View Full Version : soft baby clothes..

cheeky_cheek
15-01-2010, 23:24
hey all just wondering what you wash your baby clothes in to keep them soft?

biscotti
15-01-2010, 23:31
I used to use Am-o-lin and still do occasionally :)

tiggermamma
16-01-2010, 09:22
I just wash in all natural stuff and add a bit of bi-carb to the wash extra sometimes.

It's great it's summer for this babe, I love the smell of sun dried clothes!

BabyPaparazzi
16-01-2010, 10:37
Lux flakes, add vinegar to the rinse cycle to soften more. Hang on a clothes rack and put in a airy spot but out of the sun.

I still use the lux flakes on her clothes, I find it get all the stains out with ease, no need for sprays or nappysan.

I dont recommend fabric softner, sensitive baby skin can get a reaction. Some people I know use it but we are a ecezma family so I am usually cautious.

Lil Bugs Mummy
16-01-2010, 10:39
I always used lux flakes its endorsed by the Aust Breast feeding association too.

Elise D
16-01-2010, 13:19
I use Am-o-lin. Seems to work well.

2girls&1angelboy
16-01-2010, 19:16
i use purity

Corlz
16-01-2010, 19:24
Sorry to gatecrash.

Bel04 - I bought Lux flakes for the first time the other day and it says to dissolve so much flakes to so much hot/boiling water. Until completely dissolved. Mine never completely dissolve though, i always have big guey lumps that are undissolved. Am i missing something :confused:

TripleTime
16-01-2010, 19:32
I use Lux.

Corlz - Ive never dissolved them in water first. Thats extra time & effort that i dont have. I just add a decent amount but not enough for bubbles to come up the plug hole.

Corlz
16-01-2010, 19:38
I use Lux.

Corlz - Ive never dissolved them in water first. Thats extra time & effort that i dont have. I just add a decent amount but not enough for bubbles to come up the plug hole.

Lol, well that would be a lot easier. Do they dissolve in the wash ok?? Coz even when i tried dissolving b4 hand, if i had guey lumps that i put in washer, sometimes after a quick cycle there would be small guey lumps stuck to my clothes. Do you still add 1 cup or whatever it says on box

TripleTime
16-01-2010, 19:43
Lol, well that would be a lot easier. Do they dissolve in the wash ok?? Coz even when i tried dissolving b4 hand, if i had guey lumps that i put in washer, sometimes after a quick cycle there would be small guey lumps stuck to my clothes. Do you still add 1 cup or whatever it says on box

No gooey lumps here. I add it before the clothes & water, start the machine filling as i put the clothes in. DF goes Lux, clothes, water & hasnt gotten lumps either
Dont worry about the extra cup of water either.

To be honest, ive never read the box of any washing powder or the like :o

iamwomenhearmeroar
16-01-2010, 19:53
I just use dynamo laundry liquid then cuddly fabric softner and cause im extrememly time poor more often than not the clothes dryer.... but even without the dryer the clothes smell nice and fresh and i didnt worry about skin conditions i thought i would deal with it if it ever popped up and lucky me no worries there !

Lil Bugs Mummy
16-01-2010, 20:08
It does say specifically on fabric softner bottles not to use on infants clothing

Corlz
16-01-2010, 20:27
Thanks TrippleTime, I'll give it a got tomorrow :yes:

Lipsmacker01
16-01-2010, 21:17
It does say specifically on fabric softner bottles not to use on infants clothing

Really? I just read the Huggies fabric softener concentrate bottle that I have and it says to not use it on childrens sleep wear or garments that have a high fire danger rating as it can affect their fire resistance.

Ive got a feeling I shouldnt be using though or at least cut down for my baby as she does have mild eczema.

Ive heard of Lux flakes but Ive never used them. What are they made out of? are they like a soap or something? Im scared that Im going to have the same issue with this glue thing. Hoping to use it in a front loader.

PS endorsed by the ABA? Never heard of that? plz explain how are they linked?

Never tried vinegar in my machine always afraid something will go wrong! but heaps of people seem to use it. I find drying babies clothes in the sun makes them much harder rather than softer and letting them dry on clothes horses indoors in a light filled room seems to keep them softest.

BabyPaparazzi
17-01-2010, 09:45
Sorry to gatecrash.

Bel04 - I bought Lux flakes for the first time the other day and it says to dissolve so much flakes to so much hot/boiling water. Until completely dissolved. Mine never completely dissolve though, i always have big guey lumps that are undissolved. Am i missing something :confused:

I dissolve them in a 3ltr jug and give it a quick stir and let it sit for awhile. It needs a far bit of water to let the stuff float and some time. I also fill the machine with water, then add it, then the clothes. But I do that for all detergent. I have never put it straight in the wash cause I figured it wouldnt dissolve in cold water cause I dont use hot ?? Not sure there.

TripleTime
17-01-2010, 09:51
Really? I just read the Huggies fabric softener concentrate bottle that I have and it says to not use it on childrens sleep wear or garments that have a high fire danger rating as it can affect their fire resistance.

Ive got a feeling I shouldnt be using though or at least cut down for my baby as she does have mild eczema.

Ive heard of Lux flakes but Ive never used them. What are they made out of? are they like a soap or something? Im scared that Im going to have the same issue with this glue thing. Hoping to use it in a front loader.

Never tried vinegar in my machine always afraid something will go wrong! but heaps of people seem to use it. I find drying babies clothes in the sun makes them much harder rather than softer and letting them dry on clothes horses indoors in a light filled room seems to keep them softest.

Lux flakes are pure soap flakes. Nothing extra in them.
Just checked the box & it said 'suitable for top loading machines only'

BabyPaparazzi
17-01-2010, 09:59

Lux is pure soap, so nothing is added, esp phosphorus. Its very gentle on the clothes but very effective. Dont know about front loaders, you will have to read the box.

If bubs has mild eczema than you really have to be mindful about what you use. Some brands I cant touch myself because they flair it up, even some body washes.

Adding vinegar to the wash actually helps remove all the chemicals and little extra's that stick to clothes, hence them being softer, but it is also good for skin conditions because it removes the detergent residue from the clothes.

I thought the reason the ABA endorsed it was because Lux is a sponsor, but the ABA does recommend using natural products.

iamwomenhearmeroar
20-01-2010, 08:10
I still use the fabric softner otherwise I would be there all day doing special loads with only a couple of items.... the way I figure is if it is good enough for me then it';s good enough for bubby, but that is just me, I'm not for bubble wrapping him unless there is a good reason. All the whites go in together regardless of whose they are. I may just give the Lux a try seeing as though they are recommened.

MsMummy
20-01-2010, 08:25
I use Aware laundry powder (the sensitive skin one with a baby on the front).

It doesn't contain phosphates, and some of the proceeds go to Planet Ark.

I just use that on all our clothes and it's not time consuming as it's just normal laundry powder.

I've never used fabric softener. I think it was one of those things invented to satisfy a need that didn't really exist, if you know what I mean.

MyTwoBubs
20-01-2010, 12:13
To be honest, ive never read the box of any washing powder or the like :o

haha me too. I just do what i feel.

I only us liquids (different ones) Cos i had powder on my clothes and have to re wash