat in control.
As for the peeing, yep I feel I have to pee all the time lately. Then again when bubs kicks I think they kick my bladder because it hurts and then I have to pee. They have strong little legs now!
AFM: had my antenatal check today and the doctor told me that my 3kg weight gain was fine and that bubs was growing fine. I was a bit worried I wasn't gaining enough but he said the baby will just take what they need from me and as long as I don't feel tired or worn down and the belly measurements are all on track I should just keep going as I have been. I was quite relieved that my fussiness over food wasn't hurting the baby. I think having a bit of pre-baby padding didn't hurt ;)
Has anyone done their glucose tests yet? I have mine in about 2-3 weeks.
Well done with the check Nikki :) that's great news about the weight. My OB said he'd give me a referral for the glucose test at the next checkup in 3 weeks. You're making me feel guilty about the sex thing now, I really must give it a try!!!
Surfergal, ditto with the unsatisfactory weeing! I'm assuming it's cos our bladders are getting squished...
JetGirl - I think after any abstinence it's the first time back into it that's the most daunting and after that you wonder why you held off. At least that's what I've found. I'm more worried about getting back into it after the baby is born and how I'll feel about my body...
angeleish
18-01-2010, 11:25
So far I haven't found the peeing factor too bad. The first trimester was hideous with 3-4 toilet trips per night. Now I'm down to 1-2.... I've always had shocking night time peeing habbits so maybe I'm just used to getting up and going!!
I can't remember who said that they have to trot downstairs to go the bathroom...... whoever that was......you have my sympathy!! :eek:
I haven't done a birth plan yet, was going to wait until my classes to find out more about how my hospital works before getting too far into it. In saying that though, I do agree with being prepared for a c/s just in case.
angel2mummy - Glad that you are now home. Sounds still quite painful you poor thing. It must be good being in your own bed and environment. Keep us posted on your progress. BTW I think you meant to pass on your best wishes/thoughts to earthangel not myself.... I'm sure she understands the confusion (there are a few of us with names with "angel" in them)
earthangel - Thinking of you today. It can't be easy and I'm glad to hear that you and DH have something special planned to remember your DD.
EarthAngel75
18-01-2010, 11:30
angel2mummy: glad to hear you're out of hospital now and are recovering well :)
nikki08: Sounds like you've got a good birth plan going and yes the whole bit about if you end up with a cesear i think is quite important but sounds like you've got a good idea and are well on your way! I need to get cracking on mine!
As for the Glucose test - ill be doing mine probably next Friday. Obs wanted me to have it done before i saw him next which is Feb 1. I'm having it done so early due to having PCOS which puts me at higher risk of getting it. I'm really hoping that it stays away! Otherwise i may not get my VBAC.
Jetgirl: sex is good - especially in the later weeks when you're so over your pg as the prolastins (or something like that) found in semen actually help to soften the cervix and prepare you for labour and if your body is ready can actually start labour for you!
ive had a semi productive morning writing up listings to sell some of our furniture we need to get rid of, some baby items and some girls toys i dont need. Now i feel sleepy LOL!
surfergal
18-01-2010, 11:54
Ok lovely ladies.. here is my friends birth plan. I will put her baby number two birth plan up as the first one is a little more complex, this one is more simple!
* Aiming for a natural, drug free birth, would like to try water birth
* I do not want to be offered drugs, only disucss options if I ask for them
* To use natural methods for pain relief as much as possible water/heat/aromatherapy/massage
* Try to use hypnobirthing relaxation methods
* Will be guided by my midwife re advice. If they tell me I need to do something/have something done, DH will reinforce this tome. I trust them.
*If emergency/need for transfer all reasons will be clearly explained and various options if there are any to be discussed and time given for decision making. Obviously the overall safety of both myself and the baby are paramount. (This birth was conducted in a 'birthing centre' where there were only midwives present, any emergency situation and the pt must be transfered to the local base hospital)
* Try to avoid tearing at all costs. Birth in L lateral or hands and knees. Water hot compressto help if possible
* DH to recieve the baby if possible
* DH to announce the sex of the baby
* Maximum time possible of skin to skin contact after birth no rush for the clamping cutting of cord. Allow to breastfeed if possible.
* I understand if you have water birth to be out of tub for 3rd stage
* No rush for baby to be cleaned, weighed etc
* If emergency C required minimise time away from baby and have baby in recovery if possbile for skin to skin feeding
* Happy for active management of 3rd stage
* DH to video birth if possible
* Photos immediately after birth - can be taken by staff. I'd really like to have some fo the 3 of us as soon as possible. Happy for staff to take the photos during birth
* No phone calls directed to room whilst in labour. Messages can be passed onto DH
Surfergirl - thanks for sharing, mine is very similar to that. I also included that I want to be able to move around and be monitored intermittently unless baby needed more monitoring, that DH be allowed in with me if I have C-section and that the baby be placed on me straight away and all other things like weighing can wait until I've been given a chance to bond.
Another thing I told DH was that under no circumstances was he to let our baby out of his sight. If I can't go with them somewhere he had to. He finds this amusing but I figure I'm going to be very attached to the little person I've been carrying around for 9 months and to have them whisked away for tests would distress me.
This is really helpful seeing people's birth plans, thanks girls.
Angeleish I too am going to wait & see what the classes say, cos since they're run by the hospital, I should get a better idea of what the options are. But it definitely makes sense to write my own thoughts down now while I think of them. I think I'll be doing that tonight!
angeleish
18-01-2010, 13:39
Good idea jetgirl. Writing your ideas (and questions) down sounds like a good start.
I think my only big request is that if I have a c/s I would like for the baby to stay with me and DH in recovery if at all possible. I know some places can't always do this though. If it isn't possible, then I want DH to stay with the baby (like Nikki mentioned), but also want to make sure that no family etc see/hold baby until I'm out of recovery and have had my chance to bond first. I just can't bear the thought of someone other than DH getting to bond with baby before me. (I have heard of this happening!)
oh and for the record.... 25 weeks today!!
Congrats Angeleish on 25 weeks!!!! WOW!!!
Angeleish - congrats on being 25 weeks, seems to have flown by!
Regarding a C-section I thought I'd just share what I've noted down so far. The template also had the suggestion of having the screen lowered so you can witness the birth but I'm sqeamish and if I see them cut me open I'll most likely pass out.
CAESAREAN
If a caesarean becomes necessary I’d like:
For my partner to be with me
For discussion to be respectful and minimal - only what is required medically and to inform me of what is happening
Unless prevented by medical emergency, I would like my baby to be placed on my chest while you complete the procedure
If the baby needs to be taken away for medical reasons for my partner to accompany them.
To be sure that a double layer suture is used and not a single layer in order to improve my chances for a future VBAC
The opportunity to breastfeed our baby in recovery.
angeleish
18-01-2010, 14:37
Wow - Nikki great work. I hadn't even thought about the suture... just assumed I'd leave it to the ob as he would know what he's doing. (I have no idea about any of this stuff lol). Pretty much everything else sounds pretty similar to what I would put.... don't mind so much on the conversation in the theatre.... might help me keep my mind of things.
Just wondering about one different thing. I know a short while ago someone mentioned doing a 3d, 4d scan at around 28-30ish weeks. Is anyone doing this? I'm in two minds. One part of me doesn't want to do it as I'm kind of looking forward to seeing baby at birth and don't want to ruin the surprise of what he/she looks like. DH has said this too!
The reason I'm thinking of doing it though is that I have my parents visiting around that time and I thought it would be a great way for them to feel as though they are getting involved in the process. (I know they feel a little left out at times as they live interstate). I guess I feel a little guilty at them missing out on the whole pregnancy thing and am keen to find a way to involve them. I know a few of you on here have family that lives interstate/OS... Just curious to know what you girls think!? :detective:
EarthAngel75
18-01-2010, 14:55
angeleish: the whole not bonding with bubs before anyone else is what happened at my first birth. I had a cesear and dd had to go to the nursery as she weighed under 5lb5oz (anything less means automatic nursery in Australia). DH went with her and it was our understanding i would be joining him there after being in recovery. However this was not the case - nursery insisted recovery take me to my room in post natal. DH spent the first several hours with DD (not realizing how much time had passed) and then finally found me and went and got my parents (who didnt know i wasnt with dd) who went straight to the nursery and held DD etc before i had a single cuddle. Due to all the time holding DD after birth DD actually thought DH was the mum and recognized his voice and rooted etc when she heard it. Would turn her head etc but not at all for mine. It was absolutely devastating - and it took me a few months to be able to bond with her because of what had happened. Congrats on 25w too! How exciting!!
nikki08: the cesear part of your birth plan looks really good :)
About the 3/4D scans. I will be getting one sometime after 28w to help with the bonding for DH and I. We will probably get the 45min package and I'm sure we'll get some extras etc as the woman who owns the only place that does it here is the same woman our FS contracts to do all the IVF scans etc so she knows us well. They do cost a bit but I think DH and I will really need it to start the bonding process due to what we went thru with DD. I know a lot of people bring their parents and even some grandparents and make a big thing out of it. I was planning on doing that with DD and my mum (as she had one of the first u/s done when pg with me due to me being breech so thought it would be cool for her) but we never got there after all the hypertension issues and me going early etc. This time I'm hoping for have our best friend there who's from Argentina and has no family here and who will be an uncle to our child.
Is anyone interested in seeing what a real life cesear entails/looks like? There used to be one on youtube that i can try and find again - tried watching it when pg with dd but couldnt do it...
allyoop8
18-01-2010, 15:00
i watched my caesarean in the reflection of the big light above but dh wouldnt look he was worried he was going to pass out each to their own
hopefulmama2b
18-01-2010, 15:03
angeleish- that was me. I am having my 3d/4d whatever it is lol first week of feb i think. I figured.. i wanna see baby again, and this will probably be my only pregnancy and it would be so nice to have the dvd forever, you know? I don't think it would ruin the suprise at birth but think about it if you are not sure.
girls, u have gven me heaps to think about re birth plans. I am going to have to sit down and have a big think with DH. I have my mind set on a few things, like i realllly want a natural birth and i want it in the bed not squatting etc.. and i would like skin on skin contact once bubs is here.. but that's really all. My sister called me before (she is a nurse at monah and mother of two) and we were talking, I said I definetely didn't want an epidural- but she said if I have a c section I have to have one. WHAT i didnt know that! Epidurals look gross. They freak me out. She also asked me if she could throw me a baby shower- i was like- OHH YES PLEASE! I have been thinking about it lately but am too lazy to arrange lol.
Re the glucose thingy, I got the MW to check my pee last visit 2 weeks ago and I was all good but (TMI) i just got over a little bout of thrush and thought I got it maybe coz my sugar is high? I am a bit of a high risk for this too as am overweight, my sisters both had it.. and I didn't think of it earthangel, and i dont have pcos but I have pco so maybe that contributes? Either way I understand I may get it, i hope not, but i am having a test again in about 2 weeks i think.
angeleish - I too wasn't sure about the conversation bit in theatre as I normally don't mind the distraction, however last time I was in hospital having my lap done I remember the doctors and nurses all chatting to each other about their holidays and what so and so was doing and as I was going under I felt like I was just a 'side show' or completely irrelevant and it didn't feel so great. So I figure if they talk to me fine, but if they just talking about their day like I don't exist while I am waiting for my baby to born I'll be more than a bit peeved.
I think the 3D scan sounds like a nice idea to keep your parents involved, I know it's hard for my mum and sisters not being as involved in the pregnancy as they would like being so far away. I think that while you might get a bit of an idea what they look like, they will look different again when you meet them and in the first few weeks their faces change so much anyway.
Earthangel - I'm so sorry you had to go through an experience like that :hugs:. My nephew was whisked away for tests after he was born and my sister was being stitched up (natural birth) so she couldn't go with him. She sent her partner but she it really stressed her out. Then he was in a closed crib with UV light for jaundice and she couldn't even hold him or pick him up and she cried for days while in the hospital. I didn't really understand then what she was going through but now I am pregnant I can understand how being separated from your baby who you've been looking after for 9 months is going to go against every fibre in your body. I hope they respect your wishes this time to bond immediately.
hopefulmama2b
18-01-2010, 15:06
ally that is soo cool you watched it. i would try to as well :yes:
ally - I would love to be able to watch it but I just know I'd start to panic like crazy watching it, so best I just focus on something else like holding the baby.
hopeful - I don't want an epidural but if I have a C-section I know I'll have to have one. Really like you I don't have a huge list of demands apart from wanting to be free to move around during labour and not have an epidural for a natural birth. I think the list is also helpful for DH so he have an input into the labour as well and be part of the process. He likes clear bullet pointed directions ;)
Girls isn't it awesome how far we've come? Listen to us! Chatting about epidurals and caesars and the suchlike. Only a few months ago we were terrified of every little pain or ache or feeling :)
Anywho, Angeleish my parents live overseas so when we had the 20 week scan I made sure it was when my Mum would be here for Christmas. And wow she just was ecstatic about it. So you could always ask for a 2d scan just for your folks, and that way they still see heaps and get involved, but you're not seeing as much detail as you would with the 3d/4d so your wish to not actually "see" the baby til he/she is born, is granted! Just an idea.
I'm so glad to hear all your thoughts and stories. I would never have thought about what happens if the baby has to be taken away for tests etc or making sure me & DH are the first to hold our baby so I'm really glad you girls have been talking about this.
angeleish
18-01-2010, 15:34
Thanks for your opinions girls. I think I might try to talk DH into it. I think Nikki you are right in that baby will change before it is born anyway. . . although your idea sounds cool too jetgirl. I think my over-riding thought is that I can't help but think that if something happened to my parents and I didn't give them this opportunity how would I feel? I only get to have my first baby once and would like to involve them if possible. Will also discuss it with my parents as sometimes they are funny with $$ and would feel uncomfortable if they felt I was wasting my money on them. IYKWIM
Nikki - I get where you are coming from with the conversation in theatre. Didn't think of it that way. I guess the two times I have been in theatre the nurses and Drs have been very attentive and made sure the focus was on me the patient. Sorry your experience was otherwise.
earthangel - That does sound terribly difficult. I have heard of this happening with other people too. I think to cover all bases I'm not only going to bring it up with the hospital, but also make sure that family understand my request to bond with baby first too. I guess it is exciting for families to see their grandchild too and in the whirlwind of baby being born forget the importance of mum and baby bonding. .... I hope you have a better experience this time around.
ally - you are one brave woman watching through the lights. I'm with your DH... I think I'd be too worried about making myself sick watching. DH is very queasy too so I think both of us will be doing our best to avoid seeing too much. FWIW I have family and friends who have had a c/s and also tried to see as much as possible. Gee I wish I had a stronger stomach!
hopeful - for most c/s these days from what I've read it is either a spinal or epidural. I know it is scary but if it is necessary I guess us girls just do what we gotta do.
Jetgirl - I agree.... look how far we've come. When we were all waiting those nervous days for first scans etc I never saw myself this far...!! Coolness!
re glucose testing - I have mine at my next ob appointment at 28 weeks.
angeleish - I think it's just because for doctors / nurses they do this every day and for them it's just another routine day at the office. So they chat like they are around the water cooler and sometimes forget that for each patient it's a new set of fears and worries. In saying that my sister said she found the maternity ward much more pleasant than her other hospital stays and only had one bad midwife the whole time and she was there for 5 days.
JetGirl - I know it feels so surreal, I can barely remember back to my first trimester and all the morning sickness. Funny how the mind forgets.
mum2haylz
18-01-2010, 17:43
Do you think its bad if i don;t have a birth plan? Having given birth before i thought id just aim for the same thing.as for having visitors with dd i didnt want any for a day so we could get to know our baby. but i was on this huge adrenilin rush i just couldnt sleep or stop being so excited i just wanted to show her off. but by the second day i just wanted to be just me and dh. i was so tired and just wanted to bond with my baby and breastfeed without being stared at.
mum2halyz - I think a birth plan is only valuable if you think it's going to make you feel more comfortable, confident about the birth. If you already feel that way and you know what you want then it's probably not as important. My sister didn't have a birth plan last time and she won't have one next time either. I think deep down she thinks I'm being a bit 'fussy' have a birth plan but seeing it on paper makes me feel more at ease about the whole thing, so I think it's up to what makes you feel right.
Plus as long as your DH is clear about what you want in the event that you can't make yourself clear (under drugs / sedated) then you should be fine. For example if you only want your DH to see the baby at first until you've bonded with them and to keep other visitors out just make this clear to him so he can make it clear to the staff. I'm sure he'll stand up for you.
Thanks to everyone for adding themselves to the Honour Roll - I haven't had a chance to get on here since Saturday and I was hoping it would just grow :)
Re the glucose test - I have to do a glucose and protein test every time I see the OB - he has a jar of testers on the counter and, once you report to the receptionist, you have to take the jar, do the test then report the results to the OB. Does anyone else do this?
Hopeful - I'm in the northern suburbs in Melb.
Cat - I've had about three 'pee stick' tests for sugar and protein just to be sure, one with the midwife and two with the doctor. I've not had a proper glucose test yet though, where they make you drink that horrid sweet cordial stuff, that will be in two weeks time. They make you drink it and then they take blood. Apparently it tastes yuk and is so sickly sweet that people want to throw it straight back up. Not looking forward to it :no:, but if it's for bub's health I'll be there.
EarthAngel75
18-01-2010, 20:19
RE: the glucose test. This is very different to the dip sticks you may or may not do at your obs office. The glucose test is a challenge test that they put your body thru to see how it copes with glucose under load. You go in and drink a very sweet drink (like very sweet lemonade in my experience) and then have to sit for an hour (last i did it you were allowed to drink water while waiting but that was it) and then they take your blood.
If you fail the basic glucose test you will have to do the full glucose load which is what i have to do without doing with 1hr test. This test requires you to eat a special diet for the 3 days leading up to the test (carb loading), fast from the night before the test, have blood taken, then drink the drink, then bloods again at 1 hr and again at 2hrs post drink.
Oops, THAT test! I'm not looking forward to that one - apparently it's incredibly unpleasant! Just one more fun thing to look forward to! :)
surfergal
19-01-2010, 05:05
HI ladies.. so glad the birth plan example was of some help.. I am still in two minds about writing one out.. however after reading some of your thoughts I might just jot down a few things and take with me. I too don't like the idea of them taking baby away without DH accompanying her. However if it is absolute dire/emergency (worst of the worst) then i believe it is best for DH or myself not to be around.
mum2haylz ~ I don't believe birth plans are absolutley necessary.. my sister never had one, and she said if she did, it would of all gone out the window.
Cat/EArthie/Nikki ~ not looking forward to the glucose test either... what does that stuff taste like? Does anyone know????
I had my first night back at work last night... it was insane.. 6 post operative patients and 2 new addmissions... with only 2 nurses, myself and another lady.. by the end of the evening my back was throbbing and my lower stomach was so sore... I have decided I am not going to rush around like a lunatic if they can't staff us properly... What gets done gets done!
Have a lovely day...:D
hopefulmama2b
19-01-2010, 07:34
Morning Ladies
Man I am SO sick of getting up 3-4 times during the night to pee! wow.. IT SUCKS! lol.
I too am not looking forward to the glucose test.. more so i guess because i am a higher risk for it so yeah lol. don't take my subway cookies away from meeee!!! hehehe....
mum2haylz- nah, if u were ok last time without a birthplan then don't feel u need to do one this time!
cat- I don't have an OB, I am public and have seen the midwives twice, second time they tested me (she was lovely) and whenever I am at the GP I asked him to test my urine for protein/sugar etc.
surfergal- definetely do not bust your balls at work lol if they can't staff u up. I went and spoke to my boss yesterday to change my hours. I was doing 9-6 now am doing 8-5- same hours but soo much easier to do! Whatever works for u and makes life easier.
I have not yet formally written anything to work stating my pregnancy and terms of my leave- anyone else done this/not done this? I want to work for as long as I can as my job is pretty cruisey.. perhaps I should write something like "health permitting, I will finish up on xxx day" ? and then I am not sure if I was 6 months or 12.. maybe I could write something like- "6 months leave with the option of extending to 12 months or 6 months leave and part time after 6 months as discussed at the appropriate time between myself and Management."?? no idea lol
angeleish
19-01-2010, 09:14
Hopeful - The wording that you have written for your mat. leave application sounds fine to me.... Our work actually has a specific form for maternity leave which we have to fill in 3 months before finishing. So handed mine to the HR person in December. Ours had to be accompanied with a letter from our Dr stating our due date (our work will only let us work to 36 weeks normally. . . unless we can get permission from a Dr to work for longer). I'm finishing at 34 weeks (end of March). I will take the rest of the year off and then re-assess at the start of 2011. If I'm ready to work, I'll return part-time, if not then I'll have to resign (I don't have the option to extend my leave any further as I haven't worked there long enough).
Speaking of which has anyone rang any childcare centres yet to put their name down? I rang one the other day and the girl on the phone definitely recommended putting baby's name down before it was born. Felt weird, but hey if that's what needs to be done. The waiting lists in our area are pretty crazy though. Think I'd better ring a few more centres to give myself some more options.
mum2haylz - If you didn't have a birth plan last time, then this time you should be fine. I'm not taking a specific birth plan with me, but just will have some things written down for DH to help me. He can be my spokesperson if I'm finding things tough!
surfergal - sounds pretty tough at work. Make sure you put your feet up when not working and give yourself a good break.
earthangel - hope yesterday wasn't too difficult and you and your DH found a special way to remember your little angel.
Hopeful - that wording sounds fine, if you have the option of 6 months + 6 months then that sounds perfect.
Angeleish - I don't have any specific plans to use childcare yet but if I had to go back to work within 6-12 months and needed it I would be booking something now. Childcare is hard to find, especially if you want your choice. I know people who left it to the last minute and had to choose a place they were not happy with, but they had no choice because they had work commitments. So if nothing else it gives you time to find the right place that you feel good about.
surfergal - sounds like your body is telling you that you pushed yourself. Don't let them push you around, pregnancy is hard on the body and being on your feet all day, under pressure is not good. Sometimes you have to the be the one who says, "no more, I need a break".
Cat - I don't know what the drink tastes like but from other people's experience it's very sickly sweet. It overloads the body with sugar to see how it handles it.
EarthAngel75
19-01-2010, 09:35
boy its been quite in here today! You all must be working hard hehehe
Surfergirl: The drink tastes like very sweet lemonade from memory - but i will report back next week after Ive done mine. I honestly dont know how they think im going to go that many hours without food as im normally awake at 6am and eat at 7 (and am abslutely starving by then!) and you cant start to test until 7 or 730 when they open!
Hopeful: i think your wording for mat leave etc sounds fine :)
As for childcare centres: I know in Sydney and Canberra if you want a good centre you need to get your name on the list ASAP (usually the day you find out you're pg!) to get a spot before age 1. I personally will not use a childcare centre until a child is at least 2 but more likely 3. There are other options: Family day care and a nanny (and dont think the cost is prohibitive as you can share a nanny with others in your same area or find a mammy (someone with their own child looking to just care for 1 other child).
allyoop8
19-01-2010, 09:41
honest truth here please do you like these names for a boy
first name
Thor
Nate
second name (husbands family names)
Aaron
Gerald
please let me know
I was meant to get a letter from my OB for work stating my due date but I forgot, oops! Really have to do it next time... I plan on finishing up mid-April (I had miscalculated my leave and actually have 2 weeks up my sleeve so using that followed by 9 months mat leave from 1st May) going back full-time from 1st Feb - Mum offered to come over from Ireland for 3 months so I can earn some cash... then after the 3 months (so 1st May 2011) Mum will go home, baby will be almost 1 year old so i won't feel as bad about child care, I will go down to 3 days a week and baby will be in childcare for those 3 days. I am sneakily hoping that having me back full time for 3 months will convince people that they really need me to work from home for one day a week as well as the 3 days in the office :D
I did call a place before Christmas cos a friend's kids go there and they said call back in Jan to "set up an interview" - I wonder who is interviewing whom LOL. Really must call them back one of these days, it just seems so weird...
Allyoop, I'm going to be brutally honest. Not keen on Thor but I really really love Nate. Aaron gets my vote over Gerald. But depending on your surname's first initial, it might backfire LOL
Ally - I am not a fan of Thor, Nate is nice though as for the middle names, I'd go with Aaron over Gerald but it depends on what type of personal significance they have.
JetGirl - I think it's great you are able to take nearly a year off. They grow so much in that first year.
hopefulmama2b
19-01-2010, 10:29
Thanks girls re the mat leave :D
Do u think I am crazy to want to work up to a week before- ie.. 39 wks? lol. I work in the office of a huge a$$ transport company and I look after certain transport equipment, so mainly my work is paperwork :) and googling things when bored lol.
ally- honestly, I like Nate Aaron. Not too keen on Thor or Gerald.
hopefulmama2b
19-01-2010, 10:36
I haven't given a lot of thought to going back to work etc- i know I will, DH and I only rent and we want to buy a home in the next few years so will need two incomes for that but this is going to be my only baby so I want to enjoy him/her, you know? Perhaps we will just go back PT for a while afterwards, DH can work from home a day or so a week and I have lots of family close by to babysit too.. I am just going to see how the first 6 months go and then see...
Hopeful I don't think you're crazy to want to work up to a week before. But I do think you need to be flexible and know what you can and can't do, e.g. you might be so frickin massive and uncomfortable that sitting at a desk is just way too hard and you need to stop sooner - if you know you have the option, then you're laughing. Also keep in mind the getting to work part. If I could quit now, I would :) but I need the cash....
hopeful - I don't think the idea of working up to labour is crazy but like JetGirl said just be flexible. My sister had a really cruisy office job too and told them she wanted to work right up to week 38, but being government they told her she had to take leave at 36 weeks. She reluctantly agreed and by 33 weeks she was so heavy and uncomfortable she asked them if she could work part-time leading up to 36 weeks. She left work at 36 weeks and her son was born a week later at 37 weeks. They had to induce her due to medical issues. She said next time she'd finish at 34 weeks, enjoy some time at home nesting and putting her feet up.
I am going to stop work around 34 - 36 weeks because I have to wrap up my clients and shut the business down while I am leave and I don't want to leave people in the lurch if I have to deliver early and be half way through a project, but those are just my personal requirements.
Like you hopeful we rent too, we both run separate businesses and that's been our focus for the past few years. In a few years we might consider buying a place but because having a child was always our priority personally we just wanted to be flexible enough to enjoy it and if I needed to take time off I could do it financially. Everyone keeps asking us why we haven't bought yet, but we are happy with our choice so far.
Hopeful & Nikki, we bought our first house almost exactly a year ago. We'd been putting it off cos we wanted to have a baby first, but then that just wasn't happening so we went ahead and bought the house. I'm very lucky in that I get 6 months mat leave on half pay and then I'm due my annual bonus in September so that will hopefully cover the other 3 months :) We will struggle financially though, even when I go back part time. So I hear you about renting meaning you're free to take more mat leave. My DH is actually quite concerned about how we will cope financially, but whenever I start freaking out about the money situation, I remind myself of the fact that we can nail our baby furniture to the wall without needing anybody's permission LOL. I think whatever works for you, works for you and it's nobody's business whether you rent or buy!
I just called the childcare place we want and they said call back in May!
angeleish
19-01-2010, 11:13
hopeful - you could always try to work to 39 weeks. If when you get to that stage your body isn't coping then I'm sure you'd be able to get a Dr certificate to finish up early. May as well earn the $$ while you can and since it isn't overly taxing on your body why not give it a go. For my job I am on my feet all day so I couldn't do it, however, if I had an easier job then perhaps I would.
jetgirl - that is great that your mum is going to help.
I'm really only looking into childcare as a back up option. Realistically if I want to go back to work with my current employer baby will only be 8-9 months old and I would have to use childcare for 3 days a week. I'm not overly comfortable with this so would only do it if $$$ are really tight and if I was comfortable with the childcare provider. It is one of those things that I will assess when the time comes. Either way I need to be prepared. DH is supportive of whatever I do which is great.
It's just unfortunate that I don't have the luxury of deferring work for another year (or until the baby is 1). I really like my current job so don't want to quit, but will only go back if financially we aren't coping. I guess I'm lucky that I should be able to get another job elsewhere easily later on should I decide to quit.
Sorry for the :ecomcity: it's just really difficult to decide.
jetgirl - we are tied into a mortgage too (I think you mentioned you were in Baulkham hills... that is near where our house is!!), however we aren't living in that house at the moment and are renting interstate. That means not only do we have the mortgage to pay but our own rent too. It is very tight financially. We're lucky that we have good tenants in our house..... I get what you mean about nailing things to the wall. Since we have moved I really miss my DIY rennos!! (Not sure that hubby minds though... he was constantly coming home to me painting walls, windows, tearing off wall paper etc!! :laughing: )
Angeleish yes that's right, wow you have a good memory. How funny that your house is nearby LOL. I know what you mean about the childcare, I really wanted to wait til the baby was 1 so DH was actually going to take 3 months unpaid leave cos I earn more when I'm full time. But then it started looking like he might get promoted so it wouldn't have worked and we really couldn't survive on his salary for 3 months after struggling for the previous 9 - and then Mum stepped in, like the little star that she is!! And who could refuse!!! Very lucky, I know!
angeleish / jetgirl - I hear you on the DIY renovations, however running two businesses means that we like to spend our weekends out of the house anyway and any maintenance I have to do is just annoying more than anything. If I were a stay at home mum with no work obligations I might want to do more around the house, but I think the business(es) will always take a lot of our time while we have them.
angeleish - it's hard to decide what to do, I am taking it 6 months at a time. It's hard to know when I'll be back at work because it will depend on whether we have a fussy child or not as well. If I have a child who has a routine then I might be able to go back part-time after 6-8 months but if they don't sleep and demand a lot of attention I might need to rethink... either way I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.
angeleish
19-01-2010, 11:23
hmmm not so sure that I have the best memory. I've been to the shop numerous times now and keep forgetting to buy eggs..... seems my memory for important every day stuff is just non-existant!!! I bet your mum will love the time with your baby bonding and spoiling it rotten!
Nikki - there are some advantages of renting. I must say since we've started renting my free time has eased up a little. Just goes to show how much time I was spending on rennos around the house! Sometimes now DH and I get to the weekend and go.... hmm so what now!!??
Angeleish/Nikki LOL :D I too wonder what we used to do before last year!!! Nikki's point on seeing how settled/routiney the baby is is a very good one, you just can't predict can you!!
JetGirl - I can really only go on the advice and experience of others but I have one friend with a baby who said she'd be quite content to put her childcare from about one year, she socialises well and is not fussy at all. Whereas my sister's little boy is very clingy and doesn't take well to new people until he has sussed them out, which means he might not take too well to childcare. Until you meet your little one it's hard to guess their personality.
Angeleish - we used to own our own place years ago, and I remember vividly spending every other weekend at the hardware store getting paint or gardening supplies. After a while I thought, 'hey for a change why not do something not house related on the weekend" but the reality is that chores build up. However back then we didn't have two businesses either so we actually had some spare time :laughing: It's down to personal preference though my sister spends all her time on the weekends doing maintenance, housework and DIY repairs, she loves it! Whereas DH and I like to get away from work, go to the beach, take the dog out, go for a drive etc.
hopefulmama2b
19-01-2010, 12:12
Yeah I am quite happy at this point to not own a house.. our rent is verrry reasonable for a 4 bed roomer in sth east melbourne and i would rather tackle the mortgage when I am not on maternity leave.. and i really love the house we rent too.
i have had a very active baby today :yelclap:
lots of little bubbles and flips. Maybe I am just being more conscious of it lol. Its very cool.
Aw hopeful that's sweet :)
I've been researching birth plans and options and this sounds weird but I actually would like the baby cleaned before being given to me - that way there's no reason to take him/her away again whereas they look pretty darn gross when just born... Does anybody know how long it takes for them to be cleaned? Cos if it's a quick thing then I might request it but if it's like 10-15 mins that might be too long.... Hmmm I can't decide... Seems like such a silly thing :(
Hopeful - my little one is very active too, every day they do turns and this morning I woke up to hiccups, so cute :)
JetGirl - I am a sqeamish person by nature but I think once I have delivered my baby I'm going to want to hold them immediately just to make it real IYKWIM. I think afterwards they will let DH bath the baby (at least that's what happened to two friends of mine) then do all the weighing etc. They do give it a bit of a wipe down and wrap it up.
In my mum's day they used to whisk the babies away straight away, give them a clean and a bath, sometimes even put a bow in their hair before they gave them to mum. However I have heard these days they want the baby on mum's chest pretty much straight away because bub recognises your heartbeat and feels secure and safe back with you, after such a dramatic change to their environment. I'd ask a midwife on one of the appointments what they think, maybe they can just give them a quick sponge off?
I even read somewhere that babies very quickly try and breastfeed, they make sucking motions. I need to learn more about this though.
Good idea Nikki, I'll ask about it at the antenatal thingo. My OB definitely likes the baby put on the mum's chest straight away. I guess I just have this image in my head of a nice clean baby - not sure about the bow in the hair though LOL!
Another thing is the placenta - I had no clue that you could get an injection to make it happen faster or choose to go au naturel. I'm leaning towards, get it over with asap so I can go spend proper time with my baby in my private room! What are you girls thinking?
Also what are your thoughts on the cord blood? I think I would like to have it stored in case the baby ever needed it... Wonder how much that costs...
I've just discovered what ventouses and forceps are... well that decision was at least easy!!!!
JetGirl - my birth plan template also says you can opt to have the Syntocinon injection to deliver the placenta but I don't see why you'd need it surely the body is pretty much qualified to expel the placenta and if it's not doing it's job then they can also give you the injection. Then again what do I know about these things :rolleyes:
Has the hospital given you the vitamin K and hepatitis injection consent forms yet?
Nikki - yeah it's all a bit strange to me. I read somewhere else that you barely notice the placenta coming out cos you're so distracted with your new baby - but whether that was with the drugs or without I do not know! I hope you don't have to do any pushing!!! I'd be like, come ON already, haven't I done enough here!!!
Hmm I don't think I have seen those forms yet. How early do they give them out?
The BubHub birth plan is pretty good actually. I've printed it out to bring home. Last night I wrote down some stuff from yesterday's discussions in my special "baby" notebook, where I have also listed stuff to pack :)
mum2haylz
19-01-2010, 14:32
my placenta just came out easily after dd was born. i dont think i felt it.
She was placed straight on my chest i wanted to bath her but they said not for 24 hours because something about the vernix being good for there skin. but i did baby wipe the big blood spots on her head lol.
mum2haylz i think I may barf ;)
JetGirl - I think you'll probably be so in love with your little miracle you'll not be in the least bit concerned about how he/she looks :D
mum2haylz - thanks for the info about the placenta, I might just give my body the chance to work it out itself. I imagine people who have a home birth just wait for the placenta to do it's own thing.
mum2haylz
20-01-2010, 01:01
jetgirl haha im sorry. if it makes you feel better i thought she would come out clean lol who knows what i was thinking. maybe too much tv. and when they put her on me all gooey. i was a little confused and they said thats your baby lol then i was ohh awww lol. couldnt wait to bath her though.
nikki i didn't even know there was a needle to help the placenta. but its good to know.
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 07:00
morning all..
eww i feel all quesy this morning lol.. and felt a bit dizzy whilst blowdrying my hair lol. Just got to work and i think i need a little rest :sleeping: lol
allyoop8
20-01-2010, 08:29
hopeful hope that doesnt last too long
re the bathing with my ds i had him at 11am they gave him a quick wipe down with a towel and suction in the mouth and nose and thats it we werent allowed to bath him till 24hrs and he screamed his lungs out the whole time because i had a caesar my dh bathed him and he didnt do a very good job he was so nervous lol so i got a wipe and cleaned him up a bit more and gave him a good bath the next day
i think its funny when all the visitors come within that first 24hrs and actually want to hold the baby when they have blood and crap all over them hehe makes me laugh especially if you had a vaginal birth you could tell them that is everything out of you and then they might disappear i think its funny when everyone comes running when you have a baby like they are going to miss out or something :ecomcity::ecomcity:
re the hep and vit k yes i have signed the forms we got them on my first visit to the midwives
we are waiting for the builder to give us a quote to put up a new room on the back of the house so we still have a room for visitors gee they take a long time to do anything for you tick tock tick tock how long does it take seriously i would like to get the ball rolling
Allyoop thanks for the info, I like how that worked out for you :) Yeah I was thinking about the visitors too and I reckon I wouldn't want anybody at all til the next day except maybe for my Mum.
Went to physio this morning. As I suspected, my pelvis is buggered. She said she usually gets preggies in at 28 weeks cos the Relaxin kicks in to prepare the pelvis for labour (eek!) but if you're prone to pelvic problems you can have trouble sooner than that. And there's no point in realigning my pelvis now cos the Relaxin will ruin whatever they do so it's basically just pain relief for now plus I have to wear a support brace!!!! Not happy :( It was pretty awesome lying on my front though cos they have a belly pillow. First time in months I've done that!!!
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 09:07
Jet- tell me more about this belly pillow thing lol
Ally- yup feel all better. I just find lately if I get up and rush around, breakfast, shower, doing my hair etc, i feel kinda dizzy and sick. Then I get to work and need to just relax for 20 mins and then I am all good :)
Thanks to all the girls giving us info who have been there before- mumtohaylz, ally etc. We can try and prepare ourselves the best we can but u gals have been there before lol.
right now I am trying to sort out what happens if I go into labour when we have the stepkiddies.. we have them every second weekend.. one of my besties lives around the corner and has a girl their age and they are all friends so i will drop the girls off there I think and arrange their mother to pick them up from there or get my sister to drive them to her house.
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 09:09
Oh jet i meant to ask as well- is there lots of pain with your pevis? :(
Hehe Hopeful just google belly pillow and it should be the first one you see. I checked the pics and yep that's definitely the one (blue cover). I cannot believe how good it felt to have the weight taken off my back & hips!!
Wow you're very organised with the stepkids - good on you for thinking of that scenario now and not later LOL
PS Hopeful yes there is a LOT of pain. The past few days I get random shooting pains up my pubic bone area, I also get a lot of shooting pains up my left leg & left buttock, every time I get up I have to hold my tailbone cos it hurts so much just to get up, and at night don't even get me started on my hips :) I also feel my pelvis move and grind, which is really unpleasant. Since the physio this morning I haven't had ANY pain which is AWESOME. Prob won't last though so I will enjoy it while I can!! This support thing seems to be working but it's quite uncomfortable to wear - it's like those tubular bandages you put on sprains? Except it's bigger cos it's around my pelvis & belly. Which is quite nice actually, only problem is when it starts to roll and dig in!!!
mum2haylz / ally - thanks for your stories and experiences, it's good to hear it from someone who's done it already. My sister didn't have to wait 24hours for her son to be bathed, so I wonder if it's down to hospital policy or if slowly all hospitals will do the 24hour thing. I'll have to ask a few others but if it's best for the baby then it's probably a good idea just to wipe them down until they are ready.
JetGirl - I am having fortnightly massage now, my lower back is all out of whack and the lady said no point doing anything until after I have given birth, until then she can just massage and take some pain away. The pain hasn't been too bad, but my right side aches a lot from shoulder to knee and it's the relaxin, extra weight coupled with existing back problems from an accident years ago. Apparently pregnancy is the time when all your back problems become apparent.
ally - I'm going to have to get on top of them about the consent forms because so far they have stuffed up three appointments and nearly booked me in for my 36 week appointment for what would have been about 6 weeks after my due date! I wouldn't be at all surprised if they 'forgot' to give me my consent forms. The less time I spend in that place the better I say...
Nikki, I'm glad the massage helps and that we're being told the same thing :)
surfergal
20-01-2010, 09:47
Wow alot to catch up on!
Ally ~ Nate Aaron .. love it! Thor not my cup of tea sorry - however may have something to do with a friend who had a moronic BF called Thor? Is there a Thor on Bold and the Beautiful?
Jet Girl ~ I was talking with one of the physios at work last night re my pelvic pain which is highly exacerbated at the end of a shift.. she also recommended the support brace. I am definatley going to buy one.. if i can track one down... most unflattering however if it does the job.. I am happy!
Hopefulmamma ~ hope you aren't nauseated throughout the whole day ... I feel off a bit too today, but have just worked two evening shifts...so maybe that is why i feel a bit jetlagged!!
As for me reflexology at 1 pm... can hardly wait i have it every week the guy that does it is unreal and only charges his preggies 25 bucks for 40 mins... maybe he can fix my pelvic pain today.. anyway must head into town and do some shopping... I'm hungry.. hopefully I won't put chocolate in the trolley!
Have a super day ladies xo
JetGirl - the day after my massage last time I was in so much pain but after that it got a lot better and I've noticed much less pain in the two weeks following. Hope it keeps working for a few more weeks.
Hopeful - I've had moments of nausea over the last few weeks, if I eat something too sweet or if I eat too much in one sitting I feel sick and the feeling lasts for a few hours. Might be hormones or that my stomach is getting squashed. Sometimes bubs moving around gives me motion sickness :laughing:
Surfergal - If the brace will help with the pain I'd go for it, our bodies are only going to be put under more stress in the coming weeks.
Heartburn was back with a vengeance last night :no:
Surfergal let me know what brace you get. When I go back next week the physio is going to see whether the tubigrip thingo is working or whether I need something stronger (and more expensive, grrr)! I had to wear a sacro-iliac-joint brace a few years ago which I absolutely hated so hopefully they have something more appropriate for preggies these days :)
Nikki it's so cute how you laughed about the baby giving you motion sickness :)
JetGirl - bub reguarly kicks my groin and bladder these days, and I jump in pain sometimes then I just smile and DH thinks I am crazy to be so happy to feel someone kicking me. No matter how much they beat me up in there, feeling them move just makes me smile though :) Although sometimes I do have to give them a poke so they move into a more comfortable position.
BTW that pain you are having sounds just like mine, the shooting down the hip and leg. Mine also goes right up to the shoulder, except mine is on the right side.
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 10:54
I don't feel kicks as such yet- just the flutters and sometimes I am conscious of where baby is- like if there is pressure on my bladder or higher up.
hey- happy 24 weeks Nikki- 6 months hey!!:smiliedance:
surfergal
20-01-2010, 10:56
Jet Girl ~ I have one of those belly band things that you put around your waist to cover your expanding belly.. you can buy them at Target kMart etc.. well i put it on this morning to go out and OMG didn't it make a difference.. I am wondering if I can get away with that? Tubigrip is also a good idea.. we have some at work, I might also try it!!
Nikki ~ With you on the heartburn :thumbsdown:. We are going out to dinner with friends saturday night and I asked DH if he could get them to book it at about 630 pm. If I eat to late and I pay when I go to bed..... One of the midwives said to avoid any of the ant acids with magnesium in them... Mylanta has this so I have opted for Rennie.. they work ok, however Obs recommended a banana smoothie, but I really dont' want to be drinking a banana smoothie after I have just had a full meal :no:
Little surfergal is SUPER active today.. she is going nuts down there... I think she is tidying her bedroom up! :cloud9:
Surfergal that's awesome that your bellyband made a difference! Well done! I think I am too far gone for it to help me :( If you try the tubigrip, I was told you fold it over so you have 2 layers if that makes sense. With the fold at the top LOL. The physio said you can either have it halfway up your belly or completely covering it - I tried the first way but felt like it would roll down and cut in so am much happier with the full shebang although when it's 40 degrees out I may not be so happy!!!!
I LOLed at your little surfergal tidying her room :D
surfergal
20-01-2010, 11:07
Jet Girl ~ Hopefully the tubigrip will do its job for you.. but you are right I can see myself having to move onto tubigrip or buying the expensive belt thingy... as I get bigger and need more support.... Do you know what size tubigrip the physio used? Does it have a coloured line down it? That way i might know the size... thanks sweets :)
And yes she is being wicked in there today.. I hope she is cleaning and NOT partying!
Hopeful - I was feeling movements, then one day I just got this kick out of nowhere and it was such a shock at first. Sometimes I just lie quietly on my back in the evening after drinking something sweet or a cup of tea and after about 3-4 minutes I start feeling the movements, every now and then I'll see a kick through my belly. Not all the time though. When you get that first hard kick it will probably make you jump, I know I jumped like I had been shocked by electricity.
Surfergal - I have days when I think bubs is trying to take up kick boxing! Although I did read today that they are trying to learn to coordinate their limbs at the moment and they are practising walking (peddling their legs) to develop their muscles. Maybe your bubs is just getting a workout today :)
On the Mylanta, I use it (not often as it's relief is limited to about half an hour) but I was told by my doctor and the pharamist and the website it was safe :confused:
Surfergal I'll check for a colour when I take it off tonight :) too hard atm haha
Nikki I too used Mylanta way back in the first trimester (feels good to say that!). You can always call my buddies at MotherSafe ;)
It's so quiet in here today, I can't hide from work in the forum :p I guess I'll have to go back to working hard instead :ecomcity:
Sorry Nikki, I have nothing exciting to share and have run out of questions that I do actually want the answers to :D Congrats on 16 weeks to go though :)
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 16:04
oohh i know too quiet! I been logged off pretending to work for hours lol and then i log on and its been less than a page lol!!
i dont really have any questions or anything either- will think of some good discussion tonight ok :australia-flag-06: oohh look, australia day icon thingys lol.
Actually- wanna hear something stupid/funny/irrelevant? You know how we all post things like AF, EPU, well up till only recently I wasn't sure on EWCM- I thought it was ewwww cervical mucus, not egg white lol. Well.. that's how I read it anyway. haha. Stupid lol
JetGirl - thanks :) Getting very exciting now. I think I might finish work early today anyway, am finding myself getting more tired these days :sleeping:
Hopeful - yeah, I was confused by a few of those too, I had no idea what BDing meant at first either.
sparklesare
20-01-2010, 16:05
Hiya girls,:wave:
Just checking in, havent really caught up yet as have been away this past week end, but wanted to say hellooo and great to see you all doing well.
Nikki: 16 weeks to go, wow, its all starting to feel so real now.:yelclap:
Hi sparkles!!
Nikki what does BD stand for? Bedroom dance????? :)
hopefulmama2b
20-01-2010, 17:10
haha.. baby dance.. bedroom dance?
Hi Sparkles! Have missed you!
Um this sounds dumb lol but ever since I got home half an hr ago i feel EXTREME sleepiness and really heavy in the stomach- have felt that all day actually lol. I have NO energy. Have told DH to bring home dinner.. too tired to cook. Its going to get worse hey? lol. I have been trying to get to bed by 10/10:30pm and up at 6-6:30am what else can I do? :geek: lol.. its not so much mentally tired and body= exhausted lol
BTW does anyones stomach "change" lol. during the day I am all down looowwwwww.. very low. The late evening I am carrying higher lol.. weird.
Hopeful thanks for clarifying :)
haven't noticed carrying higher or lower throughout the day but def feel heavier every time I get up from sitting or lying! I have a lie down every night when I get home for 30 mins cos so buggered!!!
I think it means baby dance but I supposed bedroom dance fits too :)
Hopeful - my stomach changes shape, it also gets firmer when I am having braxton hicks contractions, they are strange. I normally get them at night for some reason.
BTW what's for takeout?
As for being tired, yes I am totally zonked today. Plus I'm very easily irritated too, seems just about anything or anyone can set me off today so I am not going to have any long phone calls with family or friends in case I upset anyone.
Takeout for us too tonight - it's all too hard at the moment living amongst renovations and desperately trying to get everything done soon!
Re heartburn - I was also told Mylanta was OK but I spoke to a pharmacist yesterday who also said Gaviscon was safe too. Wish I didn't have to think about any of it! Luckily this week has been a bit better than last...but let's see how the Thai takeaway treats me...
EarthAngel75
21-01-2010, 06:53
Good morning ladies :)
Cat: I hope the thai didnt aggrevate your heart burn. I LOVE thai food but havent had any for ages as worried about the after affects of heart burn.
Hopeful: your baby must like to lie in different positions at different times of the day :)
I know that if ive done some heavy lifting/moving stuff around the next day bubs id won really low into my pelvis as i get that knife stabbing pain down there for the first few hours upon waking.
It seems to hot weather has come back to Canberra - so not excited about that! Have noticed slight swelling in my wrists and feet which i hate - want it to be cooler autumn weather already.
i was actually in a creative mood yesterday so took advantage of it and started on bubs scrapbook album and made some cards - hoping the creative juices keep it up today so I can get some more done. DH and I also started shuffling the rooms around after our lounge sold so now downstairs looks like a bomb has gone off lol things are piled up everywhere. ill just have to live with for a few months as we get everything sorted.
Anyone have any exciting Australia day weekend plans?
Morning girls.
EarthAngel I've taken Monday off so I get 4 days in a row, yay! We have friends coming for dinner on Saturday so I'm making pavlova for the second time ever (first time being last Australia Day LOL). Sunday we're going to the cricket. Monday I have to clear out some cabinets while I'm still relativey mobile. Then I have the citizenship ceremony that night. Australia Day itself I hope will just be us chillaxing at home! How about you?
No plans for Australia Day, will probably just take the day off to relax and do as little as possible. Have been feeling a bit more tired lately.
Cat - I love Thai and Indian but have stayed away because of the strong aroma's and spiciness, one makes me queasy the other gives me heartburn. Hopefully you escaped the heartburn last night.
Earthangel -good luck on your creative album, hope you have some creative energy left for today.
Hopeful - my belly changes shape, sometimes I just give bub a bit of a shove to move them if they are sitting too low or causing me discomfort and they do a bit of acrobatics.
I had a strange dream last night I had given birth to my baby then I went to look in the mirror and I missed my pregnant belly :( Although I did have a cute little baby instead, it felt strange to be separated from them, even if only by a few metres at a time... I wonder if that's what it feels like.
Wow Nikki, what an interesting dream. I never thought of that. It must be pretty strange!!
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 08:08
Morning Lovlies
Well I have already killed an hour at work- the server was down and has just come back up :yelclap: YAY. I am going to wait 2 weeks then if my work load is still slow I am going to have to say something- I am struggling to get through the 9 hour day! I reckon I can do my work in 5 hours easy.
Nikki- I had KFC, soo naughty but soo yummy lol. Even though I was knackered I jumped on the treadmill for 20 mins for a gentle walk (first time in ages) I am going to try and do this daily as I felt better afterwards.
Cat- I hate Mylanta. I bought some and its GROSS lol. I like quickeze.
Earth- Yes this baby likes to change positions- fair bit of room in there for them to do so! lol. I am working Monday as I am saving up my a/l but it will be dead anyway. Over the weekend/Tuesday I want to catch up on some dvd's, sleep lol, see my mumma, pop into baby bunting and start working on a piece of furniture for the baby room- I have this great big timber tallboy that DH and I are going to strip, sand and paint white.
Jetgirl- your weekend sounds awesome! I love pav!
btw.. i think this baby has had a growth spurt. My tummy is really hard and pronounced lol.
Wow Hopeful good on you with the walking. Having a treadmill at home is very handy for that eh! Hope you have fun doing the tallboy :) what a great idea. I think DH will start sanding & painting our new rocking chair this weekend, yay!
hopeful - you are probably having braxton hicks contractions. I started noticing them a few weeks ago, but found out they actually start around 13 weeks not that you feel or notice them then. Your tummy gets hard and pronounced and stays like that for a minute or so before relaxes again, the bigger you get the more you notice them. Some days I get them quite often, other days barely at all.
Your Australia Day sounds fun but way too active for me at the moment. I was in bed by 9pm and still didn't get up until 6:30, I slept solidly through the night and I think it will be an early one again for me.
:yelclap: on the walking though, your attitude should inspire me to do some again.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 08:22
haha thanks girls but beleive me, i need to do the walking! I want to do baby boot camp after baby is born. I want to lose the baby weight plus all my other weight lol.
Yeah I have been thinking about these braxton hicks thingies- at night my stomach seems to move up and squash me lol and then it makes it hard to breath- like i have just eaten a huge meal lol. BTW Nikki your dream does sound interesting!
Wow Nikki I'm so jealous that you slept through the whole night! I am soooooooooo tired :( Keep getting woken up by pain or pee!!! LOL
Hopeful I plan on going for walks every day with the buggy once the baby is born and there's a mum & bubs exercise class round our way once a week so I'll do that too. I reckon the thousand trips a day to the washing line will also help LOL
Hopeful - when I first started getting the braxton hicks contractions I thought it was the baby moving into an uncomfortable position and pushing against my belly, but now I realise it's just the whole uterus tensing up. Mostly happens when I am lying down or in bed at night, but I have occasionally noticed it during the day, that my belly feels like it's firmer and higher. I've read that as your pregnancy goes on it becomes more and more noticeable because your uterus becomes the biggest and strongest muscle in your body.
Don't worry, I need to do some toning up too, I am almost dreading the post baby weight exercise regime. I am going to need to hit that treadmill after bubs is born.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 08:31
oh yeah and i think i am having late onset morning sickness. I spoke too soon when I told everone i didnt have any ms.. second morning i have woken up feeling severely :barf: and i am hungry but i feel too sick to make myself something, lol.
I googled it this morning and appears ms at my stage is not unheard of. Its annoying but lol.
Aw no Hopeful! I had no idea it could come back!!! But I suppose it does make sense cos having something moving around so much down there has to be messing with whatever causes people to feel sick LOL
I havent felt any BHs at all, wonder when I will...
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 08:33
Nikki/Jet- I don't actually drive but i live 10 min walk away from my local shopping centre that has everything so I will spend lots of time walking there with baby- which will help lose some weight too. Last two nights I have peed less thank god- 1-2 times rather than 3-4 times. Its just funny because previously I would NEVER wake up at night for a pee run lol.
JetGirl - I've read some people don't get or notice braxton hicks, and a lot of women have reported noticing them more in subsequent pregnancies. So maybe you either won't get them or you won't feel them. They don't hurt, they just tense the muscles up.
http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/laborbasics/a/bhctx.htm
Hopeful - yeah I heard about m/s returning around this time. I've not had it as bad, but I am finding my stomach turning at foods. Last night I was cooking dinner and I had to get DH to take over because the cooking meat was making me sick, then I couldn't even eat it so I ate a salad roll instead :( So don't worry you are not alone.
Thanks Nikki. Wow could it be that for once I won't get one of the not so fun prenancy symptoms LOL
EarthAngel75
21-01-2010, 09:03
Hopeful: ive had some queezyness for the last week or so and some pretty bad food aversions too. Luckily it seems to be gone today.
Jetgirl: I didnt get any BH with dd. With this pg though I have had a few but not in a couple of weeks. They say they are usually worse after straining or doing exercise or when you're 30+ weeks when you've done too much etc. They generally arent painful but have heard for some women later into pg that they can stop them in their tracks and have to wait until they're over before they can move again.
Ill be getting back into my Wii fitness once this bubs is born and ive passed the 6 week postpartum period. I won't be going out much to the malls etc with bubs as Canberra is bad for germs and with the whooping cough and swine flu bound to be in force next winter i wont risk bubs getting either - i dont think i could do another hospital stay with a baby.
As for whoever was talking about Vit K and hep B for bubs after birth. Some hospitals dont give you the paperwork until you're booking in with them and others not until the birth. I will be doing neither - although if bubs is very bruised due to a natural birth I may opt for the Vit K then.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 09:22
earthangel- my dh bought me a Wii Fit for my birthday last year- which was the day of ET lol. I used it a few times but then DH was all concerned I shouldn't do it in the tww and I haven't really used it since- I should, it was heaps of us!! I wanna use it tonight lol
My stomach is quite uncomfortable today TBH. I feel very pregnant lol. I kinda like it but lol
hopeful - some days I go to bend down and pick something up and it hurts and I remember I have a belly, other days I can bend over without too much hassle. Must be the way the baby is sitting. If they don't like the way I move though they let me know with a swift kick ;)
Earthangel - thanks for the info on the consents, I am booked in so I might just chase those forms up with them. I would rather get it sorted now rather than once I go in there.
I have shopping withdrawals. I bought so much stuff for the baby over Christmas and earlier this month, I think I got addicted!!!
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 11:01
hey girls,
Well I didnt even know BH could start that early so I am learning something!! Think I may of had a few, particularly when Nikki described the hardening of the tummy etc then it goes down etc. Weird feeling.
22 weeks today and saw the OB...still have two breech bubbies, hopefully they get moving and grooving and turn, I am sure they will. Bit of bouncing on a fit ball the OB said should do the trick. If nothing by 34 weeks though C Section may be the way for me.
Twin A was very sleepy and lying on its tummy so we couldnt see a lot, but Twin B was moving around and we got 4 of the 4D pics which was amazing...this is going to sound weird, but the little nose I swear is like my DH's!!! I know, its probably me being silly, but it was so cute. All is otherwise going well for the twins.:o
My blood pressure is high which isnt great, I do have elevated BP generally but he said I was higher than normal today...I am blaming it a little on the move and the excitment of getting home.
We found a place and move in January 30th so I am thrilled about that.
My plans for the Australia Day week end..I land on Australia Day in to Melbourne, our 2nd wedding anniversary is the 27th Jan so returning to our old favorite restaurant and other than that, looking forward to giving my Mum and Dad a big cuddle.
Aw Sparkles that's so cute about twin B's nose :)
Watch yourself with the BP, are you doing stuff to relax at all? Delighted you've found a place :)
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 11:11
hey Jet, thanks for your concern hun. ;)
Doing as much as I can re the BP...had it for a few years now, and up until about 3 weeks ago was normal in range, but its come back on the last few weeks, which I am thinking is the move stress. I came off the BP meds when I did my IVF cycle to give it the best advantage and thank goodness it worked first go!
Needless to say DH was shocked when OB said it today and said I am to be perched on the couch tomorrow and Friday whilst the removalists pack/wrap/uplift our apartment...
I love his thinking!!! Me directing two poor souls what to pack air and what to pack sea freight...yeah I am going to be great company for them!! :devil:
Re your shopping withdrawals...Ive stopped mine also, my last 4 parcels arrived today and the last of the families online shopping so my credit card is cooling off!! DH said the name on my card is probably hard to read now from swiping!!! Never too much swiping I say!! :p
allyoop8
21-01-2010, 11:15
hi all
re the braxton hicks i didnt get them or feel them with seth but this time around i get them all the time i thought there was something happening already and the midwife said it was braxton hicks i need to go to the loo when i have one
aust day we are going to the entrance with a few families should be good they have live music and rides for the kids and fireworks at the night time:australia:looking forward to it
JetGirl / Sparkles - I have to go easy on the shopping, we went a bit crazy over the Christmas break, normally we were more restrained but I think the euphoria of being pregnant got the better of me... :rolleyes:
Sparkles - congrats on getting the move organised, it sounds quite stressful though so I am sure your BP is probably attributed. Plus wouldn't you be more likely to suffer high BP with twins? I hope your babies move around out of breech, but sometimes a C-section is the safest option as long as both bubs are healthy and so are you.
Ally - I don't really 'feel' the BH contractions, unless I am paying attention to my belly and suddenly notice the belly going hard. Now I know what I am feeling for though I notice them a bit more, but I guess being a second pregnancy for you they are probably more noticeable. I wonder why that is? They say second pregnancies you feel the baby earlier too.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 11:39
Geez I am bored.. i hate work lol. :laughing:
yes- I have had to curb the spending. I want to pay off as much stuff as I can whilst still working and then maybe in a few weeks start saving some money.. but I am still paying off the layby (almost done lol) so grr.. we will see how I go. By nature, I am a severe Tamara Tight a$$ and i always stress about money hahaha.
Sparkle- take it easy ploise. I am always checking my bp and whilst it is ok again now I think the bigger/further along i get, it will come back.
Ally- your long weekend sounds great too!
You know.. I am not booked in to see the midwives now till 24th feb- far out that seems like soo long away! I will be almost 28 weeks!
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 11:59
Your so right Nikki, as long as they are safe and sound in mine and DH's arms, thats all I want. C Sec or natural, just come to Mumma I say!
Your probably correct re the multiples and the BP..my OB mentioned it at the beginning as it was in my history, but it was normalised that we never mentioned it till today.
Ally: How old is little Seth? Cute name too btw.
Hopeful - I don't mind my job but having to get up every day at the moment is hard. I get tired easily...
In regards to spending, I'm actually a tight ar$e myself, so I can relate. I don't think I've spent so much money in one go for years, buying a new car, all this baby stuff and then also going out more for lunches / dinners because I figure once bubs comes along those kind of things will be on hold for a few years, or at least less common. I am really excited about being a mum but I also know that this is the last time in our lives it will just be DH and me, from the moment they are born we will parents the rest of our lives.
Sparkles - My BP is good, I am worried about my glucose test though, have been getting a little bit over excited near the chocolate counter... might need to curb that now :(
Nikki I'm the same with the chocolate!! I don't get this whole GD thing. I mean surely they can tell already that the baby is growing well so it doesn't matter??
allyoop8
21-01-2010, 12:38
sparkle seth is 3 he will be 4 just after the bub is born he is very excited at the moment my brother just rang and asked if we could have his 5 and 9 yr old girls tonight so he is running around like a crazy person lol and yes i love his name too thats why we wanted another short name like thor or nate
thanks for the ladies that commented on the names for me no one seems to like thor
nikki re the bh not sure why but i felt bub at about the same time as i did with seth
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 12:57
When is the glucose test generally taken? I am assuming it wont be far off when I come home.
And is that the same appt that I get that ante natal card you mentioned Jet?
Sorry if its been mentioned before I cant recall.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 12:57
I am a chocolate monster!!! I have to have it like every second day!! and guess what one of the things dh bought me for christmas- a fairy floss maker!! YUMM.. but i have not opened it and will not use it till after baby is here lol. That is like GD in a box :laughing:
yes agreed too Nikki and Sparkle. I have GD and High BP in my family and both are fine.. for now.. and I desperately want a Vjayjay birth but if it needs to be a c section, then so be it!
Ally- Seth and Nate sound great together!
wow- when did it get to 2pm? :D
Wow a fairy floss maker! OMG!!!
Sparkles it's the week 24 appt that I got my antenatal card and the GD test is around 28 weeks for me.
Has anybody thought about storing cord blood?
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 13:06
aww Jet I don't get a 24 week appt. :( I wish I did.. wanna hear babies heart beat again or something lol
Hopeful - you should get monthly appointments, I see my GP every four weeks at the moment and after my next appointment I'll see him fortnightly, he always checks the heartbeat, measures my belly growth, my BP etc. He doesn't do weight checks on me though, says that he would only do them if my belly measurements were not on target or there are other health issues. Maybe ask your GP about this, especially as you get further along in your pregnancy and they should start monitoring you more closely. One thing I have noticed about the public system is you have to be on the ball yourself, no-one tells you anything.
JetGirl - not sure about the cord blood storage what is the benefit? Might be something to look into. Bubhub has some resources I might research.
ally - It's great that Seth is excited by the idea of being a big brother. My nephew is only 1 and half years old and he claps his hands and gets all excited when we remind him he'll be an older cousin. At Christmas he was staring intently at my belly trying to work it all out, you could almost see the cogs turning :laughing:
Nikki I just had a quick look in the BubHub resources and they've got all the info right there. A good friend of mine's son was diagnosed with leukaemia at 5 months and he's undergoing chemo right now but he might need a bone marrow transplant at some point... if they had stored his cord blood they'd have a match so I can't help but wonder if we should do it, just in case...
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 13:38
Jet:
Re the cord blood, I dont know enough about it myself, have read a little, but to be honest, bit confused about it. Sydney Childrens Hospy does it, refer this http://www.sch.edu.au/departments/acbb/
there are a few places that do it and all the major maternity hospitals in capital cities do it I would say, and therefore, prices prob vary. Worth checking out a couple different websites etc.
JetGirl - for us I think it might be a good investment, especially since our baby will be the result of a donor. I have heard that bone marrow transplants are hard to match even from an immediate relative. If it's in the best interest of my child I'll definitely look into it. Thanks for bringing it up on here :yes:
Sparkles from what I have just read you can choose a private bank and then just refer the details to your hospital to liaise with them, so you should be able to 'shop around' so to speak. However I doubt the fees vary that much.
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 13:40
Sorry Jet, just saw you found the research stuff on the BubHub site..sorry for the dupe of info!:(
You can never have too much infor Sparkles :) But I too am confused over because in the BubHub piece it says it can be used for the child but in the linked article it says it can't - what the?!
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 13:47
Sparkles from what I have just read you can choose a private bank and then just refer the details to your hospital to liaise with them, so you should be able to 'shop around' so to speak. However I doubt the fees vary that much.
Thanks Nikki, its quite interesting stuff when you get reading about it. There are definite benefits thats for sure.
Jet: I read that also, thank god I wasnt the only one shaking my head going, what the!!! Definite benefits in the example such as your friend though, thats sad.
allyoop8
21-01-2010, 14:15
with the hospital i'm going to when i went for my first appt at 10weeks i got my antenatal card and information pack and it had different brochures of places you could get info packs from about storing the cord and if from memory i thought the bounty bag had them too i remember reading about it when i was pregnant with seth and it was expensive so not sure if its still expensive because there seems to be more places available now ??
Ally, yeah I got the Bounty Bag today and it had 3 brochures so I've sent off more more info but it looks like it's $3000 if you pay up front and heaps more if you pay yearly :(
JetGirl - wow that sounds very expensive, considering they are not really sure if it can be used in that many cases :confused:
yeah taht's why I'm not so sure now...
OMG I actually think I'm having BHs this arvo!!!!
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 14:49
hey Nikki
Oh yeah I can see my GP, I meant the midwives. I will see my GP soon actually. I am lucky, my mum and dad have high bp so they have a machine so I can check my bp frequently lol- handy :yes: But yes- you are spot on re public.
JetGirl - I was having BH's for weeks before I actually realised what they were. Feels funny doesn't it. I like the idea my body is practising :yelclap:
Let me know how you go on that extra info and the costs.
Hopeful - I don't see the midwives at all really, I saw them once at 13 weeks and I'll see them again closer to the birth I think... I have no idea really. I get all my care from the GP, I think I'd have to travel all the way to hospital if I wanted to get midwife care and I am really not a fan of hospitals. I do see the OB at the hospital for milestone meetings, not that she does much more than my GP does.
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 15:37
Nikki- OK good thanks. I don't feel like I am missing out now lol
anyway.. birth/newborn classes start tuesday week!! 2nd Feb!! Woo!
25 mins to go for the day!!! Then my mum is picking me up (my work is halfway between her house and mine- 10 mins each way) we will go have a quick coffee and then dh and i are having a quick dinner at my auntys house while he fixes something on her computer. Dh works in IT so its a dinner/work trade off :yelclap:
How AWESOME is it going to be when the first of us has her baby/babies!!!!
Ooh Hopeful how exciting your class is coming up! I'm so jealous, ours isn't til the end of MARCH!!! I better not go early :D
Nikki yeah it feels MAD :)
Hopeful - my classes don't start until the 24th of February, I am so jealous. I am getting quite excited by the idea.
I was just thinking about how it will feel when the first of us gives birth and the photos start going up. Only a few months to go :yelclap:
hopefulmama2b
21-01-2010, 15:53
I know, my classes are early hey?? SO excited, hope I don't forget things hahaha
Aww when your girls give birth it will be like a sister giving birth, am VERY excited!!! We have been thru a lot to get even here xx Sometimes I would wonder if I would ever be a mama, because of DH's vasectomy :o i think we are all so blessed :goodvibes:
sorry for the cheesiness lol :laughing:
It's not cheesy, sometimes I have stop and remember back to the journey we've taken to get to this point and I feel so blessed and it's definitely changed my perspective on having children and what an amazing gift they are. Even just being pregnant makes me feel so amazed and grateful :D
Cheesiness is good :) we're pretty damn lucky to be here!
allyoop8
21-01-2010, 18:16
talking about remember the journey has anyone heard from sarbear lately
Good question ally. Haven't heard from her in ages. Gosh I hope she's ok.
Thought I'd cut and paste the honour roll in case anyone is missing. I thought we had some April bubs due amongst us?
Cat
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Surfergal - 27th May, one bub, it's a surfer girl, Northern NSW
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 23:12
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Surfergal - 27th May, one bub, it's a surfer girl, Northern
Sparklesare - 27th May, two bubs, gender surprises VIC
sparklesare
21-01-2010, 23:20
Oh your so lucky to be starting classes soon Hopeful. Mine are also March so a couple months to wait for mine.
Each of us has had a very unique journey to get here and to see each other on the other side of it with our little bubbies in our arms will be amazing.
We are all going to be amazing Mummies!! :goodvibes::goodvibes:
The wait for my babies is killing me, May seems so far away yet I still remember cycling and the day I got my BFP.
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 07:14
sparkle-i remember when you got your BFP too coz its when i got mine lol.
ally- no have not heard from her either and yeah- i hope she is ok!!!
Cat- Lilyjack is april and so is Sarbear and possibly a few others??
GAWD i am tired and grumpy this morning. Been a long week and I am craving a sleep in tomorrow. Last night was good, went and had a coffee with Mum and we popped into big w and bought some bonds newborn nightgowns and bottles, then went to my aunties for dinner but didn't get home till 11pm as DH was working onher computer for ages! So therefore very tired!! I heard a rumour my boss is not in today but I BET he will be lol. I am going to take it real easy today.. like I have all week lol. One of my colleages I work closely with from our depot on other side of town is coming out today to do some stuff with me so we will have a long lunch hehe. TGIF!!!!:yelclap:
Hopeful maybe there's a full moon again cos I too am tired & grumpy today AND I had a little cry last night cos I'm just so frickin uncomfortable and DH just said one little thing that set me off :(
Glad to hear Big W had those nightgowns cos i can't find them anywhere! May have to duck the heat tomorrow and go shopping, oh no what a pity ;)
The last post from Sarbear was over the holidays I think, I think I may have missed it because I was not online but saw some responses to her post. Hopefully she is just laying low, maybe she'll read this and post in.
JetGirl - your night sounds like the one I had two days ago, I was cranky and uncomfortable and hot and everything anyone said made me angry and teary. Then the next day I felt fine, hormones hey :rolleyes: Hopefully you'll feel better today.
As for feeling tired, wow I am tired all the time and last night my nausea came back again making me realise it's real. Tried to go for a bike ride with the dog and had to stop because I thought I was going to :barf:
Hopeful - I might head to BigW this weekend to see what they have in the way of baby stuff. Although I really need to curb my spending :o
I had a dream last night that I could see through my belly and that I could see I was having a girl. So now that my brain thinks I'm having a girl I'll probably be thrown for a loop and have a boy. Ah the excitement of not knowing :)
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 08:34
i have felt uncomfortable all week and it scares me to think of how i am going to be in 10 weeks lol
its meant to be 36 degrees here today and i put on this cute pink oversized tank with 3/4 leggings this morning only to discover that the oversize tank was not that oversize anymore and it clung to my tummy a bit :crying: lol.. it fit fine back in.. probably early november lol.
Yup my mum and i have been looking for those white bonds nightgowns for ages Jet- mum said they are really good for first time mumma's as they are easy to put on and easy to change nappies with. So we bought about 4 and she said she will go back and get me some more next week- love mumma's lol.
I am going to do the grocery shopping tonight Nikki and then will probably pop into baby bunting to have a quick browse and pop some $ on my layby tomorrow. And then I am going to have a driving lesson with DH- I probably should try and get my license before I have the baby, if i have enough time lol. I was thinking I might pop into this group of shops just down the road from my house as well as they are so close but i have never been there- there is a preggi central and babies galore i think it is? Any one heard of/been to these??
Hopeful - sorry can't help you on the stores, would love more choice but then again would I :rolleyes: Maybe it's good I only have a few shopping opportunities.
I know what you mean, I've been feeling pretty good lately but people keep saying, "you're going to get a lot bigger yet" and I find it hard to imagine. People keep commenting on how big I look already, with three months to go I can only guess...
Hopeful I'm a big fan of babies galore. They gave us a great deal on the cot & change table and threw in a free change table mat cover. So I try to get most of our stuff from there but only if it's not more expensive than elsewhere :D Damn I really want to go to Big W now :)
Nikki, it really bugs me when people start telling me it's only going to get worse etc. Like HELLLO PEOPLE I need encouragement and support here!!!! Plus I already KNOW it'll be worse but I need convincing that I can get through it!!! OK rant over.
Hopeful my DH tried giving me driving lessons years ago (I failed a test in Ireland and gave up learning for a few years in disgust) but it didn't quite work out so I ended up paying for a pro who actually had patience with me LOL
Yesterday on the bus home nobody gave me a seat so I had to sit on the step at the back of the bus, which was very uncomfortable... I just can't bring myself to actually ask the people sitting on the "special" seats to get up. I mean, what do I even say to them?!
JetGirl - I can't believe people would be so rude as not to get up for a pregnant lady that's just disgusting behaviour :thumbsdown: If DH was with me, I'd have to cringe, there is no way he would stay quiet if no-one was giving up a seat, he'll even embarrass people out of their seats if he sees another pregnant lady he doesn't even know having to stand.
Hopeful - I'm with JetGirl on this one, maybe see how your DH goes but if it gets too emotional try an instructor. My DH works in IT (like yours) and when he is trying to instruct me on something on the computer and I don't get it straight away he loses his patience with me and just annoys me. So I think sometimes it's best to get a professional in on the job who is not emotionally linked to you. Plus being pregnant you're likely to take any criticism to heart, I know if DH even dares to mention something about my cooking that could be slightly improved I nearly burst into tears at the moment...
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 09:40
yup thanks ladies, i will keep that in mind. DH does pi$$ me off when I am driving at times lol but I am my own worst enemy. I get soo scared lol but i do really want my license lol.
my boss is in today btw.. hope he leaves early/soon :yes:
Something smells kinda funky in here.. like.. red bull or chicken or something? :laughing: My nostrils are really touchy today lol
OH i got my first swollen feet since being preggers last night lol- it was hot at my auntys and i wasn't resting you know? They look fat still today but when i poked them i realised they are not swollen.. but i am wearing havainas to work today (lazy lol) and thongs always make my feet look fat haha
Red Bull or chicken?! Interesting!! Ah cankles, I hate them... I hope you're doing your long-haul flight exercises :)
angeleish
22-01-2010, 09:52
Sorry to all of you ladies who are uncomfortable... especially at night. I have found it a little more difficult to get comfortable, but can't complain too much as I'm still doing okay on the sleep front. Hope you girls can find something to ease the discomfort a little.
My biggest fear at the moment is swollen fingers... my wedding ring and engagement ring is definitely getting tighter..... don't want to have to remove them ... but in hot weather it is getting close!! :thumbsdown: I just love wearing my jewelery... can't imagine not being able to wear my rings!!
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 09:52
someone just popped a frozen meal in the microwave and jesus :barf:lol
Jet whats long haul flight exercises?
Is it wrong to want to stay home with my feet up and watch dvd's all weekend? lol :cool:
How do you get URLs to work? http://www.qantas.com.au/travel/airlines/your-health-inflight/global/en
And no Hopeful, it is so not wrong to want that :)
Hello Angeleish! I too am dreading the finger thing, can't imagine not wearing my rings :(
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Boo - 28th April, one bub, it's a girl, VIC
Hello Boo! Long time :) ooh your ticker is looking gooooooood...
Hi Ladies :wave:
Sorry I've beem MIA for a while :o. We came back to work 2 weeks ago and have been flat chat since, I've been trying to read all of your posts and think 'oh, I reply about that tonight' but I'm so :sleeping: by the end of the day, I forget!
Nice to see your all doing well! I noticed a few more of us have reached the 6 month milestone :yelclap:.
I had a follow up scan yesterday from the bleeding I had over my holidays..... All Good!!! Yay, was getting concerned. First time IVF Mum :o. Anyhoo, her measurement are JUST under average size so I'm happy with that. (I've changed my picture too, she gave us a great view of her feet yesterday!)
Sarbear has been posting in one of the other threads.... I think???
Ohh and I added myself to the role call.
Hellloooo Jet :wave:!! Your tickers looking good too... your only a week behind me :yes:
Glad to hear that all is well with you and BabyBoo, Boo :) Love the avatar :)
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 10:44
Hullo Boo! :wave: Good to hear everythings going well and yes your ticker looks awesome lol.
angeleish- I always check my rings and how they fit lol- when its real hot they are sometimes tight but then goes down the next day pheww..
jet- thanks for the link!! I will give them a crack!
Pleasure Hopeful! I had to do them while at the cinema over Christmas cos I could feel my feet starting to go again! Am hoping to use this as an excuse to only go to Gold Class from now on haha. We had a voucher for GC so went the other day to see Up in the Air and OMG I was possibly the most comfy I have been the whole pregnancy :D
hopefulmama2b
22-01-2010, 11:13
was up in the air good? Someone (stupid lol) tried to explain it to me at work and i was confused lol- was it boring?
I just checked and sarbears last post was 3/1.. here's hoping everything is going great for her xx
angeleish
22-01-2010, 11:14
Jetgirl - you crack me up.... using your feet as an excuse for gold class!!! Sounds like the perfect excuse! May have to try that myself!!
Boo - I am so glad that everything was okay. What a relief that must be. It's great to see you back in these parts. :yes: Good to see one of our April mum's to be on the roll call too!!
Angeleish, try it! You'll never go back :)
Hopeful, we both really liked Up in the Air. The chick from Twilight was great in it, as was the other chick and of course, Sir Clooney :) It had lots of fun bits.
lillyjack
22-01-2010, 15:38
just adding myself
April-May-June 2010
Honour Roll!
Lillyjack - 22nd April, it's a girl, NSW
Boo - 28th April, one bub, it's a girl, VIC
Hi LillyJ! Nice ticker :)
lillyjack
22-01-2010, 15:41
Hi Ladies :wave:
We are now back from our holiday in Coffs - had perfect weather the entire time but I have to admit I am glad to be home!
I had a quick read over the posts and I am also getting braxton hicks. They are very painful for me though but I have read that they can be painful if you've had previous pregnancies.
I am getting very uncomfortable now - can't sleep, can only eat very small meals and some of my maternity clothes no longer fit me! Still just over 12 weeks to go - not sure how I'm going to make it :laughing:
Glad to hear everyone is doing well :)
lillyjack
22-01-2010, 15:42
Hi LillyJ! Nice ticker :)
:D I know - 12 weeks and 6 days to go doesn't sound all that long ... I am sure it will FEEL like a long time though!
sarbear1
22-01-2010, 20:52
hi girls:wave:
im so sorry.. i have been reading where everyone is as much as i can.. ive been in and out of hospital, on rest and had a few probs with our computer.. so i read up on my phone but for some reason it wont let me actually log onto my phone so thats why i havent been actually writing...
i felt horrible that you girls were worried about me cos to me its felt like im still in the loop cos ive been checking on everyone:o so im sorry i'll promise to make the effort to post more!!!
gosh theres so much to comment on so i might make a fresh start from here...
dh and i started antenatal classes 2 weeks ago.. the 1st week they tried showing us a video of a natural birth:crying: we were in the front row and it was on a huuuuge projector screen!!! i said to the lady that as we were having a c section and quite frankly even if i was going natural i didnt want it to scare me... and we left and didnt watch:laughing:
this week was all about pain relief and c sections.. we watched that video and it gave me a great idea on what to expect... seeing as even if i go into early labour im not allowed to go natural (too many risks with my extreme diabetes and the fact dylan is 2 weeks ahead already.. he'll be a big baby!! ) so that class was good... next week is all about newborns so i cant wait!!!
dh and i are having a big joint baby shower on the 6th feb!!! soooo excited.. we have around 50 people coming and it starts at 4 for a joint baby shower.. my sisters doing games for boys and girls!!! lol... then we are putting a spit on for tea and turns into a big bash!!! we are so excited!!! its great cos all the boys coming are so excited cos theyve never been to a baby shower!!!
im having another big scan on wed to measure dylan... myu ob predicts that he could measure 41weeks when i give birth at 37 weeks:eek: geepers kreepers!!! so it'll be interesting to see how big he is wed....
at 28 weeks his feet were already 6cm long!!!
i cant believe i can say 6 and a bit weeks til my baby is here!!!!! so overwealming.. im so emotional when i think of the journey to get here.. and just the day to day stuff i deal with ( my 11 needles a day etc)
im so glad your all doing well... youve all spoken about things im suffering with- lack of sleep.. so uncomfortable.. cankles, i get reflux alot so im living on mylanta after meals!!!
one sad thing is i had to stop wearing my wedding rings a few weeks ago.. i miss them so much.. but i have a pandora bracelet i wear so i still have some bling...
oh and i went crazy at the target sale also.. lol... $300 layby... but dylans room is finished now and between my clothes ive bought and hand me downs from my 2 nephews hes all decked out with clothes... i'll take new pix over the weekend..
we have the steelcraft cruiser pram, with a car capsule and bassinette.. its fantastic but dh has to keep showing me how to fold up and down cos i keep forgetting... lol... i can picture i'll be stuck in a car park one day not remembering!!
anyway... im glad everyones good and i'll talk to you soon x x x x x
im loading a photo of dylan at 28 weeks.. so clear you can see his cute face and his foot is touching his forehead!!! he looks comfy but is running out of room i think.. lol and the others are of my 29 week belly:D
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1648&pictureid=9165
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1648&pictureid=9166
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1648&pictureid=9167
lillyjack
23-01-2010, 06:58
Great pics Sarbear and we are very glad to hear everything is going well! I can't believe you only have 6 weeks to go!!!
I forgot to mention yesterday that we finally went baby shopping (not just on the net) and decided on a pram (Steelcraft Eden Terrain 3 Wheeler) it was at babies galore for $349 but I came home and found it on the net for $289 and bought it - so that was a nice little saving :D. Oh and we found a version of the Tetra Snuggle Bed (but not the same brand) on special reduced from $99 to $44 so bought that too!
We also tried out carseats (we have to fit 3 across the back of a Holden Commodore) and we will have to get the Love n Care Compaq Deluxe as it's the only one that will fit and even then it will mean my oldest son will have to go into one of the dodgy booster seats. I got a bit upset about it all and have been stressing about the logistics of getting 3 youngsters in and out of the car every morning for school drop off etc. After bub I think I better start lifting weights and getting really fit so I can cope with the physical side of looking after 3 kids under 6 :D
Aw lillyj you will be fine! Well done with the shopping!
Sarbear delighted to hear all is well! 6 weeks - wow!!!!
sparklesare
23-01-2010, 08:44
Sarebear: WOW 6 weeks is so close now!!!
Lilly: Great shopping you have done well!!
AFM tired, grumpy, tired, grumpy...grrr I want to sleeeeep the days away. Patience is at an all time low also...sorry for the vent, feeling a bit blue and out of sorts.
allyoop8
23-01-2010, 09:15
sarbear so good to hear your doing well wow thats a bub hey happy bub in there lol
angeleish
23-01-2010, 09:43
sarbear - how cute is little Dylan. What cute little cheeks!!! Your belly looks awesome too! Thanks for sharing. Can't believe you've only got 6 weeks to go. If I knew I was having a c/s I wouldn't have watched the first video either lol!! As for the joint baby shower.... sounds like fun. I think you and your DH deserve it after the difficult pregnancy you've been having. Great to see you back!
lillyjack - great bargains!! Well done. I'm sure you'll get the hang of 3 kids under 6 in no time! Oh and I agree, your ticker is looking great!! Can't believe how quickly they all seem to be moving now.
sparkles - With all of the moving stress and changes taking place it is no wonder you are struggling. It will be easier once you are back and close to family and setting up your nursery for the twins!
AFM - not much to report. Just a quiet weekend with DH getting odd jobs done around the house.
sarbear1
23-01-2010, 11:33
hi girls, i'm so excited cos dh played around with my phone and now i can write from my phone! Yay! Glad you guys liked the pix.. I'm so in love with dylan's little face! I know some people think it takes away from the joy of seeing them born but its only made us more excited! I've been lying in bed watching my tummy make so many funny shapes and it really looks like a rave going on in there.. Cracks me up! Lilly sounds like you did some great shopping! Its so much fun! You'll do great with 3 kids! I'm sure its going to be hard work but think of how much fun too! My bro sis and i are all 1 year apart and my mum said of course it was hard but we had such a great time together :) sparkle, i know what you mean, some days you just feel so blah! I haven't slept through the night in months cos i have night hypo attacks and it takes me ages to get my blood stable! And if i aren't waking to deal with that i'm waking to pee a few times a night! The good thing is i finished up at work a month ago so i can catch up on my sleep if i need to! When do you move back? Does anyone here swim much? I have to exercise everyday for my sugar levels and i have a big pool complex around the corner! Its so nice being weightless right now :) so relaxing! Ok i'm going to get up.. I've had enough of laying in bed!
Sarbear - it's great to hear from you again, those photos look fantastic. I hope you have a great babyshower, you deserve it.
LillyJack - great to hear from you too, and that the holiday was relaxing. Fitting three baby seats across the back of the car sounds like quite a feat but it sounds like you have it under control. As for your belly out-growing your maternity wear you'll have to send us an updated pic, I'm sure your belly looks beautiful.
AFM: Well had a bit of a dramatic day yesterday, we've had torrential rain up this way due to the cyclonic weather. I had to drive the range / mountain road and on the way down last night the car aquaplaned and spun out of control on a steep bend. I couldn't get control over it again because there was just too much water under the tyres but luckily I was driving fairly slowly, the car spun around 180 and ended up smashing into the side of the mountain facing the wrong way. We weren't hurt and the car only has superficial damage but it was terrifying. Then today we find out there is an imminent cyclone threatening to cross the coast, probably tomorrow night.... I'm staying off the roads as much as I can until this weather passes.
angeleish
23-01-2010, 17:42
Wow Nikki - How scary. So lucky you were going slowly..... this wasn't the new car was it?? Wouldn't it be great if we could even out the rain somehow and send some down this way.... So glad to hear that you are okay.
Sarbear - Happy to hear that you have a better connection to BH thanks to your DH. I hear you on watching the tummy move. I love seeing how baby can make my tummy move. I just wish I had a special camera to see what he/she is doing in there!! I always joke to DH that he/she is renovating in there! He reckons he/she is dancing! I can only imagine how much more the tummy will move as this pregnancy continues! BTW do you have an approximate due date for Dylan so we can add you to our due date list?
I haven't swam much this pregnancy. I would like to, but haven't really got around to it. I honestly wouldn't mind doing pregnancy aqua classes but haven't seen any close to home. I tend to walk a lot with my dog and that is my exercise. Hopefully I can keep it up until my due date!
hopefulmama2b
23-01-2010, 19:53
Hiya Gals
Hey Sarbear!! Glad to see things are good and omg 6 weeks!! How exciting!!
Nikki- OMG! That would have been terrifying- thank god no one was hurt!! :hugs:
Sparkle- You and me= 2 peas in a pod lol. I am extremely tired and sh*tty lol. No idea why as I slept in today and did nothing lol- well apart from pop into the shops this afternoon quickly to try and find some maternity jeans/pants. Nothing. I am huge lol and I can't stand things on my tummy like jeans- and I am long/high waisted so I need everything to come up really high (just call me harry high pants lol) and all the maternity jeans I tried that were even in an over 16 size lol were too low. And bootcut. I can only wear skinnies. Strange as I am um not skinny lol but the cut suits me. I might resort to buying from web, have seen some nice jeans from us/uk. But it was depressing. Although I did pick up some great maternity leggings and a cute top from target.
I think Bob kicked me today! Was the same feeling as the flutters but was quicker and sharper and made me go "Oh!" LOL
hopefulmama2b
23-01-2010, 19:59
Oh yeah and I have been thinking about the swim thing. I have been trying to do some treadmill walking past few nights but I really like swimming so I might look into it. Except I will have to wear a swimming cap as my hair will turn slimy and green lol
Hopeful - yep that sounds like a kick to me :yelclap: I remember the first time I felt a proper kick it was like an electric shock it was so unexpected and strong.
Angeleish - no we don't have our new car yet, it's still on the production line. It was our old car but it only has a small dent in it. Trust me you don't want this rain, it's intense! Although I grew up in the wheatbelt so I know what it's like to dream about rain.
As soon as the weather clears up a bit I am going swimming again, it feels really good for my muscles and I like the feeling of weightlessness.
allyoop8
24-01-2010, 12:02
oh i love swimming i have a bad knee so i go swimming a few times a week either at the beach or the pool seth loves the pool not so keen on the waves
I should go swimming but I'm too lazy lol. Wore myself out yesterday. Was meant to go to the cricket but the weather was muck so I'm watching it on tv with tea and chocolate instead :)
congrats hopeful on feeling kicking :)
Nikki well done for getting yourself safely out of trouble! Must have been terrifying.
hopefulmama2b
24-01-2010, 20:22
Thanks Jetgirl
Yeah the more i think about swimming the more interested I am lol- but can you wear a tshirt in the pool? lol- my bathers are too tight and I do not feel comfortable to wear my bikini without a tank/tee over lol.
Well.. I have had the laziest weekend and I hope u all have as well xxx
Hopeful I was all gung ho before Xmas and bought a giant tankini and swimmerboard shorts from target, they could be options for you :) glad I'm not the only lazy one today :)
I wear a tankini too, I don't wear boardshorts but my bather bottoms are like shorts. I like my belly but it's the other wobbly bits I am trying to hide :o
sarbear1
25-01-2010, 04:32
hi hopeful, try kmart i got a bub2bub tankini n bikini bottom set for 50 bucks and it has a support bra and is so cute! Different shades of pink! The top is really long to come over your belly too! On really hot days i've worn the top with a skirt and its so comfy! Well its stupid oclock and i'm awake! I had to pee and then dylan thinks its play time and has been going completely crazy! Lately i can feel he's running out of room! I've had so much pressure and he's kicking out one end of my tummy and either punching or head butting the other end! Lol! Almost everytime i sit or lie down you can actually see my tummy really move and people comment that they too can see him moving about! So cute! I'm really counting down the next 6 weeks cos i cant wait to not be diabetic! Dh is getting my small suitcase out of the roof tomorrow so i can start my hospital bag! So exciting! Seeing as i'm 31 weeks but dylan is 33 weeks i've been advised to be prepared! So far i have pads, breast pads, giant knickers, 3 maternity nighties, boxes of muselie bars and snacks, nipple cream, a few maternity bras, so i'm doing ok so far.. I have all i need for dylan but i just have to pack it! Its hard to know how much i'll need cos i'll be in hospital for 6 days.. Ok well i was going to go to my doc's app at 10 but i night get changed and go now to pass the time.. I have to get my blood pressure checked as it was too high on fri, and my feet have swollen so much they feel bruised and sore so i want to make sure its not a problem! Sorry for the boring post but i'm so bored lying in bed in the dark not sleeping! Oh the joys of pregnancy!
Poor sarbear. Hope the doc appt goes well. You're very organised :) where did you get the maternity nighties?
EarthAngel75
25-01-2010, 06:49
Good morning girls!
Hope you're all enjoying the long weekend.
Sarbear: Wow not long to go now for you! How very exciting that the first of our bubs is almost here. The swelling isnt much fun is it? i had bad swelling when pg with dd as she was due at the end of Jan and man was it annoying! Ive only got very slight swelling now as im not nearly far along enough yet for it to really get impacted by the heat and am hoping it is much cooler by the time the swelling would normally kick in.
hopeful: how cute that bob kicked you. Ive had a few of those hard kicks but not in a few days now. Can't wait until i get more of them for the reassurance.
AFM: Well i went swimming yesterday after all this talk about it. It felt great in the water but after 1.5 yrs and i got out i felt SOOO heavy lol. I also felt quite sore last night as i havent swam for ages so must have used muscles i havent used in a very long time. May go again tonight since it's supposed to be 33c here today and hope the soreness settles itself down the more i go.
Earthangel - I always sleep so well after a swim workout, I really need to get back into the water.
Sarbear - sounds like you are having a really difficult time there with the pregnancy, I can't believe in 6 weeks you'll be a mum, how exciting! I bet you can't wait.
As for sleep we had some mighty thunderstorms last night, so loud the house shook from the inside out, I woke up around 3am thinking we were under attack (from what I don't know) only to find DH and the dog were not there. DH had gotten up to turn off all our computers and servers etc. Must have been the final puff of the cyclone.
allyoop8
25-01-2010, 08:07
one hard night at work last night i would give up now if it wasnt for the money i'm so exhausted doing this crap
hopefulmama2b
25-01-2010, 08:46
Hey girls
I am helping out in another dept at work today as they are short staffed and they are usually really busy so the day should go quickly!
I am starving and guess what I feel like..?? Its really gross... a sausage in batter from the fish and chip shop!!! hahaha EWW!!!
Thanks for the tips re the swimmers gals.
Sarbear- u poor thing xx How exciting though, you are almost there!! I remember when u got your bfp when i started cycling lol. I am almost all done with the baby stuff too and want to start buying the "me" stuff too.. I know its early but I saw some cute pj's from Kmart the other day, stretchy pants and thin, long sleeved tops that unbuttoned so I will be able to breastfeed.
earthangel- i feel more movements daily at the moment lol- so cute. sometimes i go hours and hours with nothing.. like yesterday, didn't feel a thing till about 3pm and then was constant for a while.
Ally- i feel your pain. I am just lucky I sit on my bum all day in the office lol.
BTW i think I may have mentioned this but my hips/pelvis click reallly badly when i roll over in bed- is this normal, lol. Its getting really loud lol.
Hopeful I would go see a Physio who specializes in preggies. That's what I did. I'm now wearing a highly attractive support tubigrip thingy which stabilizes my pelvis. Get it checked out before it starts causing pain!!
Just went for an hour long walk. Feel great but sweaty!!
Hopeful - I too am getting a big appetite all of a sudden. Today I had porridge for breakfast, then I had a craving for a sausage and egg muffin, usually porridge would keep me full for hours!
I too bought some PJ's I don't own any due to the heat but I wanted something to wear in the hospital so I look decent and am comfortable. I got them at BigW for only $12, and they are so cute.
hopefulmama2b
25-01-2010, 11:49
Mmm Nikki I am eating the BEST chicken and cheese toastie lol.
Girls, I am so pi$$ed off and I am going to name and shame. Someone from Victoria Electricity called me this morning and I couldn't understand him too well but he was going on about my account being very overdue and that i needed to pay it or face cut off etc etc.. My account is paid! I was really stressed, wondering why they were calling me so I called their Melbourne call centre and asked for one of the team leaders- not available, he will call you back. 3 hours later- nada. So I called back only to find out he was on leave!! I spoke to someone else and they told me pretty much- u have missed payments (even though i have record from my netbank that they have been paid) so yeah, too bad. I then spoke to someone in credit management who gave me her email address so i could receipts to her so she could work it out- and i hope they do! They are the WORST company to deal with ever! Once it is all sorted I am changing to AGL :)
vent over. Phew. God I hope they sort it coz if my power gets cut off or something because of their stupidity, they will die!! :devil:
Hopeful - that's an awful way to start Monday morning. Why didn't they send you an account reminder earlier instead of just issuing a threat of a cut off? That's a very extreme reaction from them. I had a similar incident with the tax office where we'd accidentally paid the money into the wrong account number for months and so our account showed us being overdue. Maybe your payments have been going into an old account number? At least they should give you time to investigate first.
hopefulmama2b
25-01-2010, 12:04
Nikki- I think it may be because they are the biggest f wits I have ever dealt with? LOL :laughing: I know what you mean- and i felt like saying "quit stressing me out I'M PREGNANT" lol
hopeful - I feel like the older I get the more dimwits I meet. The number of people who are incompetent in their job makes me cringe. For example all of my hospital appointments for this pregnancy so far have been messed up by people who can't count or won't listen when I tell them something... it's so frustrating especially when you know you've done all you can to make their job as easy as possible and they still manage to mess it up.
angeleish
25-01-2010, 12:28
OMG hopeful how stressful. What is it with companies who can't handle even the most basic of tasks!?? Grrr.... FWIW we are with AGL and have had no problems. Good luck. Hope it works itself out soon!
nikki - my appetite has been huge for most of this pregnancy. Thank goodness most of the things that I want to eat are quite healthy! Although lately I have been craving a few more sweet things than normal . . hopefully I can curb my sugar intake!
ally - sorry work has been tough. I'm back at work later this week and I'm not looking forward to it at all!
sarbear - enjoy packing the hospital bag. Must feel so surreal to be so close to the finish line! Let us know how you go with the packing. We pretty much have most baby things picked... just need to finish paying off our things on lay-by. After that then it will be time to shop for hospital.
Is anyone having dreams about labour? I keep having dreams, not scary ones just dreams about the baby being born and how what a big change it is etc. I can't believe one day I'll be pregnant and the next day we'll have a new member of the family that needs looking after 24/7. So surreal but exciting.
Ally - I am finding it harder to concentrate at work the closer the due date comes. Do you work part time?
Angeleish - sounds like you are close to ready, good thing we have 9 months prep time :)
Nikki, I'm not having drams so much as thinking about it all the time!!! Last thing at night, first thing in the morning I keep going thru lists in my head of what to bring!!!
JetGirl - I keep thinking to myself, it's just one day and if I forget something I'll just ask DH to pick it up. I figure we can be prepared but we've never done this before, so don't be too hard on yourself if you don't have all the preparation perfect. Just think of that beautiful baby you'll have in your arms afterwards :)
I know, you're right. Wish my brain worked that way!!!!
I'm normally a control freak but I have this overwhelming sense of calm about the idea of giving birth. I have no idea why, maybe because I really can't visualise it as I've never done it before!
That's such a great way to be Nikki!
My sister lovingly calls it ignorance :) I prefer my rose coloured view of it :laughing:
On another topic, do you think we should set up an sms buddy system, so when one of us goes into labour there will be someone to report it on BH and the progress? Maybe picks buddies that are on the other end of the due date spectrum so we aren't in labour at the same time ;)
angeleish
25-01-2010, 14:20
Nikki I haven't had any dreams about labour just the usual weird pregnancy ones!! :laughing: As for labour - at this stage I'm not too worried. Perhaps "in denial" would be the right way to describe me. I'm just loving being pregnant and loving the idea of having a baby..... just can't imagine the "labour" bit in the middle!! Maybe once I've started my classes it will be more real.
SMS system sounds great Nikki! I'm up for it!
Do we have everyone on the due date list yet? If so we can slice the list in half and match up sms buddies that have due dates that are not too close to each other.
hopefulmama2b
25-01-2010, 15:01
oohh buddy sms!! I LOVE IT!!
I'm in :p
I just split the due date list in half, to reduce the chance of two buddies going into labour too close to each other, although that might still happen. How does that list / match look to everyone? If there is anyone not on the due date list yet, we can add them in to the SMS list when they log in. Even if we have three people in one buddy group that's fine, as long as everyone has a buddy.
SMS Buddy List (Labour Announcements)
Sarbear - Allyoop
Lillyjack - Hopefulmama2b
Boo - Cat21
Angeleish – Surfergal
JetGirl - Sparklesare
Nikki08 - Earthangel
Nikki - Great idea about SMS Buddies! I did see on another thread they did a secret baby shower too!
I think it was Ally talking about work :rolleyes: sorry but I can't remember these days! I want to finish work NOW!!!! I'm soooo tried and strangly I feel soo uncomfortable sitting at a desk all day :no:, by the end of the day my back and ribs are killing me. But I know thats not going to happen, financially I have to work at least part time from the time bub is born. Oh well, the things you do when you work in the family business.
Speaking of dreams.... lately I've been dreaming I've had aboy not a girl like all my scan have shown and his was in size 0 clothes at birth :eek:. And we couldn't take him home straight away because he didn't fit in the car capsule , DH had to go home and get the car seat hehehe.
Boo - has bubs been kicking you? I have dreams sometimes I am having a big baby and when I wake up I feel my insides being used as a punching bag and I figure it's my body's way of telling me that the baby is strong!
I know what you mean about family business, I can't take definite leave either, I'll probably start by going back part-time then see how I go.
angeleish
25-01-2010, 16:49
Boo - Sorry to hear that work is getting you down. It must make it harder to know that as it is a family business you can't just take leave when it suits.
Your dreams sound funny and kind of like the weird stuff I would dream. I actually haven't had too many dreams about the baby though... just weird everyday stuff in general. Sometimes I just wake up tired. i think it's because my brain is working too much at night to think up weird dreams when I should be sleeping!
The secret baby shower things sounds interesting. How would that work?
Nikki - thanks for doing that list. I would be happy with that.
I just have a quick question for you ladies.... how many of you have purchased a glider/rocking chair for baby's room. I think Jetgirl has. I've been trying to get one cheaper second hand online but have had no luck and don't want to spend heaps of $$ on a new one just in case I don't really end up using it. What has everyone else done?
Nikki - I'm feeling movement all day now :yelclap:
Angel - Below is the post from the other thread....
Those wishing to enter the Secret Baby Shower please copy/paste the pink section and PM it to me.
(Please Read and agree to the rules before doing so - :) Thanks!)
Nickname:
Name:
Address:
Gender of baby:
Colour themes:
Nursery themes:
Preferences - ie cloth/disposable, dummy, 0000 clothing, 000 etc:
Anything you particularly need/want:
Are gift vouchers acceptable and if so where:
Anything you would prefer not to recieve:
Rules for entering are:
You must have at least a 50 post count to enter the swap. (I realise that may seem unfair to some but gives participants some protection and from past experience is the best decision)
Enteries must be Pm'd to Kazc by October 31st 2009. (I won't reply to these PM's)
You will recieve your reciepent's name on November 1st-3nd 2009.
Gift price guide is $20 + $5 postage.
All gifts must be mailed by November 30th 2009, in a registered post stachel. Receipt numbers are to be emailed to Kazc after posting for tracking if needed.
All swapees enter at their own risk., if your present is lost or not recieved it is not the responsibilty of Bubhub or the organiser (Kazc).
Please only enter if you are serious about sending a present to your nominated recipent! If you have any issues with Deadlines please PM Kazc.
This is a Secret Swap until the Reveal thread, so please don't tell your recipent who you are :) (It is half the fun!)
I don't mind organising it if everyone is interested. I know some ladies arn't having a baby shower so it could be nice for them too!
We re-arranged the lounge room and moved the recliner chair into the nursery so I'm not buying a glider chair/rocking chair. But then again I don't really know how much I'll use it :rolleyes:
angeleish - I won't be getting a rocker for the bedroom since it's too small to get in there, if I get up at night I'll just take the baby to the lounge which is right next door and watch some late night TV ;) I have heard though that Ikea does some nice rockers that don't cost too much.
allyoop8
25-01-2010, 17:23
nikki i was a dental nurse for 12yrs and after having seth i didnt work for 2 yrs then i got casual work at coles filling the shelves its such had work and they occasionally give me light duties but last night they gave me the flour and sugar and it was so tiring i wish i could quit but it cant happen unfortunately
How very considerate of them to give a pregnant lady the flour and sugar duties... honestly do some people not think:banghead:. I can understand why you'd be tired, even if you are having an easy pregnancy that kind of bending and stacking would be quite exhausting.
EarthAngel75
25-01-2010, 17:38
The SMS buddy thing sounds great to me and works well the time ive used one. Great job on it Nikki :)
Boo83: sounds like you're having some interesting dreams about baby!!
I have only had one dream about this baby and it was after I had my amnio and before we had the results. I dreamt i was told we were having a baby boy via u/s with no mention of the amnio results - before finding our we were having a boy i was pretty sure we were having a girl so i thought the dream was really weird. I havent dreamt anything about labour and i dont recall that i did with dd either.
I was very prepared for DD's birth as i was adamant i wanted a drug free labour so made sure i was very prepared as ive known others who havent (yet wanted a drug free birth and even went with the birth centre but didnt prepare and had horrible births and went straight for the epi the second time around) with reading Juju's birth skills and doing the hypno birthing classes etc. However after all of that preparing I ended up with a cesear! Though i did use the hypo stuff when they were trying to get the epi in as it took about 30mins and i was totally freaked out.
I really need to get myself into gear this time as i would really like a VBAC and need to really research on this and be prepared and start listening to my hypno stuff again as im already passed 20 weeks and havent done a thing in that regard.
Well im off to the pool again tonight - its way too hot here and need to cool down. Have a good night everyone and enjoy the day off tomorrow!
EarthAngel75
25-01-2010, 17:43
angeleish: i wont have a rocker/glider in our nursery. It's way too small for that! However we are about to order the Delta II lounge suite thing from King furniture and it comes with a modern arm chair that will hopefully fit into our bedroom which is where bubs will be sleeping for at least the first 6 months so I will be feeding there hopefully. i have heard of some people say that they found it was difficult to feed in a rocking chair but have never heard anything about the gliders. I think a lot of people just take baby into bed with them and feed there...
lillyjack
25-01-2010, 20:34
Nikki - count me in for the sms buddy system too!
Does anyone else feel really hot and sweaty all the time - regardless of the weather? I do have the flu so maybe I just have a fever but I've been feeling like this for days ... it's driving me nuts! I feel like I need to sleep in a bathtub full of ice just to get comfortable :laughing:
EarthAngel75
26-01-2010, 05:22
lillyjack: i often feel warm or like im too hot - but luckily we have aircon so im always turning it on as it can make feel kind of sick if i don't. However im worried about the energy bill when it comes as we normally have nice small bills over summer due to having solar hot water. It has been an awfully hot summer though down here.
I think the secret baby shower gift thing is a cool idea too!!!
Count me in for everything! Thanks Nikki for organising!
Ps I'm now Australian! Happy 'straya day!!!
hopefulmama2b
26-01-2010, 09:13
:australia:congrats Jetgirl!!
I don't know what is wrong with me this morning!! lol. I am soo sleepy, feel like I am on drugs, and really hungry lol
I felt something weird a few times yesterday.. it felt kinda like bob had hiccups but the feeling was really low down.. like he was knocking on my cervix lol.. was weird!!
Thanks girls!! Hopeful omg I felt that too!!!! A couple of times!
angeleish
26-01-2010, 09:54
:australia-flag-06: Congrats Jetgirl!! Woo hoo!! :smiliedance: Hope you have a wonderful day and go out and celebrate!
lily - I am definitely more hot than usual. Around the house I can't stand to wear t-shirts, only singlet tops. I also struggle A LOT more in the heat. So you're not alone on that one.
Boo - I'm definitely interested in the baby shower idea! Sounds pretty organised and like a bit of fun.
hopeful - I find it really uncomfortable when the baby is really low.... can't quite figure out where it is lying but it is so uncomfortable. Sounds like a day off for you is exactly what you need!
ally - I can't believe that they put you on sugar and flour! Crazy!! :no:
Thanks to those who gave tips on the glider chair. We have plenty of space in the baby's room but I'm just not sure if it is worth the $$. I think for the time being if I can buy a cheap second hand one I will, if not, I'll just see how I go without it!
We're off to a BBQ today. Have a great Australia day everyone!!
Ladies, I've started a new thread for the secret baby shower....
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=317939
If anyone is interested please register from there.
Btw angeleish we got our rockIng chair from eBay for 50 bucks and I love it!! When we don't need it anymore we'll put it out on the deck. Bliss!
Happy Australia Day Everyone :australia-flag-06:
Congratulations JetGirl! Enjoy your day as a citizen :)
Boo - I saw the new thread about the babyshower, sounds intriguing, I'll look at properly once my internet connection speeds up a bit :geek:
angeleish / hopeful - some days the baby must be dancing on my cervix because I get these sharp short pains down there when they kick. I've learnt to move them into another position now, because the nerve endings down there are quite sensitive, but DH always has a giggle when I jump because I am getting a solid kick.
On the hot thing, yes I have been hot since I first found out I was pregnant, these days I sleep with nothing on, no sheet and the aircon on. This is highly unusual for me because normally even in summer I need a cover at least over part of my body. I am also only wearing singlets and underwear around the house, unfortunately we have guests moving in soon so I'll have to wear more which kind of annoys me because the bigger I get the less I want to wear! The humidity up here doesn't help matters :(